History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the San Joaquin Valley, James Miller Guinn (1905), Pages 921-923

FRANKLIN WILLIAMS. For more than half a century a resident of California, Franklin Williams, a well-known horticulturist, living three miles southeast of Dinuba, is a worthy representative of the early pioneers of the state, and in the development and promotion of its industrial and agricultural prosperity has been active and influential. In his career he has been financially prosperous, acquiring a comfortable competency, and as an intelligent, honorable and well disposed citizen has won the regard and respect of his neighbors and friends. A son of Jedediah Williams, he was born, February 22, 1830, in Jackson county, Mo., near Independence. His grandfather, Thomas Williams, a Virginian by birth [actually North Carolina] and breeding, served in the war of 1812. He afterward farmed for a few years in Tennessee [mainly Kentucky], from there removing to Missouri. In 1853 he started with the family across the plains for California, via the Carson route, going as far as Summit, where he was taken ill, and died very suddenly, being then seventy-six years' old.

Born in Tennessee [Knox Co., Kentucky], Jedediah Williams went with the family to Missouri, and for several years was employed in general farming in Jackson county. In 1853 he came with a large party to California, crossing the plains with oxen, and located in Solano county, near Vacaville, where he was in business as a stock-raiser and dealer until his death. He married Mary G. Lewis, who was born in North Carolina [Kentucky], and died in Solano county., Cal. They became the parents of thirteen children, all of whom grew to years of maturity, became residents of California, and of these four are now living.

The third child of his parents, Franklin Williams was brought up on a farm, and while young attended the subscription school held in the little log house with its puncheon floor and slab benches. At the age of nineteen years, he and his brother Jefferson, now a resident of Santa Ana, were seized by the gold fever then epidemic throughout the country, and started for California, joining a company in which were two of their cousins, Richard Lewis and Joshua Lewis. The wagons were drawn by oxen, four yoke to each, and there were besides three driving horses. This train, the noted Hedgepath [Hudspeth] train, well provisioned, left Missouri April 24, 1849, followed the old trail, taking the Sublette cutoff, traveling through Goose Lake country, and arriving in California on September 15, 1849. Going directly to Placerville, Mr. Williams worked in the mines until the spring of 1850, when he went to Downieville to try his luck. From there he proceeded to Nevada City, where he continued mining for awhile. In 1851, having been successful, he returned east by way of Panama, and in 1852 came back across the plains with a large drove of cattle. Disposing of these at an advantage, he made another trip to the east, going, in February, 1853, by way of Panama, and the following April piloted his father across the plains, coming by the same old route, and locating in Solano county, about four miles from Vacaville, where he had previously purchased a ranch. In the fall of 1853 Mr. Williams journeyed eastward by way of the Isthmus of Panama for the third time, and on his return across the plains with the inevitable ox team train, in April, 1854, brought with him a bride, who for many years presided over his household with rare skill and ability. At that time Mr. Williams also drove a large herd of cattle, but many of these he lost while traveling through the alkali district. Settling on his ranch, near Vacaville, he improved the land, and for forty-one consecutive years was there prosperously engaged in general farming and stock-raising. Selling out in 1895, he bought his present home farm, near Dinuba, having fifty-five acres of choice land, which he devotes principally to the culture of vines and fruits, having a large vineyard and orchard.

Mr. Williams married first, February 17, 1854, in Jackson county, Mo., Mary Jane Morgan, who was born in Sangamon county,, Ill., and died in Solano county, Cal. Six children were born of their union, namely: Oliver Cromwell, engaged in farming near Sultana; Rufus L., deceased; Cornelius E., of Vacaville; Claudius, of Dinuba; Everett, of Vacaville; and Eulalia, deceased. For his second wife Mr. Williams married, in Yolo county, Cal., Sarah Catherine Stark, who was born in Hannibal, Mo., and came across the plains with her father and family in 1853, he, Ambrose Stark, settling near Vacaville. Mr. and Mrs. Williams have two children born of their marriage, Raleigh F., at Berkeley, attending the University of California; and Wert, a student in the San Francisco School of Pharmacy. Politically Mr. Williams is a stanch Democrat. Fraternally he belongs to the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and is a member of the California Pioneer Association of San Francisco. He is a prominent member of the Christian Church, in which lie is an elder, and for many years was superintendent of its Sunday School.

The History of Solano County, Wood, Alley & Co., East Oakland, 1879.

JAMES R. ROGERS, was born in Kentucky, November 14, 1826, and, at the age of fourteen moved with his parents to Missouri, where he remained until Spring of 1850, when he emigrated to California, making the trip across the plains with ox teams. He first settled in Sacramento where he bought a hotel on the road leading from that city to Bear River, Grass Valley and Nevada. This business he followed until early in 1857, when the left for Poor Man's, Nelson and Hopkins' creek, on Feather river, and from there the middle Yuba, where he worked until the Fall, whence he proceeded to the southern mines. In the Spring of 1853, he paid a visit to the state of Missouri, once more crossing the plains in the Fall of the following year and located in Santa Rosa Valley, Sonoma County, engaging in stock raising. In the Fall of that year he purchased a farm of five hundred acres in Elmira township, on which he now resides.

Mr. Rogers married, first in Sacramento, September 15, 1853, Miss Mary Ann Williams, she died June 4, 1865; and secondly, Laura C. Church, of Dixon, who was born June 15, 1844. His family consists of six children, four by his first and two by his second wife; their names are: Ann Eliza, born October 9, 1854, died January, 1857; Commodore Perry, born February 17, 1857; Seldon M., born April 26, 1859; Zilla N., born September 25, 1861; Celia May, born May 30, 1873; and Bertie Agnes, born January 16, 1876.

Historical and Biographical Record of the State of California, San Joaquin Valley, 1905, Guinn. Page 1044

JAMES R. ROGERS, a valued citizen of Merced County, Cal. and one of the successful fig-growers of the state, of which he is a pioneer of 1850, was born November 14, 1826, in Olham County, Ky. In tracing the ancestry of Mr. Rogers it is found that he is a descendant of distinguished families of Virginia on both paternal and maternal sides. His father, Thomas Rogers, was born in Spottsylvania county, of that state, and his mother, Priscilla Chancellor, was a Virginian and a sister of Sanford Chancellor, a wealthy miner and a member of a prominent family of Virginia. Thomas Rogers followed farming for a livelihood and as early as 1812 moved to Kentucky, and in that state their family made their home until James R. was sixteen years old. In 1842 they removed to Missouri, the father becoming prominently identified with that community, remaining there until his death at the age of seventy-eight years. Four of his children are still living: Winslow, a resident of Missouri, now eighty-eight years of age; William, a retired rancher of Santa Rosa, Cal; George, a resident of Solano County; and James R.

The boyhood days of Mr. Rogers were spent on a farm and at sixteen he accompanied his parents to Missouri, where he lived until his twenty-fifth year. In 1850 he came overland to California, the train of which he was a member consisting of about forty people. His first month in California was spent in the mines; he then went to the entrance of Grass Valley and conducted a hotel for a year and a half, after which he spent some time in both the northern and southern mines. Before the close of 1852 he was homeward bound and while crossing the Isthmus of Panama saw for the first time a railroad. The following year he again left Missouri with the Williams party for California, and upon his arrival, was married in Sacramento to Polly Ann Williams and took up his residence in Sonoma county, near Santa Rosa. He afterward bought four hundred acres of land in Solano county near Vacaville, which he put out in orchard and lived upon it for forty years.

In 1896 Mr. Rogers came to Merced county and August 15 of that year he purchased his home place of fifty acres four and one half miles northeast of Merced, in partnership with his son S. M. Rogers. Mr. Rogers has his entire place planted to figs, having six hundred and fifty-two trees which are now thirteen years old. These trees yielded in 1902 twenty tone and the fruit was sold on the trees for $750. In 1903 the yield was the same, but $100 additional was realized for the sale of the fruit in the same way. Mr. Rogers has on this place a comfortable residence containing eleven rooms, and fitted throughout with all modern improvements. His wife died in 1865, leaving three children, Comodore P., Seldan M., and Zilla, deceased. By his second marriage, in 1866, he was united with Laura Church, a native of Pontiac, Mich., who was born in 1844, and came to California in 1865. Two children were born to this union, namely: Celia May and Bert Agnes, the latter the wife of Bert Hatch. The family unite in worshipping at the Christian Church, of which Mr. and Mrs. Rogers are active members. Mr. Rogers is a member of Merced Lodge No. 97, F. & A. M., having been made a Mason in Vacaville Lodge No. 133, F. & A. M.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the Sierra's; Guinn (1906) Page 287

HIRAM LEWIS. In the annals of Sierra county the name of Hiram Lewis, late of Loyalton, will ever hold a place of honor and distinction. As one of the original settlers of this section of the state he assisted materially in developing its agricultural and industrial interests, and as opportunity occurred used his influence to encourage the establishment of enterprises conducive to the public welfare, and to the educational and moral progress of town and county.

A native of Missouri, he was born, December 5, 1820, in Franklin county. His father, John S. Lewis, a native, probably, of Kentucky, was descended from an old and influential southern family He served in the Mormon war, subsequently settling as a pioneer farmer in Missouri, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until his death, at the age of forty years. His wife, whose maiden name was Jane Osborn, was without doubt, in Kentucky, and died while yet in early womanhood, in Missouri.

His parents removing when he was a boy to Jackson county, Mo., Hiram Lewis was there brought up, obtaining his early knowledge of books in the district schools and under his father's tuition becoming well acquainted with the various branches of agriculture while young. Marrying in 1844, Mr. Lewis took up a preemption claim in Cass county, Mo., near Pleasant Hill and was there engaged in farming for six years. In 1850, having learned the trade of a bricklayer, he sold his farm and removed to Pleasant Hill village, where for four years he followed blacksmithing and bricklaying. Previous to this time, in 1849 intending to come to California with the gold hunters, he had purchased a fourth interest in an outfit, but on account of sickness had abandoned the idea and sold his interest in the outfit to another man. In 1854 fitting up one wagon for his wife and two children, and another for provisions, he came overland to this state in a train of sixteen wagons. After journeying for six months they arrived in the Santa Clara valley, where they spent a year. Locating then about nine miles from Healdsburg, Sonoma county, Mr. Lewis took up government land, which later proved to be a part of an old Spanish grant. This he afterwards disposed of and purchased a ranch near Healdsburg, where, during the few years that he lived, he was one of the foremost citizens, assisting in its development and helping to organize the first Baptist church established in that vicinity. Selling out in 1861, Mr. Lewis resided for two years in Vacaville, Solano county, from there coming, in 1862, to the Sierra Valley. Pleased with the bright prospects for the future, he purchased a pre-emption right to land east of the railway, where Loyalton now stands, and at once began the improvement of a farm. Diligent and persevering, he succeeded well, and in course of time bought additional land, becoming owner of a well-improved and well-cultivated ranch, on which he resided until his death, April 22, 1902, at the venerable age of eighty-one years and four months.

January 18, 1844, in Jackson county, Mo., Mr. Lewis married Sarah Farmer, who was born in Meigs county, Tenn., May 26, 1829. Her father, Rev. John Farmer, a native of Tennessee, was a Baptist minister, and besides owning a sawing and grist mill, was also interested in iron works, carrying on a large business for those days. In 1836 he moved with his family to Missouri, and on the pioneer farm which he there established his death occurred May 2, 1845. His wife, whose maiden name was Abigail Reed, was born in Tennessee, and died, at the age of fifty-one years, in Missouri, July 28, 1840. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Lewis was blessed by the birth of six children: Mary J., who married Rev. C. W. Rees, died at the age of thirty-eight years; Malinda R. widow of Joel Langdon, lives with her mother; Nancy S., wife of Isaac Weston, lives on the home ranch; William Spurgeon, of whom a brief sketch appears elsewhere in this volume, is one of Loyalton's prominent citizens; Horace Edwin has charge of the lands belonging to the parental estate; and Richard Hiram completes the list. Mrs. Lewis resides on the home farm, which the sons manage for her, conducting it skilfully and profitably. She is an active member of the Baptist church, which she joined when very young, and with which Mr. Lewis united in 1849, being afterwards one of its most loyal and consistent adherents.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the Sierras; Guinn; (1906) Pages 488 & 493

WILLIAM E. REES is the son Rev. Cyrus W. Rees, a name well known in the annals of the Baptist church of northern California and Nevada, for it is the name of one of the foremost in the vanguard of Christian workers in this section of the country. He was a man so thoroughly devoted to the cause that he gave no thought to his own comfort, convenience or reward when the voice called him to carry on the Master's work. His life is a record of the itinerancy of a minister of the gospel in the early cars. A native of Indiana, born in 1827, he graduated from the theological department of the Baptist College of Kalamazoo, Mich. His ambition was to devote his life to missionary work, for which he was peculiarly fitted. He had applied for appointment as missionary, and had been accepted by the boards, but owing to lack of funds they were not able to carry out their plans and Mr. Rees entered the ministry. In 1860 he was in charge of a church at Petaluma, Cal., and the following year was in Nevada, preaching the first Baptist sermons ever heard in Virginia City, Carson, Dayton, Silver City and Fort Churchill. In 1863 he came to Loyalton, acting in the capacity of semi-missionary and doing pastoral work for the Sacramento and Eastern Association. In 1862 he was at Eugene City, Ore., in charge of a church. In 1869 he went to the Dalles, Ore., as pastor of a church and preached there three years, during which time he had the misfortune to lose his wife. Later he went to Forest Grove, Ore. there serving as pastor of a church for two or three years, during which time he went to Ellensburg and Roslyn, Wash., and during his pastorate at the latter place he died June 17, 1888, at the age of sixty-one years. He is said to have organized more churches than any other one man on the pacific coast. He was naturally a student, and was a frequent contributor to church periodicals, charts, etc. He organized the Baptist church at Loyalton.

The wife of Cyrus W. Rees was Mary Abigail Lewis, daughter of Hiram Lewis, who came of a family well known in this section of country. She was born in Cass County, Mo., November 21, 1844, and was nine years old when her parents located near Healdsburg, Sonoma county, Cal. When she was eleven years of age she united with the Baptist church. She was educated at Healdsburg Academy and was an exceptionally bright anal promising student, winning medals, a scholarship and a Webster's Dictionary in the several school contests in which she took part. She is remembered as a fine, singer, having a well-cultivated voice. She was married to Mr. Rees November 21, 1860, and died November 21, 1882, at the Dalles, Ore. She was an exemplary woman, an active Christian worker and a devoted mother to her eight children, five sons and three daughters.

William E. Rees, the third son in the family, was born at the Lewis ranch in Loyalton, September 24, 1867, and lived there until he was eight years of age. He attended the public schools at Dalles, Ore., and between the age of sixteen and eighteen attended the McMinnville Baptist College at McMinnville, Ore. When his older brothers went into business for themselves he went with them to near Heppner, Ore., and after remaining there for a short time, returned to the family at Forest Grove. His mother had died and his father was away from home much of the time and he did what he could to keep the family together, working during his vacations at anything he could find to do. He was nineteen wars old when he returned to Loyalton and went to work on his grandfather Lewis' ranch, continuing in his assistance in supporting and caring for his sisters until they all had homes of their own. His older sister, Mrs. Marchbanks, losing her husband, he brought her and her two children from Oregon and made a home for them at Lewis Mill until she married again, to W. E. Langdon, of Loyalton. In 1888 he took a band of horses for the Lewises to Oregon to handle on shares. After about eight months he returned to Loyalton and went to work teaming and farming until the winter of 1889-90, when he attended business college in San Francisco. After finishing his course he returned to Loyalton and worked at teaming in the Loyalton Lumber Company's mill for two or three years, then went to Verdi to look after the company's interests, remaining there seven years. After that he managed the store for the Loyalton Lumber Co. at Lewis mills. During this time, in company with his brother, Jesse S., and H. B. Neville, the Loytaltonian was started. Mr. Rees took the fieldwork securing advertisements and subscriptions, and helped run the paper until 1903, when he and his brother sold out their interest in it. With Lewis Brothers he then engaged in the real estate business, buying acreage, subdividing and platting additions to the town of Loyalton, and nearly all the lots in the residence part of the town were sold by them. During the two years he acted as manager of the business he was also collector for the Loyalton Water Company, and in 1904 became train dispatcher for the Boca & Loyalton Railroad.

November 27, 1896, while living at Verdi, Mr. Rees married Miss Nina Louise Robinson, daughter of Henry H. Robinson, of Loyalton, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work. They have a family of two daughters: Gladys Clarion and Vera Louise. Mr. and Mrs. Rees are members of the Baptist church, Mr. Rees uniting with that body when he was nineteen years old. Both are actively engaged in church work, organizing the Baptist church at Verdi, and later being instrumental in building the church at that place, besides organizing the Christian Endeavor Society, etc. Mr. Rees has been superintendent of the Sunday school here since its organization, and is a sub-deacon and treasurer of the church. In politics he is independent. He is one of the founders of the Sierra Valley Bank in Loyalton and has been associated with Lewis Brothers in business more or less for several years. Mr. Rees has seen life from several different points of view, has risen to his present position in life through his own energy and industry. Whatever advantage he has gained he has well earned.

History of the State of California and Biographical record of the Coast Counties of California; Guinn; (1902) Page 1281

JOHN W. CLACK. In reviewing the life of Mr. Clack one would readily believe that he had never known any other home than the west, so thoroughly is he imbued with the spirit of the native westerner, but the truth of the matter is that he did not set foot on its soil until he had reached his twenty-fifth year. It was in Barren county, Ky., that he first saw the light of day, and May 24, 1831, was the date thereof. Until about fourteen years of age he remained at home with his parents, doing whatever he could to assist in the work on the plantation, and also attending school as opportunity offered. At this early age, however, his independent spirit asserted itself and he determined to start out and earn his own living, which he did by working on plantations in the vicinity of his home and also by clerking in a store.

When eighteen years of age Mr. Clack went to Jackson county, Mo., where at first he worked for others by the month, but finally he was enabled to purchase land of his own and this he at once began to clear and improve. It was while a resident of that county that he met Miss Sela J. Lewis, a native of Ray county, Mo., and in 1852 they were united in marriage. At the time of his marriage Mr. Clack was not burdened with an over abundance of wealth, $40 being the extent of his moneyed possessions, but he had what was of more real value to him - a will to forge ahead, no matter what obstacles might interfere, and the help and sympathy of his wife. They began housekeeping on the farm in Jackson county, and this continued to be their home until 1856 when the farm was sold and with the proceeds, in May, the young people started across the plains, taking with them sixty head of cattle. It was in October that they reached their destination, which was Healdsburg, Cal., and here they have since resided, never having regretted their choice of a location. Mr. Clack soon after his arrival here purchased a half interest in a livery stable, and for eight years he conducted a livery business. About this time he was elected marshal of the town, holding the office for four terms, and so well pleased were his fellow-citizens with his method of handling public affairs that they continued him in public office, next as deputy county assessor, then school assessor, and finally as deputy. sheriff, holding the latter position two Years. Once again retiring to private life he became interested in the management of a store and also ran an auction store for a time. As time went on he carefully saved his earnings and was enabled to show a bank account many times the size of the $40 with which he started out in 1852. About 1876 he purchased the Sotoyoma hotel, paying for the same $15,000, and after running it for about six years disposed of the property and has since lived retired.

In national affairs Mr. Clack is a Democrat, but in local matters votes for the man who in his judgment is best fitted to fill the office. Mr. and Mrs. Clack have had no children of their own; but they have opened their hearts and home to two children whose mother died when they were infants, and in their foster-parents they have found all the love and attention it would have been possible for natural parents to bestow. Mr. Clack can look back upon his past efforts in life with satisfaction, for from practically nothing he has risen to an independent position, free from care from a monetary point of view, at least. As an evidence of his faith in the future growth of Healdsburg he has invested in real estate to a considerable extent and now owns three residences from which substantial rents accrue.

To speak of the success that has come to Mr. Clack and make no mention of his wife would be an injustice, for to her he gives credit for a large share of the success that has attended his efforts. Not only in her own home has she been a source of help and comfort, but in the homes within a wide radius of Healdsburg she is known as an efficient nurse and the dispenser of loving attention and good cheer to those in trouble or affliction. Both Mr. and Mrs. Clack are held in the highest esteem throughout Sonoma county, which was especially evidenced at their golden wedding anniversary, April 8, 1902.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the Coast Counties of California; Guinn; (1902) Page 1049

DUFF GREEN HAWKINS. Because of the extent of their operations, the strength and integrity of their character, and the practical and progressive nature of their influence, the men who have borne the name of Hawkins in Solano county are entitled to more than passing mention. Duff Green Hawkins, living on the farm taken up and developed by his pioneer father, Arculus C. Hawkins, is conducting a grain and stock business of large proportions, maintaining that reputation for solidity and reliability fostered and encouraged by the older man, long since gone to his rest. In the life of the latter are to be found innumerable valuable lessons, the greatest of which is that what one man has accomplished another can also do, no matter how great the obstacles or discouraging the outlook.

Arculus C. Hawkins was born in Orange county, Va., in 1808, and afterward lived in both Kentucky and Missouri. In the latter state - he married Cornelia A. Lamme. So hard was he obliged to work in his youth that the inside of a school house was by no means a familiar sight, so it happened that after his marriage he would sit by candle light when his day's work was done, and tax his weary brain with the effort to read, write and figure. Naturally studious, he found rare delight in his progress, and became so wedded to books that in after years his chief diversion was reading. He lived in Missouri about nineteen years, and was well along in life when, in 1852, he crossed the plains with his wife and children. He traveled in greater comfort than many of the immigrants of those days, for he had been successful, and had realized large returns from the sale of his Missouri farm. Investing a share of his profits in cattle, he brought three hundred head with him as well as a number of horses, reaching his destination in this county in September, 1852. After taking an inventory of his prospects, he sold his cattle and purchased of Judge Curry five hundred acres of land, upon a part of which his son, Duff Green Hawkins, now lives. This was originally the old Las Pintos ranch, and was entirely devoid of improvements. While his family continued to live in the prairie schooner which had housed them upon the plains, he went to the redwood district of Sonoma county and cut trees, split boards, and brought them back with him to the prairie ranch. A rough-shanty made of these boards furnished a home for many months, or until prosperity dawned upon him once more.

In the meantime he had sown wheat in large quantities, finding that his land yielded well of this product, and in 1854 he returned to the east, purchased five hundred head of cattle and horses, and drove them across the plains to his ranch. Soon his enterprise outgrew the land at his disposal, and he purchased of William McDonald an additional five hundred acres adjoining. In 1856 he started a brick kiln on his farm, and made enough brick for a house; but it was soon destroyed by an earthquake, and he put up the frame structure which has weathered the seasons up to the present time. He raised large numbers of fine stock and grain, and at the time of his death, July 8, 1895, at the age of eighty-seven years, left a finely improved and valuable ranch. He is survived by his wife, who is ninety-four years old, and is making her home with her son, Duff Green. Of the family of twelve children but two survive, and of these, Jacob C. lives on a near-by ranch. Mr. Hawkins was one of those men who are undaunted by obstacles, and are unwilling to acknowledge the possibility of defeat. He accomplished whatever he set out to do, a fact not so strange when it is known that his tastes were moderate and tempered by practical good sense. He derived great help from his church association, and for many years was an elder in the Christian denomination. Few knew their Bible better than he, for from childhood up he spent many hours each week poring over its beautiful lessons. There were few chapters with which he was not familiar, or from which he could not quote. Better still, he lived up to the teachings of his Maker, and in acquiring his fortune never lost sight of the Golden Rule. Politically he was a stanch Jacksonian Democrat and always lent his voice and vote to the party's progress.

Duff Green Hawkins was fourteen years old when his family came to the coast in 1852, having been born in Ralls county, Mo., May 28, 1838. More fortunate than his sire, he attended the early schools of his county, and at home received a thorough training in farming and stockraising. Eventually, while still young, he engaged in buying and selling cattle on his own responsibility, eventually succeeding his father in the ownership and management of the home place. Although in the heart of the fruit belt, he carries on grain raising extensively, and has equal success in Shorthorn and Durham cattle as well as sheep and other kinds of stock. Years ago his farm was the center of a large trotting horse industry. Mr. Hawkins owns two hundred and twenty-seven acres of land with the finest of improvements, being one of the best located in Solano county.

Mary Lewis, the first wife of Mr. Hawkins, was born in Jackson county, Mo., and died at the age of thirty-eight years, leaving six children. Of these, Luella is the wife of Robert Chamberlain, and has three children, Duff Green, Henry and Ray; Cornelia; Alonzo, deceased; Josephine, deceased; Alphia, deceased; and Mrs. Lee Beck, who has two children, Cecelia and Woodley. For a second wife Mr. Hawkins married Willie J. Spurr, a native of Lexington, Ky., and daughter of William Spurr, a California pioneer of 1850. Of this union there have been born six children: John F., who married Addie Payne; Daisy, wife of James Patten, who has a son, Elgin; Wirt; Gerna, who married Sam Dixon; Nettie M.; and Rosa W.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the San Joaquin Valley, Guinn (1905), Pages 1160-1161

PHILIP SCOTT. One of the most liberal, enterprising, and respected residents of Fresno is Philip Scott, for many years a popular conductor on the Southern Pacific Railway, but now a successful vineyardist, and chairman of the Fresno County Board of Supervisors. Coming from good old New England stock, he was born near Joliet, Ill., May 3, 1848, a son of the late Jediah H. Scott. His paternal grandfather, Philip Scott, was born and reared in New England, being a cousin of Gen. Winfield Scott, but settled permanently in New York state, where he followed general farming.

A native of New York state, J. H. Scott was born on an island in the St. Lawrence river. Succeeding to the independent occupation in which he was reared, he settled in Will county, Ill., taking up land near Joliet, where he improved a farm. In 1852, with his wife and children, he started across the plains with horse teams, also driving a large herd of fine cattle and horses. Coming along the old Placerville route, he stopped over in Carson valley to feed his stock, when the Indians carried away all of his loose cattle and horses. Settling near Sacramento, he bought three hundred acres of land, and was prosperously engaged in the raising of stock and hay until the memorable flood of 1861, when be was drowned out, losing his entire property. Purchasing then a small place in Sacramento county, on the American river, he lived there until 1885, when he removed to Amador county, where he followed farming a few years. Coming then to Fresno, he was a resident of this city until his death, in 1895. He married Anna Chamberlain, who was born in Canada, a daughter of Franklin Chamberlain, a native of Massachusetts, and the descendant of an early family of New England. She survived him, and is now living in Fresno. Of the children born of their union the following is the record: Franklin was drowned in 1855, aged eleven years: Philip is the subject of this sketch: Jay, a farmer, was for two terms sheriff of Fresno county; Henry was killed by a mining accident in Tuolumne county; Ella is a resident of Fresno; Mrs. Lillie Joy died in Sacramento in 1885; Harriet is the wife of Frederick Berry, of San Francisco; Mrs. Alta Prouty is a resident of Fresno; Benjamin, a farmer, lives in Fresno county: Frank, a farmer, of Fresno, was formerly deputy sheriff; and Mrs. Alice Prouty is a resident of Fresno.

Coming across the plains with his parents when but four years old, Philip Scott received a practical education in the district schools of Sacramento county, and through out the days of his boyhood and youth assisted in the farm work. Entering the employ of the Central Pacific Railway Company in April, 1866, he served as brakeman between Sacramento and Colfax for a year, and was then promoted, becoming conductor on a construction train. Giving up railroad work in 1870, Mr. Scott assisted his father in his agricultural labors for five years. In 1875 he accepted the position of conductor on the Visalia division of the Southern Pacific Railway, and ran on a freight train between Lathrop and Tulare until 1880. Being, then promoted to passenger conductor, he ran from Oakland to Tulare and Bakersfield for ten years, having exceptional success all the time, meeting with no serious accident. In February, 1890, Mr. Scott went from Bakersfield on a hunting expedition, and was shot in the left arm by the accidental discharge of the gun of a brother conductor, receiving such an ugly wound that the arm had to be amputated during his journey home in a wagon. Three months later, May 1, 1890, he took charge of the local train running between Fresno and Portersville, and served as conductor until April 1, 1902, when he resigned his position, and has since devoted his attention to the care of his finely cultivated vineyard, lying seven miles northeast of Fresno, and containing forty acres. In 1895 Mr. Scott took up his residence in Fresno, and opened a livery business, which he managed until it was burned out in 1898. In his vineyard he raises grapes of all kinds, making a specialty of raisin grapes, and in addition to his Fresno vineyard owns eighty acres of land in Tulare county.

In November, 1898, Mr. Scott was elected county supervisor from the third district to fill a vacancy, and in the fall of 1900 was reelected by a handsome majority for a term of four years, and is now serving as chairman of the Board. Under the instruction of the supervisors Fresno county is now erecting a new County Hospital at a cost of $90,000, and is building a new steel bridge which will cost $22,000.

In Sacramento, December 24, 1873, Mr. Scott married Alice Leonard, a native of that city. Her father, the late Albert Leonard, came to California via Cape Horn in 1849, and subsequently married Caroline Merrill, who crossed the plains with her parents in 1849), and who is yet a resident of Sacramento. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Scott four children have been born, namely: William M., of Fresno, horticultural commissioner for Fresno county; Jessie, wife of P. B. Donahoo, of Watsonville; Anna, wife of R. G. Barton, manager of the Barton Opera House in Fresno; and Blanche, wife of J. C. Clark, of Fresno. Politically Mr. Scott is a Republican, and fraternally he is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Mrs. Scott is a member of the Christian Science Church.

History of Fresno County, California; Vandor; (1919) - Pages 898-903 - Photographs of Mr. and Mrs. Scott were also published.

Phil Scott. Not many men have been able to close their eyes to the scenes of this world with greater satisfaction than that which doubtless soothed the last moments of the late Phil Scott, one of the prominent upbuilders in his time of Fresno and Fresno County, who made an enviable record as Supervisor, and who was true to his trust so that his honesty and integrity were never questioned. In those eventful moments, he must also have been comforted with the thought of his faithful wife who was indeed a helpmate to him for may years. A native daughter of California, she well knew Californian conditions and so could the better aid and encourage him; and today she recalls many an early experience in a way both absorbingly entertaining and instructive.

Born in Joliet, Ill, on May 3, 1848, Phil Scott was the son of Jediah Hubbard Scott, a native of New York State who was born on an island in the St. Lawrence River, in 1818. The father was a pioneer farmer in Will County, Ill., and in 1851 brought his wife and four boys to California, crossing the great plains with ox teams. In Sacramento County he became a farmer and stock-raiser, and in that field of activity he continued until he retired and spent his last days in Fresno County. He had married Miss Annna Chamberlain, a native of Canada, and she also died here, the mother of thirteen children, among whom Phil was the second oldest.

Phil Scott was a child of three years when his father crossed the plains in 1851, and he was reared on a farm three miles out of Sacramento. When seventeen years of age he entered the employ of the old Central Pacific, and was the seventh man hired by that company in the train department for work on the construction of that line. He was a conductor of the construction train from the start, and for years continued with the company as a conductor. As early as 1875 he came to Fresno while railroading, and he ran the overland passenger between Oakland and Bakersfield. While hunting quail in 1890, his left arm was accidently shot off by a comrade, and when he recovered, he continued as conductor of the Porterville branch. He was always interested, as a result of the first favorable impression that he received, in the growth and development of Fresno County, and in 1893 he purchased in the Nevada Colony a vineyard of forty acres, which he improved and which is still owned by Mrs. Scott. In 1906 he and his brother Jay Scott, the ex-sheriff, and his son in law, J. C. Clark, bought 160 acres in Lone Star. They set out vineyards of malagas, emperors, muscats, Thompson seedless and other grapes, turning stubble-fields into model ranchland, and together they operated their property. in 1893 he and his family located again on the ranch, but in 1895 he moved to Fresno. Soon afterward he was elected supervisor of the third Supervisorial District in Fresno County, to fill the unexpired term caused by the death of Supervisor Smith; and two years later he was reelected for a full term, and during that time was made chairman of the board. After he retired from the board, in 1904, at the close of his second term, he returned to the ranch of forty acres located on Lone Star and Las Palmas Avenues, which is devoted to the culture of muscat and malaga grapes. In November, 1918, he moved to Fresno, where he purchased a comfortable home on Wishon Avenue, and there he died, on January 18, 1919, nearly seventy-one years of age. He was a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks.

At Sacramento on December 23, 1973, Mr. Scott was married to Miss Alice Leonard, a native of that city where she was born on August 11, 1852. Her father was Albert Leonard, a native of Springfield, Mass., and when he was twenty-one he joined others in buying a barque and sailing around Cape Horn, in 1849, to San Francisco. He was therefore a true Argonaut, and he mined for a short time, and then became one of the early insurance and real estate men of Sacramento, where he finally died. His wife was Miss Caroline Merrill before her marriage, and she was born in Conneaut, Ohio. Grandfather Isaac Merrill was a native of New York state, and with ox teams and wagons, he brought his family across the plains in 1849. When Caroline was sixteen, they located in Sacramento, and there she met Mr. Leonard. She also died in Sacramento, the mother of fifteen children, ten of whom are still living. Mrs. Scott, the eldest, was brought up in Sacramento, and well remembers the flood of 1861-62. The mother and children were in the house when the flood came and they were deep in the water before a boat came to rescue them. Soon after they left the house, it toppled over. Mrs. Scott was educated at the Sacramento grammar and high schools. Four children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Scott: William N., for years a conductor on the Southern Pacific, is now engaged in viticulture east of Fresno; Jessie is the wife of P. B. Donahoo, of Fresno; Nan C. is the wife of Robert Barton, proprietor of the White Theater; while Blanche, who died in March, 1906, became Mrs. J. C. Clark.

Mrs. Scott continues to reside in Fresno, surrounded by her children and friends, who love and esteem her for her splendid traits and amiable disposition. As a Christian Scientist has ever been known as a benevolent Christian.


DEXTER DUNPHEY, a blacksmith of Woodland, was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1835, the son of A. Spencer and Eliza (Wing) Dunphey. His father, a native of New York State and a millright by trade, died in Cook County Illinois; and the mother, who was born in Canada in 1811, died in Illinois. When Mr. Dunphey was but two years of age the family removed to Cook County, Illinois, and subsequently to Jo Daviess County, same State. April 13, 1852, he came overland with ox teams to California, and for five years was employed at Sacramento in the trade of blacksmithing. He then went to Cottonwood, now Madison, where he worked at his trade for seven years, and then he settled in Woodland, where for twelve years he has been conducting a prosperous business. He worked for Mr. Knox three years and has now resumed business for himself in Woodland. He is a man well known throughout the county and has many friends. He has a neat little home on Third street. June 2, 1860, in Cottonwood, Yolo County, Mr. Dunphey married Lydia Willard the daughter of A. H. and Mary A. Willard. Her father was born in 1812 in St. Louis, Missouri, and her mother in 1823 in Vandalia, Illinois; they had seven sons and seven daughters. Mr. Dunphey has eight children, the following being their names and ages: Spencer, twenty-nine years; Charles, deceased at the age of fifteen years; Lydia, aged twenty-five, and now the wife of R. A. Patterson of San Diego County; Eliza twenty one; Dexter, twenty three; Lizzie, died at the age of eight years; Willard, sixteen; and Minerva, twelve.

[Transcribed by his great grandson, L. Spencer Leister. Dexter Dunphey died July 31, 1906 and is buried in the Woodland Cemetery. Dexter's father was A. Spencer Dunphey the son of James Dunphey and Leah Spencer. James Dunphey was in the Revolutionary War and his pension documents at the National Archives gives information of his service with the Vermont Green Mountain Boys and his capture in Quebec. Leah Spencer's 3-great grandfather, Gerard Spencer immigrated from England in the 1600s.]

GEORGE W. SCOTT, one of the leading agriculturists and one of the foremost citizens of Yolo County, is a native of Seneca County, New York, born near the town of Ovid, between Cayuga and Seneca Lakes, October 19, 1828, his parents being Daniel and Sarah (Dunlap) Scott. The father, who was of a noted New England family, was born at Warwick, Connecticut, whence he removed to New York State, where he followed farming. The mother was born in Seneca County, New York. Of their family of fifteen children, twelve were boys, and eleven grew to maturity. Besides our subject, there are only two others of these now living, viz.: Charles, who lives by the side of his brother, George W., in Yolo County, and James B., a resident of Geneva, New York. The subject of this sketch grew up at his native place, under the watchful eye of his father, to the age of nineteen years, when he was allowed, in the fall of 1847, to take a trip to Wayne County, Michigan. It was not intended that he should stay longer than a few weeks, but the lake froze up, navigation closed, and he was good for an all winter's stay with his Western relatives. The mails in the spring brought him instructions to return by the first steamer, but he decided to strike out on his own account, and to make his own start in the world. Instead of taking the route homeward, he started west, and proceeded to Kalamazoo, thence to St. Joseph, and finally to Chicago. He was very fond of flat turnips, and, seeing a supply displayed in a grocer's establishment, he invested a shilling and got a half-bushel of them. With these he filled the valise he carried, and all the available room in his pockets, and taking a few that remained in his hands he started to walk into the country in search of employment. He brought up in Columbia County, Wisconsin, 150 miles away, with $1.50 left of the $6 with which he had started, and six turnips out of the half-bushel. He secured work, and when his father learned that he was not going to return home he sent out another son, who bought for our subject 400 acres of land on Portage Prairie. There he remained until 1850, farming, and by that time he had the place in pretty good shape. He caught the California fever, however, and in the year mentioned he and two friends in Columbia County, named George Jess and E. K. Dunlap, together with another man started on the long trip to the Golden State. They had four horses hitched to a small, light wagon, and three saddle horses, and, taking only such supplies as they deemed absolutely necessary, the start was made. The result showed that their preparations were exactly right, and when the journey was finished all were ready to admit that they could not do better with all their experience. They crossed the Missouri River at St. Joseph on the third of May, and proceeded via Forts Kearney and Laramie, Sublette's cut-off, and down Humboldt River. At the sink of the Humboldt they left their wagon, and with their horses packed across the desert and into California, arriving at Placerville on the 21st of July, having stopped over twenty days and traveled sixty-two. Mr. Scott commenced mining there, but after a few weeks went to Spanish Bar, on the middle fork of the American River, and after a short time spent in search for gold there went up on the divide between the North and Middle forks, having been fairly successful in mining. He engaged in freighting between Sacramento and Yankee Jim's, employing a mule team and also one of oxen. In the winter of 1851 he sold his freighting outfit and came to Yolo County pitching his tent on Cottonwood Creek, about two miles from his present residence. He stocked the place with hogs, and also bought a few cattle and horses. After a few months he took S. M. Enos and Enoch Drew as partners. In the spring of 1852 he went back East, partly to visit his parents and brothers, and partly to buy stock, being accompanied by Mr. Drew. He arrived at his old home in July, and was congratulated by his father on having been successful in doing for himself. He remained there until the spring of 1854, being at that time the only one of the boys at home, and then started on the return trip overland. In southern Illinois he and Mr. Drew bought about 200 head of cattle, and started West, crossing the Mississippi River at Chester. They reached the ranch in Yolo County with 167 head. During his trip East Mr. Scott was married and his wife accompanied him on the trip. After arriving here Mr. Scott and his partner, who had accumulated jointly considerable property, dissolved partnership, he taking the stock and Mr. Drew taking the ranch. Mr. Scott took up a stock ranch at the head of Buckeye, and for years thereafter was extensively engaged in the cattle business. American cattle was then worth about $50 a head, and the resources of the country seemed so abundant that a large number of the settlers were soon heavily engaged in the cattle business. The year 1864 found everybody with big droves, and cattle fell to $5. That, together with the terrible drought of that year, broke up nine-tenths of the cattlemen. Mr. Scott gathered up about 600 head out of the 1,200 or 1,400 he had on hand, and took them to Nevada, placing the remainder on the tule lands. His cattle became fat in Nevada, and he sold them at from $20 to $30 apiece, making a good profit. His horses, which he took down to the tule lands about Rio Vista, also came out well. Mr. Scott is now extensively engaged in cattle-raising, but he and Mr. Love have a partnership between 7,000 and 9,000 head of Spanish merino sheep. They are also among the heaviest farmers in the valley, cultivating about 3,000 acres of land, and 10,000 used for grazing, which they own together, Mr. Scott having sole charge of the business. He also has 1,000 acres on his home place, and 500 acres in his Buckeye ranch. He is also interested in oil wells in Ventura County, and at Half-Moon Bay, San Mateo County. At the latter place he and a partner have $10,000 invested in machinery, which is of the most improved pattern known to that industry. This business takes about all his time the year round. He has also about 1,000 acres at Banning, San Bernardino County. Mr. Scott is a stanch Republican in politics, and has taken a prominent part in the councils of the party, although he does not class himself in any sense a politician. He has, however, served his county in the Board of Supervisors, and was the Republican candidate for the Legislature in 1870, and again in 1880. Though unsuccessful on account of the long lead of the opposing party, he made a close race, and ran ahead of his ticket. He has always taken an active interest in public affairs, and the welfare of the community. While a member of the Patrons of Husbandry he was one of the most ardent workers for success. He took an active part in the building of the Vaca Valley & Clear Lake Railroad, grading the line at his own expense from Madison to Winters, and in all put about $18,000 into it without any returns. Mr. Scott is a man of iron will and great self-reliance, which qualities have made him what he is financially. He could, however, have been vastly better off had he not been ready at all times to lend a helping hand to those who asked his aid. His highest recommendation, however, is his honesty, and it is said of him that he is incapable of anything but pure and manly motives, his word being to him as sacred as life itself. His wife, to whom he was married in New York State, as previously mentioned, December 13, 1853, was formerly Miss Emma Bloomer, a native of the Empire State. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have four children living, viz.: Clarence, at home; Arthur, who lives at Banning; Elma, wife of John H. Rice, of Dixon; and Charles Latham, at home. Two are deceased, viz.: Addie and Stella.

[Transcribed by L. Spencer Leister. George W. Scott died February 20, 1912 and is buried in the Scott Family Plot at the Cottonwood Cemetery, located near Madison, California.]

W. B. S. LEWIS, now engaged in the milling business in Long Beach, has been a resident of California since 1877. He located first at Wilmington where he farmed for about a year. He subsequently purchased farm lots five and six of the Wilmington tract of the Cerritus Ranch. This he lived on and improved until he came to Long Beach, where he has built the mill property, and where he has also been actively and successfully engaged in buying and selling real estate. Mr. Lewis is a native of Missouri, and a descendant of one of the best old Virginia families. He was born in Saline County, Missouri, in 1840, and is the son of William H. and Elizabeth Lewis. He received a good common-school education, and after the death of his father, which occurred in 1857, his mother sent him to school in Virginia. He attended school at Staunton preparatory to the University. From here he returned to the old homestead and took charge of the farm until the war broke out. He at once enlisted in the Southern army, and entered Company D, Gordon's Regiment, Missouri Cavalry, Shelby's Brigade. He was captured by Price's last raid, and carried a prisoner to Indianapolis, where he was kept until May 22, 1865. After the war he again took charge of the old farm. October 13, 1868, he married Miss Mary Garrison, a native of Kentucky, and a daughter of John and Sarah Garrison, who were also descendants from one of the best families of Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis have been blessed with four children: Sadie M., William H., John C. and Ernest Lynn. Politically the subject of this sketch affiliates with the Democratic party. He and his wife are both highly esteemed members of the Presbyterian Church, in which Mr. Lewis holds the office of elder. Their residence is on the corner of Second and Linden streets, Long Beach, California.

ANDREW A. LEWIS, a farmer and stock-raiser on farm lot 95 of the American Colony tract of the Cerritus Ranch, is a pioneer of 1878. His first stop in this State was at Wilmington, and, after buying and improving and selling several pieces of land, he purchased and has greatly enhanced the value of the property where he now lives, one of the most beautiful sites in Southern California. He is a native of Missouri, born in Saline County, August 1, 1842, and is the son of William H. and Elizabeth Lewis, natives of the Old Dominion, and of Scotch origin. His father departed this life in 1857. The subject of this sketch is the ninth and one of thirteen children, five of whom are yet living. Mr. Lewis, with his brothers and sisters, received the advantages of a common-school education, and just as he was beginning to be interested in a higher course of studies, the war came on and his plans were changed. In 1869 he married Miss Belle Garrison, a native of Kentucky, and a daughter of John G. and Polly (McDowell) Garrison, also natives of Virginia. To Mr. and Mrs. Lewis have been born five children: Thomas H., Elizabeth, John, Andrew and George. Both he and his wife are earnest workers in and members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Stroke, Yda Addis, "A Memorial and Biographical History of the Counties of Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo & Ventura, Illustrated", The Lewis Publishing Co., Chicago, Ill. (1891), page 407

CHARLES W. LARZELERE, a prominent citizen and rancher of Lompoc, was born at Seneca Falls, Seneca County, New York, in 1834. His father owned a canal-boat which ran from Buffalo to Albany, and also traded, having a grocery at Seneca Falls. His uncle, Abraham Larzelere, built the first four-story building in Buffalo. His father emigrated to Lenawee County, Michigan, in 1836, when the country was very wild and unsettled; he took up land and also traded with the settlers. The subject of this sketch remained at home until 1853, when he came to Salt Lake with Colonel Steptoe, who had command of 600 soldiers and 100 work-hands. They passed the winter in camp at Salt Lake, and in the spring of 1854 the Government took up a reservation, eight miles square, at Rush Valley, and built barracks for the accommodation of officers and men. In 1854 Mr. Larzelere came to California and engaged in mining in Nevada County for two years, then to Humboldt Bay and to Jacksonville, Oregon, where the Government command was stationed during the Indiana war of 1856. He remained at Jacksonville for five years, engaged in mining, farming and dairying. In 1859 he went to Coos Bay, Oregon, bought 160 acres of land and farmed and lumbered until 1866, when he was married to Miss Clarinda Rowley, a native of Illinois. They then came south and traveled through California and settled at Los Olivos, and with a friend took up 320 acres of land. After three years he traded his claim for a lumber-wagon, which is still in use. In 1870 he went to Santa Barbara and leased 175 acres, near the present town of Goleta. He there carried on farming until 1877, when he moved to his present ranch, which he had purchased in 1876 to the amount of 384 acres, 106 of which he has since sold. He started an apiary at Goleta in 1876, which he has since continued on his ranch at Lompoc and has about 350 stands, which average 100 pounds to the stand; but he has taken as high as 200 pounds from one stand. He has four children living, all at home.

The History of Solano County, Wood, Alley & Co., East Oakland, 1879.

KITTO, SAMUEL, is a native of Cornwall, England, having been born there on April 19, 830. In 1851 he came to San Francisco, in the ship "Fairlie," of London. On his arrival he at once proceeded to Rich Bar, on the North Fork of the Feather River, and began mining, remaining thee till 1858, when he paid a visit to Old England, being absent for eight months. He returned to his mining interests in 1859; after which he came to Vallejo, where he has since resided. Mr. Kitto has been a trustee of the M.E. Church since 1869; is also a prominent mover in the Temperance cause, in which he has always taken a deep interest. In 1873 he was elected one of the trustees of the Good Templars' Home for Orphans, a position which he still holds. He married in Vallejo, May 9, 1861, Miss Margaret Carter, a native of Ireland, by whom he has Margaret Loftee, born April 5, 1862; Edward August, born May 29, 1864; Harriet Elizabeth, born November 27, 1865; Samuel Henry, born October 10, 1868; and Lilian May, born April 30, 1873.

James Roy. Was born in Vermont, April 19, 1834. On June 10, 1862 he emigrated to California via the Isthmus, and immediately settled in Marin county. In 1868, with his brother, T. B. Roy, he purchased the farm on which they now reside. Is unmarried.

Thomas B. Roy. Born in Caledonia county, Vermont, November 22, 1840. In 1861 he came to California, arriving in San Francisco in the month of October of that year, and there remained one year, and on October 1, 1862, removed to Marin county, where he located on the tract of land known as the White Ranch. In the Fall of 1865 Mr. Roy proceeded to Contra Costa county where he sojourned for three years; we next find him relocated, and in 1868, in company with his brother, James Roy, bought their present farm of four hundred and twenty acres. Married November 21, 1871, Mary E. Somers, also of Caledonia county, Vermont.

History of California and its Southern Coast Counties; Guinn; (1907) Page 718 FRANKLIN PIERCE WILLARD. An illustration of what it is within the power of a self-reliant and ambitious young man to accomplish may be found in the life of Mr. Willard, who, though deprived of all educational advantages excepting such as he could provide for himself, nevertheless gained a superior education, both in the classics and the law, in addition to taking a medical course of one year and acquiring a thorough knowledge of the occupation of a mining engineer. A native son of California, he was born near Madison, Yolo county, seven miles west of Woodland, December 2, 1853, and is a member of a pioneer family of the coast. At the time of the famous expedition by Lewis and Clark for the purpose of exploring the northwest Alexander H. Willard, Sr., was engaged by the expedition as their blacksmith, and in that capacity traveled through the remote and hitherto inaccessible regions of the northwest. Returning to Missouri, he followed his trade there until 1852 and then joined members of the family in California, where he died about 1865, at a very advanced age. His son, Alexander H., Jr., was born and reared in Missouri, from which state he came across the plains with ox-teams in 1848 and settled on the Cache creek, where he bought five hundred acres of the Gordon tract. Soon afterward he went back east and brought his family and household effects overland in 1849, settling on his ranch, where he engaged in the stock business until his death. During his residence there he filled the office of school trustee. In early manhood he married Mary Ann Wakefield, who was born in Illinois and died in Los Angeles in 1903. There were fourteen children in the family of Alexander Hamilton Willard, Jr., and of these four sons and two daughters are now living, namely: John, a farmer residing near Lilac, San Diego county; Henry, a farmer in Glenn county; Hamilton, who is engaged in farming in San Bernardino county; Franklin Pierce, an attorney at Escondido; Emma, Mrs. Hawkins, of Tulare county, and Mrs. Colista Scott, of Ocean Park. Until fourteen years of age Franklin Pierce Willard lived on the home ranch on Cache creek, but afterward he made his own way in the world. Through his own determined and unaided efforts it was made possible for him to enjoy a complete course of study in Hesperian College, Woodland, from which he was graduated in 1871, and during 1872-73 he was a student in the University of California, class of 1876. With other members of his class he was present at the laying of the corner stone of the first building belonging to the present set of buildings on the university ground. During 1873 Mr. Willard was engaged as mechanical and mining engineer in the Ida Elmore mines in Idaho, after which he became superintendent and mining expert at the Cornucopia mines in Nevada. Afterward he made his home for seventeen years at Bodie, Mono county, Cal., where he was engaged as superintendent of mines and mining engineer, and while in that town he completed the study of law, and in 1883 was admitted to the bar. Besides conducting a general practice in that town he was employed as deputy district attorney. In 1893 he came to Escondido, where, in addition to his private practice, he has served continuously as city attorney and attorney for the First National Bank. Working in the interests of the taxpayers, he took an active part in the liquidation of the Escondido bonds, which amounted to $350,000 principal and $150,000 interest. Through his efforts, acting in harmony with others intimately connected with the matter, he had the indebtedness settled for $208,000, and the burning of the bonds was made the interesting feature of a ceremonious occasion and appropriate celebration on the part of the people. The water system also has received thoughtful attention on his part, it being his claim that the water belongs to the land and the two are inseparable, through which stand he has done much in behalf of the land-owners. The Willard homestead in Escondido consists of eight acres, improved with a neat residence and with an orchard of fruit and a meadow of alfalfa. In 1879 Mr. Willard married Miss Emma Gregg, who was born on the Sandwich Islands while her father, Hon. David L. Gregg, was officiating as minister at Hawaii under President Lincoln. Previous to his service abroad Mr. Gregg had been a prominent attorney and leading Republican, and for a time acted as superintendent of the United States mint at Carson, Nev., where he died. The family of Mr. and Mrs. Willard comprises five children, namely: Dora and Edna, who are members respectively of the classes of 1906 and 1908, University of California; Frankie, who is attending Pomona College; Alexander Gregg and Reba, who are students in the local schools. The family are identified with the Episcopal Church and prominent in local society. While living in Nevada Mr. Willard was initiated into the Independent Order of Odd Fellows in 1874. Under his enthusiastic leadership Bodie Lodge No. 279 was established and organized and he officiated as one of its officers, also on two occasions represented it in the Grand Lodge. At this writing he is a member of Escondido Lodge No. 344, I.O.O.F., and holds the office of district deputy. With his wife he holds membership in the Order of Rebekahs. Since the organization of the Woodmen of the World at Escondido he has served as clerk, and he has also been past chancellor and past grand representative of the Knights of Pythias in Escondido. At one time he was actively identified with the San Diego Parlor Native Sons of the Golden West. Politically he has always been a loyal adherent of the Republican party and has given his support to its candidates, both at local elections and in national campaigns. [Franklin Pierce Willard died January 10, 1931 at Mercy Hospital in San Diego, California]

An Illustrated History of Sacramento County, California
by Hon. Win. J. Davis
Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company 1890.
California State Library #131744
Page 796

William Andrew Fountain, elder brother of James B. Fountain, and senior member of the business firm of Fountain Brothers, a brick-makers, is the oldest living son of Joshua Fountain, a native of the state of Delaware, born near Milford in 1811, and Prudence Rebecca (Walton) Fountain, who emigrated to Beard's Prairie, Michigan, in 1835, where the subject of this biography was born March of the following year (1836). As stated elsewhere in this volume, the family soon removed to Van Buren County, Iowa, where grandfather Andrew Fountain, who was a farmer, died in 1844. In the spring of 1850, our subject, at that time just twenty-four years of age, his father, his uncle Lloyd Rollins, a daughter of the latter, and three young men, made up a party to cross the plains overland to the "land of golden promise." They left home on the 9th of April, crossed the Missouri River at Council Bluffs on the 29th, the north side of the Platte, and via Fort Hall, arrived safely at Grass Valley on the 15th of September following. They wintered there, and in the spring of 1851 started for Gold Lake mining district. Abandoning that project they mined on the Feather River during that summer, at Bidwell's Bar and at Oregon Gulch until November, 1852, when our subject came to Sacramento and worked for his father, who had started a brickyard on Eighth and O streets. (For full particulars of locations, which were changed from time to time to accommodate the advancing requirements of a growing city, see sketch of Joshua Fountain, the pioneer brick-maker.) In 1859 Mr. Fountain started business on his own account, taking a contract to make brick for the wine-cellar, residence and other buildings for Mr. Bell, at Gold Hill, Placer County, and in 1862 and 1863 had a contract for constructing a portion of the levee near Freeport. In 1863 and 1864 he burned a kiln of brick at Auburn, and also made the brick for the courthouse and jail at Woodland that year. In 1865 and 1866 he bought a farm lying between Elk Grove and Georgetown, and was engaged in farming for two years, but in the meantime he burned a kiln of brick at Elk Grove. In 1867 the present firm was established. (For full particulars see sketch of J.B. Fountain.) Mr. Fountain has always taken an active interest in the local politics since the organization of the Republican party, to which he belongs, but has never been willing to accept any official position. He is a member of the Sixth Street Methodist Episcopal Church, and he has had his residence on the corner of Fifteenth and P Streets for twenty-three years. In 1877 he was associated with Hon. John Q. Brown in street contracting, cobbling and graveling the principal streets, and they continued the business for several years. The latter gentleman was afterward mayor of the city for six years, and is now president of the San Francisco Board of Trade. July 28, 1859, Mr. Fountain was married to Miss Abbie Louise Brewster, a native of Massachusetts, the daughter of Mr. Charles Brewster, a florist. She was a devoted Christian woman. Her death occurred September 13, 1879. The family consists of six daughters, viz: Henrietta, now Mrs. Charles Lowell; Clara, now Mrs. Charles Hockell; Grace; Anne; Lizzie; and Abbie. In 1881 he was again united in marriage to Miss Helen Powers, an earnest Christian woman, a native of New York State. Her death occurred April 23, 1888. Of their private affairs, the home life, of the tender interests which cluster around the family altar, it is not our province to speak, but we must be permitted to say that the influence of such homes are far-reaching; the influence of such lives will ever remain a monument to enduring memory. [From the 1901 Sacramento City Directory: Page 222 Fountain, Wm. A. brick mfr. r.1430 P]

An Illustrated History of Sacramento County, California
by Hon. Win. J. Davis
Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company 1890.
California State Library #131744
Page 670

Joshua Fountain was born in Maryland, February 27, 1811, his parents being Andrew and Rebecca (Barwick) Fountain. His maternal grandparents were James and Mary (Fisher) Barwick. Grandmother Barwick lived to be over seventy. The Barwicks are Marylanders for several generations. His grandfather Fountain bore the name of Andrew, and lived to be nearly seventy. Joshua Fountain's great-grandfather, who is believed to have been also named Andrew, was one of the three brothers, who had come to America from France before the middle of the last century. One settled in Maryland, one in Long Island, and the third went South, but afterward returned to France, where he died leaving, it is said, a large fortune, to his indirect heirs in America. A grand-uncle was a Colonel Fountain in the French-Indian Wars, about 1760, serving on the side of the British colonies; and is said to have received the grant of one or two sections of land over which the city of Baltimore has since spread. Whether the alleged $8,000,000 of Fountain's inheritance includes this as well as the foreign claim, or whether one is confounded with the other, or whether either is genuine, Mr. Joshua Fountain is unable to say, and meanwhile is little concerned about the prospective millions which perhaps is little better than a lawyer's lure to gather a handsome retainer from American Fountains. Joshua Fountain was brought up on a Maryland farm near the Delaware line; and was married in 1834 to Miss Prudence Rebecca, a daughter of Solomon and Anvibator Fountain, born June 15, 1815. He rented a farm for the first year after his marriage, and in 1835 moved to Michigan, where he bought a farm in Cass County. In 1838 he moved to Iowa, buying a farm near Farmington; and then he moved into Lee County, where he farmed for seven years. In 1850, he came to California, across the plains, accompanied by his oldest son, then a boy of fourteen. Arriving in Grass Valley on September 15, 1850, he went to mining there that winter, assisted by his boy. In the spring he went to prospecting for three months, and again settled down to work at Big Rich Bar, on the north fork of the Feather River. Coming down to Oregon Gulch, below Orville, he there mined in the winter of 1851 and the spring of 1852. In the summer he came down to Sacramento seeking a location, having accumulated about $3,000, and bought a place at Eighth and O Streets. The son followed in November with $1,000 which he had won from the mines at the age of sixteen. He went into his old business of brickmaking, which he carried on from 1852 to 1861 in Sacramento. August 20, 1855, Mr. Fountain returned to Iowa to bring out his wife and family of four children, leaving his son in charge of the business and twenty men. In 1857 he bought the ranch of 240 acres in the northeast corner of Franklin Township, which he still owns, and on which he came to reside in 1859. During his brickmaking career in Sacramento he went to Grass Valley in 1857, and there made brick for the Catholic Church of that place; and in 1859 to Suisun City, where he made brick for the courthouse and jail. On his farm he raises grain, though is well adapted for fruit raising with proper irrigation. Mrs. Fountain died December 13, 1871, having borne the following children: William Andrew, born June 9, 1836; James Barwick, July 11, 1838; Ann Eliza, January 13, 1841; George Walton, January 19, 1844; Sarah Jane, December 17, 1847, deceased in 1849; Mary Marion and an unnamed twin sister, who died soon after birth March 17, 1849. Mary Marion died in 1851. Of these, William A. was born in Michigan, and the others in Iowa. The following were born in Sacramento: Joshua Jr, April 2, 1857; an unnamed child, born March 31, 1861, died April 12, 1861; Charles Henry, born April 16, 1862, died February 12, 1884. The two oldest carry on a brick business in Sacramento as Fountain Brothers. Ann Eliza is the wife of F.S. Hotchkiss of the same city. George W. is in the dairy business in the Locke and Levin, son place, below Courtland. He supplies half the stock, the firm the other half and the land, the product being owned in equal shares. He is married to Louisa Hollman. Joshua, Jr. is a traveling salesman for the hardware house of Hillburn brothers of Sacramento, and is married to Clara Hoyt. December 30, 1874, Mr. Fountain was married to Miss Mary Myers, born in Dade County, Missouri, in 1855, a daughter of Garrett Laure, and Delina (Robertson) Myers, the father being of French and the mother of English descent, both now living in Sacramento.

An Illustrated History of Sacramento County, California
by Hon. Win. J. Davis
Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company 1890.
California State Library #131744
Page 422

Pyram Ripley Beckley was born in Athens County, Ohio March 2, 1835, his parents being Lucius Ripley and Marie Ann (Gerslino) Beckley. The father was a native of Ohio and the mother of Indiana, her parents living near Fort Wayne. Grandfather Daniel Beckley married a Miss Camp and both lived to a good old age, perhaps 60 years. In 1844, the parents with three sons and a daughter moved to Van Buren County, Iowa, where the father was engaged for a time selling the products of a local pottery, chiefly to dealers. He afterward moved to Lee County and went to farming near Montrose for two years, when he returned to a previous pursuit in Van Buren County. The grandparents also spent a few years with him in Iowa, but afterward went back to Ohio.

In 1850, L. R. Beckley, with his wife and children, crossed the plains to California with three ox teams and some cows, forming part of a company of over one hundred persons, and a train of 38 wagons. The Beckleys left Bonaparte, Iowa, April 5, but did not cross the Missouri River until about May 1, not daring to venture into the interior because of the backward condition of the grass that season. They arrived in Hangtown, now Placerville, California, September 20, 1850, where the father soon went forward to Sacramento to buy flour and other supplies with which he started a bakery at Diamond Springs for a few months.

In December 1850, they moved to Sacramento where the father built the Washington Hotel near the corner of Fifteenth and J Streets. After a few months he rented it to another party and he conducted the Prairie House on the Placerville Road. There the mother died June 5, 1851 and the family returned to the Washington Hotel in Sacramento.

In the Spring of 1852, he was again married to Mrs. Phoebe Shaeffer, a widow having one son. He was burnt out in the great fire of November, 1852 and soon afterward bought the Monte Cristo House on the Coloma Road, which he carried on for about three years.

In 1855, he moved into Franklin Township and the fortunes of the family have been connected with this township ever since. He first took up 320 acres about two and one-half miles west of where Franklin now stands with a frontage of one mile on the road to the Sacramento River. Soon afterward he bought about one thousand acres five miles north of Franklin. He was elected Supervisor for the years 1855 and 1856 and he was afterward Public Administrator for one term. He died May 15, 1859 after two or three years of broken health, leaving three sons and a daughter born of his first marriage:

Benson D., born 1833, now a rancher in Calaveras County and the father of four children; Edmond J., born in 1836, a hotel-keeper in Portland, Oregon and the father of one child; Mary Maria, born in 1838 by the first marriage, Mrs. Isaac Allen; and by second marriage, Mrs. S. F. Wheeler, who lived in this county from 1850 to 1883 and died in Nevada County in 1885.

P. R. Beckley, the subject of this sketch, worked with his father and afterward for a time in charge of his ranches almost continuously boyhood until the death of the latter in 1859. Meanwhile, he had bought 160 acres adjoining his father's place on the road from Franklin to the Sacramento River and about 320 acres of low land near the river.

Mr. P. R. Beckley was married December 30, 1858 to Miss Sarah Clark Walton, born in Delaware January 3, 1838, a daughter of William and Maria (Fountain) Walton, both now deceased--the father May 27, 1877, aged seventy-eight; the mother, December 25, 1885, aged seventy-six. The father was of English and the mother of French descent. Their son, John Henry, died in Franklin November 24, 1888, aged 42 of blood poisoning from what seemed at first a trifling wound on the hand. Another son, William J., died in Iowa in 1854 at the age of 19. A daughter, Elizabeth J. was married to Dr. B.H. Pierson, one of the first residents of Woodland, Yolo County, and previously for 15 years a practicing physician in Sacramento. He died in Franklin January 10, 1883, leaving three children now living with their mother in Auburn, Placer County. Another daughter, Esther Ann, was married to T. J. Holloway, rancher at Santa Barbara. They are the parents of four daughters and two sons.

Mr. Walton with his family came to Sacramento in May 1956 from Iowa, where they had settled in 1849, at Farrington, Van Buren County. In 1857, they moved from Sacramento to the Twelve-Mile House on the Lower Stockton Road, which Mr. Walton carried on about three years.

Early in 1859 Mr. Beckley built a new house on his place, which, however, he soon sold, being invited by his father to live with him on his upper ranch. The father's death in May threw the estate into Court for distribution.

In 1860, Mr. Beckley took charge of the Twelve-Mile House previously run by his father-in-law. In 1860, he bought the ranch of 320 acres now owned by Weller Freeman, about two miles east of Franklin.

In 1864, he was elected County Assessor for two years. In December, 1866, he sold his ranch and settled in Georgetown, now Franklin, of which he has been a second venture.

He bought four acres along the west side of the road on which he has since erected the most substantial building in the valley. He first put up a store and dwelling, the former now being used as a saloon, having been replaced as a store in 1881 by the large two-story brick, a conspicuous landmark for miles around, of which the upper-story is used as a public hall. The dwelling of 1867 is embodied in the two-story building known as the Franklin Hotel, began in 1885 and finished in 1887.

In February 1867, Mr. Beckley opened his place for business as a general store which he conducted until 1875, at the same time carrying general farming on the McCracken ranch of 400 acres adjoining the village plat at its southwest corner, which he continued until 1885. Being elected as Supervisor in 1875, he sold out his stock of goods and rented the store.

He entered on the duties of his office on the first Monday in October of that year and retained it by re-elections until 1882. After an intermission of seven years in official life he was appointed, after the election of 1888 to position of sub-sheriff, and entered on the discharge of its duties on the first Monday of January, 1889. He had been postmaster continuously since 1868. Mr. Beckley is a member of the Masonic brotherhood, and is a highly esteemed and public-spirited citizen of Franklin Township--a sort of genial head-center of all local interests. Mr. and Mrs. Beckley are the parents of ten children, the crown and glory of their useful, industrious and unpretentious lives: Lucius Ripley, born November 23, 1859; William Walton, born June 3, 1861; Mary Maria, born January 8, 1864; John Augustus, born December 26, 1865; George Irville, born December 16, 1867; Lizzie May, born May 1, 1871; Isaac Freeman, born May 25, 1873; Sarah Esther, born March 11, 1876; Laura Alice, born January 14, 1878; Ora Edna, born July 17, 1883. Of these, the oldest daughter, Mary Maria, was married June 29, 1882, to John W. Hall, a native of Canada, son or John E. and Jane Elizabeth (Benjamin) Hall, then residing in this township and now in Yolo County. John W. Hall had taught school in Georgiana Township nearly four years, when, at the age of twenty-six, he was accidentally drowned April 1, 1884, while hunting on the Whitcomb place, leaving two children, Elmer Ernest born April 25, 1883 and a posthumous child, Myrtle Gertrude born September 4, 1884. The children and their mother are members of the Beckley household.

Lucius R. Beckley, the oldest son of P.R. Beckley owns 160 acres in Jenny Lind Township, Calaveras County; and William W. the second son, owns an adjoining quarter section.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the San Joaquin Valley, California
Prof. J. M. Guinn [1905]
pages 1177-1178

JAMES SYLVANUS LEWIS. The identification of James Sylvanus Lewis, an esteemed and highly honored citizen of Tulare county, with the progress and development of this section of the state of California is not exceeded by that of any other pioneer. He was born among the primitive scenes of the early days, reared through boyhood to an understanding of the privations and hardships of pioneer life, and in manhood bent his every energy and effort, not alone to a personal success, but to a material upbuilding of the state that claimed his allegiance.

The Lewis family came originally of southern stock, Kentucky being their home for many years. There Samuel Lewis, the grandfather of James S., was born, grew to manhood and became prominent in public affairs, serving as county judge for some years. He finally removed to Jackson county, Mo., where he served in the same capacity, and in 1849 became a Pioneer of California. He spent a few years in Amador county, thence, with the Harrells, about 1853, came to Tulare county. He engaged as a stockman on the Tule river, where he became owner of a large ranch six miles west of Portersville, the first house on the place built from timber which he split and dressed for the purpose. His death occurred in that location in 1872, at an advanced age. His son, Joseph Lewis, a native of Kentucky, accompanied his father to Missouri, where he was married. In 1849 he crossed the plains to California by means of ox teams; locating in Amador county, where he mined until 1855. In that year he located in Tulare county and became interested in stock-raising, entering a ranch on the Tule river six miles west of Portersville. In 1859 he moved his family to the ranch, where he followed stock-raising. After the passage of the no-fence law he engaged in grain-raising, purchasing land until he owned three hundred and twenty acres. This he afterward disposed of and bought one hundred and sixty acres one mile east of Portersville, where he continued to follow general farming and stock raising. Disposing of that property also, he then purchased a farm on the Upper Tule, seven miles east of Portersville, where his death occurred October 17, 1904, at the age of eighty years. He was a devout member of the Baptist Church, and politically cast his ballot with the democratic party. His wife, formerly Ellen Allen, a native of Missouri, survives him, now residing on the old homestead at the age of seventy-four years. Of their nine children, of whom four are living, James Sylvanus is the eldest, and was born in Jackson, Amador county, June 25, 1855.

From the year 1859 the home of James Sylvanus Lewis has been in Tulare county. He first attended the Oak Grove school, which building was put up through the efforts of his father and several neighbors, and later studied in the school at Plano. He remained at home until attaining his majority, when he began general farming and stock-raising for himself. In 1876 he purchased his present property, a mile and three-quarters northeast of Portersville, which has all wild land and open plain, antelope and various animals abounding. He at once began the work of improvement and cultivation, putting up adequate buildings, setting out trees and in time making his ranch a credit to the county. He now has seven hundred and twenty acres, which is known as the Hillside Slope farm. in 1891 he set out ten acres of navel oranges and later eight acres more, besides which he engages in the cultivation of grain and in stock-raising. His farm is irrigated from the Pioneer ditch, of which company he was one of the organizers, and for many years acted as a director. He is also interested in the Portersville Water & Development Company, of which he is the director and the president.

In Visalia Mr. Lewis was united in marriage with Mrs. Emma (Strout) Sibley, a native of Maine and the daughter of Elijah and Mary A. (Tyler) Strout. Her father was a contractor and resided near Lewiston, Me., where both he and his wife died. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Lewis, Elijah Strout, was a native of Maine, and of German descent. He served as a soldier in the war of 1812 and left an honored name to his descendants. By her first marriage Mrs. Lewis became the mother of two children, Wilfred S. Sibley and Mrs. Angela M. Tyler, of Portersville. Mrs. Lewis is a member of the Baptist Church. Fraternally Mr. Lewis was a Mason in Portersville Lodge No. 303, and also belongs to Portersville Chapter, R. A. M. Politically he is a stanch Democrat. [ Mr. Lewis died Sept 1925 ]

The History Of Tulare County, California
Volume II
The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago [1926]
pages 404-407

WILFRED S. SIBLEY Wilfred S. Sibley, former mayor of the city of Porterville and a well established fruit packer and shipper of that city, one of the best known citizens of Tulare county, is a native of this county, a member of one of the real pioneer families here, and has been a resident of this county all his life, thus having been a witness to and a participant in the development of this section of the state for the past half century and more. He was born on a pioneer farm in the Milo neighborhood in Tulare county, June 3, 1870, the only son of Stephen and Emma (Stroud) Sibley, both now deceased, who had come to California in 1864 from the state of Maine. Upon coming to Tulare county Stephen Sibley started in as a farmer and stockman in the Milo neighborhood and then moved to a ranch northeast of Porterville, where he established his home, becoming there a considerable landowner and a large dealer in live stock, and on that place his last days were spent, his death occurring there in 1876. His widow survived him for many years, her death occurring there in 1917. Besides the son here referred to this pioneer couple also had a daughter, Wilfred S. Sibley having a sister, Mrs. Angle Tyler of Ducor.

Wilfred S. Sibley was but six years of age when his father died. He was reared on the home ranch northeast of Porterville and attended the neighborhood district school. As the only son of his widowed mother he early began to assume mature responsibilities in connection with the home place and was thus engaged in directing the operations of the farm and in raising live stock until 1900, when he retired from the farm and became connected with the operations of the Earl Fruit Company and in this connection became a thoroughly experienced fruit packer and shipper. In 1919 Mr. Sibley set up a packing establishment of his own in Porterville and has since been in business as a packer and shipper on his own account, one of the best known and most substantial of those thus engaged in that line in Tulare county. He sells the products of his packing plant through the Randolph Marketing Company of Riverside and is doing very well, his plant requiring the services of sixty or seventy persons during the season. Not only has Mr. Sibley been diligent in his own business but he has found time to give a good citizen's attention to local civic affairs and for four years (1919 to 1922, inclusive), rendered effective service as mayor of the city of Porterville.

In 1895, in Porterville, Wilfred S. Sibley was united in marriage to Miss Eva Kling, who was born in New York and who has been a resident of California since 1893. Mr. and Mrs. Sibley are democrats, the former for years having been recognized as one of the leaders of that party in this county, and they have ever taken a proper interest in such movements and measures as have to do with the general progress of their home town. Mr. Sibley owns forty acres of land, all in oranges. [ Mr. Sibley died 13 Sept 1939 ]

The History Of Tulare And Kings Counties California
Eugene L. Menefee and Fred A. Dodge
Historic Record Company Los Angeles, California [1913]
pages 250-252

JOHN DAVIS TYLER J. D. Tyler was the oldest living representative of the original settlers on Tule River, Tulare county, Cal., and had been engaged in agricultural pursuits and the stock business here since 1859 and as a pioneer is entitled to more than passing mention in the history of the county. Mr. Tyler was born in Marcellus, Onondaga county, N.Y., in 1827, the son of Job Tyler, a farmer and a minister of the Seventh Day Baptist denomination. His early life was rather migratory, his father going to Ohio in 1834 and to St. Joseph county, Mich., in 1836. Educational advantages in those days limited and young Tyler's schooling was confined to the three months winter term, not infrequently being detained at home to accomplish some work on the farm and not attending school at all after his fourteenth year.

In 1851, with his father and brother James, Mr. Tyler started for California via New York and the Isthmus of Panama. Their steamer was the first to land emigrants at Aspinwall. At Panama they embarked on the English brig Tryphenia, with one hundred and thirty passengers, the vessel being much overloaded and having only a meager supply of water and stores. The sufferings on that terrible journey of sixty-five days from Panama to San Diego were intense. The last thirty days they had no bread and only one-half pint of water per day to a man. Their small allowance of peas or beans must be soaked in salt water or the greasy slush that came from the cook room. For twenty days they nearly starved and Mr. Tyler's father contracted disease to which he succumbed while in port at San Diego and was there laid to rest. J. D. Tyler and his brother then reshipped for San Francisco, arriving there February 29, 1852, just four months after leaving New York. They went to the mines at Nevada City and followed life in the mining camps either in boarding house work or in actual mine workings of their own until 1859, when, hearing that cattle were selling in Tulare county, they started for Tule river with a view to purchasing and driving to the mines. Upon their arrival they found the statement to be without foundation, and, in partnership with Len Redfield, they settled on Tule river and engaged in the stock business. This association continued until 1865, when Mr. Redfield withdrew and the Tyler brothers continued in partnership until 1871, when they separated, J. D. Tyler remaining on the river. His home place of one hundred and sixty acres was homesteaded under the first homestead act or law in 1864. He later added to his original holdings, and owned two hundred acres, much of which he farmed to grain and fruit. He was also largely interested in horses and cattle and rented two sections of land for stock range.

Mr. Tyler was married at Visalia in 1864 to Miss Mary J. McKelvey, a native of Pennsylvania and the daughter of George McKelvey, who came to California in 1852 by way of Cape Horn. They had five children, Clyde D., Carl R., Chris W., Corda F. (daughter) and Clair H. Mr. Tyler was a charter member of the Farmers' Alliance, belonging to the Porterville branch, of which he was the first president. He never sought the emoluments of office and always avoided every suggested nomination. He was the first Republican on Tule river, and in 1859 his was the only Republican vote cast out of the thirty-one cast at that time. When the county was filled with Southern sympathizers in 1861 he stood firm in his convictions and was only the more respected for loyalty to his country.

At his home, two miles east of Porterville, Tulare county, J. D. Tyler passed away November 18, 1895, at the age of sixty-seven years and eleven months. Religiously he was not bound by any creed, but he believed and followed implicitly the Golden Rule; "Love thy neighbor as thyself." Politically he was a stanch Republican, ever ready to battle for the cause, Too much a lover of home to care for the emoluments of office, yet he was ever ready to work and aid the ones whom he believed were the best fitted to hold the reins of government, and if they were defeated he always bowed to the inevitable and gave the victors all honor and support. Morally, he was an earnest, conscientious citizen. As every nation must have soldiers to defend its honor and maintain its rights, so every town or precinct must have its citizens to uphold its integrity. Citizens who realize that the moral atmosphere of the country permeates the homes and adds or detracts from their happiness and glory recognized such a citizen was Mr. Tyler. His influence and work were ever in the cause of temperance, and he always by his own acts strove to influence the young to walk morally upright, and gave his aid and countenance to the uplift of humanity. His sickness was of long standing, dating really from the hardships endured in coming to California. His system never rallied from the strain then received. In 1893 he began to fail perceptibly and in 1894 he gave up work entirely and after going to the polls on November 6 he did not again leave his home. In his death his country has lost a loyal, zealous citizen, his town an earnest worker for its good, his neighbors a faithful, true-hearted friend, his children a noble-hearted father, his wife a faithful, loving, trusting companion, and each and all mourn his earthly loss. On the afternoon of the 20th of November services were held at the homestead by Rev. J. G. Eckels, pastor of the Congregational church, and, surrounded by his most intimate friends and loving relatives, he was laid to rest in the beautiful cemetery in which he took so much interest and of which he was president and superintendent for many years.

A Memorial And Biographical History Of The Counties Of Fresno, Tulare, Kern, California
The Lewis Publishing Company, Chicago
pages 622-623

J. D. TYLER is the oldest living representative of the original settlers on Tule river, Tulare County, California. He has been engaged in agricultural pursuits and in the stock business here since 1859, and as a pioneer is justly entitled to more than a passing mention in the history of this county. Mr. Tyler was born in Marcellus, New York, in 1827, the son of Job Tyler, a farmer and minister of the Seventh-Day Baptist denomination. His early life was rather migratory, his father moving to Ohio in 1834, and to St. Joseph County, Michigan, in 1838. Educational advantages in those days were limited, and young Tyler's schooling was confined to the three months winter term, not infrequently being detained at home to accomplish some work on the farm, and not attending school at all after he reached his fourteenth year.

In 1851, with his father and brother Jim, Mr. Tyler started for California via New York and the Isthmus of Panama. Their steamer was the first to land emigrants at Aspinwall. At Panama they embarked on the English brig Tryphena, with 130 passengers, the vessel being much overloaded and having only a meager supply of water and stores. The sufferings on that terrible journey of sixty-five days from Panama to San Diego were intense. The last thirty days they had no bread, and only half a pint of water each day. Their small allowance of beans or peas must be cooked in salt water or the greasy "slush" that came from the cookroom. For twenty days they were nearly starved, and Mr. Tyler's father contracted disease to which he succumbed while in port at San Diego, and he was there laid to rest. Our subject and his brother then re-shipped for San Francisco, arriving there February 29, 1852, just four months after leaving New York. They went to the mines at Nevada City, and followed life in the mining camps, either in boardinghouse or in actual work in the mines, until 1859, when, hearing that cattle were selling low in Tulare County, they started for Tule river, with a view of purchasing and driving to the mines. Upon their arrival, however, they found the statement to be without foundation; and, in partnership with Len Redfield, they settled on Tule river and engaged in the stock business. This association continued until 1865, when Mr. Redfield withdrew and the Tyler brothers continued in partnership until 1871, when they separated, J. D. Tyler remaining on the river. His present place of 160 acres was homesteaded under the first homestead law in 1864. He has since added to his original holding, now owning 200 acres, much of which he farms in grain, alfalfa and fruit. He is also largely interested in horses and cattle, and rents two sections of land for a stock range.

Mr. Tyler was married at Visalia in 1864, to Miss Mary J. McKelvey, a native of Pennsylvania and a daughter of George McKelvey, who came to California in 1852, by way of Cape Horn. They have five children: Clyde D., Carl R., Chris W., Corda F. and Clair H.

Mr. Tyler is a charter member of the Porterville branch of the Farmers Alliance, and was its first president. He has never sought the emolument of public office, and has always avoided every suggested nomination. He was the first Republican on Tule river, and in 1859 his was the only Republican vote out of the thirty-one votes cast. When the county was filled with Southern sympathizers in 1861, he stood firm in his convictions and was only the more respected for loyalty to his country.

A Memorial And Biographical History Of The Counties Of Fresno, Tulare, Kern, California
The Lewis Publishing Company, Chicago
page 510

S. J. W. TYLER was born in Marcellus, Onondaga County, New York, April 23, 1834. His father, Job Tyler, was a farmer and also a minister of the Seventh-Day Baptist Church. In 1836 he emigrated to St. Joseph, Michigan, where he followed agricultural pursuits and at the same time preached the faith he professed. The education of our subject was limited. He disliked his teacher and on that account shirked his lessons, an act which in later life he has regretted.

In 1851 he started for California, accompanied by his father and brother John, taking steamer for Aspinwall. From that place they crossed the Isthmus to Panama and there boarded the old English brig Tryphena for San Francisco. He mentions the sufferings and deprivations of this trip with great feeling, as his well beloved father was taken sick with Panama fever and died while in port at San Diego. The voyage covered sixty-five days from Panama to San Diego, and for thirty days they were without bread, and had only peas and beans for food, with half a pint of water per day. At San Diego they took passage on the Sea Bird for San Francisco, arriving at that city February 29, 1852. He then went to Nevada City and engaged in mining, which he followed continuously up to 1860, meeting with average success but making no great strikes.

Upon retiring from the mines, in 1860, he and his brother came to Porterville and engaged in the stock business, dealing quite extensively in horses and cattle until 1871, when they divided their interests. Mr. Tyler has continued in the business and now owns a stock range of 720 acres in the mountains, where he keeps about 120 head of cattle. He was appointed deputy sheriff in, March, 1889, under D. G. Overall; in 1890 was elected constable at Porterville.

Mr. Tyler was married in Woodville, Tulare County, California, 1874, to Miss Georgia Bursey, and to the union has been added five children: Celia May, Job J., Clara, Wilko F. and Gracie. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. and I. O. O. F., at Porterville. Mr. Tyler is interested in town property, and has recently completed a handsome two-story house on Hockett street, Porterville, where he now resides. [ Mr. Tyler died Jan 1915 ]

Since 1849 Isaac J. Hattabough has been a resident of California, having crossed the plains in that year, unlike the many others who came to the state at that time seeking not wealth, but health. During the years in which he has passed his time as a citizen among the pioneer conditions of the west he has won for himself all the attributes which constitute success, a part of his efforts lying along agricultural lines, while he is even better known as an inventor and manufacturer, his agricultural implements being in use now in many sections of the country. Widely known and widely honored, he holds a position of universal esteem and respect throughout Santa Clara county. Born near Wilmington, Del., November 5, 1821, he was the son of Samuel and Mary (Jump) Hattabough, who removed to Richmond, Ind., in 1831, where the father followed the occupation of farmer. There he grew to manhood, trained to the practical duties of an agricultural life, which he continued to follow on attaining years of maturity. He was engaged with his brother-in-law in this work until his health began to fail and every symptom of consumption threatened to cut short his efforts for a happy and prosperous career. Advised to seek a change of climate he decided to emigrate to California, and though his friends feared he was not physically equal to the trip he bought an ox-team and in company with a train of emigrants set out on the long and hazardous journey across the plains. Shortly after the journey was begun the question arose as to whether they should travel on Sunday, and Mr. Hattabough, who had been a faithful member of the Methodist church from his seventh year, said at once that even if he had to travel alone he would observe the Sabbath day. This decided the remainder of the party and Mr. Hattabough was elected captain of the train. The party arrived in Sacramento, September 16, 1849, after a very pleasant journey, not withstanding the privations and hardships incident to such a trip. Mr. Hattabough, with his health entirely recovered, remained in Sacramento ten days, after which he went to Coloma, Eldorado county, and became an eye-witness to the excitement of the gold mining in all its phases. He then went to Cold Springs, and with others built a cabin, which he occupied during the time he remained in that locality as a miner. In the following February he went to Placerville and mined in that vicinity until July 1850, when he came to Santa Clara valley and entered upon an agricultural life. He located on a tract of land four miles west of San Jose, believing it to be government land, but which afterward proved to be a Spanish grant. Afterward he purchased this land - one hundred and seventy-four and a half acres - and made many and valuable improvements, erected a house, barns, and other out-buildings, and bringing the land to a splendid state of cultivation. He raised here the first field of wheat in this section, and remained in general farming until 1867, when he sold out and removed to San Jose. He here engaged in teaming and general contract work for about two years, when he located upon his present property, where he is now living practically retired.

In addition to his agricultural interests Mr. Hattabough has also spent much time and attention to the inventive line. Possessing much natural ability he has given to the study of inventions such thought as to be able to conceive and carry out several ideas which have resulted in some valuable farming implements, such as a hay fork and derrick, of which he has manufactured as many as $4,000 worth while farming. He later invented a gopher and squirrel trap, and has made and sold thousands of these and still manufactures them. He also invented a spring bed and prairie engine, as well as various other articles of minor note.

Mr. Hattabough has been married twice, his first union being with Mehitabel Jane Daves, of Galena, Ill. She died in 1888 at the age of fifty-three years, leaving a family of seven children, namely: Orlando Christopher, of Montana; J. Lemuel, of Arizona; J. Vaughn, of Salinas; Frank P., of San Jose; Mrs. Mary A. Sullivan, of Alabama; Abraham L., of San Francisco, and Fred, of Santa Cruz. Mr. Hattabough was afterward united in marriage with Mrs. Mary Jane Brackett, who was formerly Miss Boynton, daughter of John Boynton. A stanch Republican, Mr. Hattabough has always supported the principles of his party and given his efforts toward its advancement. During the Civil War he served as a second lieutenant of the Redwood cavalry, and served nearly three years, receiving an honorable discharge and commendation for courage. In his religious convictions Mr. Hattabough has been an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church up to within seven years ago, when he became identified with the Volunteers of America, where he holds the position of sergeant. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Pioneers of California and Pioneers of Santa Clara Valley. In the early days he took quite an active part in all public affairs, serving as a member of the Know-Nothings, Sons of Temperance and Grangers.

By Thelma Miller
Clark Publishing, Chicago, Ill. (1929)
Page 591
JOHN WHEELER GREEN John Wheeler Green, whose business career, as well a s his private life, was marked by qualities that gained for him the uniform respect of all who knew him, was for many years an honored resident of Kern county. His life was proof of the fact that success and an honored name can be won simultaneously, and he was regarded as one of Bakersfield's most substantial and worthy citizens. Born in Cedar county, Missouri, in 1842, he was a son of John Duncan and Lydia (Hitchcock) Green, the latter a member of an old Kentucky family. His father, who was born in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1804, made two trips to the West before finally locating here, the first in 1829, when he traveled through this part of the country on a fur-trapping expedition. The family is in possession of evidences that John D. Green bore arms against the foe during the troublous days of the Spanish regime. In 1846, when the son John W. was about four years of age, the family came across the plains, to California, with ox team and covered wagon. They were, for a time, members of the ill-fated Donner party, but left that group in Wyoming and took another route, thus escaping the fate which befell the Donners. The Green family located in Santa Cruz, but later settled at Stockton, where they remained until 1864, John D. Green there engaging in ranching and stock raising. At various periods he lived in Monterey, San Joaquin and Tulare counties, and for many years was a member of the board of supervisors of San Joaquin county. He died in 1870 in Tulare county.
John Wheeler Green was reared at home, secured a public school education and taught school for many years in Santa Maria in Santa Barbara and Monterey counties, but eventually abandoned that profession. Coming to. Kern county in the early '90s, he engaged in ranching in the New River district, west of Bakersfield, and eventually bought land on the Cottonwood road, which is still held by members of the family. He there developed a fine ranch property, to which he closely devoted his attention until ill health compelled him: to desist from active pursuits, and his death occurred in Bakersfield in 1926, at the age of eighty-four years.
Mr. Green was united in marriage to Miss Sarah E. Lewis', who was born in Scott county, Arkansas, in 1849, and is a daughter of John Sloan and Sarah (Hobbs) Lewis, w were natives of Indiana. She came across the plains to California, when four years old with a party of relatives, which her mother had entire charge, the father having preceded them to this state in 1850. John S. Lewis had been a teacher in Arkansas and Missouri, but ill health demanded a change in climate, in search of which he came to California. He was for a time attracted to the mines of Toulumne county devoted some time to his former profession and also engaged in stock raising. Hard work and exposure so weakened him, however, that he passed away in1858 leaving to his wife the rearing of his children and the care of the ranch and stock. The mother courageously the responsibility and nobly did her full part. She died in Bakersfield in 1915, at the advanced age of ninety years Among Mrs. Green's ancestors was Dr. Abner Hobbs, her maternal grandfather, who was a physician and a minister of the Christian church. Mrs. Ben Kelsey, who was related to Mrs. Green's family through the maternal line, was said to be the first white woman to make the journey across the plains to the far west.
Mr. and Mrs. Green became parents of nine children, seven of whom survive. Clarence, for many years a resident of Maricopa, Kern county, where he engaged in general con-tracting, died in 1927; Dulcie, who died in 1909, was a teacher in the first school in Taft; John L., of Fellows, has been for twenty years superintendent of a large ranch there; Robert lives in Bakersfield; Mrs. Mattie Cheney is principal of the Taft primary school; Bernard, of Bakersfield, is en-gaged in the oil business; Mrs. Georgia Sanders, resides in Bakersfield; and Ray, is a locomotive engineer on the Santa Fe Railroad. There are also eight grandchildren and five great-grandchildren. Mrs. Green, who makes her home with her daughter) Mrs. Minnie Heath, in Bakersfield, is remark-ably vigorous and mentally alert at the age of eighty years, and is an example of the true pioneer stock to whose efforts the present prosperity of Kern, county is largely due. She has done her full part in all the relations of life and is held in affectionate regard by all who know her. Mr. Green was a man of marked individuality, sterling qualities and exem-plary citizenship, who consistently stood for those things which tended to advance the general welfare, so that he proved well worthy of the high place which he held in public confidence and respect.

Hist. of Contra Costa Co., CA. (1882), p.691

Walton, John P. born 8 June 1807, Pitts. Co., VA, the son of Jesse and Mary (Hutchins) Walton. He was educated in Virginia, and resided there until the year 1834, meanwhile having acquired the trade of tanner. From the above year until 1839 he resided in Greene Co., GA., and then emigrated to Texas, where he followed the life of a trapper and hunter, at the same time conducting a farm near Palestine, Anderson county. In Feb., 1856, in company with his two eldest sons, Mark A. and William H., he started for California via New Orleans and Central America, arriving in San Francisco in the month of April of the same year. Mr. Walton almost immediately proceeded to the mines, and twelve months after came to the San Joaquin valley and leased a farm; this, however, he left in Nov. 1859, and went to Stanislaus Co., where he lived until April, 1862. He then came to Contra Costa county, located on his present place of one hundred and sixty acres, and is now engaged in farming and fruit-raising in the Iron House dist. Mr. Walton has been twice married: in the first instance at his birthplace to Miss Mary Swanson, a native of Virginia, by whom he had one child, since decd. Married, Secondly, in Greene County, GA, Miss Almira Tuggle, a native of that state, by whom he has had nine children. Of these, Mark A., John S., George T., and a daughter, Millie Texanna, still survive. Our subject is now seventy-five years of age, and it is his boast that he has never voted a Democratic ticket, save on two occasions for the office of the Justice of the Peace, while besides being a resident of the State of Texas at its admission to the Union, he was the second County Clerk of Anderson Co., TX.

History of Contra Costa Co.,CA.(1882)-p.692

Mark A. Walton, The subject of our memoir is a native of the Sunny South, having been born in Greene Co., GA., Sept. 14, 1837. When but an "infant" his parents moved to Texas, where Mark spent his youth & boyhood until 19 yrs. of age. Feb. 11,1856, in company with his father and one brother, he started for the Golden State, via the Nicaragua route, and arrived in San Francisco March, 24, 1856. He first prospected in the mines of Tuolumne county for two years. He then engaged in stock-raising in San Joaquin and Stanislaus cos. until 1862, and twenty years ago located on his present ranch of one hundred and sixty acres in ther Iron House district of Contra Costa, where he is now engaged in farming and fruit-raising, turning his attention more especially to the latter, having now some thirty acres in fruits and vines. Was united in marriage, in San Joaquin Co., CA., in 1859, to Miss Mary P. WALTON; she died Jan. 24, 1865. By this union they have two daughters, * Almira J., and Jessie. Mr. Walton was md. the 2nd time, in Anderson Co., TX., 15 Nov., 1875, to Miss. Eliza Tuggle, a native of the latter state. By this union they have no issue.

History of Sacramento County, California by Thompson & West 1880

Biography of Elisha Daly on page 252

DALY, ELISHA; Post Office, Antelope; lives one and a half miles from that town, and fifteen miles from Sacramento; was born in Pennsylvania (sic) in 1823, and lived there until 1845; he removed to Illinois in that year, and worked at carpentering until 1854; he then came to California, and settled in this county; settled on his present location in 1859; owns three hundred and sixty-six acres, worth, with improvements, about $7000; is now engaged in farming, and threshing. Mr. Daly has held the office of Justice of the Peace for the past fifteen years. he was married in 1853 to Eliza Ramsey, a native of Ireland, who has borne him thirteen children, five boys and eight girls, all of whom are living.

Illustrated History of Sacramento County, Ca. by Davis, Win., J. (Hon) 1890

Biography of Elisha Daly on page 511

ELISHA DALY, an agriculutrist of Center Township, was born November 23, 1823, in Carisle, Pennsylvania, son of John R. and Hannah (Doyle) Daly, the father also a native of that State, and the mother of Delaware; both lived and died in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania's capital, and both at the age of about thirty two years. There were five children in the family: John R., Elisha, Mary S. Elizabeth, and William, who died in Placerville. Mr. Daly, whose name heads this sketch, is a carpenter by trade. He worked in a woolen factory when a boy. In 1844 he went Rock Island, Illinois, and worked his trade there for ten years, in company with his brother John R. In 1854 he came to this State, being four months on the way and stopping first at Placerville. He spent six months on Schofield's Ranch on Dry Creek; then he purchased property on Thirteenth and K streets, Sacramento, and resided there until 1859, teaming; and he moved up on his present property in Center Township, fourteen miles northeast of Sacramento and eight miles from Folsom. There are 472 acres in the ranch, which is in the best farming district in the township. He has been justice of the peace in this township. He is a member of Roseville Grange, No. 161, and politically is a Republican. In 1853 he married Miss Eliza Ramsey, of Davenport, Iowa, and a native of Ireland, and they have thirteen children, viz: Elisah R., Jane E., wife of Charles W. Summers, of Sacramento; Hannah, wife of Jonathon Churchman, of Sacramento; Louis S., Josephine E., Margaret P., wife of Charles Johnston; George W.; Mary R., a schoolteacher; Eugene M., Emma H., John S., Arabella C., and Minerva C. George and Louis are proprietors of a general store in Antelope, where they have also the post office, telegraph office, and express business of the Wells-Fargo Company. Mr. Daly, who is quite feeble, still manages his own affairs. Mrs. Daly's father still lives in Rock Island, at the age of ninety years. She visited her Eastern home in June, 1885, but says she is content to remain in California the rest of her life. Captain J. Daly, grandfather of Elisha, was a native of Ireland, a sea captain, and died at New Orleans. He was the owner of sea vessels in 1812, during the war with Great Britian.

History of the State of California and Biographical Record of the San Joaquin Valley, James Miller Guinn (1905), Pages 585

John Dorr, a German by birth and parentage, was reared in Bavaria, confirmed in the German Lutheran Church and educated in the German schools. In the town of Essigen, Bavaria, where he was born February 12, 1858, he passed his boyhood years in the home of his parents, John and Catherine (Hauck) Dorr, and was one of a family of nine children, all but three of whom still survive. His father is now dead, but his mother is living and still makes her home in Germany. From the age of thirteen years he began to learn the barber's trade under the instruction of his father, and worked at the occupation in his home locality until twenty-two years of age. Meanwhile, he had read much concerning the United States and all accounts impressed him favorably. Believing he could better his condition he crossed the ocean in 1880 and without delay secured work at his trade in New York, but a year later went south to Texas and worked in Austin and Palestine for a short time. Returning to the northern states, he was employed in Fort Wayne, Ind., for a short period.

Coming to California in June, 1884, Mr. Dorr conducted a barber shop in Galt, Sacramento county. During 1886 he came to Tulare and brought an interest in a barber shop owned by Tony Schenck, continuing in the business for two years with the same partner, but eventually buying him out and operating the shop alone. In 1890 he bought twenty-three acres of wild land in the Bishop colony and from year to year his earnings were devoted to the improvement of the land. Finally, in 1899, he sold his barber business and settled on the property, which is situated three miles northeast of Tulare, and on which he has erected a farm house and other buildings. By raising of alfalfa he has secured feed for his cows, and a part of the place is in an orchard.

In Cincinnati, Ohio, September 26, 1887, Mr. Dorr married Miss Susan Nicholi, who was born in Bavaria, and died at Tulare, Cal., in 1899, leaving three children, Ida, John Lewis and Nellie. Since becoming a citizen of the United States Mr. Dorr has given steadfast allegiance to the Republican party and has maintained a warm interest in movements conducive to the prosperity of his county, state and country. In the Tulare City lodge he was initiated in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and he has also become an active member of the Woodmen of the World.

History of Contra Costa County, California, San Francisco, W.A. Slocum & Co. Publishers, 1882, p. 33

JOHN BAKER -- Was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, July 4, 1819. When 3 years of age, his parents moved to Stark county, Ohio, where John attended the common schools, and afterwards learned the trade of carpenter, which he followed while there residing until 1845, in which year he moved to Cass county, Michigan, and there pursued his trade, and, at the same time, carried on a farm for three years. He then continued his calling, in several different places, until February 28, 1853, when he started, in company with a brother-in-law, with ox-teams, to cross the plains to California, and arrived in Contra Costa county September 25th, of the same year. In the Fall of 1855, Mr. Baker located on his present well-improved farm of one hundred and eighty acres, one-half mile east of the town of Walnut Creek, where he is now engaged in general farming and stock-raising. The subject of this sketch was married in Cass county, Michigan, June 4, 1848, to Miss Martha Ann Glass, a native of Harrison, Jefferson county, Ohio; by this union they have four children, Almira J., Frank P., John C., and Mary P.

Memorial and Biographical History of Northern California - Volume 1: Lewis Publishing Company, Chicago 1891 - Page 794

W.F. Reid, a retired farmer residing seven miles southeast of Davisville, Yolo County, was born in Garrard County, Kentucky, June 20, 1812, his parents being Joseph and Elizabeth (Slavin) Reid, the former a native of Virginia, born in 1779, a farmer by occupation, and the latter a native of North Carolina. They moved to Adair County, Kentucky, when the subject of this notice was a year and a half old, and six and a half years afterward they moved into Tennessee; two years subsequently to Franklin County, that State; in 1829 into Alabama; in 1844 back to Tennessee; in 1853 to Arkansas; and in 1857 to California, landing at Sacramento. He bought a place in Yolo County, which he still owns, containing 320 acres, seven miles south-east of Davisville. October 6, 1834, Mr. Reid was united in marriage with Elizabeth Shores, a native of Tennessee, and a daughter of Levi and Mary Shores, natives of North Carolina. She was born in 1818, and died October 11, 1889, the period of their married life being fifty-five years, lacking only twenty-five days. In their family have been sixteen children, three of whom are deceased. The living are: Joseph B., Alexander H., Eliza A., Mary I., Reuben E., Sarah F., Alfred, William F., Jr., John M., Margaret E., James H., Louis L. and Emma; and the deceased are: Levi, who died in 1861; Lucie E., who died in 1876; and Hannah W., who died in 1884.

Online Continuously since 1996 and last updated 29 June 2015