History of Fresno County, California with illustrations; Wallace W. Elliott & Co. Publishers; San Francisco, California (1882) Page 127

A. M. CLARK was born August 25, 1831, and spent the early years of his life in Madison County, Mississippi, receiving an ordinary education, such as the country schools at that time afforded.

He left Hinds County, Mississippi, in January, 1850, for California, coming by way of New Orleans, from there with a company of about twenty-two men to Matamoras in Mexico, where they bought an outfit and continued through Mexico, partly on the line of march of General Taylor during the Mexican war. A four-horse wagon hauled their baggage, etc., as far as Durango, where they sold out their stock and wagon and hired a pack train to take them across the mountains to Mazatlan. From thence they took a sail vessel to San Francisco, arriving in May, 1850, just after the large fire.

He first engaged in mining in various portions of the State, for about fifteen years, but never meeting with any success. First he tried the mines of Nevada County from 1850 to 1853. He was in Santa Clara County in 1853-4, Mariposa County from 1854 to 1858, Plumas County (formerly Sierra), at La Porte from 1858 to 1863, and then back to Mariposa. He finally came to Fresno County in 1867, and was employed as a laborer about a copper mine, and soon after turned his attention to general farming-, raising some choice fruits, and stock of various kinds.

In the meantime, in 1865, he married Miss Emma B. Glidden, a native of the State of Maine, who died in October, 1880, leaving two boys and two girls, Ada Belle, aged sixteen years; Sarah Paulina, eleven years; Angus, nine years, and Frank Marion Clark, aged four years.

He was elected County Clerk of Fresno County at the election in 1873, and entered upon the duties of the office the following March. He has filled the place with great satisfaction to the people, and proved himself an efficient officer.


A Memorial and Biographical History of the Counties Fresno, Tulare and Kern, California, Illustrated; The Lewis Publishing Company, Chicago (1892); Pages 329-330

A. M. Clark, one of the early pioneers of California, was born in Madison County, Mississippi, in 1831. He was educated in the private schools of that period, which were held in log cabins, and lived on the farm with his parents until he was nineteen years old.

In January, 1850, Mr. Clark started for California, crossing Mexico to Mazatlan and thence by water to San Francisco, where he arrived in May of that Year. He then went to Nevada City to join his father, who came west in 1849. For sixteen years he followed mining continuously, always with paying results, but never striking a bonanza claim. He came to Fresno County in 1867, and he engaged at the copper mine at Buchanan, for about six years.

In 1873, Mr. Clark was elected County Clerk and Recorder of Fresno County, assuming the duties of the office in March, 1874, at Millerton, which was the county seat. In the fall of 1874 he moved the records to Fresno, and in September of the same year assisted in laying the corner stone of the new courthouse. In the interim his office was located in a cheap structure on the courthouse grounds. Mr. Clark held the office of County Clerk and recorder for eleven years. By 1884 the business of the office had increased so much that it was deemed best to separate the work of the clerk and recorder, and he retired. in 1885 he was elected to the Legislature, and since the expiration of his term of office he has devoted himself to his private business, saying he has no further political aspirations.

Mr. Clark formed a partnership with W. H. McKenzie in abstract business, and since 1878 they have carried on an extensivve business, using the Durfee system of abstracts. in 1884 Messrs. Clark and McKenzie bought a controlling interest in the Fresno Loan and Savings Bank. The capital stock, the $20,000, has been increased to $300,000, all paid up, and this bank now represents one ofd the leading institutions of its kind in the City. All through these years Mr. Clark has continued his mining interests, now being a member of the Harron Gold Mining Company, the stock of which is all owned by Messrs. Clark, McKenzie & Hoxie. Their mine is located in the foothills, near the old county seat. They have recently erected Huntington rotary mill with rock breakers, concentrators, and the latest improved machinery, capacity of the same being equal to a ten-stamp mill. The quartz ranges from $25 to $30 per ton.

Mr. Clark was a member of the Board of School Trustees during 1886 and 1887. In 1887 he was elected a member of the Board of City Trustees, which office he resigned in 1889, to make a trip East. in addition to his interests already referred to, he has ranch and city property. Mr. Clark is a prominent knight Templar, at this writing being Eminent Commander of the Fresno Commandery, No. 20.

In Sacramento, in 1865, he was married to Miss Emma Gildon, who died in Fresno in 1880. His present wife he wedded in Fresno, December 25, 1882. She is Miss Sadie Bemis, a native of Massachusetts. Mr. Clark is the father of four children two sons and two daughters.


History of Fresno County with Biographical Sketches; By Paul Vandor; Historical Record Company, Los Angeles, California (1919) Pages 257-258

Angus M. Clark
Prominent figure in his day was Angus M. Clark, a Millertonite that helped make county and city history. He died December 2, 1907. He was a Mason, a Knight Templar and Shriner and a charter member of Fresno's first Masonic lodge and its first master. He came to California at the age of nineteen during the gold excitement in 1850 and after following mining for seventeen years in various parts of the state came to Fresno in 1867 and worked in the copper mine at Buchanan, early enterprise of great promise. He abandoned mining work when in 1873 he was elected county clerk and recorder, assuming the duties of the office in March at Millerton. In the fall the county seat was removed to Fresno and to Mr. Clark as the custodian of the public archives fell the task of removing the records to the new town on the plains, and he assisted at the laying of the cornerstone of the second county courthouse. He held the office for eleven years and in 1885 its business had so increased that the work of the office was separated and he resigned. He was elected to the state legislature this same year. Other political activities included two terms as district school trustee and two or three terms as city recorder before there was a police judge under a charter.

All through the earlier years, Mr. Clark continued his mining interests and was associated with W. H. McKenzie in the abstract and land title business and owned at one time a controlling interest in the Fresno Loan and Savings Bank, for a time a prosperous financial institution. Ill health and reverses in fortune shadowed his latter days.

Pages 948-949

HONORABLE ANGUS MARION CLARK - As one of the old pioneers of the state, A. M. Clark, who passed away December 2, 1907, is remembered by his friends as a man who did much to further the growth and interests of California, where he chose to cast in his lot. He was born in Madison County, Miss., August 25, 1831, and was brought up on a farm in that southern state until he attained the age of nineteen, attending private school in a log cabin schoolhouse. In January, 1850, he started for the Pacific Coast to join his father, Angus Archibald Clark, of Scotch descent, who was living in Nevada County, Cal., and one among the many who came west in 1849 seeking golden rewards in the mining camps of the early days. Crossing Mexico to Mazatlan, young Mr. Clark took from that seaport to San Francisco, where he arrived in May, going thence to Nevada County. For sixteen years he followed the occupation of mining and in 1867 came to Millerton, Fresno County, and engaged in copper mining at Buchanan, for six years, meeting with varying success. In 1873 he was elected by his appreciative fellow-citizens to the combined offices of county clerk and recorder of Fresno County, taking office in March, 1874, at Millerton, then the county seat. In the fall of 1874 he moved the county records to Fresno and in September of that year assisted in laying the corner stone of the new court house. In 1878 he formed a partnership with W. H. McKenzie, as Clark & McKenzie, in the abstract business in Fresno, which continued for some years. After eleven years service as county clerk, he retired from the office, and in 1884 he and Mr. McKenzie bought a controlling interest in the Fresno Loan & Savings Bank. Mr. Clark was elected to the Assembly of the State Legislature in 1885, from Fresno County, serving the term to the satisfaction of his constituents. In 1885 he also served as school trustee in Fresno, and in 1887 was elected to the Board of City Trustees, resigning in 1889. His last political office was that of city recorder of Fresno, serving several terms, and as judge of the City Court his decisions were rendered with the greatest fairness.

He organized and was one of three owners of the Harrow Gold Mining Company. Their mines, located in the foothills near Millerton and equipped with modern machinery, were good producers for a number of years. In later years of his life, Mr. Clark had gold mining interests at Auberry Valley. He was also a large owner of city property.

His first marriage occurred in 1865, at Sacramento, when he was united with Emma Glidden, who died in Fresno in 1880. They were the parents of four children, all of whom are living. Ada Belle, who is the wife of L. R. Williams. is now residing in Cottonwood, Shasta County, and is the mother of two children, Marion, now Mrs. A. T. Brown of Cottonwood, and A. Bush Williams, serving in the U. S. Army. Their second child, Sadie P. Clark, is assistant librarian of the Fresno County Library. Angus Clark, assistant secretary and land agent for the Keyroute System, resides in Berkeley. He married Martha Fisher of Woodland, and they are the parents of two children: Katherine Janette and Angus. The fourth child,. Frank Marion, is with the -Western Pacific Railroad in San Francisco.

By his second marriage, which was solemnized December 25, 1882, Mr. Clark was united with Sarah Bemis, a native of Framingham, Mass., who came to San Francisco in 1876. Mrs. Clark is the only charter member of the First Baptist Church now living in Fresno, having always been an active worker in the church, and has done grand work in the organization of charity in Fresno. Mr. Clark was a very prominent Mason, being a Past Master of Fresno Lodge No. 247 F. & A. M. and was also past High Priest of Fresno Chapter No. 69 and Past Commander of Fresno Commandery No. 29, K. T., and a member of Islam Temple A. A. 0. N. M. S. in San Francisco. Mrs. Clark and-, the two daughters, Mrs. Williams and Miss Sadie, were members and Past Matrons of Raisina Chapter No. 89 0. E. S. It is to such men as A. M. Clark, that Fresno County today owes much of its present greatness, development and prosperity, for with his energy and optimism he was always working to build up the county; was aggressive in the cause of education and zealous for a splendid school system, and a high standard of morals. Thus the best interests of his town and county were always nearest and dearest to his heart.


History of Alameda County, California: page 948

PERRY MORRISON.-- Was born in Dearborn County, Indiana, October 6, 1818. At the age of six years he was taken by his parents to the vicinity of Indianapolis, where he was brought up, and resided on a farm until 1839. At this time he accompanied his parents to Louisa County, Iowa, and there engaged in farming, in the mean time losing his father in 1843. In march 1847, in company with a train of eighteen wagons, with whom were Mr. Meek and L. Stone, at present residents of this county, they started with ox-team to cross the plains to Oregon, to which terra incognita they proceeded by way of Fort Hall, and arrived in Oregon City, September 7, 1847. The county was at that time, as it is to-day, the perfection of a timber country, and nearly all who arrived there at that commenced the felling of trees and the manufacture of lumber. On arrival Mr. Morrison engaged in sawing logs, and such like empolyment, until September 1848, when hearing of the discovery of gold, he laid down the saw and ax, and betook himself to California and her prolific gold-fields. Arriving on Feather River in October, 1848, he followed mining, which abandoning in August, 1849, he came to Alameda County, then the Contra Costa, and located his present valuable homestead, then pointing to but little comfort, but now developed into one of the most splendid places in the township in which he resides. Married, firstly, in Tipton, Iowa, Miss Mary Davis, a native of Ohio, who died shortly after her espousal; and secondly, in San Francisco, Miss Martha Hastings, a native of Hartland, Vermont, By which union there were three children, Only two now surviving, viz.: Samuel, and George P.


Hezekiah M. MILLER History of Sacramento page 1529

HEZEKIAH M. MILLER. Successful in his chosen work, H. M. MILLER is entitled to a prominent place among the substantial citizens of Yolo county to which location he first came in 1871, and although for brief intervals during the time since he has resided in other sections of the country his strongest interests and associations are in the community which he selected for a home. Mr. MILLER is a native of Maryland. His birth having occurred in Frederick county. November 13, 1850, his parents, Charles and Rosanna (Myers) MILLER, being natives respectively of Frederick and Washington counties, same state. The paternal grandfather, John, was a son of the Fatherland, who emigrated to America and became a farmer in Frederick county, Md. The latter was a Lutheran in religion and a man of strong character and upright living. Charles MILLER became a farmer in young manhood, remaining in his native county for some years, but finally removing to Washington county, two miles from Sharpsburg, upon land which formed a part of the battle-ground for Famous Antietam, during which conflict the family took refuge in the cellar. In that county in 1860 his wife passed away. Later in life MILLER removed to his old home in Frederick County where he spent the remainder of his life dying there in 1868, at an advanced age. Mrs. MILLER was the daughter of Frederick MYERS, also a native of Washington county, MD. Mr. MYERS was de-scended from German ancestry, a Lutheran in religion and a farmer by occupation, passing the years of his life on the banks of Antietam creek.

Of the four children born to his parents. H. M. MILLER is the third in order of birth and one of the two who are now living. The years of his boyhood and voting manhood were spent in his native state, his education being received in the public schools in the vicinity of his home. His first employment away from home was a clerkship in Maryland, where he remained until 1869, when he came as far west as Ogle county, Ill., and there located in Mt. Morris. He was variously employed until the 1st of November of the following year, when he set out for California, spending the winter in St. Joseph. MO., and in May 1871, completing the journey, which brought him to Yolo county. His first occupation here was on a ranch, continuing in this employment for nearly two years, when, with his brother, Frederick, he rented land in this locality and engaged in independent farming. The first of the three years in which they were thus occupied they made only their expenses, on account of the drought, but later met with better success. In the Centennial year M. MILLER returned east and in Maryland spent nine months returning at the expiration of that period to Yolo county, and with his brother purchasing four hundred and eighty acres near Knight's Landing, which he two improved and cultivated for upwards of eleven years. In 1888 H. M. MILLER sold his interest in the farm to his brother and became connected with Lowe, Myers & Co., a firm which was organized in 1868, through the purchase of the interest of E. R. Lowe, and this business is now conducted under the firm name of N. Myers Co. He owns a quarter interest in the ranch which consists of eight thousand acres of land, twenty-six hundred of this being tillable, while the balance is devoted to the raising of sheep and cattle. The partners of Mr. MILLER are his uncle, Noah Myers, and E. POFFENBERGER, each owning a quarter, and Luther Poffenberger and S. C. Deaner, owning a quarter in conjunction. Mr. MILLER also owns a ranch of one hundred and sixty-nine acres ad-joining the company land which property is now rented. From 1888 to 1902 he resided on his ranch, but in the last named year he removed to Woodland where he has since made his home.

Mr. MILLER has been twice married, his first wife being Matilda Belle McGrath, a native of Washington county, MD and a daughter of Samuel McGrath, a retired farmer of Sutter county, Cal., and the representative of an old Maryland family. He died March 31, 1897 in Woodland leaving a family of three children namely: Noah Lee, Elizabeth Rose and Sarah Mabel. In Sacramento, in 1900, Mr. MILLER was united in marriage with Miss Abbie Lee McGrath, a sister of his first wife. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church to which Mr. MILLER gives a liberal support. He is connected with many of he business interests of Woodland, being a stockholder and director in the Woodland Rochdale Company. Fraternally he was made a Mason in Woodland Lodge. No.156, A. F. & A: M.; was exalted to the sublime Royal Arch degree in Woodland Chapter, No.46, and belongs to the Woodland Commandery, No.21, K. T. He also belongs to the Order of Eastern Star. Politically he is a stanch adherent of the principles advocated in the platform of the Democratic Party, and has taken a lively interest in party affairs. He is ex-member of the county central committee Sutter County, and in 1896, 1898 and 1900 was a delegate to the state convention. Mr. MILLER is a liberal and enterprising man and citizen, and holds a high place among the men who have aided materially in the development and upbuilding of this section of California.


JACOB MORGAN MILLER History of Scaramento page 878

JACOB MORGAN MILLER. One of the largest and most prominent farmers and stockmen in the Sacramento valley is J. M. Miller, whose father and paternal grandfather were born in Washington county, Md., near Sharpsburg. His father, Francis M., was a farmer in Maryland, but about 1868 removed to Van Clevesville, W. Va. Jacob Morgan Miller was born near Sharpsburg, Washington county, Md., December 18, 1854, and was brought up on his father's farm until sixteen years of age. When seven years of age he went with his uncle over battlefield of Antietam, and witnessed that historic battle. He was educated in the public schools of Sharpsburg, Md., and of Virginia, and in 1872 came to California and joined an uncle, Samuel Miller, who had come to this state some years before and was farming near Woodland.

From May until fall he worked for his uncle on the farm, then for another farmer for about a year. In 1873 he purchased the necessary implements and engaged in farming for himself in what is now Glenn county, three miles north of Willow. This was virgin soil, and he broke and cultivated it two years, but the second year he lost all of his crop, and after selling out and paying up his indebtedness, went forth to make another start. He worked for David N. Hershey for eighteen months, then for W. Anderson in Yolo county another eighteen months, and in that way made some money, with which he removed to his present place. In 1879 he went into partnership with John Kennedy and rented six hundred acres of land. Each of them had a four-horse team, and the first year raised large crops, thus getting a good start. Each year they rented a little more land until in 1890, when Mr. Miller bought his partner out and continued the business alone until 1900, when he took his brother in with him. Together they operate over seven thousand acres of land, mostly grain and grazing land, and own six hundred and forty acres of land on Grand Island. They have two fifty-horse power traction engines, used for plowing, harrowing and harvesting. They each plow forty acres per day, and barrow two hundred acres a day. Besides horses, they have many mule teams, and raise cattle and sheep, and have from three thousand to six thousand head of sheep, mostly of the Shropshire breed. Individually J. M. Miller owns three hundred and twenty acres of land. Mr. Miller was one of the organizers of the Farmers' Transportation Company of Grimes, of which he is president, and built the steamer, Valletta, of six hundred tons, carrying freight between Colusa and San Francisco. The steamer was so named in honor of Mr. Miller's eldest daughter. W. T. Forsman is the Sacramento manager, and they have offices in both Sacramento and San Francisco. Mr. Miller was married in Sutter county, September 2, 1885, to Minnie WEIS, the eldest daughter of Jacob WEIS, who was born in Ohio, and came when a young man across the plains to California. He engaged in packing to the mines for a time, then purchased six hundred acres of land at Cranmore, where he still resides. Her mother, formerly Annie GIBBONS is also living, and is the mother of seven children, five of whom are living. Mrs. Miller died in 1899. Four children were born to them, viz.: Carl Morgan, who was educated at St. Mary's College at Oakland; Valletta, who is attendance Mills College at Oakland; Lawrence Merrell and Lorna Grace. Mr. Miller is a most successful man in his line of business, of which he has made a thorough study, and possessing great executive ability is enabled to carry out his ideas. Personally he is broadminded and hospitable and is ever ready to assist those who have been less fortunate than himself. He is a deep thinker and well posted upon general matters. In politics he is a Democrat, and is trustee of the Wilkins Slough school district.


L. W. MEYER History of Sonoma County

Mr. L. W. Meyer is a native of Germany and was trained to the business of vine grower. He emigrated to New York in 1840, and 1846 enlisted in the United States service for the Mexican War. He was stationed at Monterey, and at the close of the war went to mines. In 1866 he came to Sonoma and for five year was Su-perintendent of General Williams' property. He then purchased property of his own, and has since been engaged in vine growing Wine making.


Lewis W. MAYER in History of Sonoma County page 679

Mayer, Lewis W, Was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, August 18, 1823. His father was a weaver by trade, but followed manufacturing wine, grape-growing and farming. Lewis W. Mayer emigrated to America in 1840, arriving in Philadelphia on July 4th of that year, where he found employment in a weaving establishment, until the Mexican war broke out, when he enlisted, in Philadelphia, for the regular army, being one, of the company of artillery, commanded by Captain Tompkins, which were then attached successively to the corps of Generals Sherman, Ord and Halleck. July 12, 1846, he embarked in the "Lexington" for California, via Cape Horn; landed at Monterey on January 28th of the following year, and was there quartered until the close of the Mexican war. In 1849 he proceeded to the mines, and in 1850 visited his home in Philadelphia, shortly after coming back to California in 1852 he once more returned to Philadelphia, and on the 29th of May, married Johanna S. Etzel, a native of that city, who was born July 31, 1833. He here pursued mercantile affairs for some time, but finding that the climate of California was more suited to his health, accompanied by his wife, he once more proceeded to that State, and on arrival located in El Dorado county, there combining mercantile pursuits with mining and grape-growing. In 1864 he transferred his location to Sonoma county, and, after acting as superintendent of vineyards and wine-making for five years, in 1871 settled on his present property, being now engaged in the culture of vines and the making of wine. Mr. Mayer is a member of the California Pioneer Association. His children are: Frederick D., born March 3, 1853; Rosina H., March 16, 1857; Corinna A., March 12, 1860; William J., August 31, 1862 (died the same day); Theresa 5., December, 6, 1869; Lewis B., February 29.1872, and Bertha Cornelia, July 27, 1874.


Lawrence MEYER in History of Sonoma County

LAWRENCE MEYER. It is a well-known fact that those born under California skies rarely leave their native state to make their home in any other part of the country. This truism is borne out in the career of Mr. Meyer, for he has not only remained in his native state, but he has never left his native county being satisfied with its outlook and not wishing to waste time and energy on speculation as to what other localities might offer. This well-known and successful rancher in the vicinity of Sebastopol was born in Petaluma, Sonoma county, August 31, 1869, the son of Lawrence Meyer, a native of Germany, who came to this country in 1849 in response to the attractions offered by the finding of gold in California during that year. The mines of Virginia City claimed his attention and energy for a time and from this he turned to teaming, following the latter employment as long as he remained in the mining district. From there he finally came to Sonoma county in 1860, and here the remainder of his life was passed on a ranch in the vicinity, of Petaluma, his death occurring here it 1893.

Up to the age of eighteen years Lawrence Meyer had remained at home, in his earlier years attending the public schools at Petaluma, and afterward working on the home ranch with his father. Though young in years it was with the courage of a man that he started out to make his own way in the world at the age of eighteen, empty-handed except for seventy-five cents, which he highly prized. For a few years he worked as a ranch hand for neighboring ranchers, laying by from his wages what was not used for the necessaries of life, and with tile means thus accumulated he purchased a tract of rough land. Clearing it of trees and brush, he planted it to crops, and in this condition he sold it as a good profit. Four different tracts of land were thus bought, cleared and put under cultivation, and as many times he cleared a good profit on his investment. His last purchase is the ranch which he now occupies, comprising fifty-nine acres, which he intends to make his permanent home. Like the other tracts mentioned, this, too, was covered with a heavy growth of timber and underbrush, and one seeing the thrifty condition of the ranch today would have considerable difficulty in realizing that it had been evolved from the wild timbered waste that it was when Mr. Meyer purchased it. All of this has given place to cultivated fruit trees, pears, peaches, plums, prunes and cherries, besides which there is a thriving vine-yard of twenty acres, from which he gathers fifty tons of grapes annually. Twelve acres of cherries yield annually about twenty tons, apples sixty tons, peaches ten tons, and prunes fifteen tons. When it is considered that all of this has been made possible on land which when Mr. Meyer purchased it eighteen years ago was covered with a virgin forest, his accomplishment has been little short of marvelous. He bought a ranch of one hundred and sixteen acres on Mark West creek in 1907, and in 1910 he traded this property for a building in San Fran-cisco containing eight flats, which he rents. and from which he derives a good income.

In Sebastopol in 1897, Mr. Meyer was united in marriage with Miss Bertha G. Smith, who though born in England has passed the greater part of her life in the United States, California principally. Three children have been horn of this marriage, Charles L., Wesley G., and William W. Fraternally Mr. Meyer is an Odd Fellow, and in his political preferences he is a Republican.


History of the Sacramento Valley p296

THEARIS JOSEPH BOHLING Thearis Joseph Bohling, an able and successful young financier of Butte county, where he has been continuously identified with the banking interests since 1916, is in full charge of the Butte County Savings Bank, which is located on Broadway and is the oldest moneyed institution of Chico. He was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, May 29, 1897, his parents being Joseph and Alice May Bohling, the former of French and English lineage and the latter of Dutch and Scotch-Irish descent. The paternal grandfather of T. J. Bohling was captain of a French merchant ship.

Thearis J. BOHLING was a lad of six years when in 1903 he accompanied his parents to Sacramento. California, where the family home was maintained until 1910. During the two succeeding years he resided at Colusa, where he completed a grammar school course by graduation with the class of 1912, and for the past eighteen years he has made his home at Chico. He was graduated from Heald's Business College in 1915 and the same year secured a stenographic and clerical position in the Bark of Chico, while in 1916 he became a clerk in the Butte County Savings Bank. He was promoted to the position of assistant cashier in 1918, was advanced to the cashiership in 1922 and since 1927 has served as vice president, in which official capacity he is largely contributing to the growth and success of the institution.

On the 4th of September, 1916, in Sacramento, California. Mr. Bohling was united in marriage to Miss Bertha l. Bowman, who was born in Berkeley, California, December 13, 1897. Her parents. Frank and Edith R.(White)Bowman are natives of Ontario, Canada. The father is a railroad man and a well-known Mason, having attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite in the order. Mr. and Mrs. BOHLING are the parents of two children, Dorothy Roberta and Thearis Edward, who are twelve and eleven years of age, respectively. Mrs. Bohling has member-ship in Josephine Chapter of the Eastern Star at Chico.

Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Bohling has supported the men and measures of the republican party. He is opposed to the world court or any other foreign entanglements and he advocates the modification of the Volstead law. He was made a director of the Chamber of Commerce of Chico for 1924-1925 and again for 1930-1931. He was one of the charter members of the Chico Exchange Club but withdrew from club activities in 1925. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Masonic order, being an officer of Chico Chapter, No.42, R. A. M., while in religious faith he is a Presbyterian. Though not a member of the church, he finds communion with the Divine in God's great out-of-doors. Mr. Bohling and his family seek recreation principally in horseback riding through the mountain country, and he is the owner of some fine saddle horses. He has a cabin in Butte Meadows at an elevation of over five thousand feet.


History of Sacramento County p 967

CASPER G. AMACKER - A man of recognized worth and ability, highly respected and honored among his many acquaintances, is Casper G. Amacker, who was born on March 24. 1893, at Tacoma, WA, the son of Casper J. and Effie (Towles) Amacker. His father was born in Switzerland and the mother in Huron, S.D., of Scotch parentage. His parents came to California in 1898. Casper J. Amacker has been employed by the Sacramento Transportation Company for a great many years as superintendent of the construction work in the boat yards, and he and his wife are now residing in Sacramento.

Casper G. Amacker, the second oldest of two children, was educated in the public schools of Sacramento. He attended Howe's Academy and was employed as a fireman on boats for the Sacramento Transportation Company. He soon became barge pilot and then pilot, and in 1920 received his papers as captain and has had charge of boats ever since.

In Portland OR, on January 13, 1912, Casper G. Amacker married Miss Clarice Johnson, born in Alameda, a native daughter of the Golden State. She is the daughter of Christ and Clarice (Weiding) Johnson, old-timers in San Francisco, where her father was chief engineer on the Southern Pacific ferry-boats till his death. Her mother resides in Alameda.

Mr. and Mrs. Amacker are the parents of three children: Alberta. Dorothy, and George, all of whom are attending school. Captain Amacker is nonpartisan in his political affiliations. He is a Red Man, and a member of the National Mates and Pilots' Association of America, and is very fond of hunting, fishing, and all outdoor sports, especially baseball. He is deeply interested in Sacramento, and does his utmost to be numbered among the public-spirited citizens of his community.


History of Sacramento Valley page 71

AARON BECK

Among Yolo county's old and honored residents is Aaron Beck, who has been living here continuously for nearly fifty-five years, during which period he has set a worthy example of persistent industry, good citizen-ship and neighborliness, and has gained the sincere respect of all who know him. He was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, May 19, 1847, and received a good public school education. He learned the trade of shoe-making, which he followed at various places in Germany and Switzerland, including Constance, on Lake Constance in Switzerland. In 1854 his father and three brothers emigrated to the United States, locating in Newark, New Jersey. Shortly afterwards occurred the death of the father, who had intended to form a German colony in that state, but died soon after his arrival. Later the oldest son went to Pennsylvania, thence went west to Nevada, and from there to Boise, Idaho, reaching Yolo County in 1861.

Aaron Beck, who came to the New World in 1866 with his mother and three children, is now the only surviving member of the family. They crossed the ocean on the old sidewheel steamer "Atlantic," which on its next trip was lost with four hundred passengers. Aaron Beck was nine-teen years of age when he reached Newark, New Jersey, and there he engaged in making custom shoes and later worked in a shoe factory. In October 1876, he boarded an emigrant train, as a third class passenger, for California, and on his arrival in this state located in the Capay Valley, Yolo County. There he opened a custom shoe shop, and later formed a partnership with James Duncan, opening a shoe store in Woodland in 1887. This proved an unfortunate venture, however, as fire completely destroyed their store and stock. Mr. Beck bought ten acres of land in the Willow Oak Park district in 1890; and subsequently added ten acres more, securing the property in fee and clear of incumbrance. He now has the twenty acres planted to walnut trees and juice grapes, though formerly he had it planted to alfalfa, during which time he was running a dairy and raising hogs. He has been a hard worker, but has been progressive in his methods, so that he has secured maximum results and has a highly improved and valuable property.

In 1869, in Newark, New Jersey, Mr. Beck was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Krumeich, who was a native of that state and a daughter of one of its pioneer pottery makers.

To this marriage were born the following children who are living: Anna E.; Selma, the wife of Alfred Streng, of Oakland, this state; Mrs. Joseph Wetzel, of Oakland; Jesse J., who was born in the Capay Valley and is in charge of the home ranch; and Francis H., of Sonoma, California. Maria, Aaron, Jr., and Gertrude H. are deceased. The mother passed away March 10, 1912. Mr. Beck is a member of the Sons of Herman and his religious affiliation is with the Roman Catholic Church. Kindly in manner, generous in disposition and an earnest supporter of those things which make for the well-being and advancement of the community, he is regarded as one of its best citizens and popular men.


History of Yolo County p546

AARON BECK

A native of Wurtemberg, Germany, born in 1847, Mr. Beck received a thorough education in the public schools of that section. Later he learned the shoemaker's trade in which, upon his immigration to America in 1866, he engaged in Newark, N. J., serving in a shoe factory ten years. He then came to Capay, Yolo county, CA, where he remained a similar period. In 1886 he located in Woodland, when he worked at his trade until the purchase of his present twenty-acre ranch in Willow Oak Park in 1890.

During the past twelve years Mr. Beck has devoted his property to alfalfa. His thrift and perseverance, united with strictly honorable methods, have won him a place among the most influential and highly esteemed citizens of the community.

In Newark, N. J., in 1869, Mr. Beck was married to Miss Mary E. Krumeich, a native of that state, and eight children were born to them, as follows: Anna E., at home; Mamie, deceased; Selma, the wife of Alfred Streng, of San Francisco; Aaron, deceased; Jesse J.; Lavinia, Mrs. Joseph Wetzel, of Woodland; Francis H. and Gertrude A. The mother of these children passed away at her home March 10, 1912.

Always keenly active in public movements of worth, Mr. Beck maintains a special interest in educational progress, observation and study having not only added to his culture, but enabled him to keep fully abreast of the times as well. He is a member of the Herman Sons, and also holds active membership in the German Lutheran Church of Woodland, while the children are members of the Catholic Church, as was his wife also.


History of San Joaquin County -page 1583

LOUIE J DELMEGE.-A pioneer merchant who has had much to do with thc development of important commercial and realty interests in San Joaquin County is Louie J. Delmege, of the Delmege Realty Company at Manteca He was born in Denver, Colo., on September 30, 1886, and grew up to enjoy a good common school and business education acquired while he lived in Colorado, Iowa and North Dakota, prior to coming to California. He was assistant station agent at Knox, N. D., and it was there that he saw some stray copies of the Sunset Magazine and read of the superior attractions of the Golden State. In 1905 he removed with his family to the Coast, and immediately invested in a ranch two and one-half miles east of Manteca which he later developed into a fine vineyard. Forty dollars per acre was considered very reasonable in those days for raw land, hut today that type of farm-tract cannot be bought for less than $400 per acre, due for the most part to the productivity resulting from irrigation. Mr. Delmege has never lost a whit of his enthusiastic devotion to Manteca which he characterizes as the one city in this valley which is four-sided, that is, it is bounded on all sides by fertile lands and highly-productive ranches.

One of the first important events in the early history of Manteca was the establishing of "The Toggery," a first-class men's furnishing store on Yosemite Avenue, stocked and opened by Mr. Delmege, who had a partner, J. J. Rawleigh. They began in 1909, and were active and successful together for nine years, or until 1918, when Mr. Delmege disposed of his share of the concern. The following year he established the Delmege Realty Company, with an office at the corner of Vine and Yosemite streets. There he conducts a real estate and insurance business, operating strictly according to modern business methods. He has important interests in various real estate and ranch-holdings in or near Manteca; is a member of the State Realty Board of California; and belongs to the Chamber of Commerce of Manteca, in which he is also a live wire.

At Stockton, in 1911, Mr. Delmege was married to Miss Jessie Ruby, the accomplished daughter of Mrs. H. E. Ruby, who now resides at Manteca at the home of her daughter. Mr. Delmege is a Republican, and a member of the Modern Woodmen of America.


History of Monterey and Santa Cruz Counties CA page 239

SUNDAY FARAOLA.

Sunday Faraola, an enterprising business man whose progressive methods and reliable standards have made him a dependable factor in industrial and financial circles, is the genial and accommodating manager of the Western California Fish Company, with their conveniently located offices on the City Wharf at 74 Washington street, Santa Cruz. He was born in this city, April 6, 1873, and his parents were Dominic and Bessie (Herman) Faraola. The father came to Santa Cruz in the year that California was admitted to the Union, and with A. Palidini and T. Simmons was a pioneer among the first foreign fishermen on this coast. At first they had to fish from rowboats, but before Mr. Faraola died, in 1877, he saw a newer era, when fishing was far less a hardship, if also less a sport. Mrs. Faraola, the devoted wife and mother, is still living at the age of seventy-one years, an interesting representative of an old family, once owners of a great Spanish grant.

Sunday Faraola attended the Santa Cruz public schools, and at the age of eighteen entered the service of the H. Cowle Company, doing a lime and cement business a Santa Cruz. He remained with them for eighteen years and then joined his brother, John Faraola, in handling fish both at retail and wholesale. They did a thriving trade together for several years, both being favorites. After their partner-ship was dissolved, Sunday Faraola continued with the Western California Fish Company that took over their fish trade, and became the local manager for the concern.

On the 4th of April, 1897, Mr. Faraola was married, at Santa Cruz, to Miss Rose Molares, also a native of this city, and a member of another old-time family. Several children were born to them. Percy was a member of the famous Rainbow Division in the World war, and was gassed in France; yet he was fated to die from the effects of an automobile accident after his discharge and return home. His funeral was one of the largest ever held in Santa Cruz, attesting to his own popularity and the high esteem enjoyed by the family. Leland is the only son now living. Mr. Faraola is an Eagle and it is safe to say that his standing in that well-known order is enviable.


History of Monterey and Santa Cruz Counties CA page 245

JOHN FARAOLA.

A popular enterprise that must prove most interesting is that of John Faraola, who owns and manages the pleasure boats putting out from Pleasure Wharf at Santa Cruz, in which town he was born, January 18, 1869, the son of Dominic and Bessie (Herman) Faraola. The father was a pioneer who arrived here about 1850, ac-companying T. Simmons and A. Palidino, early fishermen. He passed away nearly fifty years ago, but Mrs. Faraola has survived him, the center of a circle of devoted friends. John Faraola obtained his education in the country schools and when only twelve years of age became a bell boy in a hotel. He was gradually advanced and continued to he associated with hotels until many years afterward. He started work in the old Douglas House and then entered the service of the Pacific Ocean House. When a lad of fifteen he showed some proficiency as a baseball player and getting a position at the St. James Hotel as night clerk, he was enabled to play with the J. W. Spring Base Ball Club. He also spent a year at the Vendome Hotel, in San Jose; was with the Lewis House at Watsonville for three years; and for two years was at the Mansion House in the same city.

His next venture was in the business of leasing and running pleasure boats at Santa Cruz for three years and then he and his brother, Sunday Faraola established a wholesale and retail fish business. When this partnership was dissolved, our subject took the pleasure boat concession, and now he has five fine vessels. They are used for outings by the general public and occasionally for the more prosaic occupations of the fish-packers. Mr. Faraola maintains a keen interest in athletic sports, and this is second only to his devotion to business. He supports the republican party.

Mr. Faraola married, in Santa Cruz, in September, 1898, Miss Hattie Maxey, of Rockland, Maine, and their family consists of three children: Eva, John Faraola, Jr., and Marcelia, now Mrs. Francis Murray, of Los Angeles. There are also three grandchildren.


History of San Joaquin County p. 1582

CHARLES G. DELMEGE.--Among the ranchers of San Joaquin County who by strict attention to business have been able to retire from active work, is Charles G. Delmege of Stockton. He was born in Bristol, Kendall County, IL on November 22, 1846, and at the age of seventeen, in company with two schoolmates, ran away from home and enlisted for service in the Civil War he also had two brothers who served in the army, one enlisting in 1861, and all served in the same company. On February 10, 1864, he enlisted under Capt. F. W. Sowerby in Company H of the Ninth Illinois Cavalry in command of Col. A. G. Brackett, with General Hatch as division commander, the brigade known as Hatch's cavalry. Three days after joining his regiment he was under fire with the Army of the Tennessee. being engaged against Forrest until ordered to cross the river to fight General Hood's army. The only two battles he was in were Franklin and Nashville. While engaged against Hood the army was under command of Gen. Schofield; later was under Gen. Thomas; although in active service all the time he came out without a scratch.

His service continued until October 31, 1865, when he was mustered out, and then returned to his home in Illinois. In 1867, removing to Iowa, he bought a farm near Afton, consisting of eighty acres; his father and one of his brothers also owned farms in that location. He spent twelve years on his place, which was devoted to the raising of grain, then he removed to Denver. Colo., and became interested in politics. He was appointed by the mayor and served four years as a member of the police department, and then for two years was city jailer. On account of a change in administration Mr. Delmege left the employ of the police department, and at the current election worked for a particular candidate for county sheriff, who was elected and who, in appreciation for services rendered, appointed Mr. Delmege county jailer, serving two years.

Trading his Denver property for a farm, he then went to Boulder, Colo., farming near there for four years, then resided in Boulder for two years. In the fall of 1899 he was sent to Des Moines as state agent for the Anchor Mutual Fire Insurance Company, being appointed by his brother, who was president of the company; then he was in the lumber business for two years at Larimore, Iowa, and was also interested in the real estate business there. From lowa he removed to Knox, N. D., and went into the real estate business. and while residing there took up government land, which he farmed for four years; then in 1906 he came to California and bought a ten-acre tract of land at Manteca, which he planted to wine grapes. While his vines were maturing he conducted a poultry business, and after twelve years sold out and moved to Stockton, where he has since resided.

The marriage of Mr. Delmege occurred at Afton, Iowa, on November 8, 1870, and united him with Miss Amanda Keating, a native of Ohio, and they are the parents of two sons: Clarence A., of Sheridan, Wyo., is married and has three girls, one of whom has a daughter; and Louie J. is married and lives at Manteca, Mr. Delmege is past commander of Rawlins Post No. 23, G. A. R. of Stockton, while Mrs. Delmege is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps and the Ladies' Circle of the G. A. R., and during the World War was an active Red Cross worker. Both Mr. and Mrs. Delmege attend the Christian Science Church of Stockton.


History of Merced, Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne & Mariposa Counties page 375

IRA HARRIS, Jr.-The subject of this sketch is a native of Rhode Island, and dates his birth at the old town of Smithfield, November 18, 1848. He was reared and educated in his native State, and there learned the trade of machine blacksmith. His parents, Ira, Sr., and Fannie (Clark) Harris, were also born in Rhode Island, and were of English extraction. His mother is deceased. His father, now well advanced in years, is still hale and hearty, and fills the place of a mechanic in the shops of his son.

Mr. Harris, Jr., came to California in 1884, and established his present business at Modesto some three years ago. His shops contain several forges and turning lathes, and are equipped with all the necessary machinery required in a general repair shop. He is a thorough mechanic in every respect, and is doing a thriving and constantly increasing business.

He was married in Rhode Island in 1868, to Miss Mary Mulholland, also a native of that State. They have six children, namely: William, Emma, Hannah, Mary, Ira and George.

Mr. Harris casts his vote and influence with the Democratic party. Socially, he is connected with the F. & A. M., Mount Moriah Lodge, No. 8, of Lincoln, Rhode Island. He has passed the chairs in the blue lodge, and has advanced to the Royal Arch degree.


History of Solano and Napa Counties page 637

JOHN L. ROWLEY.

Although a young man with many years before him, John L. Rowley has already shown himself capable of achieving success from the way he has managed his ranch. He is a native of Capell valley, Napa county, born September 27, 1874, a son of George W. and Martha H. (Loftis) Rowley. The former came to California via the Isthmus in 1860. and the latter. a native of Arkansas, came with her parents across the plains while an infant. the familv locating in Solano county. John L. Rowley has one sister, Lily R., the wife of L. C. Carden, a native of Tennessee; with their two children, Merle W. and Loleta, they reside in Oakland.

In 1909 Mr. Rowley bought the old place of his parents, consisting of one hundred and fifty acres, of which sixty-five acres are under cultivation, four acres in alfalfa and the balance in hay and pasture. He keeps a few cattle and horses for domestic use. Mr. Rowley married Orinda Sprague, a native of Maine, and they have one daughter, Lilian O. Politically he is a Republican.


History of Siskiyou County CA 1881 page 209 (actually p208 or 209a)

WILLIAM SULLAWAY is a son of Joseph and Susan (Sargent) Sullaway, who were natives of New Hampshire, his father having been horn at Bellows Falls, and his mother at Hookset. They reared a family of twelve children, viz.: John, Joseph, Susan, Jacob, Dorethea, Jason, Sarah, Harriett, Benjamin (who died, and was followed by another son, whom they called Benjamin, and who also died), Mary, and William, the subject of this sketch, who was born at Springfield, New Hampshire, May 16, 1823.

When thirteen years of age he went to Massachusetts, where he engaged in business in a public house, near Cambridge, in a village called Fresh Pond.

From here be removed to Rhode Island, and on the eighth day of August, 1845, was united in marriage to Miss Mary Parker, daughter of John H. and Armah Parker, who were natives of Goshen, New Hampshire, where Mrs. Sullaway was born. For some time after marriage he continued to drive stage from Pawtucket to Providence.

In the month of October, 1849, he sailed from Fall River, Massachusetts, for California, on the vessel Delaware, intending to come around Cape Horn, but owing to bad seamanship was compelled to abandon that route, and put in to the West India Islands, and then by way of the Isthmus to San Francisco, where they landed in April, 1850. He went then to Stockton, and began driving an ox-team at $200 per month; afterwards mining for a short time in Calaveras county, and in 1852 removed to Siskiyou county. He engaged in mining, then started an express wagon between Yreka and Hawkinsville, and was the founder of the pioneer stage line from Yreka to Shasta, in 1857, which runs via the Sacramento river road, being carried from Soda Springs to Shasta by pack-mules. After two and one-half years he closed this line, and started one through to Red Bluff. Tired of stage managing he sold out, purchased the place he now owns, at that time, and since, a station on the line called Forest Ranch, beautifully located in a fine pine forest, near the base of Mount Shasta. A view of the residence can be seen on another page. Mr. and Mrs. Sulla-way have reared a family of five children, viz.: Joseph Edwin, now at Kelton, Utah, John W., Charles F., Mary, and Ned F.

From NDGW he died July in Sisson, Mount Shasta, July 13 1893.


History of Solano and Napa Counties CA page 1007.

HENRY BEDDOE.

A native of Utah, Henry Beddoe was born in Salt Lake City June 26,1853. one of the seven children born to his parents, William and Mary B. Beddoe. The children were as follows: Henry, Benjamin, Elinor, Margarette, Mary A., Naomi and Margaret. Mary A. married M. Frazer, a native of Indiana, and six children were born to them. Margaret became the wife of Park H. Hall.

Henry Beddoe remained in his birthplace until his parents moved back to St. Joseph, Mo., settlement being afterward made in Rolla, Phelps county, that state, and he continued under the parental roof until he was forty-five years of age. In Missouri be married Ella Moore, a native of New Jersey. and nine children were born to them. as follows: Daisy E., Pansy L. William W. Benjamin E., Thomas H., Everett E., Adolph R., Morris and Roy R.

William W. married Hannah Wiley, of Rolla, Mo., and they have three children; Benjamin E. married Anna Lowe, of Hannibal, Mo., and they have two children; Thomas H. married Edna Stone, and they have two children; Daisy E. married James A. Stephens, a minister residing in San Francisco.

Henry Beddoe came to California in 1898 and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land in Chiles valley. He died in the year 1906, and the work of the farm is now carried on by the children. The ranch is divided as follows: Thirty acres of grapes, eighty acres of pasture and timber, fifteen acres of alfalfa and fifteen acres of grain. The orchard consists principally of peaches and prunes, from which a good yield is obtained. Politically Mr. Beddoe was a Republican and fraternally he was a member of the Odd Fellows. The Beddoe family has done much to promote the welfare of the community and has materially added to the progress of the county.


History of Santa Barbara County page 489

One of Santa Maria's greatly esteemed citizens is Paul M. Hiratzka, who, in both business and welfare activities, has shown himself capable and industrious, so that his record is one of which he has no reason to he ashamed. He was born in Japan on June 14,1888, and is a son of Mankichi and Nobu (Fukushima) Hiratzka. The father, who was born in Japan in about 1840, died in that country in 1905. He was a farmer and brewer, and was well known and liked in the Fukuokaken for his interest in public affairs. His widow, who was born in Japan in about 1868, is now living in Tokio. She reared four children, of whom Paul M. is the only one in Santa Barbara County.

Paul M. Hiratzka was given the advantage of an excellent scholastic training, having attended the grammar schools of his own country and Rikyo University of Tokio, which in the United States is known as St. Paul's College, a missionary institution of the Episcopal church, and from which he was graduated in 1912. On leaving the school in Tokio in 1912, Mr. Hiratzka went to work for the Singer Sewing Machine Company, serving about a year as auditor. In 1913 he came to the United States, locating in San Antonio, Texas, where he was associated with N. T. Wilson in the automobile business until 1915. In that year he moved to Detroit where he entered the University of Detroit, where he was graduated in 1918. He then took a position with the Continental Motors of Detroit, with which concern he was associated until 1921. He then came to California and lived in San Francisco and later, Los Angeles, until 1927. During this period he devoted his efforts to general welfare work among Japanese as general secretary of the Central Japanese Association of Southern California. In 1927 he moved to Santa Maria and engaged in the produce business, which he carried on until 1934, when he associated himself with H. Y. Minami & Sons. at Guadalupe where he remains. During 1926-27 Mr. Hiratzka was associated with the Japanese Consul in Las Angeles in an advisory capacity. That Consul, 0. Hashi, is now a vice-minister of foreign affairs in Manchukuo.

In 1912, in Japan, Mr. Hiratzka was married to Miss Keiko Nagano, a native of Japan, where her mother is still living. her father being deceased. Mrs. Hiratzka is now living in Santa Maria where she is serving as treasurer for the Woman's Aid Society in the Japanese Union Church. To Mr. and Mrs. Hiratzka have been born three children, namely: Tomiharu ("Tom") T., born in Japan in 1913, graduated from Leland Stanford University in 1937 and is now taking the medical course in that institution; Amy. born in San Francisco in 1922, is in the Santa Maria High School; and Jordan F.. born in Los Angeles in 1923, is a student in the Santa Maria High School. Mr. Hiratzka is a communicant of the Protestant Episcopal church being the treasurer of St. Peter's congregation in Santa Maria. He is a man of high ideals, is cordial and sincere in his social relations, and since coming to this country he has won a host of warm personal friends.


History of Tulare and Kings Counties page 708

HENRY F. ROCK That progressive merchant and real estate investor of Armona, Kings county, Cal., Henry F. Rock, was born in Shasta county, in this state, September 12, 1870. His youth and the earlier years of his manhood were passed on a farm and he was educated in the public school in his home district. When he was about twenty-nine years old he located on a farm in Fresno county, which he operated with varying success for some years. By this time he had made up his mind that he would be a merchant and had saved money with which to go into business. Buying the 0. B. Hanan store at Centerville, Fresno county, he conducted it four years, meanwhile farming on rented land in the vicinity. In 1907 he closed out the merchandise business to Messrs. Elliott & Coleman of Conejo, Fresno county, and came to Armona, Kings county, to take over the well established mercantile enterprise of Muller Brothers, who had been trading here five years. He has since handled the business with increasing success. From his merchandising he has found time to interest himself in real estate, and has acquired an interest in town and country property. in different alfalfa ranches and in a farm of seventy-eight acres. Besides, he is a stockholder in the commission house of Zaiser Brothers, Los Angeles.

Fraternally, Mr. Rock affiliates with Lucerne lodge No. 275, I.0.0.F., Hanford. He married, November 6. 1890, Miss Lora Burner, at Glenburn, Shasta county. She was born in Colusa county, and has borne him four children, only one of whom survives, Carl L. who was educated in the public school of Armona and Heald's Business College at Fresno, and is now engaged in the bakery business at Armona. Taking a deep and abiding interest in the uplift and development of his community, Mr. Rock has proven himself dependable when demand is made for aid in movements for the public good.



History of the State of CA & Bio Record of San Joaquin Valley CA page 1306

ISAAC HENRY WASH. Among those who have come to Fresno within the last decade is Isaac Henry Wash, the owner of a fine sixty-acre farm eight and a half miles southeast of Fresno, where he is profitably engaged in the raisin business, having twenty-six acres of bearing vines. A worthy descendant of a distinguished family of Virginia, the lineage of Mr. Wash is traced back to John Wash, the great-grandfather, who fought in the Revolutionary war under Washington. He was a native of Virginia, as was also his son. John Wash, Jr., who died in that state about 1847. From there the family moved into Kentucky, and it was within the borders of the latter state that both parents of Mr. Wash were born. His father, John Martin Alexander Wash, was born in 1820, and his wife, whose maiden name was Annie Adams, was born November 8, 1822. Some time after marriage this esteemed couple went west and settled in Lewis county, MO., where the father died July 24, 1844. During his life he followed the occupations of farmer and miller, and was so engaged up to the time of his death. He left but two children, Isaac Henry and Lucy, and the latter is now deceased. In 1855 the mother contracted a second matrimonial alliance, this time with Enoch Hanshorough, who died in 1863. His widow now makes her home with her daughter, Mrs. Annie Mathiesen of Billings, Okla.

Born October 20, 1841, six miles from La-grange, Lewis county. Mo., Mr. Wash spent his boyhood in the vicinity of his birthplace. His education was limited. At sixteen he left home to make his own way in the world. and the following year found him in Texas. While there he followed the cattle business three years in Collin county, and in 1861 west of Montague, following similar work, Upon the outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted in Company F. Fourteenth Texas Cavalry as a private, and served until December 31, 1862 Participating in the battle of Murfreesboro, Tenn. during which he fell, he was left on the field for dead. At this time he was serving under division commander General McCown. Being picked up by Federals, he was taken to their hospital and afterward returned to Texas. He subsequently returned to Marion county, Mo., and followed farm pursuits there for a couple of year. November 7, 1865, he was united in marriage with Mary S. Taylor, who was born in Missouri in 1844. The year following their marriage the young couple moved to Knox county, and this continued to be their home until 1890. Disposing of his farm in December of that year, Mr Wash came to California, locating for a time near Fresno, but in the spring of 1891 he purchased the farm which is still his home and which to-day ranks among the best improved in his vicinity. He has made many improvements on this place. Of his children, one is deceased and the others are all residents of Fresno county.

They are as follows:
Samuel J.; Annie H., wife of R. L. Rutherford; George, deceased; John J.: Henry M.; Mary L. and Nadine Belle: the latter two, together with Samuel J., are still at home. The family worship at the Malaga Baptist Church. Mr. Wash united with the Baptist Church in 1857. His political preference is given to the Democratic party, and he is a member of the Masonic fraternity, having been made a Mason in Knox county, Mo.


A memorial and biographical history of the counties of Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo and Ventura CA Page 607

DURRELL STOKES GREGORY was born in Virginia, June 14, 1825. About the year 1838 he removed to Cobb County, Georgia, and was educated in Marietta. He read law under ex-Governor McDonald, and was admitted to practice under special enactment of the Legislature, on account of being under the lawful age. Afterward he was in partnership with Governor McDonald until starting for California, in 1850, he first located in Santa Cruz, in the practice of law; thence he went to Monterey, from which place he was sent as a delegate to the Peace Convention, which met at Charleston, in 1860. About tile year 1862 he formed a law partnership with P. K. Woodside, which continued many years. In 1872 he removed to the new town of Salinas, where he remained until 1882, when he came to San Luis Obispo, although for several years previous he had maintained an office here. His law practice here grew rapidly, and in the course of time he was selected by Governor Stoneman to fill the position of Superior Judge, made vacant by the death of Judge McMurtrie, which occurred February 11, 1883. At the expiration of the term of this appointment, Judge Gregory was a candidate before the people and was elected to the Superior Judgeship, which position he held until his death, which occurred at 3:30 p. M., June 12, 1889. Judge Gregory's political services to the State of California were varied and invariably in the interests of good government and order. He was twice a member of the Senate, from the district composed of Monterey and Santa Cruz counties, and of the Assembly from Monterey County.

Early in the year 1888 the Judge began rapidly to fail, being troubled with a disease which rendered him practically helpless; and so he had been on his back most of the time for a year, and utterly unable to assist himself during the four mouths prior to his demise. He was a most patient sufferer, always gentle in spite of the great pain which racked his every bone. For a long time the Judge had realized his helpless physical condition and looked forward to the end with calmness. A man of most loving and affectionate disposition, ever true to his family and friends, he was universally popular. As a lawyer he was bright, alert and accurate, always going into court thoroughly conversant with every detail of the case in hand. Although not a flowery orator, he was clear, concise and convincing in argument, and was generally favorably regarded by jurists. As a judge he was strict, but invariably courteous and impartial. A man of the strictest integrity, no man nor combination of circumstances could induce him to swerve from a position he knew to be right.

Judge Gregory was married August 20, 1876, to Miss Amelia Hartnell, whose family were early pioneers of California.


History of the state of CA and bio record of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and San Luis Obispo page 478

PETER TOGNAZZINI.

Left fatherless when he was only five years of age, Mr.Tognazzini was deprived of advantages that he would have otherwise enjoyed. However, in spite of hardships and obstacles, in spite of having to start for himself in a strange county without friends, he has gained a success that reflects credit upon his sterling Swiss characteristics. Since 1860 he has lived in California, having during that year emigrated from Switzerland where he was born in 1852. The voyage was made via Boston and the Isthmus of Panama to San Francisco, where he arrived Mar 20,1860. At first he worked in the employ of dairymen in Marin and Sonoma counties, and thus gained a knowledge of the business, as carried on in the west.

During 1873 Mr. Tognazzini came to San Luis Obispo county, where he has since made his home. Renting land on Little Cayucos creek, he stocked it with a herd of dairy cows, and from that small beginning he has built up a large dairy business. As soon as he had the necessary means he purchased land. In 1880 he bought two hundred and twenty acres to which he later added two hundred acres. At this writing he owns six hundred and fifteen acres of fine land near Guadaloupe, of which in 1901 he had two hundred and fifty acres in alfalfa for his dairy cows. He was the first in all the vicinity to attempt the raising of alfalfa and his success proved that his judgment was not amiss in believing it would he a profitable crop.

Since becoming a property owner Mr. Tognazzini has given close attention to the improvement of his land. He has planted trees, including a number of fine palms. In 1890 he erected a residence which is unrivaled among the homes on the Little Cayucos. His dairy house is provided with the modern improvements. Between one and two hundred cows of the Holstein breed form the dairy and the butter produced is of such a fine quality that it has several times been awarded premiums at county fairs. No one is more familiar with the dairy business than Mr Tognazzini and his thorough acquaintance with the industry is proving financially profitable to him. The dairymen throughout his county recognize in him one of the leading representatives of their occupation and his influence is everywhere acknowledged. He is a director of the Dairymen's Union of San Francisco. As president and a director of the Guadaloupe Creamery Company at Guadaloupe and president of the Union Creamery at Morro, he is closely associated with two growing industries that are proving helpful to their localities. These interests, while important and far-reaching, do not represent the limit of Mr. Tognazzini's influence. In addition he is a director of the San Luis Commercial Bank, the San Luis Obispo-Savings Bank of San Luis Obispo and the Swiss-American Bank of San Francisco.

Since coming to America and entering into citizenship in our county Mr. Tognazzini has been actively associated with local Republican affairs. As a member of the county central committee and as executive member from the Cayucos district, he has done much to promote the welfare of his party here, and he also represented his district as a delegate to the state convention which nominated Hon. H. H. Markham for governor of California. For several years he has been a school trustee. Fraternally he is connected with San Simeon Lodge No. 196, F & A. M.; San Luis Obispo Chapter No.62, R. A. M.; and San Luis Obispo Commandery No. 27, K. T.

In the lodge he is a past master and has been a delegate to the state grand lodge. At the time the proposition was made to build a railroad from Templeton to Cayucos he was deeply interested in the project, took a personal interest in the scheme and contributed toward the fund for the making of the survey. In 1881 he married Miss Mary Gaxiola, by whom he has five children: Irene, Romeo, Juliet, Mabel and Benjamin.


History of the New California - 1905 p721

ABRAM BLOCK.

Abram Block, well known as a representative of the fruit-shipping industry of central California makes his home in Santa Clara. He was born on the 12th of February, 1830, in Bohemia, and is a son of Zalma and Maria (Kafka) Block, both of whom were natives of that country and in their family were four sons and four daughters, of whom Abram is the youngest and the only one now surviving. The father was a farmer by occupation and thus provided for the wants of his wife and children.

Abram Block pursued his education in the private school at Schwihau, Bohemia, continuing his studies until he reached the age of fourteen years. In the spring of 1845 he came to the United States, and going to Missouri he there continued his education as a public-school student for a brief pe-riod. Later he entered upon his business career as a clerk in a dry-goods and groceries establishment in St. Louis, Missouri, and continued in that trade until I852 when he came to California. Men from every walk and station in life were flocking to this state, attracted by its business possibili-ties brought about through the discovery of gold and the great tide of emigration to the far west. Mr. Block came by way of New Orleans and the Isthmus route. He too sought a fortune in the gold fields, but after spending a short time in the mines he left the search of the precious metal to others and engaged in dealing in general miners' supplies in Nevada City.

In 1855 he removed to San Francisco, although he still maintained his business in Nevada for a time. In the former place he turned his attention to manufacturing enterprises. He was interested in what was known as the Pioneer woolen factory, which he conducted with success for six years. In February, 1878, he removed to Santa Clara, where he has since been engaged in fruit-raising and shipping. With keen foresight he recognized that this was one of the coming industries of the state, and prepared to meet the demands that would arise in this direction. Levi A. Gould shipped the first fruit from California from San Francisco in the year 1869, and this has always been one of the leading fruit producing centers of the state. The fruit sent out by Mr. Gould was raised in the orchard now owned by Mr. Block. Mr. Gould, who originally owned the orchard, was one of the pioneer orchardists in this section of the country, and was a very active and enterprising man. doing much for the development of the fruit industry in this section. He not only raised fruit, but he operated the first dryer and was also an extensive manufacturer of vinegar. He came to San Francisco in 1853. Mr. Block's sales of fruit are extensive and he annually sends to the citv markets of the west and of the east many boxes of pears and plums. his products being considered among the best in the state. His orchard comprises one hundred and eighty-seven acres and he has eighty acres in the homestead place, while adjoining property is controlled by him in his fruit-raising industry.


HISTORY OF YUBA AND SUTTER COUNTIES page 903

JAMES EDMAN PLASKETT.-A retired rancher who, through untiring effort and energy, close study, and careful attention to vital interests has made a place for himself among the men worthy of mention in the making of the Golden State, is James Edman Plaskett, who was born either in Nova Scotia or New Brunswick, Canada. His father being engaged in shipping lumber, our subject has never known just where they were residing when he was born on May 13, 1838, in that country. His parents were Joseph and Lucretia (Wallace) Plaskett, natives of Carlisle. England, and Canada, respectively.

As stated above, Joseph Plaskett, the father was engaged in shipping lumber from Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Maine to England. In 1842 the family moved to Wayne County, Pa., where he continued in his lumber and farming business. Mrs. Plaskett was of Scotch descent. She passed away when her son James was a young lad. Joseph Plaskett came to California in 1855 via the Panama route, and was laid away to rest in the Golden State. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Plaskett were the parents of nine children: William, deceased, who was a major in the 144th Regiment of New York Volunteer Infantry and served in the army of the Potomac during the Civil War; Sarah; Jane; two other girls, who died in infancy; Peter; James Edman, the subject of this review; John; and Henry.

James Edman Plaskett attended the district schools in Pennsylvania and finished his education at Laurel Hill Seminary in Deposit, N. Y. However, he received the greater part of his knowledge from the school of experience. He is vitally interested in all progressive movements and is very well posted on all of the important topics of the day. In 1857 he started out for himself, and came to California via Panama, taking passage on the Moses Taylor from New York to Aspinwall and on the Golden Age from Panama to San Francisco, his destination being Forbestown. He came up the Sacramento River as far as Sacramento, where he stopped for a few days; and then he journeyed up the Feather River by boat to Marysville, where he landed. From there he came by stage via Oroville to Forbestown, and passed through Yuba and Butte Counties en route. He was so impressed by the wonderful country that after he had his fill of mining he determined to remain in California and locate in the Sacramento Valley. Mr. Plaskett mined from 1857 to 1864 in Empire Hill and other places in Plumas, Butte and Yuba Counties, also traveling over parts of Nevada and Arizona. When he returned to Sutter County, he preempted a quarter-section of government land five miles west of Yuba City, adding additional land from time to time until he acquired 800 acres. At first he raised whatever seemed the most profitable; but later he raised grain, and of recent years he has developed this land into a profitable orchard and vinyard.

James Edman Plaskett returned to New York and married Miss Emma Bortle on May 13. 1868, in Hancock, Delaware County. She was born in Greene County. N. Y., and reared in Delaware County, the same State, and was a daughter of Daniel and Rose Bortle. Mr. and Mrs. Plaskett became the parents of eight children: Isabelle, Mrs. W. W. Brawn, of San Francisco ; May. Mrs. Jess Flanery, of Yuba City ; James Wallace, residing at home ; Gertrude, Mrs. J. M Maynard, also on the home place ; Bertha, Mrs. C. P. Reische, of Meridian ; Sylvester L., William and Henry, all residing at home. They are the grandparents of twelve children. James Wallace was united in marriage with Miss Myra Elizabeth Poe on July 3, 1905, at Marysyille. She was born at Lakeport, Lake County, a daughter of Alonzo and Elizabeth Poe, and was reared from the time she was four years old at Lincoln, Placer County. Of recent years James Edman Plaskett has given portions of the home place to his children, but the land still remains in the family. A stanch Republican, Mr. Plaskett is a loyal supporter of the principles of that party.

James died at age 88 in Sutter County on Jul 31 1926. He was survived by his wife, Emma (BORTLE), and Isabelle, Mrs. W. W. BRAWN, San Francisco; May, Mrs. S. J. FLANERY (Jess), Yuba City; Bertha, Mrs. C. P. REICHE, Meridan; Gertrude, Mrs. J. M. MAYNARD, Sutter County; and James Wallace; Sylvester L.; William H. and Henry L. PLASKETT all of Sutter County.


H. E. PLASKETT in the History of Sutter County p122
Sylvester L. PLASKETT died in Yuba county at age 63 on Sep 12 1948. There is an obituary in the Sacramento Bee on 16 Sep 1948 page 12 col 6.

Some more snippets:
Francis M. PLASKETT married Lena B. FULLER Feb 3 1885 in San Jose and there is a write-up in the CALL Feb 10 1885 3-7.

Francis M. PLASKETT died age 79 in Alameda on Nov 11 1939.

Major Wm Pillsbury PLASKETT was a major in the 144th Regiment of New York Volunteer Infantry and served in the Army of the Potomoc during the Civil War.

He was born in 1824 in New Brunswick, CAN, his parents were Joseph and Lucretia (WALLACE) PLASKETT, natives of Carllisle, England and Canada.

His father was engaged in shipping lumber form Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Maine to England. In 1842 the family moved to Wayne Co. Penn. William was the eldest of nine children, Sarah, Jane, (the other girls died in infancy), Peter, James, Edman, John and Henry.

Lucretia PLESKETT passed away in PA in about 1854. In 1885 Joseph came to CA via the Panama Route to join his brother, Peter. Joseph's name appears in the Martin Knox business ledger at Brownsville as buying supplies.

James followed in 1857 and settled in Sutter County.

The Major followed in 1875 and settled in Forbestown where he built a saw mill. His wife was Jane Ann (ROSE). They have two children: Minnie and Peter Luther, both educated in PA. Minnie married Thomas G. HODGKINS, whose father was "Chips" HODGKINS, the famous Wells Fargo messenger from 1851 to 1892. They had a family of 5 children: William, Guy, Ira, Peter and Earl.

Peter Luther PLASKETT was twenty years in 1875 and may have come to CA before his father as he was an engineer for a steamship company that operated on the Pacific Coast.

Evidently Peter was visiting his father in Forbestown where he met Julia LAGUE who came to CA in 1880 with her family from S?tton, CAN. In January 1883, Julia took the stage from Forbestown to Oroville, a train to San Francisco, and a ship to Seattle, where she married Peter Luther PLASKETT on January 22, 1883. Peter and Julia had seven children.

The Major died in San Francisco when he was hit by a cable car. He is buried in the Presido.


History of the State of California and Bio records of Coast Counties CA p489

GEORGE E. DE GOLIA. As lawyer, politician and social leader, the Hon. George E. De Golia has held a position of prominence and importance in the city of Oakland for more than a quarter of a century, and is widely known and honored throughout the entire state. A native son of California, he was born at Placerville May 3, 1857, the son of Darwin De Golia, an early settler, and was reared throughout his boyhood in his native locality. Ambitious and enterprising he became a page in the assembly at the age of fourteen years, and with economy and thrift unusual in one so young he saved his earnings, with which he contemplated paying his way through college. At sixteen years of age he entered the state university, and upon his graduation four years later was fifth in a class of twenty-six members, standing first in the college of engineering, which course he took there as well as a literary course. In 1878 he became managing editor of the Oakland Daily Transcript, on which newspaper he remained about a year.

Upon the election of the Hon. Henry Vrooman in March, 1878, to the office of district attorney, Mr. De Golia entered his office as clerk and student and with unusual application was admitted to the bar in the following year. In 1879 he was chosen secretary of the senate judiciary committee, after which he practiced law until 1883. He was then appointed assistant district attorney of Alameda county, which position he held for six years. Later he formed a partnership with Mr. Vrooman which continued until the death of the latter, when he succeeded to an extensive practice.

From the time he cast his first ballot, Mr. De Golia has been interested in the political life of the community, continuing an active participant in public affairs up to 1894, and after the death of Mr. Vrooman was considered the Republican leader in Alameda county. He attended the National Convention a Chicago in 1888, being actively interested in national affairs as well as local. In the line of his profession he has been a member and secretary of the Oakland Bar Association since its organization, and is a charter member of the Athenian Club. Fraternally he is one of the most prominent men in the city, holding membership with Oakland Command-Cry, K. T., as well as the Scottish Rite branch of Masonry, and the Mystic Shrine. In 1890 he organized a lodge of Elks in Oakland, of which he served as exalted ruler for several years, also representing the order in the Grand Lodge in the east at several annual sessions. He is a leading member of Piedmont Parlor, Native Sons of the Golden West, and has been delegate to the Grand Lodge of that order since 1892.

The marriage of Mr. De Golia united him with Caroline Barroilhet Rabe, a daughter of Dr. Rabe, distinguished in the early history of California, and of this union were born two children, a son and daughter, namely: Ellis and Noelle. Prominent in Oakland society, Mr. De Golia has long been a leading member of the Oakland Golf Club, and is one of the directing members of the Claremont County Club, as well as taking an active interest in athletics, being especially skillful with the foils. As a successful lawyer he has the respect and esteem of both confreres and clients, both safely trusting their interests to the honor and integrity of the man who has proved himself in their midst. It is justly a matter of pride with him that no lawyer has ever asked him for a written stipulation. The work in which he is now engaged in includes both that of probate practice and the duties of a corporation attorney, holding the latter position for several of the important corporations of the city.

From NDGW

Darwin De GOLIA was born in Lake George Co. NY Mar 9, 1818 and came to CA before 1855. He married Lavinia WHEELER BALDWIN on September 26, 1855 in Pla cerville CA.

Children were:

1.George Ellis de GOLIA born about 1857; died at age 61 Alameda Jan 18 1919 Married Caroline B. RABBI (RABE); she died Alameda at age 57 8-19-1917 Children:

a.George E. Jr.

b.Noel (Mrs. Challen PARKER), New York

2.Abbie Laninia de GOLIA born Apr 15, 1859; died 1941 Married George Benjamin FLINT 1887 in Placerville CA

Children:

a.Arthur D. FLINT

b.Chester B. FLINT

c.Edna FLINT CONE

3.Darwin Curtis de GOLIA born Placerville about 1865; died age 70 Alameda 2-13-1935

Married Anna FOGERTY

Child: Jack de GOLIA

4.Edwin Baldwin de GOLIA born Placerville

Married Netty GATES

Children:

1.Harold Gates de GOLIA

2.Edwin B. de GOLIA Jr died age 37 San Francisco CA 1-10-1937

Married M. P.

3.Yvonne de GOLIA (Mrs. George Clayes STEVENS)

Material submitted by Mrs. Edna FLINT CONE, granddaughter living at 1435 Bonita Avenue, Berkeley, CA

(In 1870 census El Dorado pg 107 Plcvl


History of Santa Cruz County pg 354

H. E. MAKINNEY.

The subject of this sketch was born near the town of Eaton, in Preble County, Ohio, on the thirty-first day of July,1840. His father was a farmer, and a greater part of the son's early life was devoted to the same vocation. He attended the public schools in his neighborhood, and at the age of fourteen, when his father's family removed to Keo-kuk, Iowa, Mr. Makinney entered Ballinger's Academy of that place. At the age of seventeen he had qualified himself for the profession of teaching and began work in a country school near his father's farm.

On the 15th of April, 1862, Mr. Makinney was married to Miss Astoria G. Anderson, at the village of New Boston, near Keokuk. The happy couple immediately started on their wedding trip, which was to be quite unique as well as lengthy, toilsome, and dangerous. Their conveyance was a wagon and ox team, and their route lay across the plains, two thousand weary miles, to the State of California.

The year 1862 was fraught with dangers and hardships for emigrants, and many travelers were murdered by Indians or perished through sickness and privation while on their way to California. But fortune was more kind to the bride and groom on their wedding tour. In September, 1862, they arrived at their destination, Placerville, California.

Mr. Makinney immediately began to look for employment. His first work was hauling wood. The trip across the plains had used up the wagon, so he borrowed one from the man for whom he was working, and set out to earn his first California gold.

He worked at this until he earned $11 and thought he was getting along pretty well, when his team took a "gee" pull and broke the pole off the wagon. The owner thought that $11 would about pay for repairing the damages, so the account was squared and Mr. Makinney stopped hauling wood. His next undertaking was digging a cellar. He followed this laborious work until his hands were blistered and his back sore.

The county examinations for teachers was held about this time, so Mr. Makinney laid down his pick and shovel and took up the pen to win the credentials that would entitle him to employment more in keeping with his taste, qualifications, etc. He began in a country school near Placerville, and was soon after engaged in a town school, and in 1865 was elected principal of the Placerville High School. He was soon afterwards attacked by a severe fever and ague, which compelled him to resign his position. He was advised to try a change of climate, and, through the influence of an Episcopal clergyman, secured a position as principal of the Santa Cruz School. He came to Santa Cruz the last of December, 1866, and filled the puncipalship of the school with great satisfaction until December, 1873. In 1867 he was elected county school superintendent, and held the office until his election as county clerk, in 1873. From 1873 to 1885 he held the position of county, clerk, auditor, and recorder, when he retired from politics and engaged in his present business, abstract and conveyance, also dealing in real estate.

Mr. Makinney also served on the county board of education from 1880 to 1887, served three terms as deputy district attorney, and three terms as city clerk, and one term as city clerk, and one term as city school trustee. In 1884 he was admitted to the practice of law.

Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Makinney. The eldest, Kate V., is now the wife of Dr. K. D. Wise, of Los Angeles. His son, Fred, is his father's partner, and the younger daughter, Pearl, is also in her father's office.


History of Santa Cruz County pg 354 & 305

FRED W. MAKINNEY.

The young gentleman whose name appears above is the son of W. E. Makinney, and was born in Placerville, El Dorado County, on the fourteenth day of October, 1865. When he was about one year of age his father removed to Santa Cruz. Fred received his education in the Santa Cruz public schools and the State University of California.

After leaving school Fred joined his father in the searching and abstracting business in 1886, at which he still continues. His abilities and achievements certainly entitle him to the appellation of a successful young man. His portrait will be found in the group of young business men of Santa Cruz.


History of Butte County p844

EUGENE FORTUNE COUTOLENC.--In the town of Jauziers in the beautiful valley of the Ubaye in the department of Basses-Alps, surrounded by the magnificent scenery so common in the mountain region of the south of France, lived the honorable French family of Jean Antoine and Antoinette (Bellon) Coutolenc. To this worthy couple a son, Eugene Fortune was born. His grandfather, Antoine Coutolenc was a merchant and trader. He had made contracts to the amount of eighty thousand francs with Napoleon's troops when they were on their way to Italy, but lost it all when the French government failed to pay the obligation. Eugene's father was a butcher. He was married twice; of the first union there were two children one of whom Jean Coutolenc, came to California in 1851, became a butcher and died at St. Helena when he was eighty-two years of age. The second marriage resulted in the birth of eight children: two of them are in California and are the only survivors of the family; Auguste, of San Francisco, and Eugene F., of this review. The father died on March 19, 1871, after having lived a long and useful life.

The third in the family of eight children, Eugene F. Coutoleac, was born in 1854 and was reared in Jauziers, where he attended the public school. From when he was a small lad he worked around his father's butcher shop, and in time he became an adept at the trade. When he was nineteen, in 1873, he arrived in San Francisco, where his two older brothers were located, one in that city and the other across the bay, in Oakland. For one year he was employed in the packing-house of Barraty and Coutolenc. He then crossed the bay and went to work for the brother who had a market in Oakland. While he was working for his brother he spent his odd moments in the study of English, and his evenings in attending night school, thus soon learning to speak the language of his adopted county. Desiring to go into business for himself, he opened a wholesale and retail coffee house at 307 Clay San Francisco, continuing for six months. He then went over the bay to Sausalito and entered the employ of a Mr. Josse, who conducted a meat market there, but soon after he bought the business with Jean Barraty for a partner, the firm doing business under the name of Barraty and Coutolenc.

This establishment is still doing business and is being conducted by Edward, a son of the former proprietor and an ex-mayor of Sausalito. Mr.Coutolenc sold his interest after two years and returned to Oakland to work for his brother, Jean, in a shop known as the Willow Market, located at Third Jefferson Streets, continuing for two years.

Mr. Coutolenc was married in Sausalito on January, 19, 1879, to Miss Gabrielle Picard, who was born in Chinon, Department Indre-et-Loire, France, and came to San Francisco with her parents when she was a young woman. Some time after their marriage the young couple went to Butte County to visit Mrs. Coutolenc's parents, and upon their return to Oakland, Mr. Coutolenc bought out his brother and conducted the Willow Market alone for two years, then on account of ill health he sold out and went to St. Helena, where in partnership with his brother Jean he ran a shop for a like period.

Meanwhile his wife died and he became so ill that a physician advised him to take a sea voyage to the Sandwich Islands for a change. This he did, in 1884, and remained there five months. While in the islands he became acquainted with a young lady, and their acquaintance resulted in their marriage on February 7, 1885. This lady was Miss Amelie Rochet, born near Lausanne, Canton Vaud, Lake Geneva, Switzerland, a daughter of Jean David and (Lambelet) Rochet. They were farmers who spent their entire lives in their native canton, where their five children were born, three of whom now living: One brother, Louis, is in Switzerland; a sister, Adele, Mrs. P. Remond, lives in Berkeley; and Mrs. Coutolenc, the youngest. She re-ceived a good education and was traveling companion to an English woman, and had spent considerable time in London, going to the Sandwich Islands in 1881 with this family. There she met Mr. Coutolenc.

After their marriage, Mr. Coutolenc's health having become normal once more, he brought his bride back to California and they located in Butte County. He leased a store and ranch from Victor Poumarat, at the place now known as Coutolenc, and engaged in the general mercantile business and in raising hogs and packing pork for the markets. At the end of five years he prospered so well that he bought the various properties from Mr. Pou-marat and at once erected a new hotel, built a concrete reservoir, piped the water from a large spring to it, and from there to the hotel and cottages, which he had erected for his summer boarders and tenants. He ran the hotel, store, and the pork-packing business, and was very successful.

Mr. Poumarat had the post office then named Lovelock at his place and served as postmaster for several years, but after that did not want to bother with it, so got a Mr. Benner to take it, and it was moved to his place about a mile and a half north, still retaining the name of Lovelock.

Coutolenc first located on the place he was advised to try, to regain the post office. He waited two years, then secured enough signers to a petition and the office was moved to his place again, and he was appointed postmaster. This move created a disturbance in the neighborhood of Mr. Benner's place and as a result the office was moved back there. Our subject could see the necessity of having an office in his neighborhood for the convenience of the citizens and suggested that it be named Old Lovelock, but at this the postal authorities demurred and the petition was denied. He persisted in his efforts and at last an office was established at his place and named Coutolenc, in his honor, and he was appointed postmaster by Mr.Wanamaker and held the position for nineteen years, his good wife being his able assistant. In 1909, he sold out his store and other holdings to Clarence Musselman, and moved to Chico Vecino, where he bought a house at Fourth and Streets; he later bought a store on Esplanade and started a meat market which he ran for several years, when he sold the business.

Mr. and Mrs. Coutolenc have had five children; Adele, who died at the age of seven years; Leila, Mrs. P. L. Roberts, of Chico; Ida, a graduate of Chico High School and the State Normal, is teaching in Oakland;Valentine, a graduate of the Chico High School, and now a student at the Chico State Normal; and Eugene David, at home.

Mr. Coutolenc has always favored good schools and for years was a trustee of the Coutolenc district named in his honor. and he served as clerk of the board for some time. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. Coutolenc is interested in mining, owning a two-third's interest in a mining property with Mr. Poumarat as a partner. This is a free milling gold-ore quartz claim and promises to develop into a good investment. Mr. and Mrs. Coutolenc are highly respected Citizens of the county.


History of Northern CA.

J. W. AND W. B. RODDAN.--Among the enterprising and prosperous young farmers of Yuba County none are better known than these two gentleman. A history of the county would be incomplete without some mention of their ranch and its productions. They are the owners of 510 acres of rich bottom land, located two miles from Wheatland. The products of their farm are grain and hops, but it is to the latter that they are giving their principal attention. They annually produce immense quantities of hops, and their entire crop is contracted for before it is picked, or, indeed, before it is grown.

Messrs. Roddan are the sons of Hugh and Emeline (Browning) Roddan. The father was born in Scotland and is now a resident of San Francisco, and the mother, a native of Pennsylvania, died in Yuba County, California, in 1853. They came with their parents to California, in 1862, and landed in Nevada County. Two months later they came to Yuba County and settled where they now reside. Both are members of the I.0.0.F., Sutter Lodge, No.100.

J. W. was married at Wheatland, in 1883, to Miss Eva Plomteaux, a native of California. They have two children: Cecil W. and Guy H.

W. B. wedded Miss Flora Hezlip, in Wheatland, in 1876. She is a native of Minnesota. They are the parents of five children, viz.: Aldine P., Vivian E., Mattie 0., Flora 0. and Doland B.

Headline: The Wheatland Crime.

William B. RODDAN and his wife arrested by the Detectives.

Wheatland, September 15th.-- The community was thrown into a state of excitement this morning by the announcement of the arrest of William B. RODDAN and his wife, Flora, at whose residence the recent outrage on Ida DUNN and Cora HENSLEY was committed. The streets are filled with people, discussing the affair, and the terrible deed is brought up again to the minds of the community. Opinion differs as to the guilt or innocence of the arrested parties. The preliminary examination will be held tomorrow morning. Detectives Harrison, Gay and Waddell made the arrest.

I also found that Eva Lenore (PLOMTEAUX) RODDAN died in Roseville June 3 1947 at age 82. Her obit was in the Sacramento Bee on June 3 1947 (18-7).

RODDAN -- In Roseville, June 3, 1947, Eva Lenore RODDAN, wife of the late John W. RODDAN, loving mother of Cecil W. RODDAN of San Francisco, Guy H. RODDAN of Los Angeles, and Mrs. Erma Lenore ANDERSON of Roseville; a native of Lincoln, CA, aged 82 years. Friends are respectfully invited to attend the funeral from the home of Miller & Skeleton, 1015 Twentieth Street, Thursday at 3 p.m. Interment East Lawn.

One other item from the CADI: John Wesley RODDAN was the brother of William Browning RODDAN. He was a farmer in Wheatland on July 23 1896. Age was 40 and he was 6 feet tall, light complexion, had blue eyes, black hair and was from Iowa. William Browning RODDAN was 42, stood 5 10 1/2 and had light hair and blue eyes.


History of San Joaquin County p1414

MRS. MARTHA ALICE FREDERICK.

--For more than a half century Mrs. Martha Alice Frederick has been a resident of San Joaquin County and is honored throughout the county for her true worth. She was born at Rising Sun, Polk County, Iowa, on August 19, 1862. the youngest of a family of nine children born to Robert R. and Mary Jane (KING) Wilcox, both natives, of New York, born February 25, 1819, and January 10 l823 respectively. Her parents located in Pennsylvania on a homestead in 1828 where Robert R. Wilcox became identified prominently in the lumber and oi1 business and there amassed a large fortune. He was married at Oil Creek, Pa., to Miss Mary Jane King and nine children were born to them: Eleanor became the wife of James R. Curtiss and settled in western Kansas: she passed away at Summerfield, Kans. on April 17, 1922, aged eighty-one, and was survived by five children. James R., a veteran of the Civil War in which he was twice wounded, is a retired farmer and stockman residing with his family of three children at Beattie, Kans. Clarissa Angeline is the widow of Benjamin G. Frederick, who was born July 3, 1844, near Southern Whitney, Ind., and was reared on a farm. Early in 1870 he and his wife arrived in California and settled in Ripon, where he erected the first building and conducted a boarding house; later Mr. Frederick became a prominent orchardist. He was a veteran of the Civil War, having served in Company I, 18th Volunteer Infantry from Iowa. He was familiarly known as Uncle Benjamin in the vicinity of Ripon and was a prominent member of the Brethren Church; he passed away June 29, 1906. Mrs. Benjamin Frederick divides her time between Stockton and her old home at Ripon. John Gilbert is residing with his wife and six children in Council Bluffs. Iowa, where he is engaged in the hardware and implement business; W. R., an inventor and mining expert in Manhattan, Nev., died November 15. 1922: Sarah Jane is deceased; Henry F. is a building contractor in Salida, Colo.; Emory is deceased; Martha Alice is the subject of this sketch. Robert R. Wilcox, the father of our subject, settled in Ripon in 1882 and farmed for a few years near Taylor's Ferry; he passed away at Ripon, November 23, 1904, aged eighty-five years; his wife had passed away May 23,1863.

Martha Alice Wilcox accompanied her sister, Mrs. Clarissa Frederick, to California in 1870 and grew to young womanhood in Ripon. On August 14, 1881, she was married to Harrison Frederick, born in Indiana, September 20, 1845, a son of Duncan and Lucinda (Beatley) Frederick, natives of Ohio, the father a pioneer farmer of his native state of Ohio.

Harri-son Frederick accompanied his two brothers, John and Thomas, whose sketches also appear in this history, to California across the plains in 1862, bringing with them considerable stock; they settled on the Stanislaus River near the present site of Ripon where they engaged in farming and stock raising, and all three of the brothers became well known and influential citizens.

Mr. Frederick built a fine large residence on his ranch where the young married couple began their wedded life. Three children were born to them: Gilbert is married and has two children---Benjamin and Harrison; he is a rancher and merchant; Clara Lillian resides at home with her mother; Nellie B., is the wife of Clyde Wilcox and they have three children: Robert Wilcox and Martha; they reside at Melones, Cal. Mr. Frederick was a liberal contributor to all worthy movements; he gave the land to the county for the San Joaquin school and served as a trustee of that district for many years; fraternally he was a charter member of the Mt. Horeb Lodge, I.0.0.F. When he passed away November 11, 1913, the county lost one of its most worthy pioneers.

After her husband's death, Mrs. Frederick and her daughter, Clara Lillian, continued the management of the home place, which became one of the show places of the Ripon section. In 1919 the home place was sold for a large sum and in 1921 the family residence at 601 Tuxedo Park, Stockton, was built. Mrs. Frederick is past matron of the Rebekah Lodge at Ripon and she and her daughter are members of the Iowa Club of Northern California.


History of San Joaquin County page 559

MRS. SUSAN J. FREDERICK. -A prominent and highly esteemed California pioneer, Mrs. Susan J. Frederick has been a resident of San Joaquin County for nearly her entire lifetime, having witnessed as much of its development and growth as probably any other living resident, and the large success gained by herself and husband, the late Thomas Frederick, was entirely earned by steady industry and business management. She was born near Memphis, Scotland County, Mo., September 24, 1855; a daughter of William H. and Barbara E. (Dye) Crow, both now deceased. William H. Crow, familiarly known throughout his locality as "Uncle Billy," was born in 1819 in Kentucky, but was reared in Pike County, Mo; whither his parents had removed in the early '30s. He was next to the oldest in a family of eight boys and one girl. On February 2, 1843, William H. Crow was married to Miss Barbara E. Dye, born in 1828 in Morgan County, Ohio, a daughter of John and Nancy (Archer) Dye, farmer folk who settled in Missouri when their daughter, Barbara E., was a small girl. After his marriage, William H. Crow continued to reside in Scotland County, Mo., where he became a successful stockman, remaining there until 1850.

News of the gold discovery in California having reached Missouri William H. Crow's father, 'Capt.' Walter Crow, lost no time in organizing a com-pany, among which were his two youngest sons, and of which he was made captain. They brought a large number of cattle with them. The two sons remained in California, but Walter Crow returned to his home in Missouri via the Isthmus; the next year, 1850, he came out again, and brought four more of his sons with him, one of whom was William H. Crow, the father of the subject of this review. The journey was completed successfully; the party stopping at Shaw's Flat, Tuolumne County, where they disposed of their stock at fancy prices to the miners. Capt. Walter Crow died in Sutter County in 1850, but William H. Crow opened a butcher business at Shaw's Flat, which he conducted until 1855. He made three trips in all across the plains. His second trip was in 1852 when he brought his wife and one child with him. Of their four children the oldest was Walter J. Crow, who was born in Missouri and was the only child who accompanied the parents on their trip out from Missouri in 1852; the second, Emma J., is the widow of the late Judge Prewett and resides at Auburn. Placer County, Cal.; the third was Susan J., the subject of this review, who was born while the parents were back in Missouri; and the fourth, Lewis B., was born after the parents returned to California, and is a prosperous rancher near Sanger, Fresno County, Cal. The oldest son became a rancher near Hanford, where he died. Returning again with his familiar to California in 1857, and crossing the plains for the third time, William H. Crow finally settled permanently on the Stanislaus River, near Ripon, twenty miles south of Stockton, where he took up land, to which he added from time to time, until he became an extensive land owner. Transportation was made in those days overland and by riverboats. One boat, the Clara Crow, plied the San Joaquin and Stanislaus rivers to San Francisco and Stockton for many years. The boat (for a single trip) reached what is now known as Riverbank, but at that time was known as Burneyville.

Of William H. Crow's brothers and sisters, there were eight brothers and one sister in all. The two brothers and one sister remaining back in Missouri moved out to California in 1865 with their families. Six of the Crow brothers settled in Stanislaus County and one, James A. Crow, settled in Stockton, where he passed away. In 1865 the mother of our subject passed away at the River Ranch and subsequently William H. Crow married Mrs. (Virda) Trolinger, a sister of John Jones of Escalon. William H. Crow was a Democrat in politics and for many years was an active Mason in the Modesto lodge. He passed away at the River ranch. July 29, 1884, his widow surviving him until 1906. The extensive land holdings of William H. Crow (900 acres in all) have been sold in small ranches and the section is now under a high state of cultivation. Lewis B. Crow and our subject, and Emma J. the widow of Judge Prewett of Auburn, Cal., are the only surviving members of the William H. Crow family. Judge Prewett was the administrator of the large Crow estate. For thirty-two years he had served as superior judge of Placer County and when he passed away on July 7, 1922, he was justly mourned by a large circle of friends and the public in general, whom he had served so long and so faithfully. He was survived by his widow and two children, William J. and Nellie E.

On September 1, 1872, Miss Susan J. Crow was married to Thomas Frederick, born January 27, 1849, near South Bend. Ind., and was a babe in arms when his parents removed to Iowa. He was a boy thirteen years old when he came to California as a member of his stepfather's family. After his father's death his mother was married to Elias Nutt, who became a prominent grain farmer in the Ripon section of San Joaquin County. Thomas Frederick received his education in the old San Joaquin school and in young manhood acquired 160 acres in the Jackson district of Stanislaus County: later he exchanged this with William H. Crow, the father of our subject, for a fine quarter section two miles west of Ripon. At that time only one house had been erected between this quarter section and the town of Ripon and in those pioneer days the mail was brought from the station known as Morrano, two miles north of Ripon. A store was erected at Ripon in 1875 and conducted by a Mr. Crook, who gave the village its name after his hometown in Wisconsin. The first house erected by Mr. Frederick on his ranch was a small cottage, then in 1875 was replaced by a much finer residence and in 1886 remodeled into a fine house, where the family resided until 1904. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Frederick: Genoa resides in Ripon; Charles is represented in this work; Hattie resides at home in Ripon; and Lulu, now Mrs. H. L. Dickey, has two children. Mr. Frederick was active in the development of Ripon; he organized the Ripon Lumber Company; was one of the organizers and a di-rector in the Bank of Ripon and was active in the development or irrigation in this section. In politics he was a Democrat and fraternally was a charter member of the Mt. Horeb lodge of Odd Fellows. In 1904 the family removed to Stockton and located at 324 West Park Street, where he passed away sud-denly July 4, 1920. Mrs. Frederick later returned to Ripon, where she built a home on Orange Avenue. She retains her interest in the Bank of Ripon and is all active member of the First Congregational Church, to which she contributes liberally of her time and means. Mrs. Frederick is held in high esteem, and the kindly social qualities with which she is endowed wins for her the friendship and good will of all.


History of San Joaquin County page 947

JOHN W. FREDERICK.-A native son and life-long resident of San Joaquin County, who is also a prosperous and enterprising agriculturist is John W. Frederick, residing on his 160-acre ranch three miles west of Ripon, which he farms to wheat and barley. He was born on the place where he now resides, November 4, 1871, a son of John and Nancy (Underwood) Frederick. John Frederick was born in Indiana and later was taken to Iowa by his parents, where the family lived until 1860 when they crossed the plains with an emigrant train to California. The Frederick family located rear Stockton, on the Peter Clapp ranch, where they remained for one year; later they removed to the salt grass land and range country three miles west of Ripon. At that time the land was thought to be worthless for farming. John Frederick had married in Iowa Miss Nancy Underwood, a daughter of Philip Underwood, born in Iowa, and the Underwoods accompanied the Fredericks to California in 1860. Seven children were born to this pioneer couple: Mary Ellen resides at home; Flora, Mrs. Frank Stephenson, has two daughters and one son, and are ranchers on the homestead near Ripon; Mrs. Birdina Curtis resides in Ripon; Ida, Mrs. H. A. Buchanan, resides at Folsom, and has four sons; Eliza, Mrs. John Garrison, resides in Ripon and has four daughters and four sons; John W., the subject of this sketch, and James W., resides with his wife in Modesto, where he is engaged in the real estate business and ranching.

John Frederick homesteaded 160 acres and purchased 160 acres, making 320 acres, which he farmed to grain; he also raised considerable stock on his ranch. He bought ten acres of timberland near Taylor's Ferry on the Stanislaus River, which is now owned by our subject, John Frederick, served as a school trustee of San Joaquin school district until he passed away in 1885. The mother and sons managed the ranch until 1896, when our subject took full charge of it and leased other lands on which he raised large quantities of wheat and barley, besides having considerable stock. In 1900 the original house built by his father more than a half century ago, was replaced by a more commodious residence, which stood for seventeen years and then was destroyed by fire; three years later Mr. Frederick built his modern residence where he and his family now reside. The mother passed away In Ripon in 1916, and John W. became administrator of the estate.

In 1920 John W. Frederick was married to Miss Kathryn Nutt, a daughter and third child of thirteen children born to Henry D. and Sarah M (Hull) Nutt, natives of Indiana and Iowa, respectively. Mr. Frederick purchased the interests of all his brothers and sisters and owns the original 160 acres, as well as the ten acres of timber land on the Stanislaus River, which his father purchased so many years ago for the permanent home of the Frederick family.

The irrigation activities of San Joaquin County has always found an ardent supporter in Mr. Frederick and his influence for the advancement of his particular locality has been given enthusiastically.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 391

ALFRED L. COWELL.-Prominent among the representatives of the bar in California is Alfred L. Cowell, the attorney-at-law and irrigation expert of Stockton, who was born at Woodland. Yolo County, Cal., on March 17, 1870, the son of Alfred H. and Emeline (Hubbard) Cowell, both natives of Ohio. Mr. Cowell crossed the great plains in 1858, riding a mule, while Mrs. Cowell came out to California, when only ten years old by way of the Isthmus, so that they were married in the Golden State. In 1885, Mr. Cowell removed from Woodland and located at Woodbridge in San Joaquin County, where he kept a general store.

Alfred Cowell attended the San Joaquin Valley College at Woodbridge, from which he was graduated in 1892, when he went East and became a student at Union Biblical Seminary, Dayton, Ohio, after which he returned to Woodbridge and became president of the San Joaquin Valley College, which responsible office he held from 1895 through 1897.

For the next year he was principal of the Lodi high school, and from 1898 to 1899 he was principal of the Siskiyou County high school at Yreka. In July, 1899, he became reporter for the Mail newspaper at Stockton, and later, until 1911, he was editor of that influential journal, and then, going to Modesto, he bought an interest in the Modesto News. While there, he became particularly interested in irrigation, and he was appointed secretary of the California Irrigation Districts Association, and since then he has been active in behalf of irrigation projects in the San Joaquin Valley. During the session of the California Legislature in 1913, he represented the association at Sacramento in securing important amendments to the irrigation district laws of the state.

From 1914 to 1916, Mr Cowell was assistant director of congresses at the Panama-Pacific Exposition held in San Francisco in 1915 working under Director J. A. Barr, of Stockton; and he also taught in the Stockton high school for a year. Then he studied law and in 1918 was admitted to the bar. Since then, making irrigation matters a specialty, he has taken part in the organization of some of the largest irrigation districts in the San Joaquin Valley and devotes nearly all his time to district affairs.

When Mr. Cowell married at Woodbridge, in 1896, he chose for his life-companion, Miss Alice Gingrich, a native of Pennsylvania. He is a member of Charity Lodge No.6, I. 0. 0. F., at Stockton.


The History of San Joaquin County, CA p504

JOSHUA COWELL.-It is generally known that Joshua Cowell originally owned nearly all the land on which the thriving town of Manteca now stands, and the appellation "Father of Manteca" is well applied. He was also the first mayor of Manteca after its incorporation in May, 1918. In 1910 Mr. Cowell was harvesting grain from the land where now stands the modern city of Manteca with her 1,200 inhabitants. He has been most active in the upbuilding of this city having erected a number of Class A buildings in the business district. He is now interested in general farming and is one of the leading advocates of irrigation, having proved in his own farm operations the value of this method in enhancing the productiveness of the land. So widely and favorably is Mr. Cowell known that his record cannot fail to prove of interest to our readers.

A native of Tioga County, N. Y., he was born on January 2,1842, and is a son of Henry and Elida (McMaster) Cowell, also natives of the Empire State. The paternal grandfather, Joshua Cowell, was a sol-dier in the War of 1812. About 1845 the father. Henry Cowell, removed with his family from New York to Grant County, Wis., and there he lost his wife nine years later. Joshua Cowell was reared in Grant County, where he made his home until 1861, when at the age of nineteen years he came to the West, making the journey across the great plains with a train of emigrants. He drove an ox team all the way, reaching his destination after four months of travel. He left the train, however, at the Carson River in Nevada and remained for a time in that state. Subsequently he continued his journey to California, where he arrived in January, 1863, crossing the Sierra Nevada Mountains on foot and coming direct to San Joaquin County. He then took up his abode at the place where he now resides and it has been his home continuously since. He had two brothers. Henry W. and Winston Cowell, who also located with him on the ranch and for some time they conducted farming operations there.

On November 25, 1868, Joshua Cowell was united in marriage with Miss Vienetta Rachael Graves, born in Grant County, Wis., and who came across the plains in 1864. They became the parents of six children; Elida A. married James Salmon and died leaving one daughter; Mary E. became the wife of Charles L. Salmon and they have two children; Clara C. is Mrs. Clifford Wiggins and the mother of three living children; Otis M., the only son, is the father of one child. Two children died in early childhood. Some time after the death of the wife and mother, Mr. Cowell was married a second time, in September, 1884, when Miss Emily F. Sanders became his wife. She was born in New York state in 1849 and came to California in 1876 By this marriage there is one daughter, Hattie V., now the wife of Maxie Mewborn, and they have three children There are five great-grandchildren in the Cowell family circle. In 1864 Joshua Cowell's father came to California, accompanied by F. Marion Cowell and Phoebe Cowell and he died in San Joaquin County aged sixty-six years.

After his marriage Mr. Cowell took his bride to his farm where he has since resided and has become one of the best known and most progressive citizens of his locality. He has always been a strong advocate of irrigation and with many others of the early settlers had the vision of water on those thousands of fertile, sandy and thirsty acres, so they dug a canal from above Knights Ferry, a distance of forty-five miles, taking water out of the Stanislaus River and they brought it down into the hot valley. They were laughed at for their dreams. The attitude towards the project was unfavorable, and the dream was unrealized and many of the promoters lost fortunes in the early throes of the irrigation movement. A trace of the old canal may still be seen. Then came Charles Tulloch and his interests, with more water, taking over the defunct concern's water system. and finally the formation of the South Side Irrigation district. For a number of years Mr. Cowell was engaged as a contractor in the building of irrigation ditches and levees mainly in San Joaquin County. His ranch is devoted to general agricultural pursuits and stock-raising, and both branches of his business have proved profitable. He has also been extensively engaged in the dairy business, and for five or more years served as president of the Cowell Station Creamery, being the first incumbent in that position. What ever he undertakes he carries forward to successful completion, and while his labors have brought him prosperity they have also been of a character that has promoted the general good. In his political allegiance Mr. CowelI is a Republican, but while he renders unfaltering support to the party he has never sought or desired public office for himself, preferring to give his attention to his business interests. He was, however, a candidate for the office of supervisor in the '80s. He belongs to the Brethren Church and never withholds his support and cooperation from any movements that he feels will contribute to the general good. His business career exemplifies the force of industry and energy in the utilization of opportunity. He certainly deserves much credit for what he has accomplished, and though he started out in life empty-handed he attained a high degree of success.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 1583

ELBERT ALLEN COVELL.-Prominent among the well-to-do citizens of Woodbridge is Elbert Allen Covell, a native of San Leandro, Alameda County, where he was born on February 5. 1874. His father. Allen T. Covell came to California in 1856 from New York state; he was a carpenter by trade, but like thousands of others a that time, he joined the rush to the mines. He did not follow mining long, however, but turned to civil engineering, and in 1876 removed to Fresno County where he helped to lay out and establish the Washington Irrigated Colony. In 1888, he came to Woodbridge, where he acquired land, which in time he set out as a vineyard.

Allen T. Covell lived to be eighty-two years old; his devoted wife, who was Mary Elizabeth Sherwin before her marriage, reached her sixtieth year. They had four children, three boys and a girl.

Elbert Allen Covell attended the Woodbridge common school, and afterwards was a student at the San Joaquin Valley College. When he was old enough to do so, he took up farm work, taking charge of a portion of the vineyard which his father had set out; while his brother, George F., also took over a part of the vineyard ranch. The whole property consisted of 160 acres. Today Mr. Covell owns thirty choice acres set out to Tokay grapes, west of the town, and this trim little farm is well irrigated. He and his brother together, own a ranch of 270 acres in Stanislaus County, between Salida and Modesto mostly set out to vineyard.

At Stockton, on August 3, 1904, Mr. Covell was married to Miss Florence McMurtry, the daughter of Lewis C. McMurtry. She was born in Gold Hill. Nev. Her father, a well-known hotel man, came to Woodbridge when she was a little girl, and here she was reared and educated. Mr. Covell was made a Mason in Woodbridge Lodge No. 131, F. & A. M., of which he is a past master. He is a member of Stockton Charter No.28. R. A. M.; Stockton Commandery No. K. T.: and Islam Temple. A.A.0.N.M S., San Francisco; and with his wife he is a member of Woodbridge Chapter No. 118, 0. E. S., of which he is a past patron and Mrs. Covell is a past matron. In 1922 Mr. and Mrs. Covell made a four-mouth trip to Europe visiting England, Scotland and the Continent.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 920

ADELBERT M. COWELL.-A resident of Stockton since 1886, Adelbert M. Cowell is so well informed on local conditions and affairs that he is among the most sanguine in his hopefulness for the future of Central California, and especially of Stockton and the San Joaquin Valley. He was born in Auburn, N. Y., on June 29, 1844. He is a son of Myron and Melvina (Sanders) Cowell, natives of New York, where the father was a grain merchant and stock buyer.

Addbert M. is second oldest of their six children. His opportunities for schooling were extremely meager and while still a young lad he learned the stone and brickmason and plasterer's trade; he then removed to Washington, D. C., where an older brother, Albert, resided, who was a brick contractor and our subject worked with his brother on the construction of buildings after the chose of the Civil War, during the administration of President Grant. Then going south to Richmond. Va., he found employment with the Richmond & Alleghany Railroad on construction work at Lynchburg, Va., and also on similar work for the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad in West Virginia; he also did work for the U S. Government at Memphis, Tenn. He then returned to his native city of Auburn, N.Y., and remained there for one year, when he went to Wichita, Kans., and engaged in contract brick work. During the year of 1885 he arrived in California and located in San Diego, where he did contract construction work for the San Diego Flume Company.

The following year, in 1886, he arrived in Stockton, where he has since made his home. Among the more notable buildings on which he did the brick work, are the H. C. Shaw Company building; the Central Methodist Church; the John Jury building on Weber Avenue; the brickwork on all the principal buildings on Main, Market, Center. Weber Avenue and other business streets; he also constructed a number of ovens for bakeries throughout the city. His construction work has not been confined to Stockton alone, but has extended to other counties; he erected two school houses in Fresno; a schoolhouse and business block in Porterville; a paper mill and twenty houses and one hotel in Floriston, above Truckee in the high Sierras; has built furnaces and set boilers in mining towns through northern California and was in charge of the construction work of the dam and reclamation project at Six Mile bar near Knights Ferry. Mr. Cowell erected two modern residences of his own on North Stanislaus Street, in one of which he makes his home.

The marriage of Mr. Cowell united him with Miss Sarah Hollingsworth, a native of England, and they are the parents of ten children, nine of whom are living. An unusual condition exists in his family, a death not having occurred for fifty-two years. Their children are as follows: a daughter, Frances, died in infancy; Arthur W. is a brick contractor in Stockton; Ernest; J. Eugene and Myron are bricklayers; George is an actor; Esther is the wife of E. W. Butters of Stockton; Anna is at home; Mrs. Eva Peek resides on a ranch near Stockton; Mrs. Maude Weber resides in San Francisco. Mr. Cowell is now living retired from active business cares. He and his family are members of the Central Methodist Church and for many years Mr. Cowell served as trustee. He joined the Methodist Church at Auburn. N. Y., in 1860, and has been a member ever since; he has always taken an active part in its benevolences and has served as classleader, while Mrs. Cowell has been a member since ten years of age, and has been active in the work of the church also as classleader, and in foreign and home mission work. She was the first woman to speak to the prisoners at the San Joaquin County jail, caring for and looking after the families of the men in jail. visiting the homes of the destitute and buying food and clothes for the needy. Mr. and Mrs. Cowell are lightly esteemed in the community.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 740

F. M. COWELL.-A prominent citizen of San Joaquin County who believes that the future of Manteca is well assured is F. M. Cowell, the vice-president of the Manteca Packing Corporation, a far-seeing patriot who was one of the prime factors in the founding of the town. He was born in Grant County, Wis., on January 27, 1847, and spent his boy-hood in that state, where he received a common school education helpful when he came to strike out for himself.

He was preceded to the Coast by two brothers, Joshua and H. W., who had crossed the great plains in 1860 and stopped in Nevada one year, then H. W. came to California in 1861 and located at Lathrop and French Camp. Our subject came out to California in 1864, by way of the Isthmus of Panama, arriving in Stockton in August of that year. After a while he came to San Joaquin City, as it was then called, and there he entered the employ of a rancher; and he finally acquired a ranch and there went in for the raising of grain. In 1868, he homesteaded 160 acres, and for twenty-eight years he was active as a grain-farmer on the West Side.

Dry year after dry year, however, caused him to look about for a new location with the consequence that he moved to Manteca, where his brother, already referred to, had lands needing irrigation. In 1872 he married Ada E. Graves, a native of Wisconsin, who had crossed the plains to California in 1864. She passed away in 1880, mourned by a wide circle of devoted friends. Mr. Cowell's second marriage united him with Miss Sadie Talley, who accompanied her parents to California in 1863, by way of the Isthmus of Panama. Her mother, now eighty-two years old, resides at Manteca. Four children have come to call Mr. and Mrs. Cowell blessed. Mrs. Edna E. Larsen, a resident of Stockton, is the mother of two children; B. F. Cowell has a wife and one child, and they live in Oakland; Lester M. Cowell resides near Ripon, with his wife and child; and Mrs. Myrtle Edwards, also a resident of Stockton, has one child.

In 1895, our subject removed to Manteca from the West Side, where he had served as a trustee of the Rising Sun school for ten years, and he acquired the land of H. W. Cowell, one mile to the east of Manteca, which was again sold, in 1917, to the Spreckels Sugar Company, and since conducted as the site of the Spreckels' farm and factory. There Mr. Cowell set aside 150 acres, and planted the first vineyard in that section. For several years he was chosen chairman of the farmers' mass meetings on irrigation and he did a great work in organizing the district. He was also one of the prime factors in gaining for this locality a branch of the Stockton Creamery at Manteca, in 1896. He helped establish the first skimming station at Manteca, putting it on a standard commercial basis and which has since developed into the creamery. Besides giving valuable aid to the fore-going and other enterprises, Mr. Cowell was instrumental in organizing the Pioneer Bank of Manteca and with three associates, in 1915, he organized the Manteca Cannery, interest in which he sold, after four years of success. Then he reorganized the company, and created a larger manufactory called the Manteca Packing Company, of which he is now the vice-president. He was also the prime factor in the organization of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Association, which protects the rancher at cost. The policies written by this company now total over $6,000,000.

He was city trustee of Manteca from May, 1918, to January, 1921, and during that time much public improvement was undertaken and carried out successfully. He has always supported good roads, better schools and more churches, and having always been active iii public affairs, he feels justly proud of what the city has accomplished within a few years. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and is a past chancellor commander of that order.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 1624

JOHN A. CHAPDELAIN.-For almost a quarter of a century John A. Chapdelain has been a resident of San Joaquin County, where he is a representative of the highest ideals of citizenship and progressive enterprise. He was born at Faribault, Minn., April 7, 1888, a son of Alexander and Antoinette (Shavie) Chapdehain, both natives of the same state. The paternal grandparents were natives of Canada and Belgium, respectively, and were pioneers of Minnesota settling among the Indians in a very early daya. There were ten children in the fatherís family; Lucile, Mrs. Reese Thompson; Emma Grace. Mrs. A. R. Siegfried of Lodi; Louis, Mrs. Bailey; John A. of this review; James, residing at home; Olive, deceased; Joseph, deceased; and three children who died in infancy. In 1898 the father came to California and settled on his present home place. his first purchase being eighty acres, twenty-six of which were in vineyard and the balance unimproved land. From time to time he has added to his holdings, until he now owns 570 acres of hand, devoted to vineyard, hay and grain.

John A. Chapdelain began his education in the Woodbridge grammar school, then entered the Lodi high school, where he remained for two years, and then for the next three years attended St. Maryís College at Oakland. From early boyhood he had helped on his father's ranch. For a number of years he has been farming independently, and now owns 290 acres of land, 140 acres of which is in orchard and vineyard. Raising fruit extensively, he markets it independently. One hundred thirty acres of his ranch is under the Stockton-Mokelumne ditch, a balance of the land is irrigated from three seven inch pumps, driven by twenty-five horsepower motor. Mr. Chapdelain has improved his place with a good residence located on the highway just across from his father's home

On November 16, 1916, in Stockton, Mr. Chapdelain was married to Miss Josephine Ethel Thompson a daughter of James Henry and Lavissa (Smith) Thompson, natives of Virginia, who came to California in 1876. Mrs. Chapdelain was born at Clay Sacramento County, Cal., and received her education in that locality.


History of San Joaquin County CA page 1069

ARTHUR W. COWELL.-The advancement of San Joaquin County and the upbuilding of the city of Stockton have a progressive promoter in the person of Arthur W. Cowell, the energetic brick and concrete contractor, who has a record of erecting one business block each month for a year. He was born near Richmond, Va., on August 16, 1870. His father, Adelbert M. Crowell, was born in Auburn, N.Y., in 1834, and learned the stone and brick mason's trade; and upon his removal to Washington, D. C., he engaged in the contracting business. Later he did construction work for several railroads in the East. In 1886 he arrived in California and located at San Diego where he worked for the San Diego Flume Company. The following year he located in Stockton, and here he has been actively engaged in construction work of various kinds. He married Miss Sarah Hollingsworth and they are the parents of ten children, nine of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Cowell reside in one of the residences he erected on North Stanislaus Street.

Arthur W. Cowell, the oldest of his parents' living children, came to California with the family when sixteen years of age and took up the trade of brick mason with his father; and within four years he was able to start in business for himself.

Following is a partial list of the buildings he has erected since 1900: the main high school building the San Joaquin Valley Bank (now the Bank of Italy) on Hunter Street, the Elks building the Y M C.A. building, the Stockton Sayings & Loan Bank, the Wilhoit building, the Lincoln Hotel, the Clark Hotel, the Henry Apartments, the Home Apartments, and Hotel Philson. He also remodeled the Commercial Hotel and built the Smith & Lang building on South San Joaquin street, the Salvation Army Hotel, and the Oullahan & Littlehale block of Weber Avenue. Then there are the Belding block, Hotel Marion, the Sanguinetti block on Market Street, the Solari block, Steed Brothers' garage, the Flannigan block, the Turner block, the Russell block on California Street, the Stockton Ice & Fuel building, the Russell building and the Gnekow block.

He erected the entire block of brick buildings on the south side of Main Street between Stanislaus and American Avenue which includes the five-story Bronx Hotel, and also the Crane block of buildings on south San Joaquin Street, which includes the Hotel Dale; as well as the Presbyterian Church at the corner of El Dorado & Vine, and the new five-story Levy Building at the corner of Main and Hunter. His building operations extend throughout the entire county, and he has erected many substantial and imposing buildings outside of his home city among them being the Lodi National Bank and the Farmers & Merchants Bank building at Lodi.

The marriage of Mr. Cowell united him with Miss Margaret Willis, a native of England and they are the parents of three children: Margaret, William A., and Arthur W. Jr.

During the late war, William A. Cowell served as sergeant of Company L. 363rd Infantry at Camp Lewis, and later was commissioned lieutenant; however, he was not sent overseas. Fraternally, Mr. Cowell is a member of Lodge No. 218 B. P.O. E., and Charity Lodge No.6. I.0.0.F.


Levi SMITH in History of Northen CA page 461

LEVI SMITH, a successful farmer of Butte County, has been a resident of California since that memorable year of her history, 1849 His parents were natives of Virginia, but passed their last days in Illinois, in which State they had removed at an early day; the mother died in 1846, and the father in 1852. Levi was born in Virginia in 1830, but received his education in the common schools of Illinois In 1848 he was caught in the tide of western emigration, making the trip across the plains to the Pacific coast; he met with some losses en route, a few cattle and horses dying, but he kept up his courage and pushed on to the end. It was the 22d of September 1848 that he landed in Oregon, and the following year he came to California. He at once engaged in mining, as did all the emigrants of that year. The place named Smith Bar was called so in honor of our subject, and the place known as Oregon Gulch was named for the party of which he was a member. Mr. Smith located on his present place in Butte County in 1886, where he owns seven acres of fine land.

He was married to Miss Zumwalt, who was born in Missouri in 1836, and emigrated to California in 1849; this union occurred in 1852, and has resulted in the birth of five children: Albert, George, deceased, Charles E., N. B., and Hattie, deceased.

Charles E. Smith is an artist of unusual talent, and has produced some pictures of decided merit.


History of the State of CA and biographical record of Coast Counties. page 1161

Frederick B. MERITHEW died age 69 in Inyo County (8-7-1927) spouse D Norma MERITHEW died age 69 Santa Clara (Jan 23 1917) spouse S M Sarah A. MERITHEW died age 81 Santa Clara (Aug 15 1927)

CAPT. JOSEPH C. MERITHEW. Santa Clara County is rich in her toilers of the sea who have exchanged their stormy life before the mast for places of trust and responsibility inland, dignifying their respective occupations with that confidence and personal courage characteristic of the seasoned and successful mariner. To this class belongs Capt. Joseph C. Merithew, who in 1850 came around the Horn on the Arno, a schooner of less than one hundred tons, and for three years ran her as a packet from San Francisco to Sacramento, profiting largely by this opportunity to transport provisions and general necessities to the gold seekers. Later he spent a year in cruising in the open off San Francisco, and gradually became interested in such promising enterprises as lumbering and grain buying in Maine Prairie, Solano County. Twenty years of his life was spent in this thriving commercial center. In the meantime he had purchased a home of elegance and comfort in Oakland, and resided there, but desiring to spend the remainder of his life in the country he ex-changed the same for a farm of fifty acres near the town of Cupertino. Here he was surrounded by every advantage known to the progressive and intelligent rural dweller, and made many fine improvements, there being no buildings on the place when he took possession. Here he died April 22, 1904.

Born in Searsport, Waldo County, Me., December 6, 1822. Captain Merithew came of seafaring stock, and from his youth was accustomed to note the arrival and departure amid building of ships. His father, Jeremiah, also a native of Searsport mounted each round of nautical success until he became commander of a ship, a position maintained with success amid few accidents until his forty-fifth year. He then turned his attention to the building of watercraft for other captains to command, and at the same time became owner amid manager of a large gamier merchandise store at Searsport. His business grew apace, and wealth and influence came his way, so that at the time of his death at the age of seventy, he might well view with satisfaction his life of earnest and practical endeavor.

He was faithful to the memory of a beloved wife who died at the early age of thirty, and who was formerly Jane Olney, a native daughter of his own hometown. His family consisted of two sons and two daughters, all deceased. His enthusiasm for the sea was naturally communicated to his sons, and his eldest born naturally followed in his footsteps when it came to choosing a life vocation. The son underwent the same preliminary training before the mast, the same dangerous and disagreeable tasks whose successful assumption means sure and steady promotion.

At the end of four years he was made a mate, and still later captain of the "Traveler," after relinquishing which hue purchased and manned the schooner with which he made his first western money. Captain Merithew married Sarah A. Black, born in Sandy Point, Me., and who died in California in 1901. Charles, the eldest son of this union, is a resident of San Francisco. Sarah, who married Capt. Norman Dunbar lives on her father's ranch, and Joseph and Fred are deceased. The captain voted the Republican ticket ever since the organization of the party, but never departed from his determination not to accept office. He was an honored member of the Pioneer Club of Santa Clara County, and counted the friends he has made during his fifty-four years' residence in the west by the score.


History of Fresno County Vol 2 p2142

REUBEN H. BRAMLET and EUPHEMIA E. BRAMLET.-One of the most prominent and honored club women of Fresno County, and ex-chairman of the History and Landmarks Department of the San Joaquin Valley District of the California Woman's Federation of Clubs, Mrs. R. H. Bramlet, is a pioneer of Fresno County. R. H. Bramlet is a pioneer citizen, pioneer educator in the county and a popular ex-county officer who has done his part to help build up the county.

Mr. Bramlet is a worthy representative of the distinguished Bramlet family of England, early settlers at Jamestown Va., in Colonial Days. He was born near Raleigh, Saline County, Ill., February 7, 1842. His great-grandfather was born in England and after settling in America became a planter. He had three sons in the Revolutionary War. One of these was Reuben Bramlet, the grandfather of R. H. Bramlet of Fresno County, who was also in the war of 1812, and took part in the Battle of New Orleans. After the close of the Revolution Reuben went to Charleston. S. C., and later removed to Princeton Caldwell County, Ky., where his son. Coleman Brown Bramlet, the father of R H Bramlet of Fresno County was born. Coleman B. Bramlet followed agricultural pursuits and in 1818 removed with the other members of the family to Saline County. Ill., where, in 1823, he was united in marriage with Miss Susan Upchurch, a young woman of Scotch extraction whose grandfather fought in the Revolutionary War, also in the War of 1812 and served with distinction under General Jackson at the Battle of New Orleans. Of this union ten children were born, of whom the eighth child, R. H. Bramlet, is the oldest one living. Coleman Bramlet lived to the advanced age of eighty-seven; the mother passed away at the age of eighty-five.

R. H. Bramlet grew up on his father's farm in the "Egypt" of Illinois where he remained until he had reached his twenty-fifth year. On May 3, 1867 he left Illinois and started for California via the Isthmus, handing at San Francisco. June 3. 1867. Of studious inclinations, the occupation of a pedagogue appealed to him and he attended the University of the Pacific at Santa Clara with the view of becoming a teacher. He came to Fresno County in 1870 passed the teacher's examination and was licensed to teach and that fall he taught a private school. The first public school that he taught was at the copper mine at Buchanan and during 1870 -1871 he taught the Fresno Flats public school. He also taught in Dalton and in Fresno City. He was one of the first public school teachers in Fresno. Mrs. Mary J. Hoxie of Fresno has the distinction of teaching time first private school in that city. Mr. Bramlet continued to teach in Fresno and vicinity until he became the candidate for County Superintendent of Schools in 1875 and was elected in November of that year and served during 1876 and 1877. The offices of County Superintendent of Schools and County Auditor were then merged to that of auditor and ex-officio county superintendent to which office Mr. Bramlet elected in 1877 and served during 1878 and 1889 then was reelected and during the years 1880 and 1881. A law was then made to provide for two separate offices. For five consecutive terms of two tears each -- from 1882 to 1892 -- R. H. Bramlet was elected and served as county auditor. For four years he taught school and served as deputy assessor under three different assessors. He served as assessor from1892 to 1902.

Mr. Bramlet owned the eighty acres where he now lives, for fifteen years before he settled on it in 1902. The men he employed on the ranch planted twenty-five acres of time land to vines, and now Mr. Bramlet has thirty acres planted to Muscats and twenty-two acres planted to Thompson's seedless; part of the remainder of the land is in alfalfa and the rest of it is unimproved. The Consolidated Ditch supplies water for irrigating time ranch. For many years Mr. Bramlet has been greatly interested in building irrigation ditches, and was a chose friend of Dick McCall, one of the pioneer irrigation's men of the section.

In 1876 Mr. Bramlet was married to Miss Euphemia Ellen Wren, a native of Adams County. Ill., and daughter of John and Elizabeth (Martin) Wren, Mrs. Bramlet was but seven years old, in 1863, when her parents came with their children to California. They braved the hardships of the long journey across the plains with horses and \wagons and settled in Amador County. Cal., where after a short sojourn they came to Solano County, where the father engaged in farming. Mrs. Bramlet attended the public schools and completed her education at the Stockton High School and the State Normal School at San Jose, Cal. She taught school for six years altogether, in Amador, Santa Cruz, Merced and Fresno counties-principally in the latter two places.

Mr. and Mrs. Bramlet have two children living. Eva is the wife of C. M. Mannon, an attorney at Ukiah, and they are the parents of five children: James Bramlet, Elizabeth, Martha, Mary Ellen, and Charlotte. Dora is the wife of John Stuart Ross, an attorney at El Centro, and they have four children: Isabel S., Nell B., Jean Ellen and John Gordon. Mr. Bramlet is an unusually well informed woman, prominent in club life and is ex-chairman of the History and Landmarks Department of the San Valley District of the California Woman's Federation of Clubs. For many years she was a society header in elite circles of Fresno officialdom, and their modest but cozy home radiates the exquisite taste and wholesome hospitality of its accomplished hostess.

Mr. Bramlet is much interested in the cooperative associations for the fruit growers and is a stockholder and a member of the California Associated Raisin Company. In politics he votes with the Democratic Party on national issues.


History of San Joaquin County p346

From CADI - Reuben died at age 83 in Fresno July 1 1925
Euphena BRAMLET died in Los Angeles age 73 on Oct 12 1929.

REUBEN HENDERSON BRAMLET.

Closely associated with the advancement of the agricultural prosperity of Fresno county is Reuben Henderson Bramlet, who owns and occupies a choice and well-improved ranch, which is pleasantly located about five miles northeast of Selma. Well educated, talented and of undoubted business capacity, he has attained a place of influence in the community, and has established himself in the confidence of his friends and fellow-citizens, who hold him in high regard and favor. A son of Coleman Bramlet, he was born February 7, 1842, in Saline county, Ill.; he comes of patriotic stock, Reuben Bramlet, his paternal grand-father, having been a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and also in the war of 1812, taking part in the battle of New Orleans. After the Revolution he removed from Virginia, his native state, to South Carolina, thence to Princeton, Ky. In 1818, becoming a pioneer settler of Saline county, III., he bought wild land, and was there employed in tilling the soil until his death.

A native of Princeton, Ky., Coleman Bramlet lived there until sixteen years old, when, in 1818, he moved with his parents to Illinois. Selecting farming as his life occupation he took up hand in Saline County, and was there self-employed in the pursuit of agriculture until his death, February 28, 1889, at the venerable age of eighty-seven years and thirteen days. His wife, to whom he was married in 1823, bore the maiden name of Susan Upchurch. She was born in Tennessee, and died in October 1889, on the home farm in Illinois. Of the ten sons and two daughters born of their union, Reuben H., the subject of this sketch, was the tenth child.

After coming to California from his Illinois home, in 1867, Reuben Henderson Bramlet completed his education at the University of the Pacific, taking a special course of three years, partly paying his expenses by working during the vacations in Santa Clara. Removing to what is now Madera County in 1870, he taught school in Fresno fiats for four years, being among the first teachers in Fresno County. The following two years Mr. Bramlet was county superintendent of the Fresno county schools, and served the following five years as county auditor and county superintendent. In 1883 he was again elected county auditor, and served ten years. Buying one hundred and forty acres of land in Fresno County, near Sanger, in 1893, he was there engaged in general ranching for a number of years. Selling out in December 1902, Mr. Bramlet bought his present farm, lying five miles northeast of Selma, and is managing the eighty- acres included in the purchase with success, raising fruit, vines and alfalfa.

At Kingriver, Fresno County, Mr. Bramlet married Euphemia Ellen Wren, who was born in Adams County, Ill., and came across the plains to California with her parents in 1863. Her father, John Wren, a native of Adams county, Ill., came first to California in 1849, and was for awhile engaged in mining but was not very successful. Returning to Illinois, he remained there until 1863, when he brought his family to the coast, locating in Fresno, Cal., where he carried on a substantial business until his death. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Bramlet four children were born. Namely: John C., who died at the age of two years; Eva, wife of C. M. Mannon, of Ukiah, Cal.; Dora; and Ellen, who died at the age of seven years. Politically Mr. Bramlet endorses the principles of the Democratic Party, and religiously he is a member of the Baptist Church.


History of Santa Barbara P446

MILTON WASON, Formerly Judge of the County Court of Ventura, and a well-known and widely-honored citizen, was born in Hillsborough County, New Hampshire, in January, 1817. His ancestry were of Revolutionary stock, one grandfather having been Captain in Washington's army at White Plains; the other was also engaged in that war, fighting at Bunker Hill. Judge Wason achieved a college edncation, belonging to the class of 1842. at Dartmouth. Teaching school for two years, he then proceeded to Boston, and entered the law office of Phillips & Robbins, and completing the ordinary legal course, was admitted to the Bar in 1846. Mr. Wason came to California in 1849, and sinking the lawyer in the gold-digger, labored for over three years in the mines. From 1853 to 1868 he was a farmer in Solano County, representing the county in the State Senate in 1863 and 1864. He mpved to San Buenaventura in 1868. In the latter location he has held the office of County Judge for five years, and was State Senator from Ventura for 1880-81. At present he is Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue. In consequence of his agricultural operations and public positions, Mr. Wason has never practiced law to any extent. He was married in 1852 to Miss Maria Angelica Borgniss, and the couple have four children.

Mr. Wason has few of the traits popularly ascribed to lawyers, being unassuming and plain in appearance, and blunt in speech, more given to the equities of law than its technicalities. He is deservedly popular among the rural population, probably for the same reason that was urged as the source of Millard Fillmore's popularity with the people, i.e., " he never deceived them." He has a miscellaneous library of several hundred volumes, modern works on the sciences predominating.


History of Yolo County page 605

WILLIAM JAMES REYNOLDS

Among the leading citizens of Winters, no one enjoys wider esteem than does Mr. Reynolds, who, for the past eleven years has resided in that community, to the general progress of which he has contributed most generously. He was horn November 17, 1839 near Platteville, Grant county, Wis., the son of Eldridge and Adaline (Perkins) Reynolds, natives of Kentucky. At the age of seven years he moved with his parents to Dubuque County, Iowa, crossing the Mississippi on a ferry boat propelled by tread horse power. During the succeeding seven years the father conducted a farm. his son assisting him out of school hours. In 1853 the family started for California with a wagon and four yoke of oxen, crossing the Missouri at Council Bluffs. All went well with them until they reached the Humboldt, where they lost most of their cattle by alkali water. Only one yoke was spared to them and they were compelled to leave their wagons on the summit of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. . Mr. Reynolds was able to proceed by doubling yokes with his brother-in-law, and they arrived at their destination after a journey of six months. Upon reaching Hangtown they established a modest home, remaining reaching there for two and a half years, during which time Mr. Reynolds mined with considerable success. However, his gains of about $20,000 were rapidly expended in mining enterprises. The last shaft sunk showed better results than former ones, the dirt removed from the structure containing large quantities of gold, $10 being secured in a few hours' work. Just before the arrival of the family in Hangtown the large oak tree some four feet in girth, known as "hang oak" was felled, and it was for this tree that the town was named. In 1856 the father and son removed to the San Joaquin valley, where they farmed three hundred and twenty acres near French Camp, raising both wheat and barley.

At French Camp, in 1860, Mr. Reynolds was united in marriage with Miss Julia Burt, of Illinois, their union being blessed with two children. George Henry, of Stockton, and Maria A., the later deceased. Mr. Reynolds' second marriage united him with Miss Mary L. Brent, a native of Dubuque County, Iowa. She died near Winters in 1907, since which time Mr. Reynolds has resided in Winters with his adopted daughter, Priscilla Hall, now Mrs. Clarence Wyatt. Mr. Reynolds superintends his ranch, which he reaches by means of a run-about which he owns.

Upon settling in Yolo County in 1891, W. J. Reynolds bought a one-third interest in a valuable tract containing ninety-three and one-third acres; one mile from Winters, and later by purchase became sole owner. This property, which he leases on halves, comprises seven hundred and forty-eight apricot trees and seven thousand peach trees, his share from the 1912 crop having amounted to nearly $8000. The trees average twenty years in age and are in excellent condition.

For two terms Mr. Reynolds served efficiently as school trustee in Merced County, and as a Republican of broad and generous principles has always been deeply interested in political developments. For three years during the war he assisted in maintaining the state home guard ready for instant call, he at this time being a resident of San Joaquin County. Since coming to Yolo County he has devoted his time to horticulture, which he has found very congenial, interesting and profitable. As a citizen of the highest worth he has ever enjoyed the commendation of his fellows.


From the History of the State of CA and record of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and San Luis Obispo Page 289

HON. JOSIAH MERRITT.

The first judge of Monterey County was born in Orange County, N. Y., near the city of Newburgh, August 21, 1796, and was a descendant of very early settlers of America. After receiving a college education he took up the study of law, was admitted to the bar, and engaged in practice in New York City. Success had already commenced to reward his efforts when, inspired with a faith in the future of the great unknown western regions, in 1845 he removed to Illinois. At the time the California gold excitement turned the tide of emigration still further westward he, with many others, started for the Pacific coast via Texas. In January 1850, he arrived at Monterey, and the next year took an active part in organizing Monterey county, of which he was at that time elected county judge, serving until 1854. He was a member of the Texas Lodge of Masons; the oldest in California, and during the Civil war was a Union Democrat.

Shortly after he had settled in Monterey, Judge Merritt married Juana Castro; eldest daughter of Simeon Castro, judge of the first instance under Mexican rule and one of the most influential Spanish citizens of Monterey. She was a sister of the general who led the Mexican troops in the battle with the Americans under General Fremont a few miles north-cast of Salinas. After retiring from the judgeship of the county, Judge Merritt resumed the practice of the law, in which, and numerous local enterprises; he continued to be engaged until his death in 1869. The children who survived him were Joseph, Lavinia, Herlinda, Jennie and Manuel R. He was a man possessing many admirable traits, and his influence did much toward the early building tip of Monterey.


History of Pomona Valley CA page 408
History of South Coast Counties - page 1087

CASSIUS C. JOHNSON. Few more consistent, practical or well-balanced careers have contributed to the development of Pomona and Claremont than that of the late C. C. Johnson, whose death, September 3, 1906, was mourned by the citizens of both towns as that of a personal friend. His remains were interred in the cemetery at Pomona, in which town so many years of his active and useful life had been passed.

Indiana was Mr. Johnson's native state, and he was born in Greencastle. April 1, 1 854 one of the younger children in a family of ten born to his parents, Dixon and Nancy (Sewell) Johnson, both of the latter being natives of Kentucky. Among the early settlers in Indiana who had crossed over the Ohio River from Kentucky was Dixon Johnson, who settled down as a farmer in that new country, but he was evidently not satisfied with the country for a permanent location and some time after the birth of his son, Cassius C., he removed to Vinton. Iowa, near which city he purchased a large farm. It was there that his earth life came to a close, leaving to mourn his loss a widow and a large family of children. The mother passed away some years later in Willow Lake S. D. As he was a mere child when the family removed from Indiana to Iowa, C. C. Johnson was reared almost entirely in the latter state, attending first the public school of Vinton and later Vinton Academy. Although reared on a farm he had no taste for farming himself, and as soon as his school days were over he secured a position in a dry goods store in Vinton with the idea of learning the business. When one has definite ideas of a line of business, which he wishes to follow and with persistency applies himself to its mastery, the victory is half won, and thus it was with Mr. Johnson, for in a short time he was enabled to start in the dry goods business on his own account. The failure of his health, however, brought about a change in his plans and after disposing of his interests in Iowa he came to California in 1881. The following year he purchased a ranch of thirty acres on the corner of San Bernardino and Towne avenues. Here he developed water, set out orchards, and later he subdivided the ranch into one-acre and four-acre tracts, also opening Towne Avenue, In the meantime he had been employed in the weighing department of the Southern Pacific Railroad for about one year.

In 1895 Mr. Johnson removed to a foothill ranch east of San Antonio, comprising several hundred acres. He gave this up, however, in the fall of 1900 and removed to Claremont, in order that his children could attend Pomona College. After locating here he engaged in the real estate business, and among other transactions with which his name was associated was the laying out of a forty-acre tract on North Harvard Avenue, which he sold off as C. C. Johnson's Addition to Claremont, and he also laid out another forty-acre tract adjoining known as College Avenue Addition. This business is still being carried on under the name of his son, J. D. Johnson. In 1902 he erected the fine residence now occupied by the family, located on North Harvard Avenue. Far from being self-centered and interested in his own private affairs only, Mr. Johnson was, on the other hand, broad-minded and generous. He was a director in the Citizens' Light and Water Company, was the organizer of the cooperative Water Company, which was located on his ranch, also assisted in the organization of the Claremont Lumber Company, the Citizens' State Bank and the Claremont Inn Company, of which latter he was president. For many years he had served efficiently as school trustee of Claremont and also served as selectman.

In Vinton Iowa, May 19, 1880, C. C. Johnson was married to Miss Louise Moore, who was born in Durand, Ill., the daughter of Hubbard Moore. From Vermont, his native state, Mr. Moore set out with the '49ers for the gold region, but he did not remain long in the West at that time. Later he removed to Beloit, Wis., and afterwards to Durand. Ill., and established himself in the dry goods business, which he followed until removing to Vinton, Iowa, there following the builder's trade. Removing from the Middle West in 1881, he came to California and the same year purchased a ranch adjoining Pomona, upon which he lived the remainder of his life, and in addition to its management he also carried on contracting to some extent. Mrs. Johnson's mother, Emma L. Peck, a native of Massachusetts, died in Durand, Ill., when Mrs. Johnson was only nine months old and afterwards Mr. Moore married her sister, who resided with Mrs. Johnson until her death. Five children blessed the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Johnson: Albert, who is engaged with the Standard Oil Company at Santa Barbara; James D., in the real estate and insurance business in Claremont; Clarence was in the Ordnance Department of the United States Army in the late war and is now ranching at Claremont; Emma, deceased, and Katherine. Politically Mr. Johnson was a strong Republican, and in his church affiliations was an active member of the Congregational Church, of which at one time he was a trustee. Thoroughly devoted to the interests of this part of California, he was one of those citizens whose coming from the East meant so much to the development and growth of the state.


Biographical Record of Coast Counties 1904 page 1236

ABRAM BLOCK. Numbered among the pioneers of California is this well-known fruit-packer of Santa Clara, who is a representative of the forceful, energetic German element of our population. The family of which he is a member has long been connected with German Bohemia. There he was born February 12, 1830. The same province was the birthplace of his parents, Z. and Maria (Kafka) Block, the latter of whom died at forty-nine years of age, and the former at the great age of one hundred and six years. The family consisted of four sons and four daughters, to each of whom such advantages were given as the means of the father permitted. The youngest of the family, Abram, was educated in common schools and also under private instruction. When a youth of fifteen years, in 1845, he accompanied a cousin to the United States and settled in St. Louis, Mo., where he became a clerk ill a dry goods establishment. For several years he remained in that city, meanwhile gaining an excellent knowledge of the wholesale and retail mercantile business in a large store on Carondelet avenue.

At that time California and its wonderful gold mines furnished the principal theme of conversation and, naturally, the German youth began to make plans to seek the Pacific coast. During January of 1853 he left St. Louis and applied his earnings to thee payment of his passage via New Orleans and thee Isthmus of Panama to San Francisco. Landing at the end of an uneventful voyage, he proceeded to Nevada City where he engaged in a general mercantile business. Three years later he returned to San Francisco and while there the vigilance committee endeavored to place the lawless element in the city under the control of justice and order. His store in Nevada City was burned twice, once during the general conflagration on July 19, 1856, when hue lost $67,000, without insurance, and the second in a conflagration in 1863. He removed to Santa Clara in February 1878. Here he has since made his home, meanwhile becoming closely identified with the fruit interests of the valley. In the history of the fruit industry Santa Clara is prominent.

From this place, in 1869, L. A. Gould shipped the first car of fruit ever sent from California to the Chicago market, the freight to that city costing $900 per car, the fruit being shipped from the property now owned by Mr. Block.

Since 1880 Mr. Block has been engaged in the fruit-packing business, and such has been his success in the occupation that Inc now ships nine-tenths of all the green fruit sent from this point. In extent and size of consignments he has built up a business surpassed by none in Santa Clara county. His brand may be seen in all the markets of the country and is in demand by buyers, because it indicates a high quality of fruit. Besides buying of other growers, he ships a large amount raised on his own places, which consist of two hundred and fifty-seven acres in fruit, his specialties being pears and plums. He also leases one hundred and sixty acres of orchard in which pears are growing, besides over one hundred and fifty acres in the lower part of the county. With every department of the fruit business he is familiar. His long experience and great success have won for him the confidence and respect of the people with whom he has had business transactions.

In 1885 he was first made a member of the California State Board of Horticulture, appointed by Governor Stoneman to fill a vacancy; he was afterward appointed by Governor Waterman for a four years' term, filling the office with great efficiency. He has also taken the greatest interest in the welfare of tine community in which he has made his home for so many years and in many ways has served the public. In 1887 he was appointed by Governor Bartlett as one of the trustees of the Home for the Care and Training of Feeble-minded Children, a state institution located in this town.

Though appreciative of the value of a home, he has never married. He is a hard-working, energetic and capable man, his success being largely due to his perseverance and the close attention he has given to the demands of his business. In his fraternal relations he is connected with Bay City Lodge No. 71.1.0.0.F., in San Francisco, 5150 Wilder Encampment No, 23, in the same city. A believer in the principles of Masonry, he is connected with Fidelity Lodge, F. & A. M., and maintains an interest in the enterprises and charities fostered by the order.


History of Orange County - 1921 page 919

SAMUEL DAVID TEEL.-Among the native sons of Orange County, S. D. Teel has the distinction of being the son of Garden Grove's first permanent settler. He follows the occupation of ranching, and specializes in raising sweet potatoes, having purchased ten acres which he devotes to that purpose. He also owns ten acres in the Bolsa Precinct which is planted to Valencia oranges, and now has an exceptionally fine grove just coming into bearing. He was born in Orange County, December 23, 1875, in what is now Buaro precinct, one mile north of his present home, this section in those early days being a part of Los Angeles County. His parents, George Milton and Catherine (Harris) Teel, were born in Tennessee and Kentucky, respectively, and were married in Texas, whither both had gone when young people. They came to California in 1870, settling in what is now Garden Grove. When Mr. Teel first arrived in California, coming from Texas with an ox team, he took up his residence on what is known as the Dr. Head ranch, where he planted potatoes, and from one sack of seed he harvested 120 sacks--equal to six tons. He hauled lumber from Anaheim Landing to build his house and hauled lumber to Anaheim as a teamster. The elder Teel, besides being the first settler in Garden Grove was the first man to develop artesian water in this district. He struck an artesian flow in 1871 and was one of the early orange growers and fruit men demonstrating that the best of fruit could be grown here. His death occurred at Garden Grove in 1903 at the age of seventy-six. He was a Mason, retaining his membership in Texas. His widow survived him until March 31, 1920, when she passed away aged eighty-three. Mr. and Mrs. Teel were the parents of eight children: Georgia is Mrs. John Davis of Garden Grove; Charles lives at Ukiah; Harris is a resident of Coalinga; Edward, at Wintersburg; Samuel D., of this sketch; Alice is Mrs. W. E. Wells and lives on the San Joaquin ranch; Ida is Mrs. Claude Blakesley of Garden Grove; George M. Jr. the next to the youngest of the family, died on November 5, 1918, during the influenza epidemic.

S. D. Teel is the fifth child in the parental family of eight children, and was reared on his father's ranch. He attended the common schools and after attaining his majority went to San Francisco and became an employee of the California Electric Company, working for them at their powerhouse in San Francisco for three years. He afterwards returned home and turned his attention to ranching. His marriage, which occurred in 1908, united him with Miss Josephine Kemble, a native of Colorado. The four children resulting from this union are Joseph Kemble, Audrey V., Samuel David, Jr., and Genevieve M.

Mr. Teel has built a very cozy, modest home, to which he is constantly adding conveniences, and the substantial improvements he is ever on the alert to make on the ranch adds to its attractions materially. He it a self-reliant, industrious, intelligent man, and makes his influence felt for the common good. He was interested in getting the Buaro Drainage District organized, and deservedly ranks among the enterprising and resourceful citizens of his community. Fraternally he is a member of Santa Ana Lodge No.241, F. & A. M., and politically is a staunch adherent of the principles advocated in the platform of the Democratic Party.


History of Orange County - 1911 p635

SAMUEL E. TALBERT. Although yet on the sunny side of life's prime Mr. Talbert has achieved signal success in his various undertakings and has risen to a position of considerable influence among the farmers of Orange county. Especially worthy of mention, because gained through his own unaided efforts, is the prominence to which he has risen and the wholesome influence he has exerted in agricultural circles. With an enthusiasm that is contagious he throws himself into enterprises for the good of the community and by his ardent support and intelligent aid he has promoted many movements of permanent benefit locally, while at the same time he has advanced his own interests until he now ranks among the most prosperous men of his community.

Born in Piatt county, Ill., February 4, 1874, Samuel E. Talbert is the son of James T. and Rachel (Weddle) Talbert, natives of Kentucky. The father, who was born in 1840, removed to Illinois in boyhood with other members of the family and settled in Piatt county. At the opening of the Civil war he enlisted in the Union army and served under Generals Grant and Meade for three years, participating in many battles with honor to himself. While he was in the service his thrifty wife bought forty acres of land which until recently was in the possession of the oldest daughter, Mrs. Mary Piper. On the expiration of his term of service he returned to his Illinois home and took up the duties of civic affairs, remaining in the same place until early in 1892, when he came to California and settled at Long Beach.

The family consisted of the following children: Mrs. Mary Piper; Mrs. Nettie Finety, deceased; Mrs. Eveline Irvine; Mrs. Francis McCullough, deceased; Mrs. Lovina Miller; Samuel E.; Thomas B. and Henry E. In 1892 the family removed to Long Beach and for some time were engaged in farming in that locality. Prior to coming to California the wife and mother passed away in Illinois.

Samuel E. Talbert was reared at home, received his schooling in the common schools and was engaged in farming with his father until he was eighteen years old, when he came to this state. He farmed for himself for four years in the vicinity of Long Beach, at which time he came to Orange county, in 1897, and settled in what is now known as Talbert, which was named in his honor. He bought three hundred and twenty acres of land, for which he paid $40 per acre. Of this he later sold some to his brothers, Thomas and Henry, and now retains one hundred acres for himself. He was one of the leaders in converting a barren waste into one of the most productive sections of the county. The locality where he located was known as Fountain Valley, but was changed at the time the post-office was established and given the name of the founder.

One of the most important incidents in the life of Mr. Talbert was his marriage on January 26, 1895, to Miss Hattie L. Brady, who was born in Santa Ana, August 24, 1880. She is the daughter of John and Louisa (Schrode) Brady, formerly of Texas. In all of Mr. Talbert's undertakings she has been his able assistant, and to her he owes much of his success. When he made his first purchase of land he was able to pay down only one-third of the purchase price, but by his far-sightedness he has been able to make the land some of the most valuable in this section of the county.

When the Pacific Electric was prospected through to Huntington Beach he took the contract to complete the line from the Santa Ana river to that place, and the manner in which he executed his contract, in twenty-eight days, met the approval and compliments of the officials. He organized a grading camp and has handled many large undertakings. He was one of the originators of the Talbert drainage district and has served as the president of the company ever since. When he came to this section he brought stock with him, but the stock died from drinking stagnant water and eating wild feed. This proved to him that something must be done to remedy matters and in consequence he set about organizing this company. The landowners put up $1 per acre to begin the work and Mr. Talbert, as foreman and manager of the company, began to cut the Willows ditch which adjoined his place. This was an eye-opener to the rest of the people and he received a great deal of encouragement from the newcomers to that section while those who had lived there some time held back, believing the undertaking would be an impossibility. He often made the assertion that celery would some day be raised in that section and also that an electric line would be put through it. How true his prophecy was proven, as this is one of the best sections in the west for celery and the electric line has been the means of making the country. The name of Mr. Talbert is better known in connection with the Neubert Protection district than any other in the county, for it was through his influence that the channel of the Santa Ana river was confined to its original bed. This movement has raised the price of the land from its former price of from $7 to $12 per acre to between $400 and $500 per acre.

Mr. Talbert is a Mason and interested in the workings of the order and with his wife attends the Methodist Church South. He is one of the public spirited men of the county and one, too, who has always been active in the up building of the institutions that have promoted the county to take the lead in Southern California and while he has neither had time nor inclination for public office, casts his vote with the Republican party and has refused to allow his name to be presented for favors. Both himself and wife enjoy the esteem of a wide circle of friends.


History of Orange County page 1186

SAMUEL E. TALBERT-Not many men have the honor to be the leading citizens of their districts, or to have an embryo town named after them, as is the case with Samuel Edmonson Talbert, whose honored family will be celebrated in the name given to Talbert, Orange County. He was born in Piatt County, Ill., on February 4, 1874, and his father was James T. Talbert, a native of Kentucky, who went to Illinois when he was a young man. In Piatt County he was married to Miss Rachel Weddle and when the Civil War broke out, he enlisted in one of the Illinois volunteer infantry regiments, and four years with the Union Army. He sent to his wife, while he was in the field as much money as he could save, and with it she invested in forty acres of Piatt County and there he settled after the war.

Samuel was eight years old when his mother died, leaving eight children: Mary, the oldest is the wife of William Piper, and resides at Deshler, Henry County, Ohio; Nettie became the wife of Fred Finity and died in Los Angeles, leaving a son named James; Eva is the wife of J. B. Irwin, and resides in Orange County Park, Orange County, Cal. Frances married a Missouri attorney, David McCullem, and died, the mother of three children; Lavina resides at Chestnut, Ill., and is the wife of Joe Miller, a farmer: Samuel E., the subject of our sketch, was the sixth in the order of birth; T.B. Talbert, the next, is the Orange County supervisor; and Henry E. resides at Huntington Beach, having married Ella McGowan, by whom he has had one child, Henry Kime.

After a boyhood and youth spent in Piatt County, Ill., until he was eighteen, Samuel left Illinois on his birthday, accompanied by his father and brothers, destined for California. They reached Long Beach, where an uncle, William Talbert, lived, on February 9, 1892. He had attended the public schools in Illinois, and he continued his schooling at Lucerne, Los Angeles County, where his father rented a ranch. They went up to Antelope Valley, but did not like it, and traveled around to other places; and finally, in November 1896, came down to Fountain Valley or what used to be called Gospel Swamp. While he was a resident at Long Beach, James T. Talbert became prominent as a member of the Grand Army of the Republic; and at Long Beach he died on May 18, 1918, in the seventy-seventh year of his age.

Father and son bought 320 acres of hand, of which a cousin W. 0. Afer, took forty acres and now Samuel owns 178 acres of the best land at Talbert. He has eleven flowing wells one and two on each twenty acres, and a fine bungalow residence, which he remodeled about four years ago; but it is rather for what he has done for the county, than for what he possesses, that he is best known, and most honored.

He was the main spirit, for example, in organizing the Talbert Drainage district, and made the first ditch, and has made nearly all the other drainage ditches in that district since. On account of the land lying so low and near to the water-level of the Pacific Ocean the question was asked, whether the hand could be drained at all; and when many doubted, Mr. Talbert both said that it could, and actually drained it. Twenty thousand dollars' worth of bonds were voted, to build the ditches, which are constructed on the east, side of the section line, or the half-section as the case may be, and the dirt has been put on the west side of the ditches, to throw the drainage down toward Newport Bay and make the roads in the district. The flood of 1916 filled up the bay, and a new channel was cut below Newport Bay and Huntington Beach. That filled up with sand, and it became necessary to put two 54-inch galvanized corrugated iron pipes leading into the ocean, equipped with gates to keep the water back during high tide, at a cost of $5,000 to Talbert district, This project has reclaimed about 1,000 acres belonging to the Pacific Gun Club. The Talbert drainage district contains 15,000 acres now excellent land for the growing of sugar beets, lima beans and celery; and to such an extent has drainage been the making of the district that farm land there is now worth as high as $1,000 an acre and rents for $25 to $75 an acre, where formerly there was only a swamp covered with willows and tules and could have been bought for from $12.50 to $40.00 per acre.

Mr. Talbert was also the first to devise plans and later to dig ditches to keep the Santa Ana River from spreading over this entire delta country. He secured a right-of-way for deepening and making a new channel for the said Santa Ana River from Seventeenth Street in Santa Ana to the ocean, and took the contract to dig the channel, and successfully dug it, This has confined the river to its new channel and protected the farming lands from flood water. No money was available for this work at first; the Newbert Protection District was organized, bonds were voted and he was made president and manager and the success of the enterprise followed. His work was highly praised by engineers and he has repeatedly been the subject of interesting write-ups in the Santa Ana and Los Angeles papers.

With his brother, T. B. Talbert, our subject secured the right-of-way for the Pacific Electric Railway. - He excavated the roadbed, moved houses and grubbed trees, and graded six miles of the route from Huntington Beach to the Santa Ana River.


History of Ventura County page 116

JUDGE MERTON BARNES.

Among the citizens of Ventura County who have filled a distinctive place in the affairs of their respective communities, none takes precedence over Judge Merton Barnes, who after a most interesting and varied career has become one of the enterprising and progressive businessmen of this locality, where he has attained a high place in public esteem and confidence. He was born at Eyota, Minnesota, on the 30th of May 1868, but was reared in Stockton, Rooks County, Kansas, to which place the family had moved in his early youth. After completing the public school course he attended and was graduated from the Kansas State University where he became a member of the Sigma Nu fraternity.

In 1887 Mr. Barnes came to Ventura, California, where he served as a clerk in the office of the county clerk, after which he became associated with Sol. N. Sheridan in the publication of the Ventura Republican. Later he established and ran for a time the San Fernando World, at San Fernando, California. He then went to Los Angeles and became a conductor on the electric street railway, taking out the fourth car to run on that line after it was electrified. Thereafter, for nearly two years, as deputy state organizer for the Knights of the Maccabees, he instituted many tents of this order, among them Tent No. 6, now the largest in southern California. As a member of the cast of a traveling theatrical organization he then played through Washington and Oregon for nearly two years. Later, for nearly three years, he was assistant circulation manager of the Seattle Daily Star. He then returned to Ventura and was engaged in the grocery business for five years, during which period he put into effect a number of original ideas of his own, one of which was the now famous "Cash and Carry" policy, he being the originator of the phrase, "cash and carry", and the first man in the world to conduct a "cash and carry" store, of which there are now thousands throughout the United States and Europe. He was also the first man to charge for deliveries from the store, which is a part of the "cash and carry" plan, unless the dealer chooses to eliminate deliveries entirely. He was an original advertiser and his "ads" were widely copied by the trade journals throughout the country, one of which journals, the Chicago Inland Store Keeper, solicited and published two articles by Mr. Barnes explaining in detail the "cash and carry" plan, its origin and operation. Had Judge Barnes copyrighted the "cash and carry" plan he might now have been independently wealthy. However, it is the writer's pleasure to give him whatever credit and fame is due him as the father of this extremely meritorious and worldwide-adopted idea. On January 10, 1912, Mr. Barnes came to Fillmore and established the first real motion picture house in this city. He was very successful in the operation of this theater, and in 1922 he erected the present splendid house, known as Barnes' Picture Theater. His efforts in the way of public entertainment have been fully appreciated by the amusement loving public, and he has received a well-merited patronage from the representative people of the community. He has carefully excluded from his house everything that could in any way offend the most refined taste and has catered to the best class of patrons.

In 1898 Mr. Barnes was married to Miss Frances Kingsberry, and they are the parents of four children, namely: Henry K., who is the local agent for the New York Life Insurance Company, and who is married and has two children, Edna June; Guy W., who is associated with his father as manager of the Barnes theater, and Barbara, who is a student in the southern branch of the University of California. Fraternally Judge Barnes is a member of Ventura Lodge No. 1430, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks; Fillmore Lodge, Knights of Pythias and the Woodmen of the World. He belongs to the Fillmore Rotary Club and the Fillmore Citizens Club and is a member of the board of directors of the Fillmore Chamber of Commerce, of which he has served a total of five years as president, though not in consecutive years. Since 1912 he has rendered effective service as justice of the peace, discharging the duties of the office in an able and impartial manner, and being reelected, without opposition at the close of each term. Because of his sterling qualities of character, sound business ability, splendid public spirit and genial disposition, he has long occupied an exalted place in the confidence and esteem of the entire community. He has been a constant and consistent booster for Fillmore and his efforts in that direction have been recognized and fully appreciated by his fellow citizens.


Biographical Record of the State of CA - San Joaquin Valley CA page 1585

MILLS ELEY. Prominent among the representative stockmen of Fresno community, Mills Eley is engaged in this work in the vicinity of Pulaski, while he makes his home in Fresno at No. 925 O Street. He was born in Talladega, Ala., in 1858, a son of Merritt Eley. The elder man was a native of Madison County, Ala., where his father, Mills Eley, had removcd from his home in Virginia, which had been established there many generations earlier by English ancestors. Mills Eley had proven a patriot in time of need, taking part under General Jackson in the war of 1812. He died early in life, his family of children being reared on the paternal homestead. As a boy Merritt Eley went to Talladega County, where he engaged as a planter in manhood. During the Civil war he served in an Alabama regiment. He died in March 1870, at the early age of forty-six years. Religiously he was a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, in which he acted as ruling elder. In January 1854, he was united in marriage with Sophronia Blasingame, a native of Marshall county, Ala., and a daughter of Jesse Blasingame. He was a native of the Carolinas. He located as a planter in Marshall County, Ala., where he married Mary Walker, whose parents were from South Carolina. Mrs. Eley brought her family to California in 1876, and entered land in the vicinity of Fresno, where she engaged in the stock business. She is the mother of nine children, seven of whom are still living.

Mills Eley, the subject of this sketch, was reared on the paternal farm in Alabama until 1876, in which year he accompanied his mother to California, his education being received in the common schools of his native state. On his mother's property he engaged in stock-raising, and in 1878 entered into the business for himself. He located first on Kings river, where he remained one year, thence going to Academy, where he began the sheep business, his range at that time being in what is now Madera county. He entered land and also homesteaded a farm eight miles east of Borden, where he made all improvements amid gave intelligent effort to the success of his enterprise. Later he sold out and located his home in Fresno, while he still conducts the sheep business on his ranch northwest of Pulaski, which, since 1903, has been a partnership affair, A. H. and L.A. Blasingame being interested with him. They have over twenty thousand acres of pasture land for their sheep, which number from ten to fifteen thousand head of a good grade of mutton stock. This enterprise has been one of the most successful in Fresno County, amid has named Mr. Eley among the representative stockmen of the section. For many years he has been a member of the National Sheep Breeders' Association, and fraternally was made a Mason in Fresno Lodge No. 247, amid is also a member of Trigo Chapter No.69, R. A. M. Politically he is a Democrat amid am ex-member of the county central committee.


William HAZELTON in History of San Joaquin Valley

WILLIAM HAZELTON. A pioneer and one of the most extensive stockmen on the Upper Kings river, William Hazelton holds a high place among the representative citizens of this section of Fresno county. A native of Albany county, N. Y., he was born September 7, 1825, a son of Joseph Hazelton, of New Jersey, who located in New York state, where he engaged as a blacksmith until his death. His wife, formerly Sophia Cleveland, was born in New York state, where she also died. They were the parents of four sons and three daughters all of whom are deceased except the youngest, William Hazelton. He received his education in the common schools of his native locality, where in young manhood he engaged as a clerk in a mercantile establishment. In 1845 he went to New York City and enlisted in the United States Second Dragoons, and was later stationed in Florida and the vicinity of the Choctaw nation. Being discharged from the service about the time of the Mexican war, he went to Mexico as a teamster in the commissary department, where he remained throughout the war. Returning to New York in 1848, he followed this with a trip across the plains to California, coming by way of Texas and spending the winter of 1849 in San Diego, Cal. He located in the northern mines, where he met with moderate success, remaining until 1853, when he came to his present place on the Upper Kings river, taking up a quarter section of land, where - he has since engaged in stock-raising. He has continued to add to his property by purchase until he now owns over seven thousand acres, on which he has a herd of seven hundred cattle.

In this locality, in 1857, Mr. Hazelton was united in marriage with Mary Jane Akers, a native of Sabine county, Tex., and the daughter of Henry Akers, who was born in Illinois. He located first in Missouri, later in Texas, and in 1852 came to California and located near the home of Mr. Hazelton, where he engaged in farming and stock-raising until his death. His wife, formerly Delilah Miller, was born in Illinois and died in California. To Mr. Hazelton and his wife were born the following children Clara E., the wife of F. R. Lindsey of Sanger Cal.; Wesley B., of Sanger; Henry a stockman in Laura D., at home; Sophia, the wife of George D. Fisk, of Yolo county, Cal.; Catherine, deceased; John, deceased; Alice C., the wife of R. M. Kimball, of Napa county, Cal.; and Edward, deceased. Politically, Mr. Hazelton is a stanch adherent of the principles advocated in the platform of the Democratic party. Although eighty years old he is still hale and hearty and takes a keen and active interest in all his affairs and shows still the superior judgment and business ability which have made his success.

Extracted from a submission by Sophia HAZELTON GERNER to Ash Tree Echo Vol 1, issue 2 Sept Oct 1966 page 10ff

Joseph HAZELTON b 14 Aug 1773; d 5 July 1828

-sp Sophia CLEVELAND b I Jun 1783; d ____

Children:

Sally HAZELTON b 1 Aug 1804

-sp Mr. ANDERSON

Cecelia ANDERSON

Augusta ANDERSON

Joseph ANDERSON

Hannah HAZELTON b 8 Feb 1806; d 8 Jun 1825

Samuel HAZELTON b 4 Jul 1808

John HAZELTON b 4 Jul 1810

-sp Martha _______

Sophia HAZELTON

Mary HAZELTON

Gertrude HAZELTON

James HAZELTON b 4 Feb 1814; d 22 Aug _____ Coeymans NY

-sp Elizabeth MYERS of NY

Cynthia Ann b 6 Jul 1817

William (see below)

William M. "Yank" HAZELTON b 7 Sep 1824/5 Coeymans, Albany Co NY;

d 20 Jul 1906 Ockendaon, Shaver Lake, Fresno CA

Married 6 Sept 1857

Mary Jane AKERS b 22 Jan 1840; d 26 Aug 1910 Calistoga CA

Children:

1. Clara Elvina HAZELTON LINDSEY b 29 Nov 1858;

d 26 Jun 1950 Kings River CA

2. Wesley Blaisdell HAZELTON b 3 Feb 1860; d 2 Mar 1948 Sanger CA

-SP Amelia Anne BACON b Mariposa County CA md 31 Jul 1881

Children:

John Wesley HAZELTON

Eva Belle HAZELTON

Sophia HAZELTON GERNER

-sp A. J. GERNER

George Edward HAZELTON

Edith HAZELTON DANIELS

-sp Henry DANIELS

Fred Bacon HAZELTON

Alice HAZELTON PRICE

-sp C. J. PRICE

Ida Mae HAZELTON SCHWALB

-sp Robert SCHWALB

3 . Henry Huckaby HAZELTON b 1 Dec 1860; d 1956 Fresno CA

(adopted son, his mother was sister to Mary Jane AKERS - Margy Ann AKERS,

and his father was David HUCKABY)

-SP (1) Mary K. SIMPSON

-SP (2) Gertrude PARSONS md Apr 5 1885 Minkler CA;

died summer of 1956 Fresno

Children:

Wm. Henry

Edna Frances BARRINGER

Louise Gertrude (IMRIE)

Ernest

Mary Elizabeth WOODS

Reuel M.

Robert

Walter Francis

Carl

4. Laura Delilah HAZELTON b 17 Jun 1862; d 19 Jun 1932 Santa Cruz CA

5. Sophia HAZELTON FISKE b 1 Dec 1863; d 6 Apr 1922 Esparto

6. Catherine HAZELTON b 20 May 1865; d 5 Oct 1866 Kings River

7. John HAZELTON b 19 Mar 1867; d 4 Mar 1872 Kings River

8. Alice "Cecilia" HAZELTON KIMBALL b 6 Aug 1869;

d 29 Dec 1943 St. Helena CA

9. Edward HAZELTON b 8 Dec 1871; d 9 Nov 1894 Kings River

Fresno Blue Book 1941 page 533

WESLEY B. HAZELTON

Few couples live to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary, but recently Mr. and Mrs. Wesley B. Hazelton of Sanger have achieved this distinction. They were married in Fresno County on July 31, 1881-Mrs. Hazelton's maiden name having been Amelia Anne Bacon before her marriage.

Wesley B. Hazelton is the son of one of the first settlers in Fresno County, his father, William Hazelton, having come to California in 1849. He settled first at San Diego, and in 1853 came to the San Joaquin Valley and homesteaded on the 'veil known Hazelton ranch where the Kings river debouches from the Sierra hills. It was here that W. B. Hazelton was born, February 3, 1860. His mother, Mary Jane (Akers) Hazelton, who died in 1910, was a member of another family of the first decade of Fresno history-. Five generations of Hazeltons have now worked on the old home place, and Wesley Hazelton's eldest son, John W., now is in charge of it.

W. B. Hazelton's mother is said to have planted the first orange tree in the San Joaquin Valley.

W. B. Hazelton attended school at what was first called Hazelton district and now Orangedale. He lived on the home ranch, which he still owns, until thirty-five years ago, when he moved to Sanger. In addition to the old home place, other land has been bought, so that today the family holdings include about 3,000 acres of which nearly one hundred acres are in oranges. For years Mr. Hazelton has been engaged in cattle raising, and notwithstanding his eighty-one years, he still rides the range.

Mr. Hazelton is one of the largest stockholders in the Sanger Citrus Association, which he helped organize in 1920, and has served as president almost from the beginning.

Mr. and Mrs. Hazelton are the parents of three sons and five daughters, and they have seventeen grandchildren, and four great-grandchildren. The sons and daughters are: John W, Eva Belle, Sophia (Mrs. A. J. Gerner), George E., Edith (Mrs. Harry Daniels), Fred B., Alice (Mrs. C. J. Price), and Ida May (Mrs. Robert Schwalb). It is almost unbelievable to record that there has never been a death in the immediate family of Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Hazelton. Mr. Hazelton has achieved a place of financial security through careful planning of his affairs, and being particularly careful about not going into debt. During the worst of the depression years, he always put a little money aside. When he was building up his cattle business, he added to his herd gradually. His life is a wonderful example for the young people of the present day, too, many of whom make it a policy to "spend it all." The Hazeltons are members of the Presbyterian Church, and Mrs. Hazel-ton has been active in this organization since girlhood.

Fresno Community Book 1948 page 281

WESLEY B. HAZELTON

The oldest native of Fresno County residing in Sanger, and one of the oldest in Fresno County, is Wesley B. Hazelton, representative of one of the most prominent pioneer families of the county. He is the son of one of the first settlers in Fresno County, his father, William Hazelton, having come to California in 1849. He settled first at San Diego, and in 1853 came to the San Joaquin Valley and homesteaded on the well-known Hazelton ranch where the Kings River debouches from the Sierra hills. It was here that Wesley B. Hamilton was born, February 3, 1860. His mother, Mary Jane (Akers) Hazelton, who died in 1910, was a member of another family of the first decade of Fresno history. Five generations of Hazeltons have now worked on the old home place, and Wesley Hazelton's eldest son now is the owner.

Mr. Hazelton attended school at what was first called Hazelton district and now Orangedale. He lived on the home ranch until forty years ago, when he moved to Sanger. In addition to the old home place, other land has been bought, so that today the family holdings include very large acreage, of which about seventy-five acres are in bearing oranges. For many veers Hazelton has been one of the well-known cattlemen of the county, and notwithstanding his eighty-six years, he still rides the range.

One of the largest stockholders in the Sanger Citrus Association, which he helped to organize in 1920, Mr. Hazelton served as President for about twenty years. He was a director of the old Commercial Bank of Sanger, the predecessor of the local branch of the Bank of America, on the Advisory Board of which he still serves.

Recently his property has been deeded to the eight children, the oldest son, John W., still living on the old home place, which includes a section of the orange grove. Two other sons have the cattle ranch, while the five girls share the larger acreage of orange groves.

Mr. Hazelton was united in marriage to Miss Amelia Bacon, daughter of Thomas and Lucinda Bacon, who came across the plains with an ox-team in the early days. Mr. and Mrs. Hazelton have recently celebrated their sixty-fifth wedding anniversary, having been married in this county on July 31, 1881. They are the parents of three sons and five daughters, and have seven-teen grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren. It is almost unbelievable to record that there has never been a death in the immediate family of Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Hazelton.

Mr. and Mrs. Hazelton are members of the Presbyterian Church, Mrs. Hazelton having been active in the church since girlhood. Another affiliation of Mr. Hazelton's is the Sanger Kiwanis Club, of which he was an early member and he has a 100% attendance record since joining.

Mr. Hazelton has achieved a place of financial security through careful planning of his affairs, and being particularly careful about not going into debt. During the worst of the depression years, he always put a 1ittle money aside. When he was building up his cattle business, he added to his herd gradually. His life is a wonderful example for the young people of the present day, many of whom make it a policy to "spend it all."


History of Fresno County 1933 Page 214

W. B. HAZELTON

Wesley B. Hazelton is the son of one of the first settlers in Fresno County, his father, William Hazelton, having come to California in 1849. He settled first at San Diego, and in 1853 came to the San Joaquin Valley and homesteaded on the well-known Hazelton ranch where the Kings River debouches from the Sierra hills.

It was here that W. B. Hazelton was born, February 3, 1860. His mother, Mary Jane (Akers) Hazelton, who died in 1910 (Mary J. HAZELTON died at age 70 on August 26, 1910 in Napa), was a member of another family of the first decade of Fresno history. Four generations of Hazeltons have now worked on the old home place, and Wesley Hazelton's eldest son, John, now is in charge of it. W. B. Hazelton attended school at what was first called Hazelton district and now Orangedale. He lived on the home ranch, which he still owns, until twenty-six years ago, when he moved to Sanger. In addition to the old home place, other land has been bought, so that today the family holdings include about 3,000 acres of which nearly one hundred acres are in oranges. Mr. Hazelton was for many years engaged in cattle raising, but closed out this side of his business about a year ago.

On the old family place are two of the oldest orange trees in the county, planted by W. B. Hazelton's mother in 1862. There is also one of the oldest and largest fig trees in Fresno County on the ranch, which is still bearing. W. B. Hazelton is one of the largest stockholders in the Sanger Citrus association, which he helped organize in 1920, and has served as president almost from the beginning.

Mrs. Hazelton was Amelia Bacon, daughter of Thomas Bacon, and a native of Mariposa County. They were married in 1881, and have eight children John W., Eva Bell (now a nurse at San Mateo); Sophia (Mrs. A. J. Gerner); George E., living at Santa Cruz; Edith (Mrs. Harry Daniels}; Fred B., Alice (Mrs. C. J. Price), of Taft, and Ida May (Mrs. Robert Schwalb), of San Francisco.


History of Plumas, Lassen and Sierra in 1882 page 411

THOMAS J. MULRONEY - He was born in County Kilkenny, Ireland, August 13, 1838. Nine years later the family emigrated to the United States, settling in New York, where Thomas lived until 1857, spending some time in Wisconsin, New Jersey, and Georgia. He came to in 1857, via the Isthmus, arriving in August. He mined for a year on Soda bar, in Plumas county. In the fall of 1858 he came to Lassen county, and engaged in farming and packing. He bought an interest with his brother Edward in a ranch near Susanville, in 1860, which he sold in 1864. In 1862, with Edward and two others, he bought a ranch of 820 acres, four miles east of Janesville. Since 1865 he has been the sole owner of this property, where be still resides. In politics, Mr. Mulroney is a democrat. He married Miss Sarah Thompson, April 6, 1866. She was born in Monroe county, New York, June 9, 1849. Their children were all born in Honey Lake valley: William, January 12, 1868, died July 15, 1869; Ellen, August 18, 1869; Mice, January 24, 1872; Thomas, January 14, 1874; Mary, February 12, 1877; Edward, November 12,1881.


From History of Solano and Napa Counties p996

ISIDORO CHARLES BRAGHETTA.

A native of Switzerland, born in Canton Ticino, February 22, 1861, Mr. Braghetta came to this country at the age of twenty, with only a few dollars in his pocket and no friends to give him more. Coming to California in 1881, he worked on a dairy ranch at Guallala, Sonoma County, where he had an opportunity to learn the dairying business as conducted in this country. Ten months later he came to Napa County and for fifteen months worked in a vineyard on Cedar Knoll ranch, formerly known as the Old Hagan ranch. Hearing of an opening on a dairy ranch three miles north of Vallejo, Solano County, he went there and engaged to work for wages. The next important step was his association in the dairy business with Charles Cantoni, on the Holyoke ranch of four hundred and twenty acres. For thirteen years they operated the dairy near Napa Junction, and then, in 1897, the partnership was amicably dissolved. It had been productive of much good in the experience of Mr. Braghetta for the two worked together with unanimity of purpose and profited by the united effort.

In 1898 Mr. Braghetta bought two hundred and sixteen acres of the Holyoke ranch which he has in wheat, oats and barley, besides which he has a dairy of about forty cows.

Mr. Braghetta is a member of the United Order of Red Men, Vallejo Lodge, and is school trustee of Soscol district. He was married in 1893 to Josephine Beltrametti and they have three children: Eliza, Olga and Mary. Mr. Braghetta is a successful rancher and is honored for his integrity, enterprise and honesty of purpose.


From History of Santa Clara County by Eugene Taylor Sawyer P1616

WILLIAM J. SANOR - As a native son of California and a representative of a pioneer family, W. J. Sanor has proved himself a worthy descendant of one of the most respected pioneers of California. Born September 8, 1888 in San Jose, he is a son of J. E. and Sarah (Higgins) Sanor, both natives of California, and reared in Santa Clara County. The grandfather, Michael Sanor, was an Ohioan by birth, his father and mother being among the early settlers of Columbiana County. He came of a family of farmers, and when they left Ohio in the spring of 1839 and journeyed to Ray County, Mo., they settled on a farm, but Michae1 was not content with farming, so learned wool-carding and the cabinet-maker's trade. He was employed at these occupations until the gold excitement of 1849, when with his father and two of his brothers he crossed the plains with ox teams, reaching Carson Valley early in September 1849 after a little more than four months. Only a short time was spent in the mines, when Mr. Sanor settled on a farm in Santa Clara County, commencing the improvement of a farm of 148 acres in the vicinity of Santa Clara. There the family lived until 1887, when he disposed of his ranch and purchased a home on Delmas Avenue, and while residing there, the mother passed away. The father of our subject, J. E. Sanor, was for many years a businessman of Santa Clara, but he is now living a retired life W.J. Sanor was educated in the schools of Santa Clara. After r graduating from the high school, he went on the road as a wholesale cigar salesman and followed it for ten years; later he entered business for himself and he has steadily increased in volume from year to year. Mr. Sanor's marriage united him with Miss Janie Murray and they are the parents of five children ~ William J. Jr., George H., Sadie Mae, Frances and Janie. Mr. Sanor is a member of the Observatory Parlor N. S. G. W., San Jose.


From History of Santa Clara County p1438

C. G. SPARGUR -- For many years a leading stockman of Modoc County. Cal., C. G. Spargur, has recently purchased a flue ranch home near Mountain View and with his wife are a welcome acquisition to the community. A native of Carson City, Nev., he was born on February 24, 1872, and when but a year old, his parents brought him to Modoc County, Cal., where he grew up and received his schooling. While in his early manhood he became interested in the cattle business, and by steady application to this line of work, became a large stockman and farmer of Modoc County, his acreage finally aggregating 1460 acres of land and for years he kept from 500 to 600 head of cattle, raising them and marketing them in San Francisco. By hard work and intelligent planning, he prospered well. In 1917 he sold his property in Modoc County and removed to San Francisco, where he resided until he purchased his ranch at Mountain View. Mrs. Spargur was Miss Dora Gray of Modoc County, and in September of 1920 they settled in Mountain View on their beautiful and highly improved twenty-acre ranch on the El Monte Road. There are ten acres in prune orchard and ten acres devoted to apricots and is located in one of the finest fruit and residence districts of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Spargur enjoy their beautiful country home, and enter heartily into the spirit of the community which is given to horticulture, rather than stock raising which they had engaged in in Modoc County, and find it an agreeable change. Mr. Spargur is a 32nd degree Mason, being a member of the lodge at Alturas, Cal., and of the Consistory at San Jose, and with his wife belongs to the Eastern Star Chapter at Mountain View. From Death certificate:

Charles G. Spargur born Carson City Nevada
dob Feburary 24, 1872
dod October 2, 1956
father Henry Spargur born Ohio
mother Emma Jensen born Indiana
spouse Widower
burial Alta Mesa Cemetery.


From Annals of San Bernadino County 1769-1904 p304

William Pickett came to San Bernardino in 1858, from San Francisco, where he had been one of the earliest arrivals from the east. He was of more than average ability and although brought up to the trade of a printer was a good lawyer. He brought with him to this city a very good law library-the first law library of any consequence in San Bernardino. At one time he had his office in a little one-room shack on Third street--suitable office rooms were not plenty in the town at that time--and he gave permission to a newly elected justice of the peace to hold his court and transact his business in the same office until he could procure one of his own. Not long afterward Pickett as attorney in a suit before this justice and the latter made several rulings against him ~ the admission and rejection of testimony. This was more than Pickett could stand in his own office, especially as the case was going against him on its merits. In his wrath he ordered the court out of his office-a ruling to which the court meekly submitted. Picking up his docket and his hat, the magistrate directed the jury to re-convene at another place. But there was not much re-convening. Some of them went to the place indicated by the court, some tarried by the wayside, some went the other way, and that was the last of the case in court. Pickett was inclined to be somewhat aggressive in a court which did not know how, or did not have spunk enough to keep him within bounds. But before a competent court with courage to maintain its dignity he knew how and always did keep within the bounds of decorum. He remained here about four years then removed to Los Angeles and later to San Francisco.

Don Carlos PICKETT died age 75 in San Francisco July 26 1928

twin brother of William PICKETT, Jr. and brother to the late Josephine SMITH aka Ina COOLBRITH (CA first poet Laureate)

Son of Wm PICKETT, Sr and Agnes COOLBRITH SMITH PICKETT

Wm. H. PICKETT spouse C. died age 58 Sacramento, July 3 1924

Mrs. Wm H. PICKETT died Feb 16 1949 Sacramento.


From History of San Joaquin County page 523

WILLIAM H. THRUSH. -A California agriculturist who well has merited, by his progressive, scientific industry and his practical results of value to others as well as himself, all the prosperity which has finally crowned his efforts up to the present day, is William H. Thrush, whose splendid ranch on the Waterloo Road has become as fine a demonstration as would be possible of the productivity of San Joaquin County soil. A native son, he was born in the Harmony Grove district of this county, one-mile west of the Harmony Grove schoolhouse, on March 14, 1861, the only son of George and Dora Elizabeth (Ebeling) Thrush both now deceased.

George Thrush was born in Pennsylvania and when a small boy he was taken to Ohio by his parents, where they lived a short time and then removed to Missouri, where he grew to manhood and lived until he came west in 1862. He had married in Missouri and settled down to farm pursuits until the news of the discovery of gold induced him to come to California. Leaving his wife and daughters-all then small children-he started overland with a mule and an ox team and a companion, in the '50s, and in due time arrived at his destination. Some time after locating in this state he and his friend took the smallpox and his friend died; and as soon as he had recovered from the disease he went back East to join his family and at the same time determined to make a permanent location in the Golden State. Settling his affairs he outfitted and with Mrs. Thrush and daughters made the long overland trip driving an ox-cart while his wife drove a mule-team taking the Salt Lake route to California. He was accompanied by Henry Ebeling, the youngest brother of his wife, and he later died in this state. Upon arrival here Mr. Thrush hauled supplies to the mines and later engaged in ranching in the Harmony Grove district where he settled upon his arrival. He sold out his holdings in that locality and bought 640 acres near Modesto and raised grain there until 1871, when he concluded he would try farming back in Missouri once more. Renting his land and equipment with his family he returned to Missouri, bought and stocked a good farm, but only lived there six mouths when he turned again to California. He lived for a time in San Jose and Santa Clara, then came to San Joaquin County in 1874, bought 320 acres of land on the Waterloo Road, eight miles from Stockton, and from that date this section remained his home until his death, September 8, 1907, at the age of seventy-eight years. Mrs. Thrush died at the age of sixty-three. The following children were born to this worthy couple: Ellen married Russell Kincade of Long Beach, and died in 1922, leaving two boys and four girls; Louise is the widow of D. I. Hancock and makes her home with her only daughter, Mrs. Ed Branstead, near Stockton; Marine became the wife of William Bonham and has two sons and one daughter; Edith is the widow of Henry Leffler and the mother of three boys; Fanny is the widow of Nicholas Bacon of Stockton and has one boy and two girls; Alice is Mrs. Wilkes Foreman of Oakland; the seventh in order of birth is William H., our subject; Dora married Thomas Brierly of Oakland and they have one daughter. The last two children were born in California.

William H. Thrush remained at home with his father until he was twenty-one and then started to farm for himself. He leased 160 acres near Linden and raised grain for three years, then came back to the old Thrush ranch on the Calaveras River and in 1892 bought eighty acres of the home estate; later he added ninety-five acres adjoining, part of the Martin property, and this he farms to grain with the exception of about jour acres that he has planted to alfalfa. In 1914 he bought fifty acres of bare land near Linden that he has leased for a period of years and which will be set to fruit trees and vines. Mr. Thrush also owns considerable real estate in Stockton, which makes it more natural that, as a public-spirited citizen and loyal Republican that he should favor any legislation encouraging and protecting agricultural and industrial development. He has made his own way since leaving home and his success is the result of his own efforts.

At Stockton, August 26, 1885, Mr. Thrush was married to Miss Allie Anderson, a native of Carson City, Nevada, and the daughter of William H. and Jane (McBride) Anderson. Her father was born in Hamilton County, Ind., August 22, 1838, and now makes his home with Mr. and Mrs. Thrush. When a child he was taken to Van Buren County, Iowa, by his parents and there reared and educated. He came across the plains to Nevada in 1864, mined and freighted for two years. In 1866 he came to San Joaquin County and until 1886 farmed leased land in the vicinity of Waterloo, then he spent fifteen years in Mendocino County lumbering and since then has lived retired. He is of Scotch ancestry, his paternal grandfather having served in the Revolutionary War, Mrs. Anderson was born in Ohio of Irish parents and she died at the age of thirty-six, leaving two children, H. G. Anderson, an employee of the General Petroleum Company in the Coalinga oil field and Mrs. Thrush.

From CADI George THRUSH died in Healdsburg, Sonoma County at age 78 on September 8 1907.

Listed as the father of Mary KINGCADE (yes, g was put in the name) of Long Beach, Louisa HANCOCK of Waterloo, Marine BONHAM of Linden, Edith LEFFLER of Waterloo, Fanny BACON of Linden, William H. THRUSH of Waterloo, Alice FOREMAN of Healdsburg, Dora BRYERLEY of Oakland. A native of PA, age 78 years 1 month 5 days.

From NDGW

George THRUSH born PA 1829, came to CA in 1852 overland via Oregon, lived in Missouri, Ohio.

Lived in San Joaquin Co. near Lodi 1862, Modesto, Stockton, Waterloo

A farmer

Married Elizabeth EBELING in MO

Children: Mrs. Fannie BACON, Linden

Mrs. Ellen KINCADE, Los Angeles

Mrs. Alice FOREMAN, Oakland

Mrs. Louis HANCOCK, Stockton

William H. THRUSH, Stockton

Mrs. Marion BOUHAM, Stockton

Mrs. Dora BRIENLY, Oakland

Mrs. Edith LEFFLER, Stockton

Miss Ollie THRUSH


From History of Solano and Napa County p997

JULIUS DODINI.

In the list of resourceful farmers of high standing in Solano County we mention the name of Julius Dodini, well known as a leading agriculturist of the northern locality. By birth and ancestry he is of the Swiss race. In a humble home in the little republic nestling at the foot of the Alps he was born in February of 1872, and there he learned life's early lessons of frugality, thrift and industry. When only fifteen years of age he sought the larger opportunities of the new world and since then has been identified with the landed interests of Solano County.

Upon reaching San Francisco in 1887 Mr. Dodini came at once from that city to the Suisun valley and here he worked as a farm hand for three years. With the earnings of that period he embarked in farming for himself and leased a tract of land, on which he engaged in dairying. To his country home in 1895 he brought his bride, who was Miss Mattie Jullieri, a native of Switzerland. Six children bless their union namely: Arthur J., Florentine A., Anna S., Alice G., Agnes N. and Ida Josephine. The parents are solicitous to give their children every advantage their means render possible in order that they may be prepared for whatever responsibilities await them in the future.

Though the exercise of rigid economy Mr. Dodini was enabled to buy a tract of three hundred and twenty acres about nine miles northwest of Suisun. Fruit is now an important part of the farm products there being eighteen acres in apricots, eight acres in figs and nine acres in cherries. In 1907 he purchased three hundred and twenty acres more located four miles west of Dixon, on which he now lives engaged in dairying and farming. Sixty-five acres are in alfalfa, besides grain and pasture land. One hundred and sixty head of cattle are kept on the farm, over one hundred of these being dairy cows, the income from which averaged about $40 per head during the year 1910. Forty head of horses amid mules also are kept on the land, many of these being young stock. There are also about eighty head of hogs kept on the place. The alfalfa yields about seven tons to the acre, and is one of the most profitable crops that can be raised on the land, furnishing the most healthful of hay for the stock.

Mr. Dodini is a Republican. Since 1911 he has served as school trustee of his district and for five years he was school trustee for the island district. Fraternally he holds membership with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Improved Order of Red Men, being an interested worker in the camp and lodge at Dixon. While living in his native land and as yet a mere boy he became a member of the Roman Catholic Church and his interest in that organization has never diminished.


From History of Southern Coast Counties vol 1 p 1119

AUGUST ALBERT GOETTING. A liberal, enterprising citizen. August Albert Goetting is prominent among the upbuilders of Riverside and San Bernardino counties, having been engaged as an agriculturist in this section since 1891. He was born in Gallipolis. Gallia county, Ohio, March 2, 1862, the third in a family of six sons and three daughters born to his parents, August and Fredericka (Hess) Goetting. They were both natives of Germany, where they were married, immigrating to America when Mr. Goetting was but twenty-tour years old. Locating in Ohio, he cleared and improved a hundred and sixty-acre farm on which he and his wife are now living, he being seventy-five and she seventy-three years old. In religion they are members of the Lutheran Church.

August Albert Goetting was the eldest son in the family and was reared on the paternal farm in Ohio, receiving his education in the public schools. He remained at home until attaining his majority, when he went to Franklin county and secured employment on a farm, as that was the work in which he had early been trained. In 1889 he came to California and in Los Angeles entered the employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company, as a carpenter in the bridge and building department. He was located between Fresno and Reno, Nev., for two years, when he returned to Southern California and in San Timoteo canon, near El Casco, established an apiary. This enterprise he continued successfully until 1895, when he rented the old C. W. Gower place and continued the management of an apiary and general farming. In October 1906, he purchased his present farm, which consists of one hundred and sixty acres, well improved and highly cultivated, general farming and an apiary of two hundred stands occupying his attention. He has been very successful in his work and is esteemed among the farmers of this section both for his ability as an agriculturist, as well as personal qualities of character, his liberality and enterprise placing him high in the citizenship of El Casco. August 14, 1898, Mr. Goetting was married to Miss Annie J. Singleton, a native of this section and a daughter of William Singleton. In his fraternal relations Mr. Goetting is a member of the Odd Fellows lodge of Redlands and politically he is a stanch adherent of Democratic principles. He is a member of the California Bee Keepers' Association, in which be takes an active and helpful interest.


From History of CA and Southern Coast V2 page 2253

J. J. LASWELL. As an industrious, enterprising and progressive man, J. J. Lasswell has for a number of years been actively identified with the leading interests of San Luis Rey, and is a worthy representative of its skill and prosperous agriculturists. A son of the late Uriah Laswell, he was born, June 25, 1862, in Rockcastle County, Ky., where he was reared and educated.

A native of Kentucky, Uriah Laswell was born March 24, 1833. A farmer from choice, he was engaged in agricultural pursuits in his native state for many years, accumulating some money. Migrating then to Missouri, he purchased two hundred and twenty acres of land on the Platte River, and by means of energetic toil and wise management improved a valuable ranch, on which he resided until his death, in 1909. A man of strong personality, he obtained a position of influence in his Missouri home, becoming one of the leading Democrats of the place, and serving for some time as county clerk. Fraternally he was a Mason and both he and his wife were members of the Baptist Church, with which they united when young. His wife, whose maiden name was Caroline French, spent her entire life in Kentucky, dying at a comparatively early age. Of the eight children born of their union, seven are living, one son, besides J. J., being a resident of California.

Having completed his early education in the common schools of Kentucky, J. J. Laswell assisted his father in the care of the home ranch, obtaining a practical knowledge of general farming and horse breeding and raising. Leaving the parental roof when twenty years of age, he came to California in search of riches, and for about eight years worked in the silver mines of San Bernardino county. Locating in the San Luis Rey valley about 1890, he first purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land at Vista, and having improved it subsequently disposed of it at an advantage. Purchasing then a ranch at San Luis Rey, he devoted his time and energies to its improvement, and in course of time had a large part of its one hundred and twenty-eight acres in a tillable condition, and in addition to raising corn and alfalfa became one of the leading dairymen of this section of the valley, keeping about thirty cows. In 1906 Mr. Laswell sold this property, and moved to Chino, San Bernardino County, where he purchased an alfalfa ranch.

October 13, 1888, Mr. Laswell married Catherine Hughes, who was born in Wales, and came to California with her parents in 1887. Her father, Dana Hughes, died in California, but her mother is still living. Of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Laswell six children were born. Politically Mr. Laswell is an adherent of the Democratic Party, and fraternally he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Religiously both Mr. and Mrs. Laswell are consistent and valued members of the Baptist Church.


From History of CA and Southern Coast Vol 1 page 1605

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN LASSWELL. A successful ranchman, B. F. Lasswell is located three-quarters bf a mile west of Compton, Los Angeles County, where on his twenty-acre ranch he is extensively engaged in the raising of a1falfa and the prosecution of his dairy interests. He is a native of the middle west, his birth having occurred in the southern part of Illinois, February 7, 1844, he being a son of the late Isaac Lasswell, a native of Virginia, who removed to the Prairie state and engaged in farming for a livelihood. The father made his home in Illinois for many years, engaging prominently in public affairs, and as a Democrat was elected to the office of sheriff, where he ably discharged the duties incumbent upon him. After the death of his wife, formerly Anna Norton, also a native of Virginia, he came to California and followed ranching pursuits in Lincoln, Placer County, until his death. He was a Mason, and in religion belonged to the Baptist church.

B. F. Lasswell remained a member of the parental family until attaining his majority, receiving his education through an attendance of the common school in the vicinity of his home, and also engaging with his father in general farming in Hamilton County. He finally engaged independently in the work renting land in his native state until 1868, in which year he was married and came to California. He first located in Marysyille, Yuba county, where he remained for a short time, when he became a rancher in Ventura county and followed these pursuits for nine or ten years coming to Compton at the close of that period he purchased his present property, consisting of thirty-two acres, holding the same in his possession until about one year ago, when he disposed of twelve acres. The balance of the property is devoted to the raising of alfalfa and dairy purposes. He is an esteemed citizen of this community, where he takes a helpful interest in public affairs.

Mrs. Lasswell was formerly Anna Flynn, a native of Ireland, whose parents brought her to America during her childhood. They located in the east and spent the balance of their lives in Boston, Mass. About six years ago Mrs. Lasswell suffered a paralytic stroke, which has seriously affected her health. Mr. and Mrs. Lasswell belong to the Catholic Church and politically Mr. Lasswell is a stanch adherent of the principles advocated in the platform of the Democratic party.


From the History of Harbor District of Los Angeles page 607

CORTIS R. BARTELL

As a carpenter and boat builder Cortis R. Bartell is well known in San Pedro and about the Harbor District. In 1920 he identified himself with the organization of the H-b Water Taxi Company of San Pedro, and since that time has run a boat about the harbor. He was born in Fort Worth, Texas, June 12, 1882, and was a son of F.M. and Belle (Henry) Bartell. The father was a rancher near Colorado City, Texas, well known and prominent in his neighborhood. It was in the grade schools of that city that the son received his education. Shortly after leaving school he went to Roswell, New Mexico, and found work as a carpenter.

In 1902 Mr. Bartell came to San Pedro and entered the employ of Hardeson & Carse, boat builders in East San Pedro, and remained with that company for three years. Following this he worked for L. Larson as a boat builder in East San Pedro and continued at that business for six years. Seeing possibilities in the fishing business, he built for himself a fishing boat and during the seven years that followed was in business for himself as a fisherman. In 1920 he became identified with the H-10 Water Taxi Company.

Mr. Bartell was married in San Francisco in 1925 to Miss Sadie Cornell, a native of Michigan. Mr. Bartell has no political affiliations but states that he is interested in the progress of his community and will vote for the right man regardless of his party. He owns his own home in San Pedro and spends a great deal of his spare time hunting, fishing and touring. The Harbor District is, in his opinion, the ideal community for prosperity.


From the History of Harbor District of Los Angeles page 726

ERNEST W. BARTELL

One of the most unique business organizations in San Pedro is the H-10 Water Taxi Company which was formed in 1922 by Ernest W. Bartell, present treasurer of this company, and four partners. This is the only business of its kind in the world. The company controls seventeen boats carrying from fifty to sixty passengers each, three of which are operated and owned by Mr. Bartell, and run to the fleet and other vessels anchored off shore. The boats are available at any time during the day or night and engage in a general taxi business on water. At the time the company was organized Mr. Bartell started with an old fishing boat but he succeeded in organizing a company consisting of those who were operating small passenger carrying boats at that time and secured a franchise from the city for the H-10 Water Taxi Company. The three boats which he now owns and operates were constructed especially for passenger service and the company is in a flourishing condition. Upon its organization shares sold for one dollar, issued in blocks of forty, but blocks of shares in 1927 were sold for four thousand dollars. In 1926 about half a million people were carried with no injury to any.

Mr. Bartell was born in Texas, October 1, 1889, a son of F. M. and Belle (Henry) Bartell. The father was a contractor and rancher of the Lone Star state and, after receiving a grade school education; the son was a cowboy for a time. He came to San Pedro in 1902 and helped to paint the San Pedro Bank building. After one year devoted to painting he found work at longshoring and fishing and operated his own fishing boat for about eleven years. Since organizing the H-b Water Taxi Company in 1922 he has devoted all of his time to the conduct of that business.

In 1918 Mr. Bartell was married in San Pedro to Mrs. Gladys Anderson, a native of Iowa, and a daughter of J. 0. Vail. By her first marriage there is a son, Edward Anderson. Mr. Bartell is a democrat in politics. He is fond of hunting, fishing, touring and camping.


History of Monterey and San Benito Counties 1910 Vol 2 page 347

JOHN NEWLOVE.

The twenty-five years covering the period of John Newlove's residence in California represented an era of great activity on his part, resulting in the' accumulation of large landed tracts and extensive stock interests and resulting as well in the attainment of an honored position as an upright man, generous friend, accommodating neighbor and sagacious citizen. The welfare and progress of his adopted home were ever near his heart, then people began to purchase lands in greater numbers, when values rose in proportion, and when villages developed into important cities, he felt that his early predictions had been fulfilled and that the great west was coming into its own heritage. The climate of the coast country he always held to be unrivalled. His own early experiences had familiarized him with the fogs of England and later with the rigors of Canadian winters; hence he was amply qualified to appreciate the mild and sunny climate of the west.

Born in Lincolnshire, England, May 29, 1832, John Newlove was only fourteen years of age when he crossed the ocean and settled in the vicinity of Toronto, Canada. Here some years later he was joined by a brother and two sisters. He had a thirst for knowledge, but was able to secure only a limited schooling; however, he was a great reader and improved his time when he was not engaged in work in reading good books and in this way lie made of himself a well-educated man. After he arrived in Canada he found employment on a farm and worked for wages until lie was married, and after that he rented land and was engaged independently until he came to California. He had become dissatisfied with the long and severe Canadian winters and (luring 1864 he came to California by way of the Isthmus of Panama. His first location in the state was near Linden, San Joaquin County, on land he leased, and here he tried ranching until 1867, when he came to Monterey county and leased land near Santa Rita, that was owned by a Mr. Soto. This included large acreage suitable for grain and he accordingly gave his attention to raising wheat and barley on this place for three years. He then moved to the Graves ranch and continued with success for three years more. In 1873 he moved to San Luis Obispo County, settling near the town of that name, and there he devoted the greater part of his time to stock raising, meeting with good success in this line.

The last removal made by Mr. Newlove was in 1881, when he took tip his home in the Santa Maria valley, Santa Barbara county, and there he bought a large tract of land and improved it, making it one of the most valuable in the section and this later became one of the most valuable tracts in the state, as here oil has been developed iii large quantities. He lived on this place until his death, in 18S0, when he passed away amid the scenes of his labors and was recognized as one of the leading men in the county, one whose word was as good as his bond and who had been liberal and just to all with whom he came in contact, either in business or socially. When it is considered that he came to the state without means and that in twenty-five years he had accumulated a competency and reared a large family, it will be conceded that he was a man of ability and resource. During his residence in the various places in the state he was always in favor of good schools and served as trustee for many years to maintain competent teachers. Other movements for the general upbuilding of the state found in him a hearty coworker.

December 15, 1860, in Canada, John Newlove and Miss Maria Beynon were united in marriage. She was born, reared and educated in Canada and after four years they came to California, where Mrs. Newlove has since resided and now makes her home in Pacific Grove, surrounded by her children, whom it has been her ambition to fit for positions of trust and responsibility. The family comprises the following children: Sarah J., who became the wife of H. W. Head, the family residing in Pacific Grove; Charles W., also a resident of that city; Frank H., residing on a ranch at Rio Grande; Henrietta L., the wife of R. F. Martin, of Santa Maria; Ida A., who became the wife of F. C. Twitchell and lives in Orcutt; Walter I., of Pacific Grove; Ernest A., of Santa Maria; and Percy E., of Santa Cruz. Wilbur W. died at the age of twenty-four years and two children died in early childhood. The sons in their several fields of labor are following the example set by their father and inherit his sterling qualities and like him are willing to do their share to advance local interests.


History of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and San Luis Obispo vol 2, page 277

PROF. CHARLES C. HILL

The principal of the high school at Salinas is the representative of an old Massachusetts family, and was born in Dundee, Ill., in 1870. His father, Rev. D. D. Hill, is one of the well-known Congregational ministers on the coast and was pastor of the church of that denomination which he erected at Pasadena. He was a courageous soldier in the Civil war and participated in most of the important battles as a volunteer in the 'Fifth Wisconsin Cavalry. Of the two children born into his family, Edith L. is a graduate of the Leland university, and, and like her brother is engaged in educational work. Mrs. Hill was formerly Louise Rau.

The education of Professor Hill was acquired in the public schools of Illinois, and a preparatory school in Beloit, Wis., whither his father had in the meantime removed. He came to Los Angeles, Cal., in 1888, and was graduated from the Los Angeles Normal in 1890, and from the Stanford University in 1895. Thus equipped, he taught in the schools of Los Angeles and Southern California for a time, and seven years ago came to Salinas where, for four years he was assistant of the high school. For the last three year he has been principal of the high school, an institution acknowledged to be one of the best in the state, considering the size of the town. Mr. Hill is singularly adapted to his chosen work, and is one of the foremost educators in this part of California. His theories as to educational training are in accord with the methods adopted in the most advanced centers of learning, or are perhaps more wisely conceived by the light of his own particular environment and individual experience. The influence of a strong and genial personality has been an important factor in the accomplishment of his success, and a pronounced sincerity and sympathy, without which the efforts of the cultivated master, however great, were vain.

In 1891, Professor Hill was united in marriage with Mattie A. Williams, daughter of Matthew Williams, one of the earliest and most prominent farmers and stock-raisers in Monterey County.


Illustrated History of Southern CA page 880

C. F. MANSUR, cashier of the Orange County Savings, Loan and Trust Company at Santa Ana, was born in Barnston, Ontario, Canada, July 8 1840. At the age of fourteen years he came to the United States and located at Randolph, Wisconsin, upon a farm. During the war he enlisted in the Eighth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, better known as the "Live Eagle Regiment," because they carried a live eagle through the war. After the war Mr. Mansur returned to Wisconsin, followed farming two years, then was a merchant a year or two iii Canada, and in 1867 came to California where he was engaged in the mercantile business for ten years at Camptonville, during which time he was postmaster also at that place. In 1878 he came to Santa Ana, where he has since lived. He owns several fine fruit farms near the city, and other valuable property. For several years he was a director in the Santa Ana Valley Fruit Company, and made several trips to Chicago in its interests, and is still its acting secretary. April 8, 1889, he organized the company of which he is now the cashier, and August 1 opened for business. Capital $100,000. Officers: Carey B. Smith, President; I. N. Rafferty, Vice-president; C. F. Mansur, Cashier. This company, though in its infancy, shows that it is destined to be one of the leading enterprises in the enterprising city of Santa Ana.

Mr. Mansur was married in Wisconsin, in 1861, to Miss C. L. Gale, from Vermont, just before he entered the service of his country. They have brought lip a family of six children, the eldest of whom is now a merchant in Chicago.


Illustrated History of Southern CA page 328

ISRAEL METZ.-Just to the east of the rail-road, one mile north of Perris, is a 160-acre ranch without a stump or stone on the whole property. This is the ranch and home of Mr. Israel Metz. He settled on the then wild Government land September 29, 1884, and made the adobe brick and built a very comfortable home, and planted his grounds to trees, shrubs and flowers. Mr. Metz is a native of Chester County, Pennsylvania, and was born November 12, 1831. His grandfather, John Metz, was a native of Germany, but settled in Pennsylvania, where his son, Israel Metz's father, was born, raised and married to Miss Anna Doan in 1830. They had a family of eleven, of which Mr. Metz was the eldest. When quite young his parents removed to Iowa, where he received his education. He learned the cooper's trade before he became of age, and worked at it about three years, and has worked at it, more or less, all his life. Lie farmed in Iowa for five years, and came to California in 1855. He has resided in Santa Clara and San Joaquin counties, and lived within seven miles of Stockton for twelve years, on a farm which he owned. He was in San Benito County four years. Then he went to Sonoma County, then to Tehama, and then to Shasta. While at the latter place he got the chills and fever, and came south to San Diego County in 1884, and settled in his present home. He has been a resident of California for thirty-four years, and has seen much of pioneer life when there were but few settlers; no railroads, and few of the privileges or enjoyments of civilization. He was married March 15, 1853, to Miss Margaret Wiley, who was born in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, November 24, 1832. She was a daughter of Mr. James Wiley, a native of VA, born April 11, 1802. They have had five children: Amanda Elizabeth, born in Santa Clara County, November 28, 1855; she is married to Mr. La Fayette Flood, and their land adjoins her father's. Albert W., born in San Joaquin County, December 17, 1857, and married to Miss Trulover; their home is on the same section. Teressa Elnora, born in San Joaquin County, September 16, 1859; Joseph Orlando, born in Los Angeles County, February 8, 1870. Mrs. Metz is a member of the Christian Church. Mr. Metz is a pleasant and sociable man and an excellent neighbor.


History of San Joaquin Valley page 1336

JAMES SHARPE TANNAHILL. Born in Huntingdon County, Quebec, Canada November 17, 1848, J. S. Tannahill is a son of John and Marian (Caldwell) Tannahill, the former born near Glasgow, Scotland. At an early day he immigrated to Canada, setting in Huntingdon County, where he cleared a farm of one hundred and fifty acres. In 1850 he came to California via the Isthmus of Panama, but after one year returned to his home in Canada, where he had left his family, and where he died a few days afterward, from a fever that he had contracted while in the west. His wife, who was also born in Scotland, became the mother of two sons and five daughters. She died at the old home in 1881.

James S. Tannahill was reared on his father's farm in Canada, making it his home until reaching his twenty-first year, when he was apprenticed to learn the trade of a miller. Two years later, in 1871, he migrated westward and finally reached California. Soon after arriving here he located in Redwood City, San Mateo county, where be secured employment as a carpenter after conducting a mill for one month, being compelled to make the change on account of ill health. Continuing to make his residence in Redwood City until 1891, he then removed to Fresno County and engaged in ranching. During the years he lived in San Mateo County he owned and operated a planing mill and followed contracting and building and followed contracting and building most of the time. Many of the finest residences in that place and at Menlo Park were constructed by him.

The first three and one-half years of his residence in Fresno county Mr. Tannahill devoted his attention to farming and growing grapes, but at the expiration of that time moved into the city of Fresno and has since been following general contracting and building, now being one of the leading builders in the San Joaquin Valley. Among the more prominent residences that he has erected may be mentioned the Kearney mansion, the home of James Brown and others. He has also erected for himself a nice home at No. 442 Blackstone Avenue.

While living in San Mateo county Mr. Tannahill was united in marriage with Isabelle Stewart and to them have been born seven children, namely: Marion, Archibald. Leslie. Norman, Jennie and Gertrude. Politically Mr. Tannahill is a stanch Republican and while he does not care to take an active part in public affairs he is deeply interested in the questions of the day, and while living in Redwood City was for three years a member of the city council. In fraternal relations he holds membership with the Improved Order of Red Men and the Order of St. Andrew. Starting at the bottom of the ladder, he has gradually forged his wav to the front and by the exercise of his own efforts has accumulated a comfortable competency and has attained a position of influence in the state.


History of Solano and Napa Counties page 588

CAPT. ORRINGTON L. HENDERSON.

Associated with many avenues of development inaugurated and carried through to successful completion in Solano county is the fine and noble life of the late Capt. Orrington L. Henderson, who was born in Rangor. Me.. May 27, 1838, and who died in Vallejo, Cal., July 18,1903. Up to the age of twenty years his life was associated with the rock-hound coast of his native state, which he left at that time to try his luck in the mines of California. He did not remain in the mines long, however, and later was variously employed in San Francisco for two years.

The year 1860 marks the date of Captain Henderson's advent in Vallejo, when the war cloud was hovering over the nation, and when disruption came he joined the ranks and did his part in the defense of the Union with the restoration of peace he settled down to the quiet pursuit of his calling of carriage builder, and the shop which he maintained on Mann street for many years attracted much of the best trade of the town and surrounding country. In time the original quarters were outgrown on account of increased business, and the removal of the shop to Capitol Street was timely and advantageous, business being carried on at this location until ill health forced Captain Henderson to retire. To an extent not enjoyed by many men Captain Henderson had the faculty of making money rapidly, but money getting was far from being his main object in life, as his many activities in outside matters plainly indicate. He was a prominent member of the fire department, believing that such public duty was due from every citizen, and as chief of the department for many terms he rendered faithful service to his fellow citizens. From early manhood he had been interested in military affairs and his election to the captaincy of the Frishie Guard, a crack military company was an honor of which he was justly proud.

Probably nowhere was Captain Henderson more genuinely welcomed than in fraternal circles and his work in behalf of the various organizations with A. M.; past eminent commander of Naval Commandery. K. T.; and past grand commander of the Grand Commandery of California. Knights Templar. In the Odd Fellows he was the prime mover in the organization of the first Canton of the Patriarchs Militant, and as its captain drilled one team which won a trophy in competition with teams from all parts of the state. Upon the reorganization of the Canton he was again honored with the office of drill master and gave the new members the elements of their military training. He was also a member of the Red Men and the Grand Army of the Republic. In 1890 his fellow citizens elected him to the office of sheriff of Solano county, and if any expression of their satisfaction was necessary, it was shown beyond a doubt two years later when he was re-elected to the same office. In 1895 he retired from public office and from that time until his death confined his attention to his Private business.

The first marriage of Captain Henderson occurred in San Francisco, and united him with Nettie Dunlap, and the three children born of this union are all living Ethel, Mrs. Clark, of San Francisco; Mary, Mrs. Pedler, of Oakland; and Edwin H., of Vallejo. His second marriage was celebrated in 1896 and united him with Eliza McWilliams, a native of Portland, Ore. The widow cherishes two mementoes which bear silent testimony to the high regard in which Captain Henderson was held by those with whom he was associated in years gone by, a silver trumpet presented to him by the fire company and a beautiful sword given to him by his military company. So versatile were his accomplishments that it would be difficult to suggest a place that he could not fill creditably, and with all his accomplishments he was still the simple-hearted, approachable man, which is the mark of the true gentleman.


Historical and Biographical Record of Oakland Page 638

JOHN BAKEWELL

In 1891 the Episcopal Church located at the corner of Telegraph Avenue and Twenty-ninth Street, Oakland, was built under the supervision of Rev. Dr. John Bakewell, one of the most eminent religious divines of the Pacific coast. Not only did he through thrift and energy raise the money to build the church from many different sources, hut from his own means bought the valuable lot and gave it as a present to the congregation. Upon the completion of the building he became rector and aced in this capacity for some years, without remuneration, until his resignation in 1903 in favor of Rev. Clifton Macon. This church or mission was built at a cost of $9,000, and when completed was absolutely free from indebtedness. Although resigned from activity in the pulpit, Dr. Bakewell is still retained for service in Trinity Parish, under the title of rector emeritus, and is now living retired at his beautiful home on property adjoining the church at No. 1219 Telegraph Avenue.

Dr. Bakewell is a native of Pittsburg, Pa, horn in the year 1838, and in that city his grandfather settled in the beginning of the last century. He was an expert glass manufacturer and built the first glass manufacturing plant west of the Alleghenies. Dr. Blackwell's parents were John P. and Ann (Stevenson) Bakewell, the latter a native of England. Of their family of six children John was the third son and fifth child in order of birth. John Bakewell graduated from Trinity College at Hartford, Conn., after which he went to Atchison, Kans., taking charge of a congregation there and building the first Episcopal Church, completing it without any indebtedness being left upon the property. In this connection it is well to mention that of all the churches established and built by Dr. Bakewell none was ever completed with a debt upon it. From Atchison Dr. Bakewell went to Topeka, there rebuilding the church, and from there went to Trenton, N. J., where he also rebuilt the church. The ill health of his wife induced him to come to California, and in Santa Barbara he built a fine church, of which he had charge until i888. In 1891 he came to Oakland, and of what he has accomplished during the intervening years mention has already been made.

Dr. Bakewell has been twice married, his first wife being Maria Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Hubbard and Frances (Burling) Vail, her father being the first bishop of Kansas. Born of this union were seven children, one of whom died in infancy, and the others are as follows Harriet Burling; Ann; John, Jr., an architect of San Francisco; Thomas Vail, an attorney; Benjamin, a physician; and Walter B.

Dr. Bakewell's first wife died in 1883, at the age of forty-two years, and he was later married to Harriet Winslow, a descendant of Governor Winslow, the first governor of Massachusetts. Dr. Bakewell is a member of the I. K. A. of Trinity College, Hartford, one of the oldest secret societies of America, and in which he has held numerous offices. He is also a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity, and is a member of the standing committee of the Diocese of California. From a personal viewpoint Dr. Bakewell is a man who is winning and pleasing in his manner, genuine in his interest in the numberless friendships which he forms, and is loved by all who know him, honored for his personal characteristics, his business judgment, his stanch integrity, and the unselfishness of the life he has lived for others.


History of Humboldt County page 1025

GEORGE F. WOODCOCK.-It is a noteworthy fact that the average pioneer is a stronger man at an advanced age than is the product of a modern and more complicated civilization, and one of the splendid evidences of this is George F. Woodcock, of Rohnerville, who, although almost eighty years of age, conducts a thrifty little ranch of some twenty odd acres between Rohnerville and Fortuna, where he may be found hard at work every yin the year. He is capable of doing as hard a day's work as a man half his years, and is not in the least distressed thereby, rather enjoying the exhilaration of the strenuous exercise. For more than half a century he has resided in California, being variously engaged during that long and eventful period, although for twenty-seven years he was in the employ of one company, being one of their most trusted and trustworthy men.

Mr. Woodcock is a native of Charlotte county, New Brunswick, having been born March 20, 1837. His father, David Woodcock, was a native of Maine, as was his paternal grandfather, also David Woodcock. Both lived and died in New Brunswick, although they were essentially American in their sympathies and ideas. The father was married in New Brunswick to Miss Sarah Thomas, a native of that province. He was a shoemaker by trade, the grandfather being a carpenter, and both were industrious and prosperous, although neither ever accumulated riches. There were nine children in the family of David Woodcock, six boys and three girls, George F., the subject of this sketch, being the eighth child. The eldest member of the family was a daughter, Ann Woodcock, who later married Elias Smith and is living in New Brunswick at the age of almost ninety years. One of the brothers, James Woodcock, was a teamster and bridge builder in Humboldt County, for many years, where he died. George F. Woodcock received very few educational advantages, there being opportunity for attending school only a few brief months in the winter. He began work as a lumberman when a boy in his native province and became at an early age inured to hardship and severe manual labor. He came to California by way of the Isthmus of Panama, going at once into the gold mines on the American river in Placer County, arriving there the latter part of September 1859. Times were then very hard and he secured the necessary outfit for the wood chopper, laid in a simple supply of food and "batched" while he chopped wood, receiving in wages $4 per day. Later he engaged in gold mining, but did not find that the returns were satisfactory, and so gave that up. He tried to enlist in the Civil war, but was unable to get into the company that he desired, and so went north into Humboldt County, going to Eureka, where he went to work in the lumber woods. He was employed by the D. R. Jones Company and for twenty-seven years remained with them, during the last fifteen years of that time being in charge of their outside work, and much of the time running three teams and one hundred twenty men. He was married in Eureka, in 1880, to Miss Mary Wilson, the daughter of Eli G. Wilson, a stonemason by trade, a minister in the United Brethren Church, and well known in Eureka. Three years after his marriage Mr. Woodcock determined to engage in farming and so came to Rohnerville and purchased his present home property three-quarters of a mile from town. Here he has established a pleasant home and keeps the property under a high state of cultivation through his own industrious application and splendid judgment.

Mr. and Mrs. Woodcock have become the parents of eleven children, all except one of whom have grown to maturity. They are all well known in Humboldt County, where they were horn and educated, and where they now make their homes. They are all industrious' and prosperous, having inherited the splendid traits of character that distinguish both their parents. They are: Lillie, the wife of the late L. M. Nason, a school teacher, who died in Eureka in 1914; George, a woodsman for the Eel River Valley Lumber Company: Fred, residing at home; Frank, a teacher; Gladys, the wife of Ed Baxter, a woodsman, and residing in Rohnerville; James, attending school in Eureka; Percy, a teacher on the Klamath river; Clara, Blanche and Grace, residing at home.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Woodcock are exceptionally interesting people and both are interested in many things outside their immediate home. They are particularly active in church work and are members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Rohnerville, of which Mr. Woodcock is a trustee, while Mrs. Woodcock is the superintendent of the Sunday school. Mr. Woodcock is a Progessive in his political preferences and personally he is all that the term implies, especially on questions of local import, and is always to be found in support of any movement that tends for the religious, educational or social betterment of the community. In his home life Mr. Woodcock has been especially happy.


History of Humboldt County page 952

MRS. MARGARET SMITH COBB.-An author of note, and known among her literary friends as "The Lady of the Hills" is Mrs. Margaret Smith Cobb, at present residing on her ranch some four miles from Garberville, where she has made her home for many years. Mrs. Cobb is a woman of rare ability and charm, and her literary skill is of a superior order. She published a California romance in 1913 which has had a wide circulation. It is ''Blaxine, Half-breed Girl," a tale which, like Helen Hunt Jackson's "Ramona," deals with the life of a beautiful half-breed girl.

This tale has received the favorable comment of the best critics and has been especially praised by California writers, including Joaquin Miller and Jack London, both of whom give it their unqualified approval, the former having declared that "it is dearer to me than 'Ramona'," and adding that it is ''the masculine to Helen Hunt's feminine.'' Mrs. Cobb has the manuscript to several other novels which will appear within a limited time and she is planning to publish a volume of her poems in 1915. These manuscripts were ready for the publisher when the death of her husband occurred and so disturbed the current of her life that for the last year she has given very little time to her literary efforts.

Mrs. Cobb claims that her ability as a literary woman is simply a heritage. Anyone blessed with the wonderful father and mother that were her own must naturally and necessarily be a writer. She is the daughter of Thomas Smith, a native of Michigan, a dreamer and frontiersman, and Donna Anna Zeparra, of a titled family of Chile.

When but a boy, Mrs. Cobb's father was in the commission of the government, moving the Pottawattamie Indians to the west of the Mississippi. This awakened in him a love for the Indians, to understand something better in their nature than savagery. In 1846 he crossed the plains to California, and while on this trip there were the most friendly relations with the Sioux and Comanches. Arriving in California, he enlisted under John C. Fremont and served under him during the war with Mexico. He was working in the timber, where Oakland now stands, when gold was discovered, and Aunt Jane Wymer, who tested the gold in the kettle of soft soap, was an aunt by marriage.

Shortly after this he became associated with a party that made a trip through the wilds of Trinity county. Redemeyer of Ukiah, Requa of Long Valley and Jewett of Harris were members of this party. They found no gold and the Indians were very troublesome, forcing them to make a stand against them where Harris is now situated. It was on this trip that the dreamer and adventurer first- saw Long Valley in Mendocino. He loved the beauty of the high vale in the mountains and the next year, in 1852, returned to make his selection of a home in the valley that had charmed him. Far up in this wilderness he lived several years, building the log house that still stands on the land and splitting out fencing from the virgin timber. In 1858 he returned to San Jose for the wife he was to take away to share the wilds with him.

Donna Anna Zeparra was a Chilean lady, a granddaughter of Don Juan de Lieva, a well known figure in Chilean history and one of a lone line of Castilian nobility. Donna Anna was a daughter of the rich and one of a family intensely Catholic, nuns and priests following both sides of the family. The de Lieva family owned a magnificent property in the Rincon Valley near Valparaiso. Don Juan was a proud old Tory during the war for independence, and would have been treated as one when the Chileans won their freedom, but it was too widely known how he had opened his granaries to the poor of both parties. In honor to this kindness, he was pardoned (an usual thing during those cruel years) and made governor for life in that section where he lived. The family had great pride in their title, their Castilian blood and in their deeds toward the church. It was a grand-aunt of Donna Anna, Donna Monecita, who founded the great Carmelite convent at San Felipe. Donna Anna was left an orphan at six years, and her stories of her childhood, of playing in the great garden where the red lilies grew as tall as her head, or sitting at evening watching the flames belch forth from Mt. Aconcagua are yet stories of wonder. In 1850 she was brought to California by her god-father and god-mother and soon afterward entered Notre Dame convent at San Jose to be a nun and teacher. She had determined to become a nun and had taken the first vows when she met the man who was to be her husband, while recovering from an illness at her godmother's. It was a case of true love at first sight, the frail Spanish maiden loving the daring blond frontiersman. They were married in a short time, Bishop Alameda officiating at the ceremony. Then they set out for the wilds. The young husband drove a yoke of cattle and carried with him three hundred fruit trees, ornamental trees and rose cuttings, while the bride carried her great Spanish dictionary and grammar and her finest embroidery and lace needles. Arriving at their home the little wife embroidered and wrote Latin poems, when for months at a rime her only companions were the Indian squaws who looked upon her as some rare queen. When the first baby was born the second year after their arrival, it possessed six long skirts embroidered their full length so heavily that one could scarcely find the space to set a finger down on unembellished cloth.

Donna Anna became the mother of eight children, Mrs. Cobb being the sixth. Mrs. Cobb's opportunities for schooling were very scanty, the dreamer-father was never a maker of money, but the teaching of her mother was always her aid. Listening to the wonderful stories that her father and mother could tell was a natural advantage to her trend of literature. During her childhood she read many of the classics, including all the works of Shakespeare. At seventeen she began to write poems, but did nothing of great merit until her twenty-seventh year. In that year her poem "The Drowned Man's Song" was brought out by Ambrose Bierce in the San Francisco Examiner with his praise. Ever after Pierce proved a friend to her in her literary work.

Mrs. Cobb has not done a great amount of literary work; she has always had to contend with ill health-but what she has done has been pronounced exquisite. Mr. and Mrs. Jack London are warm personal friends of Mrs. Cobb and it was Mr. London who presented her poem to the Century. This poem was copied and recopied throughout the east with the following comment of Mr. London: "The poem 'Unkissed' which is published in the September Century, came to the Century through Jack London, who sent it with the following comment 'I am sending you what I consider, under the circumstances, a most remarkable poem. The writer, Margaret Smith Cobb, is a mountain woman, who has lived all her life in the remotest mountain districts of California, far beyond the reach of any railroad. The author's mother came from the west coast of South America in 1849, so you can see that from the time of her birth to the present moment, the writer has lived a most primitive life. Yet this poem of hers has the control, the restraint, the simplicity and the chastity that would mark the expression of an elder and old country civilization, such as that of England.

Mrs. Cobb was born in San Jose, where she remained at the old Mission until she was six years of age, when her parents removed again to their ranch at the headwaters of the south fork of the Eel river. She met and married Oliver C. Cobb a native of the state of Maine, born in l858.

He came to California and became the owner of a ranch of sixteen hundred acres on the Eel River south of Garberville, where his widow now resides. He was a member of a splendid family, and was a brother of Charles H. Cobb, of Seattle, Wash., millionaire real estate and mill owner of that place. His death occurred in Oakland. May 16,1914. Mrs. Cobb is the mother of two children, Lillian, the wife of Samuel McCash, a native of California, who now rents and operates the Cobb ranch, and Yvonne, aged eleven years.

Mrs. Cobb lives a busy life, but she finds time to devote to her literary work. Among her unpublished works are two novels, the "Gold Squaw ' and "Gad Wright," both of which will appear shortly. Mr. and Mrs. Jack London are warm personal friends of Mrs. Cobb and have been entertained by her at her ranch home. Mr. London is an eager admirer of her work. George Sterling is also another admirer of her poems, characterizing her lines as "exquisite." As a means of diversion, and as an outlet and satisfaction for her artistic imagination, Mrs. Cobb also does landscape painting, and has produced some very creditable canvases, both in water colors and in oils. She also makes a rare and beautiful grade of Spanish point lace, an accomplishment which she learned from her talented mother.

It is also a noteworthy fact that with her splendid artistic and literary ability Mrs. Cobb yet possesses a business ability and power of sane and safe judgment that is unusual. She understands the conduct of her business interests and keeps in close touch with all the details of her properties. She is well informed on all questions of public interest and is progressive and modern in her appreciation of public needs. She has never taken an active part in the suffrage movement, but is an advocate of freedom and fuller life for women and fully appreciates the advantages that have been accorded to the sex in California.


History of Sacramento County CA page 720

CHARLES TRAVER.--Among those who, coming to California in the early days, have amassed a fortune and become prominent as representative men in this "the land of golden promise," the subject of this sketch ranks among the most widely and favorably known. The story of his life carries with it a lesson fully illustrating what may be accomplished, even tinder adverse circumstances, by perseverance and well-directed energy. He was horn at Cincinnati, Ohio, and was but a child when taken to South Bend, Indiana, where he was raised in the family of a cousin, and worked in a brick yard, receiving little or no rudimentary education. At the age of sixteen years he ran away from home and found employment upon the river and elsewhere; thus was in 1841,In 1844 His cousin, starting for Oregon, desired him to accompany him but he decided to remain in South Bend, and was there united in marriage to Miss Dillie Day, a daughter of Captain Lot Day, a farmer. As he grew up he became acquainted with Charles Crocker (since noted), who came from the same place. South Bend, and they were friends prior to coming tog California, as well as since. In 1850, in company with his wife amid a party made up at South Bend, he started out for California overland. Schuyler Colfax, afterward Vice-President of the United States, being then a warm personal friend, made them a farewell speech as they started on the then long journey. Their train, consisting of thirty-two ox teams made quite an imposing array. On this, his first across the plains (be has made three altogether), Mr. Traver walked every step of the way and carried his rifle on his shoulders. Crossing the Missouri River at Council Bluffs, the party proceeded up on the north side of the Platte, to Salt Lake, and by way of Goose Creek, the head of the Humboldt, etc., to Hangtown, arriving August 12, having been something over four months on the road. During the following year (1851), his father-in-law, Captain Day, came across the plains and settled at Stockton, San Joaquin County, where Mr. Traver and wife joined him.

Remaining there till the fall of that year, they went to the Cosumnes and rented the Slough House, which had been kept by Daley & Sheldon. Daley had died in the fall of 1850, of cholera, and Sheldon, a man of irascible temper, had made himself unpopular and was shot during the following spring. Mr. Traver kept the Slough House till the winter of 1853, when he crossed over into Yolo County and took up a homestead, where for fourteen years he made his home, until he took up his residence permanently in the Capital City. Mr. Traver was one of the first in the State to raise grain. In 1852 he paid sixteen cents a pound for seed barley, sowed it, cut it all himself with a cradle, and hired Indians to rake amid bind it, and in thus primitive and laborious manner secured the first crop. When in 1860, upon the completion of the Masonic Temple, the county court-rooms were removed from the building at the corner of Ninth and K streets to that edifice, Mr. Toll remodeled his building and fitted it up as a hotel, and in doing so became involved.

The property came into the possession of L. M. Curtis and Mr. Traver, and after the floods of 1861-'62, when the water stood on the first floor of the building as high as the bar, they refitted and refurnished it for one Judy, who kept it for a time. It was afterward kept by James Shoemaker for two years. Curtis & Traver then bought the lot, forty feet on K street and 120 feet on Seventh, making altogether 100 x 120 feet. In 1868 the entire building was remodeled, and has since been known as the Capitol Hotel, one of the finest in the city. When in 1864 Mr. Traver moved in from the ranch he did so in order to take charge of the hotel, but he soon leased the property to Mr. Day, a brother-in-law, who ran the house until he was succeeded a few years hater by Messrs. Blessing & Guthrie, the present proprietors. Of the later enterprises which have engaged the attention of Mr. Traver, the "Seventy-six Land and Water Company" of Fresno County, and building of the town of Traver on the Southern Pacific road must receive at least a passing notice.

Having purchased a large tract of land in Fresno County, midway between the city of Fresno and Tulare, he conceived the idea of bringing the water of King's River, thirty-two miles distant for purposes of irrigation, and a ditch 100 feet wide at the bottom was constructed and proved a perfect success. In 1884 the town of Traver was laid out, a stadium and other buildings erected, amid at the first day's sale of town lots in April 1 that year $27,000 was realized; and such was the rapid development of this section, due to time abundant supply of water, that in 1885 more wheat was shipped from Traver station than from any other point on the Southern Pacific Railroad. Mr. Traver has been a Freemason since 1849, being a charter member of Castwell Lodge, of Southern Bend, Indiana, and an Odd Fellow since 1886, being a member of Eureka Lodge, No. 4, and of Encampment No. 2, of this city. Such in brief is the outline of the history of one of Sacramento's most successful and honored citizens, who began life without a dollar, and who arrived on this coast forty years ago without a business acquaintance or a friend; yet such has been the success of his life that it is with pleasure that we accord to him a prominent place in this historic volume of a county with which he has been so closely identified for so many years.


History of Sonoma County page 977

WILLIAM D. JONES.

Legion were the caravans that wended their tedious wav over the lonely plains and across the trackless deserts during the years that followed the discovery of gold in California. Not the smallest or least important among them was the emigrant train commanded by Captain Sewell, who led a large company safely into the land of destiny and brought the journey to an uneventful conclusion at the expiration of six months of constant travel. Among the travelers was William D. Jones, who was born in Kentucky in 1842 and who at the time of the expedition was a boy of ten years. Always ready to assist in the care of the wagons or the oxen, on more than one occasion he proved himself the possessor of patience in hardship and heroism in danger. Arriving in California during the autumn of 1852, he came with the family to Sonoma County in 1853, and here passed the remainder of his useful existence, earning a livelihood through the careful tilling of die soil. To the end of his life he retained a vivid recollection of the trip across the plains, and often referred to it during advanced years, dwelling especially upon the contrast between modes of travel then and now.

The founder of the family in California was Robert W. Jones, a native of Kentucky, born in 1782, and deceased in Mendocino county, Cal., when about one hundred years of age. By his marriage to Margaret March, who was born in Kentucky in 1816, he became the father of five children, William, Eli, Mary, Elizabeth and Susan.

Eli, a resident of Potter Valley, Mendocino County, is married and has three children, Walter, Leroy and Lena. Leroy married Agnes Berryhill and they have two children, Leroy and Agnes.

Lena, Mrs. Charles Whittaker, of Potter Valley, has one son, Charles.

Mary, the eldest daughter of Robert W. Jones, became the wife of George Pickle, and nine children were born of their union, namely: William, Jesse, George, Frank, Margaret, Mattie, Della, Ellen and Josie.

The first-named son, William, married Lulu Jackson, by whom he has five children, Samuel, Robert, Ella, Bessie and Georgia.

Jesse, who chose as his wife Miss Julia Jackson, resides at Potter Valley, and has four children, Henry, Cecil, Laura and an infant unnamed.

Mattie Pickle married Fisher Day of Potter Valley, and they have six children, Grover, Marion, Ralph, Ruth, Stella and an infant unnamed.

Della Pickle became the wife of Warner Neil, of Potter Valley, and they have five children, George, Francis, Ora, Edith and Ruth.

Ellen Pickle married Edward Shelton, of Rock Tree Valley, and they have three children, the two elder being Harold and Marion. Elizabeth, daughter of Robert W. Jones, became the wife of John Pickle. Their twelve children were named as follows: Wiley, George, John, Frederick, Hattie, Nannie, Mamie, Elizabeth, Effie, Susan, Dovey and Mabel.

Wiley married Emma Maze, and they, with their three children reside at Potter Valley. George is married and has two children, Ray and Jennie.

Hattie, Mrs. Barnard Berger, of Coalinga, Fresno County, has three children, Hattie, Frank and Anna. Nannie is married and has four children, Johnson, Minnie, Mary and Lulu Mamie, Mrs. Jerome Worth, of Coalinga, Cal., has two children.

Elizabeth, Mrs. Edward Banker, is the mother of two children. Effie married Frank Banker and has three children.

Susan is the wife of Samuel Spears, of Ukiah, this state, and they have two children, Innis and Ruby.

Dovey married James Guinn and has three children, Wilbur, Dorothy and Erma, Mabel, Mrs. Frank McKee, resides at Potter Valley and has one child, Blanche. Susan, the youngest daughter of Robert W. Jones, became the wife of D. Taylor and settled at Upper-lake, Lake County, Cal. Their family comprised eight children, Leonard, Jessie. George, Charles, Ernest, Josephine, Ellen and Alice.

The establishment of domestic ties by William D. Jones united him in marriage with Mrs. Laura (Berryhill) Adams, who was born in Linn county Iowa in 1852, and who was his faithful companion and capable helpmate until he passed away, August 13, 1910. She was the daughter of Joseph T. and Jane (Butler) Berryhill natives of Ohio, who subsequently settled in Iowa, and still later in Dade County, Mo., where the mother died. Later the father came to California and now resides in Potter valley, at the age of eighty-eight years. Five children were born of Mr. Jones' first marriage, Robert, William, Hattie, Hester and Edna. The first-named, Robert, married Sarah Ryan and resides in Rio Grande; their children are Albert, Ernest, William and Myrtle. Hattie married George Berryhill, of Fort Bragg, Mendocino County, and is the mother of seven children, Rhoda, Pearl, May, Myrtle, Ruth, Hazel and Gladys.

Hester Jones is the wife of E. A. Preston of Garden Grove, Orange County, and they have four children, Elmer, Mont, Alvin and Delbert. Edna Jones, now the wife of Bert Hayes, makes her home at Garden Grove, and has two children, Leta and Wilford.

By his second marriage Mr. Jones had two children, Cecelia, the wife of Carl Nozler, of Healdsburg, and Clarence, at home. Mrs. Jones' first marriage united her with Matt Adams of Missouri, by whom she had three children. The eldest, Joseph Adams, married Clara Spencer, by whom he has three children, Harold. Trilby and Alvin; they reside in Potter Valley.

Viola Adams, who became the wife of George Pickel of Potter Valley, died in 1910, leaving three children. Herbert, Littie and Earl. Alice Adams became the wife of Richard Corvel of Fort Bragg, and they have two children, Meta and Laura.

The old homestead in Sonoma County, where for so many years Mr. Jones lived and labored, is now owned by his widow, who has shared with him the good-will of neighbors and the regard of a large circle of acquaintances. She maintains her membership in the Baptist Church, and for a long period he served as' a deacon in the congregation, always contributing generously to religious movements, and giving his sympathy to all uplifting enterprises. His sons have been active in local ledge work in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, but his inclinations did not head him toward fraternal organizations. His was a busy existence, and a modest degree of success rewarded his exertions, but greater than his pride in material prosperity was his devotion to his children, his sacrifices for their good and his earnest hope of their well-being. Through his own labors he cleared ten acres out of his homestead of forty acres; the balance of the estate contains valuable redwood and oak timber. The place stands as a landmark of his industry, a memorial to his pioneer labors. With it are associated memories of his quiet perseverance, his long years of toil and his unselfish interest in the welfare of the community and the county. In the local annals his name is worthy of a position of honor and of permanence as that of a resolute, patriotic and brave pioneer. In October 1910, after the death of her husband and daughter. Mrs. Jones took up her residence in Healdsburg, where she now lives.


History of San Joaquin County page 967

FREDERICK G. MENKING-For almost his entire lifetime, Frederick G. Menking has been a resident of San Joaquin County, for lie was about three months old when his parents brought him to California. He was born at Hoboken, N. J., May 23, 1868, and in August of the same year his parents removed to Stockton, Cal., coming via the Isthmus of Panama on the S. S. "Golden State" to Aspinwall, then across the Isthmus on mule back, and there they took passage to San Francisco on the S. S. "Arrow." The father (From NDGW - Frederick Godfrey MENKING born December 26 1839 NY or Jersey City, NJ; died 1921 Stockton CA) purchased property from Captain Weber on Pilgrim Street and Miner Slough, Stockton, where he erected a house; here he engaged in the lumber and freighting business. He married Miss Katherine Tons, a native of Germany and a sister of John Tons, and she passed away in 1917, while the father died in San Francisco in 1921. (from CADI: Catherine W. Spouse F age 73, died in Stockton on Feb 5, 1917)

Frederick G. Menking received a fairly good education in the public schools of Stockton and when a very small boy learned to handle horses successfully. Thereby an intense love for this four-footed animal was created and throughout his lifetime he has been known as an authority on horses. In the fall of 1882 he became a driver for the Moore & Smith yards, and during all the years he followed teaming he has worked for but three firms.

Of recent years he was employed by the city of Stockton. Two years ago he retired to take up farming on account of poor health, and purchased fourteen acres of the L. U. Shippee homestead rear French Camp. By hard work and a determination to succeed he has made of his ranch a fine and productive fruit and alfalfa farm; here he devotes much of his time to raising fine horses, for which he is particularly well fitted.

The marriage of Mr. Menking united him with Miss Sadie Ray, a daughter of David Ray, prominent building contractor of Stockton; and they are the parents of two of children: Ada and Edna. In fraternal circles he is a member of the I. O. O. F. and the W. O. W.

rom NDGW

Frederick Godfrey MENKING, Sr. was in the Navy 1863-1864 at San Francisco; in the Army 1864-1866; was in the California gold mines; and a teamster in the lumber industry.

He married Catherine TONS June 1867 in Hoboken NJ

Children: Frederick G. MENKING, George Henry MENKING (born Jan 1871 NY), Alice MENKING SNYDER, Ada MENKING TAYLOR (born July 1881, Vallejo CA)

From obituary on Katherine W. MENKING, wife of Frederick MENKING, Sr. age 73 years, 6 months, 6 days. Native of Germany who came to this county as a young girl. Children who survived: Mrs. A. SNYDER of San Andreas, Mrs. A. TAYLOR, Harry and Frank MENKING, Jr. of Stockton.


History of San Joaquin County page 520

ROBERT L. GRAHAM. -Prominently identified with the development and progress of modern California the late Robert L. Graham was one of the most prominent and representative citizens of the Lodi section of San Joaquin County, where his life was so ordered as to gain and retain the confidence and esteem of his fellowmen. He was born December 16, 1855 on the old Graham homestead southeast of Lodi, where the A. E. Angier home now stands, and was a son of Robert L. Graham and his wife, Caroline Roe (Stokes) Graham, both natives of Kentucky. The father was born December 27 1826, his parents being Levy and Mary (Tatum) Graham, natives of North Carolina. The maternal great-grandfather of our subject, Thomas Tatum, was a teamster in the Revolutionary War. Grandfather Graham was a farmer by occupation and emigrated from North Carolina to Kentucky with his father, when a small boy remaining there owning laud until about 1860, when his wife died and he sold out and went to Missouri there he remained but a short time, when he went to Arkansas, where he died in 1881 at the age of eighty-six years.

The father remained at home with his parents until twenty-four years of age, then February 22, 1852, he left for Missouri, where he remained for one year, when he crossed the plain to California, arriving in San Joaquin Valley September 2, 1853. In 1847 he was married to Miss Caroline Roe Stokes, whose grandfather was a fifer in the Revolutionary War. Arriving in San Joaquin County he purchased a claim of a man named Adams, situated nine and a half miles from Stockton and five miles from what is now Lodi. He sold the place in 1857 and went down to the Lower Sacramento Road, where he purchased 200 acres where he had stock. He remained there until the fall of 1862, when on account of flood he came back and purchased again near the old place. Not long afterwards, however, he traded that for 300 acres ten miles from Stockton and five miles from Lodi on the Cherokee Lane Road. He was a pioneer in agriculture, there being only three farms under plow before he settled here. Four children were born to this worthy pioneer couple: Robert L., our subject; Surelda; Mrs. A. M. Hale of Amador County; Della, Mrs. C. Hull; Eugene D., the county clerk of San Joaquin County.

The first twenty-five years of Robert L. Graham's life was spent on his father's farm. When he was twenty-six years old he came to Lodi and started to work in a drug store owned by Byron Beckwith.

He; received his grammar school education at the little red schoolhouse of Live Oak and was graduated from a college at Stockton, then passed the state board examination and became a licensed pharmacist. At this time there were only three business houses and a few dwelling in Lodi and much of the site of the present city was covered with brush and scrub oaks. The first drug store Mr. Graham owned was on Elm Street on the corner of Sacramento and at this location he served as postmaster and postal telegraph and telephone operator; later he moved his old store and built a brick structure. Sacramento Street was at that time nothing more than a road through the tangle of brush. Little business was done in those days, and Mr. Graham often said that if he had five or six customers a day he thought he was doing well. He was in business for forty-one years and was located on the corner of Elm and Sacramento streets all of that period. The first long distance telephone and the first telephone exchange in the town were placed in his store; and he also had the first postal telegraph office, and after learning the code, he sent, received and delivered all messages in Lodi for a long time.

On June 22, 1856, occurred the marriage of Mr. Graham and Miss Sarah J. Schu, a native of Missouri, a daughter of John Adam and Frances J. (Martin) Schu. Her father was a native of Alsace-Lorraine, who came to the United States when a young man, first settling in New York, later going to Illinois and still later to Missouri. When Mrs. Graham was three years old her parents came to California settling at Woodbridge, where they remained for three years; from there the family removed to Gait where they lived for a short time, then removed to Biggs where the father followed his trade of shoemaker, then he followed his trade in Oroville; for a short time then moved his family back to San Joaquin County where he passed away at the age of sixty three the mother still living in Sacramento at the age of eighty.

There were seven children in the family: Josephine, John and Aggie are all deceased; Sarah J., Mrs. Graham; Charles and Robert reside in Sacramento and Etta is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Graham were the parents of two daughters: LaRelda Roe; Mrs. R. L. Patton, of Lodi, and Gladys Frances, Mrs. Oscar H. Wood, of Lodi, has one daughter, Janis Maurine.

Mr. Graham was the owner of an eighty-five acre ranch in the Elliott district of north San Joaquin County. For the past thirteen years a niece, Miss Marion Schu, the daughter of Charles Schu, has made her home with Mr. and Mrs. Graham. She attended the Lodi high school and is now employed by the First National Bank of Lodi. Mr. Graham is a past grand of the Pythian Sisters lodge of Lodi and is a member of the Eastern Star and the Rebekahs and of the Lodi Woman's Club. Mr. Graham was enjoying his first vacation in thirty-five years, in the Yosemite Valley where he was stricken and passed away on June 20, 1922, before any assistance could be rendered him. He was a charter member and past chancellor commander of the Lodi Knights of Pythias, the Foresters of America, and was also a member of Lodi Parlor No. 18, N. S. G. W.

He was widely known in and esteemed and had many excellent traits of character which endeared him to a large circle of friends and in his death the community deplored the lose of an enterprising business man and honored citizen who for many years had witnessed the community growth and had contributed in no small way to its development and substantial upbuilding.


History of San Joaquin County p 923

EUGENE MYRLE GRAHAM-The family name of Graham is well-known throughout San Joaquin County. The paternal grandfather of Eugene M. Graham was an early settler here, and here the present efficient county clerk of San Joaquin County, Eugene D. Graham, was born and reared, as were also Eugene M. Graham of this sketch, and his two brothers, hereinafter mentioned, all prominent in Stockton's professional, political and business circles. Grandfather Robert L. Graham, who settled here in 1852, was a native of Kentucky, born of Scotch lineage, while the maternal grandparents were of German descent.

Grandfather Graham left Kentucky with an emigrant train bound for California in 1852, and upon arrival located upon a ranch near Lodi. Of his four children, Eugene Douglas Graham, the father of Eugene Myrtle Graham, was the youngest. He was born on his father's ranch north of Stockton in 1866, and in 1888 was married to Miss Frances E. Mann, a native of Iowa, who had accompanied her parents to California in 1869, being then a babe in arms.

Eugene Douglas Graham farmed for seven years after his marriage, or until 1895, when lie removed to Stockton to take up the duties of deputy county clerk under Otto Grunsky. He continued in the office for five years, when he resigned to engage in grain farming near Lodi. In 1902 he was nominated on the Republican ticket and elected county clerk of San Joaquin County. Since taking the oath of office in 1903 he has served continuously and efficiently in that office, being held in high esteem by the citizens of the county. Three sons have blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Graham: R. Ellsworth, deputy county clerk in Department 2 San Joaquin County; Lloyd L., engaged in the grocery business in Stockton and Eugene Myrle.

Eugene Myrle Graham was born on September 13, 1896, at Stockton. His preliminary education was obtained in the grammar and high schools of his native city, and after graduating from high school in 1915, he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons in San Francisco, where he was graduated with the class of 1918.

During the World War he served in the United States Navy Hospital Corps and was sent overseas on the hospital ship Mercy. After the armistice was signed he returned to his home in Stockton, where he began the practice of his profession. He has won for himself an excellent position as a representative of the dental fraternity. He is a thorough and discriminating student, and his judgment is rarely at fault in matters pertaining to his profession. Fraternally, he is a member and second vice-president of Stockton Parlor No. 7, N. S. G. W., and a member of the Delta Blue Lodge Masons. He is a member of the San Joaquin County Dental Association. A man of broad learning and culture, possessing the progressive spirit of the day, he has won an enviable place in the social and professional circles of Stockton.

From NDGW

Eugene Douglas GRAHAM was born Jan 22 1866 in San Joaquin County, CA. Held public office on County Council of Defense. Educated Healds Business College, Stockton Married Miss Francis E. MANN Sept 5 1888 in Modesto CA His father was Robert L. GRAHAM; mother Caroline R. STOKES GRAHAM. Children: R. Ellsworth, Loyd L. and Dr. E. Myrle GRAHAM Submitted by Anna DRAIS, Stockton Parlor 255 NDGW


History of Sacramento County Page 762

JAMES JORDAN, owner of the Eagle Ditch at Michigan Bar, was born in England, April 18, 1827, his parents being John and Louise (Brooker) Jordan. The mother died about 1834, and in 1836 the father came to America with eight children. He settled on a farm in the State of New York, and in 1840 moved to Michigan, where six of his children are still living, five being married They are: Caleb, with one son; Stephen married a Miss Perry, and has four or five children; William is unmarried; Mary, now Mrs. William Loburn, has a large family; Louise, now Mrs. Tyler, has some children: Annie, now Mrs. Carpenter, is also the mother of some children. All are settled on farms in Davison Township, Monroe County, Michigan The father died there about 1879, aged eighty-three. The grandparents Jordan and grandmother Brooker were also long-lived folks.

The subject of this sketch left Grand Blanc, Genesee County, Michigan, where his father then resided, in November 1850, for California. He came by the Panama route, and took the Panama fever which nearly proved fatal. He was unconscious for fourteen days on the voyage to San Francisco by the Antelope, and on his arrival was sent to the hospital. When discharged he was scarcely able to work, and did cooking for his board, and after ward was paid $25 a month. Jut July, 1851, he came to Coloma in El Dorado County, and was quite successful in mining, in which he has been engaged directly, or as owner of mineral lands and water privileges, with little interruption ever since. He conducted a hotel at Coloma about eighteen month in 1853-'54, which he afterward returned to others for seven or eight years, and finally sold. In 1854 he bought a mining claim, and in 1855 went into the mining and ditching business, with good success right along. But the usual fortune of miners was near at hand. He engaged with others in running a tunnel at Kentucky Flats, near Mount Gregory, in El Dorado County, with an aggregate loss of $18,000, of which his share was about $2,500 and eighteen months' labor. This was in 1856-'57.

He then went to Gold Hill and invested in a big bed-rock flume, which scarcely returned any net gain. Meanwhile he was engaged in river mining in the summer months from 1856 to 1860, which he quit in 1861. In the high water of 1861-'62 his mining enterprises paid well. In 1862 he again went to Coloma, where he bought a bar claim on the South Fork of the American River, for $90, out of which he made $3,000 in five months. In the spring of 1863 he came to Michigan Bar, on the Cosumnes, where he loaned money on stock of the Eagle Ditch, the original cost of which, with the repairs, amounting some years to $3,000, is estimated at over $60,000. He has been owner of the property for several years, and leases water for mining and irrigating purposes, besides supplying power for his grist-mill. He also owns 200 acres of mineral land from which he gets varying returns. Jun 1871 and 1872 he prospected in Nevada, but without striking anything of value. He was, however, let into some good enterprises, only to find that the sellers were not the owners. Mr. James Jordan is a member of the Masonic order, and was Senior Deacon in Nebraska Lodge, No.71, which used to meet in Michigan Bar, but died out some years ago, when Mr. Jordan joined the lodge at Ione.


History of Solano County page 411

HAMMOND, E. A., a native of Simpson County, KY. born October 8, 1837. At the age of one year he moved, with his uncle, David J. Clayton, to Jackson county, Mo. (he being an orphan), where he lived until 15 years old, when he emigrated, in company with his uncle, to California, crossing the plains with ox teams, arriving in Suisun valley October, 1852. He worked at farming in this county until 1856, when he went to Sonoma county, where he engaged in the sheep business, remaining there one year, and thence to Napa county, and engaged in the cattle trade, where he remained about two years. He then returned to this county and set-tied in the upper end of Suisun valley, where he farmed for one year, and then turned speculator, dealing in horses and cattle, and working by the month until 1867.

Married Miss Catherine Ives, April 7, 1867. He then rented a farm, which he occupied for about two years, in Napa County, and then purchased a farm in Pope valley, Napa County, where he remained for four years. He then returned to this county, and farmed the widow Clayton farm, in Suisun Valley, which he conducted one year. After farming in different parts of this county and Napa for a few years, he made a trip to Texas, where he remained about eight months, when he returned to California, and, after working for a few months as a farm hand, leased the ranch where he now resides, in Suisun Valley. Mary F., Charles C. (deceased), James S., and William E. are the names of their children.


History of San Joaquin County page 567

EUGENE DOUGLAS GRAHAM. -One of the most popular officials of San Joaquin County who holds a most enviable and honorable record, is Eugene Douglas Graham who was born on his father's ranch just north of the metropolis of San Joaquin County, January 22, 1866, a son of Robert L. and Caroline R. (Stokes) Graham, natives of Logan County, Ky., who lived to see their son so greatly honored by his fellow citizens. The Graham family is of Scotch-Irish lineage, the ancestors being early settlers of Virginia, members of the family serving in the Revolutionary War. Grandfather Graham removed from Virginia, making his way over the mountains to Logan County, Ky., in 1808, where he reared his family. The Stokes family are traced back to Germany. Great-grandfather Stokes was born in Stuttgart, Wurtemberg, Germany and came to Richmond, Va., when a very young man. Here he entered the Continental Army serving under Washington as a fifer in the Revolutionary War, being wounded in battle, and he carried the bullet until his death; he left a widow and three children, among them Grandfather Stephen Stokes, who migrated to Logan County, Ky., and there he married and was a pioneer in the development of the Blue Grass State.

Robert L. Graham left his native state with his family for California, crossing the plains in 1852 in an emigrant train of wagons drawn by oxen commanded by Captain Wood, men driving their loose cattle and stock with them. As one of the pioneers Robert Graham preferred farming to mining and located on a ranch near Lodi, where he followed agriculture all his life. The mother passed away on the home place September 15, 1915, and then the father lived with our subject but did not survive his life companion, for he passed away November 17, of the same year.

This worthy couple had four children: Eugene D., the subject of this review; Robert L., a successful druggist in Lodi, died suddenly of heart failure while on a trip in the Yosemite Valley June 2, 1922; Surelda, Mrs. S. H. Hale of Amador County; Della B., the wife of Otto Seegers, died in Stockton in 1908. Eugenic D. grew up on his father's farm and from a boy assisted in the work on the ranch learning to drive the big teams in the vast grain fields of that day. However, his education was not neglected for he attended the public school in Lodi and after completing the course he supplemented it with a course at the old Stockton Business College, now "Heald's," where he was duly graduated in 1885.

As early as the age of thirteen he started to make his own living, his first employment being assistant postmaster at Lodi, a very responsible task for a youth of his age, hint he early showed that thoroughness to make the details of anything he undertook and soon developed into a painstaking and efficient assistant, so much so that he was continued in the position until he was twenty with the exception of the time he finished school and also the time required for his business course. In 1886 he again took up farming, first on his father's ranch and then grain farming on his own account, and for the purpose raised a ranch north of Stockton.

Soon after thus he chose his life companion, the marriage ceremony being performed at Modesto September 5, 1888, uniting him with Miss Frances B. Mann, who was born in Iowa, a daughter of D. L. and Elizabeth J. (Sutherland) Mann, also natives of the Hawkeye State. Her father served in the Civil War and afterwards was a locomotive engineer. Bringing his family to California by 1869, when the daughter, Frances, was a babe in arms. Mr. Mann engaged in farming near Dixon, Solano County, for some years and they came to Modesto, Stanislaus County, where he farmed until he retired and moved to Stockton and there he and his wife died in January, 1919, their deaths occurring two weeks apart.

After his marriage Eugenie Graham continued farming until January 1895, when he was appointed deputy county clerk under Otto Grunsky, serving for five years. When he resigned to again engage in grain farming on a ranch near Lodi. In 1902 he was nominated on the Republican ticket as a candidate for county clerk and was elected in the fall of that year by a majority of 1,000 out of 8,000 votes cast, taking the oath of office in January 1903. He has since then served uninterrupted, being re-elected every four years without opposition, an unprecedented record in the state of California and undoubtedly the longest continuous service in the state as county clerk. When he took office in 1903 the office was conducted in one room with the aid of four deputies. The gradual increase of the business of the office now requires four rooms and ten deputies, and the county's registration, increased from 8,000 to over 30,000. However, it has been Mr. Graham's policy to always keep the expenses of the office down to a minimum in the matter of assistants as well as in the securing of supplies. He has been a close student of the election, laws and his many years' experience makes him an, authority on ballots and balloting, his advice being frequently sought by professional as well as laymen, Mr. Graham's watchword is economy and efficiency, and taxpayers are unanimous in their praise of the conduct of the office and of the universal courtesy accorded all who have business in his department. During the World War Mr. Graham served as secretary of the county exemption board and for a time was a member of the County Council of Defense. He has always manifested a keen interest in farming, and owns a forty-acre ranch near Lodi which he is planning to develop to orchard and vineyard.

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene D. Graham have been blessed with three sons: R. Ellsworth is deputy county clerk of Department No. 2, San Joaquin County; Lloyd L. is engaged in the grocery business in his home city, and Dr. E. Myrle Graham. A graduate of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of San Francisco is practicing his profession in Stockton. He was in the medical division of the U. S. Navy, serving overseas on the Hospital Ship, "Mercy." Mr. Graham is prominent in fraternal circles, being a member of Truth Lodge No. 55, I. 0.0. F., Stockton Lodge No.218, B. P.O. E., Stockton Parlor No.7, N. S. G. W., the Woodmen of the World and the Loyal Order of Moose. He is deeply zealous for the future greatness of his county, and never allows an opportunity to pass to boost for and extol the great natural resources of this wonderfully rich and productive region, and he is ever ready to give of his time and means to aid in movements that have for their aim its development.


History of Tulare & Kings County page 389

HUGH L. HAMILTON

One of the sturdy characters in the business life of Exeter is Hugh L. Hamilton, a blacksmith there. Born in 1861, in Mississippi County, Ark., he was a son of Andrew Hamilton, a native of Ireland. His mother died when he was three years old and he was only in his eighth year when his father passed away. About a year after his second bereavement he went with his grandfather and the latter's family to Missouri, where be remained three years. In 1872 he was brought to Tulare County, Cal., and his education, begun in Missouri, was continued in the public schools here. He was taken into the family of his uncle, Hugh Hamilton, for whom he was named. In his early life he worked at stock-raising and later for a considerable time gave his attention to both that and grain farming, meanwhile learning the blacksmith's trade and devoting himself to it as occasion offered. Eventually he turned his attention entirely to blacksmithing, and his shop in Exeter is one of the leading concerns of its kind in that part of the county.

When Mr. Hamilton came to Tulare County there were few settlers in the vicinity of Exeter and the whole country round about was new and undeveloped. Stock~raising and grain-growing were the principal interests for many years. His uncle had one of the big stock ranches of the time and locality, and he gave his nephew a fair start in life.

At one time Mr. Hamilton owned five hundred and ninety acres of land and did well as a farmer, hut his inclination made him a follower of his chosen trade.

In 1884 Mr. Hamilton united his fortunes with those of Miss Mildred Ferril, a native of Missouri, who bore him six children, five of whom are living. She died in 1895, and in 1897 he married Ida May Butts, a native of California. By his second marriage he has had two children, one of whom is deceased. The other, Harvey W. Hamilton, is a student in the Exeter high school. In his political affiliations Mr. Hamilton is a Democrat. He is identified with the Knights of Pythias and the Woodmen of the World and is a loyal citizen, for no worthy interest of the community is without his encouragement.


History of San Joaquin County page 983

WILLIAM R. MOLL.-A successful businessman of Stockton, whose business was begun in a small way and by diligent and intelligent effort has become a profitable venture, is William R. Moll, the proprietor of the squab farm at 1540 South Aurora Street, where he has about 4,000 birds. He is a native son of San Joaquin County, his birth occur-ring at Atlanta on February 6, 1879, a son of Joseph and Margaret (Bedford) Moll, natives of New York and Iowa, respectively. Joseph Moll settled in California in 1875 and began farming in Atlanta, San Joaquin County; later he removed to Eugene, Stanislaus County, where he farmed until he retired. His wife passed away in 1917 and he is still living in Stockton at the age of eighty years. William R. Moll received his education at the Lone Tree district school, and at seventeen years of age started out for himself; he became a steam engineer on dredges in the Bay region; then he worked two years at Blue Lakes, Alpine County, running a hoist for the Standard Electric Company. Returning then to Stockton, he opened a cigar store on California Street, which he operated for ten years; during this time he had become interested in pigeon raising, and his business grew to such proportions, that his quarters became too small, so he moved his pigeon farm to 1559 South Hunter Street.

In three years' time it also became inadequate for his needs on account of his rapidly growing business. Wishing to devote all of his time to pigeon raising he sold his cigar business and about 1914 purchased his present property, consisting of three lots on South Aurora Street, where he built suitable buildings for pigeon raising and also rebuilt the house on the place into a modern residence. He is equipped to handle 5,000 birds at one time, which is a source of good income; his birds have taken first prize not only at local fairs but also at different county fairs where he has made an exhibit. He is breeding the birds for excellency and size so as to command the highest price in the market. He ships squabs principally to Chicago and New York City. Mr. Moll was the first individual in California to ship dressed squabs to Eastern points, his object being to obtain higher prices. In this he was successful as his returns were doubled. Others in his line heard of it and came to him for advice in shipping. He is today the largest squab breeder in Central California.

In August 1905, in San Francisco, Mr. Moll was united in marriage with Miss Ora E. Stroughtenburgh, a native of Stockton the daughter of John and Mary (Davis) Stoughtenburgh, born in Woodland, Cal. and Concord, Iowa respectively. The mother died in Stockton, and the father now resides in Sacramento, Mr. and Mrs. Moll are the parents of one son, Irving. Mr. Moll has been a member of the Stockton Red Men for about twenty years.


Bay of San Francisco page 654

CHARLES CASASSA is a member of the firm of Paulucci & Casassa, successors to L. Arata & Co., commission merchants and produce dealers, 515 and 517 Davis street, San Francisco. He was born in the province of Cicagna, Italy, September 19, 1847. His parents were Francisco and Maria (Gnecco) Casassa, both of whom were natives also of Italy, and had eight children, Charles being the eighth. The father died in 1855; the mother is still living, and a resident of San Francisco. They are of a long-lived and prolific race. The mother, now aged eighty-four years, is hale and hearty.

Mr. Casassa accompanied his parents to Boston, Massachusetts, when seven years of age, and there young Charles received his education under the supervision of a private instructor, and later learned the trade of painting. He came to California via Panama, on the steamers Eastern Queen and Golden Age, in 1867, and engaged in selling vegetables for fifteen years. He became a partner in his present business in 1884, which has since progressed and flourished, and now extends far into the interior of the State.

Mr. Casassa was married, in San Francisco, in 1870, to Miss Kate Agnes McQuade, a native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and they have five children, all of whom are living, namely: Maria, Maggie, Charles, Katie and Rosa.

Politically Mr. Casassa is a Republican, taking an active part in local matters. He belongs to Bernal Lodge, No.19, A. O. U. W., of San Francisco.


Illustrated History of Yolo County CA (oversize book) page 104

See, D. F. (Dock Forsha), a native of Montogomery county, Missouri, born 1844; came overland to California in 1853, and settled in Yolo county in 1857, where he is engaged in stock raising and owns 166 acres of land that produces well. Postoffice address, Winters.


Illustrated History of Yolo County CA (oversize book) page 104

Sieber, Christ., born, January, 1847, in Wertemberg, Germany; came to California in 1867, and located in Woodland the next year, where he is engaged in the saloon and bakery business. In 1878 he was elected a member of the town council, and Treasurer of time town of Woodland amid still holds those positions. He was married in 1874 to Miss Fredrieka Buob, in Woodland, by Rev. Mr. Banfield. Their children are Christopher and Freida, aged one and three years.


Illustrated History of Yolo County CA (oversize book) page 104

Schuerley, John K., proprietor of Yolo Brewery, Woodland, a native of Wertemberg, Germany, born June, 1832. In 1866, he came to California, via Isthmus, from Cincinnati, Ohio, and settled in Yolo county, where be is engaged in brewing, distilling amid farming. He owns 230 acres of valuable land, just outside the limits of the town of Woodland, and was a member of time first Board of Trustees of that town.


Illustrated History of Yolo County CA (oversize book) page 104

Still, Stephen J., a native of Sacramento, California born October 22nd, 1856; was brought to Yolo county by his parents when two months old. He has since lived in Woodland, where he has been educated, and owns three acres of land. His present occupation is book-keeping.


History of San Joaquin Valley page 1313

CARTER LANDRAM. Occupying a prominent place among the early settlers of Merced, Carter Landram has impressed his worth upon the community as a merchant and grain dealer, as a promoter of education and public utilities, and as an active and liberal member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. He is one of the many native sons of Missouri who have found a field of activity in the San Joaquin valley, and who reflect credit upon the environment in which their youth was passed. Born in Macon County, Mo., April 13, 1840, he is a son of Reuben and Elizabeth (Dingle) Landram, the former born in old Virginia, and the latter in Kentucky, and of English parentage. H is paternal grandfather, James Landram was born in Virginia of Scotch-Irish extraction, and soon after the birth of his son Reuben moved to Kentucky, where the youth was educated in the public schools, and where he married at an early age. From Kentucky, Reuben Landram moved to Macon County, Mo., where he died at an advanced age, and where several of his nine children were horn. Seven of these children attained maturity, and six are now living, Carter being the youngest. Besides the latter, the family is represented in Merced by James E., who came to the west in 1850, and by Abner P., now a resident of Salinas. Reuben Landram was a farmer his en-tire active life, and to the end of his days recalled vividly his experiences as a soldier during the war of 1812.

Carter Landram was educated in a private school in Missouri, and at McGee College, in Macon County. Prior to the Civil war he engaged in school teaching, which occupation lie abandoned to wear the gray of the Confederate soldier. Enlisting under General Price in a Missouri regiment, he served at the battle of Lexington, and was soon after taken ill and sent home to recover from an attack of typhoid fever. Rejoining the army, he was elected lieutenant under Colonel Poindexter, was taken prisoner in Randolph County, Mo., and was imprisoned in St. Louis, Mo., and Alton, Ill., receiving his parole at the latter prison. In 1864 he left home and crossed the plains with ox teams, being six months on the way, and experiencing trouble with the Indians, owing to the soldiers being withdrawn from the plains. Locating in Solano county, Cal., he worked on farms by the month until he had gotten a little ahead, and in 1873 located in Merced, where he invested his capital in a hook, stationery and musical instrument store, later adding notions and jewelry. Success came his way and the capacity of the store was enlarged to meet the growing trade. This store was sold in 1884, and in the meantime Mr. Landram had become interested in the grain business in 1881, buying and shipping to different parts of the state until July. 1882. He then entered the employ of Geo. W. McNear, of San Francisco, as agent in Merced, and continued the buyer for the firm at this point until November 1903. Since then be has conducted an independent grain business, but still continues to represent the San Francisco firm.

Mr. Landram has various interests scattered throughout the town and county. He is president of the Merced Lumber Company and at different times has owned and operated farms in the county. He was one of the chief instigators, as president of the Board of Trade to induce the Santa Fe Railroad to run through the town; aided the company in paying for lands, and raised about $5,000 in the town of Merced. He contributed both time and money for this worthy cause, and won the gratitude of the merchants and people in general for the success of his co-operation. He is prominent in fraternal circles, being a member of La Grange Lodge No.99, F. & A. M., of which he was treasurer for many years. Mr. Landram is a Democrat in politics, but has never desired or accepted office. He was the first president, and held the position for eight years, of the old Board of Trade of Merced. Near Salida, Cal., Mr. Landram married Alice Kerr, a native of Pike County, Mo., who was reared and educated in California. Five children have blessed this union of whom four attained maturity: John Max, representing the Merced Lumber Company and the grain interests of his father at Livingston, where there is a branch of the former and a warehouse owned by Mr. Landram; Margaret Mathena, widow of J C. Landram, of Merced; Hugh Kerr, attending the University of Tennessee, at Lebanon; and Telete, living with her father. October 28, 1896, the devoted mother passed away, leaving a host of friends to mourn her death. Mr. Landram has been active in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church for many years, is a ruling elder in the church, and was formerly superintendent of the Sunday school. In his life he bears out the teachings of his denomination and is one of the high-minded, very liberal and progressive men of the community.


History of the State of CA and its southern coast counties page 702

GEORGE FINLEY BOVARD, D. D. When the persecution of the Huguenots in France culminated in the massacre of St. Bartholomew and the members of that sect were forced to flee for their lives, the Bovard family sought refuge in the north of Ireland and thus by accident he-came planted upon Irish soil. From the Emerald Isle George Bovard, the grandfather of the subject of this article, came to America a stalwart young pioneer, well qualified for the arduous task of hewing a home out of the primeval wilderness. The family assisted in the agricultural development of the vicinity of Steubenville and there James, a son of George, was born, reared and educated. While still very young he removed to Indiana and settled near the hamlet of Alpha, Scott County, where he labored for years to transform a dense forest into an improved farm. On the organization of the Republican party he became one of its upholders and when the Civil war began he was enthusiastic in his defense of Union principles. During 1862 he was accepted as a member of Company K, One Hundred and Twentieth Indiana Infantry, assigned to the Twenty-third Army Corps, and sent to the south, where he participated in various engagements and the march to the sea. On the expiration of the war he returned to his home and resumed the cultivation of his farm and the discharge of the duties falling upon him as a private citizen. From early youth until the close of life he was an earnest believer in Methodist doctrines and a generous supporter of the church.

During his early years James Bovard met and married Sarah Young, who was born on a farm now included within the city limits of Cincinnati, her father, Abner Young, having removed thither from his native Pennsylvania at an early day. Both James Bovard and his wife remained in Indiana from middle age until death and there they reared a large family, whose brilliant mental attainments have made them conspicuous in their various places of residence. Three of their sons are now deceased, but eight still survive, as well as their only daughter, Mrs. Maria J. Griffith, of Abingdon, Ill. Freeman D., who is a graduate of Depauw University at Greencastle. Ind., officiated as vice-president of the University of Southern California from 1880 until 1885 and now is editor of the California Christian Advocate in San Francisco.

Rev. Marion McK. Bovard, a graduate of Depauw University, bore an active part in the founding of the University of Southern California, and held the office of president from that time (1880) until his death ten years later. William, a graduate of the University of Southern California in 1888, is now dean of the College of Theology in Grant University, Chattanooga, Tenn. Rev. Melville Y., who completed his education at Moores Hill, Ind., holds the pastorate of the First Methodist Episcopal Church at Pert Chester N. Y. Rev; Charles L. Bovard also a Methodist Episcopal minister, has a pastorate in Butte, Mont. Abner C. is a newspaper man in Kansas City, Mo. Ulysses Grant is engaged in the banking business at Paris, Ind., and Morton Ellsworth is a farmer in Illinois near the town of Abingdon. While the family were living on their Indiana homestead George Finley Bovard was born August 8, 1856. His education was primarily obtained in country schools and later he attended the State Normal School at Paoli county, subsequently for three years teaching five months in the autumn and winter and then spending three months in the spring at Depauw University, where in that brief period he completed the work of the entire year. The strain of constant study told upon his health and he was obliged to discontinue his untiring application to his books.

In 1879 he joined his brothers in California, and shortly afterward was licensed to preach by the quarterly conference at Orange, Cal., his first sermon being delivered at a camp meeting near Compton. During the fall of 1879 he was appointed supply pastor in the Methodist Episcopal Church at San Bernardino, and then served for one year as a missionary in Arizona, making his headquarters at Phoenix, which at the time boasted of only one brick building. Under his leadership a congregation of Methodists was established and a house of worship erected on the corner of Second and Washington streets, where now stands the Ford hotel. For this site the church paid $300. When he returned to Arizona later as superintendent of missions the lot was sold for $15,000 and a tract three times as large was purchased on Second and Monroe streets for $7,000, where the church built its present substantial and handsome edifice.

On his return to Los Angeles in 1881 Mr. Bovard joined his brothers in university instruction and took charge of the English and history classes, teaching five hours per day, besides carrying on his regular college studies and preaching every Sunday in Los Angeles County. In 1884 he was graduated with the degree of A. B., later receiving the degree of A. M., and in 1896 Willamette University conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Divinity. After his graduation he was called to the pastorate of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Orange where he remained three years, the limit of pastoral tenure. At the expiration of that time he was appointed presiding elder of the Pasadena district and was ordained an elder the Sunday prior to the appointment. After two years of service in the office he was appointed pastor of the Boyle Heights Church, where he remained one year and was called for a second year, but within a week after his re-appointment he was assigned by Bishop Goodsell as superintendent of Methodist Episcopal missions in Arizona, with headquarters in Phoenix. In order to attend to the work it was necessary for him to travel by stage much of the time. Railroads were few and the distances between great. All in all, the task was one imposing great hardship and constant privations upon him, but he remained for seven years faithfully discharging every duty, building up new congregations, assisting struggling churches and establishing the work upon a firm basis in the territory. From Arizona he was transferred to Los Angeles district, Southern California conference, of which he was appointed residing elder by Bishop John P. Newman, and for six years, the limit of office, he served faithfully and with rare tact and zeal. On the occasion of the general conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church held in Chicago in 1900 he was present as a delegate, and was elected a member of the book committee to represent the fourteenth general conference district. While acting in that capacity he did much to promote the interests of East Angeles as the seat of the general conference of 1904, in which ambition he met with success. This convention he also attended as a member and was elected to represent the fourteenth general conference district for the ensuing quadremium in the University Senate.

The marriage of Dr. Bovard took place in Los Angeles October 1, 1884, and united him with Miss Emma J. Bradley, daughter of Cyrus H. Bradley, an honored pioneer of Los Angeles and a furniture dealer here during the early days. Mrs. Bovard was liberally educated in the University of Southern California and is a lady of culture. Born of their union are three children. Warren B. Edna G. and Gladys F. In politics Dr. Bovard favors Republican principles. In the work of organizing the Archeological Institute of the Southwest he was a leading participant and now holds the office of vice-president. Other organizations with which he is identified include the Los Angeles Academy of Science, the American Academy of Political and Social Science, and the International Geographical Association.

The University of Southern California, of which Dr. Bovard has been the president since 1903, includes eight colleges and a preparatory school. The College of Liberal Arts occupies a ten-acre tract at Thirty-sixth and Wesley avenues, Los Angeles, convenient to the street railways. Organized in 1880 with Rev. M. M. Boyard as president, it has since maintained a steady growth. In 1884 a four-story building was erected with suitable classrooms. During the spring of 1905 two wings were added to the main Liberal Arts building, more than doubling its capacity, at an expense of $60,000. The equipment is modern and the laboratories are furnished with the very latest improvements. The medical department of the university was founded in 1885 by Dr. J. P. Widney and eventually was removed from a rented hall to a building of its own on Buena Vista Street. The theological department was founded at San Fernando in 1885 by Charles Maclay, who donated land valued at $150,000 and erected the building originally used for school purposes. However, the college was eventually closed at San Fernando and in 1894 was opened in Los Angeles in connection with Liberal Arts. Besides the departments of liberal arts, medicine, pharmacy and theology, there are those of dentistry, law, music and oratory, and the preparatory and intermediate departments, in all of which there is a large corps of instructors, thoroughly qualified to advance the interests of the students and train their minds for life's activities. Indissolubly associated with the history of the institution is the name of Bovard, for its inception was largely due to the untiring efforts of Rev. M. M. and Freeman D. Bovard, and the former presided over its early destinies, while more recently the younger brother, Dr. George Finley Bovard, has succeeded to the executive management of the institution, whose growth and permanent prosperity he has labored unweariedly to promote.


Online Continuously since 1996 and last updated 29 June 2015
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED