Tulare and Kings Counties, California

Biographies
1926

Note: Use CTRL-F to Search

WILLIAM A. DOWELL.

The gentleman whose life history is here taken under consideration is one of the strong, sturdy characters who has contributed in a very definite measure to the material welfare of the community in which he lives, being a business man of more than ordinary sagacity and foresight, and as a citizen public-spirited and progressive in all that the term implies. William A. Dowell of Terra Bella, was born in Warren county, Iowa, on the 5th day of December, 1854, and is the son of James W. and Martha J. (Reece) Dowell, the former a native of Indiana, and the latter of Illinois. James W. Dowell was an extensive and successful farmer in Iowa and took an active part in the public affairs of his community. William A. Dowell received a good practical public school education and spent his

boyhood days on his father's farm. After leaving the home farm he carried on agriculture on his own account for a time and then went to Cum­berland,Iowa, and engaged in the mercantile business, in which he met with splendid success for a number of years. During these years he had made a number of pleasure trips to the Pacific coast and was attracted by the San Joaquin valley section of California. The year 1913 marked his permanent removal to this locality and he has since been prominently identified with a number of local institutions. He is the owner of two fine, producing orange groves, one at Strathmore and one at Lindsay. He was one of the organizers of the Lindsay National Bank of Lindsay and served as a director up to the time it was taken over by the Pacific- Southwest Trust & Savings Bank, since which time he has been a director of this branch. He is also a director of the Porterville branch of the Pacific-Southwest Bank & Trust Company. He has always taken an active interest in affairs affecting the community where he lives and while a resident of Cumberland,Iowa, served a number of years as secretary of the city council and vice president of the First National Bank. He possesses to a marked degree those sterling traits which command uniform confidence and regard, yet is a plain, unassuming gentleman, straightforward in all his relations with his fellowmen.

Mr. Dowell was married on January 19, 1877, to Miss Martha J. Ash, who was born and reared in Warren county, Iowa, and they are the parents of two children : Chester ; and Sarah Frances, who is the wife of Isaiah Gordinier, a druggist in Terra Bella. Mr. Dowell is a member of the Masonic fraternity, is a republican in politics and belongs to the Christian church.

WILLIAM J. COBB.

William J. Cobb of the Cobb Drug Company,, druggists in Porterville, is one of the best known and most firmly established merchants of that city, a recognized factor in the general commercial life of the community. He is a native of the old Empire state but has been a resident of California for the past fifteen years and is in full accord with the common recognition of this state as a desirable and agreeable place of residence. He was born in the village of Ransomville, not far from the lake in Niagara county, northwestern New York, on February 17, 1886, and is a son of George L. and Josephine L. (Eldredge) Cobb, both members of  old colonial families in New York state, and the latter a granddaughter of a soldier of the Revolution, and both of whom are deceased. George L. Cobb was a merchant in Ransomville and a substantial citizen of that place.

Reared in his native town, William J. Cobb acquired his education there, going on through the high school, and early became interested in the drug business. After clerking for some time in a local drug store he entered the pharmacy school of the University of Buffalo and after a course of two years of study was graduated and became a certified pharmacist. Since that time he has engaged in the practice of pharmacy in Colorado and California. In 1911 Mr. Cobb came to California and engaged in the drug business in Pasadena, presently moving from there to Los Angeles and in the latter city was similarly occupied until 1917 when, in association with Joseph Maurer, he bought the store in which he now is in business in Porterville, the partners carrying on under the firm name of the Cobb Drug Company. This store is conveniently located on Main street and has long enjoyed a deserved popularity as one of the leading commercial establishments of its kind in the valley.. The store is well stocked and admirably equipped, its general appointments being in full accord with up-to-date requirements in that line, and does an extensive business, a staff of eight persons being necessary to take care of the trade.

On July 20, 1912, in Pasadena, William J. Cobb was united in marriage to Miss Mary Busch, who was born in Cripple Creek,Colorado, daughter of Peter Busch. Mr. and Mrs. Cobb have a very Pleasant home inPorterville. Mr. Cobb is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and a noble ofIslamTemple of the Mystic Shrine, and is also affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

ERIC PALMQUIST.

Eric Palmquist was born in the northern part of Sweden, on the 10th of May, 1867. His father kept a general store and dealt in lumber. After Eric Palmquist finished his schooling he assisted his father in the store and lumberyard. In 1892 he came to the United States, located in Kane, Pennsylvania, and there learned the trade of plumber and sheet metal worker. He worked at this occupation eight years for one firm. In 1805 he embarked in the hardware and plumbing business for himself. Six years later he decided to take Horace Greeley's advice and "go west." In that year he arrived in California and was for some time employed by the firm of Cutner & Goldstein ofFresno as a plumber. Then going to Phoenix,Arizona, he worked for a plumbing company in that city until he came to Tulare, where he established the Tulare Plumbing Company, of which he is now the proprietor.

Mr. Palmquist's experience had made him a skilled workman and the people ofTulare were not long in finding out that he understood his business. The result is he has installed the plumbing and heating plants in several of Tulare's business and public buildings. Among these may be mentioned the High School building, in which he did the plumbing and put in the heating plant ; the heating and plumbing in the Christian church ; the hot water heating plants in the First National and the Farmers State Bank buildings ; the Joaquin school in Tulare county ; the Shafter school in Kern county; the First National Bank and a large public school building in Lindsay ; and a business block in Porterville. He has also done much work on residences and the neighboring ranches. While in Kane,Pennsylvania, Mr. Palmquist conducted a large shop, employing most of the time some twenty hands. His principal object in leaving that place was for the benefit of his family's health. In Phoenix,Arizona, he had charge of the plumbing in the new Commercial Hotel—a job that required three hundred and eighty-five fixtures.

Mr. Palmquist was married to Miss Matthilda S. Johnson and they became the parents of nine children, six of whom are still living. They are: Mrs. Alma Noyes, Mrs. Gerda Berger, Mrs. Ebba Carsons ; J. Adrian ; Linea; and Fern. Mr. Palmquist and his family occupy a comfortable home on his ten-acre ranch on the Goshen road. Mr. Palmquist joined the Independent Order of Odd Fellows inKane, Pennsylvania, and was a member of the board of trustees of that city before coming west.

JAMES ERSKINE.

Back in 1872 James M. Johnson started the first abstract company in Visalia,California, covering the present counties of Tulare and Kings. During the next twenty years several other persons and firms engaged in the business and in 1892 the Visalia Abstract Company was incorporated through the consolidation of several abstract concerns already in existence. For many years the offices of the company were in a brick building on West Center street, but in February, 1923, it was merged with the Security Title Insurance & Guarantee Company and on September 22, 1923, the consolidated companies moved into a new home on the corner of Acequia and Locust streets, erected at a cost of sixty thousand dollars. On that date one of the Visalia newspapers said :

"The new home of the Security Title Insurance & Guarantee Company, just completed and thrown open this morning for the inspection of Visalia, is, without fear of contradiction, the finest building equipped for this kind of work in California. Trust companies in metropolitan cities have buildings as fine, perhaps, finer in some respects, and in all probability, larger, but no title insurance company in California can boast of as fine a structure so admirably equipped for the proper attention to every detail of the business."

The Security Title Insurance & Guarantee Company is a San Joaquin valley institution, with resources of one million five hundred thousand dollars. Its principal offices are in Fresno, with affiliated branches in Visalia,Riverside,Santa Barbara and other business centers in the val­ley. The officers of the Visalia branch are as follows : James Erskine,

vice president and manager ; J. Pierce Gannan, assistant secretary and treasurer ; George D. Smith, assistant secretary. The Visalia Abstract Company was the oldest company of the kind in the San Joaquin valley and its complete records constitute one of the most valuable assets of the Security Title Insurance & Guarantee Company, of which it is now a component part.

James Erskine, vice president and manager, whose name stands at the head of this review, was born in the city of Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania,June 17, 1868. At the age of twelve years he affiliated himself with at­torneys and district offices in that city and worked there until 1890, when he came to California. He readily found employment in an abstract office in San Diego and worked there for six years. At the end of that time he went back toPittsburgh, where he resumed his old occupation and re­mained in that city for fourteen years, returning to San Diego in 1910.

In 1911 he came to Visalia and since then has been closely identified with the title business ofTulare and some of the adjoining counties. The newspaper article of September 22, 1923, above referred to says : "The Visalia Abstract Company, now affiliated with the Security Title Insur­ance and Guarantee Company, has as its president and general manager James Erskine, recognized as one of the leading abstract and title men in California. For years Mr. Erskine has been connected with this institution prior to having engaged in its purchase and his intricate knowledge of local conditions is augmented by wide experience throughout California. He is particularly well adapted to the office he now holds and has a firm confidence in the future of this community and the true value of title insurance and correct searching of records. Under his guidance the company may be expected to continue the splendid program of development and expansion coincident with the genuine service and courtesy which has been shown through the years past."

In Santa Ana, on July 31, 1910, Mr. Erskine was married to Miss Nellie V. Dorris, a native of Monterey county, California, and they have one daughter : Jean Dorris Erskine. Mr. Erskine, as manager of the Security Title Insurance and Guarantee Company, is frequently consulted by officials of the other affiliated companies and his advice sought in im­portant matters pertaining to land titles. He is a member of the Visalia Lodge No. 1298, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

GLENN L. MORAN.

Glenn L. Moran, a well known and prominent attorney of Tulare,California, was born in Canton,Illinois,July 16, 1890. He received his ele­mentary education in the public schools of his native town, being a pupil in the grammar school at the time he leftIllinois to come to California. He then attended the high school in Alhambra,California, after which he completed the course in the law department of the University of Southern California at Los Angeles. In July, 1914, he was admitted to the bar and began the practice of law in Alhambra, where he continued for five years.

In 1919 he came to Tulare, where for some time he was a member of the law firm of Nowell & Moran, but is now practicing alone. Mr. Moran's practice is of a general nature and whatever the importance or insignificance of a case, if he takes it his client may be sure that his in­terests will be protected, both in its preparation and in its presentation to the court. Mr. Moran owns forty acres of land in this county.

On December 30, 1914, Mr. Moran was married to Miss Leona Taylor, a native of the State ofWisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. Moran have two chil­dren : A daughter named Mildred ; and a son named Glenn L., Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Moran are republicans.

Mr. Moran is a member of the Tulare County Bar Association, secre­tary and director of the Tulare Board of Trade ; president of the Tulare Rotary Club ; and a member of the Congregational church. He is also a member of the Tulare City Board of Education. In fraternal circles he is a familiar figure. He belongs to Lodge No. 322, F. & A. M., at Alham­bra ; is a member of the Eastern Star Chapter ; of Tulare Lodge No. 1424, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks ; Alhambra Camp No. 671, Woodmen of the World ; and is past chancellor commander of Tulare City Lodge No. 321, Knights of Pythias.

PETER KAMVISES.

Peter Kamvises, dealer in fruits and one of the best known and most popular merchants of the city of Porterville, a resident of that place for the past fifteen years and more, is a native of the kingdom of Greece but has been a resident of California for nearly thirty years and is thus thoroughly acquainted with conditions here. He was born January 27, 1874, and is a son of John and Stamatina Kamvises, both also natives of Greece, the latter of whom is still living there. John Kamvises died when his son Peter was a small boy.

Reared in his native land, Peter Kamvises acquired his education there and as a lad began working in a dry goods store. He continued this employment until he was twenty-seven years of age when, in 1901, he came to theUnited States and proceeding on out into California became employed on a ranch in the vicinity of Fresno. Not long afterward he opened a restaurant in Modesto and was there in business until 1909, when he closed out his affairs and returned to his native land on a visit to his mother. For six months Mr. Kamvises remained in his old home country and then returned to California and in that same year (1910) located in Porterville, where he became employed in one of the hotels. He later resumed his old vocation as a restauranteur and was thus engaged until October, 1922, when he bought the fruit store he now has at No. 213 Main street and since then has been in business there. Mr. Kamvises has a well equipped and well stocked establishment and has built up a good business, the dependable quality of his wares having long ago insured the popularity of this widey known fruit shop.

Mr. Kamvises is a bachelor. He is a member of the local aerie of the Fraternal Order of Eagles and has long taken a warm interest in the af­fairs of that popular fraternal organization.

J. SUB JOHNSON.

For almost half a century the subject of this sketch has been inti­mately identified with the city of Visalia,California, and some of its most important business enterprises. He was born inSt. Charles county, Missouri,August 16, 1859. His father, Langston A. Johnson, was a native of Missouri and at the time of the Civil war served as a soldier in General Price's Division. His mother, also born in Missouri, was Miss Mary Howell. Both parents are deceased and the only two living children are : J. Sub ; and Mrs. Mattie A. Wilber of San Francisco. In 1865 Langston A. Johnson crossed the plains, bringing his family and household effects by means of mule teams and wagons. On the way fromMissouri stops were made at Salt Lake City,Utah, and White Pine, Nevada. The family first located in Los Angeles, but in 1876 came to Vi­salia, where Mr. Langston conducted a store, kept a hotel and was engaged in cattle raising until his death. He was one of the early Odd Fel­lows of the San Joaquin valley and took an active part in the work of the order.

J. Sub Johnson was about nine years old when his father came to Cali­fornia. He had attended school some before leaving Salt Lake City but the greater part of his education was acquired in the public schools of Los Angeles and Visalia, after which he graduated from Heald's BusinessCollege and later took a course in the Packard School of Mines in San Francisco. As a youth he helped his father in the store, where among other duties he filled the place of bookkeeper. While he has always been interested in questions of public policy, the only public positions he has held were the office of tax collector of Tulare county, in which he served efficiently for eight years, and president of the Visalia Board of Educa­tion. Under his administration in the latter place a number of improve­ments were made in the public schools of the city.

In business circles Mr. Johnson is probably the best known man in Tulare county. This is not said in disparagement of other well known business men, but because Mr. Johnson has been for years connected with some of the strong financial concerns, which has brought him into touch with many of the country's citizens, thus extending his acquaintance over a wide field. He is owner of the Visalia City Water Company; president of the Tulare) County Board of Trade ; vice president of Visalia Building and Loan Association ; was formerly a director in the National Bank of Visalia; and is now chairman of the finance committee of the Visalia branch of the Bank of Italy.

But Mr. Johnson's greatest achievement was no doubt the erection of the Hotel Johnson, a substantial modern structure of five stories, with all the conveniences of the most up-to-date hotel. It was opened to the trav­eling public in 1917 and has won the reputation of being one of the best hotels in the valley. "Stop at the Johnson" is heard more frequently every year, when inquiries are made as to the hotel accommodations of Visalia.

On July 6, 1904, Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Olga M. Woerner, of Oakland,California, and they have two daughters—Mildred and Eviza. Mr. Johnson is a democrat and his religious faith is that of the Christian church.

In fraternal circles Mr. Johnson is a familiar figure. He is a thirty- second degree Scottish Rite Mason, a Knight Templar and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine of Islam Temple, San Francisco. He is also a Knight of Pythias, a member of Visalia Lodge No. 1298, Benevolent Protective Order, of Elks of which he is a life member; and belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America.

TREN BISWELL.

Among the younger representatives of the business interests of Dinuba is Tren Biswell, president of the Ford Agency & Service Garage, one of the enterprising and successful firms of this thriving community. He was born in Grinnell,Iowa, on the 2d day of November, 1894, the son of John Biswell, whose death occurred when his son Tren, was a small boy. When twelve years of age, in 1906, Tren Biswell was brought by his mother to Dinuba. After remaining here a short time, he returned to his former home in Iowa, but in 1911 again came here, this time to make this his permanent home. He was a graduate of the Dinuba high school and became a traveling salesman for Chanslor & Lyon, a San Francisco automobile accessory house, and he traveled out of that city for seven years, his territory covering the San Joaquin valley from Blaylock to Bakersfield. In March, 1923, Mr. Biswell quit the road and bought an interest in the business in which he is now engaged. He is president of the company, the other officers being Dow Biswell, a brother of Tren, vice president ; and E. J. McDonald, secretary and treasurer. They are the authorized Ford agents for this locality and are doing a large busi­ness throughout this section of the valley. Courtesy, promptness and reliability have been the keynotes to their success and they are counted among the representative business men of this community. Mr. Biswell owns a ten-acre vineyard in Fresno county.

During the World war Mr. Biswell enlisted first with a machine gun corps at Fresno, from which he received an honorable discharge, and he then reenlisted atCheyenne,Wyoming, and was assigned to Troop A, United States Cavalry, being eighteen months in the service. During this period he was stationed at Douglas,Arizona, and at the close of the war was discharged at Augusta,Georgia.

Mr. Biswell was married to Miss Kathryn McAfee of Fresno, and they have a son, Tren, Jr. Mr. Biswell is a member of the Benevolent Protect­ive Order of Elks, the American Legion, the Rotary Club, the Chamber of Commerce, and is a member of the board of directors of the Merchants Association. Mr. Biswell is a man of sterling qualities of character, who has so impressed his individuality upon the community as to occupy an enviable position in the esteem of those who know him.

FRED F. BADOUX.

That theUnited States is a land of opportunity for young men of intelligence and ambition may be seen in even a casual study of the career of Fred F. Badoux, sealer of weights and measures of Tulare county, California. He was born in Porterville,Tulare county, January 26, 1896, and is a son of Fred F. and Minerva (Damron), Badoux, the father a native of Switzerland and the mother born in Ohio. The former came to the United States when only about seven years of age. As a young man he served in anIllinois regiment in the Civil war, after which he was married and about 1890 or 1891 he settled near Porterville, where he followed farming the rest of his life. He and his wife were the parents of three children : Fred F., the subject of this sketch ; Mrs. Bessie Jones ; and Louis E.

Fred F. Badoux, Jr., was educated in the Porterville schools. As a young man he worked at various occupations on ranches and in a pack­ing house. For two years and a half he was in the employ of the Stand­ard Oil Company in Strathmore, and later was assistant agent for the Union Oil Company in Lindsay. In January, 1920, he was appointed county sealer of weights and measures. Upon coming into this office, which in some respects is one of the most important in the county, so far as the general public is concerned, he instituted a number of reforms in order that the work might be carried on more rapidly and with less friction. Since he came into the position the work has increased about three hundred per cent, so that he and his assistants are required to make thousands of inspections annually.

Mr. Badoux married Miss Pauline Millinghausen, a descendant of one of Tulare county's pioneer families. Mr. Badoux is the owner of a home in Exeter. In Masonry he belongs to the lodge and the chapter. He is also a member of Visalia Pyramid No. 26, Order of Sciots.

WINFIELD S. HUTSELL.

Winfield S. Hutsell, manager of the Dairymen's Cooperative Cream­ery in Visalia,California; was born in White Horn, Tennessee,July 16, 1889. He grew to manhood and was educated in his native state, after which he decided to go to the Pacific coast. On October 20, 1919, he ar­rived in Tulare,Tulare county, California. Without any well defined object in view, further than to be employed in some useful and remunera­tive occupation, he went to work for the Los Angeles Creamery Com­pany. Starting at the bottom as a truckdriver, he followed the process of butter-making through all its different stages. Then he was placed in charge of the separating department—that is separating the cream from the milk—and was later made pasteurizer.

On September 1, 1924, Mr. Hutsell was made manager of the Dairy­men's Cooperative plant inVisalia, where he has remained and, by his skill in butter-making and his executive ability has built up a successful business. This plant is one of a chain of creameries extending over four of the valley counties, it and the plant at Tulare being the only ones in Tulare county. The Visalia creamery makes the Golden Crown brand of butter, which took first prize at the California State Fair previously held in Sacramento.

While Mr. Hutsell takes an interest in public affairs and is especially alert on matters that tend to improve general conditions in Visalia and Tulare county, he is not active in politics, preferring to devote his time and talents to the business of which he is manager.  Consequently he is generally recognized as one of the real live business men of the community, who inspires confidence by his industry and careful attention to his duties. The only fraternal societies to claim his membership are the Woodmen of the World, and the Loyal Order of Moose.

FORREST R. SHEPARD.

Forrest R. Shepard of the firm of Shepard Brothers, dealers in meats in Porterville, a veteran of the World war and one of the well known young merchants ofPorterville, is a native son of Tulare county and has resided here all his life. He was born on a ranch in the immediate vicin­ity of the city of Porterville,February 18, 1893, and is a son of Amos S. and Myra (Ely) Shepard, both also natives of California, the latter of whom is still living, making her home in Porterville. She was born in Solano county and is a daughter of James Ely, who was one of the pioneers of that county. The late Amos S. Shepard was born in Shasta county and was a son of Amos Shepard, who was one of the pioneers of that county. In 1890 Amos S. Shepard established his home on a ranch in the immediate vicinity of the city of Porterville and there spent his last days, his death occurring in 1896.

Reared on the home place, Forrest R. Shepard acquired his early education in thePorterville schools, going on through the high school, and his youth and young manhood were spent in helpful labors on the home farm. During the time of this country's participation in the World war he rendered service in the field artillery and upon the completion of that service became connected with the operations of one of the local creamery companies. He then transferred his services to the Porterville meat market and was for four years thus engaged, during that time becoming thoroughly acquainted with the details of the retail meat trade as applied to this trade area. In June, 1923, Mr. Shepard, in association with his brother, Raybourn Shepard, engaged in business in the retail meat trade in Porterville, opening an establishment at No. 404 West Olive street, the brothers operating under the firm name of Shepard Brothers. This firm has a well equipped establishment, everything being in accord­ance with the requirements of an up-to-date concern, and the brothers have built up a fine business. They have their own killing plant and are thus enabled to assure the freshness of their products. Strict sanitary regulations are observed in the operations of their establishment and it is strictly modern in its equipment and appointments.

On November 20, 1918, in Porterville, Forrest R. Shepard was united in marriage to Miss Lilly Zalud, who was born in that place, daughter of Antone Zalud. Mr. and Mrs. Shepard have a pleasant home in Porter­ville. They are democrats and give proper attention to local civic affairs. Mr. Shepard is one of the active members of the post of the American Legion and is also affiliated with the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias.

GEORGE L. WRIGHT.

Conspicuous among the successful agriculturists and stockmen of Tulare county is George L. Wright, who through the years has made his influence felt for good in this community, with the history of which his life has been closely interwoven for many years. He was born on the 7th day of April, 1858, in Columbus,Indiana, the son of James Rufus and Rebecca (Tuttle) Wright, both of whom were natives of Virginia. James R. Wright served in the Union army during the Civil war, but in 1864 contracted measles and was sent to his home in Illinois, where he died. George L. Wright acquired the rudiments of an education in the com­mon schools, but at the early age of thirteen years he was compelled to shift for himself. He worked at anything he could find to do until 1876, when he came to Tipton, Tulare county, to join his brother, James R. Wright. For a time he was employed in this vicinity, working by the month as buccaroo and on ranches, but at length he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land near where he now lives. He was suc­cessful from the start, for he was energetic and used sound judgment in his operations, so that as he was prospered he was able to buy more land. Eventually he became one of the large ranchers of this county, working many hundreds of acres and producing big crops of wheat. However, as advancing years have compelled him to relinquish in part his former ac­tivity he has sold off most of the land and recently sold the forty acres comprising the home place, and moved to Martinez,California, where he has a home. He has gained a comfortable competence and is now quietly enjoying the rest to which his former years of labor entitle him.

Mr. Wright was married to Miss Katherine Laney, who was born in Missouri, the daughter of George Washington Laney, who formerly owned a woolen factory in Missouri, but became a successful pioneer farmer after coming to Tulare county, his home being near Tipton. To Mr. and Mrs. Wright were born three children, namely : Edna, who became the wife of E. B. Gaunt, ofLong Beach,California; James Roy of Martinez,California ; and Ada, the wife of Ivan Thomas. Mr. Wright has been deeply interested in the welfare of his fellow agriculturists and was one of the organizers of the Farm Bureau in Tipton. He was also a supporter of the Farmers Alliance when it was in popular favor. He is generally recognized as one of Tulare's representative citizens. Coming here without money or influence, he set to work to overcome the difficulties before him and by earnest perseverance, careful management and a willingness to work, he at length saw his efforts crowned with ma­terial success and, what is of more importance, the respect and good-will of his fellowmen.

GEORGE S. LEWIS.

George S. Lewis, with offices in the Farmers State Bank building, Tulare,California, is a native of Tulare county, born in Woodville, Octo­ber 17, 1877. His father, Thomas Lewis, was born in Toledo, Ohio and came to California via the Isthmus of Panama in 1858. He settled first in Colusa county, was married to Miss Martha Johnson, a native of Missouri, and in 1870 located in Woodville, where he engaged in farming and stock raising. Four children of Thomas and Martha Lewis are still living, viz. : George S., Chloe, Ruby and Rosa. 

George S. Lewis received his elementary education in the public schools, after which he attended Heald's BusinessCollege in San Fran­cisco and took a course in engineering. He began the practice of his profession in San Francisco and later was employed by the United States government on reclamation work, particularly the construction of theYuma dam in Arizona. In 1909 he was employed as a mining engineer in Alaska. Returning to California, he was for some time with the engineering department of the Mount Whitney Power Company. After that he was engaged in ranching and stock raising until May, 1923, when he was made city manager of Tulare. This office he held until May, 1924. He is now engaged in the real estate business.

Besides his engineering interests Mr. Lewis owns a fine ranch of two hundred acres. He is a member of the Tulare Board of Trade ; Olive Branch Lodge No. 269, F. & A. M. ; Tulare Chapter No. 71, R. A. M. ; and Visalia Pyramid No. 23, Order of Sciots.

IRA CHRISMAN.

As early as 1853 H. T. Chrisman of Virginia, crossed the plains "to spy out the land" on the Pacific coast. In the rugged mountains, the fertile valleys and the salubrious climate ofCalifornia he found much to admire and approve and returned eastward with a determination to make California his home. Circumstances prevented the immediate carrying out of his purpose, but in 1857 he again crossed the plains and settled on a ranch a short distance north of Visalia, where he became a large farmer and stock raiser. This ranch is still in the possession of and is now occupied as a home by Mr. Chrisman's daughter. H. T. Chrisman was married to Miss Elizabeth Parker, a native of Arkansas, and to them were born five children. Both parents and two of the children have passed away. The living members of the family are : -Ira, the subject of this sketch ; Mrs. L. 0. Cutler, who lives on the old homestead ; and Albert J. of Cutler, this county.

Ira Chrisman was born on his father's ranch, three miles north of Visalia,California,April 24, 1863. He grew to manhood there, attending the schools in the Chatham district, where he received a good practical education. Upon reaching his majority he cast in his lot with the democratic party, in the local councils of which he soon became recognized as one of the leaders. In 1894 he was elected recorder of Tulare county and served one term. He was then out of office for one term, but was again elected in 1902 and has been reelected at each successive election since that time. He also served two terms as mayor of Visalia, and has always taken a keen interest in local public affairs.

Mr. Chrisman was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Robertson, a native ofGeorgia, who died leaving three children : Mrs. Ireta Chrisman Thompson, Errol and Jack.

Mr. Chrisman is a director of the Visalia Building & Loan Associa­tion, with which he has been connected for twenty-five years. In the fra­ternal circles of Visalia he is a familiar figure, being a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Order of Sciots, the Woodmen of the World, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

IRA O. MARKS.

Ira O. Marks, local distributor in Porterville for the International tractors and trucks and widely known in the automobile trade hereabout, is a native of the old Hawkeye state and was reared in Nebraska but is a resident of California by choice and inclination. Mr. Marks was for many years employed as a traveling salesman and has been over a large part of the country, but as a point of desirable residence he has found no place more attractive than California. He was born in the thriving town of Ackley, Hardin county, in central Iowa, September 18, 1877, and is a son of George and Caroline (Faust) Marks, who two years following that date, in 1879, moved with their family from Iowa into Nebraska and became located in Omaha, in the latter state, where George Marks became engaged in the wholesale saddlery business and where he and his wife are still living, the former now (1925) being seventy-five years of age and the latter seventy-two.

As will be observed by a comparison of the above dates, Ira 0. Marks was but two years of age when his parents moved to Nebraska and he grew up in Omaha, acquiring his early education in the schools of that place and going on through the high school. Early becoming interested in the saddlery business, in connection with the operations of his father's establishment, he became a skilled saddler and harnessmaker, thus becoming familiar with the basic conditions of the trade, and then started out as a commercial salesman in this behalf, calling on the trade through­out a wide area. For twenty years Mr. Marks continued as a traveling salesman and then in October, 1921, he established his home inPorterville and there became the distributor in this territory for the International tractors and trucks, manufactured by the International Harvester Company at Chicago, and has done well in this line, these ducts having attained a wide popularity hereabout. Mr. Marks .has a well equipped and admirably appointed sales establishment at No. 408 Second street and has come to be recognized as one of the substantial figures in the commercial life of this region. In connection with his sales plant he also maintains a well stocked service station for the tractors and trucks distributed through his agency and is equipped to take care of any sort of trouble along that line. 

Mr. Marks has been twice married. In 1904, in Los Angeles, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary Alice Ramsburgh, who died in 1915, leaving one child, a son, Ira 0. Marks, Jr. In 1921, in Porterville, Mr. Marks was married to Mrs. Sallie Neal Leverton, who was born in the city of Denver,Colorado, and they have a pleasant home in Porterville. Mr. and Mrs. Marks are republicans and take a proper interest in general civic affairs. They belong to the Congregational church.

Mr. Marks still retains his interest in the saddlery business with his father in Omaha.

GEORGE F. SIMERAL.

George F. Simeral, a well known and well established business man of Pixley, for years one of the leading merchants of that village, now in the grocery business, has been a resident of Tulare county for about fifteen years and has acquired a wide acquaintance hereabout. He was born on a farm in the immediate vicinity of the city of Salem,Marion county, in the state of Oregon, a son of Wilton and Emma (Anderson) Simeral, who had come into the coast country from Iowa, and who had established themselves on a farm near Salem.

Reared on the home farm, George F. Simeral attended the Salem schools and from the days of his boyhood was a helpful aid to his father in the labors of developing the home place, where he remained until he had attained his majority, growing up an experienced and practical farmer. He then was made superintendent of the operations on the farm of the Oregon state institutions for feeble-minded persons, in the vicinity of Salem, and was thus employed for eighteen months, at the end of which time he came to California and became a resident of Tulare county, where he ever, since has made his home.

It was in 1911 that Mr. Simeral came to Tulare county and settled en a ranch of one hundred and thirty-one acres a mile and a half south cf Pixley, which he had bought and which he proceeded to develop. In 1919 giving up the active personal operation of this ranch, Mr. Simeral leased it and in the village of Pixley, he became associated with J. E. Swanson in the general mercantile business. This partnership was maintained un­til in June, 1921, when the partners severed this relationship and divided the store, Mr. Simeral taking over the hardware department and Mr. Swanson taking the dry goods and groceries. In 1924 Mr. Simeral sold his hardware stock and bought the grocery stock and has since been engaged in business in the latter line, proprietor of what it regarded as the leading grocery store in the village. He still retains ownership of his ranch and has developed a good piece of property there, it now being operated on lease. Mr. Simeral does electrical contracting in and about Pixley, carrying a stock of fixtures and electrical supplies. 

On August 23, 1911, in Salem,Oregon, George F. Simeral was united in marriage to Miss Marguerite Klein of that city and they have three sons : Anthony, Robert and Norman. Mrs. Simeral has had considerable business training and is a valuable aid to her husband in the management of the grocery store. Mr. Simeral is a member of the Tulare Lodge, No. 1424, of the.Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

ARCHIE LEONARD BEAM.

Within the past decade there has been built up in Porterville an industry that has done much to help emblazon the merits of that city as a commercial and distributing center, the fame of the Beam confections having been extended throughout the San Joaquin valley. When in 1917 Archie Leonard Beam established himself as a manufacturer of candies in Porterville he started in a modest way in a little shop on South Hockett street. The fine particular quality of the products of this plant and the meticulous care exercised by the proprietor in assuring the utmost in the way of purity of product and the wholesome sanitary methods adopted in his factory soon brought about a demand for these products that necessitated larger quarters. Mr. Beam then moved his plant to quarters in the Miller building on Main street. His plant was destroyed by fire in March, 1924, and he then established himself in a new and strictly modern plant at his present location, No. 125 North Main street, where he since has extended his operations, increased his capacity for production and is putting out a line of confections that has secured a wide distribution throughout this trade area, a wholesale business of no small magnitude having been created in addition to the extensive retail trade long enjoyed by the popular Beam candy shop in Porterville. Mr. Beam came to Porterville a candy manufacturer of wide experience and during the time he has been engaged in business as a manufacturer here he has kept pace with the interesting advances that have been made in the production of choice confections during the past few years, and some of his select goods have attained an unusual popularity. He has a force of competent operatives in his plant, his products are prepared under the most wholesome conditions and their popularity among the lovers of a good sweetmeat can thus be readily understood. During the time of this country's participation in the World war Mr. Beam made a specialty of candies manu­factured for the soldiers in camp and field and these Beam products proved prime favorites.

Archie L. Beam was born in Pine Grove,Nevada,October 31, 1882, and is a son of John and Nancy (Davis) Beam, whose last days were spent in the state of Washington. John Beam was a pioneer in the min­ing fields of California and Nevada, a '49er who came into California in the first year of the gold rush and was here for about fifteen years, at the end of which time he moved over into Nevada, where he was married and where he made his home until in the late '80s, when he moved to Seattle, Washington. In addition to his mining and other industrial operations this earnest pioneer was also for years engaged as a preacher of the gospel and was a man of large influence in the communities in which he lived.

Completing his education in the high school in Seattle, Archie L. Beam early became interested in the manufacture of candy and was for thir­teen years connected with the operations of candy shops inSeattle. He then came to California and was for something more than two years em­ployed in making candy in San Francisco, going thence to Los Angeles, in which city he was similarly engaged for four years, or until 1917, when he established himself in business as a manufacturer of candy in Porterville, as is set out above, and has since been quite successfully engaged along that line, proprietor of one of the best plants of its kind in California.

In 1917, inVisalia, Archie L. Beam was united in marriage to Miss Edna Miller, who was born in Georgetown, Eldorado county, this state. daughter of William George Miller. Mr. and Mrs. Beam have one child, a daughter, Marilynn Lee Beam. Mrs. Beam was a professional nurse at the time of her marriage and had for some years followed that profession. She is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star and of the Daughters of Rebekah. Mr. and Mrs. Beam are republicans and take a proper interest in local civic affairs. Mr. Beam is a member of the Masonic order and is also affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and with the Foresters.

WOOSTER B. CARTMILL.

In 1849 W. F. Cartmill started across the plains with an ox team, but did not arrive in Sacramento,California, until the 8th of September, the year the United States government took over California and territory. He was a native of Ohio and a practicing physician before coming west. After becoming a resident of California he engaged in mining and later conducted a general store in Amador county. In October, 1861, he again yoked up his oxen and brought his family to Tulare county, where he followed farming for many years. The Cartmill ranch, a short distance northwest of Tulare, is one of the oldest cultivated tracts of land in the district. His wife, whose maiden name was Sophia Barnes, was a native of Missouri. Of the five children born to this worthy pioneer couple, Wooster B. of this review is the sole survivor.

Wooster B. Cartmill was born in Amador county, California,April 3, 1857. At that time the educational facilities were limited and his first school was a small one in the Persian district. After the railroad was built through the valley a school was established in Tulare county, not far from his father's ranch. He attended this school and finished his education at a business college in San Francisco. For several years after he completed his schooling he was engaged in looking after the old home ranch of his father near Tulare.

In 1900 he established a creamery in Tulare—the first in the town. This venture proved to be a success and later he organized the Coopera­tive Creamery Company of Tulare, of which he was made manager. Disposing of his interest in this enterprise, he entered the office of the county auditor as a deputy under W. J. Hirnian, then county auditor. In 1922 he was appointed postmaster of Tulare by President Harding and still holds that position.

Mr. Cartmill has been twice married. His first wife was Laura Hatch, who has passed away. They had a daughter, who is now Mrs. W. B. Gump of New York. His second wife was Mrs. Jane Henry, and to them have been born three children—Mary, Eva and William G. Cartmill. Mr. Cartmill is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity in Tulare. He is secretary of Olive Branch Lodge No. 269, F. & A. M.; a member of the Royal Arch Chapter, and a director of the Tulare Masonic Temple Association. He also belongs to the Order of Sciots, the Woodmen of the World and the Tulare Rotary Club.

JAMES M. BURKE.

James M. Burke, one of the well known attorneys of Visalia and Tulare county, is a native of California, born in Damascus, Placer county, February 7, 1879. His father, Thomas Burke, came from Ireland alone at the age of seventeen years, and for the greater part of his life was engaged in gold mining. He is still remembered by old residents of Placer and Sonoma counties as one of the pioneer mining men of the state.

In his boyhood James M. Burke attended the schools of Healdsburg, Sonoma county, after which he entered the University of California, where he was a member of the graduating class of 1908. He then took the law course in the same institution, completing it in 1910. The following February he came to Visalia, where he accepted a position as deputy district attorney under Frank Lamberson, then district attorney. Here he remained for eight years, except for a short time in 1916, when he served as a private in the California National Guard on the Mexican border during the Villa trouble.

On January 1, 1919, Mr. Burke joined the law firm of Farnsworth & McClure, which then became Farnsworth, McClure & Burke, with offices in the Bank of Italy building, now generally recognized as one of the leading legal firms of Tulare county. Some time prior to his entrance into this firm he became interested in fruit culture and in connection with a Mr. Booth, ofLos Angeles, planted a vineyard and orchard ranch of fifty acres, which they have developed to a high state of cultivation, and in which he still holds his interest.

Politically Mr. Burke is a republican and as such takes a lively interest in public affairs. He is now (1924) serving his second term as a member of theVisalia city council. Fraternally he belongs to Visalia Lodge No. 1298, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and is a member of the Knights of Columbus.

Mr. Burke was united in marriage to Miss Lillian M. Farnsworth, who was born in Amador county, California, and they have one daugh­ter, Anne McLaine Burke.

LOVELL J. WILSON.

Lovell J. Wilson, a partner in the operations of the well established Sunset Dairy of Porterville, a veteran of the World war with an inter­esting overseas record, and one of the best known young men of this sec­tion of California, is a native son of California and has lived in this state all his life, a resident of Porterville since the days of his boyhood, and is thus widely known hereabout. He was born in the city of Napa, in the county of that name, November 8, 1895, and is a son of James and Hannah (Moore) Wilson, the latter of whom is still living, a resident of Porterville for more than twenty years. She was born in California, and has always been a resident of this state. James Wilson, who died inNapa, in 1898, was a native of England, who came to California in the days of his boyhood and after his marriage established his home in Napa, where he was engaged as a building contractor. At his death his widow was left with two small children, the immediate subject of this sketch having a sister, Veda, now Mrs. Thomas B. Yeager, who is living inCoalinga,California. In 1902 Mrs. Wilson moved to Porterville with her two children and has since made her home in that city.

As will be observed by a comparison of above dates, Lovell J. Wilson was seven years of age when his mother took up her residence in Porter- vine and he attended the schools of that city, graduating from the high school in 1914. He early became connected with the dairy industry and was thus engaged when in the spring of 1917 this country took a hand in the World war that for nearly three years had been raging in Europe. Mr. Wilson got into the service of the army in the following September and after a bit of intensive training at Camp Lewis was assigned to the Three Hundred Sixty-fourth Infantry and with that command presently was sent overseas and was attached to the Ninety-first Division of the American Expeditionary Forces in France. For ten months Mr. Wilson was in overseas service, this service including participation in some of the most decisive campaigns of the war in the summer and fall of 1918, such as those along the Schildt, the Meuse-Argonne grapple which broke the backbone of the German army, and the equally spectacular engagement at St. Mihiel.

Upon the completion of his military service Mr. Wilson returned home and resumed his place along the quiet paths of peace, taking up his dairy­ing and ranching operations about where he had left off when he went out to war. In 1921, in association with Ralph E. Hapgood, also a veteran of the World war, he became established in his present business, the partners doing business as the Sunset Dairy, doing a wholesale and re­tail business in dairy products, and has done very well, this dairy having established for itself a fine reputation in the trade area it so effectively serves.

On June 25, 1919, Mr. Wilson was united in marriage to Miss Gene­vieve Irene Parker, daughter of William A. Parker and a member of one of the pioneer families of Tulare county. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson have a very pleasant home in Porterville, in the general social activities of which city they take an interested and helpful part. They are republicans and give proper attention to the civic affairs of the community, interested in all measures having to do with the advancement of the common interest. Mr. Wilson is a member of Post No. 20 of the American Legion and has done his part in promoting the interests of that vigorous patriotic body. He also is affiliated with the Masonic order, belonging to the lodge and the chapter. Mr. Wilson is owner of two different ranches, each of twenty acres, bearing fruit and alfalfa.

CHARLES D. LAVIN.

Charles D. Lavin, dealer in wall paper and paints on East Tulare street,Tulare,California, also an expert painter and interior decorator, was born in the town ofBothwell,Province of Ontario,Canada,August 17, 1869. While still in his teens he was apprenticed to a house painter in Chatham,Ontario. When he had learned his trade he went to Portland,Oregon, in 1884, and worked there until January, 1886. He then came to Tulare and since that time has worked in various cities in California. From 1894 to 1907 he was a resident of Bakersfield. From there he went to Oakland, where he lived until 1919. While in Oakland he was one of the organizers of the painters' union, which numbered about eight hundred members, and was always active in its councils.

In 1919 Mr. Lavin came back to Tulare and established his present business. During his years of experience as a painter and decorator, he had ample opportunity to study the various tastes in colors and designs. This experience enabled him to stock his store with wall paper patterns, paints and enamels likely to prove popular with the people of Tulare. Five years in actual business have shown that he was not mistaken in his judgment. In that time he has done most of the interior decorating and much of the exterior painting in the city. He has the only exclusive store of the kind in the city and carries the largest stock of paints and wall papers in the valley. With his goods of high quality, expert workmen and friendly suggestions to customers, he is building up a large and lucrative business.

Mr. Lavin has been twice married. The children of his first marriage were : Ralph, now a druggist in Taft,California; Walter; and Charles, who died at the age of eighteen years. Mr. Lavin's second wife was before her marriage Miss Bertha Easton. While in Bakersfield Mr. Lavin was made a Master Mason and still holds his membership in that lodge. He is also a member of the Tulare Board of Trade.

GRANT F. CLAYTON, D. O.

Dr. Grant F. Clayton, a widely known practitioner of osteopathy in Tulare county, with residence and office in the pleasant village of Earlimart and an office also in Delano, the owner of a fine ranch in the Earlimart neighborhood and in other ways interested in the general affairs of the community, has been a resident of California for a quarter of a century and never ceases singing the praises of this favored state as a place of residence, particularly stressing the manifold delights of the beautiful and fruitful San Joaquin valley. Dr. Clayton is a native of the state of Illinois, born in the city of Ottawa, the county seat of La Salle county, in the northern part of that state, not far southwest of the city of Chicago, November 7, 1864, a son of John S. and Julia A. (Surdan) Clayton, members of pioneer families in that section of that state. John S. Clayton, who was a substantial farmer and landowner, was a son of William Clayton, who was one of the real pioneers of La Salle county and who became a well-to-do farmer and stockman.

Reared on the home place in the immediate vicinity of the city of Ottawa Grant F. Clayton attended the schools of that city and his young manhood was devoted to the labors of the farm. While thus engaged he became interested in the theory and practice of osteopathy as a curative medium and after some preliminary study along that line entered the S. S. StillOsteopathicSchool at Kirksville,Missouri, and after a thorough course of study was graduated from that institution in 1899, a member of the fourth class thus graduated from the Still school. Thus equipped for the practice of the profession to which he had devoted his talents, Dr. Clayton opened an office for practice in Chadron, Dawes county, Nebraska, and was there for about three years, at the end of which time he closed out his interests and came to California, where he ever since has made his home and where he is quite content to remain.

Upon coming to California, Dr. Clayton engaged in practice in Los Angeles, taking there a downtown office, and was thus occupied until 1907 when, seeking retirement, he came to Tulare county and bought a tract of one hundred and eighty acres of fruit land in the Earlimart neighbor­hood, which he began to improve and develop, with a view to giving his attention to fruit culture. It was not long until it became known in the community that he was a doctor of osteopathy and presently the calls made upon his professional services became so numerous that he decided after all that the time had not yet come for him to retire from practice and he abandoned his ranching activities and resumed his formal practice, with office and residence in Earlimart, where he since has been located and where he has acquired a wide practice. The Doctor also maintains a part time office in Delano and is widely known throughout the county. He disposed of one hundred acres of his ranch but still owns eighty acres and finds much satisfaction in the manner in which his ini­tial work has developed there.

On November 29, 1889, in Utica,Illinois, Dr. Clayton was united in marriage to Miss Sarah I. Irwin, who also was born in La Salle county, Illinois, a member of one of the old families of that section of the state. To Dr. and Mrs. Clayton four children have been born, sons all, namely : Irwin, who died at the age of eighteen years ; Grant E., who is now living inLos Angeles, and Howard C. and Elmore E., who are at home with their parents. Mrs. Clayton also is a graduate osteopath physician and has for years been practicing in association with her husband, the two having offices together, a very effective and convenient arrangement. Both are members of the California State Osteopathic Association and are widely known in professional circles throughout the state.

MATTHEW W. GRACE.

Matthew W. Grace, superintendent of the TulareCountyHospital, was born in Neosho,Newton county, Missouri,January 12, 1860. As a boy he worked on his father's farm, attending the public schools during the fall and winter months, and followed agricultural pursuits until he came to California in 1893. The greater part of that time he was located in St. Charles county, on the Missouri river. When he came to California in 1893 he first located in Exeter, but about three years later he removed

to Lindsay, where he was associated with his brother-in-law, Charles Kirkman, in conducting a butcher shop.

In 1898 Mr. Grace was appointed postmaster in Lindsay and held that position until 1917. When he was first appointed the office was in the fourth class and he attended to all duties himself. When he retired it was a second-class office, with three regular clerks and two mail carriers. Soon after leaving the post office he was appointed superintendent of the TulareCountyHospital, located in Visalia. That he discharged his duties in a manner satisfactory to the constituted authorities is evidenced by the fact that he has been continued as superintendent. The institution has forty beds and is well equipped for the treatment of patients.

Mr. Grace married Miss Henrietta Osmond, a native of New Orleans,Louisiana, who is the matron of the hospital. They have two daughters : Gwendolyn Elizabeth and Helen Pauline. Mr. Grace belongs to the Wood­men of the World, which is the only fraternal society to claim him as a member.

CHARLES H. J. HAUSCH.

Back in the pioneer period of California's history, a young German named Christian Hausch left the fatherland and came to the United States. Hearing of fortunes having been made in the gold mines of Cal­ifornia, he crossed the plains and for a time followed mining. Then he concluded that the California soil and climate would yield better and more certain returns than the gold mines, and planted a vineyard in Sonoma county. In this venture he was not disappointed, but believing that he would meet with more success farther south, in June, 1873, he purchased and settled on a ranch seven miles west of Visalia, where he passed the remainder of his days.

Christian Hausch was prominent in the Masonic fraternity. He be­longed to the lodge, chapter and commandery and in the last named held the office of prelate for twenty years, winning the reputation of being one of the best prelates in the state of California. While living in Sonoma county he was married to Miss Belle Ireland, who has also passed to her eternal reward.

Charles H. J. Hausch, a son of this worthy couple, was born in Healdsburg, Sonoma county, California,December 24, 1872, but was brought by his parents to Tulare county the following June, when he was only about six months old. He grew to manhood on his father's ranch, seven miles west of Visalia. His early education was obtained in the public schools. He was a member of the graduating class of the Visalia high school in 1894, after which he attended the LelandStanfordUniversity.

On August 27, 1899, Mr. Hausch was united in marriage to Miss Maude Edith Griffin, a native of Sonoma county, California, and they have one son : Douglas C., now a student in StanfordUniversity. After his marriage he engaged in farming and dairying on the ranch adjoining that of his father. In 1917 he rented out his ranch and moved to Visalia, where he has become identified with several organizations and business enterprises. He is president of the Visalia Kaweah Water Company, a director of the Evans Ditch Company, secretary and treasurer of theCountyHealthCenter, to which he gives much of his time, and is a member of the Visalia Kiwanis Club. 

In fraternal circles Mr. H. J. Hausch is one of the most prominent and best known men in Visalia. He is a member of Visalia Lodge No. 128, F. & A. M.; Royal Arch Chapter No. 44; Knights Templar Commandery No. 26; is active in the work of the Order of the Eastern Star— the ladies' degree in Masonry ; and is a member of the advisory board of Mount Whitney Chapter, Order of De Molay, to which the sons of Master Masons not yet twenty-one years of age are eligible. He is exalted ruler of Visalia Lodge No. 1298, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and belongs to the Order of Sciots.

Politically Mr. Hausch is a democrat and since he has been old enough to vote he has taken an active part in public affairs. In 1920 he was elected supervisor from the third district of Tulare county, and in 1924 was reelected. Like the late President Grover Cleveland, he believes that "public office is a public trust", and in the administration of county affairs he has been actuated by this principle. He realizes the fact that low taxes are always to be desired, but he also realizes that taxes levied for a permanent public improvement, that means an asset to the community, are sometimes a necessity, hence he has given his support to the good roads movement. His reelection at the expiration of his first term of four years is a testimony that the voters of his district approve his policy, and his large vote in 1924 was merely an expression of public confidence.

ARTHUR EWART MIOT.

Since the beginning of the present century few men have done as much and none has done more toward the development of the San Joaquin valley than Arthur E. Miot, secretary and manager of the Tulare County Board of Trade. He was born in Newberry,South Carolina,March 10, 1862. The first twelve years of his life were passed in Florida, where his father died. His mother eight years later married Colonel M. B. Carter of the city of Franklin,Tennessee. The home farm formed part of the field where the battle of Franklin, one of the important engage­ments of the Civil war, was fought on the last day of November, 1864, the residence being the headquarters for theUnion general.

When about eighteen years of age Mr. Miot decided to try his fortune on the Pacific coast and in June, 1880, he landed in HanfordCalifornia. At that time Hanford was a small village of some few hundred inhabitants. It was then inTulare county, but is now in Kings. He found employment in a general merchandise store, where he worked for two years. From Hanford he went to Tulare and there was employed for two years in the mercantile house of Schultz & McGinley, and for thir­teen years was with J. Goldman and Company.

In 1889, while still in the mercantile business, he planted one of the first vineyards in the county near Tulare. As this vineyard matured and developed he saw the possibilities of theSan Joaquin valley as a fruit- growing district. In 1900 he organized the San Joaquin Valley Citrus Fair at Tulare, of which he was secretary and manager. The following year he was secretary and manager of the Hanford Fair Association. Under his supervision a race track was built and the fair that year was a pronounced success. This fair also enjoyed the distinction of being the first county fair in the state to be conducted without intoxicating liquors being sold on the grounds.

Mr. Miot's next step was to organize for the San Joaquin Valley Com­mercial Association, the San Joaquin Valley Information Bureau, and in February, 1902, opened offices at 610 South Broadway in Los Angeles, where they showed an exhibit of valley products. This association em­braces eight counties in the valley, and the information bureau marked the turning point in immigration to the fertile valley of theSan Joaquin. Mr. Miot spent the greater part of two years advertising the resources of the valley and encouraging the development of its resources.

In 1903 Mr. Miot was appointed secretary and manager of the Tulare County Board of Trade. This position brought him into contact with the commercial and industrial leaders of the county, who have given him a hearty cooperation in various projects for improving conditions, espe­cially those relating to transportation, education and the general develop­ment of the natural resources of the valley. For more than twenty years Mr. Miot devoted his best energies and his intellect to this work and has seen his efforts crowned with full measure of success.

Mr. Miot was united in marriage to Miss Charlotte E. Cameron, a na­tive of Granby,Canada, and his home life is all that could be desired. They reside in Tulare. Mr. Miot owns three different tracts of land and has been reasonably successful in life. He is also a director of the Pacific Southwest Bank at Tulare. In religious faith the family are Presbyterian. In addition to his promotion work Mr. Miot has taken a commendable interest in public affairs. For six years he was a member of the board of trustees of the city of Tulare and four years of that time he served as mayor. He is a member of the Rotary Club of Tulare and his fraternal relations are with the Woodmen of the World.

JOHN R. MACDONALD.

For the past twenty years John R. MacDonald, now chief of police for the city ofTulare,California, has been intimately identified with crim­inal and civil investigation. In the performance of his duties in this connection his work has taken him to all parts of the United States,Europe,Japan,China, the Philippine and South Sea Islands. He was born in Kings county, New York,October 7, 1886, but the greater part of his life has been passed as a citizen of California. For some time he was in the employ of the State Highway Commission, working directly under A. B. Fletcher, state highway engineer and director of public works, and Maj. C. L. J. Frohwitter, a retired officer of the United States army. His duties in this position pertained to traffic regulation on the state highways in the district extending from the San Joaquin river on the north to the city limits of Los Angeles on the south. Here his principal work was watching for the overloading of trucks, heavy loads breaking the surface of the highways.

In the early part of 1923 Mr. MacDonald was employed by the State Highway Commission and the Federal Bureau of Public Roads in taking the motor vehicle census over the public highways of California. On May 15, 1923, he was appointed chief of police of the city of Tulare. The police force of Tulare is small, consisting only of three patrolmen, one motor police officer, two merchants' special policemen, also Constables J. D. Reed and Deputy Charles Cassel. At the time Mr. MacDonald took charge this little force suffered in efficiency from lack of system and organization. His first duty, therefore, was to introduce modern police methods into the department. In his earlier years as a criminal investigator Mr. MacDonald had studied the subject of finger prints until he became an expert. He established and perfected a department of identification, in which the finger prints and accurate description of every person arrested are filed in such a way as to be easy of access. The information thus collected is of great benefit to the police departments of other cities in the apprehension and identification of crooks, and that class is now giving Tulare a wide berth. Each member of the force is required to make a daily report.

Mr. MacDonald is a member of the International Association for Identification ; the Peace Officers Association of the State of California ; the International Police Conference of New York City; the California Highway Patrolmen's Association ; and the Tulare Board of Trade. His experience has made him a good judge of human nature, consequently he is a good mixer and a popular member of these various organizations.

GILBERT B. FURNESS, M. D.

Dr. Gilbert B. Furness, one of the leading physicians and surgeons of Visalia,California, is a native of the Empire state, born in Ogdensburg, New York,October 24, 1873. After attending the public schools and OgdensburgFreeAcademy, he enrolled as a student in the medical department of the University atAnn Arbor, and was graduated with the class of 1896, receiving the degree of M. D. For a few months after graduating he was connected with the NorthMichiganHospital, in Traverse City, but in 1897 he located in Mandan,North Dakota, as district surgeon of the Northern Pacific railroad and also began the work of building up a private practice.

While in North Dakota, Dr. Furness was a member of the Morton County Board of Health, of which he was also vice president; city health officer of Mandan ; a member of the commission of public health; and division surgeon for the Northern Pacific Railroad. In 1913 he came to California. After taking a postgraduate course in Los Angeles, he practiced a short time in OceanPark and then came to Visalia.

Although a comparatively recent addition to the population of Visalia, Dr. Furness has become intimately identified with some of the city's most important interests. He is now (1925) serving his second term as a member of the city council ; a director of the Visalia Chamber of Commerce ; a director of the Home Builders, and a member of the Kiwanis Club. He was one of the founders and is president of the KaweahHospital and has been active in many movements for the advancement of his adopted city.

On July 11, 1899, Dr. Furness was married to Miss Grace Hamilton, of New York state, and they have four daughters : Margaret, a graduate of the University of California and now a teacher in the public schools of Exeter; Dorothy, a student in the University of California ; and Grace and Marian, at home. Dr. Furness is a republican in politics, and religiously the family are affiliated with the Episcopal church. The Doctor is a member of the charter committee that drew up the city charter and the city is now under the city manager plan. He is also president of the Masonic Building Association. He is well known in fraternal circles. In Masonry he has attained the degree of Knight Templar, and while in North Dakota he became a Noble of the Mystic Shrine at Fargo. He is also a member of Visalia Lodge No. 1298, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

CHARLES WHITE.

Successful as a rancher, unusually efficient as a director of road work and public-spirited in his attitude as a private citizen, Charles White of Hot Springs, is numbered among the leading men of his locality. He is a native son of California, born in Glenville, on the 12th day of October, 1873. His parents were Thomas and Mary E. (Ellis) White. Thomas White, who was a native of Maine, became a seafaring man and in the course of his voyages had been to the Pacific coast twice prior to his last trip here in the '50s, when he decided to quit the sea and settle down on solid land. For several years he worked in the mines, and then located in Kern county, where he became prominently identified with public affairs, serving two terms as a member of the board of county supervisors. Later he settled in theWhite River district in Tulare county and became a large cattleman and an influential citizen. 

Charles White received a good public school education and early in life engaged in the cattle business. He is now located on a fine farm of six hundred acres at Hot Springs, all of his land being under fence, and here he has been successful in his operations to a very gratifying degree. During the past nine years. Mr. White has been engaged in road work and for six years has had charge of thirty miles of mountain highway, a diffi­cult piece of roadway, but which he has maintained in the best possible condition. He exercises good judgment and is vigilant in his watchful­ness over the roads under his supervision, so that his work has been universally commended by those who have occasion to know of his efforts. Mr. White has been deeply interested in all phases of the community life and is an earnest advocate of good schools and other public improvements. He has served many times on election boards and enjoys to a marked degree the confidence and respect of his fellow citizens.

Mr. White was married to Adah B. Helmeugh of Hot Springs, the daughter of H. Helmeugh, who in the early days here was a noted stage driver. Mr. and Mrs. White have two children : Avon M. and Cheryl E., both of whom are students in the high school in Porterville.

GEORGE H. NIELSEN.

It has long been a matter of common comment in the public press that the immigrants who come to theUnited States from the Scandina­vian countries become useful and loyal citizens. Most of them have learned something of American institutions and customs before leaving their native land, consequently they readily adapt themselves to their new environment. Among the Scandinavians who have located in California G. H. Nielsen, part owner and manager of the Tulare Creamery, is deserving of mention in this work as a man who has by his own efforts succeeded where many others would have lacked the courage to conquer the obstacles which he had to overcome. He was born in Denmark,December 19, 1883. His father was interested in a cooperative creamery and his youth was spent in learning the details of the business. In 1904, when only twenty-one years of age, he came to America and for the first four years in the United States he worked for the Wisconsin Butter & Creamery Company, of Elkhorn, Wisconsin. Here he received twenty dollars per month and his board, but out of his wages he saved money enough to pay for a course in the dairy department of the Wisconsin AgriculturalCollege at Madison.

In July, 1907, Mr. Nielsen landed in Stockton,California, and worked in the creamery until the first of the following year. He then went to Bakersfield, where he worked for six years as a butter maker in the Kern County Creamery. At the end of that time he went into business for himself by establishing the Danish Dairy Creamery Company, which he managed successfully for over five years. Selling this plant to the Peacock Ice Cream Company, he paid a visit to his old home in Denmark, accompanied by his wife and son. His father and mother are still living and he enjoyed his visit to the scenes of his boyhood, meeting some of his former schoolmates, who, like himself, had grown to manhood. He was gone nine months, during which time he visited Sweden,Germany,France and England.

Returning to California in the month of November, 1921, Mr. Nielsen bought eighty acres of wild land south of Bakersfield, where he planted an orchard and vineyard. This he has brought to a high state of culti­vation and it now yields a handsome profit. He also owns a ranch and one hundred and sixty acres in the Buttonwillow district of Kern county, upon which he has a well developed dairy farm, with a herd of eighty high-grade milch cows.

In January, 1923, Mr. Nielsen came to Tulare and purchased a half interest in the Tulare Creamery, the oldest creamery in the county, hav­ing been started many years ago by W. B. Cartmill, the present post­master at Tulare. Under Mr. Nielsen's management the business has increased until now five trucks are needed to distribute the hundreds of gallons of sweet milk and cream to all parts of the county daily. The company also acts as distributor for the Peacock Ice Cream Com­pany of Bakersfield and supplies this famous delicacy to hotels, restaurants and families throughout the territory covered by its trucks.

Mr. Nielsen was married to Miss Christiana Sorensen, who was born in Parlier, Fresno county, California, a daughter of one of that county's early settlers. Mr. and Mrs. Nielsen have five children : George C., Carl, Marion, Helen L. and Barbara G. The two last named are twins, born June 28, 1924, and at the age of five months weighed fifteen pounds each. Mr. Nielsen is a member of Bakersfield Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of the Danish Society, and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks inTulare.

LOUIS OSUNA.

Though a native of Mexico, Louis Osuna, veteran druggist in Porter­ville, has lived in the United States since the days of his childhood, a resident of California since he was fifteen years of age, and thus feels himself as much a Californian as any. He was born in Hermosillo, the state of Sonora, in the northwestern part of the republic of Mexico,August 19, 1871, a son of Gabriel and Mary Osuna, the latter of whom later became a resident of Porterville. Gabriel Osuna died in the middle '70s and his widow, with her son Louis, not long afterward moved up into Arizona, where Louis Osuna acquired his early education in a Spanish school. His schooling was somewhat limited by reason of the fact that he early was compelled to go to work to help his widowed mother.

Louis Osuna's first work was as a minor clerk in a drug store and his life since has been devoted to the drug trade. His first sight of Porterville was in 1886, while on his way from Arizona to San Francisco. His mother later located in Porterville and he then made his home here, going to work in the pioneer drug store of P. C. Montgomery, a connec­tion he continued for six years, or until Mr. Montgomery sold the store. He continued with the new management for a year, at the end of which time he went to San Francisco and was for two years working in a drug store in that city. Mr. Montgomery resumed possession of his old store in Porterville and Mr. Osuna was prevailed upon to come back and take up his former position in that store, thus again becoming a resident of Porterville. After a while Mr. Osuna's health began to give him some concern and he retired from the store and went into the mountains for recuperation and was there when Mr. Montgomery again sold his store. The new proprietors persuaded Mr. Osuna to return and take over the management in their behalf and he was thus engaged as manager of the place for two years, at the end of which time he bought a half interest in the store with which he had been so long connected. On November 28, 1902, he bought the remaining interest and has since been in full proprietory charge, a period of nearly twenty-five years, not only the oldest druggist in Porterville but proprietor of the oldest continuing drug store in that city, thus being accounted one of the real veterans in the drug line in this valley. On March 1, 1907, Mr. Osuna bought the building in which his drug store is located onMain street and he has long been regarded as one of the substantial merchants of the city.

 

Mr. Osuna is a member of the Roman Catholic church and a fourth degree member of the local council of the Knights of Columbus. He also is affiliated with the local aerie of the Fraternal Order of Eagles. The business men and citizens in general have a kind word for Mr. Osuna and repeatedly it has been stated that throughout the long years he has been in business in Tulare county he has wronged no man and has been thoroughly upright and honest in his dealings.

 

 

COLEMAN CLEMINSON HOWELL.

For more than fifty years the Howells have been represented in and aboutPorterville and have been influential in development work here­about, one of the well established families of Tulare county. Coleman Cleminson Howell, an active representative of this family and one of the best known citizens of Porterville, has been a resident of this district since the days of his boyhood and is as familiar with conditions here­about as anyone. He was born on a farm in the immediate vicinity of the village of Warrenton, county seat of the county of Warren, in east central Missouri, February 13, 1867, and is a son of Thomas Warren and Rhoda Ann (Doss) Howell, both members of old families in Missouri and the latter of whom is still living, making her home in Porterville, one of the stanch pioneer mothers of Tulare county.

 

The late Thomas Warren Howell, who in his generation was one of the most influential personal factors in the development of the general inter­ests of Porterville and vicinity, had his first acquaintance with California in 1864, when as a young man he crossed the plains and made an investi­gation of conditions in this state. For some months he prospected in the northern part of the state and then was for some time located in the San Jose settlement, presently returning to Missouri, taking the water route back, and in his home state was married. He established his home on a farm in the vicinity of Warrenton but the lure of California ever kept calling him back to the scenes which he had learned to love so well. In 1874 he made a trip back here and on this trip was confirmed in his opinion that here was the place in which to establish his permanent home. Returning to Missouri, he closed out his holdings there and in May of the next year (1875) returned to California, bringing with him his family, and settled on a tract he had entered under the homestead act four and a half miles south of Woodville in Tulare county.

 

On that place Thomas W. Howell established his home and in time developed a fine piece of property, residing there until he moved to another place within six miles of Porterville. On this latter place he lived until his retirement from the farm in 1902 and removal to Porterville, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring there onOctober 30, 1920, when he was past seventy-eight years of age. With fine vision Thomas W. Howell foresaw the coming development of Por­terville and upon taking up his residence there in 1902 began to take an active and efficient hand in the promotion of that development, his labors in that behalf being well known hereabout. His affairs prospered and at his death he left a considerable estate. For some years he had represented his ward as a member of the common council of the city of Porterville and it was during that time and largely due to his indefatig­able efforts in that behalf, that the saloons were put out of business in the city.

 

As will be observed by a comparison of above dates, Coleman C. Howell was but eight years of age when he came with his parents and the other members of the family to Tulare county in 1875 and he thus "grew up" here, being personally familiar with conditions here since what might be regarded as pioneer days, for in 1875 Tulare county and the Porterville district had a long way to go before attaining their pres­ent state of well ordered development. He helped in the labors of the farm on his father's place and was at the same time attentive to his studies, and as a young man was for one term engaged as a teacher in one of the mountain schools. When homesteading the home place, his father also had entered a timber claim in that same vicinity but before perfecting his title had abandoned it. This claim Coleman C. Howell assumed and upon "proving up" on it had a good piece of property. He continued active in the labors of the farm until the family moved to Por­terville in 1900, when he became employed in the office of one of the local newspapers and was thus engaged for sixteen months, during which time he became a proficient printer. He then had occasion to make a visit into the state of Washington and while there accepted a position on a newspaper at Dayton in that state, where he remained until presently recalled home by the serious illness of his grandmother and was for some time thereafter helpful in caring for her property. In 1904 he went toSan Francisco and was there for some time as a clerk in a hotel, going thence toDenver,Colorado, where for five years he was employed as a bookkeeper. While there he became interested in the study and prac­tice of chiropractic and he went from Denver to Davenport,Iowa, where he took a course in the Palmer School of Chiropractic and for some time practiced there. A professional career, however, did not appeal to him and he presently became connected with, the operations of a cement contracting firm and was employed with that concern as a keeper until his return to Porterville in 1913.

 

Upon his return to Porterville Mr. Howell became associated with his brother, Everett Howell, in the establishment in that city of a motion picture airdome, he looking after the business end of the concern and his brother taking charge of the technical details. In this venture the brothers presently were joined by A. R. Moore, the veteran photographer, who supplied additional capital for development and the three organized the Monache Theater Company, of which Everett Howell still is the man­ager, as is narrated elsewhere in this work. On January 1, 1924, C. C. Howell disposed of his interest in this company and retired from active business, since that time devoting his chief attention to the management of his aged mother's property interests. Mr. Howell has ever given a good citizen's attention to local political affairs and in 1894, during the time of the activities of the now historic Peoples party, was the nominee of that party for the office of county clerk. He is a bachelor and is a popular member of the local lodge of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

 

HENRY A. COLLIN.

Henry A. Collin, the well known cashier of the National Bank of Orosi,Tulare county, is a worthy representative of that type of American char­acter and of that progressive spirit which promotes public good in advanc­ing individual prosperity and conserving popular interests. He was born inNorthwood,Iowa, the son of Edwin and Mary E. (Hunter) Collin. Edwin Collin was an attorney by profession, was successful in his practice and became an influential and prominent man in his community, hav­ing represented his district in the state legislature two terms.

Henry A. Collin secured a good public school education and then studied mining engineering, in which he became an expert, following that calling for fifteen years. He was employed in Arizona,Nevada, and Old Mexico, performing much important work. For five years he was in charge of all operations of the Shannon Copper Company and also was connected for a number of years with the United States Smelting & Refin­ing Company. In 1919 he came to Orosi and entered the Bank of Orosi, of which he became cashier and a member of the board of directors on January 1, 1923. He is a man of sterling character, a close student of human nature and possesses that nicety of judgment so essential to the successful banker. Because of his ability 'and genial temperament, he is deservedly popular throughout the community.

Mr. Collin was married to Miss Elsie M. Rice, who was born and reared inNorthWood,Iowa, and they are the parents of two sons : H. A. Jr., and Edwin Rice. Mr. Collin is a Mason in which order he has taken the Royal Arch degree of the York Rite. He is the treasurer of the Orosi Chamber of Commerce and treasurer of the Foothill Irrigation District. He and his wife are members of the Order of the Eastern Star and Mrs. Collin belongs to the Thimble Club of Orosi.

FRANK R. BRANN.

Within the memory of the present generation California has become widely known as one of the world's greatest fruit-growing districts. One of the men who has assisted materially in the achievement of this reputation for the state, and one who has worked systematically, early and late, is Frank R. Brann, the present horticultural commissioner of Tulare county. He was born in Alameda,California,July 20, 1886, and is a son of Frank R., Sr., and Dove R. (Redstone) Brann, the former a native of Rockland,Maine, and the latter of New Albany,Indiana. The father came to California when a small child, when his parents crossed the plains as members of the Andrew Young party. Prior to leaving Maine his grandfather was a shipbuilder and a sailmaker in Rockland. After coming to California he operated a sail loft at No. 56 Clay street,San Francisco, for approximately fifty years. For a number of years his son, the father of the subject of this sketch, was associated with him.

The maternal grandfather, David R. Redstone, was a native of New Hampshire. From that state he went to Indiana, and in 1862, accom­panied by a brother and his family, he came to California. The Red­stone brothers installed the first quartz mill in the state, located at Dutch Flat, Nevada county. Later David R. Redstone located in San Francisco, where he formed a partnership with J. H. Reed as patent attorneys.

He had been admitted to the bar at the age of twenty-two years, while still in New Hampshire, to practice in all the state and federal courts and had successfully followed that profession before coming to Cali­fornia, making a specialty of patent cases. In 1887 he brought his family toTulare county, establishing a colony at RedstonePark, near the GiantForest. There he owned a ranch of six hundred and forty acres, which was the home of the family for years. On his first visit to Visalia, while he was establishing his colony, he stopped at the palace Hotel, then the leading hostelry of the city, which is still standing.

Frank R. Brann received his elementary education in the public schools of RedstonePark. Afterward he attended the San Francisco schools and took the correspondence course in agriculture of the University of California. At the age of thirteen years, before he had completed his schooling, he took his first job, budding trees at the Barton Bar ranch, Three Rivers,Tulare county. When he grew older he became a tourist guide in the mountains and in 1900 he joined a crew of surveyors under A. G. Wishon in the construction of the Power House No. 1 at Hammond. Later he worked on the Tule river project and was then with Russell Chase, engineer of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company, in surveying and building the railroad into the Yosemite valley. In 1904 he took charge of his mother's orange orchard, southeast of Lindsay, Tulare county. It is worthy of mention that oranges from this orchard took first prize at the first citrus fruit fair ever held in Tulare county.

After a year on his mother's ranch he entered the United States forest service as a ranger and was assigned to duty in the Sierra Nevada mountains, with headquarters at Chris Evans cabin in the Millwood district. He was next stationed at the head of White river, in District No. 2, in the Southern National Forest, and also built the Summit Trail. Subsequently he had charge of the ranger service in District No. 5 and was stationed at Isabella, on the Kern river, and was a guide in the moun­tains for Smith and Wilson.

In 1915 he turned his attention to horticulture, having in the mean­time completed his correspondence course under the direction of the StateUniversity. He was then appointed inspector for the Lindsay district under Charles F. Collins, then horticultural commissioner. On February 18, 1918, he qualified by civil service examination as commissioner for Tulare and Kings counties, and on July 29, 1921, he qualified for all the counties in the state. In October, 1919, he became deputy horticultural commissioner for Tulare county, under Mr. Collins, and in March, 1922, he was appointed commissioner by the county board of supervisors, which position he still holds. This office is one of the most important in the county. His force consists of four office clerks and twenty-six field deputies.

Mr. Brann was married on October 17, 1910, to Miss Lottie L. Boggs, a native of Colorado, reared in Tulare county. They have three children : Lillian, aged fourteen ; Fred R., aged twelve ; and Walter Ashton, aged nine. Mr. Brann is a member of Lindsay Lodge No. 416, F. & A. M.; Visalia Lodge No. 26, Order of Sciots ; Lindsay Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of which he is a charter member; and the Modern Woodmen of America. He was one of the organizers and the first vice president of the Lindsay Fish and Game Protective Association and has been influential in secur­ing the enactment of better fish and game laws.

JAMES WALKER HUTSELL.

Among the men who have stamped the impress of their individuality upon the community with which they are identified, and have contributed in every way within their power to the welfare of their fellow citizens, James Walker Hutsell is entitled to specific mention. He was born on a farm in Hawkins county, Tennessee, on the 1st day of March, 1886, the son of Scott and Mary Katherine (Moore) Hutsell, both of whom are deceased, the father's death occurring in April, 1924. He was a farmer and stockman in his native state and was a man of some prominence in his home community, having held a number of minor public offices.

James Walker Hutsell acquired his early education in the rural schools of his native state, though his real educational training has been obtained in the school of experience. As a boy of seventeen years he left home and went to Indiana, where for two years he was employed in a glass factory. Then, after working for a time on a pipe line in Illinois, he went to Min­nesota and spent the summers of three years in ranch work. In 1908 Mr. Hutsell came to California and was employed at ranch work at a wage of thirty-five dollars a month. He then came to Tulare and worked two years for Mr. Hatch, after which he entered the employ of the Tulare Cooperative Creamery Association, with which he is still identified, though now it is the Los Angeles Creamery Company. He commenced at the bottom, under the direction of Mr. Cartmill, and learned the business. Leaving that company temporarily, he spent one and a half years on a ranch, but at the end of that time he returned to the Los Angeles Company as a buttermaker. After being so engaged for a year, Mr. Hutsell was promoted to the managership of the local creamery, and is still holding that position, to the entire satisfaction of the company. This is one of several branch plants which this well known concern maintains in different parts of California and its product is known to the trade as Los Angeles butter, a popular brand among discriminating buyers. Mr. Hutsell is an important factor in the success of the Tulare plant, for he not only knows the business thoroughly from a technical viewpoint, but his personal characteristics are such as tend to attract custom. His reliability and trustworthiness are well known and he enjoys not only the full confidence of his employers, but also the respect and esteem of the entire community. Mr. Hutsell owns a one hundred and sixty acre dairy ranch, leased for dairying purposes, and ten acres adjoining the city, where he is raising hogs.

Mr. Hutsell was married to Miss Mo Elizabeth Dailey, who was born and reared in Colorado. He is deeply interested in everything pertaining to the welfare of his community and gives hearty support to all worthy movements.

AVERY J. HOWE.

Avery J. Howe, attorney at law of Lindsay, California, is a native of the Hawkeye state, born in Monona county, Iowa, in 1891, a son of Lawrence B. and Shilometh (Talboy) Howe, the former a native of New York state and the latter of Iowa. When Avery J. Howe was fourteen years of age his parents removed to Palo Alto,California, where the father was for a number of years one of the leading contractors and builders, and where he now lives retired.

After attending the public and high schools of Palo Alto, Avery J. Howe entered the LelandStanfordUniversity, from which he graduated as a member of the class of 1915. He had been admitted to the bar, however, in 1914, before he had completed the course in the university. In 1916 he opened his office in Lindsay, where he has built up a satisfactory clientage and is recognized as one of the able and successful law­yers of Tulare county. Under the Selective Service Act of 1917 he was legal advisor for the drafted men of his district and made many friends by his straightforward advice.

Mr. Howe was united in marriage in 1912, to Miss Helen Waynick of Palo Alto, and they have two daughters, Helen May and Beverly Ann. Mr. Howe is a past master of the Lindsay Lodge, F. & A. M., past patron of the Eastern Star Chapter, of which his wife is also a member. He is fond of athletic sports ; played football with the Palo Alto high school team ; was a pitcher for the University baseball club ; and is now a member of the Tulare Golf and Country Club. In addition to his law practice he has been a director of the Lindsay Savings Bank since 1919.

RICHARD O. LOEHNERT.

Richard O. Loehnert, proprietor of a well equipped automobile repair shop and service station in Porterville and one of the best known young business men of that city, has been a resident of Porterville since the days of his childhood and is thus thoroughly familiar with conditions hereabout. He was born in Wonewoc, in the state of Wisconsin,May 31, 1899, and is a son of Felix and Emma (Durhm) Loehnert, who are now living inVenice,Los Angeles county, this state. Felix Loehnert came to California with his family in 1908 and established his home in Porterville, where he remained until 1918, when he moved to Venice.

As will be noted by a comparison of the above dates, Richard O. Loehnert was but nine years of age when he came to California with his parents from his native Wisconsin in 1908, and his education was finished in the Porterville high school. When he was sixteen years of age he became connected with the operations of one of the local automobile repair shops, giving his particular attention to the electrical department of that concern's operations, and became an expert in this line. In 1920, the year in which he attained his majority, he engaged in business on his own account in this line in Porterville, but at the end of a year he closed out that business. In 1922 he resumed the business, with a well equipped establishment at No. 406 Second street, and is doing very well, being recognized as one of the leaders in that line—general automobile repair and electrical work. Mr. Loehnert's shop is electrically equipped, with a full line of up-to-date appliances and machines for the most effective operation of his activities and he has built up a thriving trade. This shop also includes a well equipped welding department and with a competent staff of expert operatives is a busy place, one of the busiest indeed in this whole valley. Mr. Loehnert also is the local agent for the distribution of the Westinghouse batteries and in other ways makes a point of rendering effective and satisfactory service.

Richard 0. Loehnert has been twice married. In 1920, in Fresno, he was united in marriage to Miss Maud Taft. They were parents of one child—a son, Richard. In 1923 Mr. Loehnert was married to Miss Denzil Fry, a native daughter of Tulare county, born in Lindsay, daughter of L. W. Fry and a member of one of the old families of this county. Mr. and Mrs. Loehnert are republicans and take a proper interest in general community affairs.

H. R. LEEK.

A man who boldly faces the responsibilities of life and by determined and untiring energy carves out for himself an honorable success, exerts a strong influence upon the lives of those about him. Such men constitute the foundation of our republican institutions and are the pride of our civilization. In this class of men must be included H. R. Leek, one of the leading ranchers and dairymen in Alpaugh, who was born in Shropshire,England, on the 13th day of February, 1881.

H. R. Leek obtained a fair education through private instruction during his early boyhood days and at the age of thirteen years he was brought to the United States by an aunt. They came to California and H. R. Leek was reared by an uncle, George L. Leek, in Santa Cruz. The ranch was devoted to dairying and there the boy worked until he had attained his majority, when he rented the ranch, which comprised two hundred acres: He continued to operate that place until 1915, when he came to Tulare county and bought the place which he now owns, near Alpaugh, comprising one hundred and thirty acres, of which sixty-two acres are devoted to alfalfa. The ranch is well equipped with well arranged and substantial buildings and is devoted largely to dairy purposes. The live stock comprises eighty head of splendid cattle and a registered Holstein bull. This is one of the few ranches in this section of the country that produces corn for ensilage every year, and for this purpose a fine silo was built a number of years ago. Mr. Leek is a thoroughly practical farmer, knows every detail of his business and is achieving a splendid success. Mr. Leek is a stockholder and a director of the Alpaugh Irrigation District and a member of the Tulare Dairymen's Association, as well as the Tulare County Farm Bureau. Fraternally he is a member of the Woodmen of the World.

Mr. Leek was married to Miss Katherine Majors of Santa Cruz, a member of one of the oldest families of that section, her family being the owners of large Spanish grants. To Mr. and Mrs. Leek have been born two children : Kenneth Delos and Marjorie, who are students in the local high and grammar schools, respectively. Personally Mr. Leek is a plain and unassuming man, straightforward in all his dealings with his fellowmen, and stands deservedly high in the estimation of all who know him. He takes a deep interest in the development of the community along all legitimate lines and gives hearty support to all movements for the public welfare.

WALLACE H. KLOCK.

The coming of the automobile has made many changes in industrial operations during the past twenty years and among these there is per­haps none more distinct than that which has marked the development of a new phase of the painting trade. The old-time carriage finisher has given way to a new line of industrial experts who in keeping pace with the enormous demand made upon their services by the necessity of keeping automobiles in spick-and-span condition have evolved processes and methods that were not dreamed of twenty years ago and local establishments have been set up all over the country to cater to this constantly growing demand. Among these establishments in this section of California there is perhaps none better equipped than is that of Wallace H. Klock, a veteran of the Spanish-American war and an expert sign writer and automobile body finisher who has a well established business in this line in Porterville and who in season turns out of his place an average of a car a day, finished in the highest style of the art. Mr. Klock is widely known in his line throughout this section of the state and it is conceded that his establishment is the busiest place of its kind in Tulare county.

Wallace H. Klock is a native son of the old Hawkeye state but like so many Iowans is quite content to make his home in California. He was born on a farm in the immediate vicinity of the city of Sheldon, O'Brien county, in northwestern Iowa,July 7, 1882, a son of George N. and Viola (Harkness) Klock, both members of pioneer families in Iowa, the latter of whom died in 1889, her son Wallace then being but seven years of age. George N. Klock, a substantial farmer and landowner and lawyer, is still making his home in Sheldon, where he is engaged in the practice of law, one of the veterans of his profession in that section of Iowa.

Reared in Sheldon, Wallace H. Klock supplemented the education he received in the local public schools by attendance at the Normal School in Denison,Iowa, where he gave special attention to the study of electrical engineering and where he also became interested in sign writing. Though little more than a boy when the Spanish-American war came on he enlisted his services in behalf of this country's arms and was attached to Company L of the Fifty-first Regiment, Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Upon the conclusion of that term of service he reenlisted and was attached to the Fourth Cavalry, United States army, for service in the war against the Philippine insurrectos. While thus engaged in the Philippine service he was detailed as a sharpshooter for service with the American Expeditionary Force sent into China in 1900 to help put down the Boxer Rebellion and was in that country for five months. Upon the return to this country of the command to which he was attached Mr. Klock reenlisted for a further term of service and was in service at San Francisco and on guard duty there during the time of stress following the memorable disaster which befell that city in the spring of 1906. OnNovember 27, 1917, in St. Paul,Minnesota, he enlisted for the World war and served one year and eight months. He was one year and five months overseas with the Thirty-second Division of the Field Light Artillery.

Upon the completion of this last term of military service Mr. Klock returned east for awhile and became engaged at his trade as a sign writer and finisher in paints and had two years of valuable experience along this line in the finishing department of the great plant of the Buick Motor Company in Flint,Michigan. He then returned to California and after working for some time in special work in his line in San Francisco, came to Tulare county and bought Brandon's automobile paint shop in Visalia, which he renamed the Visalia paint shop. In 1924 Mr. Klock transferred his operations to Porterville and set up his present establishment on Mill street, where he since has been quite successfully engaged in business, employing a staff of competent painters and, as noted above, turning out more work in the way of automobile body refurbish­ing than any similar establishment in Tulare county. He was the first in this county to put in a Duco machine and in other ways he keeps his place quite completely up-to-date in its operations.

On July 13, 1909, in Salem,South Dakota, Wallace H. Klock was united in marriage to Miss Stella Durfey, who also was born in Iowa, daughter of Lowell Durfey. Mr. and Mrs. Klock have six children : Wallace H., Jr., Eleanora, Selma, Willard H., Thelma and Lucile. The Klocks have a pleasant home in Porterville and take a proper part in the general affairs of that city. Mr. Klock is an old-time member of the painters union and is affiliated with the fraternal organizations of the Loyal Order of Moose, the Fraternal Order of Eagles and the Knights of the Maccabees. He is fond of outdoor sports and in his younger days was for several seasons a professional baseball player.

JAMES J. MITCHELL.

Back in 1888 W. H. Mitchell brought his family from Tennessee and settled on a ranch in the Woodville district of Tulare county,California. He was a native of Tennessee, where he was reared and educated, and where he met and was married to Miss Jennie Pritchard, who was born in the state of Virginia. Their son, James J., of this review, was born in Morristown,Tennessee,March 23, 1884, and was four years of age when his parents moved to Tulare county.

James J. Mitchell obtained his elementary education in what was known as the Surprise school district, not far from his father's ranch. He afterward attended the Tulare high school and took the business course in the Oakland Polytechnic College of Oakland, California. At the age of twenty-two years Mr. Mitchell entered the employ of the First National Bank of Tulare as teller, but was soon promoted to the position of assistant cashier. After eleven years with this bank he was appointed postmaster at Tulare by President Wilson, but two years later gave up the position to become a member of the real estate firm of Kendrick & Mitchell, which was then formed. This firm has since been one of the active real estate agencies of Tulare. Mr. Mitchell is considered one of the best informed men on real estate values in Tulare county. He is a director of the TulareBuilding and Loan Association ; a director of the Lindsay Ripe Olive Company ; and president of the Tulare Realty Board. He owns two well developed ranches, one of which is devoted to growing olives and the other is a dairy farm, equipped according to modern ideas.

Mr. Mitchell was married to Miss Louise Trescher, a native of Tulare county, and they have four children : Ellen Louise, Anna, Charlotte and James J., Jr. Mr. Mitchell is a member of the Baptist church. Politically he is a democrat and takes a keen interest in all questions pertaining to public policy. He is a member of the California State Democratic central committee, and stands high in the councils of his party. When the new charter was adopted by the city of Tulare he was elected city treasurer, which position he still holds. He is a past master of Olive Branch Lodge No. 269, F. & A. M., which is the only fraternal society to claim him as a member.

HARRY B. McCLURE.

Harry B. McClure, one of the best known attorneys of Visalia,California, was born in Fremont county, Iowa,January 15, 1873. In 1884 he came with his parents, E. B. and Harriette Ann (Brittan) McClure, to Visalia, where his father engaged in farming. Both parents are deceased.

Harry B. McClure was educated in the public schools of Visalia. At the age of nineteen he passed the examination and obtained a certificate authorizing him to teach in the public schools of California. He then taught for three years, employing his spare time in the study of law. Before the electric railway was built, he owned and operated a stage between Visalia and Exeter for one year. In 1896, at the age of twenty- three years, he took the bar examination and was admitted by the supreme court to practice in all courts of the state.

The struggles of the young lawyer to build up a paying practice have become proverbial. Mr. McClure was no exception. After two years in practice, during which time his clients and fees were few, he accepted a position as deputy county clerk under John Cutler and held that position for four years. While in the clerk's office he formed a number of new acquaintances among the substantial men of the county and upon resuming the practice of his profession he found his progress more satisfactory. In 1913 he became associated with Mr. Farnsworth. A little later Mr .Burke joined them and the law firm of Farnsworth, McClure, Burke & Maddox is one of the best known and most successful in Tulare county. The offices of the firm in the Bank of Italy building are well furnished and the visitor is impressed with the busy air which he encounters, as the firm handles much of the legal business of the county, and does a general practice in all branches of the law.

Mr. McClure is a member of the State Bar Association and is president of the County Bar Association. In Masonic circles he is a prominent figure, being a past worshipful master of his lodge, a Knight Templar, a thirty-second degree member of the Scottish Rite, and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He is also a past exalted ruler of the Visalia Lodge. of Elks. In all these fraternal bodies he is popular as he is a good mixer and everybody knows Harry McClure.

It seems to be the tendency of the average lawyer to become interested in political affairs. Mr. McClure occupies a high place in the councils of the republican party. In 1924 he was a delegate to the Republican National convention at Cleveland,Ohio, which nominated Coolidge and Dawes for the presidency and vice presidency.

Besides his law practice Mr. McClure is interested in citrus fruit culture. He owns a farm of one hundred acres near Visalia, upon which he has one of the best orange and lemon groves in Tulare county. Being a good marksman with the shotgun, he is fond of hunting and he can frequently be seen at the trap matches, where he breaks his share of the clay birds.

On November 3, 1891, Mr. McClure was married to Miss Virginia D. Fowler, a native of Tulare county and a daughter of A. J. Fowler, one of the well known citizens. Mr. McClure is a director of the California Fruit Growers Exchange, and is chairman of the board of directors of the New First National Bank and the Security Savings Bank of Visalia.

J. C. SNIDER.

A worthy representative of that type of American business man who may properly be termed "progressive", that character which promotes public good while advancing individual prosperity, is J. C. Snider, the well known poultry raiser at Terra Bella. Mr. Snider is a native son of the old Buckeye state, born in Lima,Ohio, on the 27th day of November, 1881. His parents were George and Delilah (Roberts) Snider, the former a native of Pennsylvania and a farmer by vocation, while the latter was born in Ohio.

J. C. Snider received his educational training in the public schools and was reared on his father's farm. As early as ten years of age he took a great interest in the raising of chickens and became an expert in that line. He specialized at that time in show birds of various breeds and won many first and special prizes with them. Among his birds was a cockerel which won fourth prize in the national poultry show at Madi­son Square Garden,New York city. He remained on the home place until 1910, when, for the benefit of the health of his wife and himself the family came to California. His first location was in Los Angeles, where he engaged in the grocery business. He was successful there, but later traded his store for twenty acres of land near Terra Bella. Here he located and at once engaged in the poultry business, in which he has been eminently successful. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the ranch, including houses for three thousand hens. and other necessary buildings. He has planted eighteen acres to pomegranates, which he found to be a profitable crop. On the place is a good well and a well equipped pumping plant for irrigation purposes, in connection with which he has laid three thousand feet of water line. Mr Snider specialized in the white Leghorn breed, which he has found to be best for his purpose. He has obtained fancy prices for many of his birds, and has a ready market for all the pullets and eggs he can put on the market.

Mr. Snider was married to Miss Dessa Thompson, who was born and reared in Ohio, and to them have been born two sons and a daughter : John, George and Delilah. Mr. Snider is a member of the Tulare County Poultry Association. Owing to his probity of "character, his genuine worth and his genial disposition, he has gained an enviable position in the esteem of his fellow citizens.

THOMAS WARREN HOWELL.

Biography, after all, is the only true history. It is in the narratives of the lives and careers of the men who may be regarded as the community builders that the student of history finds the really illuminating points that embellish the annals of any locality. The files of the newspapers in this section of California carry many such narratives of the interesting careers of the men who came in here in pioneer days and "blazed the ways" for successive generations, sturdy, determined men who faced the day's job as a thing to be done regardless of apparent difficulties and whose labors thus prevailed in the creation of conditions that make the ways of living immeasurably easier for those: who now are enjoying the fruits of those laborious strivings in behalf of posterity. One such narrative is that relating to the life and services to the community of the late Thomas Warren Howell, who at the time of his passing in the fall of 1920 left a memory hereabout that will long be kept green. That narrative carried in one of the local newspapers following Mr. Howell's death is so peculiarly illuminative of the conditions which faced the pioneers of this section of California that it is regarded as wholly fitting and proper to include it here in these definite annals of Tulare county.

In its obituary reference to Mr. Howell this newspaper pointed out that the life history of that pioneer is one of more than ordinary interest, even as is the history of the lives of all those brave men and women who endured the hardships and dangers of an overland trip to this fair state by wagon train in the early days in the vanguard of western civilization. It then was pointed out that Mr. Howell was the eldest of a family of seven children, four sons and three daughters. At the time he started west his parents lived in Warrenton,Missouri, about sixty miles from St. Louis. The Civil war was then in progress and, although young in years, he belonged to the Fifty-ninth Missouri Regiment, but had seen no service except in the home militia. Not being very strong physically he persuaded his parents to allow him to accompany his uncle and family, who were coming by wagon train to California. They left Warrenton in the spring of 1864 and arrived in California (Red Bluff being their destination) just six months lacking one week from the time they started. 

Mr. Howell drove a four-horse team attached to the wagon bearing his uncle's luggage, etc. At that time the road along the Platte river was literally alive with prairie schooners lumbering along at differing speed, depending upon whether horses or oxen were furnishing the motive power, but all having the "Golden state" as their ultimate goal. A good deal of forethought and figuring had to be exercised in providing provisions by those planning an overland trip to California in those days when it required as many months as it nows requires days to make the trip. Often travelers ran out of provisions of one kind or another, which were sometimes almost impossible to secure at any price. Think of paying forty dollars for a hundred-pound sack of flour! That is what a sack of flour cost Mr. Howell's uncle at Salt Lake City. In Nevada fifty cents was paid for a white onion raised in California and brought there for sale. Fresh vegetables were the greatest of luxuries, as few were to be had. Mem­bers of his uncle's party stopped overnight in Salt Lake City. They attended a performance that night at Brigham Young's theater, the nature of which Mr. Howell could not recall, but he did long recall with clearness their interest in seeing Brigham Young himself.

No trouble with Indians was experienced by the train of which Mr. Howell was a member, but he recalled vividly being a witness to a bit of trouble which a party some distance ahead of them on the trail had with Indians who had stolen some of their cattle: "Somewhere" alongside the wagon trail leading to California is a. lonely grave wherein is buried the remains of the only member of their party who succumbed on the trip. This was a young girl aged fifteen years, a cousin of Mr. Howell. She could not withstand the ravages of the "mountain fever", which malady claimed not a few of the westward-bound travelers in those days. The train halted for a day while members went to the nearest stage station for lumber out of which a coffin was fashioned. A preacher in the train, whose provisions were growing low, did not stop with the rest but pushed on, fearing to lose even one day's time. Later they learned the preacher lost his wife and two children before he reached California.

Mr. Howell and his relatives reached Red Bluff in the early part of the fall of 1864. Mr. Howell found work on a ranch as a veterinary until summer, when he went to the San Jose district, where he stayed until that fall. In the meantime his parents had been writing and begging him to come home, so he decided to go. He made the trip by water, sailing from San Francisco on the steamer America which on that trip carried fourteen hundred passengers. The trip to New York required something-more than a month and was marked by several exciting experiences which to one of a more sensitive nature than Mr. Howell's would have seemed the work of fate, but to him only served to break the monotony of a long trip. In the spring of 1874 he returned toCalifornia, accompanied by his parents, who settled southwest of Porterville, where the large eucalyptus grove in the Poplar district is located.

In the fall of that year Mr. Howell went back to Missouri to dispose of their property interests there, returning here in the spring of 1875. He preempted on a quarter of a section of land in the Poplar district and later took up a homestead. Government land sold for two dollars and fifty cents in that locality in those days. At the time of his death his property holdings in the Poplar district comprised two hundred and forty acres, which with that of his son is leased for cultivation. Mr. Howell made his home on this property until 1902, when he moved into Portervine to property located at No. 109 C street, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring in a sanitarium at Stockton, on October 30, 1920. He was born in Warrenton,Missouri,May 12, 1842, and was thus past seventy-eight years of age at the time of his death.

In 1906 Mr. Howell was elected to the city board of trustees for a term of four years. This office he filled in a most conscientious manner. No little credit is due him personally in helping to banish the saloons from the city. Other progressive measures were fostered by Mr. Howell during the time he served the city as a public servant. Kindly in disposition, considerate of the rights of others and imbued with the spirit of service and lofty ideals, truly may it be said of Mr. Howell that he lived long and well. His memory will live forever in the hearts of those related to him through kinship and in the hearts of hosts of friends who respected and esteemed him for his integrity and kindly character. Mr. Howell was survived by his widow, Mrs. Rhoda Howell, to whom he had been wedded more than fifty years, and by six sons : Coleman C., Edwin, Wilburn, Alvin, Everett and Olin Howell; and by two daughters : Mrs. J. W. Graham of San Francisco and Mrs. John Connelly of San Bruno. Mr. Howell accumulated an estate of approximately a hundred thousand dollars. He was a democrat in politics and religiously affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church, South. He erected some substantial buildings in Porterville.

NICHOLAS POTTICHEN.

Nicholas Pottichen, a citizen of Visalia,California, is well known as one of the city's foremost and most reliable bakers. He was born in Austria,February 10, 1888, and is a son of John and Margaret (Sellinga) Pottichen. The father died in the old country on October 22, 1896. The first of the family to come to America were an older sister and brother of Nicholas. Then he came with his mother and his second brother and sister.

Nicholas Pottichen attended the Catholic schools of his native land until he reached what corresponds to the sixth grade in the public schools of California. He then learned the trade of shoemaker and followed that occupation from the time he was twelve years of age until he was nineteen. In 1907 he landed in New York with his mother, brother and sister, and went from there to Philadelphia, where from 1907 to 1910 he worked in a bakery, learning all phases of bread manufacture. On March 8, 1910, he landed in San Francisco, where he found employment at his newly learned trade. From the latter part of June, 1911, to August 26, 1919, he was employed in the baking establishment of H. Graff & Company inFresno. On September 1, 1919, he opened the National Bakery, in South Visalia and conducted it for two and a half years. Then, having a favorable opportunity to dispose of his plant, he sold out and took a trip east to visit the other members of his family. Return­ing to Visalia, he purchased the City Bakery at No. 213 East Main street on August 1, 1922. Since this place came into his possession he has made many improvements and has one of the most up-to-date bakeries in the city. His trade is principally retail and he keeps two persons besides himself constantly employed.

Mr. Pottichen is a naturalized American citizen and is a republican in his political affiliations, though he is by no means an active politician. However, he is interested in the affairs of Visalia and Tulare county and tries to vote for the best men for public office. He belongs to the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Loyal Order of Moose, and the Elks, which are the only fraternal societies to claim him as a member. His wife, prior to her marriage, was Miss Katherine Keifer. She is a native of Austria and came to this country in June, 1906. They have four children : Margaret, Anna, Nicholas, Jr., and Edward.

CHARLES W. COBB.

Charley W. Cobb, city clerk and auditor of Tulare, California, was born in Cross county, Arkansas, April 28, 1864. From Arkansas he went to De Leon, Texas, where at the age of thirteen years he started in to learn the printer's trade. Beginning as the office devil, he worked his way upward until he was able to hold a case in almost any printing establishment in the country. After some years in Texas he decided to migrate to the Pacific coast. For some time he followed his trade in Seattle, Washington, and Albany, Oregon. He also learned telegraphy.

In 1897 he came to California and located in Los Angeles, where he remained for two years. At the end of that time he came to Tulare. For a number of years he was employed by different firms as bookkeeper and accountant. In 1920 he was appointed city clerk and in 1923 he was elected city auditor. Mr. Cobb's experience as a printer and accountant developed those qualities that go to make him an efficient public official. The result is that the accounts and records of the city of Tulare are probably as well kept as any city of its size in the state of California.

Mr. Cobb was married to Miss Louisa J. Kirkpatrick, a native of North Carolina, and they have five children, viz.: Mrs. R. H. Scott of Salem, Oregon ; J. L. Cobb, a teacher in the Tulare high school ; Wilbur K. Cobb of Los Angeles ; Mrs. L. H. Stone of Portland, Oregon ; and Mrs. William Biddle of New York. Mr. Cobb is a deacon in the Congrega­tional church. His fraternal relations are with Tulare Camp No. 545, Woodmen of the World ; and the Fraternal Aid.

Mrs. Cobb is a college graduate and is active in the civic and social affairs of the county and state. For twelve years she has been president of the Women's Christian Temperance Union for the counties of Tulare and Kings. She is also state lecturer for the organization and spends three months of each year in visiting and lecturing in various towns of the state. She is also interested in the work of the local women's clubs ; is a member of the county probation board of the Juvenile court of the Tulare district ; and is an active member of the Congregational church.

FRED S. GIL.

Fred S. Gil, proprietor of Gil's meat market in Porterville, and one of the well known and enterprising young business men of that city, is a native son of Tulare county and a member of one of the real pioneer families of this section of the state. He was born on the Gil ranch in the Hot Springs neighborhood in this county, September 30, 1898, and is a son of Miguel and Mary (Flavia) Gil, the latter of whom is still living. The late Miguel Gil was born in the neighboring county of Kern and was a son of Marion Gil, who had come to this country from England and had traveled on out into California and become one of the pioneers in the region now comprised within Kern county. Miguel Gil moved from Kern county into Tulare county in 1897 and established his home on a ranch in the Hot Springs neighborhood, where he gave special attention to the raising of cattle and where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring on May 23, 1919. To him and his wife were born four­teen children, all of whom are living, save one.

Reared on the home farm in the Hot Springs neighborhood, Fred S. Gil completed his education in the Porterville high school and from the days of his boyhood was a helpful factor in the development of his father's ranch interests. During the time of this country's participation in the World war his elder brothers were serving in the army and he had charge of the farm. Following his father's death in 1919 he began farming on his own account, coming into his majority in that year, and also dealt in cattle and alfalfa. Mr. Gil was thus engaged in farming and stock raising until the summer of 1924, when he closed out his active farm operations and on August 6th of that year bought the Porterville meat market on Main and Olive streets and has since been quite successfully operating that establishment, carrying the business on under the name of Gil's Meat Market. Mr. Gil has made many improvements in this place since he took it over and now has an up-to-date and well equipped establishment, with a cold storage plant and all the modern accessories to the proper operation of a retail meat store, and is doing well in business, one of the popular young business men of the town.

On June 21, 1921, in Porterville, Fred S. Gil was united in marriage to Miss Alice Underhill, who was born in Ohio but who was reared in Porterville, daughter of Thomas Underhill. Mr. and Mrs. Gil are re­publicans and give proper attention to the general civic and social affairs of the community. Mr. Gil is a member of the local organization of the Woodmen of the World.

CHARLES A. NELSON.

Charles A. Nelson, who came to Exeter, California, in the summer of 1912 and engaged in fruit growing, was born in Wright county, Minne­sota,April 21, 1874, a son of John and Karin (Pearson) Nelson. His father helped to build the Great Northern Railroad through Minnesota, after which he took up a homestead in Swift county, where he became a large landowner and prominent in local affairs.

Charles A. Nelson lived on his father's farm until after his marriage. For several years he and his brother Alfred conducted the farm together. Then they went to South Dakota, where they entered home­steads. Afterward they were in business in the town of Peever. Upon selling out their South Dakota holdings, Charles A. Nelson went to Wilcox, Saskatchewan, Canada. Here he was one of the organizers of the Prudential Exchange Company, which was authorized by its charter to do a banking and ranching business, both of which were carried on successfully. From 1906 to 1913 Mr. Nelson was vice president of the company and manager of the branch bank at Wilcox. In July, 1912, he came to Exeter, though he still holds an interest in the company and spends some time in Saskatchewan every summer in connection with its affairs.

Upon coming to Exeter Mr. Nelson bought thirty acres of land, where he now lives. Twenty acres of this have been made into a fine vineyard and on the other ten acres is a peach orchard. He also owns some land near Lindsay. He is a member of the Farm Bureau, a Master Mason and a Modern Woodman of America.

On June 24, 1900, in Minnesota, Mr. Nelson was united in marriage to Miss Agnes E. Hillstrom, who was born in Cannon Falls, that state: -Her father, Magnus Hillstrom, was for many years a leading citizen of Red Wing, Minnesota, and later of Maiden Rock, Wisconsin. He was a large landowner, a merchant, operated several sawmills, owned a hotel and was active in political affairs as a democrat. Late in life he went to Yakima, Washington, where he died. He was prominent in the Masonic fraternity and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

 

Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Nelson : Merle E. graduated in music from the College of the Pacific and is now the wife of Harry E. Coleman, physical instructor in the Exeter high school ; Hillis O., a high school graduate, spent one year in Stanford University and is now manager of a ranch of 100,000 acres, fifty miles south of Calexico, California, though only twenty years of age ; Leland K., when only fourteen years old passed himself off for eighteen and enlisted with the marines, spent eighteen months at Pearl Harbor in the Hawaiian Islands and is now bookkeeper for the Imperial Irrigation Company of Calexico, California; the youngest daughter died on March 23, 1923, from the effects of the influenza. She was a brilliant scholar and a girl of great promise.

MR. AND MRS EARL D. KINYON.

Few couples are better or more favorably known in Tulare county than Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Kinyon, because of their labors in connection with the Tulare County Tuberculosis Hospital at Springville, Mrs. Kinyon being the superintendent and Mr. Kinyon the assistant superintendent and dairyman. Earl D. Kinyon was born in Dekalb county, Illinois, and is the son of Dexter D. and Minnie (Court) Kinyon, natives of Utica, New York, but now living retired in Glendale, California.

Some time after Earl D. Kinyon's birth the family moved to Kossuth county, Iowa, where he was reared on a farm. After completing his studies in the common and high schools, he entered Waterloo Business College. For a while thereafter he was employed in the offices of the Great Western Railroad and then spent three years on his father's farm. In 1910 he came to California and a few months later he bought three hundred and twenty acres of land, five miles east of Springville, which he devoted to dairying. He was highly successful in this line of labor and operated the place continuously up to the time of his marriage to Miss Christine Hope Henderson. She was born in Sierra City, Sierra county, California, on June 6, 1880, the daughter of John H. and Jane (McNaughton) Henderson, who were of Scottish descent and had come to California from Canada. After completing her high school education, Mrs. Kinyon took the full course as a trained nurse in the East Bay Hospital, Oakland, California, graduating in 1914 as a registered nurse. She had charge of the East Oakland Hospital for one year and two months, after which she opened the new county hospital in Livermore, California, of which she remained in charge until she was secured to open the new Tulare County Tuberculosis Hospital in June, 1919.

The Tulare County Tuberculosis Hospital is one of the most modern in the state of California and also one of the best conducted. It contains one hundred and ten beds, of which forty-eight are in the children's building. The buildings are beautifully situated in the midst of thirty‑seven acres of land, much of which has been made pleasing to the eye by landscape gardening. Mrs. Kinyon has absolute control over every de­partment of the hospital and her work has been most highly commended and approved by those qualified to judge. She possesses that broad love for humanity so necessary to the successful handling of sick people and has been successful in the treatment of the cases that are under her direction.

Mr. Kinyon who has entire charge of the dairy, has eighty cows, and he, too, has been commended for his work here. He is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. and Mrs. Kinyon have a daughter : Virginia, who is a student in grammar school at Springville.

WALTER C. HAIGHT.

Walter C. Haight, deputy district attorney of Tulare county, Califor­nia, was born in Huntley, Illinois, October 26, 1874. He was educated in the public schools of his native town and the high school at Sycamore. Illinois. He then enrolled as a student in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, and graduated from that institution in 1896, receiving the degree of A. B. For some time after leaving the university he taught in the high schools of Marinette, Wisconsin, and Aurora, Illinois.

In 1901 Mr. Haight was admitted to the bar and practiced in the city of Chicago until 1914, when he came to California. Six years later he located in Tulare county and for the next three years was associated with the Visalia Title and Abstract Company. In 1923 he was appointed to his present position. In politics he is a republican.

Mr. Haight is prominent in Masonic circles, being a member of the blue lodge, chapter and commandery. He is also a member of the Order of Sciots, Fraternal Brotherhood and the Moose. Mr. Haight is a widower and has one son—Charles, aged sixteen years.

ALFRED E. HIND.

Alfred E. Hind, district manager of the Shell Company of California, was born in Anniston, Alabama, November 15, 1889. When he was about five years of age his parents came to California and located in the city of San Francisco. His father, W. G. Hind, is still practicing his profession of architect in San Francisco. His mother's maiden name was Van Delia Winham. Both parents are still living.

Alfred E. Hind received his education in the public schools of San Francisco and Oakland. After completing the course in the high school he became associated with his father and worked as an architect for about ten years, when he entered the employ of the Shell Company. Beginning at the bottom of the ladder, by close attention to what was taking place around him and a faithful performance of the duties assigned him, he worked his way up to the responsible position of district manager, with headquarters in Visalia. He was first employed in Napa, then in Colusa, and was promoted to his present position in June, 1922.

Mr. Hind married Miss Edna Lucille Gott, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, and they have a daughter: Myrtle Lucille. Mr. Hind is noted for his public spirit and his strict attention to business, his only pastime being an occasional game of golf. In politics he is not a strict partisan, but gives his support to the man rather than to the party. He is a thirty- second degree Scottish Rite Mason, a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and holds membership in the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Order of Sciots.

CHARLES R. WHITE.

In enumerating the citizens of Tulare county who have won honor and recognition for themselves and are attaining a gratifying measure of material success, specific mention should be made of Charles R. White, who gained a splendid reputation for the conscientious performance of his duties as milk inspector for Tulare county and who has always showed a deep interest in the welfare of the community with which he has iden­tified himself. He is a native of the state of North Carolina, born on a farm, on the 10th day of February, 1886. He is the son of G. P. and Sarah R. (Howard) White, the former of whom is a successful farmer and respected citizen of that locality. The mother has been dead for more than thirty years.

Charles R. White was reared on the paternal farmstead and secured his education. in the common schools of his native locality. He remained there until he had attained his majority, when he came to California, locating in Porterville, near where he obtained employment on a dairy farm. His ambition was to become an expert dairyman and his efforts were all to this end. By economy, he at length saved money with which he was enabled to take a complete course in the California State Agricultural College at Davis. Returning then to Porterville, from 1911 to 1916 he was employed in creamery work, then went with the Western Meat Company of San Francisco, and in 1917 he became connected with the Weimer Ice Cream Company in Fresno. From 1918 to 1921 he held the position of milk inspector for the city of Fresno, and at the end of that period he came to Tulare and assumed the duties of milk inspector of Tulare county. This is a responsible position, under the supervision of the department of agriculture, and his duties took him to every part of the county. He thoroughly understood every detail of dairying and no man has ever filled this position more efficiently nor conscientiously than he did. His efforts were fully appreciated by the public and his greatest reward was the satisfaction of feeling that his work was well done. Mr. White gives his nominal support to the democratic party, but he is broad in his views and believes that a candidate's fitness for the office he seeks should be considered paramount to party allegiance.

Mr. White was married on June 28, 1914, to Miss Gyneth Fry, who was born and reared in Lindsay, Tulare county, her parents having been pioneer settlers of California. To Mr. and Mrs. White has been born a son : Arthur Claire. On January 7, 1925, Mr. White was relieved of his position in Tulare county, and then accepted the position of senior dairy inspector, being in the civil service, and assigned to upper San Joaquin valley and attached to Stockton headquarters. A large portion of his time is given to special work such as bacteriological tests, laboratory control of creamery and dairy products. Mr. White makes his home on his farm, which is located about two miles north of Tulare, and is giving special attention to the raising of poultry, in which he is greatly interested. Genial and companionable, he has won a host of friends since coming to this county.

CHARLES E. TAYLOR.

Charles E. Taylor, real estate broker of Tulare, California, was born in Carthage, Illinois, February 7, 1872. He was educated in the public schools of his native town and there grew to manhood. His father was a merchant in Carthage, and he began his business career as an assistant in the store. From Carthage he went to Chicago, where he was for some time in the employ of the Paige Belting Company, manufacturers of rubber belting and mill supplies. Upon leaving this company he entered the train service of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad Company and later was made chief clerk in the office of that company in Parsons, Kansas, where he continued until 1906.

In 1906 Mr. Taylor came to California, located in Los Angeles, and for the next three years was engaged in the electrical business. In 1909 he went to Visalia and a little later became associated with his uncle in the management of the Miramonte ranch in Fresno county. He came to Tulare as manager of the Tulare Power Company, in which capacity he served for three years. He opened his office as a real estate broker in 1915 and since then has put several subdivisions on the market, besides negotiating several large deals in real estate in the county and city. He was one of the organizers of the Tulare Realty Board, of which he has been secretary from the time of its formation.

Mr. Taylor married Josephine L. Hibbard, and they have two children—Virginia and Robert. Mr. Taylor is the owner of a ten-acre vine‑yard a short distance east of Tulare. He takes an active interest in public affairs, particularly those pertaining to local matters; is secretary of the Tulare County Republican central committee, and has the reputation of being one of the county's most loyal boosters.

ADAM RIGGS PARSONS.

Adam Riggs Parsons, head of A. R. Parsons & Company, contractors in general electrical work and dealers in electrical supplies in Porterville, one of the best known and most experienced men in that line in this section of the state, has been a resident of California since the days of his young manhood and is thus thoroughly familiar with industrial and commercial conditions here. He was born in the city of Shelbyville, the county seat of the county of Bedford in central Tennessee, February 19, 1871, and is a son of M. D. and Louise (Nash) Parsons, both now deceased.

Reared in his home place, Adam Riggs Parsons finished his early education in the Unionville high school and remained in Tennessee until he was twenty-two years of age when, in 1893, he came to California and became employed on a ranch in the Porterville district in Tulare county. Two years later he returned to Tennessee on a visit and while there took a course in a business college. He then returned to California and for six months was employed in Fresno. Feeling then the need for further schooling in commercial forms he took a three-month course in Heald's Business College in San Francisco and then became employed in the office of the Krogh Pump & Machinery Company of San Francisco, one of the big manufacturing establishments of that city. For eight years Mr. Parsons was connected with the operations of this concern, part of this time, during the gold rush, acting as the company's representative in Alaska. He was promoted from the position of a sales managership to the position of manager of one of the company's branch houses and was thus connected until 1905, when he engaged in business on his own account, opening a sales establishment in San Francisco. In the disaster which befell that city in the following year (1906) Mr. Parsons lost all he had put into this business, but before the smoke from the ruins of the city had wholly subsided he had begun to rebuild and it was not long until he again was going strong in a business way.

In 1910 Mr. Parsons sold his San Francisco establishment to ad­vantage and in that year returned to Porterville, the scene of his initial activities upon coming to California seventeen years before, and there became the manager of the Porterville branch of the Brisco Iron Works. In 1913 this company went out of business and it was then that Mr. Parsons established himself in his present line as a contractor in general electrical work and a dealer in electrical supplies of all kinds and he has since been quite successful in this line, proprietor of a well equipped and admirably stocked place of business at No. 524 Main street, where he has in stock everything likely to be called for in the way of pump electrical supplies, radio equipment and the like, in this trade area. He has done much of the electrical installation work that has been done hereabout during this time and is widely known as a contractor along that line. Mr. Parsons is a democrat and gives a good citizen's attention to the general civic affairs of the community. He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, affiliated with Islam Temple, and is also a member of the local lodge of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is owner of eighty acres of land five miles south of Poplar, which is used for general agricultural purposes.

JONATHAN G. ROPES.

Jonathan G. Ropes, editor and proprietor of the Woodlake Echo, Woodlake, California, was born in Battle Creek, Nebraska, a son of R. B. and Belle (Easton) Ropes. The family removed to Onawa, Iowa, where the father was in the grain and coal business for many years, and where he is now living retired.

Jonathan G. Ropes was educated in the public schools and a business college in Omaha, Nebraska. In his boyhood he served an apprentice­ship at the printers trade, which he has followed for the greater part of his active life. The only notable exception was the eight years he served as postmaster at Groton, South Dakota, under the Roosevelt and Taft administrations. After completing his course in the business college Mr. Ropes was employed for a time in Sioux City, Iowa. He was then associated for seven years with the Armour (South Dakota) Chronicle, during the latter part of which time he was part owner. From Armour he went to Groton, South Dakota, where he became editor of the Groton Independent. During his residence of eleven years in Groton he was post­master for eight years, as already stated.

About the time his term as postmaster expired Mr. Ropes saw in a printers' magazine an announcement that the Woodlake Echo was for sale. After corresponding with the owner, H. E. Sneddeker, he purchased the paper when it was only three months old. That was in 1913. Since the Echo came into his possession he has improved the plant and increased the circulation to about one thousand copies. Since 1920 he has. also been interested in the real estate business as a broker. For several years he has been president of the Woodlake Valley Chamber of Commerce. He is a Royal Arch Mason and has always been interested in educational matters. While at Armour, South Dakota, he served as school trustee; was one of the board of the Woodlake School district, and is now clerk of the school board. 

In Armour, South Dakota, Mr. Ropes and Miss Charlotte Shuck were united in marriage. To this union have been born three children : Gladys is a graduate of the Fresno Teachers College and is now employed in the office of the Echo ; Richard is a sophomore in Stanford University, where he is taking the engineering course ; and Edwin is a student in the high school. Mrs. Ropes is president of the Woodlake Parent-Teacher Asso­ciation.

CHARLES R. REY, D. V. M.

Dr. Charles R. Rey, the well known veterinary surgeon of Tulare, California, was born on St. Valentine day, February 14, 1878, in that part of Tulare county now forming Kings county. His parents, Samuel and Louise (Sobrist) Rey, were both natives of Switzerland. The father was a barber by trade and while working at that occupation in the state of Missouri he had the honor of shaving Abraham Lincoln. In the early '60s they started across the plains by way of the Oregon Trail, having some trouble with the Indians enroute. Pausing in Idaho, Mr. Rey became a prospector, locating the famous Poor Man's Mine and the Hays-Rey Mine. From Idaho they went on west to Seattle, then a small place, and Mr. Rey opened the first barber shop in the village. In 1876 they came to Tulare (now Kings) county and bought a ranch of one hundred sixty acres, near Lambeth Grove. The succeeding five years were years of drought and the crops failed. Giving up farming, Mr. Rey located in Traver, where he opened the first barber shop in 1884. There he continued until 1891 and also conducted a shop in Visalia for a time. He then returned to his ranch and financed the Settlers Irrigation Company by a loan of two thousand dollars. The main irrigation ditch ran near his land, and with the advantage it afforded, his farming operations proved to be more successful than at first. Samuel Rey was a member of the Hanford Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and later be­came a charter member of the Traver Lodge. His death occurred in 1907. His widow and five of their children are still living.

Charles R. Rey was born on the ranch near Lambeth Grove. He attended the Willow Grove school and remained on the home ranch until he was twenty-three years of age. In 1901 he went to San Francisco, where he was employed for some time in the Risdon Iron Works. He next worked at the carpenter's trade and still later was a longshoreman on the San Francisco water front. All this time his ambition was to become a veterinary surgeon. To this end he saved his earnings and in 1910 entered the San Francisco Veterinary College as a student. He applied himself diligently to his studies and graduated in 1913, with a high standing.

After receiving his degree Dr. Rey practiced for a little while in Wal­nut Creek, but left that place for Redding, Shasta county. In 1915 he drove from Redding to Tulare with a horse and buggy, being about two weeks on the trip. Liking the appearance of Tulare, he decided to locate there and in the ten years he has been a resident of the city he has built up a successful practice. He has also been financially successful.

Dr. Rey was married to Miss Amy Sweeny, a native of Tennessee. Dr. Rey is a prominent figure in the fraternal circles of Tulare. While in San Francisco he joined Excelsior Lodge No. 310, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, where he passed through the chairs and is a past grand. He is now a member of Tulare City Lodge, No. 306. He is a junior past worthy president of Tulare Aerie, No. 1484, Fraternal Order of Eagles; Tulare Lodge No. 1494, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks ; and Ka­weah Tribe No. 151, Improved Order of Red Men.

WILLIAM S. ALLEN.

William S. Allen, one of Porterville's enterprising and public-spirited merchants, head of the firm of Allen & Barlow, proprietors of the well established A. & B. shoe store there, is a native son of the old Hawkeye state but has been a resident of California since the days of his boyhood, engaged for years in the shoe business, and is thus thoroughly acquainted with conditions here. He was born on a farm in the immediate vicinity of the city of Burlington, Des Moines county, Iowa, February 18, 1885, and is a son of John and Nancy (Moore) Allen, both of whom are living, still making their home on the old home farm where John Allen was born and where he has farmed all his life. John Allen is a son of Robert Allen, who was one of the pioneers of the Burlington country. The Allens of this line are of an old American colonial family and of Revolutionary stock and in the present generation the family is widely represented throughout the country.

Reared on the home farm in the vicinity of Burlington, William S. Allen acquired his early education in the local schools and remained at home, helpful in the labors of the farm, until he was seventeen years of age, when, in 1902, he came to California and began to take part in the operations then going on in the Imperial valley. After awhile he opened a "toggery shop" in Imperial, dealing in men's furnishings and shoes, and thus entered upon his mercantile career. After carrying on that business for some time Mr. Allen sold his store to advantage and then became employed as a traveling salesman for a wholesale shoe house, with head­quarters in Los Angeles. For nine years Mr. Allen was a salesman, "on the road", and then on June 17, 1921, he bought his present interest in the A. & B. Shoe Store, an old established mercantile concern in Portervine, and has since been quite successful in that line, this firm also hav­ing a well stocked store in Tulare.

On May 2, 1922, in Fresno, William S. Allen was united in marriage to Miss Ethel Black of that city and he and his wife have a very pleasant home in Porterville. Mrs. Allen is a native daughter of California, born in Fresno, and is a daughter of Harvey Black. Mr. and Mrs. Allen are republicans and take a proper part in the general civic and social affairs of the community. Mr. Allen's wide experience in mercantile operations makes him a valued acquisition to local commercial circles and he is one of the active members of the locally influential Rotary Club. He is a Knight Templar (York Rite) Mason, is also affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and is a life member of Al Malaikah Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. of Los Angeles.

GEORGE M. DOPKINS.

No story of the growth and development of the thriving little city of Dinuba would be complete without some special reference to the life of the late George. M. Dopkins, who in his generation was one of the most forceful and influential figures in the general civic, commercial and industrial life of that place and of this region. Mr. Dopkins may be regarded as one of the pioneers of the Dinuba settlement, for he was here as a builder when the town was getting its start. When the city was incorporated he was elected a member of the first board of trustees of the corporation, was made president of that body and thus served as acting mayor during the period of the city organization. For years, as an active building contractor, he was helpful in construction work in and about Dinuba and later became engaged in business there as a furniture dealer and undertaker, carrying on the latter phase of that business until his death on February 6, 1923, one of the best known men in this section of the state.

The late George M. Dopkins was a native of the old Empire state and was reared in New York, where he was well trained in the building trades. As a young man, in the early '80s, he came to California and presently was occupied with constructive work in Tulare county, in connection with the operations of the Seventy-Six Land and Water Com­pany, with headquarters in Traver, and later engaged in the lumber business at that place. He also was for some time ranching in the vicinity of Hanford. In 1902, during the time of the active building boom in Dinuba, Mr. Dopkins entered the field as a building contractor there, where he established his home and spent the remainder of his life. As a building contractor he had charge of much of the substantial construction work that was carried on there for several years and then went into the mercantile business, opening a furniture store and undertaking establishment. In 1915 he sold his furniture stock but retained the undertaking department of the business and erected a new and up-to-date building in which to carry on that business, these funeral parlors being as well equipped and as handsomely appointed as any in the valley. In that

business Mr. Dopkins continued active until his death on February 6, 1923, and the business has since been quite successfully carried on by his son, Joseph P. Dopkins, one of the best known young morticians in the valley.

This community ever will remember the late George M. Dopkins as a man of public spirit, progressive and enterprising, who was one of the real community builders hereabout. As noted above he was elected a member of the first board of trustees of the corporation, following the adoption of a city charter for Dinuba and as president of that body for four years served as acting mayor during a Very vital period in the development of the municipality. He ever had the 'best interests of the community at heart and his labors in that behalf did much in the way of securing permanent and high-class improvements. At his passing he left a good memory and that memory long will be cherished in the com­munity of which he was for so many years an important part. Mr. Dopkins was a Scottish Rite (thirty-second degree) Mason and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and ever took an active and help­ful interest in the affairs of these popular fraternal organizations.

On October 26, 1888, in Fresno, Mr. Dopkins was united in marriage to Miss Clara Peacock, who survives him and who is still making her home in Dinuba. Mrs. Dopkins is a native of California, born in Napa county, daughter of Joseph Peac6ck,. a liion.6er of this state and in his generation one of the most effective prthnoters of the interests ofTulare county, for many years superintendent 4::)f the, Seventy-six Land & Water Company. Of the children born. to -M. and Clara (Peacock) Dopkins three are living: Two daughters, Mrs. Emma Hunt of Bakersfield and Mrs. May Mackechnie of Fresno ; and the son, Joseph P. Dopkins, men­tioned above as carrying on the undertaking establishment in Dinuba in succession to his father.

Joseph P. Dopkins, a veteran of the World war with an interesting overseas record, was born on the Dopkins ranch in the immediate vicinity of the city ofHanford, Kings county, October 13, 1892, and has been a resident of this state all his life. Due to the moves made by his father he attended the schools of Traver and of Dinuba, having been ten years of age when the family located in Dinuba in 1902, and he supplemented this schooling by a course in the Oakland Business College at Oakland, after which he became associated with his father in the furniture and undertaking business in Dinuba. When the furniture store was sold in 1915 he continued to give his attention to the undertaking establishment, and was thus engaged when in the spring of 1917 this country took a hand in the World war and called on its young men to get ready to go to war. Mr. Dopkins was not long in getting into the army and after a period of intensive military training in camp on this side was made a noncommissioned officer of the Three Hundred and Sixty-fourth Regiment of Infantry, which command was made a part of the Ninety-first Division (the "Fighting Ninety-first") of the American Expeditionary Forces, and it was with that gallant command that Mr. Dopkins rendered service overseas, this service including participation at the front in both Belgium and France, and he thus had a part in the notable and decisive engagements in the Epps-Lys sector in Belgium and in the great Meuse-Argonne and St. Mihiel campaigns in France.

Upon completion of his military service Mr. Dopkins returned to Cali­fornia and presently became office manager for the Earl Fruit Company in Dinuba. Two years later he was made district manager of that com­pany's affairs in the Bakersfield district and was thus engaged when following his father's death in February, 1923, he returned to Dinuba and has since been carrying on the business of the Dopkins funeral parlors in his mother's behalf. Mr. Dopkins is one of the active members of Dinuba post of the American Legion in Dinuba and is also a member of the locally influential Rotary Club of that city, ever helpful in promoting such movements and measures as have to do with the advancement of the general community interest. He takes an interested part also in the general civic affairs of the community and is now serving as deputy coroner for Tulare county. He owns a twenty-acre vineyard and fig ranch near Orange Cove. 

History of Tulare County California: By Kathleen Edwards Small
History of Kings County, California: By J Larry Smith
Volume 1 - Chicago - The S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1926

Transcribed by: Martha A Crosley Graham, Pages: 173 - 252


Biography Pages Created: 29 June 2009

Martha A Crosley Graham

Rights Reserved: 2009


Tulare County Biographies ~ 



Copyright 1996-2011; This Web page is sponsored by Supporters on behalf of the California portion of The USGenWeb Project by The Administrative Team of the CAGW.