TULARE COUNTY VITAL RECORDS

TULARE COUNTY VITAL RECORDS

The Tulare County Recorder's Office, Division of Vital Records, issues certified copiesof Birth, Death, andMarriagecertificates, for events which occurred within Tulare County.

Tulare County Birth Records

Tulare County issues only certified copies of birth certificates, which are acceptable for passport, social security, employment and personal identification purposes. Birth records are available for the period of 1852 to the present. Prior to 1905 not all births were recorded with the Recorder's Office. In some cases a Delayed Birth Certificate was issued which are separately indexed.

Copies of the actual certificates are no longer available for public viewing for any period. Based on the law effective January 1, 2003, the records are only available to family members with a proof of relationship, government agencies with a 'need to know', law enforcement and funeral homes. Beginning July, 2003, they will need a notarized statement to get these items. Another requirement is that you need to fill out a form with name, driver's license, and signature stating under a threat of perjury that this is your information and signature. You can not even look at a document without paying for it.

Tulare County Birth Records: Walk-in and mail orders.

Subject to the terms above you may order a birth certificate by mail or in person at the Tulare County Recorder's Office. The address is Tulare County Recorder, 221 South Mooney, Visalia, California 93291. Whether you appear in person or apply by mail, your request must include, a completed Application for Birth Record. An Adobe Acrobat file of the Application for Birth Record is here. For those of you without Acrobat you can download a free copy from Acrobat.

You must include a certified check or money order in the amount of $15. A self-addressed, stamped envelope submitted with the request will facilitate a more speedy return of your requested document. If you desire further information on applying in person or by mail, you should call the Division of Vital Records at 1-559-733-6418.

Copies of all walk-in orders will be mailed at a later date.

Tulare County Death Records

Tulare County issues certified copies of death certificates of individuals who died within Tulare County. Death records are available for the period of 1873 to the present. Prior to 1905 not all deaths within the county were recorded with the Recorder's Office.

Based on the law effective January 1. 2003, you may order a death certificate by mail or in person at the Tulare County Recorder's Office. The address is Tulare County Recorder, 221 South Mooney, Visalia, California 93291. Whether you appear in person or apply by mail, your request must include, a completed Application for Death Record. An Adobe Acrobat file of the Application for Death Record is here. For those of you without Acrobat you can download a free copy from Acrobat.

You must include a certified check or money order in the amount of $13.00 per certificate. A self-addressed, stamped envelope submitted with the request will facilitate a more speedy return of your requested document. If you desire further information on applying in person or by mail, you should call the Division of Vital Records at 1-559-733-6418.

Tulare County State Death Records: Walk-in and mail orders.

Tulare County Marriage Records

Tulare County issues certified copies of marriage certificates of individuals who were married within Tulare County. Marriage records are available for the period of 1852 to the present. Prior to 1905 not all marriages within the county were recorded with the Recorder's Office.
Based on the law effective January 1. 2003, you may order a birth certificate by mail or in person at the Tulare County Recorder's Office. The address is Tulare County Recorder, 221 South Mooney, Visalia, California 93291. Whether you appear in person or apply by mail, your request must include, a completed Application for Marriage Record. An Adobe Acrobat file of the Application for Marraige Record is here. For those of you without Acrobat you can download a free copy from Acrobat.

You must include a certified check or money order in the amount of $13.00 per certificate. A self-addressed, stamped envelope submitted with the request will facilitate a more speedy return of your requested document. If you desire further information on applying in person or by mail, you should call the Division of Vital Records at 1-559-733-6418.

For Indexes see:

  • Marriages from 1852 to 6/1893 - Bride & Groom Index
  • Marriages from 7/1893 to 12/1909 - Bride & Groom Index

    Tulare County Marriage Records: Walk-in and mailorders

    Copies of all walk-in orders will be mailed the following day.


    [Return to Tulare County ][Return to Tulare County Look-up Page ]
    [Go to the California State GenWeb Page][US GenWeb Master Page]


    C. 2010
    ALL RIGHTS RESERVED