History of Fresno, Tulare and Kern Counties
Note: Use CTRL – F to Search
Ferguson: Page 524
In the life of J. M. Ferguson we
have an example of what may be accomplished by energy and pluck when combined
with judicious management in this wonderfully productive State of California.
Mr. Ferguson was born in White
County, Georgia, March
25, 1843, and
passed his boy-hood days on the home farm. As soon as age and maturity
permitted, he entered the Federal army and was mustered in at Nashville, Tennessee, in
January, 1863, as a member of Company G., Tenth Tennessee Cavalry, under
Colonel Habernathy. Their services were largely that
of raiding through Tennessee and Mississippi, and
post duty at New Orleans and Natchez,
remaining in service to the close of the war, being mustered out in the fall of
1865 at Nashville.
On returning to his home, Mr.
Ferguson found the country in an unsettled condition, and to him the soil
seemed exceedingly poor in comparison to that of Tennessee. He
soon afterward returned to Tennessee, and
there began farming. He was married in Meigs County, that
State, in 1872, to Miss Parthena C. Cundiff, a native of Meigs County, and
there they continued to reside until the spring of 1875, when they started for California.
Having friends at Poplar, Tulare County, whom
they wished to visit, they came here, and were so pleased with the locality
that Mr. Ferguson improved his soldier's claim and homesteaded 160 acres of
land west of Poplar. The country was dry and barren, but the South Side Tule river ditch was then in progress of construction, and
feeling that water for irrigation was to be the salvation of the country, he
entered with vigor into the completion of the ditch, and assisted in running
through the first water. His capital at that time was in currency, valued at in
gold, but with fine health, a willing hand and a determination to succeed, he
set to work to carve out a prosperous and happy home, and his earnest efforts
have been rewarded with success. He first built a small cabin and then had to
rustle for food for his family. To this end he engaged in sheep-shearing or any
honest occupation which he could secure. In the winter of 1876 he put in his
first crop, meeting with poor results, as the season was dry and conveniences
for irrigation not completed. He then began peddling, securing fruit about Plano and
selling it at Kernville. In this he did an extensive business, and the season
netted him . Then by degrees he worked into farming
and the stock business, renting other lands and sowing grain. From year to year
he saved his earnings and made good investments, and is now the owner of 720
acres of land. in 1884 he planted an orchard which has
developed very satisfactorily, and in the spring of 1891 he set thirty acres in
vines. Forty acres he devotes to alfalfa, and his ranch is well stocked with
horses, cattle and hogs. In October, 1887, Mr. Ferguson opened a general
merchandise store in Poplar and in November, 1890 was appointed Postmaster;
but, preferring out-door life to the confinement of the store, he sold out his
stock in the fall of 1890, and as soon as possible turned over the office to
the new incumbent.
Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson have eight
children, three sons and five daughters. A handsome two-story cottage ahs taken
the place of their original cabin, and they are now surrounded by all the
comforts of life, happy in the enjoyment of their beautiful California home.
William S. Staley: Page 802
William s. Staley, one of the early
settlers in the vicinity of Selma is the
subject of this brief biography. He was born in West
20, 1844, and
was brought up on a farm. In 1875 he emigrated to California,
locating in Fresno County,
one-half mile from the thriving town of Selma, where
we find him today. He has been engaged in farming ever since
he settled here, owing sixty acres of fine land on his home ranch.
He has lately set out a raisin
vineyard, which like all the other vineyards in this vicinity, gives promise of
excellent results. He also owns one-fourth section of land on the West
Mr. Staley was married, in 1872, to
Miss Annie Hursberger, a native of Maryland, and
they have a bright family of six children.
M. M. Espitallier: Page
M. M. Espitallier
is one of the enterprising citizens of Sumner. He is a native of France, born
in Hautes Alpes in 1854. He
emigrated to America in
1874,landing in San
Francisco, December 15. He had learned the
trade of a baker in his native land, and found employment at the same upon his
arrival in San Francisco, and
later in San Jose. January
7, 1887, he
located in Kern County and
engaged in sheep-growing for himself, which he followed until 1887. He then
located in Sumner and resumed his former business, in which he still continues
with success. He was married in Los
Angeles, to Miss Apolonie
Eyranod, in 1888.
Eduardo Salcido: Page 780
a prominent citizen of Kern County, is of
Spanish-Mexican origin. He was born in Mexico, in
the State of Sonora, October 30, 1852. He
spent his boyhood and early youth in Mexico, and
then came to Los Angeles, and
later, to Bakersfield, where
he was engaged for some years in the liquor and restaurant business, from which
he has recently retired. He married July
4, 1890, Mrs.
Alexander Gody, of Bakersfield. They
have a fine residence and other property in and around Bakersfield.
Henry T. Freear: Page 784
Henry T. Freear,
residing near Bakersfield, was
born in London, England, December 18, 1845. His
father, Rev. H. T-Freear, presided over a parish in Northfolkshire, England, for
many years, where he died, in 1852, leaving a widow and one son, the subject of
this sketch. The mother re-married, came with her husband and son to this
country, and located at De
Kalb, Illinois, where
she died in 1881. Henry T. came west as far as Cass County, Nebraska, where he
engaged in farming six years, and then came to California and located in Kern County,
his present home near Bakersfield.
was a soldier of the rebellion. He joined the Union army in De
Kalb County, Illinois, in
1863; was mustered into the Seventeenth Illinois Cavalry, and served until the
close of the war. He was at that time only about nineteen years of age.
Upon his return from the war he
married Miss Mary Garlick. They have five children
living. One is deceased. Mr. Freear is a member of
the G. A. R., Hulburt Post, No., 127, Bakersfield. He is
counted among Kern County's most
upright and esteemed citizens.
James A. Kincaid: Page 689
James A. Kincaid, of Frazier valley,
Tulare County, California, was
born in the town of Jay, Clearfield
County, Pennsylvania, in
1836. His father, Eusebius Kincaid, was an extensive lumberman, owning large
saw mills on the Susquehanna river, and
rafting lumber from these mills down to Harrisburg and
the river cities. In 1850 he moved his family to Portage
continuing his lumber business and engaging in farming in a small way.
James A. lived with his parents
until he reached his twenty-first year, securing a limited education, but
acquiring a thorough knowledge of the milling business. In 1857 he started out
in life for himself; emigrated to Chatfield, Filmore County, Minnesota, where
he engaged in farming and operating a saw mill. He was married at that place in
1861, to Miss Mary A. Dibbius, and settled on his
farm. In addition to his farming and milling, he was also extensively engaged
in well-boring or drilling in Southern Minnesota. In
1866 he moved to Winnebago City and
bought out a small livery stable, which he operated until 1869, when he sold
his interests and came to California,
crossing soon after the completion of the transcontinental railroad.
Mr. Kincaid first located on the
present site of Tulare,
which, he says, was then occupied by "wild animals and one or two old
bachelors." He took up a government claim and made some improvements on
it, remaining there until a fire destroyed his property. He then moved to the
north fork of Tule river,
where he took up eighty acres of land, built a small saw-mill and engaged in
the stock business. In 1872 he was appointed Deputy Assessor, under T. G.
Jeffords, the first Republican assessor of Tulare County, and
served during a term of four years, at the same time continuing his mill, farm,
and stock interests. In 1878 he bought 160 acres of land in Frazier valley,
where he now resides. He has since made other purchases, and is now the owner
of 1,050 acres, sowing annually about 500 acres in grain, and dealing in
horses, cattle and mules. His present fine residence was built in 1889. The
substantial farm buildings and the general appearance of the place indicate the
thrift and prosperity of the owner and proprietor.
Mr. and Mrs. Kincaid have eight
children, viz.: Emma V., now Mrs. L. L. Hotchkiss; Mattie S., wife of E. C.
Clements; and Roland L., Orin E., Melvin R., Laura B., Bertha O. and Lura A.
H. M. White: Page 677
After many years of pioneer work in
both Illinois and California, H. M.
White now resides in his beautiful home in Frazier valley, Tulare County.
Situated at the foot of "Rocky Hill," and overlooking his broad acres
of waving grain, this is indeed a charming abode in which to pass the evening
of an active and useful life.
Mr. White was born in Tioga
York, in 1852, and with his parents
moved to La Salle County, Illinois, in
1838, where his father followed agricultural life. Young White assisted with
the farm duties and, as opportunity offered, attended the common schools. Upon
the death of his father in 1845, he took charge of the farm and also purchased
a saw-mill on the Illinois river,
operating it until 1850.
Attacked with the gold fever which
swept the country at that time, he started for the El
Dorado of the West, crossed the plains
with a horse team, and after a pleasant journey of one hundred and one days,
arrived at Sacramento. He
then went to the mines in El
Dorado County, but
after three months of hard work, with average results, felt that a more
congenial business could be found which would pay as well. And he left the
mines, never to return, going to Sacramento, where
he started a provision store, keeping grain, vegetables and miners' supplies. This
proved profitable until the supply of vegetables gave out in the spring of
1851, and he was compelled to close his business. He then went to Santa
Cruz, rented sixty acres of land and
planted it all to potatoes, his first year's profit being
,000. The following year he planted 100 acres which netted him ,000; but in 1853, with 500 acres, he lost ,000. Still
he persisted until the tide again turned in his favor and he netted large
results. Mr. White was also operating a line of schooners from Monterey and Santa
Cruz to San Francisco, and for several years did the
shipping of that locality. With a view of extending his operations, he loaded
the clipper-built schooner Young America, at Monterey, with
a cargo of barley and potatoes, and in command of Captain Henry Charles, with a
young brother of Mr. White as super-cargo, they set sail for Melbourne, Australia. The
experiment, however, proved disastrous, as neither the schooner nor its
occupants have since been heard from, and Mr. White lost about
In 1856 our subject returned to Sacramento and
entered the grocery business under the firm name of Owens & White; the
partnership continued one year, after which they sold out to Mr. Stanford. Mr.
White then purchased a stock of general merchandise which he moved to Visalia,
opening business there, June
13, 1857. At that time the town numbered
about one hundred inhabitants. After remaining in business there one year, he
went to San Francisco and
decided to engage in the sheep business, which was then in its infancy. With a
knowledge of the foothills as grazing land, which were then only occupied by
stockmen, Mr. White purchased a band of 800 sheep, and in 1859 crossed the
Coast Range on the west side of Tulare County. His trip across the valley was
fraught with great suffering for want of water, no springs being known. The
heat was intense, and even Lake Tulare was so
impregnated with filth and alkali that neither man nor beast could touch the
water. For three days this suffering continued, and when they reached Tule river the sheep made a dash
for the water and plunged in, piling on top of each other, so eager were they
for water. He then drove them to Frazier valley, where he located 160 acres of
land. His sheep were the first band brought to that locality. As the cattlemen
were then kings of the sod, they felt sheep men were interlopers and tried in
every way possible to run Mr. White from the country, destroying his crops,
driving bands of horses through his sheep, and using every measure except
violence to discourage him; even his friends combined against him. The
opposition became so strong that Mr. White was one of the first to advocate the
"No Fence" law, the passage of which brought such disaster to the
stock interests. Mr. White gradually acquired land until he owned about 8,000
acres, and continued the sheep business until 1881, when he entered the cattle
business, in which he is still engaged. He now owns about 1,400 acres, well
fenced, with substantial improvements and beautifully located. He also raises
some horses and cultivates each year about 500 acres of his land.
Mr. White was married in Visalia to
Mrs. J. A. Brown, a widow with two children -- Clinton T. and William W. Brown.
Mrs. White was the first to plant oranges in the foothills, bringing the seed
from Visalia. Years
afterward she sold her first oranges at a church fair at Vandalia for each. Oranges were
then a novelty in this country. Mr. White has never sought political emolument,
although for thirty years he has been a representative Republican and prominent
in County and State conventions. He is of a kind and genial disposition, and
without being aggressive, possesses very decided characteristics.
Harrison White: Page 625
Harrison White was born in the State
of New York, June
29, 1838. He
comes of good old Puritan stock. His grandfather, Silas White, was a soldier in
the Revolutionary war, held a Captain's commission and served till the close of
the struggle. His father, Silas White, Jr., a native of New
York, married Maria McClare,
who was of Scotch descent and also a native of the Empire State. Of
the ten children born to them, Harrison was
next to the youngest. When he was a child the family moved to Illinois and
settled on a Government claim, where the children were reared and educated.
Mr. White worked on the farm and
also learned the carpenter's trade. When President Lincoln called for
volunteers he was among the first to enter the service of his country and help
put down the rebellion. He enlisted as a private, on April
22, 1861, in
Company F, Eleventh Illinois Infantry, and after his three months' term of
service had expired he joined Company B, Fourth Illinois Cavalry. His company
went with General Grant to Fort Henry, Donelson, Corinth and Vicksburg, and
was Grant's escort until he was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-General and
placed at the head of all the armies of the United
States, having his headquarters
with the Army of the Potomac. Mr.
White continued to serve in the department of Mississippi until
the close of the war. At the battle of Shiloh he was
slightly wounded by a piece of shell. He had been promoted as Captain, and as
such was mustered out of the service on the 26th of January, 1866.
After the war closed Mr. White
conducted a cotton plantation in Mississippi one
year. He then went to Sandwich, Illinois, and
engaged in mercantile business. In the spring of 1868 he sold out and went to Montana, being
in business there until the winter of 1869, again returning to Illinois. In
the spring of 1870 he came to California and
located in Tulare County. That
summer he took the census of the County. Then or two years he was engaged in
the sheep business, after which he opened a store at Porterville,
remaining there six years. At the end of that time he sold out, came to Visalia, and
has since made this city his home. In 1880 he received the appointment of
United States Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue, and filled that office six
years. He also served as Under Sheriff a year and a half. At this writing
(1891) he is a United States Gauger, and is also
doing a claim agency business.
Captain White was married to Miss Hattie P. Anthony, a native of Watertown, New
York. They reside in their pleasant home
on Court Street, Visalia, and
he is the owner of a ranch in the country, which he has rented.
The Captain is a member of the A. O.
U. W., and a charter member and Post Commander of General George Wright Post,
G. A. R., Visalia.
E. A. May: Page 522
E. A. May is a descendant of English
ancestors. His parents came to this country at an early day, settled in Buffalo, New
York, before the establishment of
railroad transportation, and subsequently located in Wales, Erie County, where
the subject of this sketch was born in 1847. Losing his mother at the age of
twelve years, young May went to Peoria, New
York, to live with his uncle, William
May, a blacksmith by trade. He took advantage of the educational advantages
offered there and applied himself to his studies in the high school, at odd
times assisting his uncle in the shop. When he was eighteen he enlisted, at Rochester, in
Company C, One Hundred and Ninety-fourth New York Volunteers, and was sent to Elmira. The
war, however, being nearly over, they were soon discharged and returned to
After his discharge from the
service, Mr. May went to Henry County, Illinois, to visit his father, and
subsequently to St. Charles, Minnesota, where
he engaged in farming and the lumber business. About 1870 he went to Canton, Lincoln County, Dakota, pre-empted and homesteaded 320 acres of wild land
and began breaking the soil and sowing grain. The grasshoppers in that section
of the country were very destructive and crops uncertain. In 1875 Mr. May was
Sergeant-at-arms at Yankton, then the capital of Dakota, and upon adjournment
of the Legislature he was sent by the citizens of the County to the States to
Solicit aid for the suffering settlers, the grasshoppers having entirely
destroyed their crops. While in Dakota he took an active part in politics and
was regarded as one of the leaders of his party.
Mr. May was married at Yankton, in
December, 1876, to Miss Martha Jones, a sister of State Senator A. S. Jones, of
Dakota. They then came to California and
after passing a few months with his father and brother at Modesto, in
April, 1878, settled at their present location, southwest of Poplar, Tulare County. He
bought a timber culture claim of eighty acres and 160 acres of railroad land
adjoining; set five acres to timber from rooted plants and cuttings, but
experienced great difficulty in getting them to grow, and for four years kept
filling in the vacancies and made it a success. He now has forty acres in
alfalfa and annually sows 175 acres to grain. The country being undeveloped
when Mr. May came here, he has devoted much time to experimenting with
deciduous fruits, berries and vines, now having five acres in orchard and
twelve in grapes. The water supply for the valley being very uncertain, owing
to the natural run of the streams, Mr. May is practically demonstrating the
fact that, with abundance of water fifteen feet below the surface, every man
owns his own water-right if he will but take the means and measures to raise it
to the surface. He bored two wells about ten feet apart and erected over them
an electric and gasoline engine with a centripetal pump connected with both
wells, from which it draws alike and throws to the surface fifteen miners'
inches of water. This is the first engine and pump of the kind erected in that
part of the valley, and affords the most perfect power with the least trouble
and consumption of fuel of any pumping apparatus the writer has ever seen. Mr.
May is also giving much attention to raising horses, with his Percheron stallion, which weighs 1,5000 pounds, is
improving the standard of draft horses.
Mr. and Mrs. May have two children:
E. Howard and Ivy, both at home and in pursuit of their education. Mr. May is a
member of the I. O. O. F., of Woodville, and of the Farmers' Alliance, being
lecturer of his lodge.
N. P. Duncan, M. D.: Page 405
Prominent among the young
professional men of Hanford, Tulare
County, California, is
the subject of this sketch, who was born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in
1849. He is of Scotch descent, his ancestors being among the early settlers of Louisiana. His
father, Robert C. Duncan, a native of Louisiana, emigrated to Pittsburg about
1820, and was there engaged in the mercantile business. His mother was Nancy
(Patterson) Duncan, a daughter of Nathaniel Patterson, a surveyor and engineer,
who was prominently connected with the platting of land and laying out of the
city of Pittsburg.
N. P. Duncan was educated in the Beaver Academy and
the Washington and Jefferson College. He
then commenced the study of medicine under the preceptorship
of Dr. David Stanton, of New
York City, in 1871. He then began practice at
where he remained until 1873, when he came to California.
After spending two years in traveling over the State, he practiced one year in Fresno, and
in 1876 located at Lemoore, Tulare County,
where he was subsequently married to Miss Mary A. Cranmer,
a highly educated and accomplished lady and a native of Calaveras
County, California. The
Doctor enjoyed a successful and lucrative practice at Lemoore, and remained
there until 1884, when he moved to Hanford, purchased property at the corner of
Doughty and Eighth Streets, built a handsome two-story residence, which is
ornamented by attractive lawns, and established his permanent home. He is
engaged in a general practice of medicine and surgery. By
holding his patrons at Lemoore and in the West Side districts and extending a helping hand to those at Goshen, Traver and Tulare on the east, his professional engagements cover a broad
area of country.
The Doctor owns 160 acres of land in
the River Lawn country, which is irrigated by the Crescent ditch, and he has
forty acres of vineyard south of Lemoore. He is a member of Hanford Lodge, No.
189, A. O. U. W. to the Doctor and Mrs. Duncan one child has been born, a
bright little son, who at the age of five years suffered a fall while at play
in Lemoore which caused his death.
Having practiced about fifteen years
in the Lucerne
district, Dr. Duncan considers it a locality of great longevity, free from all
epidemics; and the malarial diseases, being of mild form, are very susceptible
of treatment and seldom fatal.
John Smith Cole: Page 699
John Smith Cole, Traver,
Tulare County, California, is
one of the substantial business men of his town and merits representation in
the history of his County.
Mr. Cole comes of English and German
ancestors, who settled in the State of Pennsylvania at an
early date. His Grandfather, David Cole, was born in England, and
when quite young came to America and
located in the Keystone State,
where his son, James R. Cole, was born and reared. The latter married Miss
Cassie Strayer, a native of Pennsylvania, of
German ancestry, and a Quakeress. Her parents were
David and Anna Strayer, and three of her brothers
were Union Solders in the late war, and sacrificed their lives for their country.
Mr. Cole also had two other uncles who were Union soldiers, so that the family
was not wanting in patriotism. James R. Cole and his wife became the parents of
eight children, all of whom are still living. He died at their ranch near Traver, in 1889. The subject of our sketch was born in Pennsylvania, November
received a limited education in the public schools of his native State, and
learned the trade of a gunsmith in Pittsburg.
Being a natural mechanic, he has also taken up the blacksmith and carriage-making
trades, and has learned engineering.
In 1879 he came to California, and
for several years was variously employed; he worked at Kernville, assisted in
building a tramway for mining purposes, helped to construct two large overshot
water-wheels in the Piute mountains, for the purpose of furnishing power to
crush quartz and worked at lumbering in the mountains of Tulare County, also
doing some work at the carpenter's trade.
In the spring of 1883, when the
first sale of lots was made in Traver, he purchased
lots 17 and 18, on block 88 soon afterward building a house and shop, the first
buildings completed in the town, which he has continued to occupy, and where he
is carrying on his blacksmith and carriage-making business. Mr. Cole has
located a homestead of 160 acres of land a mile and a half south-west of the
town, on which he has built a house and barn; has been farming it to grain, but
more recently is giving it over to the culture of raisin grapes and other
fruits, among which are oranges. One two year-old tree bore 300 well formed
Mr. Cole was united in marriage, in
1874, to Miss Mary E. Baer, a native of New
York City. Her parents, Peter and Martha
Baer, were born in Germany, but
reared in the United
States. The children born to Mr.
and Mrs. Cole are Martha, Mamie and Frank.
In politics he is an enthusiastic
Republican, but in County affairs he does not adhere strictly to party lines.
He is a member of the A. O. U . W., the K. of P., the
Foresters and the Farmers' Alliance, and
has also been a Granger and a Good Templar, having been an officer in all these
In connection with his ancestry, it
should be further stated that among his German forefathers were physicians of
eminence, and their history has been handed down through several generations.
They were also men who enjoyed the sport of deer-hunting in the Allegheny
grandfather, David Cole, having died at the age of ninety-six years, from a
hurt received from a wounded deer.
Peter T. Brady: Page 350
The subject of this sketch is a
native son of the Emerald Isle. He was born in County
Meath, Ireland, March
17, 1839, son
of Bryan Brady, a blacksmith by trade. Peter T. learned the same trade with an
older brother, and in 1868 emigrated to America.
After a brief sojourn in Connecticut, he
came direct to California and
to Kern County. Like
the most of new-comers to this State at that time, Mr. Brady had his experience
in the mines. However, he only mined about a month; located in Havilah, where he conducted a blacksmith shop five years.
During the gold excitement at Kernville he again sought the mines, and when
mining interests declined there he located on a ranch on South Fork of Kern river, where he has 160 acres of farming land.
Mr. Brady married Miss Mary E.
Irving, daughter of Robert Irving, deceased. She is a native of San
Francisco and of American parentage. Their
union has been blessed with five children: Bernard Philip, Robert James, Peter
John, Patrick Eugene and Katie Susan.
Mr. Brady is a man of business
enterprise and industry. Besides developing his ranch, he conducts Mr. Scodie's well equipped and blacksmith shop at Scodie, besides his own, during the summer months.
When the biographer styled Mr. Brady
a native son of the Emerald Isle the phrase called up in the memory of the
latter the following reflections:
The great feature of our destiny as
traced in our history is that it was the will of God and our fate that a large
portion of our people be constantly either driven from the Irish shore or
obliged by the course of circumstances or apparently of their own free will to
leave. The 'Irish Exile' is a name recognized in history; the 'Irish Exile' is
not a being of yesterday or of last year. We turn over these honored pages of
history until we come to the very brightest pages of the national records, and
still we find emblazoned upon the annals of every nation of the earth the grand
and the most honored names of the 'Exiile of Erin.'
And I, O mother, far away from thy green bosom, hail thee from afar as the
prophet of old beholding the fair plains of the promised land, and proclaim
this day that there is no land so fiar; no spot of
earth to be compared to thee; no nation rising out of the waves so beautiful as
thou art; and that neither the sun nor the moon nor the stars of heaven shine
down upon anything so lovely as thee, O Erin
Jesse Morrow: Page 349
Jesse Morrow, a prominent citizen of
born in Canton, Ohio, in
He was reared on a farm and educated
in the public schools, remaining at home until he reached the age of fourteen.
He was then apprenticed to the trade of saddler and harnessmaker
at Paris, Ohio,
where lie served three years, after which he returned home and assisted his
father on the farm until July 4, 1849.
While thus quietly employed in
agricultural pursuits, the wonderful stories about California and
her rich treasures of gold reached him and inspired him. with
a spirit of adventure. he joined an emigrant party to cross the plains for Salt
Lake City, there expecting to winter; but the Mormons were so dictatorial and
belligerent that life itself was unsafe in their midst: so a small party was
formed and they pushed on to California by the Southern Pass. At the Big Muddy
they found one foot of snow and the party broken up. Nothing daunted, Mr.
Morrow with six others took food and blankets on their back's
and continued their way westward, coming through Cajon Pass. There
he traded his rifle for a beef to supply the party with food. They jerked the
meat and took it with them on their way north. After crossing Kern river, and while in camp at
Posey creek, they were approached by two men, the only surviving members of an
earlier party of sixteen who had been attacked by Indians. All then returned to
where they met a train, among the number being Dr. Lewis Leach. Thus
re-enforced they again pushed forward. At Woodville, Tulare County, they
came to the scene of the above mentioned slaughter and found fourteen bodies,
which they buried. They camped through the night, under guard, and, after
shooting wild cattle to supply food, continued on to King's river; camped at
Smith's ferry, then went forward to San Joaquin river, where they met Major
Lane and a portion of the party hired by him to work his mines above Ft. Miller.
The Indians, however, were so troublesome that the Major was frightened away.
Mr. Morrow and party then bought a mining outfit and continued to work through
that year, meeting with success. He mined at Fine Gold Gulch and on the San
Joaquin river until
1856, when he went to Los
Angeles and engaged extensively in the
stock business. He bought 1,100 head of cattle, drove them to the San
Joaquin valley, and on King's river
continued the business until 1871, keeping an average of 500 head. In 1875 Mr.
Morrow turned his attention to sheep raising on the
plains between King's and San Joaquin
rivers, his flock numbering from 4,000 to 20,000, In this business he was
engaged until 1882, when he sold out. In 1874 Mr. Morrow was instrumental in
building the Southern Pacific Hotel, which in 1876 came into his possession,
and which he still owns and leases. At one time he was extensively interested
in money loaning, and through poor securities he lost about
Mr. Morrow was married at San
Joaquin, in February, 1857, to Miss Mary I.
Davis, a native of Texas. They
have three children. The family moved from the ranch on King's river to San
Jose, where they resided fourteen years
and where the children were well educated. They now reside in Fresno.
Mr. Morrow has been more or less
interested in mining ever since lie came to California, and
he thinks the outlook today as favorable as in 1849 to the careful prospector.
J. R. Reily, M.
D.: Page 349
J. R. Reily,
M. D., a prominent physician of Fresno, was
born in Callaway County, Missouri, in
1838. His father, Samuel Reily, was a pioneer of 1821
to Missouri, and
was an extensive farmer, owning from 500 to 1,200 acres of land. Dr. Reily was educated in the public schools of Missouri and
at Westminster College,
which is the Presbyterian college of the State, situated at Fulton, the County
seat of Callaway County.
Owing to broken health he did not graduate.
In 1857 he began the study of
medicine, and in 1859-'60 he attended the Missouri Medical College at St.
Louis, under the direction of Dr. Joseph N. McDowell, Professor of Surgery and
a man of great prominence in his profession through the West. After completing
two courses of study, Dr. Reily joined his brother,
Dr. William C. Reily, in Pettis
County, Missouri, and
with him began practice, remaining until June, 1861, when he joined the Missouri State
troops, under General Price, in sympathy with the Confederate cause, as
Assistant Regimental Surgeon. Later he enlisted in the Confederate service; was
sent on a recruiting expedition to Central
Missouri, and was there captured and
In the spring of 1863 Dr. Reily came to California via the Isthmus route, and at once
started, in company with a number of young men, to return south through
Arizona. While waiting at Visalia for
others who desired to join them, he was thrown from a buggy and his left leg
broken. This accident necessitated the mortification of seeing his companions
depart without him. In May of that year, and while yet wearing splints, he
formed a partnership with Dr. William A. Russell, at Visalia. They
continued a successful and extensive practice until 1867, when our subject gave
up his professional duties to look after mining interests in Kern County.
After six months' experience and a loss of property, he resumed the practice of
medicine. In 1871 he settled in Bakersfield, Kern County, then
a town of 200 inhabitants, now an active business center with a population of
3,600. During the early history of the town it was so malarious
that there were not more than enough well people to care for the sick; but time
and cultivation have exhausted the malaria, and the town is now as healthy as
any part of the valley.
Nearly twenty-eight years of his
life have been spent in the practice of medicine and surgery in the great San
Joaquin valley. In February 1889, the
Doctor came to Fresno. He
purchased an improved vineyard of forty acres on Cherry
thirty-two acres being in Muscat vines
and the rest in fruit and alfalfa. This property is located one mile south of
the city. In 1890, the first season of picking, he marketed eighteen tons of
raisins. The Doctor still practices in a limited way, but gives the most of his
time to his vineyard.
wife was Miss Ellah P. Maze, a native daughter of the
Golden West and daughter of Mr. S. M. Maze, a wealthy citizen of Santa
Clara County, California, who
came to the coast in 1849. They have no children.
is, at time of writing this sketch, president of the Fresno County Medical
S. H. Cole: Page 345
S. H. Cole -- In a volume of
history, such as this, in which are recorded not only the events of interest in
the past, but the movements which have led up to the present condition of
affairs, there can be no more entertaining topic to the best class of readers
than that which treats of the building up of a prosperous, enterprising city.
Important cities and trade centers are only partially the result of necessity.
The progressive spirit of the founders of one locality will place it in advance
in the race as against another with better natural advantages which has no
public-spirited men to look after its interests.
the development of irrigation, enjoyed the advantage of a very good site for a
future commercial center, and whatever else was lacking has been supplied by a
coterie of as determined men of push and energy such as is not equaled in all
the past history of California. Of
this band of energetic spirits the opinion of his fellow citizens has accorded
to S. H. Cole, whose name begins this article, a place in the very foremost
rank; and certainly the publishers of this volume may be permitted to add that
while all have done grandly, certainly none have given so much of their own
time so unselfishly for the good of Fresno, and with no other object than her
advancement, than the subject of this mention. A brief outline sketch of his
career, therefore, follows here as a matter of course,
and as a necessary portion of Fresno's
contribution tot he history of Central California.
Mr. Cole is the descendant of German
ancestry. He was born in Hamilton
about sixteen miles from Cincinnati, July
17, 1838, his
parents being Adam and Elizabeth (Shull) Cole. In 1840 the parents moved to Switzerland
County, Indiana, and
in that locality made their home for many years. The subject of this sketch
received the advantages of the best educational facilities obtainable in his
boyhood days, but he was compelled by force of circumstances to give up regular
attendance at school at the age of fifteen years. He had been reared to farm
life, and on leaving school devoted his entire time to agricultural pursuits.
He assisted his father in conducting the farming work until 1856, when,
branching out on his own account, he purchased half of the home place. For
several years thereafter, eh purchased, sold and improved considerable
property. For the purpose of investigating the climate and resources of Kansas,
which State was then receiving much attention, he spent the winter of 1871-'72
there, returning in the spring to Indiana. Soon afterward, he saw in the New
York Sun an advertisement of Charles Nordhoff's now
well-known book, entitled, "California for Health, Pleasure and
Residence," issued by Harper Bros. Mr. Cole was greatly impressed by the
contents of this interesting work, so much so indeed, that he determined to
sell his property in Indiana, and move at once to California, which resolution
was promptly carried out. Although the change of residence was quite an
undertaking, entailing a loss in the disposal of his Indiana farm
and a heavy expense en route, he has never regretted the step, but now says,
"The half was not told in that volume of Mr. Nordhoff's."
Arriving in California on a
slow freight, Mr. Cole and his family went to San
Francisco. There he met a gentleman who had
visited the San Joaquin
valley, and from his ascertained that there was plenty of Government land to be
had in Fresno County, and
to this point Mr. Cole directed his steps, arriving in Fresno September
27, 1873. He
had to sell his greenbacks for gold at 85 cents on the dollar, and paid gold
for fare from San Francisco to Fresno. At
that time the only hotel in the place was a French one near where the pioneer
store of Louis Einstein now is, opposite the depot of the Southern Pacific
Railroad Company. Mr. Cole states that the clerk of the hotel escorted him from
the station to the hotel with a lantern and gave him the best room in the
house. He at once engaged in farming, locating near the foothills, fifteen
miles northeast of Fresno on
320 acres of Government land. In May, 1882, he determined to go north on a tour
of inspection, and after a three months' visit to the region surrounding Puget
Sound he returned to Fresno, being more than ever satisfied with California.
Mr. Cole invested in some very valuable fruit property, and for a time was
actively engaged in fruit and grain raising.
In November, 1886, he moved into the
city of Fresno,
being influenced in this course largely by the desire to give to his children
the educational advantages afforded by the schools of the city. While a
resident of the outside districts, he had taken a deep interest in the matter
of irrigation, on which the prosperity of the County so largely depended; and
it was soon seen that he had determined to be more active in working for the
advancement of Fresno. As
soon as he was fairly located in the city, he established himself in the real
estate business, and the very next summer consummated, among other operations,
a deal of large proportions, the sale of a 2,000 acre tract. Later on, he
associated with himself his brother, J. A. Cole, and his nephew, F. M.
Chittenden, under the firm name of Cole, Chittenden & Cole, and this firm
was continued until the erection of the new building of the Farmers' Bank took
away their office facilities, and the partnership theretofore existing was
dissolved, our subject retiring from the firm in October, 1888. He still
continued, however, in the performance of his duties as Notary Public, to which
position he had been appointed as one of the last official acts of the late
Governor Bartlett, and two years later Governor Waterman reappointed him to the
position for a term of four years.
In January, 1889, J. H. Hamilton
resigned from the Municipal Board of Fresno, and partly through a desire to
recognize the work of Mr. Cole in behalf of Fresno, as well as to place him in
a position where his energetic services could be made most available, he was
chosen by the unanimous vote of the Board to fill the vacancy. Before the next election,
which occurred in April, 1889, the city was divided into wards, and Mr. Cole,
without the formality of a nomination, was elected to represent the second ward
in the City Council of Fresno, by the unanimous vote of all citizens of
whatever political party. he was chosen as chairman of
the Street and Finance Committee, and the initiative in all matters of that
nature in the great reign of improvement which followed, at once devolved on
him. Bonds to the extent of ,000 had been voted for
the construction of a sewer system, and a contract let to the amount of ,000,
though as yet but little of the right of way had been secured; but he carried
through this very essential part of the programme in
a manner which was extremely advantageous to Fresno, and which reflected great
credit on his energy and watchfulness of the city's interests. As an instance
of the favorable terms he made in this matter it may be mentioned here that on
one 160-acre tract, where ,000 was asked for right of
way, and where it was expected that amount would be required, Mr. Cole exerted
himself to such an extent that he was enabled to secure that particular right
for . The amount of the. bonds was expended in the
work undertaken, and a total of ,000 utilized on the
sewer system of the city during Mr. Cole's incumbency of the chairmanship of
the Street and Finance Committee, and to such good effect was this money
expended that it may safely be said that no municipality has ever gotten a more
thorough and satisfactory return for its money.
This, however, is by no means the
sum of the permanent improvements effected in his department under his
chairmanship. During its term, the whole of the eleven blocks of splendid
pavements have been laid. The pavements of Fresno are
not excelled in the world, consisting of three inches of bituminous rock on an
eight-inch concrete foundation, the work being performed in the most approved
manner. There have also been twenty miles of Street sidewalk built, graded and
curbed during this time, and among the. other
improvements of the same period may be mentioned the fire alarm system, and the
unexcelled Street-sprinkling plant.
On the 20th of April, 1891, at
the reorganization of the Board, Mr. Cole was elected president of the City
Council, and as Mayor of the city he has well borne the honor of his position.
Being reluctant, however, to retire from the active working field of his old
position, one of his first official acts in his new capacity was to appoint
himself back to his old position as chairman of the Street and Finance
Committees. On the
18th of April, 1891, an election was held for the
purpose of voting on the proposition to bond the city in the sum of ,000 for the construction of a new and commodious brick
high school building; and as the issue was successful Mr. Cole will have these
bonds to sign as one of his duties.
It is not merely in his capacity as
a city official, however, that Mr. Cole has been
performing his untiring work for Fresno. He
took an active part in the organization of the Fresno County Board of Trade,
which was consummated in January, 1887, and was one of the charter members of
that organization which has done so much for this city and County. From the
first he was one of tile most enthusiastic members of the board, and became recognized
as one of its mainstays, whose enthusiasm did not dwindle as time progressed.
In September, 1890, he was elected secretary of the board, to take the office
on the first of October following, and certainly every one conversant with the
facts recognize the fact that no mistake was made in
that action. Following this, he was elected as executive committeeman from the Fresno
organization to the State board of Trade, and has charge of the local exhibit
in the State board rooms. In his various capacities as an official, and as an
interested private citizen, Mr. Cole has been a great practical benefit to this
community, and his earliest, honest personal conversation with visitors to the
city, has resulted in many very desirable acquisitions to the citizenship of Fresno city
and County. He has also been a liberal contributor toward new enterprises,
among the latest of these being the mountain railroad; and in his capacity as
Mayor of Fresno he took a prominent part in the ceremonies attending the
commencement of work on that road, July
Besides the positions already
mentioned, Mr. Cole held the office of Justice of the Peace in 1881, an
appointment by the Board of Supervisors, but resigned therefrom
in 1882, when leaving for his trip north in that year. In 1889 he was solicited
by a number of influential intimate friends to accept the nomination for State
Senator from this district; but, thanking his friends, he declined the
proffered honor, reminding them of the fact that he was chosen by the votes of
both the leading political parties to do some work for Fresno oil tile
municipal board, and that that work was yet uncompleted.
Mr. Cole is on intimate terms with
the leading business men and representative citizens generally of this
community, who respect him as well for the strict integrity of his public and
private life, as for the tireless energy he has displayed in advancing the
welfare of all, arid for his undoubted natural abilities.
Thrice married, Mr. Cole rejoices in
a large family of children. By his first marriage to Clarissa Hageman, of Indiana,
there were four children, three of whom are living, namely C. M. Cole, Mrs. C.
A. Owen, and Adrian S. Cole. The oldest of these, Mr. C. M. Cole, is the
largest grain farmer of the County, and has, in 1891, 10,000 acres of grain.
This young man inherits the energetic qualities of his father, and has attained
his present position in life through his own efforts. Our subject married for
his second wife, Mary Margaret Warfield, also of Indiana. By
this marriage there were no children. His present wife was Maggie J. Griffin,
who was born in Union County, Indiana, but
reared in Iowa. They
are the parents of six children, namely: Orrell A.,
Robert W., Eva B., Alice L., Charles Chester, and Mary Augusta.
In closing this brief sketch it is
but justice to the subject to refer to one feature in his career,
that is much to his credit. In his entire lifetime he has never been a
principal in a lawsuit; and during the whole time of his connection with the
local government of Fresno the
city has never been sued. As a trustee he has always favored arid followed the
precepts adopted in his private business; and, while being universally
recognized as one of the most zealous upholders of the interests of the city,
he has always favored the consideration of all just rights of individuals as
well as corporations whenever there has been any occasion for friction or
clashing of interests. This has inspired in the parties a Confidence in the
fairness of his intentions which has always as yet resulted in honorable
compromise and ultimate satisfaction to all concerned.
One of the most delicate matters
which comes within the province of the governing bodies of a city is the
handling of corporations having large interests there so as to retain the
friendship and good-will of those who control the capital that is necessary to
keep the various branches of industry in operation, while at the same time
demanding of them the bearing of their proper proportion of the burdens of the
community. On this line of duty Mr. Cole has shown signal ability. His firmness
of character has never been better displayed than on the national holiday of
1891, when he adhered to his purpose in protecting the lives and property of
citizens by preventing tire explosion of fireworks, against considerable
influential opposition, and was afterward congratulated by many from that same
opposition for his firm stand and the consequent leading part he had taken in
making Fresno's celebration of the occasion of that year the most successful by
all odds in her history. In concluding it will not be out of place to say that
the uniform courtesy as the city's chief executive, displayed alike to citizens
and strangers, has done much to ward spreading abroad a good impression of
W. J. Graham: Page 412
W. J. Graham, one of the active
citizens of Kern County, was
born in Calaveras County, this
State, November 13,
educated at Santa Ynez, Santa
Barbara County, and
learned the blacksmith's trade, which he successfully followed at Bakersfield for
several years. He was married April
11, 1878, to
Miss Agnes, daughter of P. J. and M. A. Sullivan, who are amongst the earliest
and respected pioneers of San
Clara County. In
1888 Mr. Graham was elected Sheriff of Kern County, on the Democratic ticket.
His administration of the affairs of his office were
eminently satisfactory, and he retired from its duties with an honorable
official record. Michael Graham, father of ex-Sheriff Graham, came to Kern County during
the Clear Creek gold excitement, about 1867. He was an old placer miner in Calaveras County, and
spent a short time in Los
Angeles prior to taking up his residence at
Havilah. He was a native of Ireland, emigrated to America at
about eighteen years of age and located in Rhode
Island, where he entered merchandising on
a modest scale, in the city of Providence.
There he married his wife, Helena Hanna, also a native of Ireland. They
had seven children, six of whom were born in this State, and all but one are living.
Austin Young: Page 333
Austin Young is the popular landlord
of the Piute Hotel, and one of the leading citizens of Tehachapi. He is a son
of Edmund Young, M. D., of Fruitvale, East
Oakland, Alameda County, California. Dr.
Young graduated in medicine at Syracuse, New
York, and practiced his profession for a
time, retiring in 1860. He is a native of Yates
York, and married Eleanor Bell, also of
that County. They came to California,
landing in San Francisco, May
their family then consisting of three sons and two daughters, of whom Austin
Young is the oldest.
Mr. Young was educated in the public
schools of Solano County, and
at Heald's business college, graduating at the latter
institution in the class of 1876. After leaving school en conducted one of his
father's farms for about six years; was employed one year as a shipping clerk
at Port Costa, Contra Costa County, and
served as a letter carrier in the United
States postal service, in San
Francisco, four years and a half. Mr. Young
located at Tehachapi, March 1, 1889, and
conducted the Golden Gate
restaurant about eighteen months, after which, in 1890, he built and opened the
Piute Hotel and bar.
6, 1888, Mr.
Young married Miss Marian Goyhen, of San
Francisco. She is a daughter of Peter Goyhen, deceased, a native of south France. Mrs.
Young was born in San Francisco on
the 6th day of May, 1862. She is a lady of fine domestic tastes and modern
education, speaks the French, Basque, Spanish and English languages fluently, and
the graceful and quiet manner in which she fills the position of landlady of
the new Piute Hotel is evidence of her social tact and executive ability. Mr.
Young is a genial and social gentleman, an enterprising businessman, and a
popular citizen. His hotel is an orderly and favorite one--such an institution
as no town of modern pretentions and aspirations can
afford to do without.
F. E. Davis: Page 722
F. E. Davis is a pioneer and a
leading merchant of Delano. He
first came to California from Chicago in
1873. He was born in Utica, New
5, 1848. His
father, Thomas Davis, was a blank book manufacturer of New
York City. Mr. Davis learned the trade of a
marble cutter, which he later pursued in Detroit, Michigan, and
at Fort Wayne, Indiana. He followed
the business from 1863 to 1887 when he located at Delano and
engaged in general merchandising, being the third merchant of the town. He
married in Butte County, at Chico, California, January
18, 1882, Miss
Anna M., daughter of J. H. Parr, and they have three children, Ferdinand,
Vivian and William. Mr. Davis is a progressive merchant and businessman. He
owns a fine ranch of 160 acres two miles from Delano, on
which he raises wheat without irrigation. He also owns property near Tulare,
which he is planting to prunes. Mr. Davis is wide awake to the best interest of
is highly esteemed.
Louis Gundelfinger: Page
is a native of Wurtemberg, Germany, born
in 1849. He came to America in
1868, and for three months made his home in New
York City. Receiving a liberal offer of a
business position in San Francisco, he
started for the West via the Isthmus of Panama.
From 1868 until 1872 he was employed
as bookkeeper for the wholesale liquor firm of Wormser
Bros., in San Francisco. In
the latter year he accepted a similar position in the wholesale clothing
establishment of Greenbaum Bros., and was with them
two years. Then he was employed as bookkeeper for Levi Strauss & Co., a
wholesale dry goods firm.
In September 1877, he purchased the
interest of H. D. Silverman in the pioneer firm of Silverman, Einstein &
Co., Fresno, Mr. Silverman having died in August of that year. Since that
time Mr. Gundelfinger has been connected with this
firm and has witnessed a large and steady growth in trade. He is the active
manager of the business, president of the stock company, and a faithful and
energetic worker. The firm does business in their fine building at the corner
of Mariposa and Front Streets, the site of the original one story frame
building which was occupied by the pioneer Otto Froelich.
They do an immense business in wholesale and retail general merchandise, their
trade extending throughout the entire San
was married in 1879, and has a family of three children, all sons.
Elonzo P. Davis: Page 376
Davis is one of the well-known, popular and successful business men of Bakersfield, one
of a class who by their own personal efforts have
fought their own way to an honorable position among his fellow men, against
many reverses, and as a citizen and business man commands the respect of all
who know him.
He was born in Arkansas, September
22, 1853. His
father, now a resident of Bakersfield, is a
mechanic by trade, a veteran of the Mexican war, and has fought in all the
Indian wars since that time, including the Seminole war in Florida. He
is an intrepid and fearless man still, in his declining years, bearing the
marks of an aggressive and uncompromising patriot and frontiersman. Mr. Davis'
mother was by maiden name Miss Mary Farley, of Scotch ancestors, and like her
husband, was born and raised in Tennessee. They
reared four sons and four daughters, six of whom reside in Kern County. Mr.
Davis has for twelve years past lived at Bakersfield or in
its vicinity. He married Miss Maggie Hope Taylor, a native of Virginia, January
4, 1882, and
they have two daughters and one son, Myrtle, Elonzo
Mr. Davis is the proprietor of the
popular Dexter Livery and Boarding Stables and also owns a ranch in Kern County. He
is a public-spirited and open-handed son, father, and husband.
J. A. Cole: Page 376
J. A. Cole, a prominent businessman
of Fresno was
born in Switzerland County, Indiana, in
1842. In 1859 he moved with his parents to Kentucky, remaining
on the farm with his father until 1869. His education was obtained in the
common schools of Indiana and
at Beach College, Kentucky, he
being a graduate of that institution.
In 1869 Mr. Cole left his Kentucky home
and went to Kansas,
taking up a Government claim in Riley County.
Owing to the dry seasons, his venture was a losing one, and in 1872 he emigrated to California,
landing on Big Dry Creek, Fresno County.
Having lost what means he had in Kansas, he
arrived in this State with no capital save a willing hand and a determination
to succeed. For some time he worked at mining and was variously employed,
working by the day. As the years passed by he saved his earnings, and in 1879
purchased 640 acres of land, located ten miles northeast of Fresno, upon
which he carried on wheat-farming, also renting additional land and harvesting
from 3,000 to 10,000 sacks per year. Mr. Cole has since added to his first
purchase and his ranch now numbers 1, 120 acres. He still continues to rent
some land, and sows from 1,000 to 1,5000 acres of
wheat per year. In the fall and winter of 1884 and 1885 he was five months in
plowing, and put out a crop of 1,500 acres. He and his nephew brought the first
header and thresher to this valley in 1883, the machine requiring twenty-four
horses to run it. During the following year it was in operation eighty-four
consecutive days and cut nearly 3,000 acres of wheat. This ranch is now under
the direct management of Mr. Cole's eldest son.
In 1886 the subject of our sketch
purchased a residence on Blackstone
where he has since made his home. At that time he engaged in the real-estate
business under the firm name of Vincent, Chittenden & Cole, which, in the
spring of 1890, consolidated with Sharp & Gordon, and the firm now carry on an extensive business.
Mr. Cole has been married three
times, twice into the Darnold family of Kentucky, each
wife leaving one child. In 1882 he was married in Fresno to
Miss Sara Russell, a native of Missouri. This
union has been blessed with four children.
Andrew Jackson Davis: Page 724
Andrew Jackson Davis, one of the
well-known early settlers of Farmersville, Tulare
County, California, was
born in Tennessee, November 23, 1833. He
left home in 1854 and arrived at Sacramento, this
State, in the spring of the following year. He engaged in mining at Hangtown, on the Frazier river,
for three years was moderately successful, saved his money and came to Tulare County in
1858. Here he took up a Government ranch near Farmersville, established his home
on it and at once began to make improvements. He married Sarah Ann Davis, a
native of Illinois, a
relative of his, however. They took up their abode on the farm and here reared
their family. To them were born seven children, four sons and three daughters,
namely: Alfred Ambrose, Fitzhugh, Eva, Irene, Elizabeth, Clemens and Porter.
Fitzhugh died in early manhood, Eva, at the age of seven years, and Irene at
five. The mother passed away in August, 1880.
Alfred Ambrose, the oldest of the
family, was born, reared and educated in Tulare County. In
1888 he married Alice R. Johnson, a native of his own County. One son has been
born to them, whom they have named Ira. The subject of our sketch resides with
them, and father and son are carrying on general farming. The father owns 160
acres of choice land, located a half mile south of Farmersville. In politics
both are Democrats. The senior Mr. Davis has passed through many thrilling
scenes during his experience in California,
especially in the early mining days. Time has dealt gently with him, and he is
still hale and well preserved.
Alexander P. Davis: Page 567
Alexander P. Davis, a pioneer, was
born in Pennsylvania, November 12, 1826. His
paternal ancestors originated in Wales, his
grandfather Davis having been born there. George Davis, his father, was a
native of Pennsylvania and a
soldier in the war of 1812. His mother, nee Rebecca Porter, was born in
Virginia, her father being a native of the Old Dominion and her mother of Ireland. To
George Davis and his wife nine children were born, Alexander P. being the fifth and one of the four now living.
Until he reached his twentieth year
his life was spent in his native State--reared on a farm and educated in the
public schools. He then went to Virginia, and
for nine years was engaged in cultivating lands belonging to his aunt. In 1856
he came to California,
located in Placer County and
mined for seven years, meeting with moderate success. He has never since lost
his interest in mining, and is still to some extent engaged in developing
mines; is the discovered of one in Fresno County. He
has a quartz-mill, and a road is now being improved from it to the mine, which
will soon be in active operation. He and his partners have assays of the ore,
ranging from to per ton. They have named their mines, Oraphana,
Monitor, Peeler and Dipper. Mr. Davis has also been in the timber business in Tulare,
Calaveras and Santa Cruz
counties, having followed that business thirteen years. For twelve years he did
an ice business in Fresno and Tulare
counties. He came to his present location in Tulare County in
1888, purchased 329 acres of land, built a comfortable
home and planted trees and vines. One hundred and twenty acres are devoted to Muscat
grapes, and both vines and trees are in a flourishing condition. He also has
eighty acres of land on the West side, and is raising wheat and some stock.
In 1880 Mr. Davis returned East and married Dranna L. Baker,
a lady he had known when they were both young. They now reside at their
pleasant home on the ranch, surrounded by all that goes to make life happy in
this sunny clime.
Before the war he entered the
service as Second Lieutenant in the One Hundred and Forty-fourth Virginia
Artillery Company, being promoted to Captain of the company. He is in politics
a staunch Republican, and is one of Tulare County's
most honorable and reliable citizens.
Samuel James Hinds: Page 607
As one of the prominent attorneys of
gentleman is entitled to consideration in the history of Central
Mr. Hinds was born in Barren
County, Kentucky, November 22, 1850. In
1860 his father and family crossed the plains with ox teams, and established
their home in California.
Samuel J. attended Santa
Clara College two
years and a half, after which he studied law three years with Byers &
Elliott of Stockton. In
this office he met many celebrated attorneys, known throughout the State.
Following his valuable experience with this distinguished law firm, Mr. Hinds
went East and entered the law school at Albany, New
York, graduating at that institution in
Returning to California, he
entered the law office of D. M. Delmas, of San
Jose, and remained with him one year,
and afterward opened an office for himself and practiced there six years.
During this period Mr. Hinds was engaged in much important litigation. He was
attorney for the Farmers' National Gold Bank and also for the same institution
when it reorganized as the first National Bank of San
Jose. In 1882 he came to Fresno and
associated himself with judge Campbell, with whom he
practiced several years. He is now alone in his professional work. He has an
extensive practice in both civil and criminal law, being particularly
successful in the latter, as also remarkably successful in the timberland litigation
in the circuit courts of the United
Personally Mr. Hinds has many
pleasing traits of character. His candor and integrity inspire the confidence
of all with whom he is associated. As a lawyer he excels in his clear
conceptions of a cause, and such a logical presentation of the facts as carries
conviction with his argument in the minds of the jury and court.
Mr. Hinds was married November 11, 1873, the
day of his graduation at the Albany Law School, to
Miss Jennie Wing, of Dutchess County, New
York. They are the parents of three
W. D. Nelson: Page 569
W. D. Nelson was born in Lee County,
Iowa, in 1847. His father, John M. Nelson, an extensive farmer and
stock-raiser, crossed the plains to California in
1850, and two years later returned to Iowa with ,000--the results of his labors in the mining districts
of this State. His death occurred in 1857.
In 1862, W. d. Nelson, with his
mother and her family, moved to California and
settled at Linden, San
Joaquin County. At
the age of nineteen he began to work for himself and engaged in teaming from
Shingle Springs to Virginia City, which he followed about two years, and then
turned his attention to wheat farming near Stockton. In the latter occupation
he did an extensive business, sowing from 1,000 to 2,000 acres in wheat. Being
with the machine during the threshing season, he learned engineering, and in
1874 accepted the position of engineer at the Paradise
flourmill in Stanislaus County. In
1876 he became interested in a mining claim near Coulterville. The venture,
however, was a losing one, and he abandoned his interest in it and returned to
agricultural pursuits, which he followed until 1882. His knowledge of heavy
farm machinery gained for him a position with the Northwestern Manufacturing
Car Company, and later with Hawley Brothers, of San
Francisco, as traveling salesman through California.
In 1886 Mr. Nelson settled at Traver, as a member of the firm of Kitchner
& Co., in the business of warehouse, agricultural implements, real estate
and insurance, and in 1888 he organized the Traver
Warehouse & Business Association, where he remained until he came to Fresno
in 1889. He here accepted a position with the Fresno Agricultural Implement
Works, as solicitor and collector, remaining with them until September 1890,
when he became manager of the Fresno
branch store of Truman, Hooker & Co., of San
Francisco, in the handling of general
hardware, agricultural implements and road and farm wagons.
Mr. Nelson was married at Stockton in
1871, to Miss Mary E. Garrison. They are the parents of three children: Eva,
William Garrison and Albert Leroy.
The following are the fraternities
with which Mr. Nelson is connected: Traver Lodge, No.
292, F. & A. M.; of chapter No. 44, R. A. M., of Visalia; Mt.
Whitney Lodge, I. O. O. F.; and the A. O. U. W., of Traver.
Francis Marion Cook: Page 663
Francis Marion Cook was born in
10, 1852, son of James Montgomery and
Elizabeth (Killebrew) Cook, the former a native of
Ohio and the latter of Illinois, both being the descendants of early American
settlers. Francis M. is the second eldest of their six children, five of whom
are living. He was reared in Illinois and
attended the public schools until he was sixteen years of age, when, in 1868,
the family came to California and
settled in Solano County.
Mr. Cook first began business for
himself in Colusa County. He
established a meat market, which he conducted on year, and after that went to
Tehama County and purchased 640 acres of land on Cottonwood creek, twenty-two
miles above Red Bluff, where he was engaged in the farming and stock business
six years. In 1885 he disposed of his property there and located in Fresno County. He
bought sixty acres of land, at a cost of per acre, and on it planted a
vineyard, build a residence and otherwise improved the
property, and, after living on it six years, sold it for per acre. He then came
to Orosi, purchased sixty acres, built a good house,
planted the most of his land to raisin grapes, and every thing about the
premises indicates thrift and prosperity.
Mr. Cook was married, in 1874, to
Elizabeth Cartwright, and by her has two sons, Francis Elmer and James Earnest,
both natives of Colusa County. They
lost one child, Edward, at the age of ten years.
Mr. Cook is a Good Tamplar and a member of the Farmers' Alliance.
While in Tehama County he
held the office of Justice of the Peace.
B. C. Mickle: Page
B. C. Mickle
was born in Dixon County, Tennessee, in
1859, the descendant of Scotch ancestry, who came from the vicinity of Edinburgh to
this country. His father, John G. Mickle, a prominent
physician of Tennessee and a
practitioner for forty years, retired in 1884, came to California, and
is now a resident of Hanford.
B. C. Mickle
received his literary education at Bethel College, McKenzie, Tennessee, and
graduated with the degree of Ph. B. He then attended the law school at Cumberland
University, Lebanon, Tennessee, and
received the degree of LL.D. in June, 1884. He entered upon a professional
career in Fulton, Kentucky, but
in the fall of 1885 came to California and
settled at Hanford, Tulare County [Now Kings County],
where his brother Porter Mickle, then resided. He at
once engaged in the practice of law, in which he has met with eminent success. February
12, 1891, he
was appointed Deputy District Attorney under Maurice E. Power, which throws him
into criminal law, although his specialty is civil law and probate business.
October 11, 1890, Mr. Mickle was united in marriage at Centreville, to Miss Mary
E. Lowrie, a native of California and
of Scotch descent. They reside in their comfortable residence on Eighth
Street. In connection with S. J.
White, Mr. Mickle owns a valuable eighty-acre ranch
near Armona, which is devoted to fruit and vines.
Thomas Lavers: Page 662
Thomas Lavers, one of the
substantial citizens of Lynn's
valley, came to California in
1852 and to Kern County in
1859. His native home is Nova
Scotia, and his father's name was James
Lavers, who was a farmer by occupation. Upon arriving in California Mr. Lavers
first spent one month in San
Francisco, and then engaged in farming in the
valley. He remained there, however, but a short time, and took up his residence
valley in the early part of the 1860, where he has since resided and
successfully pursued farming and stock raising.
He married in Visalia, in
1875, Miss Mary Gurnette, and they have four bright
children, Etta, Lewis, Winifred and Lawrence. Mr. Lavers owns 160 acres of good
land in Lynn's
valley, where he ranges 150 head of cattle and about thirty horses. He is a man
of unpretentious and quiet manners, strictly reliable, and highly esteemed.
William O. Clough: Page 642
William O. Clough, a fruit-raiser
near Visalia, was
born in Erie County, New
23, 1851. He
attended the common schools in his boyhood days and subsequently took a course
at Porter's College. His father moved to Illinois in
1856, where he engaged in farming. William started out in life for himself at
the age of eighteen. In 1875 he came to California, and
for two years was engaged as clerk and driver for a grocery store in Visalia. In
1878 he took up a claim of 160 acres of land in the foothills east of Visalia, on
the south fork of the Kaweah river,
which he has put under a good state of cultivation, and at present is engaged
extensively in fruit raising. Mr. Clough has mined considerably, and at Mineral
King he sunk a shaft fifty feet deep, where he found gold, silver and lead. At
Lady Emma he sunk a shaft twenty-two feet deep, and found porphyry and lime.
On the south fork of the Kaweah river he discovered a cave,
which has already attracted the attention of geologists. The cave was
discovered by him in July, 1887, and very properly bears his name. It is 1,000
feet deep, under Baldy mountain, a peak in the Sierra
Nevada's. The width varies from five to
seventy-five feet, and the height from ten to twenty-five feet. The formation
is lime, six varieties of marble, gypsum, slate, gold, tin, square iron pyrites
and some quartz. the sparkling stalactites and
stalagmites are numbered by the millions, and are in size from an inch to
twenty-give feet in diameter. All colors are represented: some are transparent,
some translucent, and some opaque. A person who is musically inclined may enter
the cave with a small hammer, and by striking the stalactites and stalagmites
of different lengths and sizes, can play any tune he pleases, and the
perfection and harmony of the sounds is equal to the best-tuned piano. The cave
has already been visited by hundreds of people, and when a good road is made to
it, will surely be visited by many more.
Mr. Clough is yet a single man. He
is a Republican in politics, and although not a member of any church
denomination, he holds religious services for the scattered families residing
in the foothills.
Paige, Root and Chittenden: Page 734
After a long experience and
acquaintance with Mr. E. J. Root, Mr. L. S. Chittenden came with him to Hanford in
the fall of 1889. They selected a valuable tract of 960 acres of land belonging
to timothy Paige, of San Francisco, and
the firm of Paige, Root & Chittenden was established and the Lucerne
Vineyard organized. The land was then a wheat field. Preparations were at once
commenced and on February 1, 1890, the
planting of vines began, with a large force of men, and inside of two months
930 acres were set to raisin grape-vines. Thus was established the largest
raisin vineyard in the world. By wise and careful management ninety five per
cent of the vines lived, an unusual stand for so large an acreage. Twenty acres
are in alfalfa for pasture, and ten acres represent the area for buildings.
About fifty head of horses and mules are employed in the vineyard and about
fifty men are steadily engaged outside of packing season, when many hundreds
are employed. They have an improved drying house, 93 x 130 feet, with a
capacity of sixty tons of fruit, through which steam is distributed by a system
of pipes and hot air forced by a steam hot blast apparatus. Their packing house
is 80 x 100 feet, weight room 36 x 40 feet, steaming room 40 x 72 feet, with
steam steamer and box factory, 40 x0 60 feet. Grapes and raisins are
distributed from house to house by a track and cable system, power being gained
from a seventy-five horse-power Corliss engine, which
will do the steam work of the establishment.
The boarding and lodging house for
women is a handsome two-story structure, 26 x 76 feet, very complete in
appointments. A similar house has been erected for men, cottages for families
and numerous buildings to accommodate the animals and implements of the ranch.
The establishment embraces thirty-eight buildings and is the largest and most
complete raisin vineyard in the known world. Messrs. Root and Chittenden reside
on the vineyard in their tasty cottages, which are handsomely fitted up. In
their different departments they superintend and manage this vast enterprise,
and with their superior knowledge of the business they are the right men in the
Dr. J. D. Wagner: Page 542
It is our pleasure, in this brief
sketch, to record a few of the facts and incidents in the life of one of the
pioneer physicians of Selma.
Dr. Wagner is a native of Savannah, Tennessee, born
in 1844. His parentage is decidedly foreign, the German, the Scot and the Dane
being represented in his ancestry. At the age of sixteen he entered the
Confederate army, and fought for the Southern cause all through that memorable
conflict. After the war was over, he took up the study of medicine, attended
the medical school at Nashville, Tennessee,
where he graduated in March, 1870. After receiving his diploma, he at once
commenced the practice of medicine at his old home in Savannah, and
there passed a successful professional career of thirteen years. In 1869 he
married Miss Elizabeth Gray, a native of Highman County, that
State. Some years later her health failed, and, as her symptoms were that of
consumption, it was deemed wise to seek an entire change of climate.
Thus it was that, in 1878, the
Doctor moved to California. He
at once came to Fresno County and
bought some land near Fowler, living there for four years. In 1882 he removed
where he has since resided. He is now actively engaged in the practice of
medicine, is highly esteemed by his professional brethren, and has the
confidence of all who know him.
Dr. Wagner is much interested in the
growth and development of this section of California. He
has invested in real estate, and owns valuable property in and around Selma. He
has a twenty-acre vineyard in full bearing and 2000 acres of improved land
adjacent to the town. His residence is located on a valuable one-acre lot, and
is within a stone's throw of the principal commercial buildings in Selma.
The balmy climate of California,
although perhaps it prolonged Mrs. Wagner's life, did not restore her health,
and she died of consumption in 1886, leaving a family of five children.
A gentleman of intelligence,
pleasant and affable manners, a skillful and popular
physician, Dr. Wagner is a power for good in the community where he lives.
B. R. Clow: Page
B. R. Clow,
M.D., resident physician of the town of Grangeville, was
born in Lyons,
Wayne County, New York, October 13,
preliminary education was received at the public schools and the academy of his
native town. At the age of eighteen years he went to Memphis, Missouri, and
began reading medicine under the preceptorship of Dr.
P. E. Minkler, a Candadian
physician of considerable prominence, with whom he began his practice. He
subsequently located at Marcella, Arkansas,
where he was married in 1880, to Miss Mary L. Hill, of Nashville, Tennessee. In
1881 Dr. Clow took one course at the Eclectic Medical
Institute at Cincinnati, Ohio, the
oldest eclectic college in this country, chartered in 1845, and for thirty
years under the presidency of Prof. J. M. Scudder. After completing his course
Dr. Clow pursued his practice until 1883, when he
returned for a second course, after which he resumed his practice at Moody, McLennan
County, Texas. In
1884 he attended clinics at the Bellevue Hospital College in New
York City. Returning to Moody he continued
his practice until the fall of 1888, when he took a third course at Cincinnati and
graduated. In June 1889 he moved his family to Grangeville and has since
followed a general practice in that locality and the surrounding country.
Besides his town property the Doctor owns forty acres adjoining the Lucerne
Vineyard, which is fully planted in vines and trees.
Mr. and Mrs. Clow
have three children, Mattie B., Abby L., and Scudder B. The Doctor is a member
of the Masonic Order of Hanford and of the Farmer's Alliance.
Frank Dusy: Page
A prominent pioneer of California, and
one of the old-time sheep owners in Fresno County,
forms the subject of this biography.
is the son of Anthony Dusy, a native of Canada, and
was born December 17, 1837, one
in a family of eight children. At the age of eleven years he was thrown upon
his own resources. He went to New
Hampshire and started out to earn
his own living as a farmer's boy, obtaining what little education he could
while he worked on the farm. In 1852 he went to Maine, and
on Fox Island,
opposite Rockland, he
was employed in the Stone-cutting business, learning the trade and doing well
in that occupation for a period of three or four years.
In the fall of 1858 our subject
started for the Pacific coast, making the trip via the Isthmus
of Panama. After landing in San
Francisco he very soon started for the mines, and for three or four years was engaged in Tuolumne and Stanislaus
counties, hunting for gold. He met with very good success in this field, but
subsequently turned his attention to other pursuits, and at various times was
in Mariposa and Merced
counties engaged as a produce dealer, photographer, etc. In 1869 He embarked in
the sheep business in Fresno County, in
which occupation he was engaged for many years, and in which he was eminently
successful. Mr. Dusy's settlement in Fresno County as a
sheep rancher, was not, however, his first experience in this locality. In
1863, during the war, he enlisted in Company H., Third California Volunteer
Regiment, and was sent at once on detached duty. The company was ordered to Fresno and Merced
counties, and for a year and a half he was in the service, doing valiant work
and passing through many exciting experiences.
In his sheep operations Mr. Dusy first settled between Big and Little Dry creeks, and
later removed to the vicinity in which he now resides, three miles from the
town of Selma. This
country was then a vast desolate plain. No inhabitants save Mr. Dusy arid his herders were to be found between the site of
the now thriving city of' Fresno and the King's river, and it was many years
before any system of irrigation was put in operation, and cultivation and
development were begun. He moved to his present ranch, four miles north of Selma, six
years ago. His land interests are quite extensive. Besides the 160 acre where
he lives, he owns a half section of land half a mile distant, 520 acres in the
mountains, and various other holdings smaller in extent. A raisin vineyard of
100 acres on his home ranch is a fine specimen of the industry in this County.
Another important industry in which
Mr. Dusy is extensively engaged is the manufacture of
pressed brick, having yards in operation in Reedley and Kingsburg, from which
he derives a good profit. He is one of the directors of the Fowler Switch Canal
Company, was its president and superintendent.
was happily married in 1878 to Miss Catherine Ross, a native of Nova
Scotia, by whom he has had five children.
The family residence, just completed, is one of the largest and most elaborate
in the County. It is built of brick, and in design is most attractive. The
interior appointments are in excellent taste, and need only to be seen to be
admired. Rising several feet above the roof, and at a height of seventy-five
feet from the ground, is the tower, from which may be had a magnificent view of
the surrounding country. This view is well worth the trip from the adjoining
towns, should the tourist be so fortunate to enjoy the hospitality of Mr. Dusy.
Jacob H. Trauger: Page 633
Jacob H. Trauger,
Recorder of the Mineral King Mining District was born in Wayne County, Ohio, December, 2, 1833, the
son of John and Mary (Fisher) Target, natives of Pennsylvania.
Jacob, their only child, received a common-school education, and started to
work for himself at the age of fifteen. At the age of twenty-one he inherited
several thousand dollars, and went into the mercantile business and farming in
Wayne County, Ohio. He continued there until 1857, when he became interested in
the Frazer river excitement in British
Columbia. He went to San
Francisco by steamer, but changed his
original plans and went to El
Dorado County, and
followed mining there and in Placer County until
1862, when he went To Idaho. At Walla
found that matters were overdrawn, and he went to Griffin's
Gulch. His next move was to Burnt river, then to Mormon Basin, then to Willow
creek, and then to Snake river. In 1864 Mr. Trauger
went to British Columbia, and from there to Idaho and Montana.
In 1871 he returned to Ohio and
married Miss Mary Holben, a native of Stark
County, Ohio, June
After their marriage they came to California,
where he bought twenty acres of land in San
Jose for per acre, but in a short time
sold it for per acre, and went to San
Francisco, where he made some investments
which broke him. He then went to Inyo County, and from there in 1876 to Tulare County.
Since then he has mined some, and is now experimenting with all kinds of fruit
on his ranch far up on the side of the rugged mountains. Here with the wife of
his youth he lives, seven miles from the nearest neighbor. Deer and bear are
plentiful, and Mr. Trauger could relate enough
interesting reminiscences, breadth escapes, hardships endured and obstacles
overcome to fill a volume the size of this work.
Arthur W. Mathewson: Page 633
Arthur W. MATHEWSON has been a
resident of California since
1856 and is well known as an early settler of Tulare County.
was born in Wheelock, Caledonia
County, Vermont, November 14,
father, Charles Mathewson, was a native of Rhode
Island and the descendant of English
ancestors who settled ill that State at an early day. He married Sara Williams,
also a native of Rhode Island and a
descendant in direct line of Roger Williams. She was also a relative of
Governor Sprague, of Rhode
Island, and her family
were largely interested in the manufacture of cotton in that State.
was the sixth of their ten children, of whom only four are now living, He was
reared on his father’s farm and received his education in the public schools
and in the academy at Linden, Vermont. From
the time he was sixteen years of age he has been self-supporting. He worked in
a tannery two years, returned to the old farm and remained three years, and
then came to California. He
mined two years before coming to Tulare County, and
one year after he came here, meeting with reasonable success. This sojourn in Tulare County was
in 1858. He then went to San
bought a farm and remained on it until 1861, and after he had it well improved
discovered that it was a Spanish grant and lost it all. Returning to Tulare County in
that year, he engaged in the sheep business, his herds increasing until he kept
as high as 4,000 sheep. From time to time he purchased land in different
places, has disposed of several pieces of property and is now the owner of 500
acres. He is doing a general farming business, raising grain, cattle, sheep and
hogs, and is also interested in fruit culture.
was married in 1866, to Miss Lucinda Tinkham, who was
born in Iowa, the
daughter of Nathaniel Tinkham, a native of Vermont.
Eight children have been born to them, two of whom died in infancy. Six are
living, three sons and three daughters, all in California,
single and residing with their parents. Their names are as follows: Pearly,
Levi, Edith May, Early, James A. and Maud.
In politics Mr. Mathewson
is a Republican. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and of the Farmers' Alliance. For
the past seven years he has been president of the People's Consolidated Ditch
Company, and has done much to promote irrigation in this County.
Calhoun: Page 632
Ezekiel Ewing Calhoun, the son of
Patrick Calhoun, and a second cousin of John C. Calhoun, was born in Kentucky, at
the junction of the Cumberland and Ohio
rivers, in the year 1825.
Patrick Calhoun settled in that
State in the year 1785. He married a daughter of General Pickens of
Revolutionary fame, and by her had a family of thirteen children, seven sons
and six daughters. Mr. Calhoun was a contractor by occupation and carried on an
enormous river business, being considered a rich man in his time.
Ezekiel Ewing Calhoun, the subject
of this sketch, passed his childhood and youth in the western part of Kentucky. He
was educated in Louisville,
graduating in the law department of the university there in 1850. He also
attended a full course of medical lectures in that institution. Among his
medical preceptors may be mentioned Doctors Gross, Caldwell, Miller, Drake and
other distinguished physicians and surgeons of our day.
After practicing law at his old home
one year, he crossed the plains to California,
arriving in San Bernardino County after
a journey of six months. he soon leased of Governor
Pico the famous Santa Margarita ranch, located in the northern part of San
Diego County, and
for three years successfully conducted that large estate.
In 1854 Mr. Calhoun came to the San
Joaquin valley, camping in various parts of
this then barren land. He is distinctly a pioneer in this locality, as
subsequent events clearly show. Moving to Visalia in
1855, he had much to do with the shaping of events in the early history of that
town. He was made County Clerk of Tulare County in
1855, and for three years held the office of County Judge. In
1866 Kern County was
organized and the Judge was its first District Attorney. The offices of County Surveyor, County Auditor and
School Superintendent, he also held at various times.
For a short period prior to 1884 he
resided with his family in Santa
Clara County, and
in that year he moved to Fresno,
living there until 1887, when he came to Selina, his
present residence. The Judge, though somewhat infirm, is still in the
possession of his faculties and is regarded an excellent legal authority in the
community. Well informed, thoroughly conversant with every detail of the early
settlement and occupation of this valley, a fluent speaker, his society is most
enjoyable, arid those fortunate enough to be included among his friends will
not soon forget the many interesting anecdotes arid reminiscences he relates.
Judge Calhoun was married October 17, 1861, to
Miss Laura Davis, a native of the South, by whom he has had several children,
all living. Their family is an exceptionally bright and gifted one. The three
elder daughters are graduates of the State Normal
School at San
Jose. Eleanor H., the oldest, is now a
resident of Paris,
where she has lived four years. Possessing marked dramatic ability, she has
attained a very high degree of success on the French stage, and also in London,
where she first studied for a few years. Jessie, another gifted daughter, has
for some time been Professor of Elocution at the University of the Pacific, San
Jose, recently resigning that position
to fill a wider field of labor.
Herbert Z. Austin: Page 324
Herbert Z. Austin, the popular young
attorney who forms the subject of this sketch, is a native of New
York State, born
in St. Lawrence County, January 15, 1864. He
was educated at home, and, selecting the law for his profession, entered the
Law School at Albany, New York,-the law department of Union College of
Schenectady,-perhaps better known as the Albany Law School. This institution is
celebrated throughout the country as one of the best preparatory law schools in
the land. During the period he was in attendance there he also studied in the
law office of Louis Hasbrouck, Esq., of Ogdensburg. After his graduation, in
1888, he came West and settled in Fresno, entering the office of Judge W. D.
Grady, with whom he is now associated in practice, under the firm name of Grady
Mr. Austin was the Republican
candidate for District Attorney of Fresno County in 1890, but was defeated
along with the rest of the ticket.
He is unmarried.
Tipton Lindsey: Page 323-324
Tipton Lindsey, a worthy member of
the bar of Tulare County, California, is
one of the men who came to this State in 1849, and helped to lay the foundation
for this great commonwealth.
Mr. Lindsey is a native of Indiana, born
in Delphi, Carroll County, May 21, 1829. His father, John Lindsey. a native
removed to Indiana in
1810, at the age of nineteen years; took part with Harrison in
the war of 1812, and had the honor of being a member of the first Legislature
of Indiana, being elected Speaker of that body. In 1829 he received the
appointment from the Government as miller and gunsmith for the Pottawatamie nation, and served in that capacity seven
years. He was living in the heart of the Indian country at the time of the
Black Hawk war. He married Elizabeth Shields, a native of Tennessee, and
of the seven sons born to them the subject of this sketch was the sixth, and is
now the only survivor. Until Tipton was fifteen years old they lived where
there were no school facilities. At that time a friend bought his time from the
father for $100, amid it was intended that he should work for that gentleman
until he earned the money. That arrangement, however, was not carried out, and
when Mr. Lindsey came to California he
returned the money to his friend. Young Lindsey had obtained a little schooling
in South Bend, Indiana, and
read law under Hon. Thomas S. Staufield. He had
confined himself so closely to study and writing that his health had become
impaired. The California gold
excitement broke out, and it was thought that it would benefit him to cross the
plains, which he did, driving an ox team and walking the entire distance from Platte
City, Missouri, to
"Hangtown," California. arriving there on the 5th of September, 1849. Mr.
Lindsey says it was a kill or cure medicine, but it helped to cure him.
Arrived in the Golden State he
mined for a year with moderate success, after which he settled in Santa
Clara County, and for ten years gave his
attention to agricultural pursuits. In 1860 he purchased cattle and brought
them to Tulare County,
which was then a fine stock range, unexcelled by any in the world. In this
enterprise he was successful until 1864, when the great drought caused most of
his cattle to die. Soon after this he received the appointment from Andrew
Johnson of Receiver of the United States Land Office, and filled that position
four years. At the expiration of that time he began the practice of law, and
in1873 was elected on am independent ticket to the State Senate, where he
helped to enact the no-fence law of the State. After this he was again
appointed Receiver of the Land Office, served eight years and again took up the
practice of law, which he has since continued.
Twenty-five years ago Mr. Lindsey
purchased land in Visalia, and
built a home in which he has since resided. He has also invested in lands, and
with his son is engaged in fruit-culture.
Mr. Lindsey was married in this
State to Miss Eliza Fine, a native of Missouri, but
who was reared in California. They
have had three children, two of whom are living,-Charles T. and Kate, wife of
M. P. Frazer. He is a Mason, an Odd Fellow and an A. O. U. W., and in his
political views is a liberal Republican. Few citizens of the community have
seen more of the wild West than he.
J. S. Bedford: Page 324
J. S. Bedford, County Surveyor of Fresno
County, California, was
born in Cherokee County, Georgia, in
1848. His parents moved to Marshall County, Alabama, in 1859, where the father
carried on farming, and where young Bedford
received his education. He attended the high school at Jacksonville, Alabama, and
graduated in 1865. Then he gave attention to the study of surveying, and in
1868 began work in Nebraska on
the Missouri & Pacific railroad and the M. K..
& T, railroad, and was engaged one year in locating and laying out these
roads. He then worked on the Kansas City & Texas railroad about eighteen
months, after which he located in Palo
Pinto, Texas, as
surveyor and engineer of the Palo Pinto Land District, where he remained four
years. He went to Cisco, and was also invested in stock and mercantile
Mr. Bedford came to Fresno in
1885, and was engaged in fruit culture about two years, investing in city and
ranch property. In the fall of 1888 he was elected County Surveyor, and
was re-elected in 1890. His work has been chiefly laying out County roads and
locating sections and ranch boundaries.
Mr. Bedford was married in Texas, in
1875, to Miss Mary F. Holcomb, a native of Georgia. They
have five children, all living at home. Our subject is a member of the F. &
A. M. and K. of P. at Cisco, Texas.
Clement T. Buckman: Page 314
Clement T. Buckman,
Auditor of Tulare County, California, is a son of Clement E. and Survilla (Shanks) Buckman,
natives of Kentucky. His
mother was descended from Maryland
ancestors. He was born in Kansas, March
while his parents were en route to California. They
did however, come direct to this State but remained a few years in Arizona,
reaching California in
was educated in the Visalia Normal
School. For a number of years he
was engaged in farming and stock-raising on a ranch of 400 acres purchased by
his father. He now owns a ranch of 160 acres which be rents. He acted as Deputy
Assessor of the County for six years, and in 1888 was elected County Auditor,
being re-elected for a second term which he is now serving. His position is one
of importance, as he has the oversight of all the receipts and disbursements of
the County. Sixteen years ago Mr. Buckman had the
misfortune to lose his right arm, the result of an accident with his gun while
he was crossing a fence; and he has learned to wield his pun in a swift and
graceful manner with his left hand.
He was married September
13, 1882, to
Miss Irene Combs, a native of Missouri and
daughter of the late J. C. Combs. They are the parents of three children: Ethel
F., Clement T., Jr., and Chester Raymond.
was born a Democrat, and has taken a deep interest in local politics. He is a
member of the A. O. U. W., and by all who know him he is regarded as a most
Hon. Wellington Canfield: Page
Hon. Wellington Canfield -- There
are few men in Kern County whose
name is more familiar to the people at large than that of Wellington Canfield.
He is truly one of the Argonauts of California, having come to the State in
He was born in the town of Alexander, Genesee
3, 1827. His parents
were Augustin and Electa
(Gillett) Canfield, natives of Roxbury, Litchfield County Connecticut. He spent
his boyhood in his native County, receiving a thorough education in that
popular and well-known school, the Genesee and
Wyoming Seminary. At twenty-three years of age his attention was attracted to
the new El Dorado by
the reported discovery of gold, and with two companions, Charles G. and Henry
C. Attics, came to California, by
way of the Isthmus, arriving at San
Francisco in the month of August. He
proceeded to the mines on the Merced river, and
thence to Calaveras County. In
1851 he formed a partnership with F. A. Tracey, who was for many years a
prominent actor in the business history of Bakersfield and Kern County, and
they engaged in the stock business in Tulare County. In
1857 they continued the business at Four Creeks, and
in 1859 in Fresno County. In
1863 they transferred their base of operations to Kern County, and
pastured large bands of cattle on the then open range. In 1872 they commenced
the purchase of lands, and they have from time to time added to their estate
until they now own about 3,400 acres, 1,200 of which lie on the north side of
Kern river. Their well-known ranch of 2,200 acres lies in the Canfield
precinct, and it has for years been under the personal supervision of Mr.
Canfield, upon which he also conducts all extensive dairy, milking about 300
cows; the milk is manufactured into cheese. This dairy is fitted out with
modern appliances; and the product, owing to its excellent quality, finds a
ready market. An abundance of artesian water from a well 480 feet deep supplies
the dairy and stock. Another feature which has recently been added to this firm, is a newly set vineyard of fifty acres of Muscat
raisin grapes, which is in a most thrifty condition.
November 12, 1873, Mr.
Canfield married Miss Julietta Cooley, at Attica, Wyoming in(, County, New
York, her native home. Mrs. Canfield's
parents were George and Nancy (Hunter) Cooley. Her father was a native of Granville, Massachusetts, and
her mother was born at Ballston Spa, Saratoga
York. Mr. Cooley was by occupation a
farmer, was a pioneer in western New
York, and was a Democrat in politics,
wielding an influence in the councils of his party. In 1844 he was a Presidential
elector, and in 1848 a candidate for Congress, running far ahead of his ticket,
although failing of election. Mrs. Canfield was educated at Mt. Holyoke
Seminary in Massachusetts, and
graduated at that well-known institution while it was under the charge of the
celebrated Mary Lyon. She taught school in western New
York for several years, holding a State
certificate. She is a lady of fine domestic tastes, great energy and executive
ability, and the evidence of these accomplishments are noticeable on every hand
in and about the Canfield home.
Mr. Canfield's life has been a
singularly industrious and busy one. Awake to the needs and growing demands of
a progressive country, he has acted promptly in, and contributed liberally to,
all movements tending to the advancement of the community. In his opinions he
is conservative, and thoroughly honest and frank in expressing them. He was
chosen to represent Kern County in the State Legislature of 1873-'74, and his
services were rendered with true fidelity to the highest welfare of his
constituency. As a result of his many sterling qualities, he is held in the
highest estimation by all who have known him. As one mark of the esteem, the
voting precinct, as likewise the school district, in which he has for so many years
lived, have been named in his honor. He is a quiet and unostentatious man in
his life, and strictly temperate in his habits. He is a truly representative
Californian, and his wife an estimable lady; and upon the urgent suggestion of
their many friends the publishers have graced this work with their portraits.
A. P. Cromley: Page
A. P. Cromley,
Tulare, California, is a
rancher and one of the pioneers of this State.
He was born in Jefferson
County, Pennsylvania, November 13, 1829, but
his earliest recollections are of Ohio. His
father, accompanied by his family, removed to Hancock
County, Ohio, in
1831, and died there at the advanced age of ninety-five years. A. P. Cromley received his education in his native State and
remained at home until 1849, when, with the vast emigration of that year, he,
too, pushed westward across the plains, landing at Placerville in
the fall of that year. For five years he was engaged in mining, with average
success, and in 1854 turned his attention to the stock business near Sacramento. In
1855 he moved to King's river, where he bought 300 acres of land and raised
stock and kept 1,000 head of hogs. He followed the stock business about fifteen
years, changing from hogs to cattle and then to sheep. In 1870 he came to Tulare County and
was among the first to settle in the valley. He took up 160 acres of land west
of Tulare, upon
which he still resides and upon which he has since been engaged in agricultural
pursuits. He has traded some in land and has sold a portion of his home ranch,
retaining ninety-seven acres of it. He annually rents and sows about 400 acres
to grain and is still engaged in the stock business, keeping horses, cattle and
hogs. A five-acre orchard of mixed fruits furnishes the supply for home use, and
sixty acres of his land are devoted to alfalfa.
was first married on the King's river. Subsequent to the death of his first
wife he was married again, at Visalia, February
18, 1866, to
Miss Susan Dunn, a native of Arkansas. By
the two unions he has had fifteen children, thirteen of whom are still living.
is a member of Four Creeks Lodge, No. 94, I. O. O. F. He has devoted all his
life to agricultural pursuits and has never held or sought public office.
Samuel Dineley: Page 793
one of the early settlers of Visalia, came
to California in
1854. He is a native of England, born
October 17, 1829. His
father, Samuel Dineley, was an Englishman and a small
farmer. He was a member of the Episcopal Church. He emigrated
to America with
his family, and settled in New
York in 1840, residing there twelve
years. Samuel was sent to school in New
York City and began the barber's trade there
in 1846. When they removed to New
Orleans in 1852 he continued the barber
business and secured a position as barber on the steamer Winfield Scott,
running between New Orleans and Cincinnati. In
1853 he engaged to drive cattle to California,
spending the winter at Salt Lake. He
came to Volcano, Amador County, and
mined a little, but was engaged principally in the barber's business. When he
left there in 1855 he went to Fort Millerton and
from there in 1858 to Visalia,
which was then a town of about 200 inhabitants. He has resided in this place
continuously for the past thirty-three years, and has seen all the phases of
the settlement and growth of the town. He opened the first barber shop in Tulare County and
carried on the business for thirty-one years in the same locality. He owns the
lot on which the shop stood since 1858. In 1888 he opened a variety store in
the same locality, and he is in that business now. He was married on April
3, 1861 to
Charlotte E. KELLENBERGER, a native of Washington City, who
was raised at Alton, Illinois.
There have been born to them in Visalia
eleven children, ten of whom are living. The oldest, Cora L. is the wife of A.
O. MILLER; Kate is the wife of Hardey KELSEY; George
is a surveyor; Florence and Josephine are both single; Fanny is the wife of
William HANES; the other children are Lou, Clarence, Eve and Harry, all born in
the same house, which the father built in 1861, and to which he has since made
has always been a Republican in politics, and voted at the first election held
in Fresno County. He
is one of the respected early settlers of the County, who will be remembered
long after he has passed away as an obliging, kind-hearted and loyal citizen.
William Josiah Ellis: Page 341-342
William Josiah Ellis was born in Washington County IL July
10, 1834, son
of Rev. Dr. Thomas Oliver and Sarah (BABB)
ELLIS, both native of MO. When his mother died, his father married again and by
his second wife had fourteen children. In 1840 he moved to Mississippi, and in 1846 to Upshur
where he engaged in the practice of medicine and the drug business. In 1852 he
moved to Smith County, Texas,
following the same business three years, and then moved to northwestern Texas. His
death occurred in Fresno County, California in
William was educated in the common
schools, finishing his literary pursuits at the high school at Tyler, Smith
County, Texas. July
15, 1855, he
married Miss Elizabeth Jane LEONARD, native of Pope
County, Arkansas, and
daughter of Samuel and Mary (ELROD) LEONARD. After his marriage Mr. Ellis
farmed for some years, and was elected Justice of the Peace in township No. 2, parker
County, Texas. April
7, 1857, he
started for California in a
large train by the southern route and in November arrived at El
from which point he went to San
Bernardino County, and
bought land near old San Bernardino. The
next year he sold out and moved to Los
where he raised one crop. He subsequently moved to San
Luis Obispo County,
where he lived four years; the railroad depot and residence portion of the city
of San Luis Obispo are
on land once owned by him. He sold out there in 1863, and went to lower California, and after a year's sojourn there moved to Tulare County. At
first Mr. Ellis worked by the day and mined, and has seen some of the rough
side of those early days. After his labors and adventures in the Kern
River mining district, he came to the San
Joaquin Valley, and
engaged in farming in different places. In 1859 he was elected County Assessor and
served two years; in 1879 he was elected County Superintendent of
Schools, which office he held 3 years; he also taught school three years in
primitive days. He also served for 4 years as Deputy Sheriff and County Jailer. Mr.
Ellis owns at present a section of land in the foothills, devoted to stock raising.
The members of his household are:
Thomas E. who died July 29, 1857 near Tucson AZ on the
way to California; Mary E., now Mrs. John M. Stone, of Fresno County; Samuel N.
who married Eliza J. Cortner; Sarah A., wife of
William E. Russell, of Traver; Havilah
J., wife of Morgan P. Elam, of Fresno County; Isabella J., wife of Frank
Scoggins, of Fresno Co; John W., who died in January 1864, en route to Mexico;
Georgia S., wife of Alvah R. Peugh,
of Tulare Co.; and Rose Mary, now Mrs. John W. Miller of Stockton.
Mr. Ellis has for many years been an
active and consistent Christian gentleman, and a member of the Methodist
Episcopal Church, South. His walk and conversation have always been such as
"becometh godliness," and he is a
"living epistle, known and read of all men." As he and the companion
of his youth walk together down the shady side of the hill of life, hand in
hand, they can look back on a life well spent, their children well settled and
useful members of society, and wait in patience with and with joy the
M. Farley: Page 328-329
M. Farley was born in Montgomery
County, Alabama, in
1828. His father, J. C. Farley, a native of Massachusetts, was
a merchant and farmer. He settled in Alabama in
1817, two years before Alabama
became a State, and built the first house of sawed lumber in the city of Montgomery.
At the age of nine years young
Farley went to Jamica
Plain, Massachusetts, to
attend the private school of Stephen Minot Weld,
and remained five years. He then returned to his home, where, until 1851, he
was engaged in teaching his younger brothers and studying and reading law with
a Mr. Harris. In 1851 he entered a law school at Tuskagee,
Alabama, taught by Judge William P. Chilton; 1853 found him in Jefferson,
Texas, launching out upon a professional career. During one year of his
residence in that place he edited the Jefferson Gazette. He met with flattering
success in the practice of law, and resigned his position as editor to give his
undivided attention to his profession.
In 1861 Mr. Farley enlisted in Texas, in
the Trans-Mississippi Department, entering as a private and being promoted to
Lieutenant in the Ordnance Department. He subsequently became the ordnance
officer of the division, with brevet rank of Major. He served all through the
war and never received a wound.
After peace was declared, he
returned to his family in Texas and
remained there until 1868, when he came to California. His
first location in the Golden State was
at Salinas, Monterey County. In
1874 he was elected District Attorney of Monterey County, and in 1876 Justice
of the Peace and Police Judge of Salinas, and during his term of office wrote
the city charter. In 1880 Mr. Farley removed to Downieville,
Sierra County. From
that place he was sent to the State Legislature for the general session of 1883
and the special session of 1884. After retiring from the Legislature he was
seriously ill and came south for a milder climate settling in Fresno in
1887. In March of the following year he entered into a partnership with Judge
Holmes, and is now engaged in a general law practice.
Mr. Farley was married in Jefferson, Texas, in
1857, to Miss Rosalie Reid, a native of Alabama. They
are the parents of six children, all settled in California.
is one of the leading citizens and business men of Tehachapi. Viewing the
somewhat unusual circumstances of his birth, education and early business
experience, the reader can in a large measure account for the unique position
he occupies in the business and social circles of his County and home town, and
in a region where success in any ordinary vocation in life means so much as it
was born in St. John, August
13, 1851. His
father, Bernard Iribarne, was a native of France, born
in 1826. By trade he was a stone mason, but upon arrival in California he
promptly engaged in mining at Murphy's Camp in Calaveras County,
where he met with more than average success and remained about fifteen years.
Then he took up his residence in Los Banos, Merced County, and
engaged in raising cattle and sheep. After continuing thus until 1880 he made a
trip to his native country. In 1886 he returned to California and
located in Los Angeles, and
lived there in retirement until his death, in 1888, when he was sixty-four
years of age. Mrs. Iribarne, his wife, died in Merced, Merced County, in
1872, fifty-six years of age. Her maiden name was Grace Oyamburn,
and she was a member of one of the early French-Basque families of San
Of the four children in the
foregoing family the subject of this sketch is the only one living. He was sent
to France in
1857, at six years of age, to be educated, and spent eight years there in one
of the leading educational institutions. It was the fond ambition of his
parents to prepare him for and see him enter the priesthood. It became evident,
however, that his tastes inclined in the direction of business; and after
finishing his preparatory studies and taking a business course, his school days
were brought to a close, and he rejoined his parents in Calaveras County, this
State. In 1876 his father joined him in the mercantile business at Merced. In
1884 he took up his residence in Sumner, Kern County, and
there, as confidential man and bookkeeper for Ardizzi
& Oleese, he remained two years. In 1886 he came
to Tehachapi and entered the warehouse business, building the first warehouse
at the Tehachapi railroad station, in 1889, which he still conducts, under the
firm name of John Iribarne & Co., S. Hineman and L. Bachman being his partners. He is also
associated with the firm of S. Hineman & Co. and
his extended acquaintance and wide business experience is of course invaluable
to the company.
21, 1878, at Milton, Calaveras
County, California, he
married Miss Mary, a daughter of Peter Goyhen
(deceased), a native of the south of France and a pioneer and prosperous
rancher of California.
is recognized as a leader in the business, social and political circles of his
community. Educated as he is, in various languages, speaking English, French,
Spanish, Portuguese and Basque, his acquaintance is
widely extended. He is fortunately social and happy in his disposition,
intuitively quick to read and discern the thoughts, tastes and motives of those
whom he meets, and to adapt himself in manner and conversation to the
individual members of the decidedly cosmopolitan community in which he lives
and transacts an extensive business.
In politics he is a pronounced
Democrat, whose opinions are respected. He is a public-spirited citizen, proud
of his country, of the Tehachapi valley, and in particular of the town of Tehachapi. He
has graced it with one of the finest residences in Kern County, a
modern and a model home, filled with all the interior conveniences for
luxurious living and exterior furnishings, etc., to constitute it an ornament
and a source of just pride to the entire valley.
is a lady eminently fitted to do the honors of so beautiful a home, not the
least attractive feature of which is the presence of two daughters Bertha, born
December 24, 1880, and
Blanch, born September 27, 1882.
James W. McCutchan: Pages 579-580
James W. McCutchan
was born in Virginia, July
29, 1858, but
was reared and educated in Tulare
County, California, He
comes of Scotch-Irish ancestry. His parents, William Y. and Catharine
(Firebaugh) McCutchan, were both natives of Virginia. To
them were born five children, four of whom are living, the subject of our
sketch being the youngest child. Twenty years ago his father settled on 160
acres of land, on a portion of which James W. now resides. The father died in
1873 and the mother is still living.
was married, in 1885, to Miss Belle Doty, a native of Sacramento
County, California, and
a daughter of Francis Doty, who came to this State in. 1872. Mr. and Mrs. McCutchan have two children: William Francis and Earl
Clifton. He is a member of the Farmers' Alliance, and
in politics is a Democrat. An enthusiastic and enterprising rancher, he takes a
just pride in the growth and development of Tulare County.
Stiles A. Mclaughlin: Page 328
Stiles A. Mclaughlin,
vineyardist and rancher at Lemoore [now Kings County],
was born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, in 1852, a son of Wm. H. McLaughlin, a
mechanic by trade. In 1862 the latter moved to Pennsylvania, and in 1866 to Mercer
where he followed his particular industry. Our subject lived at home until
1872, when he came to California,
first settling at Woodland, Yolo County, as
an employee upon the fruit ranch of R. B. Blower, one of the first raisin
developers of California. 1n
1873 Mr. McLaughlin came to Lemoore and bought a claim for 160 acres of
railroad land, where he began farming, and in the spring of 1874 he received
grape cuttings from Mr. Blower, of Woodland. He
set out about two acres to vines, and made the first raisins in that part of
the valley. In 1878 he sold his ranch and purchased his present place of forty
acres, west of Lemoore. In the spring of 1879 he set out ten acres in fruit and
vines, and has since added to the amount of twenty-eight acres, the remainder
of the ranch being in alfalfa. His vines are in full hearing and are considered
very fine, as they produce two and a half tons of raisins to the acre. In 1888
Mr. McLaughlin, in partnership within I. H. Ham and C. L. Dingley,
of San Francisco,
purchased 421 acres of land adjoining the town. In the spring of 1889 they set
eighty acres to fruit-trees and vines, to which they have since added, and now
have sixty acres in fruit and 170 acres in vines, all doing well and just
coming into bearing. Mr. McLaughlin superintends the ranch, and its fine
condition is the most substantial evidence of its able management.
Mr. McLaughlin built his handsome
cottage home in 1889; and his tank-house adjoining, covering his artesian well,
is both useful and beautiful. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. of Lemoore, and
of the Farmers' Alliance.
Active in all of his pursuits, he is deeply interested in the fruit interests
He was married at Lemoore, in 1876,
to Miss Mary Wright, a native daughter, and the union has been blessed with two
children: Wilmot Wright and Aimee Edna.
W. R. McQuiddy: Page
W. R. McQuiddy
is a native of Coffee County, Tennessee, born
in 1849, son of Thomas J. McQuiddy, a sketch of whom
appears elsewhere in this work. He attended the common schools, and at the age
of twenty began teaching, thus by personal effort securing a higher education
at the Manchester College in Coffee County.
was married, in 1872. to Miss Ida C. Putnarn, and in 1874 they came to California and
settled in the Mussel slough district, Tulare County. He
took up 160 acres of railroad land, amid was one of the incorporators of the
Settler's Ditch Company, organized to divert water from Cross creek. The
country being so dry and farming unprofitable, Mr. McQuiddy
returned to the occupation of teaching, which he followed for six years in Tulare and Fresno
counties, and for three years was a member of the Board of Examiners for Tulare County.
Owing to the land troubles with the railroad company, improvements were slow
and the people were in an unsettled condition for several years.
Having lost his wife in 1874, Mr. McQuiddy was married a second time, in the fall of 1879,
near Hanford, to
Miss Rebecca McMillan, a native of Louisiana. In
1880 he returned to farming, but in 1883, having previously sold his claim, he
gave up agricultural pursuits and settled in Hanford, where he engaged in life,
fire and accident insurance, and also in the real-estate business. In 1885 he
was appointed Deputy Sheriff, which gave him an inclination toward the practice
of law. In 1886 he was elected Justice of the Peace of Mussel Slough Township,
which office he held for two years. Since that time he has engaged somewhat in
the practice of law in the justice court, although devoting most of his time to
the insurance business, and to looking after collections for outside parties.
Mr. and Mrs. McQuiddy
have two children: Inez, aged eleven years; and Edna, aged six years. He is a
member of Hanford Lodge, No. 264, I. O. O. F. For eight years he has been
secretary of the People's Ditch Company, one of the most important ditches of
John H. Mitchell: Page 679-680
John H. Mitchell, a Tulare County
rancher, was born in Ottawa, Canada, in
1833. His father was a farmer and also held a government position as
lock-master on the Rida Canal.
Mr. Mitchell was educated in Canada, and
remained at home until 1854. At that time he came to California and for one
year was engaged in mining in Tuolumne County, after which he settled at Colterville, in the same County, and gave his attention to
farming and stock-raising, utilizing 800 acres, and dealing extensively in
cattle. He sold out in 1871 and with his brother, William T. Mitchell,
purchased 3,000 acres in Merced County, near
Planesburg and carried on grain farming until 1881.
In that year the subject of our sketch came to Tulare County to
superintend the Page ranch of 8,000 acres west of Tulare, and
with Mr. Page he is interested in the ranch produce and the raising of stock.
They sow annually 4,000 acres in wheat, have 350 acres in alfalfa, and raise
horses and mules, keeping about 200 head. The ranch is well watered and ditched
for irrigating purposes, as they own one-half the water of the Packwood creek.
They carry on their agricultural pursuits in the latest arid most approved
manner, using gang plows, headers and combined harvesters, and the fine
condition of the ranch and crops is the best evidence of its able management.
Mr. Mitchell owns improved town property, but devotes all his time to ranch
He was married in Tulare, January 10, 1883, to
Miss Carrie Ross, a native of San
Francisco. He has one son, Willie, by an
earlier marriage, and an adopted daughter, Pearl,
having no issue by his present wife.
Mr. Mitchell is a member of the I.
O. O. F., having united with that fraternity in 1857. He is now associated with
Lake Lodge, No. 333; Visalia Encampment, No. 44; and Rebecca Lodge, I. O. O. F.
He is also a member of the Grangers of Tulare.
J. P. Murry: Page
Prominent among the earliest
stockmen to settle upon the Tule river
is Mr. J. P. Murry, who was born in Louisiana. His
early life was passed upon the home farm until his eighteenth year, when he
struck out in life and started for California in
1852. He went to Independence, Missouri and
was there engaged by John Montgomery to assist in driving a band of 600 cattle
across the plains to California. The
trip was successfully made and they entered California
through Carson and
lone valleys to Stockton, and
then to Bear creek, in Merced County, when
the cattle were turned out to graze. Mr. Montgomery and Mr. Murry
soon after returned to Missouri by
water, and in 1853, another band of 700 was started, with Mr. Murry in charge, crossing by the old route. There were many
Indians seen along the route, but they were not troublesome, and the passage
was made without particular incident, driving their cattle to Bear creek.
The subject remained with Mr.
Montgomery until 1855, when he started in business with a Mr. Johnson, who was
later called "Tule river" Johnson, to
designate him from others by the same name. They went to Los
Angeles and purchased cattle in 1855, and
wintered on Tule river. The
only stockmen then on the river were Elisha Packwood
and Joshua and Jesse Lewis -- and with abundance of fine feed and free grazing
the cattle fattened, and in the spring of '56 they were driven to the mines and
sold. Making a success of this first venture, Mr. Murry
continued in the business and became one of the prominent stockmen of the
The range of the San
Joaquin valley was then common property,
and the private brand of the stockmen was the only identification of their
cattle. The stockmen had undisputed possession until 1859, when the sheepmen began coming in, seeking the mountain ranges of
the Sierras. Soon after followed the farmer, who to protect their crops,
evolved the "No Fence" law, prohibiting free grazing, and this was a
death blow to extensive ranges, and the stock business gradually decreased. Mr.
Murry has been an extensive dealer, and in 1874, in
partnership with Henry Mentz, they owned 12,000 head;
but the dry year of 1877 was very disastrous, as they lost 5,000 head from
starvation, and for want of suitable range, sold the balance to J. B. Haggin at $10 per head, who turned them off the following
year at $40 per head, making a handsome speculation. Mr. Murry
was then out of business for several years.
In 1883 he went to New
Mexico to buy cattle and stock ranches for
Messrs. Haggin & Heart and was in their employ
about four years, purchasing over 8,000 head of cattle. In 1887 Mr. Murry returned to Porterville, and
has continued in stock speculations, owning a range of about 1,400 acres lying
upon or near the Tule river.
In 1888 he attached Murry's addition to the town of Porterville, and
subdivided eighteen acres for building purposes.
was married in Visalia in
1858, to Miss Martha Kenney, a native of Ohio, and
to the- union has been added two children-Theodore R. and George G. He is a
member of Porterville Lodge No. 199, A. O. U. W. Mr. Murry
has speculated somewhat in mines, but only as a side issue, as cattle-raising
and selling have been his business first, last, and all the time.
Susman Mitchell: Page 324-325
Mitchell, cashier of the bank of Harrell & Son, Visalia, is a
native of the golden West.
His father, Hyman Mitchell, a native
of Prussia, came
to California in
1847, and was subsequently married in Stockton to
Dora Jacobs, also of Prussia. Susman was their only child. Hyman Mitchell removed to Visalia six
months after the birth of their son, and engaged in mercantile business,
remaining thus employed until 1859, when his death occurred.
The subject of our sketch attended
the public schools of Visalia and
also the San Jose Business College,
graduating in the latter institution. He then became a clerk for his uncle,
Elias Jacobs, and remained with him six years, until he received the appointment
of Deputy Postmaster of Visalia.
Three years later he was appointed Postmaster by President Cleveland. He did
efficient duty in that capacity, made several improvements in the office, and
during his term the salary was increased $600 per year. He resigned his office
in order to accept the position of cashier with Harrell & Son, Bankers,
which he has acceptably filled for the past two years.
Mr. Mitchell was married February
14, 1888, to
Miss Eva Rozenthal, a native of Stockton. He
built the beautiful home in which they reside, corner of School and Locust Streets.
He also owns a ranch, located one mile from the courthouse, where he is engaged
in French--prune culture.
Mr. Mitchell is a public spirited
man, and has done much to promote the best interests of Visalia. He
is treasurer of the Board of Trade of Visalia, secretary of the Fifteenth
District Agricultural Association, and is a member of the common council of the
city. He has passed all the chairs of both branches of the I. O. O. F., and is
now treasurer of the lodge. He is a charter member of the Parlor of Native Sons
of the Golden West, takes a just pride in the society, and also in the great
State in which he was born.
George C. Moore: Page 566
George C. Moore, an enterprising
young man residing in the Wild Flower district, Fresno
County, California, is a
native of Pike County, Missouri, born
July 30, 1863. At
the age of nineteen he went to Wellsville, that State, where he attended the
best schools of the neighborhood for two years. At the expiration of that time
he started for California.
Arrived in the Golden State, he
settled near Minturn station, Fresno County, and
there for a time engaged in the cattle business with S. N. Straube.
These gentlemen now own and operate one of the finest stock ranches in the
valley, located eight miles from Selma and
sixteen miles from Fresno. It consists Of 160 acres, and is well equipped for the purposes
intended. Among the horses raised here are some fine specimens. A visit to this
ranch will amply repay the tourist.
Mr. Moore also has land interests in
his old home in Missouri. He
William Dutton Sprague: Page 745
William Dutton Sprague has been
identified with the interests of Tulare County since
1872, and is regarded as one of her enterprising and reliable citizens.
Mr. Sprague was born in Ohio, November 2, 1846. His
ancestors came to the United
States before the Revolution,
and were participants in that struggle for independence. His father, Enos Sprague, was a native of Ohio, his
family being among the early settlers of that State. He [ed
note: Enos Sprague] married Miss Jane Price, also a
native of Ohio and a
member of a pioneer family. Her mother was of Spanish ancestry. To them were
born two sons and a daughter. The last is deceased. From the time he was six
until he was in his eighteenth year, William D. lived in Iowa. At
that time, in 1864, he enlisted in Company D, Tenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry,
and served with Sherman on
his memorable march "from Atlanta to
the sea." After the grand review at Washington he
returned to his home and learned the carpenter's trade, following it three
years. We next find him engaged in farming on rented lands in Missouri.
In 1872 Mr. Sprague came to California and
located at Visalia. At
first, he worked for wages, afterward rented lands, and now has a ranch of 400
acres of his own. For five years he has been engaged in raising wheat,
cultivating his own and other lands, annually sowing about 700 acres; he owns a
header, and harvests and threshes his crops himself.
In 1869 Mr. Sprague wedded Miss
Margaret E. Hill, a native of Indiana.
Their five children were all born in California, and
are named as follows: Clara Adaline, Charles Henry,
Minnie Alice, Elizabeth and Maud. Mr. Sprague's political affiliations are with
the Republican party. He is a charter member of the G.
A. R., and has held the office of junior vice-commander.
W. H. Parker: Page 320-321
W. H. Parker, one of the early
pioneers of Fresno County, is a
man who has eagerly watched the development of the great vineyard and cattle
interests, and the many other enterprises of the San
He was born in Marion County,
Missouri, September 20, 1830. At
the age of nineteen he went with his father to Council
Bluffs, where they had charge of sonic
cattle for three or four years. In 1849 Mr. Parker was united in marriage with
Miss Nancy Wells, a native of Kentucky, reared in Missouri; with her and their
two children he set out for California in the year 1853, coming across the
plains in the pioneer way. Arriving in Salt
Lake City they spent the winter there. The
following spring they moved to Carson river,
where he left his family and went on to Hangtown.
There he bought a small stock of goods, and had them
packed backed to Carson river. To move
these goods it cost him twenty-five cents per pound. On Carson
established a trading post, and with his family lived there for some mouths. In
the fall of 1854 he moved on to California, first settling in Amador County,
and next in what was then known as Mariposa County, and early in 1856 he came
to his present place, now Fresno County. In the latter part of that year he
came to King's river, bringing what cattle he had, and here launched out in the
stock business. He moved to Millerton in the fall of 1856, and there conducted
a restaurant for several years. Mr. Parker relates in a graphic manner many
interesting reminiscences connected with the early history of Millerton.
In the spring of 1865 he located in
old Fresno City,
engaging in various enterprises, staging, general merchandising, etc. The great
flood of 1868 drove him out of the place. At one time during its Progress he
and his entire family were in eminent danger of drowning. For
many miles on either side of their house was an expanse of water, rapidly
increasing in depth, and there seemed to be no chance of their escaping a
watery grave. At this juncture, however, a small steamer which had been
running up and down the river, packing freight, etc., appeared and rescued them
from their perilous position.
Mr. Parker then moved to San
Joaquin river, on
what is known as California
ranch; opened a general store and conducted a cattle ranch. He sold out his
interests there in 1872, and went to Nevada to
make a sale of some horses and mules. This he succeeded in doing, but it was an
unfortunate transaction, and he lost a large sum of money. His next and last
move was in 1873, to Sycamore station, now known as Herndon. He first bought a
store and afterward engaged in general farming and sheep raising.
He has disposed of his sheep interests, and now devotes his time wholly to his
farm. He owns a valuable ranch of 600 acres, and has been eminently successful
in his farming operations.
Mr. Parker has cut a prominent
figure in the many localities in which he has resided; has had a great deal to
do with their growth and development, and has ever cast his influence for good.
He is a man of strong individuality. Once secured as a friend, he is faithful
and true. He served on the first grand jury ever held in this County. That was
in the fall of 1856. While living in Millerton he was the deputy sheriff for
three years. he was also Supervisor from that district
October 30, 1890, Mr.
Parker met with a sad loss in the death of his wife. A heroic woman and a
devoted wife, she stood by her husband through his reverses and successes,
through his pioneer struggles as well as his latter prosperity, and ever proved
herself a helpmate in the true sense of the word. Her funeral was attended by a
large concourse of friends and relatives, among whom were eighteen
grandchildren and her four children. The names of the latter are as follows:
John F., James T., Mary, now Mrs. Charles Strivens,
and Kittie, now Mrs. Bratton,-all residing in
John L. Spear: Page 659
John L. Spear has been a resident of
1853. He was born in Page County, Virginia, July
1, 1811, son
of Jacob and Polly (Hardberger) Spear, natives of Pennsylvania who
removed to Virginia soon
after their marriage. There were nine children in the family, but as Mr. Spear
lost trace of them during the civil war be does not know how many are living.
He was reared in his native State
and was there married to his first wife. She bore him a daughter, Sarah Ann,
who is now the wife of Edwin Davis. Mr. Spear removed to Missouri, and
there his wife died in 1836. In 1844 he wedded Mary R. Garvin, a native of Missouri, who
is his present companion. To them six children were
born, one dying in infancy. Those living are as follows: Jacob, who is now with
his father; Margaret, wife of John Fox, a resident of Los Angeles County;
Frances Eliza, wife of R. C. Glass, of Bakersfield, Kern County; and Agnes,
wife of John Woolley, who resides at Exeter, this County.
(See history of Mr. Woolley in this work.) Henry E.
has a ranch adjoining, his father's.
The family crossed the plains with
ox teams to this State in 1853, coming on account of Mrs. Spear's ill health.
She began to recover as soon as they were well started on the journey. Arrived
in California, they
first settled in Stanislaus County,
where they spent two years. Mr. Spear then went to the mines and followed the
various fortunes of the minor from 1855 till 1861, losing all he had, and from
there coining to Tulare County. At
first he settled on eighty acres of timber land, and afterward came to his
present locality near Farmersville. He and his sons have four hundred acres of
land, the oldest son being single and residing with his father. Both sons are
intelligent, industrious and respected citizens.
Mr. Spear is now eighty years of
age, and he and his wife have lived together forty-five years. He was made a
Master Mason in 1852. In politics he was first a Whig, later a Democrat, and is
now an earnest temperance worker and votes with the Prohibitionists.
Joseph Spier: Page 321-323
a prominent horticulturist of Visalia, and
an early settler of California, was
born in Saratoga County, New
15, 1826. He
is of English ancestry, and three generations of the family, including himself, were born in the State of New
York, all having the same name.
Grandfather Joseph Spier was one of the brave
soldiers who fought to free the colonies from the dominion of King George. The Spiers were by occupation farmers, and in faith Protestants.
Mr. Spier's father married Jerusha
Taylor, a native of his own State, and a descendant of Holland
ancestry, who settled on the Mohawk river. To
them were born four children.
The subject of this sketch was
educated in New York. He
learned the sign-writer's trade and ornamental painting, and has developed much
taste and talent in decorative and also in landscape painting. He emigrated to Illinois in
1844, being in Chicago in
August of that year, growing up with that country. He lived in Chicago, Elgin and Peoria at
In 1852 Mr. Spier
came to California and first engaged in mining at Columbia, Tuolumne County,
and in company with others he mined in various ruining districts of California,
often meeting with good success, finding as high as $500 per day. Like nearly
all the early miners of California, he
would be rich one day and lose everything the next, and, nothing daunted, start
in again and make more. While in Tuolumne County he
improved a nice home, but when the mining interests declined he sold out for a
trifle. In 1868 he located in Tulare County,
being at that time financially embarrassed, and took rip a Government claim of
160 acres. The County was then a great cattle range. He went to work and made
improvements on his land, but sold his claim, as he was unable to keep it.
Shortly afterward he purchased forty acres of land, the property on which he
now resides and which is now within the city limits of Visalia.
Gradually, as he was able with his own labor, he improved this property by
planting it to fruit trees of every variety grown in California. He
has seedling orange trees twenty years old, grown from seed he himself planted.
6th of May, 1891, time writer of this sketch had the
pleasure of eating an orange plucked from one of these trees. Mr. Spier has also gone into the nursery business quite
extensively. In partnership with his son, he is doing a large business,
employing several men as assistants. In 1890 they sold 60,000 young trees, and
that year, for the large variety of fruit exhibited at the agricultural fair,
received the sweepstakes. Mr. Spier also delights in
the cultivation of choice flowers, and in this his wife takes equal pleasure.
During all his horticultural experience in this County he has been constantly
making experiments to discover the varieties of trees and fruit best suited to
his locality, and at considerable expense has gained valuable information. Some
of his young trees have been sent to all parts of California and
to portions of Oregon. In the
production of table grapes he has also been very successful, and bias a large variety of the best kinds.
is one of the pioneers in the use of water both for mining and agricultural
purposes. In 1854, with Andrew Fletcher, Dr. Windler,
John Jolly and others, he organized a company and built one of the most
extensive ditches of that time, being over six miles in length; and the
organization was incorporated as the Stanislaus and Tuolumne Water Company.
Messrs. Spier and Fletcher superintended the
construction of this immense watercourse, which cost $2,000,000. The company
met with strong opposition by rival water companies, and they were finally
financially swamped. Mr. Spier always relied upon his
talents with the brush to help him out in case of financial failure in
business, and never has parted with his artistic outfit, frequently being
called upon to paint some fine silk banner or some scenic work for the ladies'
socials and dramatic entertainments. He has not confined himself to the artistic
part of painting, being one day working on a fine silk banner, the next
possibly painting the side of a house; the next painting a fine carriage, and
the next day be might be seen on the stage of a theater, flinging colors on a
big canvas flat to be used in some extravaganza soon to be brought out, etc.
Nor did he confine himself to painting alone. Being a natural mechanic, he
frequently worked at other mechanical business or professions. The knowledge of
engineering, acquired while ditching in an early day, made him quite proficient
with the transit, and many times he has been called upon to survey mining
claims involving intricate underground engineering work. But particularly did
the knowledge acquired in early days prove of great benefit in locating ditches
or canals in this and other portions of the State.
In 1861, in company with two others,
he built a flouring-mill near Columbia, one
of the partners being a professional miller. After one year, the miller being
dissatisfied, the partners bought him out, and therefore Mr. Spier became his own miller, making a superior quality of
flour and taking first premium at the Stockton
district fair. In 1863, during the last of April, in company with two others,
Mr. Spier crossed the Sierra
Nevada range on foot. There were no
inhabitants for sixty miles, and only a blazed trail to follow. They had to
carry their own blankets and provisions, and travel twenty miles over deep
snow. On this trip Mr. Spier discovered a new pass,
through which the Sonora road
now runs, being near 1,000 feet lower than the one passed over by the trail.
Since locating in Tulare County, Mr. Spier has interested himself in irrigation improvements,
knowing that the success of the country depends on it. He has located several
ditches and has water supplied to all of his land.
was married in 1848, at Saratoga, New
York, to Miss Sarah M. Green, a native
of Saratoga and a
daughter of Daniel D. A. Green, who was born in Albany, New
York. The Greens are descended from an
old American family who made their home at Greensend, Rhode
Island, the place taking its name from the
family who settled there and passed through many trying scenes in the
Revolution. The celebrated Greening apple originated on this
farm. Mr. and Mrs. Spier have had five
children, two sons and three daughters, only two of whom survive, viz.:
Josephine, wife of George W. Hale, now residing at Sonora, Tuolumne County; and
Charles A., who is in partnership with his father. Their oldest son, Thurlow, lived to he twenty-one years
of age, and died at their home in Visalia.
was made a Mason in 1847, at time age of twenty-one, and is still a member in
good standing. Among his other paintings he has made three allegorical pictures
in Masonry, namely, Sunrise, High
Meridian, and Sunset. They are creditable paintings amid illustrate his talent
in that direction.
In his early life Mr. Spier was a Whig. At the organization of the Republican party he joined it and voted for Fremont. When
the Greenback party organized he united with it, and he now works in the ranks
of the Farmers' Alliance. He strongly favored the new Constitution of
California, and was chairman of the Workingmen's Committee of his County. At
his own expense he published a campaign paper in their interest, and every
candidate he worked for was elected. Mr. Spier, as is
readily seen by a perusal of this sketch, is a man of versatility of talent, he
has done much in many ways to advance the interests of California, and is well
and favorably known by many of the pioneers of this State.
Such, in brief; is a sketch of one
of the most prominent citizens of Tulare County.
John Riley Woolley: Page 450
John Riley Woolley,
a well-known farmer of Exeter, Tulare County, and
an early settler of California, is a
native of Missouri, born
February 18, 1849. His
father, Alfred Woolley, was born in Illinois, and his
mother, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Ferril, was a
native of Missouri. The family crossed the plains to California in 1854, when
he was a boy of five years. They first stopped in Amador County,
where the father engaged in mining and obtained considerable gold. Like most
other miners however, he afterwards lost it. Then they moved to Santa
Cruz, from there to Lake County, and
in 1866 came to Tulare County, settling
near Farmersville. Three years later they sold out and returned to Lake County, and
there the father died.
John R. came to his present location
in February, 1877, and purchased 160 acres of land, which he has improved by
building, etc., and on which he lives. Here he is engaged in general farming
and raising horses. He is also proprietor of the stage line from Exeter to
Visalia, and has charge of the United States mail over this route.
was married in 1869 to Miss Agnes Spier, who was born
on the plains in 1853, while her parents were on their way to California. Of
the ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Woolley, three
died when quite young, and those living are as follows: Laura Ellen, wife of
Frank Harp, Visalia; Leora M., wife of C. S. Dann, Camp Badger; Charles H., Annie L., Roy, Mary,
Elizabeth, and Alta May. Mr. Woolley has been a
Democrat, but for the past few years not voted with any particular party. He is
a most worthy citizen and is highly respected by all who know him.
Memorial and Biographical History of the Counties of Fresno, Tulare and Kern, California
Illustrated - The
Lewis Publishing Company -1892
Transcribed by: Martha
A Crosley Graham
23 May 2008
Site Created: 24 May 2008
Martha A Crosley
Rights Reserved: 2008