Fresno County, California
Biographical Sketches ~ Leading Citizens
1933
Note: Use CTRL-F to Search


DR. CHESTER ROWELL

For many years, Dr. Chester Rowell was the chief citizen of Fresno. A pioneer physician, coming to this county when the total population was less than five thousand, he brought a very large share of the succeeding generation of native sons and daughters of Fresno into the world. He was an influence for clean and progressive politics in city, county and state, and served for three terms, ten years in all, as a member of the California Senate. He passed away, during his term as mayor, to which office he was elected by the voters of Fresno by an absolute majority of votes, out of a Held of five candidates.

Chester Rowell was born in Woodsville, New Hampshire, October 17, 1844, and died in Los Angeles, May 23, 1912. He was one of the eight sons of Jonathan and Cynthia (Abbott) Rowell, four of whom were for many years residents of Fresno county. In addition, the children of two other of the brothers became active residents of Fresno.

In 1849, the family removed from New Hampshire to Stout’s Grove, near Bloomington, Illinois. In 1850, the father died, and the mother dis­played family heroism in raising her large flock. In 1861, Chester and four of his brothers entered the Union army, although Chester was only seventeen years of age. He took part in the battles of Fort Donelson, Shiloh and in most of the contests in the campaign of the Army of Tennessee, from 1861 to 1864. After the war, the young man attended Lombard College, Galesburg., Illinois, for a time, then studied medicine privately in Chicago. In 1866, he came across the plains to San Francisco, and pursued his studies under the tutelage of his uncle, Dr. Isaac Rowell, a much older man. Chester Rowell then entered Cooper Medical College, at that time a department of the Uni­versity of the Pacific, graduating in 1870. During this time he also taught school for a year in Oregon.

From 1870 to 1874, the young physician practiced in San Francisco. At that time Fresno was a struggling village on the Central Pacific line newly built from Lathrop to the southern end of the valley. The only physician in Fresno was Dr. Lewis Leach, pioneer of Cape Horn travel to the Mariposa and Millerton mining regions of central California. Dr. Rowell came to Fresno first to look after some property interests of his wife and then decided on Fresno as his opportunity for the future. Coming to this city in 1874, he started a medical practice that continued for forty-eight years.

For all that forty-eight years, Dr. Rowell was a public spirited citizen of Fresno. Perhaps the most notable of his work was the founding and support of the Fresno Republican, which he started as a weekly newspaper in September, 1876, two years after he came to Fresno. During the next fourteen years lie never lost connection with the paper entirely, selling it a number of times but retaining sufficient interest to maintain a hold upon its policies. In 1891, he formed the Fresno Republican Publishing company, of which he was a majority stockholder and president of the board of directors until the time of his death. Associated with him in this were John W. Short, Frank H. Short, William Glass, F. K. Prescott, Thomas J. Kirk, William Helm, Charles F. Walter, Alexander Gordon and a number of other Fresno citizens. In the course of the following years, Dr. Rowell bought up the stock of a number of these early subscribers. John W. Short was the editor of the paper from 1892 to 1898, after which Chester H. Rowell, Dr. Rowell’s nephew, the son of Congressman J. H. Rowell of Illinois, was the editor, and later succeeded the doctor as president of the company.

Dr. Rowell was both a devoted member of the Republican party and in frequent rebellion against the management of that party whenever its leaders deviated from what he considered political integrity. He was many times chairman of the Republican county committee; was in 1879 elected state senator for a term—this being the first time in the record of the county that a Republican was elected to office. Twice during the Eighties Dr. Rowell was named by his party as candidate for state railroad commissioner, but each time was defeated by pro-railroad candidates who obtained the opposing nomination. In 1890, seeking the office of Representative in Congress from the district which at that time stretched from the north end of the valley to the Mexican border, he was defeated, in a long drawn out convention strug­gle, by a combination of southern California votes. In 1896, Dr. Rowell was nominated by the Republicans of Fresno county for state senator; was elected, and was reelected in 1900. After that date, shifts in population had broken the former Democratic hold, and thereafter men of either party could be elected to office, according to the preferences of the majority of voters.

In the legislature, Dr. Rowell took part in many movements for the bene­fit of the state, but none was more important than his fight in the session of 1899 against the election of Dan M. Burns, the Southern Pacific agent, as United States senator. Defeating Burns, the legislature was deadlocked, but in 1900, after another struggle, Dr. Rowell led in a fight in a special session that resulted in the election of Thomas R. Bard.

Dr. Rowell’s home, nearly all his life in Fresno, was in a cottage he had built shortly after coming to the city, on the southeast corner of Tulare and K streets. With the advance of the business district, he was finally per­suaded by friends to erect a business block on this corner, and so had to give up his home. This is the site of the present Rowell building, the first steel-framed structure in Fresno. Dr. Rowell also joined in the formation of the People’s Savings bank in Fresno, in the early Nineties, when many depositors were afraid of ordinary banking institutions. He continued as president of this bank until his death.

Dr. Rowell was always a vigorous supporter of public education. In rec­ognition of this, he was named as a Regent of the University of California by Governor Markham, in 1891, and was twice reappointed, the last time by Governor Johnson. Dr. Rowell was a faithful attendant at the monthly meetings of the Regents, a rarity in those days for out-of-San Francisco members.

Dr. Rowell was an adherent of Unitarian tenets, and was active in promoting the erection of the First Unitarian church, corner of 0 and Tuolumne streets.

In 1872, Dr. Rowell married Mrs. Nellie Rowell, widow of his uncle and former preceptor. They had no children, but Dr. Rowell raised as his own two step-children, Frank Rowell and Mrs. Imogene Eldridge.

Always a man of simple tastes and presence, Dr. Rowell had great charm of manner, and a fund of human sympathy that gained for him a wide friendship. In 1887-88, he took an extended tour of the world, with particular attention to Japan and China, and a few years later he traveled in Mexico. In 1909, when Fresno municipal affairs were in a serious state of disorganization, a large group of leading citizens turned to him as the man to conduct

the city’s affairs and he was elected mayor. A marked feature of his official policy was promotion of playgrounds for children. His final illness cut his ad­ministration short after three years.

Dr. Rowell’s brothers living in Fresno county, already referred to, were: W. F. Rowell, Easton farmer and member of the California Assembly; George B. Rowell, Easton merchant; and Albert A. Rowell, farmer and merchant at Selma. Among Dr. Howell’s nephews, Milo L. Rowell is in business in Fresno and Chester H. Rowell, formerly editor of the Fresno Republican, is now with the San Francisco Chronicle. Another nephew, Ira Homer Rowell, the companion of his later years, is an attorney in San Francisco.

Z. S. LEYMEL

Zygmunt S. Leymel, elected mayor of Fresno, in 1929, has had a wide and adventurous career. A veteran of two American wars, since the World war he has been conspicuous both as a teacher and as a participant in public affairs.

Mr. Leymel was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, November 27, 1883, son of Thomas and Caroline Leymel. His parents were natives of Poland, of French extraction. His father and the latter’s brother fought in the Polish revolution of 1863, and Thomas Leymel, who had come to America, fought in the Civil war.

Z. S. Leymel attended the Wilkes-Barre High school, and the University of Pennsylvania, from which latter he graduated in 1907 with the degree of B. S. When only 14 years old, he ran away to war, in the Spanish American controversy. Although too young to enlist, he left with a Pennsylvania regiment. In the Cuban campaign he was twice wounded, in head and in hand. Later he served as personal orderly of Theodore Roosevelt in the Rough Riders, and was known as the “Pennsylvania Kid” in the Rough Rider regiment.

Soon after graduating from the University of Pennsylvania, Mr. Leymel moved to California to teach school, and in 1915, he came to Fresno as a teacher in the Fresno High school, and has been in this city ever since except for his 29 months service in the World war. He has taken special training at the University of California and at the University of Washington, and taught school in all about 25 years.

In the World war, Mr. Leymel was appointed first lieutenant in the In­telligence department, where he served throughout the war, becoming cap­tain and finally major.

Returning to Fresno, he was teacher and commandant of cadets in the Fresno High school, continuing until elected mayor. He was elected in 1926 to the Assembly from the 51st district, which included most of the City of Fresno, and was re-elected in 1928, resigning in the spring of 1929 on being elected mayor of Fresno. In the Assembly he won the esteem of his fellow members and constituents by his courteous activity in state business and by his attention to the interests of his district. As mayor he has given special attention to reduction of expenses and to matters of taxation, and has under­taken to make the political limits of Fresno express more accurately its econ­omic and social entirety.

Mayor Leymel was married, while engaged in intelligence work in Mexico, to Marie Juanita Wilkinson, a native of that country, daughter of an English father and Spanish mother. Mrs. Leymel’s first cousin was mayor of Mexico City. Mrs. Leymel has been particularly active in Fresno civic and social life.

Mayor Leymel is a member of the Masonic Blue Lodge, the Scottish Rite, the Knights Templar, and the Shrine. He is also active in the Elks, the Eagles, the Veterans of Foreign Wars and the Disabled Veterans of the World war.

He was commander of Fresno Post No. 4 of the American Legion in 1926, and was commander of the County Council of the American Legion in 1927.

On April 10, 1933, Mr. Leymel was reelected mayor of Fresno for another four-year term, defeating five other candidates for the office. He is the first mayor in the history of Fresno to be reelected by popular vote.

N. P. GONSER

N. P. Gonser in his public life represents a struggle of the “West Side” as contrasted with the “East Side” of Fresno county to gain a more influential position in county government affairs. Whatever may be the merits of that controversy, it played a part in the struggles in the board, even before Mr. Gonser’s election as supervisor first in 1920, at a recall election, and culminated in the election of Mr. Gonser as chairman of the board four years ago in succession to W. A. Collins of Del Rey. In the four years since, Mr. Gonser has undertaken to be a representative of the interests of the entire county without sacrificing the special demands of his district.

The peculiarity of this district is that it has very wide area, comparatively a less dense population, and a specially heavy assessment roll due to the fact that it includes both the long established Coalinga oil fields and also the recently developed Kettleman Hills district insofar as they overlap from Kings county northwards into Fresno county. The district also stretches east and to include the rich Kings river delta in which Mr. Gonser has his home, and the central valley towns of Selma, Kingsburg, Fowler and Easton.

Noble Parker Gonser was born June 23, 1880, the son of the Rev. Albert and Sadie U (Uhl) Gonser, at Millersburg, Ohio. His father being a clergy­man, of the German Reformed church, the family was located at a number of different charges, and young Gonser’s schooling was scattered, mostly in Ohio and Pennsylvania. He took a course at the Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., worked for a time in that state, and at 21 years of age came West with the idea of being a sheep raiser. He abandoned this idea, however, after locating in Montana, continued in business positions, and final­ly two years later came to Bakersfield. Here he became acquainted with the -oil business, became traveling representative for a road oiling concern. In 1906, he became interested in opportunities in the Kings river bottom, located at Laton, worked for a time for T. E. and E. P. Blanchard, until the great Laton fire of July 4, which destroyed the most of the business section of the town. Thereupon Mr. Gower decided to go into business for himself, located on the west side of the Santa Fe tracks at a point now on the main north and south inter county highway, and established a general department store Iviiich has continued to prosper there ever since. Mr. Gonser continues his in­terest in the firm although the active management is left to others.

In 1920, resentment against what was considered unfair handling of county affairs, for the people of the fourth supervisorial district, resulted in the recall of Supervisor Charles Wells, and the election of Mr. Gonser to the vacancy thus created. He was reelected, by large majorities, at the elections in 1922, 1926 and 1930.

On June 23, 1908, Mr. Gonser married Hazel Hem.mer of Stockton, and they have five children: Lester, who after spending two years at Fresno State College is a graduate of the academic department, University of Southern California, and is studying in the law department there now, Evelyn, wife of Cody Lehr of Fresno, who is eon meted with the airways division of the U. S. Department of Commerce radio broadcasting station at Fresno ; Harold, attending Hanford High school; Florence, (now taking a music course in Fresno State College); and Hazel, (in grammar school at Litton). Mr. Gonser is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., and of the Woodmen. of America, at Laton.

DR. FRANK W. THOMAS

Dr. Thomas has been president of the Fresno State College for the last Six years and has been associated with that institution since 1917. He has been a leader in the development of education in this state since 1911, and recently has been in the forefront of the movement to develop state colleges in California to a standard where higher education could. be general instead of being concentrated in a few overcrowded institutions.

Dr. Frank Waters Thomas was born at Danville, Indiana, May It, 1878, the son of Erasmus Darwin and Mary (Rosborough) Thomas. On both sides, his family came of Revolutionary stock: His paternal grandfather, David Thomas, received a government grant for service in the war of 1812. Tommy Thomas attended the Indiana schools, including a period with the Indiana State Normal; then received his A. B. degree at the University of ‘Indiana, 1905.

He began his professional career with two years of teaching in Indiana then was principal of the high school at Tuscola, Illinois, after which he was on the faculty of the University of Illinois, for four years. In the meantime, he received his M. A. degree in 191.0.

In 1911, Dr. Thomas came to California to take a position as principal of the high school at Santa Monica. There he continued for two years; then he went to Sacramento to organize the Junior High school, and was principal of the largest Junior High school in Sacramento.

After four years at Sacramento, Dr. Thomas accepted an appointment as head of the department of education in the Fresno State Normal, now the Fresno State College. When the Teachers’ college was organized, he became vice president, and in 1927 succeeded C. L. McLane as president. The en­rollment was 1200 in 1927; now is about 1800, with 200 part time students in addition.

Mrs. Thomas was Ina Gregg; they have three sons: Lawrence, Welburne  and Franklin,

Dr. Thomas was president of Fresno Rotary club in 1931.-32. In college he was a member of the Sigma No social fraternity, and he has been honored as a member of the Phi Beta Kappa and of the Phi Delta Kappa educational fraternity.

WILLIAM F. DUNN

W. E. Dunn has been for the last sixteen years district manager of the Associated Oil company, located at Fresno, but he has lived for all but the first three years of his life in Fresno county.

Mr. Dunn’s father, Thomas Dunn, was at one time a member of the board of city trustees (the city council) of Fresno, in the years 1901-05. Thomas Dunn was one of the two men who drove the first herd of cattle into Montana, where he was a pioneer, and William was born at Sun River, Montana, in 1882. His mother was Mattie Illiff Dunn. The family came to Fresno in 1886, the year before the great boom, and bought a ranch near Malaga. Later they lived for a time on Ventura street, and then bought a home on K street (Van. Ness avenue) just south from Kern.

Young Will attended the Fresno High school, and then secured a position with the Fresno National bank, then on the corner where the Bank of America is now located, where he continued for some years. For seven years following, he was deputy in the office of the city clerk, and for two and a half years was engaged in the hardware business at Portland, Oregon.

Twenty years ago, Mr. Dunn started in as salesman for the Associated Oil company. As manager, he has charge of the entire San Joaquin Valley, reaching from Galt at the north line of San Joaquin county to the north line of Los Angeles county on the south. Mr. Dunn is also president of Barrett- Hicks company, the oldest hardware concern in Fresno.

Ile was married to Olive Glover of Oakland, and they have one son, Gordon Glover Dunn. The young man was champion discuss thrower while attending Fresno High school.

Mr. Dunn is a director of the Fresno Merchants association and was a director of the Sunnyside-Country club, He is a member and director of the Fresno Rotary club, and of the University Sequoia club and is a Mason having been master of. Fresno Lodge, No. 247 in 1918. He also belongs to the Royal Arch, Scottish Rite bodies and the Shrine.

FELIX M. LOCHER

Felix M. Locher, a resident of Fresno for the last twelve years, has made himself noted in California as an enthusiastic promoter of winter sports, as well as a successful life insurance underwriter.

Mr. Locher was born at Bern, Switzerland, July 16, 1882, son of Charles and Emma Locher. After finishing his schooling in his native land he became associated with his father in business which necessitated his extensive traveling all over Europe during several years. Interested in ice skating from his boyhood days he always kept on improving this hobby until in March, 1911, at the age of 29, he became the champion for the whole of Switzerland for figure skating, at St. Moritz.

Mr. Locher has, especially since locating in Fresno, freely given of his time and services in helping the people of California become winter sports minded. He was appointed a director in the California Skating association and was made permanent advisory chairman of the Annual San Joaquin Valley Sierra Winter Sports Carnival, of which he was one of the founders several years ago.

On coming to America in 1911 Mr. Locher located first in San Francisco, Oakland, and Fresno, returning again to Oakland where he remained for several years until he was appointed district manager for the Pacific Mutual Life Insurance company of California in Visalia. In 1921 he came to Fresno to establish the General Agency headquarters for the Pacific Mutual where he has now a large number of agents working under him throughout the seven counties embracing his territory in central California.

While living in Oakland he was married to Frieda Gooding, daughter of Lovina Chapman of Papeete, Tahiti, a character famous in many of the books on the South Sea Islands. Mr. and Mrs. Locher have three children: Marguerite, now Mrs. W. G. Mouat of Scotland; Charles F. attending a private school near Geneva, Switzerland; and Louise, also attending a private school for girls in Morges near Lausanne, Switzerland.

Mr. Locher, accompanied by Mrs. Locher, has traveled extensively in Europe and in the South Seas; he has shown thousands of feet of travel mo­tion pictures all over the San Joaquin Valley, the films taken by himself. Ills purpose hi showing these films has been to awaken the people of central California to the great wealth stored away in the Sierra Mountains and to stimulate interest in California’s tourist and travel trade and all year round sports. In 1930 Mr. Locher originated the idea of annually selecting a winter sports queen, the winner to be chosen not for beauty but purely for her prowess and ability in various winter sports competitions, each queen candidate to be sponsored by a club or a like organization. Each year the club entering the winning queen at the San Joaquin Valley Sierra Winter Sports Carnival receives for one year the permanent Felix Locher Mutual trophy.

Mr. Locher has held membership in the Fresno County Chamber of Com­merce, Merchant’s Association, Commercial club, National Life Underwriters. Elk’s club, University-Sequoia club, Sunnyside Country club, Yosemite Win­ter club and California Skating association.

CHARLES L. KAUPKE

The interests, financial and historical and legal, in the distribution of the Kings river irrigation water are so large and complicated, that a water master is required, to adjust the portions of water that year by year and month by month are due to the various districts and companies that are en­titled to participate. This position, created in 1927, has been filled ever since by Charles L. Kaupke.

Charles Lewis Kaupke was born at Medaryville, Indiana, February 28, 1.885, the son of John and Augusta (Krippisch) Kaupke. He attended the local grammar school, and then went to the University of Oklahoma, where lie received the first civil engineering degree ever granted by that institution.

Mr. Kaupke has had the good fortune to have had employment, which has given him wide range of engineering problems. lie was with the IT. K. Reclamation Service in Wyoming in 1909-1910, and next was employed in California, at Willows, by the Sacramento Valley Irrigation company, for two years. For the following two years he was with the U. S. Department of Agriculture, making a report on rice growing in California. He next became superintendent of the Yolo Water and Power company at Woodland, for two years.

In 1918 Mr. Kaupke obtained a position with the California water commission which employed hint for survey work which brought him to Fresno. When the Kings River Water association was formed in 1927, he was put in charge of the conflicting claims of appropriators in the Kings river district. Nearly a million acres of land are supplied by the water under his direction.

Mrs. Kaupke was Lydia M. Mangold. Mr. and Mrs. Kaupke have three children: John,. Ruth and Elizabeth, all born in Fresno.

Mr. Kaupke is a member of the First Presbyterian church of Fresno. He is also a member of Las Palmas Lodge No. 366, F. and A. M., of the Engineers club, and of the Kiwanis club of Fresno, and American Society of Civil En­gineers.

ERNEST KLETTE

The activities of the legal profession, an interest in polities and a liking for research into the material and the social past of California, have made Ernest Klette’s life a busy one. The organization recently of a San Joaquin Valley chapter of the League of Western Writers, of which he has been made the president, is only another indication of his wide interests.

Mr. Klette was born in Montreal, Canada, July 17, 1874. His parents, C. J. M. and Marie (Held) Klette, came to New York from Germany in 1859 and shortly moved to Canada. The family came to Fresno county in 1876 and settled twenty-five miles north of this city, where the father had a stock ranch.

The youth was educated in the county schools, attending one organized by his father at what is now known as Belleview, then in Fresno county, now Madera county. He entered Stanford at 28 years of age and spent three semesters, completing his law studies and was admitted to the bar after ex­amination in 1904. He commenced practice in 1905 at Selma, was there a year and a half and then moved to Fresno. He has been in practice here now a quarter of a century. T. R. Thomson, now judge of the Superior court, was associated with him for some years and Douglas May is now.

As an author, Mr. Klette is known chiefly for his novel covering the life of Murieta, “The Crimson Trail,” and for a book of verse: the “Legend of the Yosemite.” He has shown continued interest in the history of central California, and has made many speeches on historical subjects before various civic societies.

Mr. Klette held the office of justice of the peace in Madera county from 1898 to 1901. In 1907, he became a member of the board of trustees of the City of Fresno, the city council of that day. Later he served as city attorney. In 1932 he sought the Republican nomination for Congress from this district.

Mr. Klette in 1906 married Ada Knight, who died in 1908. In 1912 he mar­ried Olga Sorensen. His daughter Ruth is now Mrs. Harold Hjelm, wife of an attorney at Turlock.

Mr. Klette is a member of the Woodmen of the World and of the state and county bar associations.

W. O. MILES

William O. Miles is president of the San Joaquin Abstract Company of Fresno ; for twenty years was engaged in banking, here and in San Francisco. He was public administrator of Fresno county, in 1898 to 1902, and county clerk for two terms, 1902 to 1910.

Mr. Miles was born in Sullivan, Indiana., April 7, 1870, the son of William Jackson and Adelia M. (Hutchison) Miles. His mother is still living in Fresno, aged 89 years. His father died in Indiana when the boy was but a year old. The father and mother had come across the plains from Indiana in 1850, and 1852 respectively and stopped at Placerville, California, where Mr. Miles first mined, then started a store, later going into business at Missouri Flat, near Placerville. He at one time had charge of the water supply of Placerville, California. He also served as deputy sheriff of Eldorado County, California. He returned to Sullivan County, Indiana, with his wife, and died there May 2, 1871.

The first American ancestor of the Miles family was Charles Springer who settled on land where Wilmington, Delaware, is now located, in 1652. His great granddaughter Nancy Springer married John Silvers, and their (laughter married John Miles, great-great grandfather of W. O. Miles. Richard Miles, grandfather of W. 0. Miles, was born in Virginia in 1783, moved to Kentucky and subsequently to Indiana in 1820.

After the death of William J. Miles, his widow moved again to California, July 4, 1871, with her three children: Walter, who died later ; Ida M. Miles, now deputy county clerk and formerly deputy assessor in Fresno ; and William 0. Miles. The mother came to be with her mother, Mrs. W. J. Hutchison, Sr., and her brother, W. J. Hutchison, later known in Fresno history as “Uncle Billy Hutchison.” She is now living with her daughter Ida, in Fresno, aged 89 years.

W. 0. Miles was but fifteen months old when his mother brought him to Fresno county. They lived at Centerville (Kings river) from 1871 to 1877, then spent a year at Santa Barbara, then returned to Fresno county to Hills Valley, then to Big Dry Creek, then to the City of Fresno in 1884. Attending the local schools, he was forced by family circumstances to go to work early in life. Acquiring an office and business education, he entered early into Democratic polities, and was nominated in 1898 by that party for public administrator, and served one term. He then became county clerk for two terms. In the meantime, seizing opportunities, he joined in the organization of the Union National Bank, and was its president from the first, 1907, until the merger of the Sacramento-San. Joaquin Bank and the Merchants National. Bank under the name of the United Hank and Trust Company of San Francisco, which took over the French American Bank of San Francisco. The name was afterward changed to Bank of America in 1927, of which institution he was the executive vice president from the date of the first merger.

Another of his enterprises was the purchase in 1907, with a group of associates, of the San Joaquin Abstract company, of which he has been president ever since. This is the second oldest abstract company in Fresno county.

During the World war, Mr. Miles had charge of the second, third and fourth. Liberty Loan and the Victory Loan drives in Fresno, all of which were successfully put over.

Mrs. Miles was Betty Berry Maupin, daughter of Dr. W. T. Maupin, pioneer physician of Fresno, and of Mrs. Mary A. Maupin, born in Columbia, Missouri, who came to California in 1888. The Miles have two sons; William Maupin Miles, born in Fresno August 11, 1.909, a graduate of the University of California and now attending Harvard Law school ; and James Albert Miles, born October 24, 1911, now a senior at the University of California. Mr. Miles is a charter member of Las Palmas Lodge of Masons; is a member of the York and Scottish Rite bodies. Ile is a. member of the Knights of the Round Table. He is a member of St. Paul’s M. E. Church South.

HOWARD H. YOUNG

Howard H. Young is the district manager of the San Joaquin Light and Power company at Selma, the third largest district of the company, being exceeded only by the Fresno and Bakersfield districts.

Mr. Young was born at Wichita, Kansas, October 10, 1894, his parents being Hamilton and Minnie (Horner) Young. He graduated from the Wichita High school in 1913, and in that same year the family moved to Los Angeles for the mother’s health. His father has been a railroad man for over fifty years.

Mr. Young was employed by J. W. Robinson Co., Los Angeles, for a year and had various other occupations in the southern city until 1917, when he secured a position with the San Joaquin Light and Power at Selma, where he has been located continually since. For the past nine years he has been district manager for the company, with the towns of Selma, Parlier, Kingsburg and Fowler and the neighboring territory under his charge.

Mrs. Young was Susie Allen, a native of Selma. There is one daughter, Marrion Sue, born at Selma, 15 years of age.

Mr. Young has served as director of the Selma Chamber of Commerce, has been secretary of the Rotary club ever since it was organized, and for six years has served as a member of the Fresno County Republican Central Committee.

R. M. WALKER

Ralph M. Walker is a native of Bakersfield, California, who has lived in Fresno county nearly all his life. He is a past president of the Selma Center of the Fresno County Farm Bureau and has extensive agricultural interests in the southern part of Fresno county.

Mr. Walker was born in 1895, the son of William Edward and Nellie May (Holton) Walker. His maternal grandfather, Edward Roscoe Holton, came to Wildflower district, Fresno county, about 1880, while his father came to Fresno county first in 1882. He gradually acquired large property interests, and since his death R. M. Walker has looked after his several farms.

The subject of the sketch was educated in the schools of Selma, where the family lived from the time he was a small child, and then attended the University of California, graduating in 1917 with the degree of bachelor of science in agriculture. For a time then he was assistant farm advisor with the U. S. department of agriculture in Merced county, 1917-18, engaged in war work, and later enlisted in the army and was at the officers’ training camp at Fort Scott when the armistice was signed. Returning to Selma, he now lives on one of the farms of his father’s estate.

Mr. Walker has been particularly interested in promotion of the public schools, and is chairman of the elementary school board of Selma. He is also vice president of the Fresno County School Trustees’ association, and is a director of the County Y. M. C. A.

Mr. Walker is married to Mildred Giffen, who was secretary of the county farm bureau for five years, and is the daughter of E. E. Giffen of Sanger. The Walkers had one daughter, Mary Lesley Walker, who died in 1931.

Mr. Walker is a member of the board of trustees of the Presbyterian Church of Selma; he is a past master of Selma Lodge, No. 277, F. & A. M. In college he was a member of Alpha Kappa Lambda social fraternity and of the Alpha Zeta Agricultural honor fraternity.

DR. O. J. HOWARD

Dr. O. J. Howard has been practicing dentistry in Fresno since his graduation from college, and has maintained his offices in the Bank of Italy building since that building was erected. He is a native son of California, hav­ing been born at San. Jose, February 16, 1878.

Oliver Joseph Howard’s father was Charles M. Howard, a native of Illi­nois, who came with his parents, as a small boy, across the plains in 1854, and settled at Placerville. His mother, Annie Ralphs, was born in England and came to California at the age of seventeen, by way of the Isthmus of Panama.

After living at San Jose, the family came to Fresno in 1884, settling on a small place in Easterby Rancho. Later Charles M. Howard acquired a range in Squaw Valley, where he engaged in cattle business for many years. In 1894, he returned to Temperance colony where he lived until his death in 1921. He was a man of wide acquaintance, and formed many notable friendships.

Oliver J. Howard graduated from the Fresno High school in 1897, and from the dental department of the University of California in 1901. In that year he began practice in Fresno, where he since has continued.

Dr. Howard is married to Grace Patton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Patton, and they have two children: Charles Patton, and O. J. Jr., both now students in Fresno High school.

Dr. Howard is a member of the Elks Lodge of Fresno. He is enrolled in the American Dental association and in the state and local organizations of his profession.

WILBER F CHANDLER

Wilber F. Chandler was born April 8, 1855, in DeWitt county, Illinois, the son of Hiram and Rachel (Manlove) Chandler. The father was of Eng­lish descent, his first American ancestor having come to the colonies in 1637. The family lived on a farm in Illinois, and the boy attended the local schools in De Witt county, and at an early age took over the management of his father’s farm.

In 1887 Mr. Chandler made a trip to California and was so favorably impressed with Fresno county that he purchased a farm a few miles north of Selma. He then returned to his eastern home, and in 1.889 brought his family here. From that time on, he displayed an increasing interest in Fresno in­dustrial and social life, and expanded his farming interests in Fresno county, and also became interested in agriculture in the Sacramento valley.

In addition to his large and varied farming interests, Mr. Chandler was one of the important oil men of the state, and was one of the first in the San Joaquin Valley to realize the possibilities of petroleum development. Ile was an organizer of the Home Oil company which developed the Oil City territory, the discovery field north of Coalinga, and was also one of those who promoted the early Kern river fields. Later, in the first. years of this century, when the production of oil had glutted the then existing markets, Mr. Chandler helped form the Associated Oil company intended as an organization to regulate production and distribution; he served as vice president of this company for ten years.

Always interested in public life, Mr. Chandler was enrolled as a Republican, but associated himself with the efforts to make California state politics independent of party lines for the better conduct of state affairs.

In 1900 he was elected to the legislature from the district which included the west half of the county, including half of the City of Fresno. After serving one term, he returned to private life for two years, but entered the lower house again in 1902, and served there continually until 1914, when he was elected to the State Senate for a term of four years. In the Assembly, Mr. Chandler was active on the highway committee, of which he was chairman. (During his last term he was also chairman of the ways and means committee and floor leader of the house). He took special interest in pioneering the state highways system, provision for which was made by the authorization of the first bond issue in 1909. Senator Chandler was also a hearty supporter of the Progressive movement which transformed state polities and resulted in revision of the California Railroad commission and other public services. In 1918 he declined to seek re-election to the Senate and retired to private life.

Associated in public affairs for many years with Dr. Chester Rowell, Mr. Chandler joined with Dr. Rowell in the erection of the Rowell building, the first steel-framed class A structure in the city, This was constructed by the Rowell-Chandler company, and completed in 1912, the same year that Dr. Rowell died.

Mr. Chandler was married before leaving Illinois to Edna Marie Goble, a native of that state. For more than a half century their married life con­tinued, and Mr. Chandler always furthered his wife’s interest in the Young. Women’s Christian association and other character building societies. ln their last years, they joined in giving what had been their home place in later life, the property lying. between Kearney Boulevard, Teilman, White’s Bridge road and Fruit avenue, to the city for an airport. The Chandler airport consisting of one hundred acres is now one of the best equipped grounds of this kind in the state. Mr. Chandler was always interested in promoting school affairs, and was for some time a trustee of his district near Selma; he was also active in securing favorable legislation for the Fresno State College.

Mr. and Mrs. Chandler had seven sons, five of whom are still living: Howard H., of Exeter, California; Clayton I., of Fresno, who is manager of his father’s estate and has been a director and treasurer of the Sun Maid Raisin association for several years; W. Ray, of Yuba City; Dr. L. R., of San Francisco; and Charles R. Chandler of Fresno.

Mr. and Mrs. Chandler both passed away in March 1932, Mrs, Chandler on the 27th and Mr. Chandler on the 31st.

H. E. DWELLE

Harold Edward Dwelle has been practicing law in Fresno for twenty years; was for a term deputy county clerk; and has, during the last year, undertaken a new experiment in his profession by erecting, at considerable expense, a unique law office building adjoining his own home. A specially constructed building with large concrete vault and other fire proof features, located in a suburb of the city, it is a departure in legal undertakings.

Mr. Dwelle was born in Brooklyn, New York, December 17, 1882, his parents being J. C. and Mary Dwelle. The family came to Fresno in 1887, and located at Easton, where the father, who had been a wood engraver in the east, settled as a farmer in Washington colony.

Mr. Dwelle attended the grammar and high school at Easton, then graduated from the University of California With decree of B. L. in 1907. Follow­ing this he spent several years as a deputy under County Clerk Miles, serving as one of the superior court clerks and then entered the, University of Southern California., graduating from the law department thereof in 1.91.2 with the degree of L. L. B. He has since, practiced in Fresno, devoting himself entirely to civil business, chiefly probate work and the handling of property. For five years, he was a deputy under District Attorney Manson F. Mc­Cormick.

Mrs. Dwelle was Edith Blayney, a native of California,. They have five children: Harold E. Jr., Dorsey K., Vernon R., Mary Alice, and ,James C. Dwelle, Mr. Dwelle is a member of the Woodmen of the World.

O. S. HUBBARD

O. S. Hubbard is a native son of California, who has spent most of his professional career as a teacher in the San Joaquin Valley, and has been superintendent of Fresno city schools since 1926.

Mr. Hubbard was born at Pasadena, December 26, 1889, the son of Walter and Jessie Lee (Douglas) Hubbard; his mother was a native of Texas, his father of Illinois. They located at Pasadena about 1888. Young Hubbard attended the San Bernardino schools, including the high school, then obtained his bachelor’s degree from the University of California in 1913, and later took his master’s degree at Stanford in 1917. He taught school in Alameda from 1913 until 1916, and came to Fresno in 1917 as assistant county superintendent of schools.

After a year under E. W. Lindsay, then county superintendent of schools, Mr. Hubbard accepted a position as district superintendent and principal of the high school at Lindsay, Tulare county, continuing there for two years. In 1920, he became district superintendent of schools at the city of Madera, where he spent six years. In 1926, he became assistant superintendent of schools for the City of Fresno, under Superintendent Walter R. Hepner, and on the latter’s resignation to go to San Diego, Mr. Hubbard succeeded him here.

In the organization of the Fresno school district, much more territory is incorporated than is included in the City of Fresno as a municipal corporation. The school district includes several formerly separate districts to the east, west and south, and Mr. Hubbard’s supervision is extended over eight secondary schools, twenty elementary schools, one evening high school. In. his work Mr. Hubbard has given special attention to the internal organiza­tion of the schools and to professional relationships among teachers.

Mrs. Hubbard was the former Margaret Hopwood, a native of Pennsyl­vania, and the Hubbards have two sons: Douglass Hopwood and Roy Hopwood.

Mr. Hubbard was master of Madera Lodge of Masons in 1927; is a member of the Scottish Rite in Fresno, has been a member of both the Madera and the Fresno Lions clubs, is a life member of the National Educational Association and is a member of the California Teachers association and of the N. E. A. He is also a member of Phi Delta Kappa, educational fraternity.

M. S. MEEKER

Maurice Seibert Meeker is now beginning his third term as member of the California Assembly, the lower house of the legislature. In the first two he represented the district comprising the west side of Fresno County. Now, in his third term, for which he was chosen in August, 1932, he represents all of Fresno county outside the municipality of Fresno, under the new appor­tionment. While elected in the beginning as a “Farm Bureau” candidate, Mr. Meeker has so well represented the broad interests of the county that he has since received universal support from citizens of the county.

Mr. Meeker was born October 15, 1886, in McLean County, Illinois, the son of William W. and Elizabeth E. (Seibert.) Meeker, The family moved to California in 1919. The parents are now living in Fresno. Ezra Meeker, who blazed the Oregon trail, was a distant cousin.

Young Meeker attended school at Peoria, Illinois, then the Bradley Polytechnic Institute at Peoria, and for two and a half years took an agricultural course at the University of Illinois. his business experience was acquired in the manufacture and wholesale and retail handling of farm implements. He later engaged in general farming near Bloomington, Illinois, and was vice president of the Citizens State bank of Cropsey, near Bloomington.

Coming to Fresno county, in 1919, Mr. Meeker acquired a sixty-acre vine­yard in the Biola district, where he makes his home, and has a successful stand of Thompson Seedless grapes. For ten years he has been secretary of the Kerman Union High school. A Republican, in his three campaigns over his district for the legislature lie has won both party nominations. He is active in the Farm Bureau and is a member of the agricultural committee of the California State Chamber of Commerce, and chairman of the Assembly com­mittee on agriculture.

Mrs. Meeker was Clara Louise Hood, of Chicago, Illinois. There are Circe children: William M., Dorothy Margaret and Shirley Marie, the last twins. In college, Mr. Meeker was a member of the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity.

DR. C. L. HAMMAR

Dr. Chester Leonard Hammar is a native of Fresno county, born in 1889 at Kingsburg near the Kings river, and has now been practicing dentistry in the city of Fresno for eighteen years.

Dr. Hammar is the son of Christian and Caroline Hammar, both natives of Sweden. They came to this country on the some boat, but did not meet until later in San Francisco, where they were married. Forty-five years ago, the newly married couple cane to Parlier, this county, then known as Riverbend. Later, the family removed to Kingsburg, and finally to Del Rey. Dr. Hammar and his sister still own the old home place at Del Rey and also a farm at Biola, left to them by their parents. The father died in 1923; the mother lived until 1931, and at that time was the oldest member of their church at Kingsburg.

Young Hammar attended schools at Kingsburg and in the Prairie dis­trict, then the Sanger High school, and for a time attended business college. He worked three years for the old grocery firm of H. Graff & Co., Fresno, but anxious to become a dentist, he took the three year course in the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, and graduated in 1915. Since then he has practiced in Fresno, his office being in the Griffith-McKenzie building.

Dr. Hammar is married to Florence M. Marshall, daughter of the late Harry Marshall and granddaughter of S. W. Marshall, country treasurer from 1898 until 1906. They have one son, Marshall Harriman

Dr. Hammar is a member of the Riverside Golf club and of the American Dental association and the state and local societies.

ANDREW P. CARLSON

Andrew P. Carlson was a prominent resident of the Kingsburg district of Fresno county for forty-five years, an active church worker in the Lutheran organization and the first president of the Kingsburg High school board.

Mr. Carlson was born in Sweden, the son of Johan M. Carlson, and came to the United States with his father in 1865. They lived for three years in Illinois, then for twenty years in Iowa. In 1888, they came to Kingsburg, where Johan M. Carlson was the principal owner of the Carlson addition (named after him) to Kingsburg. He was a deeply religious man and gave much time to the interests of the Kingsburg church of his denomination.

Andrew P. Carlson was a farmer, and lived on his place three miles north­east of Kingsburg. He took considerable interest in politics.

Mr. Carlson was married to Caroline Ossman, and they had six children, all living in the Kingsburg vicinity: Anna A. (Mrs. C. G. Lindquist), John W., Ida (Mrs. Hall Theobald), William A., Emma C. (Mrs. P. H. Nordstrom), and Elmer E., the present justice of the peace and city judge at Kingsburg.

Andrew P. Carlson died August 28, 1928.

ELMER E. CARLSON

Judge Carlson is a native son of Kingsburg, who has been practicing law for seventeen years, and is now the justice of the peace of this township and city magistrate of Kingsburg.

He was born October 12, 1891, the son of Andrew P. and Caroline (Ossman) Carlson, referred to elsewhere in this book. Judge Carlson is a native of Tulare county, for he was born at the family home, three miles southeast of Kingsburg, which is across the Tulare county line. He attended the Harrison district school, on the Fresno county side of the line, and later the Kingsburg High school, being the first boy to graduate from the local high school. He had one year of academic training in the University of California and then received his LL. B. degree from the law department of the University of Michigan in 1915. During both high school and college days he took an active part in literary work (oratorical and debating) and in athletics, being interested in baseball, basketball and tennis.

Returning to California, he practiced law for four years, 1916-20, at Bishop, Inyo County. In the later year, he settled at Kingsburg and has been there ever since. Although thoroughly American, he has made a point of learning fluently his ancestral language, the Swedish, on account of the large, number of Swedish people in and around Kingsburg.

In civic affairs, Judge Carlson has been a director of the local chamber of commerce for twelve years, and president two years, and on the board of trustees of Kingsburg Junior High school for two terms.

Judge Carlson was married to Mabel M. Rolander, a native of McPherson, Kansas, and they have one daughter, Ivone Mae, born at Kingsburg.

Judge Carlson is a member of the Lutheran church, a member of the Kingsburg committee of the county Y. M. C. A. In 1925, he was master of Kingsburg Lodge of Masons, was a charter member of the Kiwanis club and for many years director thereof. He is also enrolled in the American Bar association and in the state and county bar association, and a charter member of the Kings River Golf club.

He was city attorney of Kingsburg for several years before he was elected as justice of the peace.

W. H. A. TRUXAW

William H. A. Truxaw, a fruit grower of Fresno county, joined the Pacific Fruit Exchange in 1.914, and has been Fresno district manager of the organization since 1919, the district including Tulare, Kings, Kern, Madera and Fresno counties. This is an organization formed in 1911 to handle only fresh deciduous fruits, packing and shipping on a consignment basis. Organized at Sacramento, it operates in all deciduous districts of the state except southern California, and maintains its head offices in. San Francisco.

Mr. Truxaw was born at Riverside, Iowa, in 1885. His father, Wencel J., and mother, Anna M. (Shradel), came to California in 1903, establishing themselves on a vineyard in Scandinavian colony, having purchased the old Lee Blasingame property. Young William attended the county schools and the Fresno High school, graduating there in 1906; he was at the University of California for two years. He then farmed with his father until 1914, and still retains a vineyard in the Clovis district.

Mr. Truxaw married Ladeam Goodenough, formerly of Selma. He is a member of the Catholic church, is affiliated with the Elks and the Knights of Columbus, and enjoys membership of the Sunnyside Country club, and of the University Sequoia club.

F J McCOLLUM

F. J. McCollum has been editor and publisher of the Coalinga Daily Record, the only daily paper in Fresno county outside the county seat, for the last fourteen years. He has been a leader in civic affairs, and was for a time police judge.

Fay James McCollum was born at Salinas, California, September 15, 1883, the son of Alfred James and Belle Janet McCollum. His father died at 83; his mother is still living at that age, at the house in Salinas where the editor was born. The McCollums date their lineage back to pre-Revolutionary days, being originally from New York state and migrating to Michigan and Illinois in the late Forties. His father moved to Salinas 55 years ago, engaged in business and served as tax collector and deputy assessor for about twenty years. Mrs. McCollum was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James H. McDougall, natives of Scotland, who settled in the Middle West. Her parents crossed the plains by ox caravan in 1853 and settled near the Carmel mission in Monterey county.

Young McCollum attended school in Salinas, but was forced to go to work early in the middle ‘Nineties, at 14. He found employment as apprentice sausage maker and butcher boy, followed the butcher business for four years, saving sufficient funds to take six months business course at San Jose. After this he was in the real estate business, then shipped for Alaska to the Bering sea fisheries, returning later to San Jose, where he became a reporter on the San Jose Times under the late Charles M. Shortridge, brother of Senator S. M. Shortridge. In February, 1910, he came to Coalinga to take a situation as city editor of the Coalinga Oil Record, the city then being at the peak of its first oil boom.

In 1914, Mr. McCollum moved back to Salinas to work on the Daily Journal; later in partnership with Paul P. Parker, he bought the Journal from Clarence Hedges. In 1.919, with his brother-in-law, Harrie M. Mason, then with the Fresno Republican printery, he bought the Coalinga Daily Record, having disposed of his interest in the Journal to Parker.

During his entire career, Mr. McCollum has taken it keen interest in civic welfare and charities, having become identified in that kind of work through. his activities with the San Jose Elks charity shows in San Jose from 1903 to 1910. He has served as an officer of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce continuously since 1919, and has been active in the Red Cross and other organizations. He is at present a member of the Coalinga Union High school board and of the district library board, of which he is secretary. He is also a member of the Republican State central committee. He was in the National Guard of California from 1900 to 1904. During the Great war he served as chair­man of fund drives for the Salvation Army and also on the Liberty Loan drives in Monterey county. He is now treasurer and member of the board of directors of the chamber of commerce, a member of the Community Welfare council, the vestry of the Episcopal church and of the community band.

Mr. McCollum was married on July 19, 1909, at Salinas to Bella T. Mason They have two sons and two daughters: Kristi Clair, Alfred James, Martha Elizabeth and John Morris McCollum. Mr. McCollum has been an Elk for twenty-six years.

JUSTICE C. R. BARNARD

Charles Robert Barnard, now presiding justice of the Fourth Appellate Court district of California, was born in Warrenville, Illinois, in 1881. He at­tended schools in Illinois, and, in 1904, secured his Ph. B. at Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa.

Three years later, having completed his law course at the University of Iowa, he came to Fresno, where he began law practice as a member of the firm of Barnard & Watters. This connection continued until 1925, when he was appointed by Governor Friend W. Richardson to fill a vacancy on the su­perior court bench of Fresno county. He was elected to this office in Novem­ber, 1926, for the unexpired term of his predecessor, and reelected in 1928 for a full six-year term.

In 1929 the state legislature created the Fourth Appellate Court district, running from Fresno to San Diego, with the exception of Los Angeles county. This court sits for four months each in Fresno, San Diego, and San Bernardino. Judge Barnard was appointed by Governor C. C. Young as the Fresno member of the court in September, 1929. In 1930 he was elected presiding justice.

Judge Barnard has taken an active part in public life in this county for many years. He was president of the Kiwanis club in 1922, has been president of the Fresno County Bar association, and for three years before going on the bench was president of the Fresno board of education. He belongs to Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M., all of the Scottish Rite bodies, the Shrine, the Woodmen of the World, and is a member of the First Congrega­tional church of Fresno.

Mrs. Barnard was Lillian Smith, a native of Iowa, and they have three children: Elizabeth, Robert, and Laura.

ALVA E. SNOW

Probably no career in Fresno has been more closely identified with civic life for a longer time than that of Alva E. Snow. He has been mayor of the city, district attorney, an active member of civic and fraternal organizations for years.

In his early life he was a public prosecutor in the days of the “wild and woolly” frontier life. As mayor twenty years ago, he was the “fatherof the municipal market.” Of late years he has been known specially for his encouragement of Sierra mountain development, the “Snow ranch” and its connected enterprises being a considerable factor in Fresno county life. During the Great I.var, Mr. Snow was the chairman of the exemption board of the city of Fresno.

Mr. Snow’s ancestry is closely connected with the record of Plymouth, Massachusetts, and he was the first member of the family to settle in another part of the United States. Nicholas Snow, an ancestor, married Constance Hopkins, who came over on the Mayflower in 1620. In succeeding generations the men have been farmers, seafarers and merchants. Mr. Snow’s father was Harvey and his mother Bridget (Marron), a native of Ireland, she living to an advanced age with her son in this city.

Mr. Snow was born at Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, October 13, 1860, and had his early schooling in Mattapoisett in Plymouth county, then graduated from Tufts college with an A. B. degree, and from Harvard Law school with LL. B. He was admitted to practice in Massachusetts, but came to San Francisco in 1889 and to Fresno on :January 1, 1891 ; and has practiced here continuously since. During this period he was associated with but one law partner, G. C. Freman, with whom he was connected for 20 years.

In 1.892, Firman Church, a former Democrat, was elected district attorney in this, hitherto solid Democratic county, on a fusion Republican and Populist ticket. He made Mr. Snow one of his deputies in 1893, and in November, 1894, Mr. Snow was elected to succeed as district attorney on a straight Republican ticket. He was the first Republican district attorney in this county, serving for four years. During this period he prosecuted members of the Sontag and Evans gang of train robbers and many other notorious offenders. He did not seek re-election in 1898.

In 1909, Mr. Snow was elected to the board of city trustees from the eighth ward, the territory south of Ventura street; became the chairman pro­tem. of the board and on the death of Dr. Chester Rowell, in April, 1912, was chosen by his fellow trustees to succeed the latter as mayor. In April, 1913, Mr. Snow was elected mayor for a full term, defeating A. L. Hobbs in the race. Among the notable acts of his administration was the establishment of the Public Market, still being maintained by the city at the same location on the northly frontage of the courthouse park.

Among other services to the city of Fresno in which Mr. Snow takes pride is his membership of the first library board, when it was established in 1894. He has been several times chairman of the Republican County Central committee and has also served on the state committee of which he is a member at the present time.

Mrs. Snow was Dora P. Colson, also from Massachusetts. They were mar­ried in Fresno December 12, 1891, but knew each other in childhood in the East. Mr. Snow is a charter member of the University-Sequoia club, is a charter member and past exalted ruler of the Elks Lodge, No. 439, a charter member and past consul commander of the Woodmen of the World, a Mason and a member of the state and local bar associations, and attends the First Congregationalist church.

W. G. MILHOLLAND, M. D.

Dr. William George Milholland has been practicing in Fresno for twelve years, coming here immediately after the Great war. In that contest, as one of the first 2000 American medical officers sent to France, he became attached to a Scottish regiment, the 11th Royal Scotch Infantry, and won the British Military Cross for distinguished service under fire. He returned to the United States with the rank of captain. In his practice in Fresno, Dr. Milholland specializes as a radiologist.

Dr. Milholland was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, July 3, 1893, the son of Dr. William Henry and Cornelia (Von Per Heide) Milholland. His parents now live in Fresno. His father practiced medicine in New Orleans for many years. Dr. Milholland attended New Orleans, San Francisco and Oakland schools, and then went to Vanderbilt and later to Tulane University, New Orleans. He played football in both colleges, being an end.

Receiving his M. D. degree in 1916, he served for a time as interne at the Presbyterian hospital, New Orleans, and engaged in general practice in that city for about three years.

Dr. Milholland came to Fresno in 1921, where he was radiologist and radium therapeutist at the Burnett sanitarium for two and a half years. Since 1923, he has been engaged in private practice and has a complete x-ray and radium equipment.

Dr. Milholland was married in Oakland to Margery Myra Howkins, and they have one daughter, Margery Howkins

In Masonry, Dr. Milholland is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M., of Fresno Commandery, Knights Templar and the Shrine. He belongs to the Elks, and to the American Legion, the Sunny-side Country club, the Radiological Society of North America, the American Medical association and the state and county medical societies. In Vanderbilt University he was a Kappa Sigma and Phi Beta Pi, the latter a medical fraternity.

JOHN D. MORGAN, JR., M. D.

District surgeon for the Southern Pacific Railroad for the last ten years, Dr. John D. Morgan, Jr., is a native of Fresno who has earned a prominent place in his profession.

Dr. Morgan is the son of John D. and Mary Louise (Hartsough) Morgan. His father, a native of Georgia, came to Fresno in 1883, has been farmer and business man, and was once city marshal under the old trustee system of city government and was the first chief of police under the first charter, 1901-4, by appointment of L. O. Stephens. Dr. Morgan’s mother was a native of California, born at Redwood City.

Dr. Morgan was born October 16, 1889, attended Fresno High school and graduated from Vanderbilt University with a degree of M. D. in 1913. Returning to Fresno shortly afterward, he became resident superintendent of the Fresno county hospital, which position he held from 1914 to 1921. Since then he has been in private practice, giving special attention to gynecology and surgery.

He is a member of the staffs of St. Agnes, Burnett and Fresno General hospitals, being a member of the board of directors of the Burnett, and as­sociate surgeon in gynecology at the General hospital. He is a member of the Fresno County Medical society and the California State and American Medi­cal associations, and is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

Mrs. Morgan was Hazel Elizabeth Beall, daughter of George W. Beall, formerly chairman of the board of supervisors of Fresno county. The Mor­gans have two children : John Davison and Elizabeth Ann, both born in Fresno. Dr. Morgan is a,Mason, member of the Scottish Rite and Islam Shrine, and member of the Sunnyside Country club.

G. P, VINCENT

George Paul Vincent is president of the Fresno County Farm Bureau, has been a director in the California Raisin Pool and has been active in public farm matters for the last ten years or more.

Mr. Vincent is the son of Manuel and Laura (Paul) Vincent, born November 15, 1890, at Selma. His father was a. native of the Azores islands, who was brought to Mariposa county, California, by his widowed mother in 1871. Manuel Vincent first; located at Selma in 1887, starling as a blacksmith and developing his business into a general implement trade, lie became interested in the First National bank, of which he became president, and helped organize the Selma Savings bank, of which he also was president. Associated with his son, Paul, he followed the real estate and insurance business for many years as well as farming on a large scale.

Paul Vincent was educated in the Selma schools, and then secured the degree of M. D. C. from the Chicago Veterinary college. Returning to California, be practiced his profession for two years at Turlock and at Selma, then associated himself with his father’s farming and real estate business.

He is at present engaged in farming to the extent of looking after his late father’s properties in various parts of California, in Los Angeles, Fresno and Stanislaus counties.

He is married to Eleanor Bellamy, a native of Missouri, mid they have four children: Paula, Phyllis, Laura Jane and Patricia. Mr.Viucent is a past master of the Selma Lodge of Masons, and a member of the Loyal Arch Masons. He is also a member of the Selma Community club.

ROBERT H. EDGERTON

Robert, H. Edgerton of the Fresno Book Shop, operates the only exclu­sive book store in Fresno, and has been for many years a specialist in rare and Western publications.

Mr. Edgerton was born in Chicago in 1882, the son of Henry Lloyd and Harriet McIntyre Edgerton. Cooperstown, Pennsylvania, was named after a maternal ancestor who served in the Revolutionary war. The Edgertons were of English descent. His father was a commission grain broker in Chicago. The grandfather, Henry Kirk Edgerton, was a banker in Wisconsin. Mr. Edger­ton was educated at the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Mr. Edgerton came to Fresno in 1919 and established the Fresno Book Shop, first on Tulare street and later locating at 1359 Fulton street, with the largest book store in the San Joaquin Valley, having between 40,000 and 50,000 volumes in stock. He also has a ranch of 880 acres in Mariposa county.

He married Elvyn Turpin, and they have one daughter: Marion.

Mr. Edgerton is a Blue Lodge Mason, a member of the Sigma Chi college fraternity, and of the California Historical society, the Fresno County Historical society, the League of Western Writers, and Academy of Political Science.

S. M. COOPER

S. M. Cooper came to Fresno twenty-two years ago, and died eleven years ago, but in that time established a name, a family, and a business that have continued as a notable feature of Fresno life. The Young Men’s Christian association, in which he was deeply interested, was specially indebted to his activity, and the association camp at Lake Sequoia was dedicated to him.

S. M. Cooper was born in Hamilton county, Ohio, December 11, 1878, the son of Thomas and Emma Cooper. He attended schools in Kansas City, and then started work in that city at the age of eighteen. Entering into the employ of Burnham, Howard & Munger, wholesale dry goods, he traveled as a salesman for them and in 1930 made his headquarters at Los Angeles, for this firm.

In 1911, Mr. Cooper came to Fresno and bought the small department store of Ibers & Co., then located on the west side of Fulton street, near Kern.

Here he gradually increased the business until his untimely death June 8, 1922. His widow then took the business in charge and continued to develop it. When the Brix building on Fulton, between Fresno and Merced streets, was com­pleted, “Cooper’s” took over the entire ground floor, basement and mez­zanine.

Mr. Cooper was one of the first members of the Rotary club of Fresno, in which he was much interested. He was a director of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, and vice president of the Fresno Y. M. C. A.

His wife was Anne Gould of Livermore, California. There are three children: Toni H. Cooper, who is advertising manager of Cooper’s; joint Stanley Cooper, and Elizabeth Anne.

HENRY HAWSON

After spending many years as an active newspaper man, Henry Rawson studied law, reached a position of note in the Fresno county bar, and of late years has been active in the movements in California determining public attitudes toward the oil industry. He was for four years member of the state legislature from the City of Fresno district. Mrs. Hawson, whom he married in 1901, was formerly Elsie M. Tade of Berkeley. Mrs. Hawson has considerable musical talent and has shared actively in promotion of musical and art interests in Fresno.

Mr. Hawson was born in Sheffield, England, and came to the United States in 1888. Ile located first in Oregon, then for a time was in British Columbia, where he served as city editor of the Victoria Times for several years. Returning. to California, he was on the staff of the San Francisco Call, and then went to Fresno in 1900. He was first with the Fresno Evening Democrat as an editorial writer and then for sonic years was on the staff of the Fresno Morning Republican, becoming a feature writer. During this period he studied law privately, and was admitted to the bar January, 1907. Ever since he has continued to maintain all office in Fresno.

Mr. Hawson was a deputy in the district attorney’s office, under Denver S. Church, now member of Congress, and later was assistant under M. F. MeCormick. In 1914 and again in 1916, he was elected to the State Assembly, where he concerned himself specially with industrial matters. He obtained the Democratic nomination for Congress from the San Joaquin Valley district, in 1918 but was defeated by Henry E. Barbour.

Early interesting himself in petroleum exploration, Mr. Rawson invested in land in the Kettleman hills area shortly after coming to this county. He was one of the incorporators of the Elsinore Oil company, of which he was secretary until 1928 and since then president. He has also been associated with other companies, and in the last few years has given much time to the activities of independent oil companies in fighting for their share of the market. He has served as director of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce several tern m, is a member of the Fresno Commercial and the University-Sequoia clubs, and has associated himself with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and has been consul commander of the Woodmen of the World. He is a charter member of the Kiwanis club of Fresno and is a past lieutenant governor of the California-Nevada district.

SIDNEY J. SHANNON

Sid Shannon is one of the most widely known men in Fresno county. His maternal grandfather, Judge Cilium Daley, was a pioneer of the Fifties, and his father, Jefferson M. Shannon, came across the plains from Missouri in 1850, Sid Shannon has been a deputy marshal for the division of the U. S. District Court session at Fresno since March, 1914, having been appointed by President Woodrow Wilson and has served continually ever since. Mr. Shannon is probably among the few deputy marshals in the United States who has been in office -under both Democratic and Republican Administrations.

Sidney J. Shannon was born at Millerton, then the county seat of Fresno county, August 27, 186S, the son of Jefferson M. and Rebecca (Haley) Shannon. His mother was the first school teacher in the county. His father was deputy sheriff for many years. His parents were both from Missouri, his mother being brought across the plains be her parents in 1854. Tier father was county judge, 1867-80. The family moved to Fresno from Millerton when the county seat was changed in 1874.

Sidney Shannon attended school in Fresno, and in Oakland. Then, from 1881 to 1888, he was in the employ of Miller & Lux  on the west side of the valley. In 1889, he went to San Francisco, and was twelve years in the employ of the Pacific Improvement company, an auxiliary of the Central and Southern Pacific railroad. He then returned to Fresno, anal for nine years more was with the Miller & Lux organization, in charge of their land department.

As deputy U. S. mars-hal, Mr. Shannon has had jurisdiction over the northern division of the Southern District of California, since 1911. Mrs. Shannon was formerly Mrs. Olga Eason. Mr. Shannon has a daughter by a previous marriage, Mrs. Marie Ostruin of Fresno.

Mr. Shannon is among the oldest members of the Native Sons of the Golden West at Fresno. He at one time served as president of the Halcyon Parlor. He is a member of the Elks, and of Masonic bodies, including the Shrine.

OTTO P. DIEDERICH, II. D.

Dr. Otto P. Diederich is a skin specialist, who has been engaged in practice in Fresno for the last ten years. A veteran of the World war, lie came to this city shortly after the completion of hospital internship in Chicago, San Diego and San Francisco.

Otto Peter Diederich was born in Madison, Wisconsin, August 29, 1895, the son of Michael and Matilda (Grimm) Diederich. He attended schools in Wisconsin, obtained his bachelor’s degree at the University of Wisconsin, and then went to Rush Medical college, for his medical education and M. D. degree.

While at this latter institution, Dr. Diederich enlisted in the Medical Corps of the U. S. Army.

After the war, Dr. Diederich continued his medical education, and then came West, settling at Fresno in 1923, where he has made his home ever since. For the first five years he was engaged in general practice, in associa­tion with Drs. Adams, Craycroft and Staniford.

In 1928, Dr. Diederich began to devote himself exclusively to dermatology. In 1928, he attended the N. Y, Skin and Cancer hospital, and in 1929-30, took post-graduate work in the dermatological clinic, Stanford University, and continues to be associated intermittently at that clini6. He is a member of the San Francisco Dermatological society, of the American Medical as­sociation, and of the California and Fresno county societies.

In 1928, Dr. Diederich was married to Mildred Anton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Anton of Fresno. They have one daughter, Susan Elizabeth.

Dr. Diederich is a member of the American Legion, the University-Sequoia club and the Sunnyside Country club.

Dr. Diederich has taken much interest in art and is a sculptor of some merit. For this reason he was specially interested in service, during the term of Mayor A. E. Sunderland, as a member of the Frank H. Short Memorial Home commission.

 

WILLIAM HERBERT SHAFER.

William Herbert Shafer was born in the village (now city) of Stockton, California, March 15, 1861. His father was born in the State of Pennsylvania, and his mother was a native of the State of New York. His parents came to California during the early Fifties as a part of the great migration in search of gold. He spent his boyhood on a ranch in Sacramento county near Rio Vista on the Sacramento. He went through the usual experience of a husky boy in a pioneer country. He attended the public schools of his neighborhood, and attended Heald’s school of engineering, conducted by A. Vander Nailen & Son in San Francisco. He also took a course in business training at Heald’s Business College.

He came to Fresno county in September, 1881, and soon after became interested in irrigation management and construction. During all of his life in the San Joaquin Valley he has been engaged in irrigation canal manage­ment as superintendent, engineer, or corporation director.

For the last eleven years he has served as a director of the Consolidated Irrigation district, irrigating the country around his home town, Selma.

This district irrigates 150,000 acres of land in Fresno, Tulare and Kings counties.

He has a family of five children, all grown and in homes of their own in or near Selma.

His fraternal affiliations are with the Native Sons of the Golden West and with the Masonic order. He is a member of Selma Lodge, No. 277, P. & A. M. and of Selma Chapter, No. 144, Royal. Arch Masons.

During the past few years his attention has been especially given to the adjustment of the different claims to water from Kings river, and the equitable division of such waters.

HANS R. SUMPF

Hans R. Sumpf is president of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce and for nearly twenty years has been active in this community, not only as an oil - producer on his own behalf but as a promoter of community interests. Among his many acts of public interest has been to donate a building for the meeting place of the Coalinga Boy Scouts.

Hans R. Sumpf was born at Cassel, Germany, April 28, 1885, and came to the United States about 20 years ago. For a year and a half he lived in Tulare county, and then removed to Coalinga, where he first worked for various companies, and ultimately began operating on his own account.

He is n ow president of the South Coalinga Oil company, vice president and manager of the South Dome Oil company, owns much valuable oil land and has numerous leases.

As president of the Coalinga chamber of commerce in which he has been active for several years, Mr. Sumpf has been specially interested in promoting roads in his part of the Fresno county. He is district chairman of the Boy Scout organization, is chairman of the Scout committee and a member of the Boy Scout Regional board.

Mr. Sumpf married Sophie Meinecke; they have three children: Hans Carl, Gretchen and Herman Robert Sumpf.

MANSON F. McCORMICK

Judge M. F. McCormick is a native son of California who has been dis­trict attorney of Fresno county and a judge on the superior bench. A leading practitioner for many years, he graduated from the local schools, in­cluding the Fresno High school and from Stanford University.

Manson Fielding McCormick was horn on a farm near Woodland, Yolo county, May 19, 1874, the youngest of nine children of Christopher .Crider and Martha Elizabeth (Sloan) McCormick. His parents both came overland from Missouri in the days of the covered wagon and located at Knights Landing in Yolo county. His father was a merchant and farmer who died when the subject of this sketch was an infant. The family came to Fresno county in 1890, and settled at Easton in Washington colony.

After graduation from Fresno High school in 1895, young McCormick taught school for two years and then entered Stanford University, where he graduated in 1902, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He continued the study of law alone, which he had begun at Stanford, and was admitted to the bar and began practice in Fresno in 1905.

Upon the election of Denver S. Church as district attorney in 1906, Mr. McCormick was appointed deputy, and continued in this position until late in 1912, when Mr. Church was elected to Congress, and resigned his local position. Then Mr. McCormick was appointed district attorney by the supervisors to fill the vacancy. He was subsequently elected to a regular term in this office in 1914, for four years, and in 1918 he was elected to judge of the superior court. In 1921, after three and a half years of service, he resigned to return to private practice.

Judge McCormick has taken an active interest in public affairs; he is a member of the Kiwanis club; Fresno Lodge of Elks and is a member of the board of governors of Fresno State College Foundation ; and is a trustee of the Central California Commercial College.

Mrs. McCormick, who was Elizabeth Peckham of -Watsonville, is a grad­uate of Stanford University, and before marriage taught in Fresno High school. She has served as member of the board of education of Fresno, and is president of the Fresno Parthenon. She and Mr. McCormick have five children: Sloan P., Manson F. Jr., both graduates of Stanford University, Henry, Evan and Elizabeth, all born in Fresno.

WILLIAM H. SATCHELL

William H. Satchell is the manager as well as one-third owner of A. P. May Inc., oldest and largest store in Coalinga. He is also director of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce and one of the active citizens in community work.

Mr. Satchell was born in London, England, January 12, 1887, the son of Judge George W. and Mary Law (May) Satchell. His parents came to Coalinga in 1909, while the son was still in England. The mother, Mrs. Satchel’ was the sister of A. P. May, founder of A. P. May & Co.

Young Satchell attended Adept’s school in London, then entered the export business with the firm of John Duthie Ltd., in their London office. In 1910, he decided to locate in New Zealand, but came by way of California to visit his parents, and finding conditions attractive, stayed in here in Fresno county.

He was with the Bank of Coalinga for six years, and when the Great war came, Mr. Satchel’ joined the quartermaster’s corps and was commissioned second lieutenant. He was stationed at Newport News and Jacksonville, Florida, for some months, and then was sent overseas and spent a year in France.

Returning to Coalinga at the close of the war, Mr. Satchell became manager and secretary-treasurer of A. P. May Inc. He is also a member of the advisory board of the Coalinga branch of the Security-First National of Los Angeles.

Mr. Satchell. married Emma Vale, formerly of Colchester, England, and they have cue one son William Hobart in Coalinga.

C. L. McLANE

Charles L. McLane is the Nestor of Fresno educators. Founder of the Fresno Normal school and of the Fresno State college, lie has been principal of Fresno High school, city superintendent of the Fresno schools and president of the California state board of education.

Charles Laurie McLane was born in Scotland county, Missouri, April 4, 1862, the son of Daniel and Drusilla (Bennett) McLane. His parents were both natives of Virgina. His father was a farmer.

After attending schools in Missouri and Iowa, and the Scotland County Academy, he became a student at Valparaiso University, :Indiana, from which he received his B. S. degree in .1887. He has also taken post graduate work at the University of California, Harvard, and University of Chicago. During. his college career, he taught schooll part of the time, and also studied law privately. In 1883, he came to California and for the first time visited Fresno. For a year he practiced law at Memphis, Missouri.

In 1.891, Mr. McLane located at Fresno and for a period was in the law office of Sayle Caldwell, leading attorneys at that time. He was then elected principal of the Central grammar school, afterwards known as the Hawthorne or “White” school. He next went to Virginia City, Nevada, where he was superintendent of schools for three years, 1893-1896. In the latter year, Mr. McLane was elected principal of the Fresno High school, in which posi­tion he continued until in 1900 when he was chosen superintendent of schools to succeed M. E. Dailey.

About 1905, citizens of Fresno became very active in calling upon the State of California to establish a normal, school in this part of the common­wealth and in 1911, a measure was passed by the legislature permitting the founding of such a school under the direction of the Fresno school authorities. For two years, the normal school was carried on in the high school building, with Mr. McLane as president as well as city superintendent. In 1913, the Legislature provided for buildings, grounds were donated in the north part of the city, and Mr. McLane resigned from the lower schools to give his attention solely to the teachers’ college. From 1913 to 1927, he was the executive of the institution. In the meantime, in 1921, the Legislature provided for a transformation of the normal schools into state teachers’ colleges, with enlarged functions, and the Fresno State College was thus provided for. The state college grew from a beginning of 150 as a normal school to an enrollment of about 1200 when Mr. McLane resigned as president in 1927.

In 1910, while city superintendent, Mr. McLane organized here the first junior college in the state of California, an institution that was finally merged into the teachers’ college, though it is still organically a separate institution. Since 191.0 this junior college movement has spread all over the United States, amply justifying the pioneering effort here.

Shortly after resigning from the position of president of the state college, Mr. McLane was appointed, by Governor Young, a member of the state board of education, and he served as president of this board for six years, resigning in the summer of 1932. He is now connected with the James Boring Co., Foreign Travel Agency, of New York City.

Mrs. McLane, formerly Demma F. Best, and Mr. McLane were married in the east. Mrs. McLane passed away about two years ago. Yr. MeLtifle, has one daughter, Marguerite, (Mrs. R. B. Harris.).

In Masonry, Mr. McLane is a member of the Knights Templar and of the Scottish Rite and of the Shrine, and is a past master of Fresno Lodge No. 247, F. and A. M. He is a member of the Phi Delta Kappa honorary educational fraternity.

Mr. McLane’s most recent public service has been as chairman of the Fresno county board of freeholders, which drafted a county charter to submit to the voters and the Legislature, and which was adopted.

F. A. HOMAN

Frank Andrew Homan has the oldest and largest sporting goods store in the San Joaquin Valley, established in Fresno for thirty-three years.

Mr. Homan was born at Mayfield, Santa. Clara county, California, May 29, 1875, the son of Jacob and Kathryn Homan. Ills father had a shoe store in Fresno in early days of Fresno. Both parents were natives of Germany. The family moved to Fresno in 1883. As a boy, Frank worked for the first “Fresno Tribune;” (there have been three papers of the name in Fresno), operating a Washington hand press. After graduating from the Fresno High school in 1893, he worked as a reporter on the Fresno Morning Republican for several years.

Mr. Homan’s first mercantile experience was with the firm of Donahoe, Emmons & Co., on I street, where he worked for two and a half ,years, then he became assistant postmaster by appointment of Postmaster John W. Short, and was in that office until 1903. in this year, Mr. Homan entered the sport­ing goods business. He joined the firm of Gregory & Co., purchasing an interest in the business, and in 1906 he bought the entire stock, and changed the name to Homan & Co.

The firm was originally on Mariposa street near Van Ness, and only re­cently has moved to a new location at 1249 Fulton street.

Mr. Homan has always been interested in outdoor life and has done much to promote interest in outdoor sports. In public affairs, Mr. Homan was for a number of years director of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, serving as vice president; he was also a term president of the Merchants association. He has been chairman of the Salvation Army advisory board for the last ten years; he was one of the organizers of the Community Chest and was for a time the president, and also has served as president of the Fresno City board of education.

Mr. Homan is married to Sarah E. Chance, daughter of the late Harvey Chance. Mrs. Mary Chance is still living in Fresno at the age of eighty. She came to California in a covered wagon, and her father was one of the large wheat farmers of the state in the early days. Mrs. Homan was born in Fresno; her brother, Frank Chance, famous in baseball history, was born in Stanislaus county.

Mr. Homan is a charter member of the Sunny side Country club, and has been secretary for the past fifteen years. In Masonry, he is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, he is a Knight Templar and a member of the Scottish Rite, and Islam Shrine. He was one of the early presidents of, the Native Sons parlor in Fresno. During the war, Mr. Homan was president of the Fresno county defense council.

W. J. AVERY, M. D.

Dr. W. J. Avery has been practicing medicine in Fresno for the past fourteen years. Much of his time has been given in recent years to insurance examinations, and he is now examiner for about thirty companies, including the New York Life, the Metropolitan and the Equitable. He is also medical examiner for the Life Extension Institute of America,

Dr. Avery was born at Rumney, New Hampshire, December 20, 1887, the son of Stephen and Mary (Steele) Avery. His father was in the optical business. Young Avery attended the local schools, including high school, then at­tended St, Louis University, school of Medicine, where he received his M. D. degree in 1916. Following this he was interne at the St. Louis city hospital for a year.

Twelve days after war was declared, in 1917, Dr. Avery enlisted as a U. S. Navy medical officer, and was stationed at Mare Island, California, where he also acted as athletic director.

Resigning at the end of the war, Dr. Avery decided on Fresno as his future home, and came here in 1919.

Dr. Avery is a member of Sun Garden Lodge, No. 530, F and A. M. and of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., and belongs to the Sunnyside Country club.

Mrs. Avery was Sara Danforth of Norway, Maine. There is one daughter, Jean, born in San Francisco, California.

DR. FRANK P. GRIFFIN

Dr. Frank P. Griffin has been practicing dentistry in Fresno for ten years, and has lived in this county since boyhood.

He was born in Rocky Mount, North Carolina, April 2, 1897, the son of W. O. and Rosa (Wilkins) Griffin. He came to Fowler with his mother in 1901, where Mrs. Griffin had relatives. He attended the Fowler schools, and entered what was at the time the Fresno Normal school, later the Fresno State College, and he was a member of the first class to graduate from the present buildings in 1917.

War interrupted his schooling. He enlisted in the 81st Field Artillery, Eighth Division, and served overseas as corporal. Returning to his home state, he attended the University of California dental college, and graduated with D. D. S. in 1923.

Dr. Griffin is married to Mary Ellen Norton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs.H. E. Norton and granddaughter of the late C. S. Pierce. Dr. and Mrs. Griffin have two children: Donald and Richard, both born in Fresno.

Dr. Griffin is a member of the American Dental association and of the state and local societies. He is also a member of the Kiwanis club, of Las Palmas Lodge of Masons, No. 366, of the American Legion and of the First Presbyterian church of Fresno.

J. T. S. CLARK

J. T. S. Clark is the owner of the Sanger Plumbing House, which sup­plies a large area with plumbing service and pumping outfits for farming and industrial use. Mr. Clark is active in Sanger public affairs, and is chair­man of the local advisory board of the Bank of America, and a member of the city council.

John Thomas Salisbury Clark was born at Burton on Trent, England, June 15, 1883, the son of John and Mary Ann (Salisbury) Clark. His father was a member of Scotland Yard for a number of years, and made several trips to the United States, and Canada. Young Clark attended schools in Eng­land and Scotland.

In 1900, he came to this country, and settled first at San Jose, where he spent two years. When only nineteen years of age, he came to Fresno county, going to Millwood into the employ of the Sanger Lumber company. For twelve years he was chief engineer of that company, and finally superintendent.

In 1916, Mr. Clark left the lumber company, and in association with Will­iam F. Jones, afterwards sheriff of Fresno county, lie established the Sanger Plumbing House in 1915. Of this lie is now the sole owner. The present building was erected in 1920, as the commodious headquarters of the sheet metal, plumbing and pump business.

Mrs. Clark was Laura May Bryant. There are two children: Jack Bry­ant Clark and Ashley Oliver Clark.

In the course of his public activity, Mr. Clark has been president of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce ; and he is a member of the Kiwanis club. In Masonry, he is a member of the Scottish Rite Consistory and of the Shrine.

J. C. HINTON

John Clarence Hinton is manager of the Fresno Plumbing Supply com­pany, the largest wholesale plumbing house in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. Hinton was born at Vandalia, Missouri, January 15, 1888, son of J. S. and Margaret (Hobbs) Hinton. His mother now resides in Kerman, Fresno county. He lived in Pike county, Missouri from the age of five until 21 years of age, when he came to California.

Reaching Fresno county in 1909, young Hinton started with the Santa Fe company, then worked for a time for the Fresno Consumers Ice Co.; this was followed by a year with the Sugar Pine company at a logging camp. His first experience with the plumbing business was with Victor Cox in 1912, and in 1914 he joined the Fresno Plumbing Supply company.

Mr. Hinton has given much attention and interest to civic affairs. He has served as president of the Commercial club, and as a director of the Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the Rotary club. In Masonry, he was master of his lodge, Las Palmas, No. 366, in Fresno, California; he also has served the Scottish Rite officially. He is a member of the Odd Fellows and the Elks, and he has taken part in the affairs of the Merchants association and of the Traffic association. His religious affiliation is with the Christian church.

On August 27, 1913, he married Catherine McAlpine, and they have two daughters: Catherine and Virginia.

GEORGE P. MORAN

.A varied life that connects up both with the successful past of California and the successful present in Fresno county is that of George P. Moran, a farmer living between Reedley and Parlier.

Mr. Moran was born in San Francisco on July 6, 1874; his parents were John and Joyce (Holland) Moran. His mother was born in New York, his fa­ther in Ireland. The latter came to Placerville in 1856, mined for four years, then going to San Francisco returned to his old trade of marble cutting. He cut the monument erected to the memory of Thomas Starr King, Unitarian clergyman whose oratory for the Union was a feature of Civil war controversies in California. Moran was one of the three men who worked on this notable monument, located at the Unitarian church, corner of Franklin and Geary streets, San Francisco.

As a boy, the subject of this sketch attended the San Francisco public schools, later entering the service of the U. S. postal department, where he remained for fourteen years. At the time he resigned, he was foreman of carriers of Station A, San Francisco,

Mr. Moran came to Reedley in 1912, and he planted 160 acres in the Riverbend district to grapes and a variety of fruit, developing the raw land. He now lives on a 90 acre place, which, with the 160 acres above mentioned, was a part of a great wheat field which formerly belonged to his father-in-law.

Mr. Moran was married to Elizabeth Stanton, daughter of Michael E. and Margaret Stanton. Michael E. Stanton came to Visalia to accept a position in the government land office, when Visalia was still a Spanish settlement. He later became a very large land owner in the Reedley section, having had at one time 6000 acres. The Morass have three children: Joyce, George Richard, and Ruth Elizabeth. Mr. Moran is a member of the Catholic church, of the Woodmen of the World and of the Knights of Columbus and is an active member in the Fresno County Farm Bureau.

J. G. FERGUSON

The name of J. G. Ferguson is nearly synonymous with that of Clovis, for the home in which he has lived for forty years was the first residence built in Clovis; he has been mayor of the city, president of the local chamber of commerce, postmaster, and is president of the Clovis Lumber company. But furthermore, Mr. Ferguson’s life was intertwined with one of the great early projects of this county, the Fresno Flume and Irrigation enterprise.

James Gordon Ferguson was born in Liverpool, England, May 31, 1861, the descendant on both sides of Scottish families from Stirlingshire and Ayrshire. He was schooled at Liverpool, including the Northern Institute and then for six years was with the Bank of Liverpool. His health failing, he decided to venture in the colonies, and spent the next four years in Australia in the shipping business. There he was married to Ada Florence Bond, of Ballarat, descendant of a family from Cornwall, England.

The Fergusons decided to come to the United States in 1886, were for a time in San Francisco, then in Humboldt county and then in San Diego, where Mr. Ferguson first became interested in lumber. This was in 1887, the year of the big boom all over California. He next went to Puget Sound for a San Francisco lumber firm, to represent them there. He subsequently joined the Puget Sound Lumber company and was sent in 1891 to Fresno as head accountant for the San Joaquin Valley Lumber company, their local subsidiary.

This was the time when the first pressure of demand for lumber began to force entry into the Sierras of central California. Smith & Moore had been for a few years lumbering in what is now thought of as the General Grant park country. Capital became interested in the promotion of similar enterprises on Pine Ridge and the Stephenson creek country, and formed the Fresno Flume and Irrigation company, of which Mr. Ferguson became manager in 1893. This corporation built the flume that transported lumber from the mill at Shaver lake past Tollhouse to the flume terminal at Clovis. The original idea was that the water as thus accumulated would be used first for the flume and then to establish irrigation rights. However, prior water right owners prevented this, and the name of the corporation was later changed, in 1907, to the Fresno Flume and Lumber company. This lasted until 1912, when, the interests were sold to the Fresno Flume and Lumber company of Nevada, headed by Ira B. Bennett, formerly with the Hume-Bennett Lumber company of Sanger. In 1921, the lumber in the producing area being fairly well exhausted, the territory involved was taken over by the Southern California Edison company, as a part of its watershed.

In 1928, Mr. Ferguson, who had continued to manage the Clovis office during these changes of ownership, formed the Clovis Lumber company, of which he is president, taking ever the local business, the mills and the fifty-five acres of land, attached. The mills were dismantled, and the acreage is used now for a golf course. Mr. Ferguson has charge of the Edison company’s lumber interests.

In public service, Mr. Ferguson is now a veteran. He has served two terms on the municipal board, of which he was chairman and ex-officio mayor. He was on the school board fourteen years, postmaster over ten years, president of the chamber, of commerce for several years.

Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson have one daughter, Ada II., who is married to Luther William Bahney, a former instructor at Stanford university. The Bahneys now live at Elizabeth, New Jersey, and have two daughters. Mr. Ferguson is a member of the Clovis Lodge of Masons, of the York and the Scottish Rite Masons at Fresno, of Islam Temple, of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, of the Fraternal Brotherhood, and is a charter member of the Wood­men of the World at Fresno. He is also enrolled with the University-Sequoia club, the Lions club, and Union League club of Sail Francisco.

JARVIS STREETER

For many years the subject of this sketch was known in Fresno as Jarvis Streeter, Jr., because his father was well known as one of the first settlers in Mariposa county, au early explorer of the Yosemite Valley and a man of distinction in central California. But the younger man has for 40 years been an active citizen of Fresno, interested in civic life and connected continually with the same line of professional attainment. As the organizer of the San Joaquin Abstract company in 1907, he became the secretary and manager and has continued such for twenty-five years.

Mr. Streeter was born in Mariposa county October Li, 1869. His mother was Eliza Jane Cochran, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. His father, Jarvis Streeter, was from Albany, New York, had fought in the Mexican war, re­turned to New York, then came to California in 1850. He employed himself in mining and at the time of his son’s birth was superintendent of the ()Id Mariposa mine which closed in 1870. Elected county clerk of Mariposa in 1874, he was re-elected five times, continuing until 1886.

The subject of this sketch came to Fresno in 1888 and worked in Stuart S. Wright’s abstract office for three years. In 1891, he joined the Fresno County Abstract Co., continuing there until 190’1, when the San Joaquin Abstract company was formed, which is now the only locally owned and independent abstract office in this county. Mr. Streeter has followed the abstract and title business longer than any one else in Fresno, and is one of the oldest abstract men in point of service in the entire state.

Mr. Streeter was married to Alice Fleming, also born in Mariposa county, the daughter of Russell Fleming, the first postmaster of Fresno. There are two sons: Dr. Millard J. Streeter of Oakland and Eugene J. Streeter of Fresno.

Mr. Streeter is a past master of Las Palmas Lodge of Masons and a mem­ber of the Scottish Rite.

T. C. WHITE

There is a man living in Fresno now whose life exactly covers the existence of California as a state of the Union, and whose active years coincided with the development of the city of Fresno. This man is T. C. White. He is in his eighty-third year, in the home at the corner of Calaveras and I streets, (Broadway) where he has lived for the last half century. The record of the re­lationship of Mr. White to this community is too long to be summarized, and must be given here in chronological order.

Truman Calvin White was born on Washington’s birthday, February 22, 1850, at Essex, Chittenden county, Vermont, about four miles from Lake Champlain. His father, Calvin, was a wheelwright and blacksmith by trade, but in 1858 moved to Colchester, Vermont, where he became a merchant. The mother, Hannah Furman White, like the father, was the descendant of a long New England line, the father being descended from a White on the Mayflower. Truman. White attended commercial college at Birmingham, and then for a while worked at the glovemaking trade, a considerable item in New England business at that time. He was for a while in Boston. About this time one of his brothers, Ray White, had come west, and hearing of Fresno had taken up twenty acres of land in the Central California colony, on Cherry avenue, about four miles south of Fresno. Truman was in bad health, and thought spending the summer in the heat of central California would help him. He started to visit his brother, having at the time $325 with him, and arrived at the little village and rail station of Fresno, April 27, 1877, when 27 years of age. For more than fifty-five years this has been his home.

He first invested in twenty acres on Cherry avenue, which he set about improving, but afterwards sold to R. B. Williams. That fall, November 27, 1877, he married Augusta P. Fink, daughter of a pioneer settler of Fresno county. Miss Fink and her sister, Mrs. Julia Fink-Smith—whose name is made permanent in this city by the Fink-Smith playgrounds in West Fresno—were in 1877 the owners of eighty acres of land lying in Central colony on the south side of North Avenue, between Elm and Cherry. They had, on the opening up of Central colony—the pioneer small land development of Fresno county—planted some four acres of Muscatel vines. Mr. White now took charge of the place, invested some of his own money in it, proceeded to plant a large portion of the acreage in raisin vineyard.

In this way Mr. White became the pioneer raisin packer of Fresno county. He made the first commercial shipments of raisins to other parts of the state, which for a few years could absorb the whole production. The White place on Elm avenue became known far and wide as the “Raisina Vineyard.” Going to Yolo county, where R. B. Blowers had made a satisfactory growth of raisin grapes, Mr. White studied conditions and applied his observations successfully to the different situation in Fresno. In 1883, he built a fine two-story residence at the corner of North and Elm avenues, one of the first mansions of what, in the later Eighties, became a remarkable rural growth to the south and east of the city of Fresno.

In the meantime, Mr. White acquired several other tracts of land in other parts of the county, including 160 acres lying seven miles west of this city which is still a part of the family holdings. He also invested in several pieces of property in the county seat. His Central colony home burning to the ground in the early Nineties, he moved his family to this city, occupying the large white house where Mr. White still. resides.

Mr. White was a prime mover in the formation of the Central California Colony Water company, which bought rights in the so-called “Church canal,” now a part of the Fresno irrigation district, he was for many years president of the company. He also promoted the Emigrant Ditch company, to supply water in the Wildflower district, where he had a farm. He was also a director in the Fowler Switch canal, now a part of the Consolidated system.

In November, 1887, on the resignation from the board of supervisors of A. T. Covell, the founder of the town of Easton, in Washington colony, Mr. White was named by Governor Washington Bartlett to take Covell’s place. The next year, 1888,, White, a Democrat, was elected supervisor from this, the third district, for a regular term of four years. During the last two years of this time, he acted as chairman of the board. While supervisor, one of his most notable acts was to assist in the filling in of the “Mill Ditch,” which ran through the center of Fresno on Fresno street, and had become a considerable nuisance. The right to control the property was in dispute, and the city could not close the canal. Mr. White, as roadmaster of the third district, proceeded to have his overseer fill in the ditch, on a Sunday, along the length of Silvia street, on the east side, outside the corporate limits of the city. Thus the water was cut off from the town and the municipality was enabled to take steps to have the nuisance abated.

After the break in the boom and the deflation of the. Nineties, Mr. White devoted himself to promoting his real estate interests. A chief concern to him was the development of I street, now Broadway, which at that time was in rivalry with Tulare street as the main business area. The culmination of his efforts was the construction, 1910, of the Hotel Fresno, southwest corner of I and Merced streets. This was a group enterprise, in which Mr. White was a principal stockholder and director, and it was perfected at a cost of $350,000. And finally, he built the White theatre, half a block north and adjoining the old California hotel, a building with a four-story front. This theatre, completed in 1912, was for many years the headquarters of all road shows exhibiting stage performances in Fresno. And here the San Francisco Or­pheum acts were displayed for several seasons.

Mr. and Mrs. White’s only child is Harry Fink White, born in Fresno, September 11, 1879.

HARRY F. WHITE

Harry F. White is a native son of Fresno, has lived here virtually all his life, and has been transacting insurance business in the White theatre building for the last twenty years.

Mr. White is the son of Mr. and Mrs. T. C. White, noticed elsewhere in this book. The family first lived on the Raisina vineyard, in Central colony, on Elm avenue, and then removed to Fresno in the early Nineties. Harry was born September 11, 1879. He attended schools in Fresno, including the high school, and was a student at the University of California, where he made a special study of electrical engineering.

For some years Mr. White was engaged in electrical contracting, and for a time was with Stone & Webster at Everett, Washington. He entered the insurance business at Fresno in 1912. He handles all kinds of insurance except life. He is also interested in raisin growing and owns several vine­yards in Fresno county.

Mrs. White was Dorothy St. John, to whom one son, Truman, was born but died in 1931.

Mr. White is a member of the Native Sons of the Golden West. In Masonry, he was master of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, in 1922, is a member of the Scot­tish Rite, and of the Shrine. He has been active in civic affairs, and is a member of the executive board of the Fresno Nutritional Home.

J. EMIT COX, M. D.

Dr. J. Emit Cox was born at Ashland, Nebraska, March 8, 1865, the son of George W, and Ann (Denham) Cox. His father was a farmer of Dutch extraction. He attended the Nebraska schools, and the Omaha medical college, department of the University of Nebraska, and Emsworth Central college of St. Joseph, Missouri, from which later he received his medical degree in 1895.

Dr. Cox began the practice of medicine at South Bend, Nebraska., remaining there one year; next going to Hooper, Colorado, for three years, then to Bodie, California, for a number of years, then to Tonopah, Nevada, and in 1910 he came to Coalinga.

In 1914, he returned to Tonopah, where he continued until 1918, returning to Coalinga for permanent residence this same year. He established the Shell medical hospital and was medical director for the Shell Oil company for several years at Oilfields, California. During the Great war he was one of the medical examiners for the men enlisting at Coalinga.

He is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and county organizations. He married Nora Elinor Rochford, formerly of Wisconsin, and they have three children: Edward Rochford Cox, M. D., of Los Angeles, Bryson Emit Cox, 141. D., of Fresno, and George Gale Cox, a student of the University of Southern California. A fourth son, Denham, passed away some years ago.

During his many years of residence in the Coalinga oil fields district, Dr. Cox has been closely identified with the community’s civic affairs, giving freely of his valuable time and with financial assistance to the many projects for the civic betterment of the community.

As chairman of the philanthropic section of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce he devoted a great deal of his time to leadership in local charity and relief activities. It was under his direction and capable leadership that the Coalinga Community council, an association made up from the member­ship of every church, fraternal and club organization of the community, was formed and has dealt with relief work, made necessary by the depression. The conduct of this activity has been carried on in a manner of efficiency equal to any section of the San Joaquin Valley.

BRYSON E. COX, M. D.

Dr. Bryson E. Cox is a native of California, born in Bodie, an old mining district east of the Sierra Nevada, Mono county. He is the son of Dr. J. Emit Cox of Coalinga, California, who is noticed elsewhere in this book.

His education was begun in the Lankershim grammar school, near Los Angeles, entered Los Angeles high school, and completed his studies at the University of California and the University of Southern California, receiving an A. B. degree at the latter institution. He then entered Northwestern University, Chicago, Illinois, obtaining his M. D. degree, 1930.

After completing his internship in the Fresno General hospital, 1930-1931, he associated himself in the practice of medicine with his father, at Coalinga. Last September, 1932, he located in Fresno, where he is now engaged in general practice, and a member of the staff of physicians at the St. Agnes, Bur­nett and General hospitals.

Dr. Cox is enrolled with the American Medical association and the state and county societies. He holds membership in the Phi Rho Sigma fraternity at Northwestern, the Coalinga Masonic Lodge and the Knights of Pythias of Fresno.

A. G. WISHON

For nearly half a century, Albert Graves Wishon has been a factor in the industrial development of the central San Joaquin Valley. During a great part of that time, the associations of his name have been synonymous with the San Joaquin Light and Power company, the material growth of which was expressed in the building of the Power building of ten stories, in 1924 at the corner of Fulton and Tuolumne streets, Fresno.

Mr. Wishon was born November 6, 1858, in Phelps county, Missouri, the son of Francis Marion and Mary Elizabeth (Coppedge) Wishon. His father was descended from a Huguenot family of North Carolina, and removing from his birthplace in Illinois to Phelps county, became the first sheriff of that area. Mr. Wishon’s mother was born of a Virginia family that located at Coppedge Mills, Polaski county, Missouri.

Young Wishon attended the Missouri School of Mines, at Rolla, and then, at 18, thrown on his own resources, worked for a grocery firm, next for cotton brokers, and then set up for himself as a merchant in Missouri. Then he was employed for a time with the Missouri Pacific, In 1889, he came to California, aged 30.

For seven and a half years, Mr. Wishon was located in Tulare county, and in that time was with a lumber company in Tulare, then cashier of the Tulare county bank. Then setting up a real estate office, he became interested in the problem of pumping for irrigation, an interest that has determined his course in life ever since. His first extensive project was the building of the Exeter ditch, to take water from the Kaweah river above Lemon Cove along the base of the Sierra hills nearly to Lindsay, thus opening up an entirely new citrus area. He financed the canal from the profits of land sales, in territory which became one of the finest orange and lemon districts of California. He then, in association with William H. Hammond, organized the Mount Whitney Power company, using the head waters of the Kaweah and laying the foundation for the extensive electrical pumping systems of Tulare county. John Hays Hammond, a brother of ‘William H., helped finance this enter­prise. After supplying power for many years to Tulare, Visalia, Exeter, Lindsay and Porterville, this corporation was absorbed, about 191.5, by the Southern California Edison company.

After fifteen busy years in Tulare county, Mr. Wishon removed to Fresno and has lived in this city ever since. At that time, 1903, public utility enterprises in this part of the state were suffering from their first over-development and bad financing, with lack of efficient service to their customers. Mr. Wishon became associated with Henry E. Huntington, William G. Kerekhoff and A. C. Balch in the rehabilitation of these enterprises. Wishon became general manager of the then San Joaquin Power company, which had previously gone into the hands of receivers. He became also vice president, director and manager of the Fresno City railroad, later the Fresno Traction company; and vice president and manager of the Fresno Water company, which was in receivership. The power company had been built to be dependent upon the Crane valley dam, but Mr. Wishon foresaw the need of greater supplies of water, and this foresight led to the building of the Kerckhoff dam. Ultimately, the early vision of an electric line from Fresno to the Yosemite was frustrated by the growth of motor transport, and the control of the Fresno street lines passed into the hands of the Southern Pacific. The Fresno City Water com­pany’s plant and distributing system were taken over by the California Water Service corporation and were finally bought by the municipality in 1930. It was on the power side that the members of this group had their highly satis­factory expansion, covering central California with transmission lines and pumping connections. As a result of Mr. Wishon’s vision, a million acres of land in the San Joaquin Valley are watered.

In 1910, the San Joaquin Light and Power bought the Power, Transit and Light company of Bakersfield, and later built near there, at Button. Wil­low, the first great steam plant in the valley, making use of petroleum gas as fuel. The Midland company was also promoted to handle business in Monterey, San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara, counties, and was finally absorbed in the parent company. Domestic use was promoted by the introduction of more convenient utensils, and much business was obtained in the extension of the oil fields.

In 1911, there came a separation between the Kerekhoff-Balch-Wishon enterprises and the Huntington interests, the latter of which developed the Big Creek projects, later absorbed by the Southern California Edison. The San Joaquin Light and Power extended north in the valley as far as above Merced and southward to the Tehachapi. Conditions in the Great war and subsequent, called for more extensive inter-electric connections and for more widely laid financing. In 1925, Mr. Wishon and his son, Emory, merged their San Joaquin Power interests with the Western Power corporation, and in 1930 all these corporations were combined with the Pacific Gas and Electric. Mr. Wishon continues as vice chairman of the board of directors and A. Emory Wishon as president of the San Joaquin Light and Power.

A. G. Wishon was married October 5, 1881, to Henrietta Emory, a native of Steelville, Missouri. They have two children, Albert Emory Wishon, who has been associated with his father for the last twenty years and is now vice president of the Pacific Gas and Electric; and one daughter, Jennie (Mrs. Ralph W. Watson of Fresno). Mr. Wishon is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F and A. M. He has been an active promoter of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce and other civic organizations, and is a charter member of the Fresno Rotary club, and belongs to the Fresno Commercial and the University-Sequoia club.

E. P. SMITH

Ernest P. Smith is a native of the San Joaquin Valley, has risen through the ranks of service to be assistant to the president of the San Joaquin Light and Power corporation.

Mr. Smith was born at Hanford, December 7, 1884, at a time when what is now Kings was still a part of Tulare county. His parents were; William D. and Nellie D. (Snyder) Smith. His father was born in Los Angeles, in 1859, and his grandfather, William, a native of Kentucky, took his family to settle in Visalia, after living in Los Angeles for a time. His father is still living at an advanced age in San Luis Obispo county.

E. P. Smith attended schools at Paso Robles, Cholame, Hanford, San Miguel and Santa Cruz. He worked for some years in a hotel at Santa Maria and later returned to school at Santa Cruz. Coming to Fresno in September, 1905, he occupied a position in the Farmers National bank until May, 1907.

Since 1907, Mr. Smith has been with the San Joaquin Light and Power company. He began as clerk, and held many positions, including bookkeeper for the water works department of the company for several years, and statistician for two years. In 1913, he became chief clerk; in 1917, assistant auditor; in 1920, assistant to the general manager; in 1926, assistant to the vice president and general manager, and since 1929, he has been assistant to the president.

Mrs. Smith was Margaret D. Merritt of Santa Maria, a graduate of the San Diego State college, and formerly a school teacher in Santa Barbara, Orange and Fresno counties.

Mr. Smith is a Mason, and a member of the University-Sequoia, Commercial and Rotary clubs.

A. V. LISENBY

For forty years A. V. Lisenby was a leader in financial and business circles of Fresno. One of the founders of the People’s Savings bank, he was first its cashier and manager and later its president and manager. He passed away in Fresno in 1928.

Augustus Vespasian Lisenby was born near Farmer City, Illinois, Sep­tember 11, 1850, the son of James Lisenby, who was county clerk of De Witt county, Illinois, for twenty years. After attending the public schools, the son was for a time in the hardware business, and then followed the father as county clerk for some years.

In 1887, the boom year in California, Mr. Lisenby came to the Pacific coast and located in Fresno. For a time he was employed with the Fresno County Abstract company, of which he continued as a director for many years. In 1891 he joined with Dr. Chester Rowell, F. K. Prescott, O. J. Woodward and a number of other prominent Fresnans in the organization of the People’s Savings bank. For more than twenty years this occupied the north­west corner of Broadway and Tulare streets, the Hughes block. Mr. Lisenby was at first the cashier of this, the pioneer savings institution of central California, and after the resignation of Dr.. Rowell as president, Mr. Lisenby became the president as well as manager. This institution pursued a very enlightened policy during the hard times of the Nineties, winning many friends and a large patronage, and grew with the greater growth of Fresno during the first decade of the present century. In the enlargement of banking connections in the second decade, the place for this sort of institution seemed to have passed, and the directors sold out to the Bank of Italy, which had shortly before bought out the Fresno National bank.

Mr. Lisenby was for many years active in the affairs of the First Methodist church, of which he was an ardent member. He was also earnest in promoting the affairs of the Y. M. C. A. and lent his support to transforming what was up to the turn of the century a “frontier town” into a modern city of homes and progressive business. He was active in the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, and was a director in the Hundred Thousand club, which was formed in the Nineties to promote the population of Fresno. county over the hundred thousand mark, and did very active advertising work to secure in­creased immigration from the East.

Very early Mr. Lisenby became interested in the benefit to Fresno county that would come from petroleum production in the Coalinga field, and assisted in the formation of several oil companies. He was a promoter of the Coalinga Water company and other utilities in that area. He also had farming interests near Fresno.

Mr. Lisenby was married in Illinois to Emma C. Wright, who survives him. They had one son, Carl Augustus, of whom mention is made in another place in this book.

CARL A. LISENBY

Carl A. Lisenby was a native son of Fresno, who passed away in his early manhood during the influenza epidemic just following the Great war. He had just entered upon a business career in which he had shown much ability, in the handling of the Lisenby Manufacturing company.

Carl Augustus Lisenby was born in the City of Fresno, August 21, 1888, the son of Mr. and Mrs. A. V. Lisenby, noted elsewhere in this book. Carl, their only son, attended the Fresno public schools, the Fresno High school, then took a law course at the University of Southern California in preparation for a business career. Returning to Fresno, he became the active head of the Lisenby Manufacturing plant, established by his father in the eastern industrial section of Fresno. This company manufactured a “Multicolor” manifolding machine, and also produced several farming implements. For the multicolor process of printing, agencies were established in many parts of the world, and the enterprise was an established success when young Lisenby died on January 28, 1920.

Carl Lisenby was married, March 14, 1912, to Edith M. Niblock, and they had one daughter, Catherine Grace, now a resident of Fresno. Mr. Lisenby was master of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. and A. M., in 1916, and was a member of both the York and the Scottish Rites of Masonry and of Islam Shrine. He and his wife were active in the affairs of the First Methodist church.

After their son passed away, Mr. and Mrs. A. V. Lisenby erected as a memorial the Lisenby band stand in Roeding Park, beautiful in design as well as a charming setting for the many orchestral concerts which are given in that municipal grounds throughout each summer season.

 

CHARLES L. GEER

Professor Geer has for 21 years been a factor in Coalinga life, working not only for the completeness of its school :;ystom, but for the shaping of its community interests to the needs of its residents. He is the district superin­tendent, in charge of both the junior and senior high school systems, and of three grammar schools and having under his supervision fifty teachers and 1200 students. He was a member of the board of freeholders which prepared a charter for a new system of county government.

Charles Lester Geer had his early training in Iowa and Dakota schools, at the Campbell High school, Santa Clara county, and he graduated from Stanford University in 1907, thereafter taking a year of post-graduate work. Ile was an assistant in the English department while at Stanford, and during his college course won the “Bonnheim” debating prize.

After teaching three years in the Paso Robles High school Mr. Geer secured a position on the Coalinga ILO school staff and in 1915, became principal. In 1918, the grammar schools were also brought under his direction.

In his supervision of educational work, Professor Geer has been specially interested in the natural resources of the western portion of Fresno county; the petroleum deposits, and the Coast range geological formations have afforded much opportunity for student study of fossil remains that have attracted note in other parts of the world.

Professor Geer married Mary Benzing and they have two children: Ruth and Charles, now attending Fresno State college.

I.    V. FUNDERBURGH

I.    V. Funderburgh is superintendent of the Kingsburg schools, having under his jurisdiction the high school and four elementary schools.

He was born at Stewart, Colorado, August 10, 1889, the son of Jacob C. and Sarah D. (Ratekin) Funderburgh. The family moved to California in 1906. The subject of this sketch attended school in Colorado, then La Verne College and Pomona College in California, He is a graduate of La Verne College and also received an A. B. degree from Pomona College in 1916, graduating cum laude. Then he attended the University of Southern California, receiving the M. A. degree in 1917. Since that time he has been a graduate student at the University of Southern California, the University of California, and the University of Chicago.

Mr. Funderburgh taught sociology and education for eight years at La Verne College; then was business manager of the institution for two years, and served as president for two years. Coming to Fresno in 1923, he taught social science and public speaking in the Fresno High school for one year. In 1924 he transferred to Kingsburg as principal of the high school, later becoming district superintendent, which position he now holds.

Mrs. Funderburgh was Florence England, a native of Ohio. There are two children: MarieIle and Daryl.

Mr. Funderburgh was charter member and first president of the Kingsburg Kiwanis club. He is a member of the Association of California School Superintendents, and the California High School Principals association, as well as several other professional organizations. He is also a member of the Phi Delta Kappa educational fraternity.

GUY MANSON, M. D.

Dr. Guy Manson has been practicing medicine in Fresno for twenty-three years. He was born in Fresno September 25, 1885, the son of Dr. Peter Manson and the former Nancy Brown. The father had been a practicing physician in Virginia City, Nevada, and moved to a Fresno farm in the boom days of the Eighties, and practiced medicine here from 1889 until his death in 1915.

The younger Dr. Manson attended the Fresno schools, including the high school, and obtained his M. D. from Stanford in 1910. For a time he was interne at Lane hospital, San Francisco, and he then returned to Fresno and engaged in practice with his father until 1913, when he was appointed county physician. With the exception of two years in this position, Dr. Manson has always engaged in private practice, and specializes in urology.

Mrs. Manson was Jean Bruce of Menlo Park. There are three children : Bruce, Peter and William, all born in Fresno. Dr. Manson is a member of the Native Sons, and of the American Medical association and the state and local societies.

W. T. BARR, M. D.

In the later years of Dr. Chester Rowell’s large in medical practice, Dr. Warden Taylor Barr was his younger partner, and while Dr. Rowell continued the office work, Dr. Barr drove all over the county attending to the outside calls. He was associated with Dr. Rowell and others in the financing of the Howell building, erected on the corner of Marc and K streets, on the site where Dr. Rowell had his home for M ally years, and Dr. Barr now has his office in this building.

Dr:Barr was born in Lewis county, Missouri, March 9, 1871, the son of Thomas A. and Ann L. (Wright) Barr. The family came to California, and to Fresno county in 1890, settling at Malaga.

The young man attended schools in Missouri, and went to Cooper Medical college, now a department of Stanford University, graduating in 1.896. For a time he was interne at the city and county hospital, at Sacramento. Returning to Fresno, he was for a few years the youngest doctor in practice here. In 1894, he became associated with Dr. Rowell, with whom he worked until the latter’s death in 1912.

Dr. Barr was a member of the Fresno board of health for ten years, resigning in 1915, and was president of the board during the last six years of this time.

Mrs. Barr was Irma St. John, a native of Michigan, to whom he was married in Fresno. They have three children: Evelyn, Doris and Eleanor, all born in Fresno.

Dr. Barr is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and county organizations. He is one of the oldest members of the Fresno County Medical society in years of membership and has held all the offices in the society.

WILLIAM C. TUPPER

Son of one of the oldest established families in Fresno county, William Charles Tupper was born in Fresno, January 6, 1889, and has been practicing law in Fresno since his return from the World war in 1919.

His parents, Henry C. and Elizabeth (Johnson) Tupper, while resident of Fresno were married in 1878 in San Francisco, the father being a Confederate Veteran from Mississippi, newly come to the Pacific coast, and the mother a native of Mariposa county, her parents having come to this state in 1853.

The subject of this sketch is one of a family of six brothers and two sisters, all born in Fresno and active in its affairs. Mr. Tupper attended the local schools, graduated from the University of California with a bachelor’s degree in 1914, and received his law degree from the Hastings Law school in 1916.

During the World war he was appointed Naval Provost Marshal of San Francisco with the rank of Ensign. After the Armistice and until his release from active duty he was in the Transport Service.

Mr. Tupper is married to Beatrice Anderson of Yolo county, a graduate of the University of California. He is a member of the Native Sons of the Golden West, of the University-Sequoia club and of the Sunnyside Country club.

REV. M. G. PAPAZIAN

Rev. M. G. Papazian, pastor of the Pilgrim Armenian Congregational Church, may be called the dean of Fresno clergymen, having been in his present position for nineteen years. He is one of the most widely known pastors in the United States, and is a public speaker of note.

Mr. Papazian was born in Beredjik on the Euphrates, in what was Asiatic Turkey, on February 16, 1865. He received his college education at the Amer­ican college at Aintab, known as the Central Turkey College. Coming to America for his theological training he entered Yale University, graduated from the Divinity school in 1889, and pursued post-graduate courses at Andover Theological Seminary. Immediately following graduation from Yale he lived four months in North Bend, Nebraska, as pastor of the Congregational Church in the town.

Shortly after arrival at the United States he applied for naturalization, and six years later he returned to Turkey in the capacity of an American citizen.

Mr. Papazian was ordained into the Ministry of the Gospel on May 28, 1890, in the First Conregational Church at Rowley, Massachusetts, one of the oldest churches in the United States, organized in 1639. His pastorate covered two and a half years. At this place he and Mary E. Foster, the daughter of an old American family, were married. A few days later the couple left for Turkey, where they lived and labored for fifteen years. Settling in Aintab, he became a member of the faculty of the Central Turkey College, at the same time  being pastor of an Armenian Congregational Church in the city, known as the Haik Evangelical Church. With a parish of 2700, a communicant membership roll of 950, and a Sunday school of 1300, probably it was the largest Protestant church in the Turkish Empire.

By reason of the wife’s ill-health the family returned to the United States in 1907. On January 1, 1908, Mr. Papazian became the pastor of the Armenian Evangelical Church in New York city. He remained there six and a half years. He came to Fresno to assume the pastorate of the Pilgrim Armenian Congregational Church on August 1, 1914. At that time the church occupied the frame building at the southeast corner of Van Ness and Inyo streets, formerly owned by the First Congregational Church. Seven years later the property of the First Presbyterian Church, corner of “M” and Merced streets, was purchased for $100,000.00, of which they took possession on September 1, 1921. The plant is free of debt.

With the hearty cooperation of his Fresno parishioners Mr. Papazian has had a wider ministry in other parts of the United States. During the World war he did extensive campaigning for relief operations and Liberty Loan drives, the church paying all traveling expenses. For a year, 1928-29, with headquarters in New York city he functioned as the general evangelist and home secretary of the Armenian Missionary association of America, campaigning in several states. In the following year, 1929-30, he went abroad as Missionary-traveler touring through England, France, Italy, Greece, Egypt, Palestine and Syria. He returned home on November 30, 1930.

Mr. Papazian is a member of the Yale Alumni association of California. Twice, in 1917 and 1928, he has been president of the Fresno Ministerial union. He has been a frequent contributor to the columns of the Fresno Morn­ing Republican on topics of public interest, American and international.

Mr. and Mrs. Papazian have had five children : John William (died in Aintab, December 10, 1898) ; Laura Foster (Mrs. M. G. Kaprielian), of Fresno ; George Mark Foster, of San Francisco ; Robert Aram Foster (died in Fresno, September 22, 1932) ; Paul Bradstreet Foster, of Los Angeles. In late years the boys adopted their mother’s family name, Foster.

L. L. CORY

A leader of the Fresno bar, L. L. Cory was a practicing attorney of the City of Fresno for forty-three years. Attorney for many of the largest corporations of central California, Mr. Cory was also very active in oil develop­ments, both in California and the Midcontinent fields.

Lewis Lincoln Cory was born at San Jose May 4, 1861, the son of Dr. Benjamin and Sarah (Braly) Cory. Dr. Cory was the first American physician to settle in the Santa Clara valley, coming to what was the first capital of the state of California in 1848 and living in San Jose for fifty-one years.

L. L. Cory attended San Jose schools and the University of the Pacific for two years ; then went east, and was for two years at Rutgers college, New Jersey, and two years at Princeton University from which later he received the A. B. degree. Thereafter he studied law at Columbia University where he took his LL. B. degree.

Mr. Cory spent some years in practice in New York city, then returned to California and practiced for a year at San Jose. An uncle, J. M. Cory, real estate operator and director of the Fresno National bank, and other relatives interested him in the future of Fresno, whither he came in 1886. For a time he was partner with the late Judge George E. Church, in the Fresno National bank building, corner of Tulare and J streets. Thereafter, through the years he practiced alone until his death in 1929.

The high legal attainments of Mr. Cory gave him a notable practice in the corporation litigation of a growing community, and was active in the discussion of riparian water law, a critical question in the early days, and in this way was attorney for the Fresno Flume and Irrigation company and other corporations interested in water law. He was also attorney for many years for the Southern Pacific company, for the First National bank, for the Fresno Water company and for other large interests. His legal attainments called for frequent appearance before the U. S. Supreme court in days when legal precedents were being established in this state.

During the Nineties and early years of this century, Mr. Cory had his offices in the First National bank building, corner of I and Mariposa streets. About 1905 he acquired, among other pieces of property, the building at the corner of J and Fresno streets which housed the old Armory hall and the Barton opera house. The corner building was wrecked, and thereon was erected the present Cory building. A number of years later, the old opera house building was wrecked, and the present State theatre building was constructed in its place.

Mr. Cory never sought public office, but he was much interested in politics and for some years was chairman of the Republican County Central committee. He was very fond of athletics, and in the course of recreation at the Sunnyside Country club became one of the earliest golf experts in this part of the state. He was also bowling champion of Fresno for some years. Generous and charitable in disposition, he did much good work in a quiet way.

During his first law practice in New York city, Mr. Cory was married to Caroline A. Martin, of Rahway, New Jersey, and their children are: Mrs. Edith M. Ott; Mrs. Katherine J. Goodfellow; Miss Margaret E. Cory, a graduate of Stanford University; Martin L. Cory, and Benjamin H. Cory.

COLONEL E. J. ATKISSON

Colonel Atkisson had a distinguished career in the American army before the World war. He took part in four major operations during the war. He gave distinguished service to his country in the diplomacy of peace after the war. He is now a merchant in Sanger, carrying on the business that his father conducted for twenty-three years.

Earl James Atkisson was born at Broken Bowl, Nebraska, August 12, 1886, the son of Franceway D. and May (Jenetta) Atkisson. The family moved to California and located at Selma in 1901. His father bought property near Fowler and Sanger. The boy attended the Fowler High school, then was appointed to West Point from that school, graduating and being commissioned as lieutenant in 1908, in the corps of engineers. Assigned to Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, and two years there, he was next sent to Washington barracks, for six years, except for one year in which he was at Cornell University working for the degree of M. E., where he served in the U. S. engineer school, Washington, D. C. For four years he was in charge of the department of electrical and mechanical engineering, the last two years with the rank of captain. Next he was assigned to the Panama Canal, as superintendent of the Gatun locks, being there at the time the World war broke out.

In the Great war, Col. Atkisson organized, trained and fought with the First Gas Regiment, handled as general heaquarters troops. This regiment had more front line service than any other U. S. army outfit. He served as commandant of the gas service experimental field and commandant of the gas defense school at Hanlon Field, near Chaumont, France.

The war over, Colonel Atkisson was in charge of the Edgewood arsenal in Maryland for three years. This was the chemical warfare headquarters for the U. S. army. He next went to London as a military attache, for two years, and saw special service in other countries. He was attached to the first limitation of armaments convention in. Geneva, as technical adviser, 1924-25. In 1925, he was sent to the Presidio, San Francisco, as chemical officer. In 1926, on account of his ill health, he retired from army service, with the rank of colonel in the regular army which rank he had attained during the war. He earned the Distinguished Service Medal and the Life Saving Medal of Honor, a U. S. Congressional award; also the British Distinguished Service Order.

Returning to Sanger, in 1926, Colonel Atkisson has taken charge of the department store which his father directed for so many years. Mrs. Atkisson was Elizabeth Moris Black of Bryn Naur, Pennsylvania. They have two children: E. J. Jr., and Marie R. While attached to the court of St. James in London Mrs. Atkisson was twice presented at court.

L. E. WELDON

A resident of Fresno county for 45 years, a school trustee at Clovis for 21 years, with the oldest established business in Clovis, L. E. Weldon is a leader of his community.

Mr. Weldon was born in Denton county, Texas, in 1869, but both his grandfathers had been residents of California for a few years in the Fifties. His father was A. J. and his mother Martha L. Weldon. The family moved to California in 1887, coming to Fresno at this time. The father was a carpenter and builder; he died in Clovis, 1917, aged 79; the mother is still living at the age of 84.

As a youth, Mr. ‘Weldon worked on the William Helm ranch, and for a year and a half for John Owen. Later his father went into the Red Bank district to raise grain, and the son worked with him.

L. E. Weldon moved to Clovis in 1895 to act as engineer for a flour mill being erected there by the Cates family; subsequently he was night engineer for the Fresno Flume and Lumber company, and next he worked for the Cop­per King Co., for nine years as construction and shipping superintendent. Then he followed the building business for a time at Clovis.

In 1911, Mr. Weldon bought out the widow of James Turner, owner of the Clovis Drayage company, and changed the name to the Clovis Drayage and Ice company, which business he has conducted ever since, and it is now the oldest business in Clovis. Mr. Weldon was city clerk of Clovis for eight years, 1912-1920, six years a city trustee, 1920-1926, twenty-one years an elementary school trustee of Clovis. He was also nine years on the high school board, and he is now president of the recently organized Fresno County School Trustees’ association.

Mr. Weldon was married first to Cordelia Glass, who died in 1904; and married second to Alberta Birney. His children are Mrs. Agnes Williams of San Francisco; John B., Frances Elizabeth.

He is a past master of the Clovis Masonic lodge, and one time lie was di­rector of the First National. bank of Clovis.

JOHN M. EULESS

John Milford Euless has been active as a real estate arid insurance man of Fresno for many years, is engaged in farming and has been active in promoting cooperative efforts among raisin producers in recent years.

Mr. Euless was born in Tennessee, February 10, 1880, the son of Frank and Mattie Euless. After attending the local schools; he engaged in farming and merchandising at Bellbuckle, Tennessee. He came to California, July, 190G. locating at Fresno. He at once took up farming, and has been interested. in raisins, having ever since and now lives on a ranch four miles east of Fresno. He has five farms in various parts of Fresno and Madera counties. He has also engaged in the real estate and insurance business much of the time.

Interested in civic affairs, in 1929, Mr. Euless organized the Euless-Dermer raisin pool, and this last season promoted the Fresno Thompson Seedless raisin pool, which sold all of its members’ raisins for more than the outsider was able to get, paid all of the pool’s obligations and have money left in the treasury.

lie is a member of the Farm Bureau, the Fresno Exchange club, the Odd Fellows.

DR. ROY A. GROSHONG

Dr. Groshong has been an active citizen of Selma, Fresno county, for several years, was a member of the board of city trustees, 1928-32, and for the last two years of this period was chairman of the board. A veterinarian, he has the only fully equipped animal hospital between the city of Fresno and Bakersfield, and derives his business from all parts of the San Joaquin Valley.

Dr. Groshong was born in Troy, Missouri, September 27, 1889, the son of J. B. and Missouri (Thornhill) Groshong. His parents have been married fifty- six years and are still living. Samuel Thornton, his mother’s father, came to California daring the gold rush of ‘49, but shortly after returned to his old state. J.B. Groshong was a live stock man. The subject of this sketch attended the local Missouri schools, then went to Kansas City ‘Veterinary college, graduating as D. V. M. in 1918.

Enlisting in the World war, Dr. Groshong was assigned to the Veterinary company No. 1, in the Medical Corps, stationed at Camp Greenleaf in Georgia. After the close of the war, he came to Kingsburg, 1919, and then to Selma, 1920, where he took over the Selma Veterinary hospital. fie treats all kinds of animals, work stock and pets, and has animals shipped to him from all parts of central California.

In public life, in addition to serving on the board of city trustees, Dr. Groshong was commander of Selma Post, of the American Legion, in 1926. In 1927, he was president of the San Joaquin Valley Veterinarians association. During 1928 and 1929 he was president of the Selma Chamber of Commerce. He also served as a director of the Rotary club. In 1931 he was president of the San Joaquin Valley League of Municipalities.

Dr. Groshong is married to Elizabeth Nelson, a native of Sweden, and they have two children: Douglas and Russell. For four years he has been on the official board of the First Methodist church of Selma. In Masonry he is a member of Selma Lodge and a Shriner, and in the York Rite has been scribe of the Royal Arch, and at present time is a director in Selma Chamber of Commerce.

ALEX E. NELSON

Alex E. Nelson, attorney at law of Kingsburg, was a practicing attorney in Illinois before coming to California.

Mr. Nelson was born in Malmo, Sweden, in 1883, son of Andrew and Johanna Nelson, and came to the United States with his parents, settling at Berwyn, Illinois, near Chicago. He attended the public schools there, but started work before finishing high school. For six years he was a deputy clerk of the circuit court of Cook county, Illinois. While so employed he completed high school studies, attended law school at night, and secured his LL. B. degree from Loyola University at Chicago in 1914, and practiced law in Berwyn and Chicago until 1919.

Coming to California in that year, Mr. Nelson entered the employ of the Sun-Maid organization, but left after a short time to take charge of the liquidation on behalf of Eastern interests, of a colonization settlement at Chow­chilla. In 1920 he reentered the Sun-Maid organization and remained there until 1922 when he resumed law practice. For the past ten years he has practiced law, with offices at Kingsburg, and for a time served there as city attorney.

Mr. Nelson married Ethel Mary Large, daughter of Charles and Sarah A. E. Large of Los Angeles. He was admitted to practice as member of the California State bar June 23, 1919. During the World war he was chairman of the legal advisory board of the 85th division in Chicago. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and is past master of the Masonic lodge at Kingsbury,.

LOUIS T. TRUMBULL

Louis Thomas Trumbull, a pioneer oil man of the Coalinga district and a native of California, is at present the oldest employee of the Associated Oil company at Coalinga in point of service.

Mr. Trumbull was born at Benicia, California, November 27, 1870, the son of C. W. and Marie (Rapett) Trumbull. His mother was a native of France; his father was a descendant of the Jonathan Trumbull who was in George Washington’s cabinet. Members of his family have fought in the Mexican and Indian wars and crossed the plains to California in the early days.

Young Trumbull attended the Benicia schools and worked as a machinist for a number of years in San Francisco. Twenty-eight years ago he came to Coalinga and started work for the old Coalinga Oil and Transportation company which in 1905 was bought by the Associated Oil company. He is now superintendent of the Bellridge-Monterey Pipe Line company, a subsidiary of the Associated.

Mr. Trumbull married Alma Zindars, and they have three children: Lyman, living in Los Angeles; Arthur, at Sonora; and Dorothy, attending the University of California.

He is a member of the Salinas Lodge of Elks; is a Mason, and a member of Islam Shrine.

LOUIS CHILDS SANFORD

For forty years, Louis Childs Sanford, now Bishop of San Joaquin (Epis­copal), has been a factor in the religions and civil life of central California. Coming from the East to California, in 1892 he became pastor of St. Luke’s church, Selma, where he pioneered in what was then a frontier field for five years. In 1897, he was assigned to St. Paul’s church, Salinas, where he was rector for two years. In 1899, he became rector of St. John’s church, San Fran­cisco, and carried on for eight years. In 1908, he entered a broader field of work, and became secretary of the Board of Missions of the parent church, and for three years made his home in Berkeley.

It was in 1911, that Bishop Sanford was consecrated as Missionary Bishop of San Joaquin, his jurisdiction covering the entire San Joaquin Valley, and including twenty-five parishes, with churches in the counties from Kern on the south to San Joaquin on the north.

Bishop Sanford was born in Bristol, Rhode Island, July 27, 1867, the son of Henry and Mary (Esleeck) Sanford. He is of colonial ancestry on both sides, and has retained a fondness for research in the activities and virtues of the people of New England and especially of Rhode Island. He attended Brown University, receiving his A. B. in 1.888, and his doctorate in 1913 from the same institution. He is a graduate of the Episcopal Theological school at Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he received the degree of B. D. Bishop Sanford married Annie Pepper of Bristol in 1892. She died in 1895. In 1896 he married Ellison Vernon of New York and they have three children: Ed­ward, living in Fresno; Mary, a graduate of Mills College, living in New York City; and Royal, a graduate of the University of the South, at Sewanee, Tennessee, living in Jefferson City, Tennessee.

R. D. CHITTENDEN

R. D. Chittenden, a former sheriff of Fresno county, for the last twenty years has been president and manager of the California Road and Street Improvement company.

Robert D. Chittenden was born at Bennington, Indiana, February 3, 1870, the son of John W. and Mary Catherine (Cole) Chittenden. His father was a farmer; his mother a sister of S. H. Cole, real estate man in Fresno in the Eighties and mayor of the city from 1889 to 1891.

Mr. Chittenden attended school in Indiana, and in 1887 came to Fresno, at the age of seventeen. He was engaged in the fruit business for many years, in the employ of Porter Bros., a Chicago firm, whose Fresno plant was an imposing structure on the Southern Pacific reservation south of Ventura street. Here Mr. Chittenden helped to build one of the first raisin seeding plants ever constructed in Fresno. It was the largest and one of the finest plants of the kind in the world at the time constructed.

In 1902, Mr. Chittenden was nominated by the Democratic party for the position of public administrator, was elected and served one term. In 1906, he was nominated for sheriff, elected, and served four years. He then decided to go into road construction, in which lie had become interested because of his experiences in traveling as a public official. This was the time of the beginnings of highway improvement, before the State of California took over the primary road system. Mr. Chittenden organized the California Road and Street Improvement company, which has operated extensively in all parts of the San Joaquin Valley. Specializing in municipal paving, for many years it has done a major share of the street work in the City of Fresno, and in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. Chittenden was married in 1907 to Corynne L. Jones, daughter of John R. Jones, for many years engaged in the abstract and title business in Fresno. Mr. and Mrs. Chittenden have two children: Russell Dean, a student at the San Francisco College of Physicians and Surgeons; and Catherine Corynne (Mrs. Claire Sheets), now a resident of Long Beach, California.

Mr. Chittenden was a charter member of the Sequoia club of Fresno. In Masonry, he is a member of Las Palma Lodge, No. 366 ; is a Knight Templar, belongs to Scottish Rite bodies and is a member of Islam Temple of the Shrine.

MICHAEL SULLIVAN

For nearly forty years Michael Sullivan has participated in Fresno life, for the past four years at the head of the Sullivan Funeral Home, and he will be remembered long for his 12 years service as deputy sheriff and for his connection with the Elks and other fraternal orders.

Mr. Sullivan was born at Merced, March 22, 1874, son of Joseph and Margaret (Carney) Sullivan. His parents both came from Ireland. His father was a farmer, located five miles west of Merced city. He himself attended the local schools and then went to St. Mary’s college, taking a business course. The hard times of the early Nineties necessitated his leaving school, and he went to work as barber, first in Merced, then came to Fresno in 1894. In 1906, he became deputy sheriff under R. D. Chittenden, and continued under Sheriffs Walter McSwain and Horace Thorwaldsen, twelve years in all.

In 191’7 Mr. Sullivan entered the undertaking business, joining the firm of Stephens Bean, and continuing with them as mortician for twelve years. Four years ago, lie established his present business, with a fine establishment on the northwest corner of Van Ness and San Joaquin, having associated with him Hugh Burns and Earl L. Blair.

Mr. Sullivan has been a member of the Civil Service board of Fresno city for the past year. He was a member of Company H. of the National Guard of California for three years. In the Nineties, he was a member of the Fresno Volunteer Fire department, a nonpaid organization which fought fires and enjoyed for many years pleasant. social relationships.

Mr. Sullivan married Catherine Ivers, formerly of Merced, whose parents, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Ivers, were natives of Ireland. Mr. Sullivan is past grand knight of the Knights of Columbus, and also is a life member of the Elks, for which lodge he was tiler for many years; also life member of the Eagles; and is affiliated with the Foresters, the Red Men, the Yeomen and the Fraternal Brotherhood, and of St. Therese Catholic church.

JAMES R. ERSKINE

A resident of Fresno since 1910, manager of the Valley Ice plants throughout the San Joaquin Valley, a consistent participant in civic affairs, James Ralph Erskine has contributed much to this part of the state.

Mr. Erskine was born in Bloomington, Illinois, March 9, 1871, the son of Andrew and Jeannette (McEwen) Erskine, both natives of Scotland. He had very little opportunity for schooling and his first work was in the coal mines of Missouri, where he worked from the age of. 12 to 18, when he entered Battle Creek college for three years. His father dying, he returned to work in the mines at Rich Hill, Missouri, for a time, in order to support his father’s family of seven by a second marriage.

Early becoming interested in mining machinary, he rose to be superintendent of construction, and later worked as engineer for Dr. J. IL Kellogg, and in other health food plants, at Battle Creek and Detroit. Coming to Los Angeles in 1904, he worked for the Southern Pacific for a time, and then for the Globe Grain and Milling company. lie subsequently went to El Paso for this company where he constructed their ice plant mid flouring mills.

In 1910 Mr. Erskine came to Fresno to superintend the construction of the Valley Ice plant, between Fresno and Calwa, for the icing of transcontinental fruit shipments. He also built plants at Modesto, Stockton, Madera, Reedley and Bakersfield for the same company. The Valley lee company is the parent corporation of the People’s Ice plant at Fresno, all the building’s of which have been erected in this city between 1920 and 1925. Mr. Erskine is now manager of the ice concerns in all these cities.

Notwithstanding his extensive private business, Mr. Erskine has found much time to give to public affairs. He takes pride in his service of five years as treasurer of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, during which time critical financial programs were carried to successful conclusion.

Mrs. Erskine was Anzanettie K. Showalter; a native of Indiana. They were married in Butler, Missouri. They have one daughter, Frances N. Erskine.

Mr. Erskine has been a member of the Fresno Lions club for more than 10 years, and was president in 1931-32. He is also a member of the -University- Sequoia club. In Masonry, he was master of Las Palmas Lodge No. 366 in 1924; he is a past high priest in the Royal Arch, a past commander of Knights Templar, and now inspector for the grand commander, K. T., in this valley.

JAMES .GALLAGHER

James Gallagher was a member of the Fresno bar of thirty years, and during most of that time was attorney for the Santa Fe railroad company. He was a member of the Fresno city board of education during the Nineties, and took pride in the share he had in the building of the first exclusively “high school” building, the central structure of what is now the Fresno Technical school. After the establishment of the diocese of Fresno-Monterey, with cathedral at Fresno, Mr. Gallagher was attorney for the bishop.

James Gallagher was born in Sligo county, Ireland, and attended school in his native land. He came alone to America at the age of eighteen, landed at Boston, and after spending some time there came to San Francisco. Obtaining employment with the Southern Pacific railroad at that place, he studied law at night, and, through his own efforts was finally admitted to the bar. He then came to Fresno, and at first acted as a shorthand reporter, while seeking clients. He was for a time in Judge M. K. Harris’ law office, and later set up for himself, and during most of his life practiced alone.

Mr. Gallagher’s early experiences with the railroad company interested him especially in transportation problems, and in his practice for the Santa Fe corporation he found much satisfaction in working out legal problems of rail companies. One very important case in which he was active for several years and which involved millions of dollars was decided in his favor on the day that he was buried. Mr. Gallagher was also a specialist in probate matters, and acquired a reputation as a careful and hard working civil practitioner.

In the days of the development of Fresno, Mr. Gallagher was particularly interested in the progress of public ownership, and was one of the earliest advocates of the policy of having the city of Fresno own its utilities.

Among his public services, Mr. Gallagher acted as trustee of the Fresno city library, serving for eight years.

Mr. Gallagher was married to Rena Donahue of Santa Rosa, who died in 1933. Four children were born to this union: Ann, Elizabeth, James and John Gallagher.

Mr. Gallagher was an earnest adherent of the Catholic church, and was an officer of the Y. M. I. and a member of the Knights of Columbus.

He died April 15, 1928.

W. B. HAZELTON

Wesley B. Hazelton is the son of one of the first settlers in Fresno county, his father, William Hazelton, having come to California in 1849. He settled first at San Diego, and in 1853 came to the San Joaquin Valley and home­steaded on the well known Hazelton ranch where the Kings river debouches from the Sierra hills.

It was here that W. B. Hazelton was born, February 3, 1860. His mother, Mary Jane (Akers) Hazelton, who died in 1910, was a member of another family of the first decade of Fresno history, Four generations of Hazeltons have now worked on the old home place, and Wesley Hazelton’s eldest son, John W., now is in charge of it.

W. B. Hazelton attended school at what was first called Hazelton district and now Orangedale. He lived on the home ranch, which he still owns, until twenty-six years ago, when he moved to Sanger. In addition to the old home place, other land has been bought, so that today the family holdings include about 3,000 acres of which nearly one hundred acres are in oranges. Mr. Hazelton was for many years engaged in cattle raising, but closed out this side of his business about a year ago.

On the old family place are two of the oldest orange trees in the county, planted by W. B. Hazelton’s mother in 1862. There is also one of the oldest and largest fig trees in Fresno county on the ranch, which is still bearing.

W. B. Hazelton is one of the largest stockholders in the Sanger Citrus association, which he helped organize in 1920, and has served as president almost from the beginning.

Mrs. Hazelton was Amelia Bacon, daughter of Thomas Bacon, and a na­tive of Mariposa county. They were married in 1881, and have eight children: John W., Eva Bell (now a nurse at San Mateo) ; Sophia (Mrs. A. J. Gerner) ; George E., living at Santa Cruz; Edith (Mrs. Harry Daniels) ; Fred B., Alice (Mrs. C. J. Price), of Taft, and Ida May (Mrs. Robert Schwalb), of San Fran­cisco.

CHARLES C. CASS

For a dozen years, Charles C. (Jack) Cass has been a public spirited citizen of Fresno, giving of his time and energy to the Fresno State College, the Fresno airport, the Raisin Festival and many other matters of public service.

Mr. Cass was born at Winters, Yoh) county, California, May 19, 1886, the son of Fred Heck and Alice (McIntyre) Cass. His parents were both natives of California, his mother born in Sacramento, and his father, a lumberman, who was connected with the Fresno Flume and irrigation company which developed the town of Clovis, Fresno county. The family moved to Clovis when Charles was six months old, and to Fowler when he was two years old. He attended schools at Suisun, Solano county, then the Oakland Polytechnic High school

For some years Mr. Cass was employed in San Francisco, with H. Levi & Co., with the Kosmos Line, and then finally entered the grain business with Somers & Co. In 1917, he joined the Albers Bros. Co. organization at San Francisco, which in the years since has become a subsidiary of the Carnation Milk Products company. He has been in all departments of the Albers organization. He came to Fresno for this firm in 1920 and has been with it here ever since. Until 1924 he was buyer and in that year became manager of the Fresno branch.

Mr. Cass was president of the Fresno Kiwanis club in 1926; he was for four years president of the Better Business Bureau, pioneering in the work of enabling customers to understand goods and advertising. He is chairman of the advisory board of the Volunteers of America; has been president of the Raisin Festival association, a branch of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce activity, for four years. He was chairman of the citizens committee which secured the Chandler airport, and paved the way for its adequate development by the municipality. He was chairman of the finance committee which built the stadium for the Fresno State College. He was also chairman of the committee which put in the lighting system at the stadium. Interested in the Boy Scouts for several years, he has been chairman of Troop Committee No. 7. He is also community chairman of the United States Society. He is a member of the Na­tional Geographic Society, and has been on the directorate of both the chamber of commerce and of the Commercial club, and is vice president of the Nation’s Christmas Tree association.

Mr. Cass is a member of Fresno Lodge No. 439, B. P. O. E.; of Las Palm­as Lodge No. 366; F. and A. M.; is a past toparch of the Sciots; a past patron of the Order of the Eastern Star ; a member of the Royal Arch Masons, and of the High Twelve club of Fresno.

Mrs. Cass was Edith Byram of San Francisco. There is one son, Charles Byram Cass, born in Oakland.

DAVID M. BARNWELL

Dave Barnwell enjoys the distinction of being the first Fresno county official to be elected to Fresno county office without oppOsition and he has been. elected to the same office six times, five times without opposition, these five occasions being in 1914, 1918, 1922, 1926 and 1930.

County Clerk Barnwell was born in Comanche county, Texas, October 20, 1875, the son of D. M. and Martha Ann Barnwell. His parents came early to this county and his father was for many years well known as a colonist of the West Park district.

Young Dave attended the Fresno High school, graduating in 1896, and graduated from the University of California with a B. L. degree in 1900. He followed newspaper work to help himself through college, being employed on the San Francisco Examiner and the Oakland Tribune. After college, he con­tinued to do newspaper writing, both in the Bay cities and on the Fresno Dem­ocrat, of which he was for a time receiver during a business difficulty.

While admitted to practice law, Mr. Barnwell obtained an early oppor­tunity for legal experience as a deputy under County Clerk Miles, in 1904, con­tinuing as office or court deputy until 1910, when he sought election and was chosen to succeed his late chief.

Mr. Barnwell was married in San Francisco to Adelheid Schmidt of Oak­land, and they have two children: Edith Martha (Mrs. William T. Waterman of Fresno) ; and Robert Woodward Barnwell, of San Francisco. Mr. Barnwell is a past master of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F and A. M., 1912, and is a member of both the York and Scottish Rite bodies as well as of the Mystic Shrine.

G. P. CUMMINGS

G.  P. Cummings became a resident of Fresno in 1885. He has been assessor of Fresno county since January 1, 1907, and with this twenty-six years record is now the oldest Fresno county official in point of service, (having been elected seven times in succession), and the second oldest county assessor in California in point of service.

Having started in life as a school teacher, Mr. Cummings perhaps takes chief pride in his service of five years on the Fresno board of education in the Nineties, when the first strictly high school building in this city was constructed—what is now the central unit of the Fresno Technical High school plant at 0 and Tuolumne streets.

Gabriel Penn Cummings was born at Warren, Tennessee, May 30, 1.856, the son of G. P. and Elizabeth (Plumlee) Cummings. His father was the eleventh child in a family of twelve. His grandfather, Joseph Cummings, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and also served in the war of 1812, as a colonel. Mr. Cummings attended the schools in Tennessee and then taught school in that state for some years. He came to California in 1885, and lo­cated first near Borden, then in Fresno but now a part of Madera county, where he raised grain and taught school. Coming to the city of Fresno in 1887, he clerked in a grocery store, then was a partner in a store and was a traveling salesman for about a year.

In 1899, under George W. Cartwright, he became a deputy county clerk, serving as secretary to the board of supervisors. On the death of J. W. Ferguson, Mr. Cummings was appointed to fill the vacancy in the county assessor’s office. He completed this term, July 30, 1900, to January 1, 1903, and for some months following was a member of the real estate firm of Murdock, Cummings & Murdock. From 1904 to 1907, he served as under sheriff with J. D. Collins. In 1906 he was elected county assessor and has continued in that office since January 1, 1907.

Mrs. Cummings was Elizabeth Virginia Smartt, and they had four chil­dren, all living now: Bonnie Jean (Mrs. M. S. Webster) ; George A. (Mrs. Creighton E. Hamilton) ; Annabel (Mrs. J. T. Tupper) ; and G. P. Cummings of Los Angeles. G. P. Jr. (Penn) formerly practiced law in Fresno, but re­moved to the southern city about six years ago. G. P. Sr., now has six grand­children and two great grandchildren.

Mr. Cummings gave distinguished service to the Knights of Pythias in this state and was in 1918-1919 grand chancellor of the order. He also has served as worthy patron of the Eastern Star in Fresno. He is a member of the Woodmen of the World, of the Independent Order of Foresters and of the Fresno Exchange club. In Masonry, he belongs to Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, is a Knight Templar, a member of the Scottish Rite, and a Shriner.

HAROLD F. KNAPP

Former president of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce, owner of the local telephone company, school trustee for eight years, Harold F. Knapp is one of the town leaders of Sanger.

He was born at Parker, South Dakota, March 30, 1890. His parents, Ed­win W. and Martha E. (Stone) Knapp, moved to Mountain View in Santa Clara county in 1890, where the father became a prune grower.

Harold Knapp attended Mountain View and San Jose schools and the Pasadena High school. In early life he followed a number of occupations, and in 1915 moved to Sanger where he purchased the telephone plant. At that time it had 250 subscribers. Now there are about 600, covering Sanger and the neighboring territory. The present telephone building was constructed in 1916 and occupied in 1917. It is one of the pleasing structures of the business community.

Mr. Knapp was married to Miss Eudora M. Church. They have one child: Alden C. Knapp.

JOHN HENRY FAIRWEATHER

John Henry Fairweather is the publisher of the Reedley Exponent, and has been an active citizen of Fresno county for the greater portion of his life. He is the son of the late John Fairweather of Fresno, whose name is inextricably bound up with the history of irrigation in central California.

John Fairweather, the father, was born at Langton-by-Wragby, Lincolnshire, England, January 14, 1845, came to the United States when about twenty years old, and settled at Chagrin Falls, Cuyahoga county, Ohio, where he was engineer in a paper mill for many years. Later he ran a farm for a time and came to California in 1889, settling at Reedley, where he first opened a real estate office.

Those were the days of the promotion of the Alta Irrigation district and the opening up of one of the richest areas of Fresno and Tulare counties. Worthless lands became of great value through the application of Kings river water, under the operation of the recently passed Wright act for co­operative water districts.

John Fairweather was shortly thereafter elected justice of the peace at Reedley, and threw himself actively into public life. In 1895, he was elected to the California assembly as a Democrat. For many years he was the Fresno county delegate to the National Irrigation Congress, and. was tireless in promoting knowledge of the opportunity for developing water and electric power for farm use. Experienced in the early history of the Alta district, he assisted in the organization of the Fresno district and the Consolidated district, which with the Alta covered most of the intensively cultivate areas of the county.

After publishing the Reedley Exponent for twenty years, the elder Fairweather turned the property over to his son, John Henry, and moved to Fresno. He was treasurer of the Fresno Irrigation district from its organization until he passed away.

John and Mary Fairweather had eight children: Mrs. J. Frank Brown, of Hanford; Mrs. William McCreary, of Reedley; Mrs. Mary Jayne, of Reedley; John Henry Fairweather; Mrs. C. W. Mathews, of Los Angeles; and Mrs. W. A. Gregory, of Dinuba. Two sons who passed away in their early manhood.

John Henry Fairweather was born at Chagrin Falls, Ohio, May 14, 1874, the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Fairweather. Educated in schools in Ohio and at Reedley, he later attended night school and private institutions in San Francisco. When sixteen years of age, he went to work for the Fresno Evening Expositor and continued in the work for six years. Next, he returned to Reedley and with his father purchased the Weekly Exponent, which he ran for two years. Then he turned this paper over to his father and went to San Francisco, where he worked in a printing office. He also worked in the state printing office in Sacramento. After working as a street car conductor for three years, he was a police officer for four years in San Francisco. During this time, he was chairman of the general body of patrolmen which was in­strumental in getting an increase in pay for policemen after the great fire of 1906. Following this, he was with the California Society for the Preven­tion of Cruelty to Children; then was head of the similar society in Oakland and was deputy probation officer of Alameda and other counties, being prosecutor for the society in the courts.

Mr. Fairweather returned to Reedley in 1915, and since that time has been the owner and editor of the Reedley Exponent. He has put in a new printing plant and has one of the best equipped plants in the San Joaquin Valley’. Lie v,-as for a term the president of the Reedley Clia:mber of Commerce and president of the Lions club, and deputy district governor of Lions Inter­national in this district. He was a member of the board of freeholders who drafted the Fresno county charter adopted by the voters at an election April 10, 1933.

Mrs. Fairweather was Theodocia V. England, a native daughter of California. They have three children: Mrs. Helen Fairweather-Berk, associated with her father in the publishing of the Reedley Exponent ; John H. Jr., managing editor of the “Collegian” at the Fresno State college; is a student in college of journalism, University of Missouri. James William, now studying in Ohio to be a professional musician.

H.  WINGATE LAKE

Much more than only a hotel man, H. Wingate Lake for 20 years has been a leader in Fresno civic and fraternal life. He is the lessee as well as part owner of the Hotel Californian, constructed as a civic enterprise in 1922. Before this he had been for ten years the lessee of the Hotel Fresno from the time of its construction in 1911.

H.  Wingate Lake was born in Santa Barbara, California, February 23, 1868, the son of Wingate N. and Mary (Badger) Lake. His father came to California from Massachusetts, his mother from New Hampshire. The father was an operator of stage lines up and down the Pacific coast, and his mother was a pioneer school teacher in San Diego. The Lake family is very old in American history with branches in Canada, and his mother’s family was related to former Governor Badger of New Hampshire.

Mr. Lake began his hotel career in the office of the Arlington hotel, Santa Barbara, in 1883. In 1888 he went to Los Angeles, then in 1889, he became interested in the Ramona hotel at San Luis Obispo, where he was manager for four years. Next he was assistant manager of the Hotel Rafael, at San Rafael, for three years.

For four years Mr. Lake was one of the lessees and was the manager of the Baldwin hotel, San Francisco, after which he went to Honolulu as manager of the Royal Hawaiian hotel. When the Alexander Young hotel was built at Honolulu, he became manager of it. Returning to California, he was with the Hotel Vendome, San Jose, for five years.

Coming to Fresno in 1912, Mr. Lake took a ten year lease on the newly constructed Hotel Fresno. Toward the end of this period, he promoted the building of the Californian, at Van Ness and Kern streets, which cost a million and a quarter dollars, and was designed and constructed by his son, H. Rafael Lake. H. Wingate Lake is the sole owner of the operating company of the hotel, and is one of the largest shareholders in the Sun Maid Hotel company, the owner of the physical property.

In civic life, Mr. Lake has been active in everything of benefit to Fresno. He is an associate member of the United States Chamber of Commerce, belongs to the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, the Fresno Commercial club, the University Sequoia club, the Rotary club of Fresno, and is a life honorary member of the Advertising Clubs of the World. One of his principal interests has been the opening up of the southern entrance into the Yosemite valley by a first class highway from Fresno.

Mrs. Lake was Eunice L. James of Illinois. There is one son, H. Rafael Lake, the architect. In Masonry, Mr. Lake is a member of both the York and Scottish Rites bodies, and is past president of the Fresno Shrine club. He was an early member of the Sunnyside Country club. lie became a member of the B. P. 0. E. in Honolulu, 1901. He is also a member of the High Twelve Luncheon club, and a life member of the Greeters club of America.

On February 27, 1933, members of the High Twelve club and other bodies of Fresno tendered Mr. Lake a banquet in honor of his fiftieth anniversary in the hotel business.

NEIL J. DAU, M. D.

Dr. Neil J. Dan is a native of Fresno, a war veteran, gained his medical education after the Great war and has been practicing in Fresno for the last eight years.

Dr. Dan was born in 1898, the son of C. J. and Mary (Jensen) Dan, both natives of Denmark. He was educated in the local grammar and high schools, after which he served as sergeant in the U. S. ‘transport Service, operating to and from Siberia.

Dr. Dan’s medical training was obtained at the University of Nebraska, where he received his M. D. in 1923; he spent some time as interne at the Clarkson hospital in Omaha and later was associated with Dr. he Roy Crummer of Omaha. Returning to Fresno, he began practice in 1925 and has been here ever since except for a six months postgraduate course in 1929 at Vienna. He specializes in diagnosis and heart diseases.

Mrs. Dan was Blanche Ewing, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. D. S. Ewing. She married Dr. Dau in 1928 and they have one son, Neil J. Dan Jr. Dr. Dan is a member of the American Legion, a Mason and a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha, honorary medical fraternity.

DR. CHESTER J. DAU

Dr. Chester J. Dan is a native of the City of Fresno, graduate of the Fresno schools, married to a Fresnan, and has been practicing dentistry in. this city ever since his graduation from college in 1924.

He is the son of C. J. and Mary (Jensen) Dau, and was born November 9, 1901. After finishing the Fresno High school course, he attended the Uni­versity of Southern California, dental department, and obtained his D. D. S. in 1924.

Dr. Chester Dau is married to Mary, daughter of Dr. B. B. Lamkin of Fresno. Dr. Dan is a member of the University-Sequoia club and of the Sunnyside Country club.

JUDGE M. K. HARRIS

M. K. Harris is far and away the “dean” of Fresno county attorneys. He has been practicing in the City of Fresno for fifty-four years, actively up to a few months ago. He served as judge of the superior court for eight years, has been a member of the board of education and a leading member of the Christian church, and in the days of the formation of the California Raisin Growers association was an active arbiter of difficulties and promoter of communal interests in business. He has served as president of the California State Bar association, and was also president of the board’ of freeholders, which prepared the first city charter for the city of Fresno, in 1899.

Milus King Harris was born in Sumner county, Tennessee, March 31, 1853, the son of Isaac W. and Martha K. (Hassell) Harris, his people being farmers who had come from Kentucky and Virginia. The boy graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1873, for four years taught school at St. Elmo, Kentucky, then spent a year at Vanderbilt University, and graduated in law. In August, 1878, be came to Fresno and set up in practice. That was a time when most of the first settlers in Fresno county of the early Fifties were still living, and Judge Harris’ life thus forms a bridge between the beginnings and the present maturity of Fresno life.

On March 11, 1887, Judge Harris was appointed, by Governor Washington Bartlett, judge of the superior court. In the following year, he was nominated for the same position by the Democratic party, was elected and served a term of six years, being succeeded in 1895 by Eugene W. Risley, Republican and Populist in the political turnover of that year. Since then, Judge Harris has never sought public office, except for serving as a member of the board of education during the term of L. O. Stephens as mayor, 1901-05.

An indication of Judge Harris’ relation to the bar is shown by the men who have been associated with him. First practicing alone, he for a time was with Judge E. C. Winchell, an early county judge. His first firm was that of Vaughan, Grady 86 Harris, which lasted but a few months. Next he was as­sociated with Judge C..G. Sayles, whose partner he was for several years. After his period on the bench, he was alone for a time, then had as his associate Morris B. Harris (later state senator and not related), and finally formed an association with L. B. Hayhurst, which still continues.

Judge Harris was for many years noted particularly as a trial lawyer, and spent much of his time in court. it is said that today he has practiced law longer in California than any other attorney with possibly one exception. Certain it is that he has tried more water right cases than any other attorney in the state.

Mrs. Harris was Julia Tyree, daughter of Edward and Elizabeth Tyree, also of Sunnier county Tennessee.

WILLIAM HELM

One of the earliest settlers on the plains of Fresno, William Heim was a part of the life of this county for fifty-four years. He left behind two sons and five daughters, all grown up to establish families of their own in this district of central California. Mr. Helm ‘s name is perpetuated, among other things, by the town of Helm, in the southwest of the county, and by the Helm building, which he erected in 1890 at the southeast corner of J (Fulton) and Fresno streets, this city.

William Helm was born March 9, 1837, forty miles above Montreal on the St. Lawrence river, Canada, the son of George and Mary Helen. His par­ents were both natives of Scotland. Reared on the farm, he left home at nineteen, engaged in lumbering and running a sawmill in Wisconsin, for three years. He came to California in 1859 by way of Panama. He learned the butcher business in Placerville, and then started raising sheep in Placer county. Requiring more pasturage, in 1865 he drove down to Fresno county, the plains of which were still a wilderness untouched by the plow. One of the large owners of much of this area was W. S. Chapman. Mr. Helm bought from Chapman four sections of land along Big Dry creek, six miles northeast of what is now the center of the City of Fresno. For this he paid a dollar an acre. He added to his sheep year by year, and the need increasing, he bought more land -until he had 16,000 acres and 22,000 sheep. For many years he was the largest sheep raiser in central California.

After the Central Pacific railroad came through this part of the county in 1872 and the county seat was located at Fresno in 1874, Mr. Helm made his home here. For many years his brick residence, on Fresno street between R and S streets, was one of the conspicuous mansions of the town. Helping to promote the Gould canal, which took water from the Kings river above the intake of the “Church” canal, he used it to irrigate his lands on Big Dry creek, sold off a part of it, and planted 700 acres of the remainder to vine­yard, which he later divided among his children.

Mr. Helm joined in promoting the infant city. In the boom of the late Eighties, lie planned and built the “Helm block,” still standing on Fulton street. He was a director in the Bank of California. later merged with who is now the Security First National of Los Angeles. He was also a director on the original board of the Fresno Morning Republican.

Mr. Helm was married to Fannie S. Newman, in Placer county. They had the following children: Jessie (Mrs. C. S. Cox), now living in Fresno; George I., a vineyardist, now on the old Helm property on the northeast out­skirts of this city; Frank M., etpitalist, for many years the owner of the Jersey Farm dairy and one of the owners of the Griffith-McKenzie building; Fannie (Mrs. E. A. Walrond), whose late husband was the cashier and vice president of the First National Bank of Fresno; Mary (Mrs. J. L. Maupin), whose late husband was for many years one of the leading physicians of Fres­no; Agnes (Mrs. Montgomery Thomas), of Fresno; and Maude (Mrs. M. M. Dearing), of Fresno.

Mrs. William Helm died in Fresno, April 22, 1906; her husband died April 10, 1919, more than eighty-two years of age.

GEORGE J. OVERHOLT

The sheriff of Fresno county is a native son, born October 1883, in Clark’s valley about thirty miles east of Sanger. Mr. Overholt was elected sheriff November, 1930, for a four-year term, and previous to that had been the under-sheriff, that is office manager and chief deputy, for twelve years.

Mr. Overholt’s parents, still living in Fresno, above 80 years of age, are F. C. and Ida (Wright) Overholt. His mother was born hi Wisconsin, of an English family. His father was born in Pennsylvania, of it Dutch family, who were early settlers in that colony. The father came to San Joaquin county in 1868, and lived first near Farmington. Coming to Fresno county in 1871, lie worked for some time on the old Church ditch, which brought the first water from Kings river out onto the plains near what is now the city of Fresno.

Young Overholt attended local schools, including the old Byrd school in Clark’s valley; next at Centerville, where his father owned a store, and next for five years at Sanger. He also attended school for a time in Fresno, After this, he went East to the home of an uncle, and attended Peterson Business college at Scotdale, Pennsylvania. Returning to Fresno, he managed the Mitchell ranch near Sanger, and next was in the Sierras as timekeeper at Millwood, 1908-10, and helped to build the mill at Hume. For thirteen mouths he managed the hotel at Lemon Cove, Tulare county. Ile came back to Fresno in 1912 and worked for Holland & Holland, grocers, for eight years.

Mr. Overholt’s first connection with politics was in the campaign of 1918, when he managed the first campaign of William Jones for sheriff. Jones being elected, Mr. Overholt became his under-sheriff and continued for the three terms which Jones occupied the office. His qualifications inclndcd a very wide and thorough knowledge of the county, an active experience as peace officer and an ability to give attention to the office for careful records and technical skill.

Mrs. Overholt was formerly Ada Buckman, the daughter of J. E. Beck­man, county superintendent of schools of Tulare for the past quarter of a century. She is a native of Tulare county, and the family has been repre­sented in that county over sixty years.

Mr. Overholt is a member of Fresno Lodge No. 439, B. P. O. E., of the Native Sons, of which he is past president of Fresno Parlor No. 25, and is a member of the Woodmen of the World.

JESSE E. RODMAN

J. E. Rodman has lived in Fresno county since 1895. He is a native of Oregon Mr. Rodman is the Fresno county district for Chevrolet Motor cars and is the sole owner of the Rodman Chevrolet Co. and the Rodman Finance Co.

For the past three years he has been president of the Fresno Motor Car Dealers association.

Mr. Rodman was born in Scio, Oregon, the son of M. S. and Maybelle Rodman. In 1893 young Rodman was brought by his parents from his native state to Porterville, Tulare county, California. Later they moved to Auberry valley, Fresno county.

He attended Fresno county schools. Later, preparing to teach school, he attended the Normal school in Stockton, California.

He taught school in Fresno county for six years, the last two years as principal of the Parker school.

When America entered the World war, Mr. Rodman enlisted in the Marine Corps and served at Mare Island as an instructor of recruits. After the war, he returned to Fresno and entered the employ of Giffen & Wolfe, Ford dealers. He was with that firm for five years, the last four as manager.

In 1924 he took over the Agency for Chevrolet in Fresno county. The Rodman Chevrolet Company has between 40 and 50 employees, with 10 sales­men and a large plant located at 1400 Van Ness avenue.

Mrs. Rodman was Zella S. Sisler of Fresno before her marriage.

Mr. Rodman is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., University-Sequoia club, Rotary club, Sunnyside Country club, Merchants association and is a director of the Community Chest, and of the chamber of commerce.

SENATOR RAY W. HAYS

Senator Hays is a native of Wisconsin, but has lived in Fresno county since he was a few months old; having been born at Mineral Point, Wisconsin, July 9, 1.889. He is a veteran of the border campaign of 1916, in which General Pershing pursued Francisco Villa into Mexico, and enlisting as a private in the World war, rose to the rank of captain. He is now colonel in the National Guard of California, commanding the 185th Infantry, California Na­tional Guard.

Senator Hays’ parents are Nathan Henry, and Emily (Cook) Hays, the latter a native of England. As a boy he attended the Jefferson district grammar school, the Clovis High school, and becoming a student at the University of California, Berkeley, he received his A. B. degree in 1911, and his J. D. din 1913. He was the first business manager of the California Law Review. He started practice in San Francisco in 1913, but after two years re­moved to Fresno. He was a deputy district attorney under C. E. Beaumont for a year and a half, acting as attorney for the board of supervisors.

Mr. Hays has found activity in military affairs both for his means of expressing his interest in his country’s welfare and his personal recreation from his professional work. After leaving college, he entered the local militia, and as such played a part in California’s contribution to guard duty during the Villa era. Enlisting in the World war, Machine Gun Troop, 1st California Cavalry, he attended officers’ training camp, became first lieutenant and then captain, went over-seas July, 1.918, with the 91st Division; was in the St. Mihiel, Meuse-Argonne and Ypres-Lys drives. On returning to Fresno, he became interested in the reorganization of the national guard and now is regimental commander, over 19 companies, with headquarters at Fresno.

In law practice, Mr. Hays was five years in the firm of Gallaher, Simpson & Hays; since then he has been practicing alone, with offices in the Brix building. He gives his attention mainly to trial work. In 1930, he sought the RepabNewt nomination for state senate from the Fresco county district, and was then elected, as against Senator C. H. Cobb and former Assemblyman S. L. Reisinger. In his first session of the senate, he gave special attention to promoting public education, with the interest of the Fresno State College prominently in mind.

Senator Hays is married to Marie Hoeffler of Fresno, and they have four children : James Nathan, Ethel Lea, Sally Anne, and Robert Ray, all born in Fresno. He is a past exalted ruler of the Elks Lodge, No. 439, is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M. and of the Scottish Rite, is a past consul commander of the ‘Woodmen of the World, belongs to the American Legion, is past president of the Fresno Lions club, and belongs to the Sunny- side Country club. In college, he was a member of the Phi Delta Phi Law fraternity.

CHARLES EDGECOMB

Charles Edgecomb has been a teacher in Fresno county for twenty years, and most of that time a member of the county school board. But he has also been active as a member of civic organizations, and is a past president of the Rotary club of Selma.

Mr. Edgecomb was born near Decatur, Illinois, January 6, 1873, the son of Samuel and Marie (Huff) Edgecomb. His father was a Dunkard preacher and farmer. The family lived for a time in Kansas, but came to this county in 1910 and settled on a ranch near Fresno. Young Edgecomb attended public schools of Cherokee county, Kansas, was at Kansas Normal college a part of one year, then started teaching school. Alternatively teaching and attending school, he finished normal and was for a time at McPherson college, and next at Central Normal at Edmond, Oklahoma. He received the A. B. degree from Fresno State College.

Coming to California in 1912, Mr. Edgecomb was elected principal of the Clovis grammar school; then went to Selma in 1916 as superintendent of the district elementary schools. He has been a member of the county board of education since 1913. He is ‘a member of the Boy Scout and of the Y. M. C. A. boards, a director of the Community Chest and also of the local Red Cross.

Mr. Edgecomb was married to Elva Kirk, who was the mother of his first two children, Earl and John, both World war veterans. John was wound­ed at Chateau Thierry and also took part in the St. Mihiel and Argonne drives. Mrs. Edgecomb died and he later married Matie Gordon, and three children were born to this union : Mrs. Goldie Dockery, principal of the Raisin City schools; Gladys, teacher at Walnut district; and Grace, student in the Selma High school. Mr. Edgecomb is a member of the Presbyterian church and su­perintendent of the Sunday school.

MAXWELL W. GREGG

Maxwell W. Gregg, mayor of Reedley, has been active in the promotion of grape and raisin organizations for a number of years.

Mr. Gregg was born in Toronto, Canada, January 25, 1890, his parents being Maxwell Robert and Mary (Shields) Gregg. The family came to Reedley in 1904, and the father operated the Grand hotel there. Young Gregg attended school at Toronto, later Kings college, Vancouver, British Columbia, and Heald’s Business college, Fresno, coming to Reedley in 1906.

At first Mr. Gregg was with his father in the hotel for a few years, and later ran the Hotel Belmont on Eddy street, San Francisco, for five years; then returned to Reedley. He was foreman for the Pacific Fruit Exchange at !Minima, seven seasons. He organized the Reedley Grape Growers Co., with B. W. Smith ; and they operate three packing houses, for packing raisins, grapes and oranges.

Mrs. Gregg was Nettie E. Smith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Albert K. Smith, There is one son: Robert Maxwell.

Mr. Gregg has been a member of the board of city trustees for two years and last spring’ was chosen chairman (mayor). He is a member of the Knights of Pythias at Reedley, of the Reedley Chamber of Commerce and of the Lions club of which he is now president. He is a communicant of the Methodist church. In Masonry, he is a member of the Reedley lodge, and of the Royal Arch at Selma; and he is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks.

O. A. BREHLER

Mr. Brehler has been in the drug business at Sanger for the past twenty- eight years, and today has the outstanding business of that line in the city. Ile graduated in 1898 from the department of pharmacy of the Detroit College of Medicine, and passed the Michigan Pharmacy Board examination. He has retained a wide outlook on life and has numerous outside interests, one of the most, interesting of which is his hobby of collecting Indian baskets. Ile has a very large and valuable assortment of these, a number of which he has loaned for exhibition purposes to the Fresno State College.

Oscar August Brehler was born at Royal Oak, Michigan, and is the son of Jacob Brehler and Harriettt (Hailer) Brehler. His father was born at Kurfiessen, Province of Hessen, Germany. His mother died a few years ago at Sanger when ninety-one years of age, and was active up to the time of her death.

In his younger days Mr. Brehler followed the drug’ business in Michigan. Subsequently he moved to Arizona where he spent a year and a half. Coming to Fresno, he was for three years with the San Joaquin Drug company on Mariposa Street. In 1905 he moved to Sanger, purchasing the drug’ store of. H. F. Messer, which he has operated under his own name ever since.

Mr. Brehler has given much time and attention to interests outside of his immediate business, and is known as one of the most public spirited citizens of Sanger. He served as the first president of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce when it was organized in 1910; he is commissioner of the Kings River district of the Sequoia Council of Boy Scouts of America, director of the Fresno County Sportsman club, vice-chairman of the advisory hoard of the Sanger Branch of the Bank of America, member of the Fresno County Planning board; past president of the Sanger Kiwanis club, and now Lieutenant Governor of Division 5 of the California-Nevada District of Kiwanis International.

During time World war he was one of the famous dollar per year men, serving as recruiting officer for the U. S. Merchant Marine at Sanger.

Mr. Brehler’s fraternal affiliations include membership in the Fresno Lodge of Elks, Sanger Lodge of Masons, Fresno Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, Fresno Commandery Knights Templars, and Islam Temple Mystic Shrine.

THOMAS F. MADDEN, M. D.

Dr. Thomas F. Madden, practicing physician in Fresno county for more than twenty-five years, has been specially noted for his work for the Fresno Community Chest and other organizations, and as chief of the eye, ear, nose and throat service at the Fresno county hospital.

Dr. Madden was born at San Jose, May 23, 1880, the son of Michael and Jane Ellen (Lemmon). His father was a native of Ireland mid his mother of England. He attended the San Jose schools,  and then graduated in 1904 from Cooper Medical College, now the medical department of Stanford University. He took graduate work at the Knapp Memorial Eye hospital at New York, and also at the Postgraduate hospital, New York, in eye, ear, nose and throat. From 1904 to 1906, he was engaged as interne in the Fresno minty hospital. For the following six years he was physician at Millwood for the Hume-Ben­nett Lumber company. He then began general practice at Sanger, continuing there for five years.

During Dr. Madden’s residence in. Sanger he was a member of the city board of trustees, and was chairman (mayor) for a term. He continued practice at Sanger until the Great war, when he enlisted in the Medical. Corps. He was stationed at Camp Fremont, and at the Letterman General hospital, Presidio, San Francisco, with the rank of first lieutenant.

At the close of the war, Dr. Madden located at Fresno and has specialized in eye, ear, nose and throat work for which he had been preparing since his early hospital experiences.

Dr. Madden was married in 1907 to Edna Burnett, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chester Burnett, an old. Fresno county family. They have two children: Thomas Chester and Caroline Ellen.

Dr. Madden is a member of the Masonic order and the Elks. He was president of the Fresno Lions club in 1929-30, and was deputy district gov­ernor of the Lions International for the San Joaquin Valley, 1930-32.

The doctor served as secretary of the board of freeholders in 1932-33 for the drawing up of a county charter for submission to the Legislature and the voters.

C. L. ROWE

Claude Loftus Rowe is a native son of Fresno, a graduate of the Fresno High school, the University of California, and Harvard Law school, has been city attorney for the last three years, and is a veteran of the Great war.

Mr. Rowe was born February 16, 1899, the son of William and Claudia (Robenson) Rowe. His father, a native of New Hampshire, has been a resident of Fresno for the past 42 years and is treasurer of the Barrett Hicks company. His mother was born in Texas and her father was an early merchant of Fresno.

Claude L. Rowe received his A. B. degree from the University of Cali­fornia in 1921, and then took the law course at Harvard, where he received his LL. B. in 1924. His college course was interrupted by the Great war. He enlisted in a Machine Gun corps, becoming sergeant, and at the time of the Armistice he was in the officers’ training school at Camp Taylor.

When the war was over Mr. Rowe returned to California, completed his college work and started practice in Fresno in partnership with Lewis IT. Smith, until Mr. Smith moved to Los Angeles, where lie is now a superior court judge.

Mr. Rowe is a member of Fresno Post No. 4, American Legion, is a di­rector of the Simnyside Country club and vice president of the University Sequoia club.

He married Laura Timblin Nov. 13, 1932.

MONSIGNOR J. J. CROWLEY

One of the best known clergymen in the San Joaquin Valley is Rev. John J. Crowley of Fresno, for he is the Chancellor of the diocese of Monterey- Fresno of the Catholic church, is secretary to the Bishop and is as well the rector of St. John’s church in Fresno, the Cathedral of the diocese. These positions make him the ranking head of the Catholic church in the city of Fresno.

Monsignor Crowley was born in Killarney, Ireland, on December 8, 1891, his parents being Michael F. and Nora M. (Lyre) Crowley. The family came to the United States in 1903 and settled at Worcester, Massachusetts.

Monsignor Crowley was educated in the public schools and at Holy Cross College, at Worcester and at Clark University, in the same city. Completing a course at St. Mary’s seminary, Baltimore, he was ordained to the priest­hood in May, 1918, at Fall River, Massachusetts.

In August, 1918, he came to Los Angeles as assistant pastor at St. Agnes’ church. A very different field of service came in 1919, with his ap­pointment as pastor for the charges in Inyo county and Barstow and Rands- burg, the mining settlements. Spending five years in this exacting routine, he was transferred in 1924 to Fresno, when he became secretary to the Bishop, and Chancellor of the diocese. In May, 1930, to these duties were added the responsibility of serving as pastor of St. John’s parish.

Monsignor Crowley has been honored at Rome as “private chamberlain to his Holiness the Pope” and given the title of “Monsignor.”

He has been a director of the Community Chest and of the Boy Scouts, is a member of the Knights of Columbus, and has taken an active part in civic affairs since coining to Fresno.

M. SAIER

M. Saier’s jewelry store was for nearly half a century a landmark of Fresno, being on Mariposa street for forty-two years. And M. Saier was himself a prominent and popular citizen, specially active in the Elks and other fraternal organizations.

Mamert Saier was born at Triberg, in the Black Forest, Germany, January 26, 1865, the son of Henry and Afrikania Saier. The father came to Fresno county in the boy’s infancy, while the family continued for a time in the old country. Young Saier studied the trade of watchmaker in Ger­many, and was then for some time in Scotland, where he served an apprentice­ship. About fifty years ago he came to Fresno. At first he worked in a jewelry- store for a time and then, at eighteen years of age, went into business for him­self, on Mariposa street, where he was known to almost every man in the county who had a watch or clock. At the time of his death, he was one of the longest established jewelers in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mrs. Saier was Hermina Granz, daughter of Herman Granz, pioneer farmer and vineyardist of the Easterby district. Mr. and Mrs. Saier had three children: Adelheid (Mrs. M. S. Donaldson of San Mateo) ; Dr. Milton H. Saier of Palo Alto; and Marcella H. Saier, of Fresno.

Mr. Saier was a member of the Elks, the Eagles and the Foresters. For many years, before the later growth of the business district of Fresno, the Saier family made their home at the northeast corner of K (Van Ness) and Stanislaus streets.

Mr. Saier died at San Francisco, August 10, 1926.

W. R. PRICE

W. R. Price is one of the oldest bankers in Fresno, being actively in the business for the past forty years.

He was born in Wales, July 3, 1858, the son of James and Jane Price. The family moved to the United States in 1869, located first at Cleveland, Ohio ; next moved to Luzerne county, Pennsylvania. He attended the public schools, married and continued to make his home. in Pennsylvania until 1891.

There his first three children, Arthur, James and Lloyd, sons of his wife Mary Lloyd Price, were born.

In 1891, the family removed to California and located at Fresno, where Mr. Price has lived ever since. He followed various occupations in the growing town for a year or two, and in 1893 was employed by the First National bank, the institution located for so many years at the northeast corner of the intersection of I street (Broadway) and Mariposa. Here he rose to be assistant cashier, when, in 1906, he resigned and organized the Union National of Fresno, which he served as cashier. This institution was merged with the Sacramento-San Joaquin chain bank, and this in turn was reorganized into the United Bank and Trust Co. in 1923. This latter bank was later sold to the Bank of America of California, which was merged with the Bank of Italy to become the Bank of America, in 1930. Throughout these changes, Mr. Price has continued his connection with the institution.

The first Mrs. Price passed away in 1898, and a few years later Mr. Price married Celia McMahon of Santa Rosa. Their children are : Ruth and William Price Jr., both born in Fresno. Mr. Price is a member of Las Palmas Lodge of Masons, No. 366, is a Knight Templar and Shriner. In the Nineties, he was one of the organizers and for many years the director of the pioneer male singing society of this city, the Apollo club.

A. M. DREW

For fifty years, Alexander M. Drew has been and is today an active participant in Fresno public life, as well as being a leading member of the First Methodist church and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he was in 1898 the grand master of California. Of late years Mr. Drew has been active in the organizations of the petroleum “independents” and he has also been specially active as an olive oil producer. In polities he has always been prominent as a Republican, and he was a member of the California As­sembly for four terms, 1903 to 1911.

Mr. Drew was born January 17, 1855, the son of Elisha and Caroline (Smith) Drew. His father came to Illinois in the Forties and took up a tract of land. His grandfather was in the War of 1812. Young Drew attended local schools in Illinois, and after moving to California was in a private normal school in Sacramento. He read law at Auburn, and then taught school at Iowa Hill, Placer county, in the gold mining region. He came to Fresno county in 1878 and taught school for two years, at Red Bank. In 1880, he and Owen Holmes took the census of Fresno county for the National government. Mr. Drew continued as school teacher at Washington colony and elsewhere, until 1887. In the meantime he studied law under Judge Shaw at Fresno.

In 1887, Mr. Drew and the late Frank H. Short began the practice of law together, and Mr. Drew has continued practice in this city ever since. For many years he was located in the corner office of the Temple Bar building, but of recent years has been in the Mason building on Fulton street. Mr. Drew was first elected to the legislature in 1903, and was reelected in 1905, in 1907 and in 1909. For a time he was commissioner of the superior court of Fresno, handling some very important litigation, including the noted case of Butler vs. Forsyth. He is today one of the oldest active practitioners in years of service in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. Drew became interested in the possibilities of petroleum development in 1887, and early acquired interests near Coalinga. He incorporated the Whepley Oil company in 1909, a venture that did not come into its own until the Kettleman Hills discoveries in 1929. He was secretary of this company from 1907 to 1932, and is still a director. The Coalinga Crown company is another of his interests. He also has a 40-acre orange grove near Lindsay

Mr. Drew was one of the promoters of the first street railway in Fresno, and was secretary of the company, headed by Judge E. C. Winchell, which built the line out J street (Fulton), then on Tuolumne and 0 streets, and so on Blackstone Avenue to the corner of Belmont, He also was superintendent of the U. S. census for Fresno county in 1900.

Mrs. Drew is the former Abbie Pratt; she was married to Mr. Drew at Sacramento in 1881, and two years ago they celebrated their golden wedding anniversary in a notable gathering at the First Methodist church of Fresno, of which they have both been communicants for so many years. There are three children : Leslie M., of Lindsay, Arthur H., graduate of Stanford University and associate of his father in the practice of law; and Gertrude (Mrs. Clinton D. Collins). Abby street, Fresno, is named after Mrs. A. M. Drew.

Mr. Drew has been very active as a member of the Odd Fellows’ lodge, and is also a member of Las Palmas, No. 366, F and A. M. He is also member of the American Bar association and of the state and county organizations.

DR. FRANK D. WOLFE

Dr. Frank D. Wolfe has been practicing dentistry in Fresno since 1903, and is one of the oldest practicing dentists in Fresno, in length of service. For many years he had offices with Dr. Montgomery Thomas, but since 1915 has been alone, with his office in the Griffith-McKenzie building.

He was born in Duni eene, Arkansas, and attended the Troy High school in Texas. For a year he was a student at the Louisville Dental college, Ken­tucky, then attended Vanderbilt University for two years, receiving his D. D. S. degree from the latter institution.

Dr. Wolfe came to Fowler in 1901, and after a year and half there, moved to Fresno, where he has lived ever since.

Dr. Wolfe is married to Eunice Jackson, formerly of Texas, and they have two children : Frank D. Jr., and Margaret (Mrs. G. L. Boltinghouse) of Los Angeles. Dr. Wolfe is a Mason, a member of the University Sequoia club and of the American Dental association.

GEORGE A. HARE, M. D.

Dr. and Mrs. George A. Hare, both physieans, are the oldest living mem­bers of the Fresno County Medical society, having practiced in Fresno county since 1891. They graduated together from the University of Michigan with the degree M. D. in the year 1887. Since then they have worked together as partners in their professional work. Although engaged in general practice they are specializing in the newer field of endocrinology.

Dr. George A. Hare, the son of Jacob and Mary Ann (Corkhill) Hare, was born at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, May 23, 1857. His wife, Dr. Jessie D. Hare, was born in West Union, Iowa, April 13, 1862. Her maiden name was Jessie Blanche Daniells, the daughter of Dr. Thomas and Mary Jane (Quilland) Daniells. Doctor and Mrs. Hare have five children: Herold Pittman, practicing medicine in Los Angeles and a teacher in a southern California medical college; Gail Butler, Helen Mabel, Marian Alice (now Mrs. T. M. Beem), and Donald George Corkhill Hare, an instructor in Stanford University.

Graduating from the Iowa Wesleyan College in 1884 with the degree of B. S., and later taking a degree of M. S., Doctor Hare spent two years in southern Florida. He then entered the University of Michigan, graduating in 1887 with the degree of M. D. He took post-graduate work at Harvard, at the post-graduate school in New York, and later in Vienna. While in the university he was college reporter for the Burlington Hawkeye. He occupied a place on the medical staff of the Battle Creek sanitarium which he resigned to become superintendent of the Mt. Vernon sanitarium in Ohio. He and Mrs. Bare moved to Fresno in 1891, where they practiced medicine until they were called to Washington, D. C. in 1903, where they organized the Tacoma Park sanitarium, and where Doctor Hare was one of the editors of Life and Health. He was sent as delegate to the International Congress on tuberculosis at St. Louis, and later, in 1906, was sent as a delegate to the International Medical Congress at Lisbon. He was twice elected president of the Fresno Comity Medical society, served two terms as vice president of the California medical society, and for five years was a member of the House of Delegates of the American Medical association.

Dr. and Mrs. Hare conducted a private sanitarium at the corner of K and Stanislaus streets, where they opened the first surgical operating room in Fresno. There they also did the first x-ray work and still have in their possession the first x-ray picture taken in the San Joaquin Valley.

Being interested in giving a better scientific training to medical stu­dents, Dr. Hare early joined the American Academy of Medicine which was organized for the sole purpose of giving a higher grade of education to Amer­ican physicians. This organization was successful in closing the more inefficient schools to the number of 75, approximately one-half of the medical schools in America. Dr. Hare became president of the National Academy in 1915. Although 76 years of age Doctor Hare is still engaged in the active practice of medicine.

HAROLD W. NIELSEN, M. D.

Dr. Harold W. Nielsen is a native son of Fresno county, born near the City of Fresno, April 16, 1893, the son of Christin and Emilie (Westring) Nielsen. His parents were natives of Denmark, coming to this country about 45 years ago and settling in Fresno, and later in Wolters colony, where his father was a farmer.

Dr. Nielsen attended the public schools and the Washington Union High school. Later he studied at the University of Southern California, in the med­ical department, graduating in 1916 with the degree of M. D. He then spent a year and a half as interne at the Los Angeles county hospital and served at the Woman’s hospital, New York City for a year.

When the World war broke out, Dr. Nielsen became a first lieutenant in the Medical Corps, serving at the Harvard medical school; Camp Greenleaf, Georgia; Camp Crane, Allentown, Pennsylvania; Camp Devens, Massachu­setts; and finally at Debarkation Camp, Rahway, New ,Jersey.

Returning to California after the war, Dr. Nielsen practiced for a few months at Fresno, then decided to locate at Fowler, where he purchased the Fowler sanitarium, established by Dr. M. A. Morrison. He engages in gen­eral practice and surgery. He is a member of the California Medical association and of the Fresno County Medical society.

H.  E. WILKINSON

Herbert E. Wilkinson has shared in the public life of Fresno for twenty-seven years having come to this city in 1906. Among the notable evidences of his activity are the facts that he was the first president of the Fresno Merchants association; the first president of Fresno Rotary club; was the first laymen to be chosen as moderator of the San Joaquin Baptist association, serving for five years; and president of the Northern California Baptist convention for two terms.

Mr. Wilkinson was horn at Wheeling, West Virginia, December 22, 1858, the son of Nathan and Isabelle Augusta (Howard) Wilkinson. His family was of English extraction, on both sides. Mr. Wilkinson’s father was an iron manufacturer. As a boy, he worked in his father’s factory, and attended schools in Wheeling, Zanesville, Ohio, and Allegheny, Pennsylvania. At the age of twenty-one he enlisted in the U. S. Army, and saw service in the Dakotas, Montana and other parts of the Northwest. In 1884, he re-enlisted, this time in the Signal Corps, at that time having charge of the U. S. weather service. In this capacity, he had various assignments in California, Oregon and Nevada, and other states. In 1901, at San Francisco, he severed his connection with the government, and became an optometrist in that city. There he continued until after the earthquake and fire of 1906. Seeking a new location, he established himself in the same business in Fresno, and in 1907, he formed a connection with the state-wide firm of Chinn-Beretta Optical company in which lie later became a partner as well as manager of the Fresno office. From this position he retired in 1931.

Mr. Wilkinson was married in 1885, to Atlanta Barton Parker. He mar­ried Jennie Louise Webb, of Tulare, June 11, 1896, who died Feb. 3, 1927. He has three children: Hattie Isabella Knapp of Fresno; Verna Vale Hoots of Medford, Oregon, and Herbert Livingstone of Fresno.

Mr. Wilkinson was a charter member of the Fresno Commercial club, and in Masonry he is a member of the Royal Arch and of the Knights Templar.

LOUIS SLATER

One of the most active men in the business and civic life of Fresno, Louis Slater in his residence here for 21 years has been president of the Com­mercial club, director of the Community Chest, director of the Fresno County Tuberculosis association, a director of the Merchants’ association, vice president of the Jewish Temple Beth Israel, president of the B’nai Brith, director of the Kiwanis club, and is now chairman of the Fresno Red Cross.

Mr. Slater was born in Lithuania in 1886 and came to the United States in 1907. He remained in New York for six months, lived for a time in Mil­waukee, and settled in Fresno in 1911.

Engaged in the furniture business, he at one time conducted five stores, four in Fresno and one outside, but now has centralized his activities into the one place of business. He was a vice president of the old First National bank in Fresno, and is a member of the Fort Washington Golf club.

Mrs. Slater was Bertha Miller, and there are three children: Matthew, now attending Fresno High school, Gerald and Miriam.

DANIEL IRWIN ALLER, M. D.

Dr. Aller is one of the leading orthopedists of Fresno, and for the last fourteen years has devoted himself to his specialty, reconstructive surgery.

Daniel Irwin Aller was born in Kinsman, Ohio, November 20, 1884, the son of J. H. and Sarah (Blackburn) Aller.

The future orthopedist was educated at the Kinsman High school, after­ward attending Westminister College in Pennsylvania. Then Pacific Uni­versity at Forest Grove, Oregon, where he obtained the degree of A. B. in 1908. After graduation he became cashier of the First National bank of Forest Grove, Oregon.

The family followed to California in 1909, and farmed in the Sanger area.

Dr. Aller was graduated from the University of California Medical school in 1913 with the degree M. D. He interned at University of California hospital for one year and then started the practice of medicine at Merced Falls, Merced county, continuing there from 1914 to 1918.

In the World war, Dr. Aller enlisted in the Medical Corps, was a First Lieutenant located at Fort Reily, and at several other posts. Following war service he spent some time in study at the Harvard Medical school.

Dr. Aller is a member of the American Medical association and of the State and County Medical societies. He is also a member of the Lion’s club, the University-Sequoia club, the Commercial club, Sunnyside Country club and the San Francisco Orthopedic association. He is a Mason.

Mrs. Aller was Merle Orr, born in Montreal, Canada. They were married in Shasta county and have one son, Daniel Irwin Aller, Jr., who was horn in San Francisco.

O. O. REED

Oscar Oren Reed is a successful real estate operator on his own account who has made himself an authority on public land matters through his activities in the California Real Estate association. With his partner, Mark A. Lee, he is the land sales supervisor in the San Joaquin Valley for California Lands Inc., which acquired lands from four great financial institutions, including the Bank of America, operating from Merced county on the north to Kern on the south.

Mr. Reed was born at Oregon, Illinois, and attended the public schools in that state. He engaged in farming and the real estate business in his native town, and later operated extensively in the middle west in realty from Chicago. Later he lived in western Texas for some years.

Mr. Reed came to Fresno in 1920, to handle real estate operations for an Eastern syndicate. His experience confirms his opinion that the San Joaquin Valley today has the best agricultural land of any place in the United States. He originated the motto so much used : “Fortune favors Fresno : Soil, Water, Sunshine.”

Mr. Reed is a vice president of the California Real Estate association, and the chairman of its farm lands division. He is a Mason and Knight Templar.

Clara Belle Reed, his wife, was the daughter of C. B. Neireiter of Ft. Wayne, Indiana. They were married in 1915.

ROY A. BROWN

Roy Brown has been publisher of the Sanger Herald for twelve years. He is president of the Sanger Kiwanis club, has been a director of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce and is active in the work of the California Newspaper Publishers’ association.

Roy Allen Brown was born in Bloomfield, Iowa, November 26, 1893, the son of W. A. and Mabel (Pease) Brown. He graduated from high school in his native state, entered the automobile business there Almost as soon as the United States entered the World war, he enlisted in the Naval Reserve and was stationed at the Great Lakes training station.

The war over, Mr. Brown came to California, and in March, 1919, found a location at Sanger, where for two years he was with the Ford Automobile agency.

In 1921, Mr. Brown purchased a half interest in the Sanger. Herald, a weekly paper established in 1889 by E. P. Dewey. In 1922, he bought out his partner and has since been the sole owner of the property.

Besides publishing his eight-page weekly, Mr. Brown maintains a com­mercial printing establishment, the only one in Sanger.

Mr, Brown was married in Bloomfield, Iowa. Mrs. Brown was formerly Hazel Wishard. They have two children: Wishard, born in Iowa, and Barbara, born in Sanger.

232 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY; THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY

Mr. Brown is a Mason, and is a member of the Scottish Rite organiza­tion of the San Joaquin Valley.

H. F. HEIZMAN

Herman Fred Heizman is .a native of California who after experiences in other parts of the state has become one of the large and successful farmers in Fresno county, His place on the Trimmer Springs road, northeast from Sanger and Centerville, is known as the Orangedale ranch.

Mr. Heizman was born at Los Angeles in 1885, the son of George Fred and Elise Heiman. He was educated in the Los Angeles schools and the L. A. Polytechnic High school. For three years he was with the Merchants National bank of Los Angeles, for three years with the Commercial National bank of the same city, and for four years was paymaster on the Los Angeles aqueduct project, while construction was going on.

Mr. Heizman came to Centerville, Fresno county, in 1914. Purchasing a ranch of 1600 acres of raw land, he has planted forty acres to oranges and 20 acres to grapes. He is now one of the large and successful orange and grape growers of the Centerville district.

He is a member of the Sanger Citrus association and of the Sanger Fruit Growers association.

He married Miss Mabel Wickersham.. There are three children: Herman Jr., Pearl Elise and Douglas Wilmot.

JOHN AZZARO

For twenty years now a citizen of Fresno, John Azzaro and two broth­ers have a chain of flower stores in this city, Stocton, Sacramento and San Francisco. While most of the flowers they market are grown in Fresno, they also have greenhouses at San Mateo and other points in California. With the largest floral business in the San Joaquin Valley, Mr. Azzaro has now 25,000 tulips planted, and between 50,000 and 75,000 gladiolas in the Fresno nurseries.

John Azzaro was born at Genoa, Italy, April 16, 1890, and attended school there. When he was fifteen years old, he and his younger brother. Virgil, came to the United States, working in greenhouses at San Francisco, to learn the floral business. Later they were joined by another brother, Maximo, from Italy. With their earnings, they started the San Francisco Floral company.

Two large greenhouses on east Tulare street, Fresno, have been constructed where many flowers are grown and shipped to various parts of the state.

Mrs. John Azzaro was Anita Crosi of Sanger. Mr. and Mrs. Azzaro have one son: Vernon.

L. M. MARTINI

Louis Michael Martini is manager and half owner of the L. M. Martini Grape Products company at Kingsburg. He has been a citizen of Kingsburg since 1921, entering the concern in association with E. Y. Foley.

Mr. Martini was born in Pietra Ligure, Italy. He came with his father in 1900 to San Francisco where they were partners in the fish and clam busi­ness. Next he and his father began wine making, and he took a trip to Italy to learn the best methods of manufacture. Returning, the business of A. Martini & Son was established and continued until 1915. In that year the firm was dissolved, and young Martini was for a time with J. D. Bradford & Son near Granville; later with the Italian Vineyard company in southern California.

In the Kingsburg plant of L. M. Martini, grape concentrates, wines and brandies are produced under government permit, and the plant is equipped to produce a very large quantity of wine.

Mr. Martini is one of the directors in the Grape Growers League of Cali­fornia, working for the legalization of wine making. Efforts are continuing to interest all the important wine makers and grape growers in the league so that the various wineries in the state may again be profitably operated.

E. C. SMITH

Known familiarly among his friends as “Ted” Smith, the subject of this sketch has been a resident of Fresno for almost thirty years, and has been district manager for Rosenberg Bros. and company, since February, 1912, and is also a stockholder in the corporation.

Mr. Smith was born at Fairplay, Missouri, April 30, 1880, the son of Harry and Mary D. Smith. He attended school in Dayton, Ohio, then started work early in a machine shop at Dayton, where he became shop foreman, and subsequently spent six mouths with the National Cash Register Co.

In 1904, Mr. Smith came to Fresno, to begin at the bottom of the raisin packing business. His work was with the Pacific Coast Seeded Raisin com­pany, the so-called “High Five” dominated. by A. Gartontaut). Then for a year he was at Kearney park, the estate of the late M. Theo Kearney, six miles west of Fresno. From 1905 to 1912, Mr. Smith was with the Guggenhime company, as bookkeeper, and in 1912 he entered the employ of Rosenberg Bros., a firm established in Fresno for the past 25 years.

This company has a weekly payroll as high as $:35,000.00 to $40,000.00, and the number of its employees in the San Joaquin Valley runs as high as two thousand. The nine plants in the valley are under the supervision of Mr. Smith. The headquarters is at the large group of buildings at the Cherry avenue entrance into Fresno, on the south, and there are various other properties in the city. The company deals in all varieties of dried fruit as well as raisins— peaches, apricots, prunes, figs, honey, walnuts, almonds, rice, beans, cherries, blackberries and loganberries.

Mr. Smith married Alice Medlam, a native of Ohio, who is very active in dramatics and is president of the Fresno Players, prominent amateur society giving many plays at the Fresno State College. Mr. Smith is a member of the Elks and the Knights of Pythias, and is affiliated with the Sunnyside Country club, the University Sequoia club and Rotary club.

S. W. MARSHALL

S. W. Marshall was one of the early nursery men of Fresno county, and for twenty years was an active factor in Fresno life. He was especially interested in the promotion of new varieties of fruit in. Fresno, was one of the early propagators of citrus fruit, and was specially fond of flowers and shrubbery, the luxuriant growth of which in a climate like Fresno he foresaw and appreciated,

Retiring from the nursery business, lie was elected county treasurer in 1898, and was re-elected in 1904 for a second term. lie died on April 15, 1909, shortly after the conclusion of this second term.

Samuel Wesley Marshall was born August 13, 1843, at Jamestown, Pennsylvania. He was married in 1870 to Sarah Ellen Power of Conneautville, Pennsylvania, and they had four children: Harry Power Marshall, who died in Fresno many years ago; William Sylvester Marshall, real estate and oil lands operator, now resident in San Francisco; Florence, who died in girl­hood; and Mollie Marshall, musician of Fresno. Mrs. Marshall is now living in Fresno, aged 85 years. The son, Harry, left one daughter, who is now Mrs. C. L. Hammar. Dr. and Mrs. Hammar’s son, Marshall, is named after his great grandfather.

Mr. S. IN T . Marshall attended the Jamestown academy, aml when the Civil war broke out, he enlisted in the 55th Pa. Volunteers, when but eighteen years of age. After serving for two months in the Virginia campaign, he was mustered out. Trying to re-enlist, he was refused on account of his youth.

Mr. Marshall then engaged in the fruit business, in the Atlantic states. For a time lie traveled for a fruit company in New York. In the latter part of 1882, he came to Oakland, California, where he was engaged in the fruit business with Wendel P. Hammond, formerly of Conneautville, Pennsylvania, but now of San Francisco. In the course of the next ten years, Mr. Marshall come to be recognized as one of the authorities on fruit culture in California. In 1890, lie removed to Fresno, and established the nursery firm of Marshall & Wilson, with Frank H. Wilson, who in more recent years has been a well known citizen of Dinuba. Among their culture plants, was a citrus nursery which pioneered the orange belt on the Kings river above Centerville.

Mr. Marshall was a member of the First Presbyterian church all his life, and took an earnest part in the affairs of the church in Fresno, of which lie was a trustee. Under the administration of which he was a member, the church built the edifice still standing at the northwest corner of Merced and M streets, removing to that point from the first location on Merced and K streets.

He was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and was also a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen.

Mrs. S. W. Marshall makes her home with her daughter, Mollie Marshall, in Fresno.

WILLIAM M. CONLEY

Judge William M. Conley was born July 17, 1866, near Dog Town, Mariposa county, the son of Matthew and Margaret (Ryan) Conley. His maternal grandfather came to California in the gold rush, in 1849; his father was also a miner.

W. M. Conley attended school in Merced and Stockton, and studied law in offices in Merced and San Francisco. He started practice at Bakersfield, where he continued for eight months. Then he removed to Madera, and in the first election under the first Madera county government act, in 1893, he was elected judge of the superior court. At the time he was only twenty-six years of age, and was the youngest man ever elected to a court of record in California and possibly in the United States, up to that time. Re-elected again and again, at six year intervals, he continued in this position for twenty- eight years and three months.

On September 1, 1921, Judge Conley resigned from the bench and re­moved to Fresno, taking up practice at first in partnership with Carl E. Lindsay, as Lindsay & Conley. Later this firm was dissolved and he formed his present partnership with his sons: Philip M. and Matthew Conley. This firm, with its offices in the Pacific Southwest building, represents numerous large corporations in Fresno and elsewhere.

During his long period on the bench, Judge Conley tried many famous cases, including the Clarence Darrow case in Los Angeles. By assignment from the governor—this was before the state judicial council was established —Judge Conley sat in nearly every county in the state, presiding in cases in which the local judges were disqualified. Thus he acquired a wide reputa­tion as a trial judge throughout California.

In 1898, when only thirty-two years of age, Judge Conley was nominated by the Democratic convention of California for associate justice of the supreme court of the state, but was defeated by a small majority in an over­whelming Republican election year.

Judge Conley served as chief deputy assessor while residing in Merced county. In 1914 he was candidate for congress on the Democratic ticket, and was a delegate to the Democratic National convention in 1908. He has been a delegate to State Democratic conventions for the past twenty-five years, and before the days of popular election of United States senators, on one occasion he received the complimentary vote for. United States senator of the Democratic minority of the State legislature.

Judge Conley married Emma Bedesen, a native of Missouri. He is a member of the Native Sons order, of which organization he was president in 1898, and he also belongs to the Elks, Eagles, Knights of Pythias and the various bar associations.

P. H. McMURTRY

Preston Hays McMurtry was last fall (1932) re-elected supervisor from the Fresno city district for the third time, being chosen to this position first in 1924. A native of California, he first came to Fresno county 36 years ago. As a public official he has given particular attention to the welfare of the wards of the county and the children’s department of the county hospital.

Mr. McMurtry was born in Modoc county, California, May 2, 1880; his father was James, his mother, Anna (Berry) McMurtry. The parents were natives of Missouri who moved to the Pacific coast soon after the Civil war, and settled in Fresno county in 1882. The elder McMurtry became a farmer in the region of Tollhouse in the Sierra Nevada foothills 35 miles from the county seat. The boy had a district school education. At the age of 16, he started to work for the Fresno Lumber and irrigation company winch constructed Shaver Lake and built its lumber flume reaching its terminal at the Southern Pacific at Clovis. In 1908, Mr. McMurtry joined in forming the wholesale and retail grocery firm of McMurtry & McCabe, on I street, continuing there until 1922.

For eight years Mr. McMurtry has represented the third district on the board of supervisors. This consists of the main part of the City of Fresno, with some territory outside to the south and east.

In each of the three elections, he won his seat at the August primary. He served as chairman of the committee for building the children’s and the surgical wards of the General hospital.

Mr. McMurtry is married to Gertrude Hedrick, daughter of William Hedrick, who was postmaster of Fresno during the second Cleveland administration. He is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, F. and A. M. of which he was master in 1922, and is also enrolled in the York and Scottish Rite bodies.

DR. L. R. PACKWOOD

Dr. L. R. Packwood was born in Bieber, Lassen county, April 24, 1885, the son of William and Luima (Brownell) Packwood. His father was a native of Iowa and his mother born in Corvallis, Oregon. He attended the schools of Lassen and Fresno counties, later entering the dental department of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of San Francisco from which he graduated in June 1907.

Dr. Packwood has been active in the business world as well as in the practice of his profession. He is a member of the Tau Omega Honor society of his college, also the Psi Omega dental fraternity as well as a member of all lo­cal, State and National societies of his profession. He has been honored with

236 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY; THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY

the presidency of the Alumni association of the College of Physicians & Surgeons and is an active worker in State Dental society matters. He is a member of the University Sequoia and Sunnyside Country clubs. He is a member of the Fresno Lodge .No. 247, F. and M., a Scottish Rite ‘Mason and a Shriner.

Dr. Packwood married Mrs. Edith Niblock Lisenby.

G. W. WALKER, M. D.

Dr. G. W. Walker has been a medical specialist in ear, nose and throat for the last twenty years. He was a member of the Fresno city school board, and an active participant in public life.

George Washington Walker was born in Vandalia, Illinois, October 22, 1875, the son of B. F. and Mildred Sophronia (Yarbrough) Walker. The mother was a descendant of the Lee family of Westmoreland county, Virginia, from which came General Robert E. Lee. His father was from a Virginia family with more than one ancestor among the soldiers of the Revolution.

Dr. Walker attended the public schools in Illinois then attended the Southern Normal University and Barnes Medical College where he received Ins M. D, Later he studied at various medical institutions in New York, Boston and in Europe. In the course of preparing himself for his profession, he taught school for one year.

Coining West in 1912, Dr. Walker associated himself with his brother, Dr. J. R. Walker, who was already established in Fresno as an eye, ear, nose and throat specialist. During the World war, Dr. G. W. Walker was detailed by the exemption board to do examining of recruits. He made application for release in order to engage in active military service, but the Armistice prevented completion of this course. In 1931, a third brother, Dr. B. F. Walker, formerly of Stockton, entered the firm, which now continues with its headquarters in the Patterson building.

Dr. G. W. Walker confines his practice to ear, nose and throat work. In 1927, he was certificated by the American Board of Oto-Laryngology. He has served as president of the Fresno County Medical society, and is a member of the American Academy of Oto-Laryngology.

Active in his relations to public affairs, Dr, G. W. Walker was elected a member of the Fresno city board of education in April, 1929.

Dr. Walker was married, 1907, to Blanche M. Bell, of Iowa. There are two children : Irene (Mrs. A. A. Ruschaupt), and G. W. Walker Jr. A Mason, Dr. Walker was master of his lodge in Illinois. He is also a member of Fresno Lodge of Elks.

J.   R. WALKER, M. D.

Dr. J. R. Walker has been a leading specialist in eye, ear, nose and throat in Fresno for the past thirty years. He has served as a member of the Fresno city board of education, and has been president of the Fresno County Medical society.

John R. Walker was born at Vandalia, Illinois, March 9, 1874, the son of B. F. and Mildred Walker. After attending local schools in Illinois, he went to the Barnes College of Medicine, where he received his M. D. degree in 1898. For four years he was engaged in general practice at Bluffs, Illinois, and then began to devote himself to his specialty. He took post-graduate work in Boston, and at various times since has studied in London, Berlin and Frei­burg, having been abroad in 1906, 1928 and in 1932.

In October, 1.902, Dr. Walker came to Fresno, to open offices, and has practiced here continually since. In 1917, his brother, George, became associated with him, and in 1931, a third brother, B. F. Walker, entered the firm. Dr. J. R. Walker now devotes himself exclusively to the treatment of the eyes. His first office was in the Republican building, corner of K and Tulare streets; then he was for several years in the Row ell building; and is now located in the Patterson building.

He is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and county societies, and a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Dr. J. R. Walker was elected to the Fresno city board of education in 1913 for a four-year term, and was reelected in 1917, serving, however, only two years, but was president those last two years.

Dr. Walker was married while living in Illionis to Flora Nye, a native of Iowa, and a cousin of Senator Nye of North Dakota.

They have had three children: B. F. Walker (deceased) ; Evelyn (Mrs. :Frank Helm) ; and J. R. Walker Jr.

In. Masonry, Dr. Walker belongs to Fresno Lodge, No. 247, and of the Scottish Rite. He is a member of the University Sequoia club, of which he was formerly president.

MACE E. LONG

For seventeen years, Mace E. Long has been agency manager of the Western States Life Insurance company, and since 1931 he has been manager of the combined organization, the California Western States Life, formed by a merger of the California State Life and the ‘Western States Life.

Mr. Long was born at Montgomery, Texas, the son or J. D. and Mattie (Weatherford) Long. Attending school for but a brief time, he had to make his own living from the time he was eleven years old. He worked his way through school for two years. His first job was in a newspaper office in Texas. Next he was employed with the Chicago Lumber and Coal company, in Texas and in Louisiana, for eighteen years.

Twenty-two years ago, Mr. Long came to California and joined the forces of the Western States Life Insurance company. He was located for a time at Turlock, and then came to Fresno as manager of the company’s office here.

Mr. Long’s jurisdiction now covers the San Joaquin Valley from Merced county on the north to Kern on the south inclusive. He has forty-nine agents under him, with twenty-one working out of the Fresno city office. The headquarters of the company is at Sacramento.

Mrs. Long was Ola Martin, of Texas. Mr. and Mrs. Long have two children: Inez (Mrs. L. C. Tallman) of Los Angeles; and Mace E. Long, Jr., who lives in Fresno. Mr. Tallman is assistant agency manager of the Sunset branch of the California Western States Life at Los Angeles.

Mr. Long is a communicant of the First Baptist church of Fresno. In Masonry, he is a member of Center Lodge, No, 465; of the Knights Templar, and of the Shrine. He is enrolled with the Riverside Golf club.

W. A. BUCKNER,

Commencing business in a small tin garage in an alley in Fresno, the Buckner Manufacturing company is now known all over the world. It pro­duces a special type of sprinkler for lawns and golf courses. The business has been so well established and conducted that it has not been necessary to cut wages during the depression, and there have been no layoffs.

William Alexander Buckner was born in. Knoxville, Tennessee, and from the time he was fourteen years of age, followed the railroad business. This took him to various parts of the United States and Mexico. For some years, he was chief dispatcher for the Santa Fe at Fresno.

The Buckner Manufacturing company was established in a small way in 1912, and for a number of years was actively carried on by Mr. Buckner’s son, J. B. Buckner. The latter died in 1928, and the elder man then quit active rail­roading and devoted himself to the manufacturing plant. Mr. Buckner got his ideas for his sprinklers from watering his own lawn. At first the business was run on a shoestring, with the parts made by other concerns. Now it has its own fine plant on Blackstone avenue at the northerly edge of Fresno, where all its own equipment has been made since 1920. Nothing is made but lawn and golf course sprinklers, the design of which is being continually improved. A golf course job runs from $5000 to $10,000. All the equipment is protected by patent on the inventions of W. A. Buckner, including some fifty different parts. When this work was undertaken, there was no golf course irrigation, and virtually a pioneer field was worked. Now there is a national and international organization, with some twenty men in the Fresno factory, and agents over the United States and in some foreign countries. The first job was clone at Del Monte, for the Pebble Beach Golf course. Since then sys­tems have been installed all over the United States and in many foreign countries.

GEORGE W. TURNER

George W. Turner is postmaster of Fresno, and has occupied that po­sition. for the last ten years. He is a native son of California, and with the exception of a few years in New Mexico, has spent all his life in Fresno.

Mr. Turner was born in Colima, California, February 22, 1872, the son of early immigrants to the state. His father dying when lie was very young, his mother married again. His stepfather, J. F. Wharton, was one of the leading lawyers of Fresno, one of the few Republicans of the Eighties, and was elected a member of the state legislature for a term. The family came to this city April 2, 1881.

Mr. Turner, after attending local schools, went to business college for a time and decided on a mercantile carrer. He then went to New Mexico, to a district enjoying a gold mining boom, and spent five years there. Returning to Fresno in 1902, in the following year, he became assistant postmaster under the late John W. Short. He was seventeen years in this position. He succeeded Earle E. Hughes as postmaster in 1922, by appointment of President Harding.

Mrs. Turner was Florence Laizure of Silver City, New Mexico, where the Turners were married, January 15, 1902. She has been very active in civic work in Fresno, and in women’s club affairs. She was a member of the Fresno city planning commission, was president of the Parlor Lecture club in 1923- 24 ; president of the San Joaquin Valley Federation of Women’s clubs, 1921 to 1923; and in 1928-29 was vice president of the California State Federation.

The Turners have one son, Wallace R. Turner.

Mr. Turner was master of Fresno Lodge No. 247, F and A. M. in 1915. He is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, of the Lions club, the Fresno Commercial club and the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce.

CHARLES H. COBB

Charles H. Cobb was born in Fresno county, and has taken an important part in public affairs for more than thirty years.

Mr. Cobb was born on his father’s farm, May 31, 1869, twelve miles north of Fresno on the San Joaquin river. His father was Van Buren Cobb and his mother Minerva Cobb ; both came to this county in 1868, from Indiana, where the father had practiced law.

Charles H. Cobb received his early schooling in the county schools, and worked on his father’s farm until 1900, when he moved to Fresno, and with his brother A. J. Cobb operated a livery stable in the old Armory theatre building on south J street, where the Gottschalk department store now stands. When the horseless carriage first came to be known, Mr. Cobb saw the business opportunity, and in 1907 became one of the first automobile agents in this part of the state. He followed the automobile business for the next twenty years, handling first the Overland, and later the Dodge, and subsequently formed a separate corporation to deal in the Chandler and Cleveland cars. In 1918 he constructed the present Cobb building, at the corner of Van Ness and Tuolumne streets, especially adapted to motorcar display and care.

In 1927, he founded the firm of L. S. Cobb & Co., named for his son ; and father and son continue now as partners in this business, which is a finance corporation, making automobile and other loans, and writing insurance.

Notwithstanding his interests in the City of Fresno, Mr. Cobb continues his farm activities. In 1915, he and his brother planted 800 acres of figs five miles northeast of Clovis, this being the second largest fig acreage in the world at the time.

The Cobb family have always been Democrats, and Mr. Cobb has been ac­tive in the party for years. However, on the retirement of State Senator M. B. Harris, Republican, in 1926, a group of leading Republicans of Fresno county joined in urging Mr. Cobb to make the race to succeed Senator Harris. He did so, and secured the nomination of both parties, and of course was elected in November. In the California Senate, he was made chairman of the public morals committee, and gave his special attention to an anti-nickel-in­the-slot bill, which was defeated in the legislature, but has since been enacted by ordinance in most of the towns of the state. He was also active in the promotion of much other beneficial legislation to the State.

For the last dozen years, Mr. Cobb has been gradually withdrawing from active business, and has traveled considerably. Bnt he still takes an interest in business and political affairs, and is looked upon as one of the outstand­ing citizens of Fresno county.

Senator Cobb is a member of many Masonic bodies; has been president of the Fresno Y. M. C. A. for the past ten years; is a member of the board of trustees of the California Christian college at Los Angeles; chairman of the board of elders of the First Christian church of Fresno, and member of the advisory board of the Security-First National Bank of Los Angeles, in Fresno.

Senator and Mrs. Cobb (Anna D. Jones) have one son : L. S. Cobb, born in Fresno county, and three grandchildren.

MILO W. BACON

Milo Bacon has been a citizen of Sanger for thirty years; was mayor of that city; and is now the manager of the Belmont Memorial Park in the City of Fresno, but continues his residence at Sanger, where he retains his personal business interests.

Milo W. Bacon was born at Leavenworth, Kansas, December 31, 1875, the son of James M. and Nancy (Skaggs) Bacon. He attended schools in Kan­sas, and thirty-five years ago came to Fresno, where he remained for eight years, and then established himself at Sanger.

In Sanger Mr. Bacon purchased the ice business of Z. A. Beall, changing the name to the Bacon Service corporation, now handling ice, fuel and feed. He was elected to the board of city trustees in 1917, and in 1918 became chairman of the board (Mayor) in succession to Dr. T. F. Madden, and served thus for eight years. He is now serving his third term as secretary of the Sanger High school board. For two years he was president of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce.

Mr. Bacon was one of the organizers of the Sanger Kiwanis club, and served for a time as district trustee of the organization.

Last May Mr. Bacon became a director of the Belmont Memorial Park association in the City of Fresno, and since last September has been the manager of the business. This undertaking, on the western outskirts of Fresno, occupying 100 acres, is laid out in 12,000 sections of twelve graves each, with much ornamental parking. It is the largest cemetery of its kind between San Francisco and Los Angeles. The park is managed tinder the state cemetery act. Of the subscriptions taken, 25 per cent is held in perpetual trust fund and 25 per cent goes to capital improvement. In pursuance of this last provision, a beautiful music tower and memorial building is now being constructed, which will cost approximately $S0,000 when completed.

Mrs. Bacon was Josie Friend, a native of Hanford, California. The family includes two children: Milo W., Jr., and Allen Friend Bacon, both born at Sanger. Mr. Bacon is a Mason, a member of the Scottish Rite and a Shriner of Islam Temple.

J.   W. KING

John W. King has been engaged in business in Fresno for the last fifteen years. He has been active in the recent efforts of citizens to systematize public costs and to reduce taxation for the benefit of residents and property owners. In this, he has been connected with the Fresno City and Comity Taxpayers association, as president.

John Watt King was born in Banffshire, Scotland, July 24, 1866, the son of Alexander and Eliza (Watt.) King. Before coming to the United States, he traveled extensively in India and Egypt, and spent five years in Ireland and two years in England. He came to California in July, 1891.

For twenty-one years, Mr. King engaged in business in San Francisco. Then for two years he was in Mendocino county. Soon after his arrival in Fresno he established and built up the Economic Food company, one of the largest organizations of its kind in the San Joaquin Valley. In this enterprise he was associated with his sons and Earle E. Hughes. Two years ago they sold this corporation to the McMarr chain stores, and he and his sons pur­chased the Chrysler and Plymouth agency in Fresno which they are now operating.

Mr. King was married in Scotland to Annie Lawrence, who died in September, 1919. In July, 1925, he married Hattie Brooks. His three sons are: Alexander McIntosh, Charles Lawrence and John Watt Jr.

Mr. King is a member of Mission Lodge No. 169, F and A. M., Mission Chapter R. A. M. and Fresno Commandery Knights Templar.

E. D. EDWARDS

For more than fifty years, E. D. Edwards was a practicing attorney of Fresno. A confederate veteran, he came to this county as a young man, was district attorney, active in Democratic politics, and enjoyed to very advanced years, a keen mind and an earnest interest in public affairs.

Edward Darnall Edwards was born in Liberty, Missouri, January 23, 1846, the son of Pressley N. Edwards. He attended William Jewel college, in his native city, after which he commenced practice of law in Memphis, Tennessee. Before this, however, when less than 16 years of age, lie enlisted in the Confederate Army, and fought for four years, under the command of Generals Albert Sydney Johnston and Sterling Price.

In 1876, Mr. Edwards removed to California, stopping first at San Francisco, and than settling for a time at Visalia. In 1878, he came to Fresno and continually practiced law in this city from that time to his death in 1929. His first law partner was W. H. Creed, and later he was associated with J. P. Meux, and others.

In 1882, Mr. Edwards was nominated by the Democrats for district attorney and served for two years. From 1890 to 1894, he was a member of the state Democratic central committee. During 1899 to 1903, he was assistant district attorney under O. L. Everts, In 1900, he was nominated by the Democratic party for superior judge, but was defeated by a small vote.

Mrs. Edwards was Anna Finch, and is still living. in Fresno at an advanced age. Their children are: Ernest II., Clarence W., (county school superintendent), and J. J. Edwards.

Mr. E. D. Edwards was active in Masonry, was a past master of Fresno lodge No. 247, and was the oldest past master living at the time of the Golden anniversary of this lodge in 1928; lie also served as commander of the Sterling Price Camp of Confederate Veterans.

CLARENCE W. EDWARDS

Clarence William Edwards is the only county superintendent of schools in California who has been elected to office four times in succession, having been elected the first time in 191.8. During his period of incumbency, rural education has been greatly promoted, especially under the “rural supervisors” law passed in 1901, and much work in the organization and systematization of general education has been perfected, where formerly such advantages were confined to the City of Fresno.

Mr. Edwards is a native of the San Joaquin Valley, having been born at Visalia, March 4, 1878, the son of E. D. Edwards and Anna (Finch) Edwards. His mother was a native of Missouri and his father of Tennessee.

Mr. Edwards attended grammar school in Scandinavian colony, and graduated from the Fresno High school in 1897. Attending the University of California, he graduated in 1901 with the degree B. L. He then taught at various schools in Fresno, and ultimately became supervising principal of the Lowell, Franklin and Poppy schools.

Since Mr. Edwards’ election as comity superintendent, about half the districts of the county have been provided with new buildings, an establish­ment of educational plants second to none in the state.

Mr. Edwards married Miss Alice Short, a native of Oregon, and they have one daughter, Constance. He is a member of the Native Sons, and in Masonry, is a past master of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. and A. M. and is Knight Templar. He is also a director of the California Teachers’ association and is a member of the California State Council of Education.

S. L. HOGUE

Samuel L. Hogue has lived iu Fresno county since 1874, the year in which the county seat was moved from Millerton in the Sierra foothills to the City of Fresno. He was an early school. teacher, was for several years a school director of Fresno ; and for thirty years as chief deputy auditor was in charge of the county’s bookkeeping system.

Mr. Hogue was born near Monmouth, Illinois, July 21, 1857, the son of Thomas G. and Amanda Jane Hogue. His people were farmers; his grand­father was sheriff of Warren county, Illinois, in 1841. The boy attended the local schools in Illinois, then at the age of seventeen, in 1874, came to Fresno county, where his father and brother had already preceded him. The family home was then at Fresno Flats, in what has since become Madera county.

242 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY; THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY

During his first summer in California, Mr. Hogue was at Sequoia Lake, making shakes. The next winter he spent at Fresno Flats. Later he attended the San Jose Normal school, and thereafter taught school. He was for a num­ber of seasons in country districts, and finally was principal of the Selma school.

About 1890, Mr. Hogue moved to Fresno, and for several years engaged in the real estate and insurance business, with offices at the corner of Mariposa and J streets, where the Pacific Southwest building now stands. During this time he was active in Republican politics and was a member of the county central committee. He also was a member of the Fresno school board, until that body was taken over by the first city charter in 1901.

In 1898, Mr. Hogue became county expert, in the employ of the board of supervisors. He next was appointed deputy auditor by H. E. Barnum, where he continued for many years. When the board of supervisors created the position of chief accountant, he was chosen to fill this position and had charge of the budget making and all the bookkeeping of the county.

Mr. Hogue recently retired from public office, to devote himself to his apple ranch located fourteen miles east of North Fork.

Mr. Hogue was married to Effie H. Brown, who passed away a number of years ago. His children are: Lassen E., deputy county tax collector; James T., in the lumber business in northern California; Hazel Hogue-Powell, a Christian Science practitioner at Long Beach ; and Emily Lucile (Mrs. C. C. Williams), whose husband is a dentist with offices in the Rowell building.

A. H. KONIGMACHER, M. D.

Dr. A. H. Konigmacher has been practicing medicine in Fresno for the last twelve years, and is a specialist in urology.

Adam Hiestand Konigmacher was born at Ephrata, Pennsylvania, De­cember 28, 1889, the son of Charles and Anna (Hiestand) Konigmacher. The family, on both sides, was of Dutch extraction. The Konigmacher's first came to America in 1741. A Lieutenant Jacob Konigmacher was killed in the battle of Brandywine, in the American Revolution. The family came originally from Koenigsberg, Prussia, and five uncles of Dr. Konigmacher fought in the Civil war.

The family removing to Iowa, Dr. Konigmacher attended school at Council Bluffs, and then graduated from the Creighton Medical College at Omaha, in 1913, and in 1916 he took post graduate work in urology at the New York polyclinic. For one year he was interne at St. James hospital, Butte, Montana, and was resident physician for six months for the Anaconda Copper company at Butte, and later moved to Missouri Valley, Iowa, to engage in private practice there.

On the opening of the World war, Dr. Konigmacher joined the medical corps of the United States Army, June 1917, was commissioned first lieutenant, and was first stationed at Fort Reilly, and subsequently at the Base hos­pitals of Camp Dodge and Camp Lee and at General hospital No. 14, Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia. At all of these posts he served in the urological depart­ments. Dr. Konigmacher’s most interesting war experience was in Russia where he spent nineteen months, at Evacuation hospital No. 17 and as physi­cian for the debarkation of American troops at Vladivostok. Prior to being ordered abroad he was promoted to captain, and he is now a major in the Reserve Corps.

Dr. Konigmacher is a Mason, a member of both the Scottish Rite and York Rite bodies ; also a Shriner, and belongs to the University Sequoia club, the Sunnyside country club, and the various medical associations.

BERNARD A. NEWMAN

Bernard A. Newman, reared and educated in Fresno county and a resident here since a lad of seven years. Bernard A. Newman has rade good in his home county and risen to an assured position in both the social and business life of the community.

Born in Olweclaberg, Sweden, August 1, 1881, he is the son of Gustaf and Sophie (Adahl) Newman, both natives of Sweden. Bernard A. Newman came to Fresno from Peoria, Illinois, with his parents in 1888. He attended the Fresno schools. After finishing his education he became an apprentice to the plumbing trade with the Donahue & Emmons company of Fresno, remaining with them for five years, his first work of any importance being on the Patterson block, Fresno.

In 1901 lie went to Los Angeles and followed his trade in that city in the employ of Howe Bros. and also worked with the Thomas Haverty- Co. While there he worked on some of the finest buildings in the city. Among them, the Angelus hotel, Hayward hotel, the auditorium, 5th and Olive streets, the St. George hotel, the Maryland and Raymond hotels of Pasadena. In 1907 Mr. Newman went to San Francisco and entered the employ for the United Builders Construction company and while with them was superintendent of the plumbing and heating of the Butler building, having forty-five men under his supervision. He also worked on the Pacific building, Fourth and Market streets, being the first reinforced concrete building built in San Francisco after the earthquake and fire of 1906.

Returning to Fresno, he was in the employ of Barrett-Hicks Co. one year and at the end of that time he formed a partnership with Nudt Johnson, under the firm name of Newman & Johnson, plumbers. During the partnership they made a specialty of fine residence and country work.

In May 1913 the partnership was dissolved and Mr. Newman entered into business for himself at 1927 Merced street, Fresno, in which location the plumbing and heating business was maintained until 1925 when Mr. Newman built his own building at 320 North H street, corner of Palm Avenue, where he is now located. His is one of the oldest plumbing and heating establishments under continuous management in Fresno.

His handiwork is to be found in a very large share of the public as well as private construction of this and neighboring cities. Among the most not­able are the B. F. Shepherd, W. A. Jones, E. M. Prescott and Ralph P. Merritt residences, Roosevelt High school, St. Agnes hospital, Pantages Theatre and Central Union High school, in all of which he installed the plumbing and heating, and the Patterson building plumbing.

In the midst of his many business interests Mr. Newman has found time to devote to horticulture and is the owner of a twenty acre ranch on Cornelia Avenue, improved with Thompson seedless grapes, figs and peaches.

Mr. Newman stands high in the Master Plumbers association of the State and served as its State president in 1918-1919 and for three years previous to this was on the State executive board. Mr. Newman has been a member of the Fresno Rotary club since 1916, shortly after its organization. He is also a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, the Redmen, Knights of Pythias, Woodman of the World, Fresno County Chamber of Commerce and the Merchants Association.

The marriage of Mr. Newman united him with Kathleen Ellen Lynch, a native of Arizona, and six children have been born to them: Harold Edmond, who is in his father’s business in charge of heating and estimating; Eleanor Kathleen, in charge of the office and bookkeeper for the Newman company; Bernard A. Jr., also in the business; Wesley John, plumber apprentice, Lucille Ellen, student at Fresno High school, and Donald Adolph attending grammar school.

R. W. BINKLEY, M. D.

Dr. R. W. Binkley is a surgeon at Selma, doing the principal practice at the Selma hospital. He has been city health officer, and was president of the Rotary club in 1926.

Robert Wilson Binkley was born at Newburn, Tennessee, January 23, 1893, the son of Dr. Frederick Mills and Ola (Dixon) Binkley. His father practiced in Tennessee; then the family removed to San Diego when young Binkley was twelve, and later the father engaged in practice at Santa Ana. The son graduated from the Santa Ana. High school, then attended the University of California and received the A. B. degree in 1915 and M. D. in 1918.

Dr. Binkley spent three years as resident surgeon at the University of California hospital, San Francisco, then came to Selma in 1921, and has practiced there ever since. He specializes in surgery while also attending to general practice.

in 1928, when unusually young for the honor, he was made a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. Ile is also enrolled in the American Medical association and the state and county organizations. in college he was a member of the Nu Sigma 1\in medical fraternity and the Alpha Omega Alpha honorary society. He was vice president of the Fresno County Medical society in 1927.

Dr. Binkley is married to Grace Marie Hamlin; they have two sons: Robert W. jr., and Frederick Mills.

JUDGE C. E. BEAUMONT

Appointed to the superior bench of Fresno county as the youngest man who had ever occupied the position, Campbell Eben Beaumont has served in this court now for twelve years, having been elected to the position three times. He has been called on a number of times to sit in the appellate courts and is now the president of the California, association of superior court judges.

Judge Beaumont was born at Mayfield, Kentucky, August 27, 1883, the son of E. S. and May V. (Wortham) Beaumont. His father was a newspaper­man. Young Beaumont attended public and private schools in Kentucky, then the University of Kentucky, and later took a law course at Cumberland Uni­versity, Tennessee, graduating in 1910. Coming West in that year, he located for a time in Fresno, being employed in the law office of the late Stanton L. Carter in the Forsyth building; later he was with the law firm of M. B. Harris & E. M. Harris in the old First National Bank building. He then decided to go to Texas, where he was admitted to practice at Fort Worth, and remained for one year. The lure of California, however, brought him back to Fresno in 1912, and he became associated with the late E. A. Williams. March 1, 1914, he became deputy district attorney under Manson F. McCormick; in 1917, he became assistant district attorney; and in 1918 sought the elective office of district attorney to which he was chosen by the people. Before this term as district attorney expired, on the resignation of Judge McCormick, Mr. Beaumont was appointed to the vacancy by Governor W. D. Stephens. He was regularly elected in 1922 and reelected in 1924 and 1930.

Mrs. Beaumont was Lucy Madden; they were married December 6, 1.915, and have one son, Edward Campbell. Judge Beaumont is a member of Center Lodge, No. 465, F. and A. M., of the Sciots, Knights of Pythias, of the Elks lodge and the University-Sequoia club. In college he was a member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity.

History of Fresno County And The San Joaquin Valley : By Lilbourne Alsip Winchell ~ A H Cawston, Publisher

403 Pacific-Southwest Building Fresno, California Exponent Print Reedley, Calif. ~ 1933

Transcribed by: Martha A Crosley Graham ~ Pages 169-244

Site Created: 15 May 2010

Martha A Crosley Graham