Fresno County, California
Biographical Sketches ~ Leading Citizens
1933
Note: Use CTRL-F to Search


GEORGE HARM

George Harm is the president of the Valley Motor lines, handling freight by motor trucks between here and San Francisco and Les Angeles. He also has the Cadillac, LaSalle and Oldsmobile agencies in Fresno, owns the Ventura drive-in market at Ventura and R streets, and has other interests,

Mr. Harm was born in San Francisco in 1883, the son of William E. and Hattie Harm. His father was born in Germany; his mother a native of California. Young Harm attended schools in San Francisco, then engaged in the produce business in that city for some years.

In 1909, he moved to Coalinga, and continued in the produce business there. He came to Fresno in 1917. He started to haul gasoline by motor truck in 1924, but sold out in 1928 to the Lang Transportation Co. of Los Angeles, and in 1929 he established the Valley Motor lines, of which he is president; he is also the president of the Valley Express company, and in addition Owns the George Harm Truck Lines. Through these three lines a large part of the San Joaquin Valley freighting is handled. His company has altogether about 100 trucks and trailers in continuous use. He is half owner of the Terminal Warehouse company, located on H street, near Kern, and three years ago he organized the Fresno Motor Sales Co. to handle the Cadillac, LaSalle and Oldsmobile lines.

Mr. Harm is married to Hattie Jacob, a native of Nebraska, and they have one son, Robert. Mr. Harm is a member or the Kiwanis club, of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., of the Eagles, of the University Sequoia club, the Fresno Commercial club, the Sunnyside Country club and the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce.

ARTHUR ALLYN

Arthur Allyn, a past commander of the American Legion, Fresno, and active in Fresno county politics, has been a prominent attorney in this city since 1915.

Mr. Allyn was born in Mount Vernon, Indiana, August 23, 1890. His parents, F. A. and Emma (Martin) Allyn, brought him to California when he was twelve years of age, and they settled on a farm near Fowler.

Here he attended Fowler grammar and high schools, then entered the University of California and graduated with the degree B. L. in 1913, and J. D. in 1915.

Mr. Allyn’s first, associate in practice was James Gallagher, veteran of the Fresno bar, with whom he continued until. Mr. Gallagher’s death in 1929. Since this time he has practiced alone.

During the World war, Mr. Allyn enlisted in the 13th Infantry, and became sergeant at Camp Fremont and later was stationed at Camp Mills and Camp Merritt.

He was married in 1917 to Miss Viola Studer of Fresno, a native of Del Norte county. They have one child, Barbara .June, born in Fresno.

Mr. Allyn is a charter member of Fresno Post No. 4, American Legion, of which he was commander in 1928-29, and is a member of La Societe des 40 Hommes et 8 Chevaux; he also has been active in the affairs of Fresno Elks Lodge. Ile was president of the Fresno County Bar association, 1927-28.

FRANK CURRAN

Considered a leading criminal lawyer of Fresno, Frank Curran has been a resident of this city for the last ten years. He came here from Nevada, where he had a wide experience in politics and in his profession.

Mr. Curran was born in Woburn, Massachusetts, June 26, 1886, to Francis P. and Ida M. (Colby) Curran. His father was a prominent attorney in Boston, with a splendid reputation as a criminal lawyer. His mother is living in Los Angeles.

Mr. Curran received his education at schools in Massachusetts and at the Ecole Alsacienne, France, later attending Boston University Law school where he graduated in 1909. Admitted to the bar at Phoenix, Arizona, ill health forced him to a change of occupation, and he followed newspaper work in Arizona, then in Nevada, and in San Diego, California. Returning to the practice of law, he located at Battle Mountain, Nevada, and served as district attorney of Lander county. He practiced for a time at Reno and other places in Nevada, and in 1920, was secretary to Senator Pittman, Democrat, during the Cox-Harding campaign, when Senator Pittman was in charge of western headquarters.

Mr. Curran came to Fresno to practice in 1922, and has had an office here continually since, except for a brief period when he served as deputy district attorney in Los Angeles.

He is married to Mrs. Anne D. Cooper, owner of Cooper’s Inc.

HERBERT G. MILES

For thirty-five years Herbert G. Miles has seen the growth of the Fresno fruit packing business, and for most of that time he has been an active factor in this business. For all these years he has been connected with the same institution, under a succession of names. Since 1928, he has been district man­ager of the California Packing corporation, with headquarters in this city.

Herbert G. Miles was born at Darlington, Indian Territory, where his father, John D. Miles, was United States Indian agent. The son attended the high school in Lawrence, Kansas, where the family moved when Herbert was six years of age. He subsequently spent a year at the University of Kansas.

Coming to Fresno in 1897, Mr. Miles obtained employment with the then leading raisin packing firm of Griffin & Skelley, which operated a large plant on the Southern Pacific reservation at Ventura street, Mr. Miles started in as a laborer, became timekeeper, then bookkeeper, and when the California Packing corporation was formed in 1917, merging the J. K. Armsby com­pany, the Griffin & Skelley and the California Fruit Canners’ association of Fresno, as well as other interests in other parts of the state, Mr. Miles was made office manager at Fresno. F. M. Romain, who was district manager, died in 1928. Mr. Miles succeeded him in the position.

The Fresno district of the California Packing Corporation has four great plants at Fresno and a number of receiving stations located in various parts of the valley. At the peak of the season it has a thousand employees, and a weekly payroll of $15,000.

Mr. Miles’ other business interests include ownership of the Merchants’ Warehouse company, which does a large jobbing business handling the Del Monte brand of canned fruits and vegetables.

Mr. Miles is a member of Fresno Lodge No. 439, B. P. O. E. of the Sun­nyside Country club and of the University Sequoia club.

Mrs. Miles was Ethel Reiter. The Miles have two daughters; Ruth and Kathryn.

MILES O. HUMPHREYS

Miles O. Humphreys has been identified for the past twenty years with the real estate and insurance business under the firm name of Humphreys Bros., at 1245 Broadway, Fresno, California. He was born at Wildflower, Fresno county, April 12, 1885, and has spent his entire business life in the City of Fresno. His father was John W. Humphreys, a native of Alabama, and his mother was Martha A. (Flinn) Humphreys, a native of Missouri, both parents having crossed the plains by ox train in the “gold rush” days. They were pioneers in the mining counties of Tuolumne and Mariposa., later moving to the hill country of what is now Fresno county, and engaging in the lumber business on Pine Ridge and living near where Tollhouse is now located. March 12, 1933, finds the mother still living at the advanced age of 90 years.

Mr. Humphreys received his grammar school training at the Tollhouse school, later attending high school at Clovis and graduating from the high school at Madera, California.

Miles 0. Humphreys has always taken an active part in the civic life of his community. A member of the Rotary club four years, a director of the chamber of commerce, past president of the Realty board and has served continuously on the City Planning commission since its formation in 1916, through five successive administrations.

Mr. Humphreys was first married in 1907 to Zella M. Melvin, a member of one of the pioneer families of Fresno. Two sons were born of this union: Miles 0. Humphreys, Jr., and Faris Melvin Humphreys, both of whom are associated with their father in the conduct of the business of Humphreys Bros.

Zella (Melvin )Humphreys passed away in 1919. Two years later Miles 0. Humphreys was married to Irma M. Hockett, a native of Illinois, but identified for years with the business life of Fresno, through the Hockett-Cowan Music company.

RAY W. BAKER

Raymond Waldo Baker is serving his fifth term in office as tax collector, having been elected to succeed A. B. Smith in 1914. For several past elections, he has been chosen at the primaries without registered opposition.

Mr. Baker was born in Visalia, February 22, 1881, the son of P. Y. Baker and Augusta (Ferguson) Baker, the latter a native of New York. His father, who came from Illinois, was one of the pioneers of Tulare county, where he organized the first abstract company, and as a civil engineer, made the United States surveys in the territory surrounding Mr. Whitney, and also drew the first map of Tulare county. He organized the 76 Land and Water company and later he also organized the Alta Irrigation District, which took over the irrigation system of the 76 Land and Water company. He was the first chairman of the board of directors of the latter company.

Ray W. Baker attended Tulare county schools and Fresno High school. He worked in planing mills and next learned the printing trade, being for some time compositor on the Fresno Morning Republican and on the Fresno Evening Democrat.

During the years 1907 to 1914, Mr. Baker was a deputy in the office of the county recorder. He became county tax collector and ex-officio tax col­lector for the incorporated cities of the county except Coalinga in January, 1915, at a time when the annual tax collection was $1,900,000. Now it is about $6,000,000. He will complete his fifth term in 1934.

Mr. Baker is married to Belle Drew, a native of Maine. They have three children: Ramona, Elaine, and Adele, all born in Fresno.

He is a member of the Native Sons and of the ‘Fresno Commercial club. In Masonry, Mr. Baker has been secretary of the Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, for twenty-five years; and is a member of the Scottish Rite, and of the Shrine. In the gciots, he was toparch of Fresno Pyramid, No. 11, in 1922, and

was Pharaoh of the supreme Pyramid of the order in 1925. He is director of the Sciots foundation and chairman of the Sunshine committee which has charge of its activities in the western states.

He has been president of the Fresno County Society for crippled children since its organization in 1929. He is secretary of the Fresno Masonic Library association; director of the Mountain View Cemetery Improvement association.

He is past president of the California Association of County Tax Collectors.

ELMER J. SCHMIDT, M. D.

Dr. Schmidt established himself in Fresno in 1921, and for seven and a half years was associated with Drs. Burks & Bennett, and for the last four years he has been engaged in independent practice. He was recently elected president of the Fresno County Medical society for 1933, having served as secretary in 1932.

Dr. Schmidt is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. & A. M.; Fres­no Chapter, No. 69, Royal Arch Masons; Fresno Commandery, No. 29, Knights Templar ; Islam Temple, Fresno Pyramid, No. 10, Ancient Egyptian Order of Sciots ; the University Sequoia club, Sunnyside Country club, and Phi Beta Pi Medical fraternity.

Mrs. Schmidt was formerly Minnie C. Jeppesen, a native of Denmark. There are two children: Robert Earl and Mildred Marcell.

Dr. Schmidt has been in the general practice of medicine and surgery in Fresno nearly twelve years, giving special attention to gynecology and ob­stetrics.

He was born in Seymour, Wisconsin, July 17, 1891, the son of Julius and Dorothy (Marburger) Schmidt. His father is a farmer and both parents are still living in Wisconsin.

Dr. Schmidt attended the Seymour High school, was at Northwestern college two years and at the University of Illinois four years, and received the degrees of B. S. and M. D. from the latter institution. He was for a time junior physician at the Cook county infirmary, Oak Forest, Illinois, and came to California in 1920. He was interne at the General hospital, Los Angeles, for eighteen months.

DR. H. F. ANDERSON

Dr. H. F. Anderson was but a year old when brought to Fresno county by his parents who still live on their original farm in Washington colony.

Dr. Anderson was born in Minneapolis, December 2, 1891, the son of Andrew P. and Anna Fredrika (Swanson) Anderson. His mother passed away some years ago, but the father, two sisters and a brother are still living in Fresno county. He attended the Washington colony schools, and then going to Los Angeles, received his D. D. S. degree from the University of Southern California, 1913, He practiced dentistry for two years, then spent a year at the Oakland College of medicine and surgery.

He joined the Medical Corps during the World war and was at Camp Kearney for ten months, and was then sent to Manila where he was in the service for ten months. He was discharged in Manila with the rank of cap­tain, and practiced dentistry in the Philippines -until 1921.

When Dr. Anderson returned from the Orient lie entered practice in Fresno. In 1923, he began devoting himself to oral surgery, and now does extraction work exclusively, being the only specialist in this line in Fresno. He belongs to the American Dental association and to the state and local societies. In college he was a member of the Delta Sigma Delta dental fraternity, and in 1.930 was given the honorary distinction of membership in Omega Kappa Upsilon in the University of Southern California. He is a member of the Sunnyside Country club, and a member of the Scottish Rite and of the Shrine.

Mrs. Anderson was Loretta Kelly of Oakland. There are two daughters: Norma and Nadine.

W. L. ADAMS, M. D.

Dr. William L. Adams has been head of the Emergency hospital of the City of Fresno since 1914, except for the period of the World war, during which time he had the interesting experience of having served in the Medi­cal Corps of the U. S. Army with the Siberian expedition, and with the American Red Cross in Siberia, and finally as orthopedic surgeon in the forces of Czechoslovakia. For some months after the conclusion of the war he studied in Europe, and before he returned to California took a course in orthopedic surgery at Harvard..

Dr. Adams was born at Montgomery, Alabama, April 1, 1880. He came to California in 1899, and graduated with the degree of M. D. in 1906, from Cooper Medical College (now the medical department at Stanford University). Starting practice at Shaver lake, when the lumber business was at its height, he continued on Pine Ridge for five years, until 1911, when he moved to Fresno, where he has since carried on his practice, specializing in traumatic and orthopedic surgery.

Dr. Adams married Ina B. Hamlin and they have two children : -William L. Jr., and Dean (Mrs. C. P. Doane). He is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., a Mason, a Shriner, and belongs to the University Sequoia club.

HARRY BALFE

Desirous of having one of the finest ranches in the San Joaquin Valley, Harry Balfe has already spent over a million dollars on his place on Herndon avenue, four and one-half miles northeast of Clovis, and now has a ranch which is the mecca of visitors from all parts of the United States. It includes every variety of fruit and other product commercially profitable in central California.

Mr. Balfe was born at Newburgh, New York, in 1860. He embarked on a mercantile career, and some thirty years ago joined the firm of Austin, Nichols & Co. of New York as sales manager, then as manager and vice- president, and then president. When he retired in 1920 he was chairman of the board of this, the largest wholesale grocery business in the world. This firm was among the largest packers in America, having packing plants scat­tered throughout this entire country, and in Bordeaux, France, and Seville, Spain, Alaska, etc. While active in this business he was also president of the Seafoam Baking Powder company, of New York, the Camden Land and Im­provement company of Camden, South Carolina, the Balfe Contracting company, and was a director in banks and other corporations.

Mr. Balfe was an intimate friend of the late President Theodore Roosevelt, and during the building of the Panama Canal, on request of the Presi­dent, he made two trips to the canal zone. He was also requested by President Taft to make another trip to the Panama Canal zone. During the World war he made a trip to France at the invitation of the Premier of the French Republic to confer with him in regard to provisions for the French Army and civil population. While in France, he received a cable request to confer with the late Lord Kitchener in England.

The Balfe Ranch of approximately one thousand acres has developed into one of the show places of California. There are more than twenty buildings on the place; it has its own wells with a pumping system distributing by underground pipes to various parts of the ranch, all run by electric power. The products include almonds, oranges, peaches, apricots and figs, and there are 150,000 grape vines.

One of Mr. Bales prineipal ifiterests is the breedi4, and oly imeship blooded horses. He has owned sonic of the finest horses in America and has won hundreds of blue ribbons, cups, etc., all of which are exhibited in his trophy room. The Balfe Ranch has its own race track and his trainers are always busy trying out his young thoroughbreds. Mr. Balfe also has perhaps the finest private museum in California, housed in a specially built structure, where are displayed many valuable Indian relies, souvenirs, and antiques of pioneer western days. The Balfe Ranch also has the only privately owned airplane landing in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. Balfe divides his time between Fresno, New York and other parts of the country. He belongs to numerous clubs and other organizations. He is a member of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce and the Sunnyside Country club, and is also a member of the chamber of commerce of New York City and numerous clubs in the East, and is a member of the Oyster Bay Masonic Lodge, of which the late Theodore Roosevelt was also a member.

Mr. Balfe was married to May Adams of New York and they have the following children: Harry R. Balfe, vice-president of Ashenfelter & Balfe, New York; Thomas W. Balfe, vice-president of R. C. Williams Co., New York; and Raymond A. Balfe, the well known bridge player of New York.

O. L. EVERTS

Consideration of the life of Olen Lee Everts is almost inseparable from the story of the firm of Everts & Ewing, of which Mr. Everts is the senior member, and which, while D. S. Ewing passed away in 1929, continues now as the firm of Everts, Ewing, Wild & Everts, with the founder’s son, Frank Everts, as the junior member. For forty years at the forefront of the legal profession in this city, Messrs Everts and Ewing were also actively associated in civic life and in Democratic party politics. The firm is today one of the largest in Fresno, with a staff of fifteen located in the Griffith-McKenzie building.

O. L. Everts was born February 11, 1870, the son of Gustavus A. and Rena (Newport) Everts, both of English extraction. The mother died early at their Illinois home, and the father came to Fresno in 1884 and engaged in the real estate business, with his only son for a time and died in 1897.

Mr. Everts attended school in Henry county, Illinois, and graduated from the Kewanee High-school. He read law privately and in 1889 returned East to enter the University of Michigan law school, where he received his Lb. B degree in 1891. He returned to Fresno and opened offices in the old First National Bank building at the age of 21. In 1893, David S. Ewing became associated with him. In 1898, Mr. Everts was elected district attorney of Fresno county. He served one term. Mr. Ewing was one of his deputies.

In the succeeding years, the firm of Everts & Ewing handled very many law cases of historic importance. One of the most notable was the suit of Zib­bell vs. the Southern Pacific company for personal damages in which a ver­dict of $10.0,000 was secured and which, after appeals, was finally comprom­ised for $92,745.65 in 1911. The firm has also engaged in petroleum, public utility and other corporate practice of note, as well as handling some of the most noted criminal eases in the state.

Mr. Everts is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M., and the Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen and the Foresters. He is also a member of the Sunnyside club, of which latter he has served as president. He belongs to the American, State and County Bar associations.

Mrs. Everts was Mrs. Edith Maguire, and she has one daughter by a former marriage, now Mrs. Marjorie Berlin.

DENVER S. CHURCH

Denver S. Church began March 4, 1933, his second service in the Congress of the United States. He has had a notable public career, prior to this recent election. Mr. Church was elected district attorney of Fresno county twice, Representative in Congress three times, 1912-1914-1916, and has been judge of the superior court of Fresno county. No citizen of Fresno has shown such a variety and such length of public service.

Denver Church was born at Folsom, Sacramento county, California. His father, E. J. Church, was a native of Pennsylvania, who crossed the plains by ox team in 1852; and was a farmer and stock raiser, in Napa county in the early days, and spent his later years in Fresno. His mother, Catherine Rutan, also came in her girlhood in a covered wagon across the plain; and settled near Woodridge. She died when Denver Church was about three years old.

Judge Church attended schools near St. Helena, then went to Healds­burg College, after which he came to Fresno to work for his uncle, Moses J. Church. This pioneer of the Fresno plains, often referred to as the “Father of Fresno Irrigation,” brought water out to what was later to be the City of Fresno, from Kings river; he was the founder of what is now the Fresno irrigation district system; and he laid out Temperance colony.

About this time Mr. Church and his wife and two young children took a trip in a buckboard across the Sierra Nevada mountains by the old Donner trail to Yellowstone park, and returned by way of Death Valley. Mr. Church paid the expenses of the trip by selling. various articles along the way, and he has always looked upon this adventure, which lasted nearly two years, as one of the most interesting events in his life.

In 1891, he took up the study of law, and was admitted to practice in Fresno in 1893, by Superior Judge M. K. Harris. In 1895 he was admitted to practice before all courts of the state by the Supreme Court of California, and in 1917, was admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of the United States.

During the term of O. L. Everts as district attorney, Judge Church was deputy in charge of prosecutions in the township courts, and gained a very wide acquaintance with citizens in every part of the county. This was in the years 1899 to 1903. In 1902 he suffered the only defeat of his political career when George Jones defeated him for district attorney of Fresno county. In 1906 he was elected to this office, and was reelected in 1910 the only man to be successively reelected to that office in the history of the county, when opposed for reelection.

In his six years as public prosecutor, he successfully tried a notable list of criminal cases, including the famous Helm murder case, tried once in Fresno county and finally in San Joaquin county, when a motion for a change of venue was granted because of existing prejudice in Fresno county against the defendants.

In 1912, under the first apportionment in which the Counties of the San Joaquin Valley from Stanislaus on the north to Kern on the south were included in an exclusively “Valley’ district, Judge Church was elected to Congress, defeating Representative James Carson Needham, who had for 14 years represented the people of the San Joaquin Valley in Congress, and who is now a judge in the superior court of Stanislaus county. Judge Church was reelected in 1914 and in 1916. He declined to be a candidate for reelection in 1918, returning to his mountain cattle ranch in Madera county, where he enjoyed life thoroughly until 1922 when he started practicing law with the firm of Church, Church & Peckinpah in the Mattel building, Fresno. He was succeeded by Henry E. Barbour in Congress.

In 1924, he was elected to the superior bench of Fresno county and served out his full term of six years, to January, 1981. Seeking the Democratic nomination for Congress from the district as newly arranged by the 1931 reapportionment, Judge Church won this nomination and defeated the Republican nominee, Congressman Barbour by over 19,000 votes in the election.

Judge Church is considered one of the finest orators in California, and his ability to influence an audience is particularly outstanding.

He was married in 1870 at Reno, Nevada, to Louise Derriek, a native of that state. They have three children: Earl J. Church, now city justice of Fresno ; and Fern, who is the wife of David E. Peckinpah of Fresno ; and Edrie, now Mrs. William G. Turner of Fresno.

Denver S. Church has a hobby: it is the Sierra Nevada mountains of California. Whenever he is able to lay clown the burdens of public office, or to obtain a few clays’ vacation, he will he found either in or going towards his beloved mountains. He knows them intimately from Mt. Whitney to Mt. Lassen. He was a partner of Put Boyden, who discovered and helped explore the famous Boyden caves in the Kings river canyon.

EARLE J. CHURCH

Judge Earl Jesse Church is a native of Carson City, Nevada, but prac­tically his entire life he has been connected with Fresno city affairs, and is the son of the former Congressman and now Congressman Denver S. Church.

His life is also curiously connected with the misadventures of the “third magistracy” of the City of Fresno. In the Eighties and early Nineties there were two justices of the peace for the third township (practically the same as the city), as well as a “city recorder” for Fresno as a city of the sixth class. When Fresno gained its first charter, in 1900, a police judge was substituted for the recorder. In the meantime, the legislature had abolished the second justice of the peace.

In 1905, the late George B. Graham, attorney of Fresno, had discovered that the creation by the legislature of the position of “city justice” for the city of Stockton had apparently created the same office for the city of Fresno. He sought the office, was elected to it without opposition, and by litigation. compelled the recognition of his position as a public official, to be maintained, however, by the county rather than the city treasury. Judge Graham was re­elected to this position several times, and finally at advanced age, in 1925, declined to seek the office again. Whereupon, Mr. Church sought and was elected to this position of city justice. Mr. Church served for four years, and was reelected, in 1929. Thereafter, on account of further litigation in other cities of the state, the legal conclusion was reached in Fresno that the po­sition of city justice did not exist, and in order to provide for a “third magistracy” in this city, in addition to police judge and justice of the peace, the Fresno City Commission created a second police judgeship and Earle Church was named to the position, occupying it for a year and a half. While still police judge, Mr. Church became convinced that the position of “city justice” was still valid, and sought reelection to this position again, in 1931. The matter was taken to the supreme court, this latest election sustained, whereupon Church resigned as police judge and the City Commission abolished that second police court. In 1931, however, the state legislature passed a new statute, abolishing the “city justice” and creating a second justice of the peace of the third township, to which position the supervisors then named Mr. Church.

As a boy, Judge Church attended the local schools and then the Uni­versity of California. His father being at the time a member of Congress,

Earle went to Washington, and took his LL. B. from the National University Law school, 1915. In that year he was admitted to the California bar, as well as the bar of the state of Maryland, and entered the law office of Everts Ewing continuing for a year, then was appointed a deputy district attorney under Manson F. McCormick. Later he resigned and returned to Washington to be his father’s Secretary.

After the war, Judge Church returned to Fresno, starting practice with his father and his brother-in-law, D. E. Peckinpah, continuing a year. He again became deputy district attorney, under B. W. Gearhart, and later sought the position of “city justice.”

In 1916, Judge Church was for some months American vice consul in Honduras. When the United States entered the Great war. he enlisted in the 16th Division, and stationed at San Diego was regimental sergeant major.

Mrs. Earle Church was Irene Hawthorne, a native of Vermont. There is one child, Earline.

Judge Church is a member of the Elks, the Eagles and of the Fresno organization of the Woodman of the World. lie is also a member of the American Legion.

DAVID E. PECKINPAH

David E. Peckinpah, now a resident and practicing attorney of the City of Fresno, was born seven miles east of North Fork, hi Madera county, on what is known as Peckinpah Mountain, on July 18, 1895. His parents were C. M. Peckinpah and Isabelle J. Peckinpah. C. M. -Peckinpah was one of the pioneers of California, having crossed the plains in 1852 in a covered wagon, settling first at Placerville, and later in Sonoma county.

C. M. Peckinpah was a pioneer lumber man of California. In 1885 he moved from the Russian river to the mountain above North Fork, then in Fresno county, where he established one of the early saw mills and created the Peckinpah Lumber company. In 1.890 he married Isabelle J. Toner, of San Francisco. Three children were born of that marriage, seventy miles from the nearest doctor, on the mountain that bears his name.

David E. Peckinpah attended the public schools Dear North Fork, until his family built a residence in Fresno. Thereafter he attended the grammar school and high school in Fresno. In 1915 he married Fern Church, daughter of Congressman Denver S. Church of Fresno. He later spent three years in Washington, D. C., where he attended the National University Law school, and where he received his L. L. B. degree. The time after he left high school and before entering the university, he spent in the cattle business in the mountains of Madera county. He was admitted to the bar of California in 1920, and began the practice of law in association with Denver. S. Church and Earle J. Church of Fresno, on January 1, 1922, under the firm name of Church, Church & Peckinpah. About a year later Denver S. Church was elected to the superior bench awl Earle J. Church was elected city justice. Mr. Peckinpah formed a partnership with Rae B. Carter, now chief deputy district attorney. This partnership continued until January 1, 1927, when Mr. Carter joined the district attorney’s staff. Since Judge Church’s retirement from the superior bench in 1930, the association in the practice of law between Judge Church and Mr. Peckinpah was renewed and the association still continues.

Mr. Peckinpah has so far never held any political office, but has from beginning his career as an attorney, been actively interested in civic affairs and good government. He is an active member of the highway committee of the San Joaquin Valley branch of the State Chamber of Commerce, and the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce. He has shown an interest in Indian Welfare work with the Indians of his native county, and of Fresno county, and donates his professional services as a lawyer to assist them in their legal problems whenever the same is necessary.

Mr. and Mrs. David E. Peckinpah have two sons, Denver Charles, aged sixteen and now a junior in high school, and D. Samuel, aged eight years; and one daughter Fern Natalie, aged two years. His greatest interest, outside of the law, is in going to the Sierra Nevada mountains as often as possible. His two hobbies are a summer home and ranch located at Bass Lake, Madera county, and the early pioneers of California.

He is a past president of Parlor No. 25, of the Native Sons of the Golden West ; a member of the Woodmen of the World; and of B. P. O. E. Lodge, No. 439, Fresno, and the Exchange club of Fresno.

LOUIS GUNDELFINGER

For fifty-five years Louis Gundelfinger has been a citizen of Fresno, and during all of this time has given of his time and talents to the furtherance of the public welfare.

Possibly his chief interest has been in the founding of and promoting the interests of Roeding Park. While president of the local chamber of commerce some thirty-five years ago, Mr. Gundelfinger, with the assistance of Chester H. Rowell, induced Mr. Fred Roeding to offer the City of Fresno two hundred and thirty acres of land at the present location of Roeding Park, and he induced August Weihe to offer forty acres of land across Belmont avenue from the present park, to which donations of both land owners the only stipulations were that the city should spend $1500.00 per year for five years for upkeep as a matter of good faith.

The then board of trustees of the city rejected both offers. The matter lay dormant until after the succeeding municipal election, when a new majority of the trustees took control, under the leadership of F. M. Chittenden. Mr. Roeding now offered to donate seventy acres in place of the original 230; and the city government promptly accepted. Pleased with what was accomplished by the city in a short time with his first gift, Mr. Roeding a few years later, added forty acres more. Thus the area of the old section of the park increased to 110 acres. Many years afterwards, the growth of the park having attracted general public approval, the city added another forty acres purchased from the Roeding estate at $1500 an acre or $60,000, a thorough justification of the original establishment of the park. Mr. Gundelfinger has served as a member of the city park commission for many years.

Mr. Gundelfinger was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, in 1849, and came to the United States when nineteen years of age. He was in New York for a few months and then in San Francisco for eleven years. His brother, Leopold, had preceded him to Fresno county, being for a time at Kingsburg. Louis bought into the Pioneer grocery and department store firm of Louis Einstein & Co., and came to this city in 1878. From that time to his retirement from business in 1909, he was the manager of that store.

One of the marked needs of Fresno as a trading center was, for many years, more equitable transportation rates and conditions, and for these Mr. Gundelfinger fought consistently, both as a private citizen and as an officer of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce and other organizations. He was an organizer of the Fresno Traffic association, which fought before govern­ment bodies for terminal rates, and he helped to bring to this city the “Valley Railroad” afterwards purchased by the Santa Fe. He was for a term presi­dent of the chamber of commerce and served as director for a number of years.

Being greatly interested in music, he has sought to promote the oppor­tunity for community music, with band concerts. and other programs.

Among Mr. Gundelfinger’s business enterprises, he served as director in the Californian Hotel Co., and vice presidency of the People’s Thrift and Finance corporation.

Mrs. Gundeifinger, who passed away in November, 1931, was Dora Braverman of San Francisco. Mr. Gundelfinger has two sons: Emil F. and Herbert.

JAMES E. PENDERGRASS, M. D.

His grandfather and father, both practicing physicians before him, Dr. James E. Pendergrass, county health officer, (tomes of medical traditions. His grandfather, soon after the Civil war, brought the family in a covered wagon to California, settling in Visalia, where the present doctor was born January 28, 1896, the son of Dr. W. C. and Rozilla (Blair) Pendergrass. He was educated in the local schools, took pre-medical at Oregon State college, and received his medical education at Vanderbilt University. After graduating from Vanderbilt he served for a year as interne at Nashville City hospital.

Dr. Pendergrass began practice at Clovis, Fresno county, where he still maintains an office. He has been county health officer for the last two years and was recently re-appointed. He is chairman of the Public Health Service and Administration committee of the California State White House conference and is a member of the American Medical association, of the State and county medical organizations, and of the American Public Health association and of the State Health Officers association,

Mrs. Pendergrass was Mamie Wells of Nashville, Tennessee. The children are: Irma Donna and Betty Pauline, both born in Fresno. Dr. Pendergrass is a Mason, Sciot and member of the American Legion. While in college he was a member of Phi Beta Pi Medical fraternity.

M. G. GALLAHER

M. G. Gallaher has been a practicing attorney in the City of Fresno for more than twenty years, an active member of the Democratic party, and is now chairman of the Democratic County Central committee. He is now specially interested in seeing that the local Democratic organization shall give full support to the administration of Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Manse” G. Gallaher was born at Clarington, Ohio, February 15, 1873, the son of Milton and Sarah Jane (Ilenthorn) Gallaher. He attended the local schools and Normal school in Ohio; then was one year at Scio College, now a part of Mount Union College. He started the study of law under W. F. Hunter, dean of the Ohio State Law school and later studied under R. W. McCannon and Judge J. P. Spriggs, in Woodsfield, Ohio. After practicing for two years at Woodsfield, Mr. Gallaher removed to Selma, Fresno county, where he practiced for four years. Since 1911, he has been in Fresno. His first association in the latter city was with Everts & Ewing. Then he was assistant district at­torney under M. F. McCormick, 1913-14. During 1915-16, he was assistant U. S. district attorney for southern California, at Los Angeles, but resigned in the latter year and has been in private practice in Fresno ever since, part of the time as senior member of the firm of Gallaher, Simpson & Hays.

Mr. Gallaher has been city attorney for a number of municipalities, including Selma, Fowler and Clovis, at various times.

Mr. Gallaher is a Democrat and was for several years a member of the central committee of that party in Monroe county, Ohio, but resigned in 1904 when he supported Theodore Roosevelt for President as against Judge Alton B. Parker, gold Democrat.

Mr. Gallaher was married to Nellie Martin, daughter of John A. Martin, of Selma. He has three children: John D., attorney in San Francisco; Grace

256 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY; THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY

L., (Mrs. Alvin Grill) of Selma; and Marjorie L., student at Fresno State col­lege. Mr. Gallaher is a Mason and an Elk, the latter membership in Fresno Lodge No. 439, B. P. 0. E.

CARL E. LINDSAY

Already a member of the bar of California of distinction, Carl Elmer Lindsay moved to Fresno twenty years ago and soon became an important factor in jurisprudence and civic life of this part of the state.

During the Great war, he took a specially active interest in community service and in work for enlisted men.

Mr. Lindsay was born at Bucyrus, Ohio, December 6, 1861, the son of David Moses and Sue (Wheeler) Lindsay, and is of colonial ancestry. The fam­ily removed to California in 1876 and settled at Santa Cruz the following year, where the father was a carriage builder and blacksmith. Mr. Lindsay attended Santa Cruz schools and for a. brief period the San Jose State Normal school. He taught school for one term in Inyo county, and then returned to Santa Cruz where for seven years he was principal of a grammar school. While holding this position he studied law, was admitted to the bar, and while still principal was elected district attorney for Santa Cruz county. He held this latter position eight years, after retiring from which he devoted himself to private practice in Santa Cruz and San Francisco.

In 1913 Ni.. Lindsay came to Fresno, and joined the firm of Short & Sutherland, then in the Fresno Loan and Savings bank building, where the Bank of America now stands. When Mr. Sutherland retired, to assist in the formation of the Fidelity bank, a new firm of Short & Lindsay was created, which continued until Mr. Short’s death. The present firm of Lindsay & Gear­hart occupies the same quarters in the tenth floor of the Griffith-McKenzie building.

Mr. Lindsay was first married to Mary Augusta Joyce of Monterey county, who died many years ago. He subsequently married Emily May Hills, a native of England, who is also deceased. He and the first Mrs. Lindsay had two children : Gladys Leighton-Shortridge, of Los Angeles, and David Joyce Lindsay, now deceased. The son, who was an actor by profession, en­listed in the Great war on the day the United States entered the struggle, and spent three years in France ; he first served with the British forces, but later transferred to the A. E. F.

Mr. Lindsay was grand chancellor of the Knights of Pythias for a year, 1924-25, and was president of the Lions club of Fresno, 1922. He is a member of the American, State and County Bar associations and of the University Se­quoia club. He was admitted to practice in the supreme court of the United States in 1897.

KENNETH J. STANIFORD, M. D.

Dr. Kenneth J. Staniford, a native of Fresno, has practiced medicine since his graduation from medical school in 1911., and has taken a prominent part in various organizations. He has been a member of the Fresno board of health, secretary of the Fresno County Medical association, director and chairman of the educational committee of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, and has given much time to the interests of the Fresno State college, and to the Nutritional Home as president of the San Joaquin Valley Children’s Health association. In 1925 he was president of the Fresno Lions club. Kenneth Jamison Staniford was born June 24, 1889, the son of George F. Staniford and Virginia Lee (Jamison) Staniford. His father was a pioneer fire insurance man of Fresno, coming here about 1880. Dr. Staniford attended the Fresno city schools and graduated from the. high school in 1907, and then entered Cooper Medical College, (now the medical department of Stanford University), from which he graduated with the degree of M. B.

He interned at the city and county hospital of San Francisco and at the Alameda county hospital, and practiced in an Francisco with Gr. -J. Wilson Shiels until 1914. During this period he was assistant in medicine at Stanford Medical school.

Commissioned in the Medical Corps of the Army in 1917, Dr. Staniford became chief of the laboratory service at Camp Lewis hospital, serving from August, 1917, until. April 1919. Entering as first lieutenant, he was promoted to captain and subsequently major.

Mrs. Staniford, who was Mary Elizabeth Hixson, is also a native of Fresno. There are three children: Marylee, Kenneth Joseph, and Richard Hix­son,

W. HALE PAXTON

W. Hale Paxton is the founder and president of one of the largest and most progressive manufacturing plants in Fresno county. This coin palmy is known as the Paxton Nailing Machine Company, inc., located at Sanger, California, which supplies equipment for fruit and vegetable packing plants to all parts of the United States. It is now accredited with being the largest and leading manufacturer of nailing machines in the world.

In spite of the current depression, this business has grown steadily during the last four years. This company was started less than ten years ago and was incorporated as of November 1, 1932, at which time Mr. Hale Paxton became president of the concern.

W. Hale Paxton was born in Missouri, 36 years ago, the son of Walter Balfour and Clara (Dent) Paxton. About 25 years ago he came with his par­ents to Redlands, in San Bernardino county, where they still live and where W. Hale Paxton now makes his home.

He was one of a large family which necessitated his leaving school at the age of 12 to assist with the family budget. At the age of 16 he received his first experience as an automobile mechanic. At the age of 18 he started a ma­chine shop and made his first original design for tree protectors. A short time later he became engaged in the manufacture of artificial honey combs. This company became widely known throughout the United States operating in several sections of the country. Mr. Paxton became vice-president of this concern.

After many ups and clowns in his various business enterprises, he came to Sanger about ten years ago at the age of 26 and became a partner in the repair department of the Chevrolet Garage. It was in Sanger that he began the manufacture of box making machines which he had already designed at El Cajon.

After making boxes with these machines for various fruit packers for a period of about four years, he began to devote his attention solely to the manufacture of machines for sale to the packers themselves. The first machines were designed and constructed to make grape boxes. Later machines were adapted to make apple boxes. In the first part of 1928 machines were made for orange boxes and lettuce crates and gradually were made adaptable for practically every line in the vegetable and fruit industry.

Instead of manufacturing a large, heavy type machine as had been made in the past, he made an entirely new type of machine constructed of all steel. This machine was light and portable and, as it was electrically welded, it was about four times stronger than time cast iron machines that were then being manufactured. So carrying out this design in various other types of packing house machinery which lie gradually added, he was trying to carry out the portability and all steel construction as far as possible and much lower priced machines than other companies have introduced on the market.

Due to the quality of product, the need for them and the low prices at which they were able to be sold, the business has constantly grown so that by 1931 sales reached the $200,000 mark.

Mr. Paxton operated his business as an individual, doing business as the Paxton Nailing Machine company until November 1, 1932, when the business was incorporated. Upon the incorporation Mr. Paxton became president of the company, G. C. Paxton, a younger brother, became vice-president and general manager and S. L. Boucher, for several years an employee in charge of the office and accounting department, became secretary and treasurer. Other department beads of the concern include Kenneth Dawson, shop foreman; H. D. Benson, chief engineer; O. D. Paxton, assembly foreman; N. D. Mead, sales manager. O. D. Paxton is a brother of W. Hale Paxton. H. D. Benson, Kenneth Dawson and N. D. Mead were all formerly with the Lisenby Manufacturing company at Fresno, California.

W. Hale Paxton was married at the age of 17. He has a daughter 17 years of age, a son 14 and another son 11. The family resides at Redlands, Cali­fornia.

W. Hale Paxton is also president of the Paxton Credit corporation which deals in the financing of contracts and sale of insurance. This firm also in­cludes G. C. Paxton, vice-president and general manager and S. L. Boucher as secretary and treasurer.

At the present time W. Hale Paxton is manufacturing and selling some lines of equipment under his own name. This is entirely individual and separate from the Paxton Nailing Machine Company, Inc.

LEON I. DIAMOND

For a number of years, Leon I. Diamond has been an active, public spir­ited citizen of Fresno, and has been a resident since 1912. He was a member of the board of utilities, which handled the water company for a time after it was first purchased by the municipality, and he is now a member of the zoning commission. He was a director of the Fresno County Chamber of Com­merce for two terms and treasurer for one term.

Mr. Diamond was born in Rumania in 1874, his parents being Abraham and Sarah Diamond. He came to the United States in 1884, living with his parents in New York for a few years; for a time in Chicago and then again in New York, and later for two years in Canada.

Mr. Diamond came west to San Francisco thirty-five years ago, where he engaged in merchandising. From there he removed to Fresno, continuing in mercantile lines. Six years ago, he organized the Keystone Finance cor­poration, handling various kinds of financing, including a general loan business. He is sole owner of this business, which is not incorporated.

Mr. Diamond was married while living in San Francisco to Rose Cohen, a native of Winnipeg, Canada. They have four children: Ruby, a graduate of the University of California, who is advertising manager of Charles Brown & Son, San Francisco ; Albert, graduate of the University of California, now engaged in the shoe business in Fresno ; Bernard L., now in the University of California ; and Mark N., now preparing for the university.

Mr. Diamond is a member of the B’Nai Brith, and for the past ten years a member of the general committee of district four, comprising eight Western states. He is also a member of Fresno Lodge of Masons, of the Scottish Rite bodies, and a Shriner, belonging to Islam Temple, San Francisco.

GEORGE K. ANDERSON

George K. Anderson was born at Glenluce, Scotland, February 12, 1866, the son of Peter and Isabella (King.) Anderson,

He attended the public schools in Scotland and studied botany in London, and thereafter engaged in a mercantile business at New Castle, England.

He came to California in 1889 and located at Madera. Iie was interested in stock raising in Fresno and Madera counties for four years and then was superintendent for the Balfour Guthrie company vineyards and grain ranches for another four years.

From 1903 until 1904 he engaged in gold mining in Placer county and then removed to Coalinga, where for sixteen years he operated the largest freight teaming business there to and :from the oil fields.

Mr. Anderson was appointed road commissioner for supervisorial district No. 4 of Fresno comity, serving in this office for six years. In 1906 he was elected Fresno county delegate from Coalinga to the Republican State convention.

Mr. Anderson is now living on his farm on the outskirts of the City of Fresno.

He was married on April 22, 1922, to Eleanor M. Porter, who was horn in South Africa. They have one child: Georgia K. Anderson.

J. L. MAUPIN, M. D.

Dr. J. Lawrence Maupin was leader of the medical profession in Fresno for many years, and was the son of an early time Fresno physician. For four years he was a member of the California Board of Medical examiners, and as one of the founders of the Burnett sanitarium, he was the president of the company up to the time of his death, October 1, 1930.

James Lawrence Maupin was born April 19, 1868, at Columbia, Missouri, the son of Dr. W. T.- and Mary Ann (Matthews) Maupin. He graduated from the University of Missouri in 1887, and then coming to California, spent the year 1888 at Cooper Medical College, San Francisco. Returning East, he was graduated from the Missouri College of Physicians and Surgeons in St. Louis, with his M. D. degree.

In the meantime, his parents had come to Fresno, where the father was established in practice. Father and son had offices together for many years. The young man became physician for the Southern Pacific railroad, and grad­ually extended his practice. Becoming associated later with Dr. J. D. Davidson, one of the leading surgeons of that time, on Dr. Davidson’s death, Dr. Maupin devoted himself exclusively to surgical practice and to his work as chief of the medical staff on the Burnett sanitarium. He and Dr. A. B. Cowan built the Physicians building, Fresno and P streets, which now houses five doctors.

Dr. Maupin was married November 6, 1895, to Mary Helm, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Helm. They had two children: Dr. J. L. Maupin Jr., and W. T. Maupin, the latter named after his grandfather.

Dr. Maupin was a member of Las Palmas Lodge of Masons, No. 366, of the Knights Templar and of the Shrine. He was enrolled with the University Sequoia club and the Sunnyside Country club.

J. L. MAUPIN, JR., M. D.

Dr. J. L. Mapin, Jr., is a native of Fresno, son of one of the leading physicians of Fresno city, and was associated with his father in practice for some years.

James Lawrence Maupin Jr., was born in Fresno, October 15, 1899, the son of J. IL and Mary E. (Helm) Maupin. He attended the Fresno grammar and high schools, and graduated from the University of California with the degree of A. B. He then entered the Stanford Medical school where he received his M. D., and was a resident surgeon for a year at Stanford, and then took postgraduate work at Harvard University Medical school.

In 1928, Dr. Maupin returned to Fresno and practiced with his father until the latter’s death in 1930. Since then he has practiced alone, specializing in surgery.

In college, he was a member of Zeta Psi, and of the Nu Sigma Nu Medical fraternity. He is a member of the University Sequoia club of Fresno, of the Sunityside Country club, and of the Bohemian club of San Francisco.

Dr. Maupin was married June 15, 1931, to Maude Marie, daughter of Charles Snow.

CARLOS KELLY McCLATCHY

Carlos Kelly McClatchy, editor and with his father co-founder of the Fresno Bee, was born in Sacramento, March 2, 1891, and died January 17. 1933. His father, Charles K. McClatchy, the owner of the McClatchy news­papers, and his mother, Ella K. McClatchy, both came of pioneer California stock.

Mr. McClatchy attended the public schools of Sacramento and entered Santa. Clara. University, from which he transferred to Columbia University, New York, where he was a member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. He received the degree of bachelor of science from Columbia in 1911.

Returning to Sacramento, McClatchy began his newspaper career as a. reporter on the Sacramento Bee. He soon became the capitol correspondent for the Bee, playing an active part in the Progressive movement launched by United States Senator Hiram Johnson and his associates. Later Mr. Me­Clatchy became the Bee’s Washington correspondent.

When the World war threatened to involve the United States in 1916, Mr., McClatchy prepared for service by entering a citizens’ military training camp in California, and when war was actually declared he was one of the first Sacramentam to volunteer. He entered the officers’ training camp at the Presidio, San Francisco in May, 1917. He was commissioned first lieutenant three months later and was assigned to Headquarters company 362nd In­fantry, 91st Division, at Camp Lewis, Washington.

Lieutenant McClatchy’s regiment left for France, June, 1918. With a two and a half months training behind the lines, he received his baptism of fire at St. Mihiel in September, 1918. Later, he went over the top in one of the greatest battles of the war, in the Argonne Forest, where he distinguished himself not only for personal bravery but as an efficient officer. For this he was promoted by General Pershing to the rank of captain. His regiment was sent to Belgium following the Argonne battle. There he fought in the Lys-Scheldt and Ypres-Lys offensives, where he again distinguished himself.

Upon his return to Sacramento after the World war, McClatchy resumed his newspaper work. He also became active in the organization of Sacramento Post No. 61, American Legion, and was unanimously chosen its first commander.

While Mr. McClatchy was at Camp Lewis, prior to entraining for France, He married Phehe Briggs, daughter of the late Dr. William Ellery Briggs of Sacramento, January 17, 1918. Three children were born of this union: James Briggs, William Ellery and Charles K. McClatchy.

Mr. McClatchy became associate editor of the Sacramento Bee upon the resumption of his newspaper work following the Armistice. Largely on his initiative the Fresno Bee was established in 1922 and he was named editor of that paper. When in 1923, Mr. MeClatehy assumed the duties of general manager of the McClatchy newspapers, he effected the purchase by the Fresno Bee of the Fresno Herald, which was merged the Fresno McClatchy paper. With his father, Charles K. McClatchy, he also undertook the purchase of the Sacramento Star, which was merged with the Sacramento Bee. In August, 1927, the Modesto News-Herald was added to the McClatchy newspaper properties by purchase.

Under his editorship the Fresno Bee grew rapidly until in less than ten years its circulation passed that of the Fresno Republican, founded in 1876 by Dr. Chester Rowell. The strenuous business competition came to an end in March, 1932, when the Republican was sold to the Fresno Bee, and merged with it.

Anticipating the remarkable development of the radio, McClatchy several years ago recommended to his father the purchase of station KALI, :Fresno, owned by the San Joaquin Light and Power Corporation. This station served as the nucleus of the McClatchy radio system, which now includes KERN., Sacramento, KWC, Stockton, KOH, Reno, and KERN, Bakersfield.

Mr. McClatchy was a man of independent mind, of unusual executive ability, of generous and charitable disposition and keenly interested in the welfare of his employes.

EDWIN M. EINSTEIN

Edwin M. Einstein is a native son of Fresno, has lived in this city virtually all his life, and is now the president and general manager of tin; Fresno Guarantee Building-Loan association, which he helped to organize in 1920. During recent years Mr. Einstein has been especially active in Fresno county chamber of commerce work, having served as director for several years, and president during 1931 and 1932. In 1928-29, he served as president of the California Building-Loan league.

Edwin Moritz Einstein was born October 28, 1890, in the City of Fresno, at the old Einstein home on K street (now Van Ness Avenue), near Tulare, where the Liberty theatre building was later located. His father was Louis Einstein, pioneer merchant and banker of the San Joaquin Valley, a native of Germany, who died in 1914.

Young Einstein attended the Fresno city schools, graduated from the Fresno High school, and then obtained his bachelor’s degree in the college of commerce from the University of California in 1912. In the latter year, by invitation of President Benjamin Ide Wheeler of the University of California and of the U. S. Secretary of State, he served as delegate representing the United States at the Third Congress of American Students at Lima, Peru. Einstein’s college activities included journalism, he being editor of the Daily Californian in his senior year; and music—he was manager of the glee chub in his sophomore and junior years and president of the club as a senior.

This was the time of the beginnings of motion pictures, in which he be­came interested as the photographer for his class. He was business manager for the glee club during a concert trip through the East and-later to Europe. After graduation, he joined in forming a commercial firm, at Berkeley, to take educational and commercial pictures, and in the course of business adventured in South and. Central America.

Upon his father’s death, Mr. Einstein returned to Fresno, and shortly after took over the enterprise his father had planned, for the development of La Sierra tract, lying between Roosevelt, North H and Belmont avenues. Beginning in 1915, he laid out streets and built and sold homes. When the World war stopped home building, he went into the tractor business, pioneering in the spread of machinery to speed up farm production during the Great war.

Two years after the Fresno Guarantee Building-Loan association was or­ganized in 1920, Mr. Einstein took charge of its $34,000 assets. It now has a total of $2,385,000. He became the president in 1928. In 1928-1929 he served as president of California Building-Loan league, and is now a director of the Federal Home Loan bank of Los Angeles.

Mrs. Einstein was Gertrude Thayer Swift, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. L. P. Swift. Her father was the active head of the Fresno Flume and Lumber com­pany, in the establishment of Shaver lake and the lumber mills of that en­terprise. Mr. and Mrs. Einstein have two children: Evelyn Thayer and Lewis Swift Einstein. Mr. Einstein is a member of Fresno Lodge No. 247, F. and A. M., of the Sciots, the Scottish Rite and the Shrine. He was president of the Fresno Lions club in 1925-26. He is also a member of the Sunnyside Country club.

EDWIN R. SCARBORO, M. D.

Dr. Scarboro, who was president of the Fresno County Medical society in 1932, is a veteran of the World war who has lived in Fresno since 1919.

He was born in Emanuel county, Georgia, in 1890, the son of Jason and Nellie (Tullis) Scarboro. His parents were both Georgians, of English descent. His father was a school teacher.

He attended the high school at Tifton, Georgia, and later secured his academic degree from Mercer university, Macon, Georgia. Going to the University of Michigan, he took his M. D. degree in 1917, and then served for a time as interne at the University of Michigan hospital. He served in the Medical corps in the Great war, and went overseas with the 83rd division, and was in the Meuse-Argonne drive, with an artillery regiment; and was given the Croix de .Guerre for first aid work while under shell fire. After his return to the United States he was made captain. He came to Fresno to locate in 1919; practiced here one year, then returned to the University of Michigan as instructor for two years. He came back to Fresno in 1922 and was resi­dent physician at the General hospital for three years, and is still on the staff of the hospital, having charge of the neurological cases.

Dr. Scarboro married Lois Mosgrove, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William A. Mosgrove of Fresno, and they have two children: Edwin Mosgrove and Clark Tullis. Dr. Scarboro is a member of the Kiwanis club and of the University Sequoia club. He is affiliated with the American Medical association and the state and county organizations; he is a fellow of the American College of surgery, and belongs to the Phi Chi Medical fraternity.

JUDGE T. R. THOMSON

Thomas Rogers Thomson began to practice law in Fresno in 1910. He has been judge of the superior court for about four years. During this period he has been called a number of times to sit in the appellate court of the state.

Judge Thomson was born in Paterson, New Jersey, March 26, 1882, the son of Henry and Mary (Rogers) Thomson. He attended the grade schools at Paterson and prepared for college at Mount Hermon, Massachusetts. Coming to California for his professional studies, he received his A. B. degree from the University of California in 1908 and completed the law course at the same institution in 1910, when he was admitted to the bar.

In 1910 Mr. Thomson came to Fresno to practice law, and for a time was associated with Sutherland & Barbour, afterwards becoming a member of the firm of Klette & Thomson, and later he was associated with M. B. & E. M. Harris. He practiced alone for a number of years and served as United States referee in bankruptcy, following Clyde H. Thompson in that office.

Upon the appointment of Judge Charles R. Barnard to the appellate court in 1929, Thomas Thomson. was appointed for a superior court vacancy by Governor C. C. Young. In 1930 he was elected for a term of six years.

Judge Thomson married Ada Mae Pottle, daughter of J. C. Pottle, a former city councilman of Fresno.

Judge Thomson is a member and former director of the Kiwanis islub, and he has served as a director and as chairman of the Fresno county chapter of the American Red Cross. In Masonry he is a past master of has Palmas Lodge No. 366; a past master of the Scottish Rite, in which organization he attained the rank of K. C. C. H.; a past patron of the Eastern Star, and is a member of the Sciots. He is also a member of the Elks, the Eagles, the Woodmen of the World, the Modern Woodmen of America, the University-Sequoia club, the Commercial club. His religious affiliation is with the Presbyterian Church, Judge Thomson has been president of the Fresno County Bar association and is enrolled in the national and state bar organizations.

CLYDE L. DAVENPORT

Clyde L. Davenport, an active and public spirited business man of Fresno, was born at Bloomington, Illinois, November 22, 1.892, the son of Lyman L. and Cora (Mattocks) Davenport. The family came to California, and to Fresno, in May, 1904. The father was a steam and gas engineer, and already was familiar with electric batteries. In 1905, he commenced work in this city on electric batteries for motor cars, and in 1908 opened a business for electric supplies and service, and this concern put in the first electric headlights that were installed on cars in Fresno. In 1913, L. L. Davenport formed a partner­ship with C. W. Keiser and opened a shop at 1242 Van Ness avenue. When Mr. Keiser enlisted for the war in 1917, the Electrical Laboratories, Inc. was formed, and in 1918, the present modern building was erected at 1347 Van Ness for the use of the company, and later another at 1422 Van Ness which is the present location. Mr. L. L. Davenport is still actively connected with this business as secretary and treasurer, while Clyde Davenport is president of the company, which also employs another member of the family, E. M. Daven­port. It is the oldest business of its kind in the San Joaquin Valley, and one of the oldest in the state.

E.  A. CHEVALIER

Edmond Albert Chevalier has been a practicing attorney of Fresno for the last six years. He is a native of Fresno county, having been born May 22, 1902, on the old George Shipp ranch, in Scandinavian colony, northeast of the City of Fresno. He is the son of A. A. and Blanche Chevalier. His father came to this country from France when 18 years of age, and joined in the Gold Rush to Alaska. Later, settling in California, he mined for a time and later bought the George Shipp ranch. He died in 1923.

Mr. Chevalier attended St. John’s grammar school in Fresno, the local High school, and graduated from the Fresno State College in 1923. He next attended Hastings College of law in San Francisco and graduated in 1926, with the L. L. B. degree, and was admitted to the bar in that year.

For a year Mr. Chevalier was secretary of the Fresno Y. M. C. A. He then became associated with Attorney T. M. Stuart in practice of law, and in 1929 became associated with M. G. Gallaher, which is his present professional connection.

In 1925, Mr. Chevalier married Ruth Magee, in San Francisco. The family now includes two children: Edmond Andrew and Dorothy.

Mr. Chevalier is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of the Knights of the Round Table. He was the founder of the Sigma Tau fraternity in the Fresno State College.

F. D. BRADFORD

Frank Dennison Bradford has been an active and public spirited citizen of Fresno for nearly twenty years. For two years he was president of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce during a critical period in its history, and he has always taken a prominent part in the Fresno Rotary club.

Mr. Bradford is a native of Columbus, Ohio, the son of N. T. and Aurelia Bradford. Coming to California forty-seven years ago, 1886, he located first in Los Angeles, and in 1890 entered the grocery business there, which he continued for twenty-four years. During a part of this time he was also in association with a brother, interested in a baking establishment.

In 1914 Mr. Bradford sold out his interests in Los Angeles, and after looking over the state carefully for a new location, finally decided to settle in Fresno. He established the San Joaquin Baking Company in a small two oven plant at the corner of P and San Benito Streets. At the end of a year he installed two additional ovens, and later he rented another building with two more ovens, making six in all. The present building located at the corner of L and Los Angeles street was erected in 1918.

The ground floor is 145 by 280; the upper floor 100 by 180, laid out as a fine modern plant, representing an investment of half a million dollars. There are sixty-eight employes. The territory between Merced on the north and Pixley, Tulare county, on the south, and between the Sierras and Los Banos, is thoroughly covered by deliveries. The company also maintains a plant at Modesto, Stanislaus county. The San Joaquin Baking company has a normal capacity of 40,000 to 50,000 pounds of bread daily. In addition there is a large output of cakes and pies. The company is now the largest establishment of its kind in the valley. Mr. Bradford’s son, Arthur, is manager and assistant secretary of the company.

Besides being president of this company, Mr. Bradford is a director in the Fresno Guarantee Building and Loan association. He is a member of the Sunnyside Country club, and the University-Sequoia club.

EWALD A. LARSON, M. D.

Dr. Ewald A. Larson is a native son of Kingsburg who has risen to be a leader in his profession in Fresno county.

Dr. Larson’s parents, Walfrid and Caroline (Ericson), both natives of Sweden, came to California in 1889. The subject of this sketch was born February 1, 1893, attended the Kingsburg schools, and obtained his academic degree from the University of California in 1917, and medical degree from the same institution in 1921. After this he spent two years in hospital work in San Francisco, one year as interne and one year as house officer in surgery.

Dr. Larson returned to Kingsburg in 1922 and was associated with Dr. J. A. Gillespie until the latter retired in 1926, and he is now the owner of the Kingsburg sanitarium, founded by Dr. Gillespie in 1913.

Dr. Larson is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and the county medical societies and belongs to the Swedish Methodist church and the Lions club.

Mrs. Larson was Lois Gillespie, a native of Iowa. There is one daughter, Caroline Louise, aged nine years.

R. C. BAKER

R. C. Baker is the president and almost sole owner of the largest manufacturing plant in Fresno county, the Baker Oil Tools, Inc., which was established at Coalinga in 1918. This concern has been expanding even during recent years, and it has distributing points at Taft, Houston, Tulsa, Oklahoma City, New York City and at Trinidad, South America. While the main plant is now at Huntington Park, Mr. Baker continues to make his home at Coalinga, where he has been active since 1899 in public affairs.

Reuben Carton Baker was born July 18, 1872, Chester, Virginia, son of Reuben and Elizabeth. Baker. At the age of 21, he began his interest. in oil in the city of Los Angeles, where the first extensive development in oil was being promoted. In 1899, he came to Coalinga as a contractor, first starting to drill on section 2, township 21 south, 14 east, three miles west of Coalinga. In 1900, he went to the Kern river fields, then starting to boom, for the Mt. Diablo Oil Mining and Development company in which he was a stockholder. He was also one of the first operators in the Midway district. In 1901, he started operations in Wyoming, but these did not pay, so in 1902 he returned to Coalinga, making his home in the fields until 1.909, then establishing his residence in the town of Coalinga.

The Baker Oil. Tools company handles many pieces of oilwell equipment which are Mr. Baker’s inventions, especially a casing shoe that is used all over the world. The company started in 1913 and has been increasing its output ever since. Mr. Baker has had large farming interests in Fresno county and elsewhere.

In 1908, Mr. Baker helped to organize the First National bank of Coalinga, and also assisted in the formation of the Coalinga Gas and Power company. In the Great war, he was a member of the exemption board of the first Fresno county district. He was president of the Coalinga High school district board from its organization until 1917, and has been a city trustee and a member of the library board and a director in the chamber of commerce.

Mrs. Baker was Minnie Zumwalt, member of a pioneer California fam­ily, who was bOrn in Colusa county. There are two children: R. C. Baker Jr., now district manager at Ventura for his father’s business; and Thelma (Mrs. G. M. Anderson), whose husband is the district sales manager for the Baker company in the Los Angeles territory.

JUDGE H. Z. AUSTIN

H. Z. Austin has served on the superior bench of Fresno county for nearly twenty-four years, making a record for this tribunal.

Herbert Ziba Austin was born at De Peyster, street, Lawrence county, New York, January 15, 1864, the son of Isaac and Laura Dotia (Thornton) Austin. His father was a farmer, and was descended from Robert Austin who came to America in 1638. His mother was a lineal descendant of john Thornton, who came to America with Roger Williams.

As a boy, Judge Austin attended the public schools of his native state, and later studied law at the Albany Law school. Soon after being admitted to the New York bar, he came to Fresno in 1888.

His first association at law in Fresno was with the late W. D. Grady. After about three years he entered into partnership with A. M. Drew. In 1892, he was elected justice of the peace, first for two years and then for four years. During this time he formed a partnership with George W. Jones, which continued until Mr. Austin was elected to the superior court in November, 1900.

Judge Austin was reelected in 1906, in 1912 and in 1918. In 1920, he resigned from the bench to become trust officer of the Fidelity Trust & Sav­ings bank of Fresno. He continued with this institution and its successors, the Pacific Southwest bank and the Security-First National of Los Angeles until 1930, when he resigned to seek election again to the superior court, where he is now serving another six years term.

Judge Austin was married first to Effie Costigan, who died in 1398. He was some years later married to Daisie Williams, now deceased. By his first wife he had a daughter, Mrs. Effie Thompson, who passed away in 1925, leaving one child, Jean Elizabeth Thompson. By his second marriage he has two daughters: Laura (Mrs. S. M. Munson of Sacramento), a hydraulic engineer, graduate of Stanford University; and Katherine Thornton Austin, graduate of the University of Washington, a bacteriologist and biologist..

Judge Austin is a devoted member of the First Presbyterian church of Fresno, of which he has been an officer for many years. In Masonry he is a past master of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366 (1908). He has also been dis­tinguished in the Scottish Rite with the thirty-third degree.

A. D. EWING

A. D. Ewing has been county treasurer of Fresno for nineteen years. Last year he handled about sixteen million dollars for the county and for the City of Fresno, of which latter he is ex-officio treasurer.

Achilles Dudley Ewing was born near Fulton, Missouri, February 14, 1861, the son of Henry N. and Carrie (Martin) Ewing. After the mother’s death, the father came to Fresno in 1.882 and settled in Fresno colony as a farmer.

The subject of this sketch, after attending schools in Missouri, came to California fifty years ago on January 20, 1883, and acquired a 20 acre tract adjoining his father’s farm. Here he planted a vineyard and orchard, and later with his brother, D. S. Ewing, improved forty acres near Fowler to vines and trees.

In 1888, A. D. Ewing was elected tax collector of Fresno county, the first to hold that office; as prior to that time the collections had been made by the sheriff. He held the position for one two-year term. During 1896, 1897 and 1898, he was employed as a deputy in the tax assessor’s office. On January 1, 1899, he entered the office of George W. Cartwright, county clerk, as court clerk. He continued as court clerk and later as clerk of the board of supervisors, four years, under W. O. Miles, and four years under D. M. Barnwell. While holding this latter position, in November, 1914, Mr. Ewing was elected county treasurer, and has continued in this position ever since. The last four times lie has been elected without opposition. He has now served in the court­house, as principal or deputy, longer than any other man.

January 2, 1890, Mr. Ewing was married, at Kansas City, to Mollie Mundy, a native of Missouri.

Mr. Ewing is a member of the Belmont Avenue Christian church, of which he serves as elder. He is also a member of the various branches of Odd Fellow­ship, the Woodmen of the World and is active in the Kiwanis club of Fresno.

D.  S. EWING

David S. Ewing, who passed away in Fresno October 30, 1929, was for many years active in law, in politics and in the oil development of central California. Associated as Mr. Ewing was through all his law practice in the one connection of Everts & Ewing, this firm became an institution in this part of the state. Of later years, Mr. Ewing was one of the most influential men in the Democratic party organization of California, and was for some years the chairman of the state central committee. In the maintenance of the Democratic party he took much pride, looking to the continuance of party procedure as a stimulus to good politics and the betterment of the state.

David Shelby Ewing was born at Fulton, Callaway county, Missouri, Oc­tober 24, 1866, the son of Henry Neal and Carrie (Martin) Ewing. The Ewings were of Scotch Irish ancestry, who followed the westward movement from Virginia to Kentucky to Missouri to California. l’olrs. Henry Ewing died in the East, and the father and his six sons and two daughters came to California in 1880. They settled in Fresno county, Mr. Ewing being the third farmer to invest in a lot in the Fresno irrigated colony, immediately south of the City of Fresno.

Young Dave worked on his father’s ranch, became a surveyor on the upper San Joaquin canal project in 1883, went for a time to business college in San Francisco, was employed as deputy tax collector and then as deputy school superintendent under B. A. Hawkins. Studying law privately, he was admitted to practice in 1893, but anxious for a better foundation in his profession, he went to the University of Michigan law department in 1895, and graduated with his LL. B. in 1896.

Already the law firm of Everts & Ewing had been formed, and has con­tinued ever since. In 1898, O. L. Everts was elected district attorney and Mr. Ewing was his chief deputy. In 1905, Mr. Ewing became city attorney of Fresno, and continued in that office for four years. He was active then in Democratic politics. But this was also the time of oil pioneering., and Mr. Ewing acquired considerable interests in both the Coalinga and the Kern county fields, so that he came to be regarded as one of the authorities on the public relations of the industry. He was closely associated in the petroleum enterprises of C. J. Berry, and sat on the board of the Petroleum Institute, Among his corporate retainers, he was attorney for the Fresno Traction com­pany and for the Pacific T. and T. company. Mr. Ewing took particular in­terest in the various efforts toward cooperation in the raisin industry.

On May 1, 1898, Mr. Ewing was married to Grace, daughter of Frank Maul, who had been a merchant at Kewanee, Illinois, but removed with his family to Fresno in the Nineties. Mr. and Mrs. Ewing had two children, Blanche (Mrs. Neil J. Dau) and Mildred (Mrs. Orville R. Taylor) both resident in Fresno. Mr. Ewing was exalted ruler of Fresno Lodge No. 439, B. P. 0. E., and had been consul commander of the Woodmen of the World. In Masonry, he was a member of Fresno Lodge No. 247, was a Knight Templar and a Shriner. He had been president of both the Sequoia club and the Uni­versity club, and later was the first president of the merged organizations.

CLYDE E. CATE

Clyde Elton Cate is the son and grandson of men who have shared in the history of Fresno county. While he is a native of Los Angeles county, he at­tended grammar school in Fresno, and has resided here the past fifteen years.

Mr. Cate’s grandfather, James Wiggins Cate, came to Fresno county in the Fifties. His father, J. Wilbur Cate, who is now living in Los Angeles, was the first white child born in San Gabriel valley, and he took part in the Alaskan Gold Rush of 1897, joining the Edmonton party. After returning, he established himself in Fresno, and was for a time a partner in the undertaking firm of Hall & Cate, located on J street near Tulare street in Fresno, and later he was a member of the real estate and insurance firm of Moore & Cate. He was also for some years deputy coroner under Dr. G. L. Long, and for a number of years was chairman of the Fresno Democratic central committee.

Clyde E. Cate was born at Rivera, Los Angeles county, June 3, 1891, attended grammar school in Fresno, and high school at Los Angeles, where his parents had removed. He entered the University of Southern California and obtained his bachelor’s degree in 1910, and his LL. B. in 191.2. He practiced law in Los Angeles from 1912 until 1918, and then came to Fresno. He was with the Standard Oil company for six years, and from 1924 to 1929 he was sales manager for the Studebaker and Hudson-Essex automobile agency, and then for a year was sales manager for the Belmont Memorial Park company’. For five years, 1927-32, he was instructor in salesmanship and commercial law at the Fresno evening high school, and for the past three years he has been practicing law, with offices in the Pacific-Southwest building.

Mrs. Cate is the former Pearl C. Greene, a native of Los Angeles. Mr. and Mrs. (‘ate have one daughter, Peggy.

Mr. Cate is a member of the Fresno Exchange club, the Fresno Adver­tising club, the Native Sons, the Elks, Woodmen of the World, Independent Order of Foresters, of the California and local bar associations and of the Delta Theta Phi Law fraternity.

E.   E. WAHRENBROCK

E.   E. Wahrenbrock, the principal of the Fowler Union High school, is a Great war veteran and a graduate of the University of Southern California and has been in school work for fifteen years in various parts of the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. Wahrenbrock was born in Concordia, Missouri, January 13, 1892, the son of E. S. and Sabina (Trusheim) Wahrenbrock. Retiring after many years of farming in the Mississippi valley, his parents now live in San Diego, where they removed in 1911.

As a boy Mr. Wahrenbrock attended grammar and high school in Mis­souri and obtained his A. B. degree at the University of Southern California, shortly before the United States entered the World war. During the war he was with the Hercules Potash plant at San Diego as chemist, and in 1918 he started teaching at the Pomona Junior High school. He next took a position in the Hanford Joint Union High school, where he continued for eight years. Then he was principal at Parlier, Fresno county, for two years and in 1929 came to Fowler as principal.

He is a member of the American Legion and of the Lions club, and belongs to the Phi Delta Kappa, honorary educational fraternity.

Mr. Wahrenbrock is married to Gertrude Inwood, and they have two children : Kenneth, aged 12, and Betty Lou, 8.

ARAM SAROYAN

Aram Saroyan has been one of the most prominent fruit men of Fresno county for the last ten years. He is an attorney, but devotes a share of his time to his commercial interests, the chief of which is the Fresno Grape dis­tributors, a fresh grape shipping corporation.

Mr. Saroyan was born in Armenia in 1893, and came to this country, and to Fresno, in 1906, when he was only thirteen years of age. Ile attended the Fresno grammar schools, then the Fresno High school, from which he graduated in 1915, and then was a student at the Fresno Junior College. While at the college, he took the leading part in the play “Pillars of Society.”

Mr. Saroyan then attended the University of Southern California law school at Los Angeles for two and a half years. During most of his school life, he worked his own way, selling newspapers, delivering groceries and other odd jobs.

Admitted to the practice of law in 1919, Mr. Saroyan has given much of his time to criminal law, and in his engagements in court has handled nearly every sort of criminal case.

In his relation to the raisin market Mr. Saroyan is especially well known. He has been active in fighting before the Interstate Commerce commission for lower rates for Fresno county producers. He took a prominent part in the demand of grape growers in this part of the state that the Federal Control board pay for grapes in 1930 in accordance with its contracts, and called a mass meeting of two thousand growers who threatened to cancel their delivery contracts unless 21/2 cents a pound was advanced. The Control board met the demands.

In the latter part of 1.922, Mr. Saroyan organized the Fresno Grape distributors, and through this markets his “Cinderella” brand of fresh grapes. He is now one of the few cash buyers of grapes in Bream) county, and handles as many as a thousand cars of grapes in a year. During the years 1918-22, he was in partnership with K. Arakelian in watermelon shipping.

Mr. Saroyan is married to Roxy Malkasian, and they have four children : Cheslie A., Janet, Eugene and Betty Jane. He is a member of the Armenian American Citizens’ league.

FRITS A. UDDEN

Frits A. Udden has been principal of the Kerman Union high school since 1930. This is one of the rural educational institutions of which the people of Fresno county have reason to be proud. it has 436 students and a staff of 16 teachers.

Mr. Udden was born at Winnipeg, Canada, March 17, 1.893, the son of Svante and Matilda (Davis) Udden. His father was a native of Sweden and his mother of the United States. Young Udden attended schools in Marshall county, Kansas, near Waterville, also at Mora, Minnesota, and then secured his A. B. from Gustavus Adolphus College, in Minnesota. He next took post graduate work in the University of Minnesota and had manual training instruction at Stout Institute, Menomonie, Wisconsin, and has special work at the University of Minnesota, and University of Southern California.

Mr. Udden started teaching at the Hawley High school, Hawley, Minnesota in 1915, where he remained two years. Then he was at Appleton, Minnesota for part of a year, when he enlisted in the Great war, in the Medical Corps and was stationed at Philadelphia. After discharge, he became principal of the school at Grove City, Minnesota, from 1919 until. 1924. He was next school principal at Braham, Minnesota, until 1929, and is now in his third year at Kerman.

Mr. Udden is married to Mabel Knock; and they have two children: Melba and Laurel. He is a member of the American Legion, chamber of commerce, of the National Educational association. and of the California Teachers’ association.

WILLIAM GLASS

City Commissioner Glass has been active in Fresno public life for more than 40 years, as newspaper publisher and city official,

Mr. Glass was born in New York City March 22, 1860, the son of John and Margaret (Hart) Glass. Educated in the New York public schools, he worked as a boy and young man in Wall street. In 1882, he came west to San Francisco, and was for a number of years on the staff of the Evening Bulletin, In 1890, he came to Fresno as business manager of the Fresno Morning Republican and continued with it 30 years. He was a director for many years and secretary of the company at the time of its sale in 1920, to the Osborn family.

At that time Mr. Glass bought the Fresno Republican Printery, which thus became a separate institution, and from this plant he later published the Co­operative Californian, which he made both a weekly newspaper and an advocate of cooperative farm marketing methods. Later he was for a time the publisher of the Fresno Evening Herald. He sold all his printing and publishing interests before seeking the office of Finance Commissioner in the Fresno city government in 1925.

Elected as a member of the Fresno City Commission in 1925 and again in 1929, Mr. Glass has worked consistently for a simplification of the city’s business interests, for a use of the city’s authority to regulate public utilities and for the removal of moral menaces from citizens, and was an ardent supporter both of the purchase by the city of the public water works and of a municipal airport. His department of the city executive is in charge of fi­nancial estimates, all city collections, licenses, all city payments and the like.

Mr. Glass was married in 1884 to Theresa McKittrick, in San Francisco, the daughter of an old California family. They have two children: Edward, and Emma Theresa (Mrs. L. H. Camy).

Mr. Glass is a Mason, Knight Templar, Shriner, a member of all Odd Fellowship bodies, of the Eagles and of the Altrurians. The latter is an or­ganization of ex-Rotarians who for various reasons are ineligible for active membership in Rotary. In civic life, Glass has been active in the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, in the Fresno Ad. club and is a director of the American Red Cross. For many years he has been an officer and leader in the St. Paul’s Methodist church (South).

On April 1.0, 1.933, Mr. Glass was reelected Finance commissioner for an­other four-year term.

I.  TEILMAN

Ingvart Teilman is a native of Denmark, whose personality and profes­sional abilities have been intertwined with the history of Fresno for fifty years. Early a city engineer of Fresno, he was for many years the engineer of Fresno Canal and Land company, and for the Consolidated Canal company covering an area about the same as that of the present Fresno Irrigation and Consolidated districts; he surveyed and directed the irrigation projects of the Laguna de Tache Grant and affiliated enterprises; he was for a long time promoter of the Pine Flat project; and of late he has been active in efforts to place farm production in the San Joaquin Valley on a stable basis by making farm products a public utility.

Mr. Teilman was born at Ribe, Denmark, February 15, 1860, the son of - Hans Nielsen Teilman and Dorthea Latrine Teilman. His people were farmers in Jutland, the mainland of Denmark. Mr. Teilman attended the common schools of his native land. Coming to America in his early youth, he took a course at Van Der Nailen’s engineering school in San Francisco and graduated in July, 1883. After engaging in various places as surveyor, he located in Fresno in 1884 and has been here continuously since.

In 1887, two years after the city was incorporated, he became city engineer. Shortly afterwards, Mr. Teilman became associated with J. C. Shepard. They installed the Fresno sewer system, and also were employed by a number of land and irrigation corporations, and laid out several additions to the city and farming colony plats when Fresno was booming, from 1887 to 1889.

In 1896, Mr. Teilman became chief engineer for the Fresno Canal and Irrigation company, a connection which continued until the company was sold out in 1922 to the Fresno Irrigation district. He was also engineer for L. A. Nares, the representative of the British syndicate which had invested in the canal company and the Laguna de Tache. The alignment of the water rights of the lower Kings river basin and of the upper appropriations of water terminated years of costly litigation and led to great development of farming in the central area of the county. Mr. Teilman was in charge of surveys of the Summit Lake Land, the Laguna Lands and the San Joaquin Valley Farm Lands, the latter owning what was formerly the James ranch and comprising 73,000 acres. He was for some years director of both the Fresno Canal and Land company and of the Consolidated Canal company (formed of the merger of the Fowler Switch interests and the Kingsburg and Centerville company) which was later taken over by the Consolidated Irrigation district of which Mr. Teilman’s son is now the engineer.

During 1900-1901 Mr. Teilman was chief engineer for the Madera Sugar Pine company, and had charge of building the flume 54 miles long from the mills to the city of Madera.

Teihnan school, located on Teilman avenue, just to the west of Fresno city, is named after him.

Mr. Teihnan was married September 27, 1887, to Annie Latrine Holm, and they became the parents of four children: In•vart Holm, Alarm (deceased) Dora. (Mrs. L. C. Mooler) of Fresno, and Henry Nelsen. There are three grandchildren: Jean and Gardener Teilman, and Richard Teilman Mooler.

He is a member of Fresno Lodge No. 1.86, I. O. O. F. of which he is Past Noble Grand, a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers since 1892.

I.    H. TEILMAN

I.    H. Teilman has grown up in irrigation engineering in central California, and for the past ten years has been the chief engineer for the Consolidated irrigation district, such in fact ever since the district was formed.

Mr. Teilman is the oldest son of I. Teihnan, pioneer irrigation engineer of Fresno county, who was for many years in charge of the first great irrigation project in the county, the so-called “Church” canal of the Fresno Canal and Land company. Young Teilman was born at Fresno, February 15, 1889, at­tended the grammar and high schools, and in 1911 was graduated with the bachelor’s degree from the University of California. He was with the Fresno Canal and Land company for one year; with the Summit Lake Land and affiliated companies for four years; was resident engineer for the Zaldo Reclamation district at Fresno for a year and a half ; and connected with the Stinson Burrel Reclamation district at the same time. He then returned to the engineering staff of the Fresno Canal and Land company for three years; and was with the Fresno Irrigation district for one year. Since then he has been the chief engineer for the Consolidated Irrigation district., with headquarters at Selma, covering a larger territory than the old Fowler Switch and the Centerville-Kingsburg companies.

Although still a young man, Mr. Teilman has been engaged longer in irrigation engineering than any other man in Fresno county.

Mr. Teilman was married on February 24, 1917, to Elmina Gardner, a graduate of the University of California, who was born at Colorado Springs. They have two children: Gardner and Jeanne, both attending the Selma High school. Mr. Teilman is a member of Selma Lodge, F and A. M., and of the Rotary club and the Engineers’ club at Fresno.

GEORGE HOWDEN

George Howden is a native of Iowa, a graduate of the ‘University of Cal­ifornia, a resident of California for the last thirty-two years and the principal of the Selma Union High school the past three years.

Mr. Howden was born at Butler Center, Iowa, January 25, 1889, the son of Dawson and Amanda (Bice) Howden. The family moved first to Minne­sota and then to California in 1901, locating on a farm at Dinuba in Tulare county. The boy attended school in Iowa and Minnesota and graduated from the Dinuba High school in 1907. His degree of B. L. came from the University of California in 1913, and his M. A. from the same institution in 1915.

He first taught school for two years, 1915-17, in the Modoc Union High school at Alturas. Next he was at Surprise Valley Joint Union High school, at Cedarville, California, 1917-19. In the latter year he obtained a position as instructor at the Selma Union High school, with additional duties of football coach, and he has been with this school ever since, nearly fourteen years, serving as vice-principal from 1922 until 1930, and principal since 1930.

Mr. Howden is married to Geneva La Rue, a native of Missouri, and they have two children: Margaret. Ellen and Lois Marie.

Mr. Howden is a member of the Selma Community club, and in college he was a. member of Alpha Kappa Lambda, and of Phi Delta Kappa, Educational fraternity.

CREE T. WORK

With wide experience in the administration of schools, in four states and in several parts of California, Cree T. Work has been principal of the Central Union High school for the past five years. This school has a staff of sixteen teachers and has enrolled in the last year 440 students.

Mr. Work is a native of Indiana county, Pennsylvania, the son of Josiah and Sarah (Hindman) Work. He was educated in Pennsylvania schools, at the State Teachers College, Indiana, Pennsylvania, and at Columbia University, New York. He was superintendent of schools at Du Bois, Pennsyl­vania, for two years; next taught in Colorado State Teachers College, Greeley, Colorado, for several years. Coming to California, he became supervisor of manual training for the elementary schools of San Francisco, introducing manual training in that city.

From San Francisco Mr. Work was called to organize the College of Industrial Arts (the State Women’s College) at Denton, Texas, where he was president for eight years. He returned to California in 1911, and was principal of the Venice Union Polytechnic High school at Venice. The trustees at Reedley, California, desiring administrative development of their district, Mr. Work became superintendent of both elementary and high schools and at the same time was appointed deputy county superintendent of schools and brought, into the organization several neighboring elementary districts in that section of Fresno county. During this period the bonds were voted for the present, splendid group of buildings for the Reedley Joint Union High school, and the buildings planned.

Mr. Work next was called to Sutter county, to become the principal of the Yuba City Union High school, which he organized. For a year he was the principal of the Sierra Valley Joint Union High school, with its branches, and a member of the Sierra County board of education. Five years ago he came to this county again, to become principal of the Central Union High school, one of the finest rural high schools of the state.

Mr. Work, when in Texas, was a director of the National Education as­sociation, and is a delegate of th.e California Teachers association to the convention of the N. E. A. at Chicago in 1933. He has written many articles on education. Among his works is a textbook on manual training, prepared for the use of the San Francisco schools. For a time he was editor of the “College Bulletin” of the State Woman’s College of Texas.

Mrs. Work was Mary B. Brown, a teacher of Du Bois, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Work have four children: Florence Esther (Mrs. E. W. Gillis), wife of the high school principal, Princeton, California; Telford, publisher of the “Palisadian” at Pacific Palisades, California; Mary Isabel (Mrs. H. D. Huyeke) of Pacific Palisades—all graduates of the University of Southern California—and Robert Archibald, an irrigation engineer in the Federal service at Medford, Oregon, and a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley.

A. T. GOLDBERG, M. D.

Dr. A. T. Goldberg has been practicing medicine in Fresno for the last twelve years, having come to this city in 1921.

Albert Tobias Goldberg was born in Bucharest, Rumania, in 1896, the son of I. A. and Rose Goldberg. His parents, both natives of Rumania, brought their family to California, and settled at Los Angeles in the early years of this century. The subject of this sketch attended the Los Angeles schools, and became a student at the University of Southern California, graduating with an A. B. degree from the academic department and later received his M. D. from the medical department.

Dr. Goldberg started practice in Los Angeles, where he remained for a year. He was located for six months at San Diego, and then removed to Fres­no, where he has remained ever since. He devotes himself largely to surgery. He is on the staffs at St. Agnes and Burnett hospitals. He is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and county societies.

During the Great war, Dr. Goldberg joined the medical corps, was commissioned first lieutenant, and was stationed in Los Angeles.

Dr. Goldberg is married to Dora Marie Abrams, formerly a resident of Santa Cruz. He is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., of the Moose, the Eagles, the University of Southern California Alumni association, the Fort Washington Country club, and the Edison Social club. In Masonry he is a member of the Scottish Rite and of the Shrine.

HERBERT McDOWELL

Herbert McDowell who has been an active lawyer in Fresno for nearly a score of years, was of particular value to Fresno as member of the State Assembly for three terms, having promoted through the legislature the act creating the Fresno Normal school into a State College, and is now the agent of the Federal district court here as commissioner in bankruptcy.

Mr. McDowell was born at Placentia, Orange county, California, March 14, 1887, the son of Thomas K. and Gertrude (Toombs) McDowell. His fa­ther was an educator in Missouri, and his mother was from Virginia. His maternal grandfather was pastor of the First Baptist church at Los Angeles for years and served as president of several Baptist colleges.

The McDowell family came to Fresno in 1907, and Herbert McDowell at­tended the Fresno schools and graduated from the law school of the Uni­versity of Santa Clara in 1916.

Mr. McDowell first entered the law office of Harris & Hayhurst and con­tinued in association with them until 1920, since which time he has practiced alone. He has been U. S. referee in bankruptcy since September, 1931. He served in the legislature during the sessions of 1921, 1923 and 1925, repre­senting the Fresno city district. In addition to handling the bill which transformed normal schools into state colleges, an important measure having to do with irrigation bears his name.

Mrs. McDowell was Helene Thor formerly of San Jose.

Mr. McDowell is a member of the University Sequoia club, and is past president of the Fraternal Brotherhood, and is an active member of the First Baptist church of this city.

ROLAND W. DAHLGREN, M. D.

Dr. Dahlgren is a native of Fresno county and of one of the oldest farm­ing districts in the county, the Washington Irrigated colony. He was born at Oleander, the center of the eastern section of that colony, in 1896, the son of Ludwig and Hannah Dahlgren. His parents are both natives of Sweden. ‘While his father engaged in farming, he was educated as a clergyman of the Swedish Methodist church and served as minister at the church at Easton, located at Elm and Lincoln avenues in the western end of Washington colony. His mother is still living, in Fresno.

Mr. Dahlgren attended the county schools and the Washington Union High school at Easton. Later he enrolled in the pre-medical department of the University of Southern California and subsequently obtained his M. D. degree from the University of Nebraska. He served for a time as interne at Omaha, Nebraska, and entered practice at Fresno in 1924. He is a member of the American Medical association and the state and county societies.

Mrs. Dahlgren was Nancy M. Jacobson of Omaha, Nebraska. The Dahl­grens have one daughter, Nancy Dolores, born in Fresno. Dr. Dahlgren is a Mason and a member of the University-Sequoia club.

JUDGE S. L. STROTHER

Sidney Lanier Strother has been lawyer in Fresno for forty-four years. He has served on the superior bench of the county for twelve years, most of this time as presiding judge, which position he now holds; and he was a member of the lower house of the state legislature during the session of 1919.

S. L. Strother was born in Marshall, Missouri, July 30, 1867, the son of John. Pryor and Mildred (Lewis) Strother; the latter was a native of Mis­souri, and the former a native of Kentucky. His father graduated from the University of Louisville, and then moved to Missouri to practice law and ultimately became a circuit judge in that state.

The subject of this sketch attended Central College, Missouri, and then Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee. He next read law in his father’s office, at Marshall, Missouri.

Deciding to come West, Mr. Strother located in Fresno in 1889, and be­came a law partner of James R. Webb first with offices in the Temple Bar building and subsequently moving to the Fresno Loan and Savings bank building, the first four story building in Fresno, on the site on which the Pacific Southwest building now stands. When Mr. Webb was appointed to the superior bench by Governor Markham, in 1893, Mr. Strother joined in practice with his father, J. P. Strother, who had by this time also come to California. Father and son were associated together until the father’s death in 1907. The elder Strother contributed much to the legal establishment of the city of Fresno, having been a member of the city council during the admin­istration of Mayor L. O. Stephens, the first mayor under the city home rule charter. The mother lived in Fresno until her death, in 1928, passing away on her 85th birthday.

On the resignation of Judge H. Z. Austin from the superior court bench in 1921, to become trust officer of the Pacific Southwest bank, Mr. Strother was named to the vacancy by Governor William D. Stephens, and he has since been elected and reelected twice to this office.

Judge Strother married Kate P. Alexander, a native of Missouri. They have four children: Sarah E., born in Missouri; Margaret (Mrs. Charles H. Brous) ; Alexander F. and Katherine, the last three born in Fresno. A. F. Strother is clerk of department one of the superior court.

BENJAMIN F. COTTON

Judge B. F. Cotton has lived in the Sanger district of Fresno county for more than fifty years, having come to that part of Fresno county long be­fore the town of Sanger was thought of. He has filled the office of justice of the peace for twenty years, an indication of the confidence of his neighbors in his judgment and sense of fairness.

Benjamin F. Cotton was born July 31, 1862, near the town of Cottontown, Tennessee, named for his ancestors, early settlers in Summer county, Tennessee. After attending the local high school, Judge Cotton came in 1881 to Fresno county, where a brother had been living since 1875. Vine growing had barely started in this area, and the territory where Mr. Cotton bought land, within about three miles from what was to become Sanger, was en­tirely grain and cattle country at that time.

In 1886, Judge Cotton was elected justice of the peace for a two year term. On May 1, 1888, he was married to Anna, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Truman Cody, relatives of “Buffalo Bill” Cody. Judge and Mrs. Cotton have two children, William Elmer Cotton and Mrs. Grace (Cotton) Morgan.

In 1914, Judge Cotton was elected justice of the peace again for his township, and has been continually reelected ever since. He is one of the oldest justices in the county in length of service and is now the oldest official in Sanger.

MIKE JONES

In a county the size of Fresno, supervisorial districts come to have a political significance of their own apart from the individuals who happen to reside in them. For many years, the five districts in Fresno county have had almost no change in their district boundaries, The “First,” of which Mike Jones has been the representative on the county board since January, 1931, includes the northwestern quarter of the county and like two other districts, takes also the west segment of the county seat in order to get about its fifth of the population of the whole territory. The first district thus includes the smaller towns of Kerman, Firebaugh, Mendota, Dos Palos, Tranquility, and San Joaquin, the rich farming areas of Biola and Barstow, and it stretches across the “West Side” to the Summit of the Coast Range with such wild country as the Murietta rocks and the Cantua district.

Mike Jones before being elected supervisor, was constable of the First township, covering a large part of this area—Dos Palos, Firebaugh, Mendota, Tranquility and San Joaquin.

He was born in Filmore county, Nebraska, January 12, 1890, his parents being William and Alice E. (Prince) Jones. The family came to California in 1894, and settled on a farm. His mother is still living. Young Jones attended grammar school at the Bryant district, and then Fresno Business college, 1906-07. He engaged in farming for the next ten years in. Fresno county. After serving as constable for three terms, he sought the vacant place so many years filled by Chris Jorgensen, and defeated three other candidates. On the board of supervisors, Mr. Jones has sought consistently to represent both his district and the interests of the county at large.

Mrs. Jones was Beth Bowden of San Jose. Mr. and Mrs. Jones have three children: Leland M., Lucile M. and Grace Alice, all born in Fresno county. Mr. Jones is a member of Kerman lodge of Masons, and belongs to the Scottish Rite at San Jose. He is also affiliated with the Elks and the Eagles in Fresno, and with Eastern Star at Kerman.

EDWARD A. WEBB

Edward A. Webb has been active in Coalinga life since 1906 ; he was the owner of the first furniture store established there, has been engaged in oil interests since 1907, and was one of the founders of Christ Episcopal church of Coalinga, of which he is now a warden and superintendent of Sunday school.

Edward A. Webb was born in London, March 1, 1864, the son of George and Sallie (Francis) Webb. He started business at Clapham, England, as a dealer in fine art goods. Coming to Coalinga 27 years ago, he has since been one of the leading citizens of the city, and is at present engaged in real estate and insurance business.

Mrs. Webb was Ruth Woodbridge, a native of Oxford, England; they have four children: Amy May and Ruby Frances, of Coalinga, Edward Walter of Ventura, and Albert Ernest of Coalinga.

His brother, Albert Webb, came to Coalinga forty years ago and was one of the founders of the First National bank of Coalinga, and was president of the Elaine Oil company.

FRED DODD

Fred Dodd was for a generation a leading hotel man of Fresno, his name becoming synonymous with that of the Hughes hotel. Of kindly and affable disposition, he was foresighted in building up the material services of his establishment. Mr. Dodd passed away May 21, 1930, at Palo Alto, and Mrs. Dodd now owns and manages the hotel.

Frederick Dickison Dodd was born at Manchester, England, July 6, 1874. After spending a year in South Africa, he came to America when about 20 years of age. He first located at San Francisco for a short time, and then looking over a map of California, decided on Fresno as his best opportunity for a future, because of .its central location.

The Hughes hotel, erected in 1885 by Thomas E. Hughes, known as the “Father of Fresno” from his many real estate promotion activities, had suf­fered the effects of the panic and deflation of the early Nineties. Mr. Dodd, when only twenty-two years of age, bought the property, and proceeded to develop it. He also took over and managed the “Hughes Block,” the property on the north side of Tulare street, opposite the hotel.

In the course of the years lie operated the Hughes hotel, Mr. Dodd pi­oneered a number of innovations. He installed an electric lighting system for the hotel, it being the first lighting system in Fresno. He was the first hotel man in the San Joaquin Valley to have telephones placed in all the guest rooms; the Hughes was the first hotel to have an air cooling system in Fresno, the first to have a lunch counter installed, and the first neon sign erected in Fresno was the Hughes hotel sign. The hotel operates its own service station and was one of the first in California to provide free garage service for its guests.

About fifteen years ago Mr. Dodd remodeled the fourth story and roof and cornice, which previously had been of extremely ornate type of architecture popular in the early days. In the Eighties and Nineties and first years of this century, the Hughes and one or two other hotels in Fresno were the principal hosteleries of the valley, and the Hughes has kept pace with the times over all these years, and still is one of the leading commercial and tourist hotels of the San Joaquin Valley.

It is interesting to note that the Fresno Elks club held its first meeting in the Hughes hotel, and the Parlor Lecture Club was organized in the “parlor” of the hotel, from whence the name was derived.

On several different occasions, on account of other interests, Mr. Dodd leased the Hughes, but the greater part of the time he managed it himself. After the San Francisco fire of 1906 he planned, equipped and leased the St. Mark hotel in Oakland, the first reinforced concrete building in California. In addition to his hotel interests, he owned a farm in Fresno county as well as an apartment house on North Fulton street in the city of Fresno.

Mr. Dodd is survived by his widow, who was Irene Hawkins of San Rafael, and one son, Fred McKenzie Dodd, who is carrying on his father’s interests.

Mr. Dodd was a member of the Fresno Elks Lodge and of the Bohemian Club of San Francisco.

ALBERT A. BLASINGAME

Albert Blasingame is a native son of Fresno county, born of a family which pioneered in stock raising in the foothills of the Sierras. Mr. Blasingame still owns his father’s stock ranch, of 200 acres, near Tollhouse.

Mr. Blasingame was born on this ranch, July 23, 1886, the son of A. A. and Jeanne (Case) Blasingame. His grandfather was Jesse A. Blasingame, pioneer capitalist of Fresno county. The father was born in Eldorado county, California, while his wife was born in Virginia, coming to California in 1882. They both passed away some years ago.

Albert Blasingame attended the county schools and worked on his fa­ther’s farm in early life. He came to the county seat in 1917, and for fourteen years was deputy sheriff under sheriffs Thorwaldsen and Jones. hi 1930 he sought the office of constable and was elected.

Mr. Blasingame was married to Sophia McMurtry, and they have one (laughter, Frances (Mrs. Leonard Peterson) of Modesto.

Mr. Blasiname is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, and of the Native Sons of the Golden West.

HAYDEN F. JONES

Hayden F. Jones, newly elected president of the California Real Estate association, is a native of the San Joaquin Valley. He has for years been active in central California petroleum development, and has become an authority on questions of taxation through his studies and service for the taxation com­mittee of the real estate association for the last twenty years.

Mr. Jones was born at Merced, March 26, 1885, the son of John B. Jones and Fanny (French) Jones, both born in the valley. His maternal grandfather built the first cabin on Bear creek, the site of the city of Merced. His maternal grandmother was the first school teacher at Merced. Mr. Jones’ father was born in Mariposa county, and was the title officer of the Fresno County Abstract company, when he died. The family moved to Fresno in 1892, in 1896 they moved to Porterville, and in 1902, returned to Fresno.

Mr. Jones attended schools in Merced, Porterville and Fresno, graduating from the Fresno High school in 1904. He was a member of the Fresno High school Senate and editor of the athletics department of the High School Owl, and was very active in school athletics.

His first employment was with the Valley Lumber company, for a year; next with a grocery store; then with the California Fresno Oil refinery for a year and a half. When the Model Bakery company was organized, he joined this concern, then, in 1905, he entered the service of the real estate and insurance firm of F. J. Haber, a vocation in which he has been active ever since. He was with this firm until 1910, and was with Pierce & Anderson for five years. Since 1915, he has been connected with the firm of Canine & Satuldera.

During the World war, Mr. Jones was in Y. M. C. A. work as physical director, being attached to the Fifth Machine Gun Battalion, Second Division, and spent a year in France.

For six years he was a member of the National Guard of California, 1904­1910, and saw service in San Francisco during the earthquake.

Mr. Jones has been for many years specially interested in oil develop­ment in central California, and is a director of the North Kettleman Oil and Gas association. He is the owner of extensive oil royalties.

As a student of taxation, Mr. Jones has become strongly in favor of the sales tax as a method of equitable distribution of the cost of government. He believes that real estate up to a minimum valuation should be exempted in the interest of farm promotion and home establishment.

Mr. Jones is a member of the Fresno Commercial club, the UniVersity Sequoia club and of the Sunnyside Country club. He is a Mason, being a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366.

In 1932 he was elected president of the California State Real Estate as­sociation.

LUCIUS POWERS

Lucius Powers is a leading fruit shipper, farmer and capitalist of Fresno, who has lived in this county since 1888, the son of parents who came to California during the Gold Rush. He is sometimes referred to as Lucius Powers Sr., because his eldest son, a member of the California legislature, is Lucius Powers Jr.

Mr. Powers was born at Sacramento, January 11, 1872, the son of Aaron Hubbard and Emma Louise (Sweasey) Powers. His father came from Boston around the Horn in 1849, and was a business man in Sacramento. His mother came across the plains with her parents in 1850.

The subject of this sketch was educated in the Sacramento schools and attended business college in San Francisco. With his parents, he came to Fresno county in 1888, his father acquiring 250 acres of land immediately west of Centerville. Here father and son cooperated in the planting of 100 acres of vineyard which was one of the first vineyards in that section. Other variety of fruits were grown, so that father and son as partners soon had some va­riety of product marketing every month in the year. Other lands were acquired, until finally about 1600 acres were under cultivation.

A. H. Powers died in 1907, while on a trip to Italy, and Lucius Powers took charge of the family affairs, which were incorporated the next year as the Powers Orchard and Vineyard Co., with a capital of $50,000. Mr. Pow­ers soon entered into the business of shipping fruit for himself and for others, until he reached a total of between 300 and 400 cars of produce a year. His two largest places are the Home ranch and the “B” ranch. In 1909, he established the Powers Fruit company, to engage in the marketing of his products. In 1913, he became manager of the San Joaquin Valley district of the Pioneer Fruit company, of which he was vice president.

Among his other business interests Mr. Powers is the owner of the Palm Villa subdivision in Fresno, and he is the president of the People’s Thrift and Finance company, which he organized in 1923. He also assisted in the organization of the Commercial bank of Sanger and served for some years as a director of the First National bank of Sanger, and also joined in the formation of the Growers’ National bank of Fresno and for some time was president.

Mr. Powers was a member of the Fresno county highway commission, named to lay out the county highway system about fifteen years ago. He was also a member of the first Fresno city public utilities board, and during the Great war served as food administration aide, as appointed by the Governor of California. In recent years, Mr. Powers has taken an active interest in seeking to establish valid systems of marketing for Fresno county products during disturbed business conditions.

Mr. Powers maried Abbie Viau, a member of an old Fresno county family, July 3, 1900. They have four children: Lucius Powers Jr., Mary Louisa, Martha Kate and Aaron H, the latter now district manager for his father’s farms.

LUCIUS POWERS JR.

Lucius Powers Jr., is a native son of Fresno county, who is now serving his second term as member of the legislature, in the California Assembly.

Mr. Powers was born July 25, 1901, the son of Lucius and Abbie (Viau) Powers. His father, Lucius Powers, one of the leading business men of central California, is noted elsewhere in this volume. His mother Abbie Viau) Powers is a member of an early Fresno county family. His grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Aaron II. Powers, were California pioneers, coining to California in the gold rush of 1849.

Lucius Powers Jr., attended Freson county and city elementary schools and graduated from the Fresno high school in 1920. Entering the University of California, he received his A. B. in 1924, his J. D. in 1926. Starting to practice in his home town, he was for five years associated with Claude L. Rowe, now city attorney. He is now associated with the firm of Barbour, Kellas Backlund, one of the largest and oldest law firms in Fresno, with offices in the Rowell building. He is a member of the California and Fresno county bar associations, and has served a term as treasurer of the county organization.

Mr. Powers has been in recent years active in the National Guard of California. In March, 1928, as company commander, he organized, recruited and mustered-in Howitzer Company, 185th Infantry, C. N. F., a company of 55 enlisted men, Upon taking his seat in the legislature in January, 1931, he resigned his captaincy and too a commission as an officer in the Organized Reserve Corps, U. S. A.

Soon after graduating from college, Mr. Powers began to take part in politics, and was elected in 1928, secretary of the Republican County Central committee.

Elected to the Assembly in 1930, after a spirited contest in the primaries, Mr. Powers was the fourth youngest member of the lower house of the legislature, where he has shown a special interest in the organization of rural interests. He organized the San Joaquin Valley legislative delegation or bloc in the 1931 session, and served as chairman of the delegation in the 1933 session of the legislature. He was a leader in the very bitter battle over reapportionment of the State Legislature and the eight new congressional districts assigned to California. Cooperating with Senator Sanborn Young of Santa Clara and others, he worked specially in the interest of conservation of fish and game. He fathered the bill for the establishment of the Fresno State College as a four-year regional college, which passed the Assembly but was denied passage in the Senate.

Nominated for a second term and elected in November, 1932, Mr. Powers’ district under the new apportionment includes all of the municipal area of Fresno. Containing about 85,000 inhabitants, it is one of the largest Assembly districts in the state.

Mr. Powers is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. 11., is a Scottish Rite member of the 32nd degree, the Sciots, Fresno Parlor No. 25, Native Sons of the Golden West, the Elks, the Fresno Commercial club, the Fort Washington Golf club and the University-Sequoia club. He belongs to the Kappa Sigma College fraternity, and Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity.

EMORY RATCLIFFE

Emory Ratcliffe is the head of the social science department of the Fresno State College, a position which includes direction of the teaching of history, economies, political science and sociology. Professor Ratcliffe has been a member of the Fresno State College faculty since 1915. During his residence in Fresno he has been active in civic affairs, and has been specially interested in the promotion of athletics as a branch of public education.

Emory Ratcliffe was born at New Castle, Henry county, Indiana, in 1878, the son of John P. and Ellen (Cook) Rateliffe. His ancestors had early settled in Guilford, North Carolina, from which state Dr. Ratcliffe’s great grand­father left about 1800 for Ohio territory in protest against the institution of slavery. His grandfather settled in Henry county, Indiana.

Mr. Ratcliffe attended Spiceland academy in his native county; then Earlham College, Richmond, Indiana, where he took his A. B. degree in 1903. He taught school at Vermillion academy, Vermillion Grove, Illinois, later at Plainfield academy, Plainfield, Indiana, and at Beloit College, Beloit, Wis­consin. Ile took his M. A. degree at the University of Wisconsin in 1910.

Coming to California, he taught for a number of years in the Santa Ana High school, and came to Fresno in 1915, to be with the Fresno State Normal (now the Fresno State College). He has been the secretary of the Fresno County Historical Society since its foundation in 1919.

Dr. Ratcliffe married Laura J. Phillips, at Whitewater, Wisconsin, in 1912. They have one daughter, Margaret Eleanor.

Dr. Ratcliffe is an active member of the First Congregational church of Fresno, In Masonry, lie is a member of Center Lodge, No. 465, and he is enrolled in the Islam Temple of the Shrine. He is also a member of the Kiwanis club of Fresno.

DR. W. W. LESLIE

Practicing dentistry for twenty-seven years, Dr. W. W. Leslie engaged in general practice at Porterville, California, for thirteen years, and for the last fourteen years has specialized in Fresno as an orthodontist.

Dr. Leslie was born in Shasta county, California, in 1881, the son of Andrew and Caroline Leslie, his father coming from Scotland, his mother from Philadelphia. The boy attended schools in Shasta county, and at Porter­ville, where he graduated from the local high school.

He studied dentistry at the University of California and received his . degree of D. D. S. there in 1905.

Dr. Leslie married Florence James of Porterville, and they have one son, Raymond. In Masonry, he is a Shriner, a Sciot and is a member of the Sciots’ band, and of the Eastern Star. He belongs to the Fresno Lodge of Elks and is a member of the American Society of Orthodontists, of the Pacific coast society; and he is past president of the San Joaquin Valley District Dental association.

WYLIE B. GIFFEN

For a quarter of a century the name of Wylie B. Giffen has been intertwined with the efforts of fruit producers, especially the owners of raisin vineyards in central California, to form efficient marketing cooperatives for their vine products. For ten years he was president of the California Associated Raisin company, later known as the Sun Maid Raisin association, and during the last three seasons he has been the manager of the Raisin Pool which has handled the subscribed acreage both within and outside the Sun Maid, with the backing of the California Stabilization board and the Federal Farm board.

Mr. Giffen was born at Greensburg, Pennsylvania, in 1872, son of the Rev­erend George C. Giffen. His parents moved to Nebraska in 1873, and he attended the local schools of the state until the family moved to Mayfield, California, 1887, and then to Fowler, Fresno county, in 1888. Here the elder Giffen became pastor of the First Presbyterian chrurch, and invested in a raisin vineyard.

The younger man early engaged in the raisin industry, but has carried on many other farming lines. Early in the second decade of this century, while farming at Fowler, he became convinced of the evils of free competition of farming in seeking markets through the several packing organizations, and he assisted in the promotion of the so-called “Million Dollar Company,” which grew out of an earlier attempt to form a raisin growers’ exchange. This organization was finally formed as the California Associated Raisin. company, of which H. H. Welsh was the president for the first year, but was soon succeeded by Mr. Giffen. For the first few years James Madison was the general manager, but resigned after which Mr. Giffen was both president and general manager until his resignation in 1923. During his administration, as much as forty million dollars of business was done in a year, and the fine raisin plants were erected by the Sun Maid throughout the San Joaquin Valley. in 1.921, 93 per cent of the raisin acreage of California was under contract to the Sun Maid.

In the last ten years, Mr. Giffen has been engaged chiefly in growing wheat and cotton, at times handling as much as ten to twelve thousand acres of land a year, on the west side of Fresno county, in the Mendota district. . When the California Control board was formed in 1929, it was found advisable to have an organization that could match the growers inside and out­side of the Sun Maid organization, and with this in view Mr. Giffen became the director of the California Raisin Pool. He has been the head of the organization for four years.

Mrs. Giffin was May Slonicker, a native of California; they were married in 1896, and have four children : Erma, Bernal, Russell, and Helen, the latter deceased.

J. D. COLLINS

James D. Collins was a. part of Fresno county life for nearly fifty years. He was one of the first school teachers in the county, was a farmer both in the foothill region and in the later irrigated area, and was sheriff for eight years. His children today are active citizens of the county.

James Darwin Collins was born in Rhea county, Tennessee, October 30, 1843, the son of James P. Collins, who was of old American stock which start­ed the westward movement from the Atlantic coast. When eighteen years of age, James D. Collins enlisted in the Confederate army, and later was captured and spent three years in a Union prison. After the close of the war, he came west, to settle in Fresno county.

With his education and intellectual outlook, Mr. Collins’ natural opportunity was school teaching, as there were almost no schools in the valley on his arrival here. In the summer of 1870, he taught for a time at Wagy’s Mill, Tulare county, and that fall found a location on Big Dry creek, Fresno county. There was no school in the whole area, and many parents there lamented the lack of training for their children. They supported Mr. Collins in founding. the “Academy,” which at first was a private school, a half mile from where the present village of Academy is located. He taught there for some years, and then, the growth of settlement spreading farther out into the plains. taught until 1880 at the Mississippi district school.

Mr. Collins acquired a large tract of land in the Big Dry creek basin and continued to live in that section as a farmer until his election as sheriff in the fall of 1898. In the meantime, however, he served a term in the legislature, being elected to the Assembly in 1876.

Mr. Collins was married, before leaving Tennessee, to Ann Caldwell, a native of his own birthplace. They had eleven children, of whom eight sur­vive: Mary Elizabeth (Mrs. R. J. Heiskell); William A. Collins, now for several terms supervisor from the fifth district of Fresno county; Catherine (Mrs. C. H. Byrd) ; White Collins, farmer of Del Rey; Dr. Clinton D. Collins, physician of Fresno; Robert F. Collins, farmer at Del Rey; Ann (Mrs. J. W. Nicholson) of Porterville; Joseph P. Collins of Portervilie.

Among his properties, Mr. Collins had a vineyard near Lone Star and Del Rey, and there he made his home after retiring from the position of sheriff in 1907.

James D. Collins was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, South, and for many years served his congregation as steward. As a public official he was noted for his conscientious regard for the public interest. Many men of influence in all parts of Fresno county had been his pupils; and respect for him as one of the builders of Fresno was deeply felt. lie passed away in 1918.

William A. Collins has lived on a farm near Del Rey of recent years. He was first elected supervisor from his district in 1912, and has been continuously reelected ever since, his present term expiring January, 1937. He is now the oldest supervisor of Fresno county in time of service. He was chairman of the board for eight years, 1921-29. Mrs. W. A. Collins was Myrtle Helen Nelson, daughter of W. P. Nelson who was treasurer of Fresno county from 1886 to 1894. Mr. and Mrs. Collins have four children : James P., Thelma, Myrtle and Mary Elizabeth.

Dr. Clinton .D. Collins, after returning from the World war, entered into medical and surgical practice in association with Dr. J. L. Maupin. He is at present a member of the group of physicians with offices in the professional building at P and Fresno streets. Mrs. Collins was Gertrude Drew; they have two children: Barbara and Thomas.

GEORGE H. SCIARONI, M. D.

Dr. Sciaroni is a native son of California, and has lived in Fresno since 1919, coming to this city immediately after the Great war. He had served in the Medical Corps, in various camps in the United States and had risen to the rank of captain.

Dr. Sciaroni was born in Eldorado county, California, April 13, 1892, the son of Zachary and Caroline Sciaroni. He was educated in the Eldorado schools, and then went to the University of Arkansas, where he obtained his M. D. in 1914. He served his internship in the City Hospital at Little Rock, Arkansas, and taught for a year and a half in the University of Arkansas Medical school. Since coming to Fresno, he has given his attention to general surgery, and maintains his offices in the Pacific Southwest building.

Dr. Sciaroni is married to Martha Lloyd of Fresno, and they have two children: Lloyd and Antoinette, both born in this city. He belongs to the American Medical association, and to the state and local societies. In Masonry, he is a member of both the York and the Scottish Rite organizations, and is an Elk. In college he was a member of the Phi Chi medical fraternity.

A. A. CALAWAY, M. D.

Dr. A. A. Calaway has been a practicing physician of Fresno for the last twelve years, and is associated with Dr. George H. Sciaroni.

Dr. Calaway was born at Bearden, Arkansas, in 1887, the son of M. K. and Mary (Williams) Calaway. His father was an attorney and a native of Georgia. Dr. Calaway’s great uncle was a Representative in Congress from Texas.

As a young man Dr. Calaway attended high school at Bearden, and then went to the University of Arkansas, graduating with the degree of M. D. in 1916. He was for a time interne at St. Vincent’s infirmary, Little Rock. He practiced at Helena, Arkansas, for two years, and then was with the Gallup American Coal company at Gallup, New Mexico, for two years.

Dr. Calaway came to California in 1920, and after a short time in San Francisco, located in Fresno. Since 1924, he has been associated with Dr. Sciaroni. He specializes in gynecology and obstetrics.

Dr. Calaway is married to Geneva Gean of Sheridan, Arkansas, and they have two children, both born in Fresno : Alison Doyle and Martin Jean Calaway.

Dr. Calaway is a member of the American Medical association, of the state and county societies; he is a Mason, an Elk, a member of the University- Sequoia club, Sunnyside Country club and of the Optimists. During the Great war he was on the medical examining board of Phillips county, Arkansas.

In college, Dr. Calaway was a member of Chi Zeta Chi Medical fraternity.

CHARLES GORE BONNER

Charles Gore Bonner was born in San Francisco on February 4, 1869, the son of Charles and Rozella (Gore) Bonner. He attended the public schools of San Francisco and the University of California, where he was a member of the Chi Phi fraternity.

Mr. Bonner came to the San Joaquin Valley about forty years ago, and in connection with his raisin ranch started to process and pack raisins in a small way on the Bonner vineyard, located at Locan switch on the Sanger branch of the Southern Pacific, eight miles east of Fresno. In 1898 a partnership was established between himself and the late dames A. Madison, forming the firm of Madison & Bonner. This partnership continued until 1911 when Mr. Bonner purchased Mr. Madison’s interest in the company and thereafter con­tinued to operate under his own name.

In June, 1926, a new corporation called the Bonner Packing company was formed and is still in successful operation under the management of the remaining board of directors.

In the forty years of Mr. Bonner’s connection with fruit growers in the San Joaquin Valley, he established an enviable reputation for honesty and integrity and a high quality pack for his brands with the jobbing trade throughout the country. He was one of the original incorporators of the Dried Fruit association of California, and was one of its recognized prominent factors. As a leader in civic affairs, he was widely and favorably known, being a member of the University-Sequoia club, the Commercial club and Sunnyside Country club.

During the World war Mr. Bonner served as a member of the exemption board in Fresno.

He was married first in 1892 to Louise Tripp, now deceased. In 1903 he married Marie Wolters. There is one daughter, Louise Bonner Reese, by the first marriage, and two children by the second marriage : Doris Rozella Bonner, and Charles Wolters Bonner, assistant sales manager of the Bonner Packing company.

Mr. Bonner died in Fresno on September 24, 1928.

W. D. COATES JR.

W. D. Coates Jr., who is a member of a pioneer Fresno family, was for five and a half years state architect of California, the consulting architect of the Fresno board of education in planning many of the present school buildings; the architect of the present Fresno High school; and he has designed public buildings in many other parts of California.

William D. Coates was born in Oakland, the son of W. D. Coates and Kate F. (Dickson) Coates. In his early childhood, the family removed to Fresno, where his father was employed by the Fresno Milling company, and remained with this company for thirty years, and then it was absorbed by the Sperry Flour company, he became the Fresno manager.

W. D. Coates Jr., attended the Fresno High school, and then going to the University of Pennsylvania for his professional education, graduated with the degree B. S. Returning to California, he was in the office of B. G. McDougall, formerly of Fresno and later state architect of California. Mr. Coates then succeeded Mr. McDougall as state architect. Later he spent three and a half years in private practice in San Francisco.

Employment by the Fresno board of education to supervise the two million dollar school bond issue of 1919, of which $1,120,000 went to the Fresno High school group on Van Ness boulevard, brought Mr. Coates back to Fresno. Since that time he has had his office in the Rowell building.

Other edifices designed by Mr. Coates are the Liberty theatre, the Porterville High school, the Sanger High school, the Washington Union High school at Easton. Besides designing many schools he has also designed numerous residences. Late commissions include the Visalia postoffice, just ready for construction, and the civic auditorium at Hanford.

Mrs. Coates was formerly Edna Pearl Black. Mr. Coates is a Mason, a member of the Shrine and of the Fresno Commercial club. He is also enrolled in the California Association of architects.

BRUCE BRECKENRIDGE

Bruce Breckenridge, a native son of Fresno county, operates a restaurant chain which includes Fresno, Reno, and San Diego.

Mr. Breckenridge was born at Fowler, March 18, 1904, the son of Thomas and Myrtle (Blayney) Breckenridge. His mother is a native of Napa, Cali­fornia, his father, of Iowa.

Young Breckenridge was educated in the Fowler schools and the Fowler Union High school. He worked at the First National bank of Fresno until it merged with the Bank of Italy; and then was with the Bank of Italy. Next he joined the staff of the First National bank in Fresno and was with it until it closed in July, 1930.

Soon after this, Mr. Breckenridge established “Tiny’s Waffle Shop” on Broadway. In December of that same year, he opened “Tiny’s” at Reno. His partner in these two shops is W. W. Taylor, who is president of “Tiny’s, Inc.” In March, 1932, Mr. Breckenridge opened “Keith’s Waffle Shop” at San Diego, with Keith K. Manley of Fowler as his partner there.

Mr. Breckenridge is a member of Fresno Lodge of Elks and of the Knights of Pythias, and of the Moose. He is a member of the National Aeronautical association, as well as of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, and the Optimists club.

He married Lois Campbell of Hanford.

JOE H. DALE

Joe Dale has made himself the coffee expert of the San Joaquin Valley, and his firm, Dale Bros., is the only business of its kind in central California, specializing in bleaching roasting, packing and canning coffee.

Joe, with his brothers, Wade H. and Courtney C. (the latter dying in 1931), were the sons of Edward and Eva (Hayes) Dale. Their mother is now living in Los Angeles. Joe was born in Leadville, Colorado, July 24, 1887, and attended the local schools and the Leadville High school, He entered the coffee business in Nevada, where with his brothers, a wholesale and retail grocery business was established at Reno and Tonopah, which continued for six years.

In 1918, three brothers, Joe, Wade and Courtney, came to Fresno and established the present firm, to handle coffee, tea, spices and extracts. The firm now roasts more than a ton of coffee a day, including all lines under one trade name. Five trucks are used for the delivery of their products.

Joe Dale is president of the Rotary club, is a member of the Elks, of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, of the Fresno Commercial club and of the University Sequoia club. He was married to Theresa McAvoy and they have three children, Joe Jr., aged 19, and James and Alan, twins, aged 16.

Courtney C. Dale was the original head of Dale Bros. He was born at Bedford, Iowa, 1883, and passed away in this city. Mrs. C. C. Dale was .Agnes Black, and their children are: Wade M., now with Hale Bros. ; Jane and. Betty, in school in Fresno. At the time of Courtney Dale’s death, the three brothers had been together in business for twenty-four years.

Wade H. Dale, third of the brothers in the firm, was born in Bedford, Iowa, 1885. His wife is the former Maude Wetoit ; and they have one daughter, Mary Maude.

DAN B. HURLBUT

Dan B. Hurlbut has been a resident of Fresno for five years and in that time has built up a farm implement business handling products of the Inter­national Harvester company.

Mr. Hurlbut is a native son of California, born at Madison, Yolo county, January 24, 1.879, the son of George R. and Lydia Jane (Adams) Hurlbut. His parents came across the plains in the pioneer days with a team of horses, and his father was a farmer in the Sacramento valley. The boy attended Yolo county schools, then the Fruitvale grammar school, Alameda county, then was for a year in the Oakland High school and three years at the Esparto High school, where he graduated.

Returning home, young Hurlbut ran his father’s farm until 1906; then went to work in the machine shops at Stockton, to learn the trade of ma­chinist. He was there four years, and for the next eighteen years-1910 to 1928, be was with the International Harvester company, traveling out of Stockton for this corporation.

In 1928, Mr. Hurlbut decided to go into business for himself and located at Fresno, establishing the Hurlbut Implement company to handle the entire line of the McCormick-Deering products, of the International Harvester company.

Mr. Hurlbut is a member of Fresno Merchants association and of the Lions club. In Masonry, he is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, is a Knights Templar, and belongs to the York Rite bodies.

Mrs. Hurlbut was Gertrude Meloche, a native of Nevada.

GEORGE S. WATERMAN

George S. Waterman has the distinction of being the dean of motorcar dealers in Fresno county, and the oldest Buick dealer in the state of Califor­nia. Entering the automobile business in 1904, with the “curved dashboard” Oldsmobiles, and other cars, he became Buick dealer in 1907 and has handled that line ever since. Mr. Waterman has taken an active part in public life, and was a member of the city council of Fresno for eight years, under Mayors Rowell and Snow.

George S. Waterman was born in Grundy county, Illinois, February 15, 1867, the son of the Reverend John H. and Kitty (Church) Waterman, His father was of a family of English extraction, and his mother was descended

286 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY; THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY

from Col. Benjamin Church who commanded the colonial forces in King Philip’s war and was of Mayflower stock. His parents came to California in 1889. His father, an Episcopal clergyman, acted as curate of the churches in Fowler and Selma, and also filled pastorates at Visalia and Tulare. He was for four years at Benicia. Later he was canon of St. James’ cathedral, Fresno. He died four years ago at Augusta, Georgia. He was a graduate of Dartmouth. Mr. Waterman’s mother died about ten years ago at Fresno.

George S. Waterman attended schools in Caldwell and Livingston counties, Missouri, and then went to St. James Military academy, at Macon, Mis­souri. He commenced teaching at this same institution immediately after graduation, and became ultimately head master and commandant. Coming to Fresno two years after his parents, in 1891, he farmed for a few years, then went to Bakersfield where he remained for two years. Returning to Fresno in 1904, he established the automobile business which has continued ever since. The firm was formed by him and his brother, E. B. Waterman, and has continued under the name of Waterman Bros., although now it actually is com­posed of George Waterman and his son, Edward.

Mr. Waterman is a charter member of the Fresno Commercial club and was its first vice president. He was for a number of years director of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, being active especially in highway promotion. He is a member of the Episcopal church and was a warden of the cathedral in Fresno for many years.

Mrs. Waterman was Helen, daughter of the Rev. M. L. Gillogly, who was first Protestant missionary at Ogden, Utah. Her mother is still living, aged 84 years. There are two children of Mr. and Mrs. George Waterman: Edward S., associated with his father in business, and Katherine, married to E. A. Leyden, who is sales manager for the Waterman Bros.

EDWARD S. WATERMAN

Ed. S. Waterman is a native son of Fresno, a veteran of the American expeditionary forces in Italy in the World war, a business man of Fresno for the last fourteen years and an active participant in civic and political affairs.

The son of George S. Waterman, whose sketch is to be found elsewhere in this book, Edward S. Waterman was born at Fowler, October 30, 1892. He graduated from the Fresno High school, and then attended the University of California, leaving college to enter the automobile business.

For many years Ed. Waterman was a noted automobile racer. Shortly after leaving college, he went to Honolulu to promote a race and for a num­ber of years after that he set records that lasted for years.

Enlisting in the World war, he was two and a half years in the service. For a considerable portion of this time he was chief technical officer of the expeditionary force in Italy, flying on the Austrian front. He also spent some time in the Caponi and Fiat factories in Italy.

On his return from Europe, Mr. Waterman entered into partnership with his father in the motorcar business, and has since then maintained an active part in public affairs in this city.

Four years ago, Mr. Waterman was named by the City Commission a member of the civil service board, and served for two years. He has been president of the Fresno Motorcar Dealers’ association, and was commander of Fresno Post No. 4 of the American Legion.

Mr. Waterman was married, September 15, 1920, to Dorcas Smith.

PHILIP VIAU

Philip Viau is the son of Stanislaus Theodore Viau and Mary Holmes (Millar) Viau, pioneer settlers of Fresno county. who came from their home in Canada in 1870, settling first at Dixon, later Colusa, and came to Fresno in 1873.

In 1889 the elder Mr. Viau joined with Dan Evinger and Fulton G. Berry in planting the first large acreage of oranges in Fresno county, in the Orangedale tract (near Centerville.)

Philip Viau was born at Malaga, June 2, 1886. He moved to his present home near Centerville in 1893. His father moved to a new place, nearer Centerville in about 1905, and his mother retained, operated and controlled all of the original twenty-three acres of oranges, and an additional twenty-three acres of Zinfandels, forty-two acres of Emperors and two hundred and twenty acres of river-bottom lands.

In 1915 Philip Viau married Mary Mathiesen, also a native of Fresno county, and they made their home for four years on a ranch near Dinuba, returning to the home place in 1919, where Mr. Viau took charge of his mother’s extensive ranch.

The mother passed away November 1.3, 1.920, and Mr. Viau continued operating the ranch until 1923, when by inheritance (from his mother) and. purchase, he acquired the original home place of twenty-three acres of or­anges and twenty-three acres of Zinfandels. In 1882 he purchased twenty-nine acres adjoining, and has already set out a portion to Emperor grape vines.

Mr. and Mrs. Viau have two children ; Phillis, born August 22, 1917, near Dinuba.; and Val Philip, born February 1.4, 1923, near Centerville.

BENJAMIN H. VIAU, M. D.

Dr. Viau is the son of Stanislans Theodore and Mary Holmes (Millar) Viau, who were pioneer settlers near Malaga, in the Central Colony district.

Benjamin H. Viau was born at Malaga, -June 29, 1890, was educated at the Centerville district school, the Sanger. High school, and the University of California, from which latter he graduated with an A. B. degree in 1912. He received his M. D. degree from Stanford in 1916, and interned at the Gen. eral hospital, Fresno, and at St. Joseph’s hospital, San Francisco. During the Great war he served for two years in the medical department of the United States Navy with rank of Senior Lieutenant.

Dr. Viau practiced medicine in San Francisco from 1919 until 1925, and in 1926 settled at Sanger where he has since continued practice, and is city health officer.

Dr. Viau assisted in organizing the Sanger Lions’ club; and he is a member of the University-Sequoia club, Fresno ; and of the American Legion.

Dr. Viau has three sisters and two brothers: Mrs. Margaret Berry of Cen­terville; Mrs. Lucius Powers of Fresno Mrs. Annette Mitchell of San Fran­cisco, William Viau and Philip Viau of Centerville.

HENRY A. RANDEL, M. D.

Dr. H. A. Randel has been a resident of Fresno for the past four years, engaging in the practice of medicine for the same period, after having com­pleted his internship at the Fresno General hospital. He is also associated with the Fresno city schools as school physician and is a member of the visiting staff of the General hospital) St. Agnes hospital and the Burnett sanitarium.

Henry Andreas Randel was born April 16, 1902, at Berwick, Pennsylvania, the son of Ivar Andreas and Agnes H. Banda His father was a native of Sweden, a mechanical engineer by occupation, and is associated with the Pullman company as consulting engineer. His mother came to this country at an early age from Canada.

Dr. Handel received his pre-medical education at the University of Chicago, and his M. D. degree from Northwestern University.

He came to Fresno in 1928 to complete his fifth year in medicine at the General hospital. He was admitted to practice in 1929 with offices in the Griffith-McKenzie building, but later moved to the Physician’s building in association with Dr. J. L. Maupin Jr.

Dr. Handel holds the commission of captain in the California National Guard, and is commanding officer of the medical detachment, 185th Infantry stationed at Fresno.

lie is a Fellow of the American Medical association and a member of the state and county societies of his profession, being assistant secretary of the latter. He is a member of the faculty of the Burnett sanitarium nursing school. lie also holds memberships in the National Tuberculosis association, the American association of school physicians, and the Reserve Officers association. His religious affiliations are with the St. James Episcopal church, and he is a member of the University-Sequoia club. His college fraternity was Tau Kappa Epsilon.

Dr. Handel was married at Chicago, 1922, to Christine C. Turner, and they have two children: Catharine, aged 9 years, and Agnes, 1 year.

HERMAN LEVY

Herman Levy was a pioneer merchant of Fresno county, both in Borden in what is now Madera county, and in the City of Fresno. Passing away fif­teen years ago, his fame lives in the group of four sons he left, who do business together under the firm name of Levy Bros.

Herman Levy was born at Filehne, Germany, now a part of the Republic of Poland, May 20, 1856, and came to the United States at the age of 17, with an uncle, I. H. Jacobs, settling first at Merced. Later young Levy moved to Borden, where he conducted a general merchandise store. in the early Eighties he came to the City of Fresno, and for a time worked for Kutner & Goldstein, general merchandise. In 1884, he went into business for himself, starting a I clothing goods store, first in a front on Mariposa street between H and  streets, and for many years afterwards at the northeast corner of J and Mariposa streets, in the Bradley block. He followed this line of business for twenty years, and then, in 1904, became the New York Life Insurance company’s agent in this city, being until his death its sole representative here. He passed away March 6, 1918.

Mr. Levy was married, 1883, to Goldie Benas, of Vallejo, California, who was prominent in women’s affairs in this city for many years. She was particularly interested in the Order of the Eastern Star, of Raisina chapter of which she was matron. She passed away January 19, 1926. Mr. Levy was the first man raised as a Mason in Fresno county, being the first initiate of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, in 1877. He was master of this lodge in 1889.

Mr. and Mrs. Levy had four sons, all raised in Fresno and all living here and married : Herbert, Leon, Sigmund and Benjamin.

Herbert Levy was born December 23, 1884, graduated from the Fresno High school and was on the staff of the Farmers National bank for ten years. At the conclusion of this service he was assistant cashier. Then deciding to establish himself in business, he joined with his brother Leon in the foundation of Levy Bros., real estate and insurance firm. He is married to Madeline Schuman of Oakland, and they have two children: Herbert Jr., and Barbara. Mr. Levy was master of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F and A. M., in 1910, and has been treasurer of this same organization for the last fourteen years. He is also a member of the Scottish Rite and of the Shrine, and is a 33rd degree Mason. He has acted as chairman of the board of control of the Fresno Sciots for several years. Mr. Levy has been active in the affairs of the Fresno Realty board, of which he was president in 1924.

Leon Levy was born August 13, 1886, graduated from the Fresno High school. For several years he was the insurance specialist for the firm of Pierce & Anderson, then he joined with his brother, Herbert, October 1, 1912, in forming Levy Bros. Leon is a member of the Fresno Rotary club, is a Mason and a member of the Scottish Rite. He was married October 13, 1932, to Elizabeth McKinlay.

Sigmund Levy was born in Vallejo July 31, 1888, graduated from the Fresno High school, and for a time was reporter on the editorial staff of the Fresno Tribune. He then entered the business office of the Fresno Morning Republican, and rose to be advertising manager. In 1917, he joined the firm of Levy Bros. He has been very active in civic affairs and has been connected with the raisin festival since the beginning.

Mrs. Sigmund Levy was Loraine Gunzendorfer of Monterey. They have two sons: Roberti Sigmund and Gordon Floyd. Mr. Levy is a 32nd degree Mason and Shriner.

Benjamin Levy was born in San Francisco July 20, 1892. He graduated from the Fresno High school, and shortly after went to work for Levy Bros. He joined the firm as a partner in 1913. Mrs. Benjamin Levy was Leah Louise Meyers, and they have two daughters: Hermina and Gilda. Mr. Levy is a 32nd degree Mason and Shriner.

Leon, Sigmund and Benjamin Levy all served in the American forces during the World war.

WILLIAM B. VAN VLEET

William B. Van Vleet has been stock man, real estate operator and raisin leader for forty-five years in Fresno county.

He was born in Lee county, Iowa, the son of W. B. and Mary (Smoot) Van Vleet. The family came to Washington colony, in 1887, where the father was a farmer. Young Van Vleet spent five years at Easton, and then moved to Sanger, while he continued for twenty-five years, engaging in stock raising and the butcher business.

Mr. Van Vleet was married to Ida M. Leonhart (now deceased), daughter of Rudolph Leonhart, well known early settler of Fresno county in the Scandinavian colony. They have two daughters: Fern and Fredia, the former Mrs. Herbert H. Wheaton, whose husband taught in the Fresno State College for some time, and the latter Mrs. Grant Harris.

Fifteen years ago Mr. Van Vleet moved to Fresno where he maintains an office with his brother, George, from which to conduct his various business interests.

H.  A. SAVAGE

H. A. Savage, attorney of Fresno, has been in practice in this city for twenty years. He has been especially prominent in community efforts to pro­mote cooperative marketing, and the welfare of California farmers has drawn his special attention.

Harold Alonzo Savage was born in Tulare county, September 30, 1.888, the son of Philip M., and Flora Savage. His maternal grandfather had come to California in the early days from Texas, when the struggle over slavery was intense and when Democrats were divided into factions over the Lecomptort convention. The elder man was an ardent admirer of Jefferson Davis. Alonzo Savage’s mother was born in a mining camp on the American river, one of the earliest babies born of U. S. parents in this state.

The family moved to Tulare county from the north in 1876, driving through the plains in a covered wagon.

As a young man, Mr. Savage attended the University of California and received his bachelor’s degree in 1910. Later he wenl to the Harvard Law school and was subsequently admitted to the bar. He came to Fresno in 1913 to open a law office, and has maintained his practice here ever since.

Mr. Savage incorporated the California Vineyardists association, and he has acted as chairman of the peach industry and was a member of the council of the Fresno Raisin Pool.

He has been interested in ranching for many years as a hobby.

Mrs. Savage was formerly Patricia E. Willms. Mr. Savage has six chil­dren by a former marriage: Harold A. Jr., and J. Townsend Savage, William Savage, Andrew Jackson (Jack) Savage, John Robert Savage and Eleanor Ann Savage.

CHESTER H. ROWELL

Chester H. Rowell, publicist of worldwide note and now editorial di­rector of the San Francisco Chronicle, was for twenty-five years a resident of Fresno. For twenty-two years he was editor and manager of the Fresno Morning Republican.

Chester Harvey Rowell was born in Bloomington, Illinois, November 1, 1867, the son of Jonathan Harvey and Maria Sanford (Woods) Rowell. He had preparatory training in the Illinois State Normal University and took his degree of Ph. B. at the University of Michigan, 1888. During the session of 1889-91, he was clerk of the committee on contested elections of the National House of Representatives, of which his father was chairman. He then spent three years in postgraduate work in Europe, including terms at the Uni­versities of Halle, Berlin, Paris and Rome.

Returning from abroad, Mr. Rowell taught in a small college in Kansas for a year, and then came to Fresno to be instructor in mathematics and German in the high school. After being in Fresno for two years, Mr. Rowell became a member of the faculty of the University of Illinois where he remained for a year. On the appointment of John W. Short as postmaster of Fresno, Mr. Rowell succeeded him as editor and manager of the Fresno Morning Republican, and returned to Fresno in May, 1898. He continued as editor for twenty-two years. In 1912, on the death of Dr. Chester Rowell, his uncle, who was the founder and president of the board of directors of the publishing company, the younger man succeeded as president of the board. In October, 1920, the paper and publishing house was sold to George A. and Chase S. Os­born, Jr.

Mr. Rowell became active in California politics in 1907, as one of the organizers of the Lincoln Roosevelt League of California, of which he was the president for several years. He was chairman of the Republican state con­vention in 1910, the year Hiram W. Johnson was elected governor. In 1912, he was delegate from California, first to the Republican and then to the Prog­ressive national convention, and had the unique experience of being a mem­ber of the small subcommittee which wrote the platforms of both parties. In 1916, Mr. Rowell became the member of the Republican national campaign committee from California. During 1916 to 1918, he was chairman of the Re­publican state committee of California. During the World war, Mr. Rowell was a member of the California State Defense council.

On retiring from active newspaper work in 1920, Mr. Rowell was ap­pointed by President Woodrow Wilson as a member of the Federal shipping board. From this he resigned in 1921 to become California Railroad commissioner, in which position he continued for three. years. He then gave himself actively to the work of promoting international good will among nations bordering the Pacific ocean, and as a member of the Institute of Pacific Relations spent much time in the Orient. He has also lectured all over the United States on financial questions.

Mr. Rowell is a member of the board of regents of the University of California. He served as a commissioner of the Panama Pacific International exposition. He is a lecturer in political science in Stanford University. Since 1927, he has been a member of the National Crime commission, and he has held many other positions of honor and trust.

Mr. Rowell was married, August 1, 1897, to Myrtle Marie Lingle of Webb City, Missouri; they have three children: Cora Winifred (Mrs. John A. Giv­ens) Barbara, Lois (Mrs. W. D. Laughlin) and Jonathan Harvey Rowell. The family home is in Berkeley, California.

Mr. Rowell is a member of many clubs and organizations, including the Delta Tau Delta college fraternity, the Phi Beta Kappa Honor society and the Golden Bear (University of California.)

K. ARAKELIAN

Krikor Arakelian, founder and president of the K. Arakelian, Inc., has been a resident of Fresno county since he was twelve years old. The corporation of which he is almost the sole owner, has about six thousand acres of vineyards and orchards in the San Joaquin Valley, besides other properties, and is capitalized for two million dollars.

Mr. Arakelian was born at Marsovan, Turkish Armenia, March 14, 1871, the son of John and Queenie Arakelian. The family moved to Fresno in 1883, where the father who had been a merchant of prominence in Asia, settled down as a farmer. Young Arakelian started to work for ten dollars per month, continuing for a few months, but soon after started peddling melons and fruit around Fresno. He attended Fresno schools whenever he had a chance, and in 1892 returned to Marsovan to take a college course. The completion of his course of study was interrupted by a revolution in Turkish Armenia, and he was imprisoned in a Turkish prison in 1895, but on account of being ay American citizen he was soon released and immediately thereafter came back to Fresno.

After his return to Fresno it was necessary for Mr. Arakelian to start over again in business, as he had spent all his savings, and his parents still in Fresno had been adversely effected by the financial conditions then prevailing in this country. He soon started in the melon business, and ultimately became known as the “Melon King of America,” because of the tremendous number of water melons and cantaloupes which he handled. His “Mission Bell brand” of cantaloupes became noted all over the United States.

Mr. Arakelian retired from the melon business in 1919, at which time he bought two of the largest vineyards which the California Wine association then owned.

This was just at the time prohibition came into force in the United States and many owners of vineyards had become panicky and were dis­posing of their properties at very low prices. However, Mr. Arakelian real­ized that, notwithstanding prohibition, there would still be a large market for raisins and grapes, and his foresight in this laid the foundation for his present wealth.

K. Arakelian, Incorporated, now operates six packing houses in the San Joaquin Valley, and packs and markets its own products. Its acreage is lo­cated in Fresno, Kings, Madera, Stanislaus and San Joaquin counties, and the grapes and raisins are sold under the trade name of “Mission Bell.”

Another important interest of K. Arakelian, Incorporated, is a winery located at Madera. This has a capacity of two million gallons, and the “Madera” brand of wine is sold all over the United States for sacramental, med­icinal and manufacturing purposes.

In the acquirement of his large land interests, Mr. Arakelian’s policy has been never to mortgage a piece of property after he had paid off the en­cumbrance on it. Following this plan he has kept himself on a more or less liquid basis at all times, and has been able to weather successfully the vari­ous periods of depression. His original piece of land contained only forty acres, and he has expanded only as fast as he could control his business with his personal credit.

Mr. Arakelian was married in 1899 to Rose Agamian, who was an Ar­menian, born in Constantinople, and educated in Catholic schools in that city. Mr. and Mrs. Arakelian have eleven children and thirteen grandchildren.

HENRY P. STEITZ JR.

Henry P. Steitz Jr., has been a leader in the affairs of the First Ward Rate and Taxpayers association of Fresno for several years. He was local president of the American Volga Relief Society for three terms, and served as president of the national organization one term. He has also been president of the Free Evangelical Lutheran Cross church.

H. P. Steitz Jr., was born June 29, 1875, in Skatovka, a province of Straub, Russia, the son of H. P. and Elizabeth Steitz. His father was a grain farmer, holding a large acreage under lease from the Russian government. The family came to this country and to Fresno in 1891; the father first worked as janitor for the Farmer’s National bank, later had a store, and finally en­tered the insurance business. He died in 1931.

The subject of this sketch attended public schools in Saratov, Russia, and after arrival in Fresno he worked for a time for the Southern Pacific, then for the City Bakery on I street, and in 1898, began ranching. In 1905, he founded the firm of H. P. Steitz & Sons, one of the best known retail grocery firms in west Fresno.

Mr. Steitz was married July 1, 1895, in Fresno, to Eliza Schwabenland. There are eight children: Edward S., Leo T., William P., Albert A., Allen J., Ida (Mrs. George Schmidt), Maida (Mrs. Henry Bachman) and Alma E. Steitz.

Besides being an active church member, Mr. Steitz belongs to the Masonic Order, the Scottish Rite, and Shrine.

He was a member of the Committee of Fifty of the Raisin Pool. For a time he was president of the First Ward Taxpayers association, and is now treasurer of that organization. He is also a member of the advisory commis­sion of the Fresno City fire department.

GEORGE F SHARP

George F. Sharp has been a legislative commissioner of the city of Fresno continuously for the last ten years, having been chosen by the voters of the municipality first in April, 1923. He is also manager of the Fox Wilson Theatre in Fresno.

George F. Sharp was born at Hamilton, Canada, the son of Robert and Marian Sharp. His father was a farmer and building contractor. The family moved to California in 1896, and settled at Willows, in Glenn county.

Mr. Sharp attended schools in Willows and later in San Jose. In the lat­ter city he entered the theatrical business, in the employ of the Liberty Theatres company. That organization first established the Liberty theatre in Fresno, on Van Ness avenue, and Mr. Sharp came to Fresno to become its manager in 1916. He has been an active citizen of Fresno ever since.

With the expansion of the theatrical organizations in Fresno, Mr. Sharp’s activities have been extended. He became manager of the West Coast houses in this city, and when that organization was taken over by the Fox company, he became the general manager of all its theatres, with headquarters at the Fox Wilson.

As a member of the Fresno City Commission, Mr. Sharp has served longer than any one in that body, and as one of the two legislative members, he is assiduous in expressing the interest of citizens in the promulgation of laws and ordinances for the civic betterment of its institutions.

Mr. Sharp was married at San Jose to Mabel Sims of Campbell, Santa Clara county. They have three children: Georgia, Duleie, and Joan.

Mr. Sharp is a member of the Rotary club, and of the University-Sequoia club. He is also a member of Fresno Lodge of Elks, and belongs to various Masonic bodies. He was for some years a director of the Fresno Merchants association and for a year was its president.

H. B. QUICK

H. B. Quick, well known citizen of the Parlier district of Fresno comity, was born in Gainsville, New York, on November 11, 1875, son of Milan W. and Catherine S. Quick. The family is of Pennsylvania Dutch extraction, and the original paternal ancestor was a very early settler in America. M. W. Quick was a farmer in New York state and in Nebraska practically all of his life, and he has been dead since 1923.

The subject of this sketch received his education in the public schools of Ames, Iowa, and in Quick, Nebraska. The early part of his life was spent in ranching in Nebraska, part of the time in association with his father, and later on his own account.

Mr. Quick came to California in 1904 and purchased ranch property near Parlier, and he has been prominently identified in Fresno county in several respects; he has been a director of the First National bank of Parlier for the past twelve years, and for the past two years has been president of this institution, which was the only bank in the San Joaquin Valley which re­mained open after the recent bank holiday was declared by the governor of California. He has been an advisor of the Sun Maid organization since 1923 and deputy county assessor under Mr. Cummings for the Parlier district since 1919. He has been a member of the Riverbend, now Riverview Union school board, since 1910. Mr. Quick belongs to the Methodist church of Parlier, and he is secretary and treasurer of the Sunday school and he also is a past presi­dent of the Lions club of Parker and a member of the county committee of the Y. M. C. A.

He was married February 19, 1900, at Curtis, Nebraska, to Pearl L. Balch, and they have had four children; Velma (Mrs. C. D. Rowe) ; Clarence, George and Max. The last named passed away in 1916.

L. R. HAMILTON

Leslie Ripperden Hamilton, one of the largest shippers and packers of fruit in Reedley, is a native son of California, having been born at Lindsay in 1891. His father was J. C. Hamilton and his mother Minnie C. (Abbott) Hamilton.

Mr. Hamilton attended school in Visalia, and after graduating from the high school there he returned to Lindsay, where he remained for two years and then moved to Orange Cove, where he engaged in farming, continuing there for two years.

In 1916 he moved to Reedley and purchased a 40 acre ranch about two and a half miles southeast of the town. This property has increased to two hundred ninety-five acres at the present time and all varieties of grapes are grown as well as a few other fruits. This ranch is considered one of the best in the Reedley section, and Mr. Hamilton has been active in its development and lived on it continuously for the past seventeen years.

In 1923 the L. R. Hamilton Packing House was established in Reedley, and during the past few years Mr. Hamilton has been one of the largest packers and shippers of grapes in Fresno county. Last year he shipped about three hundred cars of fruit. His grapes are sold under the brand names of “Red Robin” and “Lark,” the former being the first grade and the latter the second grade.

Mr. Hamilton is a member of, and has been active in various organizations: He has served as president of the Reedley Chamber of Commerce, he is an advisor on the Sun Maid Raisin Growers board, and is vice-president of the Reedley Center of the Fresno County Farm Bureau. He belongs to the California Fruit Exchange, the Sun Maid Raisin Growers, and his fraternal affiliations are with the Elks Lodge at Visalia and the Masonic Lodge at Dinuba, and he attends the Presbyterian church.

He was married to Ethel J. Fewel and they have four children: Leslie Robert, Marjorie Jane, William Abbott and Patricia Ann.

MORRIS S. WEBSTER

Morris S. Webster, owner and publisher of the Daily Real Estate Report and Abstract of Records, was born at San Ramon, Contra Costa county, California, on June 17, 1861, son of G. W. and Jane C. (Smith) Webster. His father and mother crossed the plains in a covered wagon from Missouri, arriving here in 1852; the former engaged in farming and stock raising at Napa, and at Contra Costa county. He died in Solano county in 1872.

The subject of this sketch received his early schooling in the public schools of Solano county, and at a private normal school at Vacaville, and he also took a course in a business college. He first started as a rancher and stock raiser, and later went to Walla Walla, Washington, and taught school near there for one term. In 1880 he returned to California, and subsequently taught school in Glenn county for four years.

Mr. Webster came to Fresno in 1887, and for a time worked in the old First National bank. The following year he purchased the Daily Real Estate Report, which had been founded two years previously. The first few years he published this paper it consisted of a one page edition, and Mr. Webster personally did all the work in connection with the publication, and the office was in his reisdence. The paper is now a four page edition, and is housed in its own home at 2233 Fresno street, where the printing and publishing are done.

Mr. Webster was married to Bonnie Jean Cummings on January 5, 1928. He has two children by a prior marriage: Lloyd S. and Norman A., both en­gaged in business with him.

CHARLES G. CONNORS

Charles G. Connors, vice-president and manager of Kyle & Company at Fresno, was born in Oakland, California, April 26, 1884, the son of Timothy and Elizabeth Connors. His father came to this country from Ireland in 1860, and was an engineer by profession, and served in the construction depart­ment of the Southern Pacific railroad.

The subject of this sketch attended the grammar schools in Oakland and graduated from the high school in that city. In 1902 he joined the San Fran­cisco firm of Eccles & Smith, dealers in railroad supplies, and continued with them until 1907, when he became connected with the Judson Manufacturing company, with which he remained until 1913. His next connection was with Ryerson & Son of Chicago, with whom he was a salesman. From 1916 until 1922 he was engaged in the export and import business for himself in San Francisco.

Mr. Connors came to Fresno November, 1922, as a salesman for Kyle & Company, and he is now vice-president and manager of this company.

Mr. Connors is a member of the Commercial club, Engineers club, Build­ers Exchange, and is vice-president of the Exchange club. He also belongs to the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce.

He was married to Irmah Buckley, who was the daughter of I. J. Buck­ley, formerly a large cattle man in Snelling, California.

Mr. Connors has one step-daughter, Jeanne Jardine.

RUDOLPH NURMI

Rudolph Nurmi, proprietor of Nurmi’s Bakery in Fresno, was born at Tammerfors, Finland, February 26, 1886, the son of Rudolph and Selma Nurmi. His father was a designer of fireplaces that were manufactured and sold to home owners. He died in Finland in 1903.

The subject of this sketch received his early schooling in Finland and at Fitchburg, Massachusetts, where he came in 1903. He became a baker’s ap­prentice in that city, and after thoroughly learning the bakery trade he moved to Oregon, in which state he founded bakeries at Klamath Falls and at Medford. Be built up a very large wholesale bakery trade in Oregon, but learning of the possibilities in Fresno, he sold out his interests in the northern state and came to this city in 1918.

Mr. Nurmi established his bakery in Fresno at 2422 Kern street, and it is one of the largest and best equipped plants in the San Joaquin Valley. Due to the excellence of his products, a large wholesale trade is done with restaurants and grocery stores. The capacity of the plant is about 15,000 loaves of bread per day.

In recent months the manufacture of Nurmi’s Mayonnaise has been com­menced, and a state-wide distribution of this product is planned for the im­mediate future.

Mr. Nurmi is a member of the Lutheran church, the Masons, Sciots, and the Elks Lodge. He was married to Bertha Kari at Worcester, Massachusetts, on August 11, 1910. They have two children: Ruth and Herbert. The former is one of the ranking girl swimmers and divers of the United States.

DR. K. M KHANTAMOUR

Dr. K. M. Khantamour, well known dentist of Fresno, was born at Divrig, state of Sivas (formerly minor Armenia), January 6, 1883, son of Mardiros and Marinos Khantamour.

His father was a business man in Divrig and in Constantinople, as well as having business interests in other cities in Asia Minor. He was a very large real estate owner in this part of the world.

Dr. Khantamour received his early education in a Swiss orphanage, which was a branch of the Sivas Normal High school, an American Missionary in­stitution. He subsequently attended Anatolia College at Marsovan, Armenia, also an American missionary institution, Here he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He taught school for two years in Gurin, state of Sivas, and later was principal of the school in the town of Ordou, state of Samsoun, which is located on the Black Sea.

In 1909 Dr. Khantamour came to America and entered the University of Michigan, where he completed the dental course and began. practice at Middleville, Michigan, near Grand Rapids. In 1915 he came to Fresno and has practiced his profession here ever since.

He attends the local Armenian churches, and belongs to the Masons and the various dental associations. He was married in New York to Marie Simon­ian on February 21, 1914, and has three children : Jack Vahakn, Anahid. Diana and Marian Louise.

CHRISTIAN M. OZIAS

Christian Markey Ozias is a native of Preble county, Ohio. He was born on a farm near the town of West Alexandria and is the second to the youngest of six children of Reuben John Wesley Ozias and Elizabeth Jane (Markey) Ozias. His paternal foreparents were French settlers of North Carolina who moved to Ohio at the close of the Revolutionary war, and were among the first settlers of southwestern Ohio. His maternal foreparents were Scotch- Irish settlers of Pennsylvania, who located in Preble county in the early part of the nineteenth century.

Prior to reaching the age of majority, Mr. Ozias taught for two years in the public schools of Preble county. He then entered Miami University at Ox­ford, Ohio, and later transferred to Ohio State University at Columbus, Ohio, where he graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1910. He then entered the law school of the University of Chicago and received the degree of J. D. in 1912. At this time he intended to practice law somewhere in his native state, and accordingly was admitted to the Bar of Ohio in 1912; and for a few months thereafter he was in the employ of a law firm at Cincinnati. He soon decided, however, to locate on the Pacific Coast, and, was attracted  to Fresno by the natural resources of the San Joaquin Valley, he chose it as his abode, and began the practice of law here in the autumn of 1913, and has been engaged in the practice of his chosen profession continuously since that time. During the years 1925 and 1926 he was chief deputy district attorney of Fresno county. He is affiliated with the American Bar association. He was mar­ried to Miss Dorys Davis Crowley of Paris, Texas, on November 19, 1929. He is a member of the Sunnyside Country club.

BEN SWANSON

Ben Swanson, outstanding citizen of Del Rey, was horn in the Parish of Veinge, Sweden, on June 2, 1868. He came to Fresno, where he had friends when twenty-one years of age, and secured employment with the Minnewawa vineyard located near the city, where he continued until he moved to Washington Colony, where he worked for J. E. Dickinson until he commenced farming for himself at this location. At the end of two years he purchased land north of Sanger, where he spent the years 1894 and 1895. He then moved to a location about three miles east of Del Rey, where he lived for three years.

In 1899 Mr. Swanson purchased eighty acres of land about half a mile south of the town of Del Rey, and here he has since resided. He built a beau­tiful home on this place in 1919, and his crops consist of grapes and figs.

In addition to the care of his farm, Mr. Swanson has other important interests: He was one of the original stockholders of the First National bank of Del Rey and has served as director and vice-president of this institution for a number of years; he is treasurer of the Consolidated Irrigation district, and is the owner of the Del Rey water works. He is a member of the advisory council of the Sun Maid Raisin Growers, and has served as president of the Del Rey Chamber of Commerce on several occasions.

One of Mr. Swanson’s most recent activities has been his service as a member of the board of freeholders which drew up the county charter for submission to the voters and to the state legislature.

In addition to his farm land, he is the owner of the Swanson block at Del Rey, and considerable other property in this part of the county.

Mr. Swanson was married to Josephine Johnson, a native of Sweden, on September 23, 1893, and he is a father of four children: B. Elmer; Edith (Mrs. A. C. Miller) ; Alma (Mrs. R. N. Fincher), and Arthur K.

Mr. Swanson is an outstanding example of what can be done by a foreigner coming to this country without material resources, but with the will to succeed. His energy, foresight and knowledge of agriculture have enabled him to become one of the real developers of Fresno county. As a citizen, he has always been ready and willing to offer his services for any cause which he considered to be of benefit to the community, and he is generally recognized as one of Fresno county’s outstanding men.

ELMER L. LORD

Elmer Leamon Lord, president and manager of the Fisher-Glassford Hardware company, and president of the Fresno Merchants association, was born in Mariposa county, California, on April 8, 1894, the son of Joseph and Clara (Latchaw) Lord. His parents were also both born in Mariposa county, and his father, who is now retired and living in Fresno, was formerly in the cattle business.

Elmer Leamon Lord received his education in the public schools of Mariposa county and at Heald’s Business College.

He joined the firm of Fisher-Glassford in 1911 as stenographer and book­keeper and continued until 1914, when he became connected with the old Fresno National bank, where he remained until December, 1915, when Mr. Lord, Frank Smith and A. M. Bopp purchased the business of Fisher-Glassford and Mr. Lord became secretary and treasurer. In 1927 he purchased Mr. Smith’s interest in the business, and Mr. Lord became president of the com­pany.

The business of Fisher-Glassford, which is one of the oldest and largest hardware and crockery houses in Fresno, was established in 1903, and was originally located on Fulton street, later on Tulare street, and subsequently moved back to Fulton street. The store was moved to its present location at the corner of Fulton and Merced in June 1932.

During the World war Mr. Lord served in the 158th Aero squadron of the United States Array, and spent seven months in England, and about the same length of time in France. He was aboard the S. S. Tuscania when it was torpedoed, with a loss of three hundred lives.

He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, the Sciots and the Elks Lodge.

Mr. Lord was married on June 8, 1919, to Sena Jensen, and they are the parents of four children: Melvin E., Donald E., Levern I., and Betty Jo Dell Lord.

FRANK H. SHORT

For many years Frank H. Short was a leading citizen not only of Fresno and of the San Joaquin Valley, but had a statewide reputation as member of the bar and as a leader in Republican party politics.

Frank Hamilton Short was born September 12, 1862, in Shelby county, Missouri, the son of Hamilton and Emily (Wharton) Short. His family was of English ancestry. Hamilton Short was enlisted with the Missouri state troops and died while serving in the Civil war. Frank Short’s mother later married Hugh Knepper, and with her family lived for many years in Fresno county. Her brother, Frank Wharton, was for many years an attorney of Fresno and served in the California Assembly from this county in the Eighties.

Frank H, Short and his brother, John W. Short, came to Fresno in early manhood, in the Eighties. John was a printer, became part owner of the Fresno Morning Republican, was its editor from 1892 to 1898, then he became Fresno postmaster. Frank Short arriving in Fresno in 1881, studied law with his uncle, and was admitted to the bar in 1887. In 1884, he was elected justice of the peace of Fresno township for a term, and although he never afterwards sought public office, was always known as “Judge” Short.

In the course of the next thirty years, Frank H. Short arose to high posi­tion in the California Bar. He shared in some notable criminal trials, and in later years was attorney for many large corporations. He was attorney for Miller 86 Lux and for the San Joaquin Light and Power company and allied interests. He also had many oil corporation retainers. Associated with Judge Chapman of Los Angeles, he was connected with the litigation over oil lands between strippers and the mineral locators. In proceedings before the state railroad commission he succeeded in procuring a reduction of 10 per cent in rates for transportation of petroleum, thus saving shippers a half million dol­lars or more a year.

A very important feature of Mr. Short’s practice became his presenta­tion of Pacific Coast and San Joaquin Valley interests before committees of Congress and in hearings before the supreme court of the United States. Among these were matters pertaining to the rights of water and of electric power companies.

One of the pieces of law work in which Mr. Short took pride was his share in merging the conflicting water interests that had for many years caused struggles between the riparian rights in the lower Kings river basin and the appropriation rights of the Fresno Canal and Irrigation district and other companies.

From his early boyhood, Mr. Short was an ardent member of the Republican party. He was a delegate to the Republican national convention that nominated William McKinley for the presidency in 1896, and many other times was honored by his fellow Republicans.

Mr. Short gradually accumulated private business interests, and constructed a number of buildings in Fresno, including the building at the northeast corner of the intersection of Fulton and Merced streets and another at the northeast corner of Van Ness and Tuolumne streets. He was one of the original stockholders and a director of the Fresno National bank, later absorbed by the Bank of Italy.

Mr. Short was first married to Emma Packard. They had one son, Frank Short Jr., and he has a son, Frank H. Short, III. Mrs. Short died in 1896. In 1897, Mr. Short married Mrs. Nellie C. (Curtis) Rorick of Los Angeles. The old Short home on Calaveras street near Van Ness avenue was remodeled into a beautiful mansion, which both husband and wife desired to be perpetuated for public use. After Mr. Short’s death in San Francisco June 5, 1920, his widow planned to make this residence a permanent location of civic benefit, and dedicated it to the city as the “Frank H. Short Memorial Home,” for art, music and kindred purposes. After her death March 25, 1925, the munici­pality accepted the gift, and it is now, 1933, a beauty spot in which art exhibi­tions are given, musical events of note given for education of the general public and historic objects of interest preserved.

G.  S. GILBERTSON

Gilbert Sterling Gilbertson, well known certified public accountant of Fresno, was born on the prairies of Minnesota, October 26, 1879, son of Sterling and Aslaug (Johnson) Gilbertson. His parents came to Minnesota in 1875 in a sail boat from Iceland, and his father was engaged in the lumber and banking business in Minnesota for fifty years.

The subject of this sketch received his early schooling in the public schools of Minnesota and subsequently attended a business administration college in Minneapolis. He has been a practitioner of public accounting for the past twenty-five years, and passed the C. P. A. examination in Oklahoma in 1918. He received his early professional training on the staffs of internationally known accounting firms and has followed his profession in Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Oklahoma and Arkansas, before coming to California.

Mr. Gilbertson moved to Fresno in the spring of 1929, and until 1932, he was the senior member of the accountancy firm of Gilbertson & hills. At the present time he is practicing for his own account with offices at 2344 Tulare street.

On December 1, 1932, Mr. Gilbertson was honored by being appointed a member of the State Board of Accountancy by Governor James Ro1ph, Jr., for a four year term, succeeding George M. Thompson of Los Angeles. Mr. Gilbertson is the first accountant from the San Joaquin Valley to be appointed to the State Board of Accountancy since California enacted statutory regula­tion of the accountancy profession in 1901, at which time this board was created.

He is a charter member of the American Society of Certified Public Accountants, the national organization of the certified public accountants in the United States, and is vice-president of the Fresno Chapter of the California State Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Mr. Gilbertson was married to Julia Bella Goff in Minneapolis on June 14, 1903.

FORREST G. MURDOCK

Forrest G. Murdock, principal of the Fresno High school, was born July 23, 1893, at Waterloo, Iowa, the son of Clarence and Elizabeth (Brannon) Murdock.

Mr. Murdock received his elementary and high school education at Clarkston, Washington, and is a graduate of the State College of Washing­ton. He also has taken post graduate work at the University of Washington. After serving as principal of several high schools in Washington, Mr. Murdock came to Fresno September, 1932, to accept the position as principal of the Fresno High school.

He is a member of the various teachers associations and belongs to the Kiwanis club, Masons and the Beta Theta Pi college fraternity. During the World war he served as second lieutenant in the Infantry and retains his interest in military affairs by being a member of the American Legion.

He was married to Eva Mae Malone, and has three children: Juanita Beth, Stanley M. and Bruce Egan. The first two are twins.

PAUL AGOP MOSESIAN

Paul A. Mosesian was for thirty years a prominent citizen of Fresno. He became one of the largest growers and shippers of fruit and one of the largest land owners in the San Joaquin Valley. He purchased and improved the old Fresno vineyard property east of the county seat, one of the pioneer agricultural developments of Fresno county.

Paul Agop Mosesian was a native of Armenia, born at Bazmashen, a suburb of Harpoot, Asiatic Turkey, March 21, 1871. His parents were Moses Agop and Soorpoohi Mosesian. The family traces its ancestry back to the fifteenth century in Armenia. In 1534 they settled at Harpoot and ever since have been noted citizens of that community.

Paul Mosesian received an elementary education in his native land, and was brought up to very strict observance of religious belief and conduct. His father dying when he was twelve years of age, he was forced to leave school, to take care of the family interests. He engaged in trade as well as in managing his father’s farm.

In 1887, when but sixteen years of age, Mr. Mosesian came to America and went to work in a shoe factory at Lynn, Massachusetts, at 50 cents a day. In time he became head leather cutter at $40.00 a week. In five years he felt justified in returning to his native city to marry his childhood sweet­heart, Twodi Garabedian.

For three years, 1892 to 1895, the young couple lived in Harpoot. It was a seriously adventurous time. The Turks were persecuting the Christians, and young Paul led a small band of defenders who fought and saved many Armenian lives during the massacres of 1895. In the disorder, the Turks destroyed all the Mosesian property. So, soon after the birth of his first son, Moses, Mr. Mosesian left his wife and child in the old country and made an extensive trip through Egypt, France and England, then returned to the United States, in 1896. He resumed work in the leather factory at Lynn, and in 1898 became a naturalized citizen of the United States, in Boston, Massachusetts.

At the beginning of the Alaskan gold rush of 1898, Mr. Mosesian and a chum, Markar Shahbazian, went to the Klondike together. They had plenty of adventure, but found very little gold, and on returning to San Francisco had only $307.00 between them. Hearing of Fresno, they came to this city and together rented a fig orchard at Del Rey. Their first enterprise in San Joaquin Valley farming was a profitable one. The price of figs rose from 2 cents to 6 cents a pound, and at the end of the season they had $1500.00 profit.

In the summer of 1899, Mr. Mosesian and his partner leased a half section of land east of Parlier, with only 40 acres of this improved to Muscat grapes. At the end of the season, they bought the place for $12,000.00 and started development. On October 5, 1900, Mr. Mosesian’s wife and child arrived in Fresno from Armenia, together with his half brother, John Shahtanian. In 1902, Mr. Mosesian and Mr. Shahbazian dissolved partnership, the former retaining control of the half section of land and continuing to improve it, and he planted every grape vine himself. This is today what is known as the “Mosesian Home Ranch” at Parlier. It includes Muscat, Thompson and Malaga grapes, also peaches, apricots and figs.

In 1904, 1905 and 1906, Mr. Mosesian began extending his operations, leasing about 1400 acres in Fresno and Tulare counties. In 1907 he sold his lease holdings and entered the real estate business with George Nees in Fresno. Buying and selling, one of the largest parcels of land they acquired was the old Mineola vineyard on Ventura avenue. Later this vine­yard was sold to O. J. Woodward. Mr. Mosesian continued in real estate operations until 1913, when he joined in the organizing of the California Associated Raisin company, the predecessor of the Sun-Maid corporation. Mr. Mosesian had begun to ship and pack fresh grapes for the Eastern market in 1910. His acquaintance in Boston enabled him to build up a large trade in raisins and table grapes for the New England market. Bad transportation conditions during the World war caused a loss to him of twenty-five car­loads of fruit. Thereupon he erected his fire proof, concrete, brick and iron cold storage plant and warehouse on the Santa Fe reservation, Fresno, known as the State Center Warehouse and Coldstorage Co., Inc. This is a valuable asset due to the fact that a very large tonnage of grapes can he placed in cold storage and kept for late shipment and holiday trade.

In 1922, Mr. Mosesian incorporated his large properties in Fresno and Tulare counties under the name “Paul A. Mosesian & Sons, Inc.” His holdings had increased to about 3000 acres, of good productive land. He has many varieties of grapes as well as tree fruits on his properties.

His properties were at Lindsay, Strathmore, Goshen, Parlier, Local’, Fresno, Selma and Kerman. He took pride in his knowledge of soils. He developed two brands of fruit, “State Center and “State Pride,” which always have sold at a premium. He shipped no goods except what his own vineyards produced. One of his great ambitions was to build up the old Fresno vineyard, which lies three miles east of Fresno on Ventura avenue, as a park and show place.

Mr. and Mrs. Mosesian had five children: Moses P., Mary P., Louise P., Suren P., and Bernice P. Mosesian. All but the oldest son, were born in Fresno, and all reside here.

Mr. Mosesian was an earnest member of the Armenian Holy Trinity (Episcopalian) church. In 1920, he was president and treasurer of the Armenian Army fund organization. This society raised $200,000 for the stricken soldiers of Armenia. Of this fund, Mr. Mosesian donated $37,000. He also made large donations to various organizations, including the Community Chest, the Boy Scouts, and other public bodies. Mr. Mosesian was a Republican up to 1928, when he became a Democrat and voted for Al Smith.

On April 6, 1929, Mr. Mosesian was the victim of an automobile accident and died on April 11. At the funeral, April 15, six thousand people attended. Since his death his business is being carried on by his widow and children.

Mr. Mosesian had splendid foresight and extraordinary vitality and energy which enabled him to accomplish much for the fruit industry in the valley.

GIACINTO MASELLI

Giacinto Maselli, president of the G. Maselli & Sons, Inc., was born in Bari province, Italy, the olive oil center of the world, and where agricultural development is very similar to that of the San Joaquin Valley. His family was for centuries engaged in the farming business and connected with such industries as olive oil and wine.

Mr. Maselli studied etiology and also took a course in wine culture and later silk worm culture and bacteriology at Padua University.

At twenty years of age, after his father’s death, he became manager of the large family estate under the name of Maselli Bros., which won a silver medal in the Bari Enologic Fair in 1886, and first prize for table wine in Rome in 1887. From 1884 to 1892 Mr. Maselli devoted himself to enlarging the family vineyard and olive orchard, and to building a new winery with a distillery and chemical plant for oil extraction from pomage. The acute commercial and industrial crisis came in 1887. He fought the conditions strenuously and successfully, but the bank in which he was a director, closed its doors in 1892, and he was forced to put all his property in the hands of a receiver. But without being discouraged, he took a position as general man­ager in a 75,000 acre Italian diversified farm. He continued in this place for five years and made many innovations and tripled the original income. In 1887 he gave up this position and became manager of a large winery.

Two years later he returned and started a winery on his own property. After ten years of continued fight in court all his property was sold in a forced auction and he decided to come to the United States. In 1903, with wife and three sons and nearly penniless, he arrived in America, In New York a friend showed him a letter from an Italian Swiss Colony looking for a man specializing in the extraction of oil from grape seed, in which he was an expert. Immediately he came to Fresno, but did not succeed in obtaining employment in the California By-Product company, which he had expected, and for fourteen months he served as manager in the Dargeles small winery. His splendid work there caused him to get many offers from other people, including Frank Borello, A. Mattel and Frank Giannini, but none of these were willing to give him a suitable position.

In 1907, discouraged and with little means, he rented the famous Horse­shoe Bend ranch in Mariposa county, which, had been completely neglected, and there he studied in a rudimental way the first olive oil mill in cold process. In time he returned to Fresno where with help of others he built the characteristic log cabin equipped with a better olive oil mill and initiated the grape juice industry, which brought him the first prize in the Panama Pacific Exposition and about fifteen gold medals in state and county fairs.

In 1925 he quit the grape juice industry because he had succeeded in making another grape product from raisins more efficient and more economical for domestic consumption and for exportation.

In 1927 he organized a family corporation known as G. Maselli & Sons, and at the present time they devote all their activity to olive oil manufacture in two modern electrical equipped plants; one small one in Fresno and a large one in Lindsay. These are not inferior in capacity and efficiency to the best European plants.

In 1897, in Italy, Mr. Maselli was married to ‘Vincenzo Fasano. They have four sons and one daughter: Renato D., Ribelle B., Mary N. (Mrs. G. A. Maselli), Eletro and Leo. All the sons are active in the conduct of their fa­ther’s business.

WILLIAM A. OTTO

William A. Otto was born at Melvin, Illinois, May 31, 1881, the son of A. J. and Ida Helen (Finite) Otto.

Mr. Otto received his education in the country schools of Illinois and his pedagogical education at the Illinois State Normal school at Normal, Illinois. This is one of the oldest normal schools in the United States. He started teaching at Whitehall, Illinois, and subsequently was at Rochelle, Illinois. From there he went to the University of Michigan, where he took his A. B. degree in 1906. He then taught at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for a time; and during the summers attended the University of Wisconsin for advanced study.

Mr. Otto was head of the English department of the Kern county Union High school at Bakersfield from 1913 to 1914. In the latter year he came to Fresno and was head of the English department at the Fresno Technical High school until 1919, when he went to Fowler as principal of the high school there, continuing until 1922, when he became principal of the Kerman Union High school.

Mr. Otto was next at Mountain View, Santa Clara county, where he was also principal of the high school. He received his master’s degree from Stanford University in 1928, and in the fall of this year he became principal of the Roosevelt High school in Fresno, which position he now holds. This is one of the largest high schools in Fresno county, there being nearly fifteen hundred students and fifty-three teachers.

Mr. Otto is a Mason, a member of the various teachers organizations, and belongs to the Phi Delta Kappa honorary educational fraternity.

He was married to Louise Jergenson, and has two sons: William and John.

WILLIAM J. EILERT

The name of Eilert became established in Fresno in 1899, with the con­struction of the Fresno brewery, on the elevated ground at the southern end of M street. William J. Eilert, associated with his father in that enterprise, owned the property until 1928, when he retired from business.

William J. Eilert was born at Humbird, Wisconsin, July 23, 1870, the son of Ernest and Delia Eilert. The father owned a brewery in Wisconsin, and young Eilert, after attending public schools, went into business with him.

The family came to Fresno in 1899, and established the Fresno Brewing company, the only plant of its kind in this part of the state. The elder Eilert was president of the company until his death.

In 1918, William J. Ellett formed the Eilert Products company, manufacturers of soft drinks. Later the auxiliary company, the Sierra Ice Cream company was organized. This latter was ultimately merged with the Benham company. In 1928, Mr. Eilert sold out his soft drink interests to a Los Angeles concern.

On October 4, 1899, Mr. Eilert was married to Mae Beardsley. Mrs. Eilert has been actively interested in organizations for civic betterment, including the Fresno Nutritional Home. He is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, No. 439, of the University-Sequoia club and of the Shaver Lake Fishing club. As a member of the Fresno Motor Boat association, he has been active in racing.

CHARLES ROSS CHANEY

Charles Ross Chaney was born in Meade Center, Kansas, the son of Henry and Mary Ann Chaney. He received his early education principally at Nor­man, Oklahoma, and he subsequently attended the University of Oklahoma, where he spent three years taking a fine arts course, including music. He subsequently took summer school courses at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles. He holds the degree of A. B. from Fresno State College, and he has taken post graduate work at Pomona College, at the University of California and at the University of Southern California.

While Mr. Chaney is superintendent of the Sanger High school and is well known as a school man, he has done much work in the field of music. He has taken considerable private study in music, particularly in theory and composition, and has studied under some of the most notable music teachers of the United States. He has written several operettas, including the words, music and orchestration. Two of his operettas: “The Belle of Barcelona” and “Sailor Maids,” have been published by important publishing houses, and have enjoyed great popularity. Mr. Chaney is one of the few persons in the United States who write both the words and music for their compositions.

Mr. Chaney was a pioneer in musical education in the San Joaquin Valley eighteen years ago he came to Clovis as director of music at the Clovis High school. In 1919 he came to Sanger to fill the same position with the high school there, and eight years ago he was made principal of this institution.

He was married to Julia Meier, and has one child: Florence Evelyn. He is a member of various educational and teachers associations, and is a Mason, Shriner and a member of the Sigma Nu college fraternity.

F. L. R. BURKS, M. D.

Dr. Burks is a native of Fresno county, and he has lived here all of his life. Both of his grandfathers were early settlers in this county, and their families have been represented here for many years. Dr. Burks has been practicing medicine in Fresno since 1909, and he is an overseas veteran of the World war, and has devoted himself especially to general and industrial surgery.

Floyd Lancelott Rowell Burks was born in Fresno August 4, 1883, the son of Dr. William Tillman Burks and Annie Jane (Williams) Burks. His father was an early druggist and physician of Fresno, having been a member of the firm of Burks & Monroe, and he practiced medicine in Fresno until his death in 1918. His mother was born in England, of a family which came to Fresno county in the Seventies.

As a young man Dr. Burks attended the Fresno grammar and high schools, and he took his medical course at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, where be received the M. D. degree in 1908. He interned in Philadelphia and in the Fresno General hospital, and started practice in Fresno in 1909, at first alone, but gradually building up a staff of assistants.

His offices were originally in the Forsyth building, next in the Valley bank building; and finally he returned to the former site, when the T. W. Patterson building was completed. Dr. E. L. Bennett, who was first an assistant, became a partner of Dr. Burks in 1917, and they now have a staff of seven, including three assistant physicians, and they occupy one of the finest office suites in the city.

During the three years, 1912, 1913 and 1914, Dr. Burks was emergency hospital physician for the City of Fresno. When the United States entered the World war, he joined the Medical Corps and rose to the rank of captain. He was stationed at Camps Kearney and Shelby in the United States, and overseas at Rimaucourt base hospital and at Vichy. After the close of the war, in 1919, he obtained his discharge while still in Europe and he spent some months studying in English hospitals. He then returned to his Fresno practice, and he has continued here ever since.

Dr. Burks is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. and A. M., of the Scottish Rite, the Knights Templar and the Shrine. In college he was a mem­ber of the Alpha Omega Alpha honorary fraternity and of the Alpha Kappa medical fraternity. He belongs to the American Medical association and to the state and county medical societies.

Dr. Burks married Adelaide Granz, on September 2, 1911. She is the daughter of Herman Granz, an early vineyardist of Fresno county.

E. L. BENNETT, M. D.

Dr. E. L. Bennett has been a practicing physician in Fresno for the last sixteen years, the last twelve years in partnership with Dr. F. L. R. Burks. Besides carrying on a general practice, Dr. Bennett specializes in surgery, and he is on the staff of the Burnett sanitarium.

Earl Leslie Bennett was born at Hanover, Illinois, December 16, 1885, the son of C. W. and Harriett (Maynard) Bennett. His father was a farmer. As a young man Dr. Bennett attended the public schools, then Coe College, Iowa, where he secured his B. S. degree, and he took his professional training at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. He was an interne in the City hospital, Seattle, for a year, then returned to Iowa where he practiced for two years.

Dr. Bennett came to Fresno in 1917, largely on account of his health, and was first an assistant to Dr. F. L. R. Burks. He is a member of the American Medical association and of the state and county medical societies, and a member of Sun Garden lodge, No. 530, F. and A. M., of both the York and Scottish Rites, and of the Sciots and the Shrine. He is also a member of the Sunnyside Country club, and the medical societies.

Mrs. Bennett was Helen Lawrence of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. There are two children: Robert and Louise, born in Fresno.

O. J. WOODWARD

O. J. Woodward is the Nestor of Fresno bankers. Now the oldest active man of that profession in the City of Fresno, he has been a factor in business life since coming to this state in 1885. For thirty years he was the president of the First National baidc. of Fresno, and when that institution was merged into the Bank of Italy, now the Bank of America, Mr. Woodward continued as a vice-president of the larger institution. He is now the chairman of its local advisory board.

Oscar J. Woodward was born at Clinton, Illinois, April 30, 1849, the son of John and Isabella (McPherson) Woodward. After attending the Clinton schools, he entered the boot and shoe business in his native city.

In 1885, Fresno was just beginning the boom that culminated in 1887 and broke in 1891. The city was incorporated in the year that Mr. Woodward came here. He first entered the real estate business, and developed Woodward’s addition, a section of the city located on the hill immediately to the south of the first town; bounded on the north by Hamilton avenue, on the west by South I street (South Broadway), on the south by California avenue, and on the east by Pearl street, adjoining the property that now includes the Sun-Maid Plant No. 4.

In 1887, Mr. Woodward became cashier of the First National bank of Fresno, under the then president, J. H. Braly. After a year Mr. Braly retired, and was succeeded by Mr. Woodward, who continued as president and manager from 1888 to the time of the merger of the First National with the Bank of Italy. This bank should be distinguished from a later institution, known as the “First National bank in Fresno.”

For many years under Mr. Woodward’s direction, the First National Bank of Fresno was far in the lead in deposits among the five commercial banks then in Fresno, and it continued in the lead under the local banking system. In the building boom of the late Eighties, the bank erected its own structure on the northeast corner of I and Mariposa streets, where it continued as long as it was an independent institution.

Mr. Woodward continued to interest himself in other lines of business besides banking. He has owned a number of real estate holdings of importance, some of which he and his sons still maintain. Among them the old Temple Bar building and the southwest corner of J and Kern streets.

Early interested in the promotion of the telephone service, Mr. Woodward was a director of the successive companies that have maintained the Fresno plant, and he is now a director of the Pacific Telephone and Telegraph company.

Mr. Woodward was married to Anna Ludolph, and they had three children, all living: Roy J., Ralph W. and Abbie (Mrs. Graham Parker). Mrs. Woodward passed away in 1919. In her memory, Mr. Woodward and his children erected the beautiful marble fountain at the westerly entrance to the Fresno courthouse square.

Mr. Woodward has never held public office; but has been an active Democrat in politics. He served the City of Fresno for a term as school director. Very fond of travel, he has made several world tours.

Roy J. Woodward was born at Clinton, Illinois, July 21, 1878, and as a small boy came with his parents to Fresno. After graduating from the Fresno High school in 1896, he attended the California School of Mechanical Arts, San Francisco, and the University of California at Berkeley. After he left college, he went into the farm implement business with his brother Ralph, under the firm name of Woodward Bros., and later as the Woodward com­pany. Selling out, Mr. Woodward has devoted himself to his large real estate interests.

Mrs. Roy Woodward was Saida Dealey. They have two children: O. J. Woodward Jr., and Atha (Mrs. B. J. O’Connor).

Ralph W. Woodward was born in November, 1881, in Clinton, Illinois, and came with his parents to this city when but four years old. He attended the Fresno High school, then entered into the implement business with his brother. They are now associated in real estate enterprises.

Mrs. Ralph Woodward was Maud Pickle. She passed away some years ago.

A. E. WEBB

Arthur E. Webb, pioneer citizen of Coalinga., and one who has taken an outstanding part in the development of that town, is a native of London, England, where he received his schooling, and where for a few years he folowed the jewelry trade.

Having heard of the possibilities in Coalinga through his friendship with a brother of A. P. May, who had already located in Coalinga, he came to this section of Fresno county in 1890, and engaged in farming for about two years with Mr. May. He then became a clerk in the store of Simon Manasse. In January, 1896, he established a general merchandise store in Coalinga of his own, and the following July, A. P. May came into the business with him and the firm became known as Webb & May. In 1900 Mr. Webb sold out his interests to Mr. May.

During the next few years Mr. Webb was active in the oil business, and was interested in the Kreyenhagen Land & Oil company. This venture did not prove a financial success, and once more he turned to the mercantile business, and he made such a success that he was soon able to purchase the northeast corner of Fifth and E streets, and there he erected a frame building, stocked it with merchandise, and soon built up a large business and developed the enterprise into a modern department store. While operating this business, he constructed the Webb block, a two store brick structure. He confirmed to operate the department store until 1912, when he sold out in order to devote his time to other interests.

In 1908 Mr. Webb was one of the organizers of the First National bank of Coalinga. He served as director and vice-president from the beginning, and in 1914 he became president and manager, continuing as such until 1924. During this period he again became interested in the oil business and was president of the Elaine Oil company. He retired from active business in 1924 and went to Berkeley to live, and subsequently to Carmel.

Nine years of inactivity proved irksome to Mr. Webb and in April, 1933, he returned to Coalinga as manager of the local branch of the Security First National bank of Los Angeles, which position he now fills, much to the satisfaction of his many friends in Coalinga.

Mr. Webb has always taken an active part in philanthropic and civic work; he has been chairman of the Coalinga chapter of the American Red Cross, and during the World war was chairman of all the Liberty loan drives. He also served as district chairman in Coalinga for the Fuel administration. Mr. Webb is a Republican in national politics; for six years he served as a non-partisan member of the board of city trustees, and for two years of that time was president of the board.

Mr. Webb is a Mason and Shriner and holds membership in the Growlers club of Coalinga, and in the Commonwealth club of San Francisco. He was married to Clara E. Ochs, a native of Illinois. They have two children : George and Dorothy Webb.

Mr. and Mrs. Webb’s religious affiliations are with the Christian Science church.

HUGO KREYENHAGEN

The late Hugo Kreyenhagen was born at what is now Oakland, California, November 2, 1858, and was the son of Gustave and Julia (Tiering) Kreyenhagen, who was one of the most important cattlemen of Fresno county.

Hugo Kreyenhagen received his education at the Christian Brothers college in Oakland, and soon after his school clays were ended he entered the stock business with his three brothers, and they ultimately became the largest cattlemen in Fresno county. For many years they raised both sheep and cattle, but later gave up sheep and devoted their activities entirely to cattle raising south of Coalinga.

Mr. Hugo Kreyenhagen sold out his cattle business about two years prior to his death, June 1, 1939, and the last few years of his life were spent happily with his wife and son in the city of Coalinga.

He will long be remembered as one of Fresno county’s most outstanding citizens, and as a worthy representative of the famous Kreyenhagen who have done so much for the development of the stock raising industry in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mrs. Kreyenhagen was Maria Merrill. She survives her husband with two children: Mrs. Olga Newport of Hanford and Ernest Hugo Kreyen­hagen of Coalinga.

A. E. MeCLANAHAN

Allen Ensley McClanahan, one of the pioneer settlers and outstanding citizens of the Reedley section of Fresno county, was born in Carroll county, Illinois, November 22, 1849, the son of Robert and Adeline (Ensley) McClanahan.

When only nine years old Mr. McClanahan was brought to Yuba county, California, where he grew to manhood.

At the age of fourteen he enlisted in the Seventh California Regiment for service in the Civil war and served in Arizona during the course of the conflict.

After the war he returned to Yuba county and lived there until he came to Tulare county where he settled about seven miles south of Reedley. He was engaged in farming, and was the owner of valuable property in both Fresno and Tulare counties. He was one of the first directors of the Alta Irrigation district, and was a member of the first school board of the Kennedy school in Tulare county.

He early became interested in real estate and was active in the development of Traver when it was in its prime. Later he moved to Reedley, where in partnership with the late T. L. Reed, was a pioneer in the real estate and insurance business, and later his second wife was a partner with him in this business. He was actively engaged in farming and real estate in the Reedley district for more than forty years.

Mr. McClanahan was one of the most public spirited citizens of Reedley, and did much for the upbuilding of the town. No worthy cause escaped his notice, and he was ever ready to engage in any activity which he considered of benefit to the community. During the World war he put in 1600 hours work for the Reedley branch of the American Red Cross for which he received official recognition.

He was active in Masonry and was a charter member of the Masonic lodge at Kingsburg. Mr. McClanahan was always active in all temperance movements.

His first wife was Sarah E. Bloyd, now deceased. He subsequently married Fannie M. McConchie, who survives him, and is still living in Reedley. Mr. McClanahan died October 13, 1927, at the family home in Reedley.

JOHN TORRANCE McRUER

John Torrance McRuer, principal of the Reedley High school, was born at Parkville, Missouri, on July 10, 1888. He is the son of John T. and Jeannie L. (Gladstone) McRuer.

He received his schooling in Missouri, and holds the degree of A. B. from Park College, taken in 1913, and the degree of A. M. from Stanford University, taken in 1923. He has taught school in Porto Rico and in various places in Iowa. He was principal of the high school and junior college at Taft, California, for seven years, and is now principal of the high school and junior college at Reedley.

Mr. McRuer is a 32nd degree Mason and belongs to the Scottish Rite bodies.

He was married to Ruth Bartlett, who was a classmate in college. She is very active in club work in Reedley. There is one son; Duane Torrance McRuer.

A. H. SANDERS

Arthur Howe Sanders has been for the past twelve years Fresno man­ager of the J. B. Inderrialen Co., one of the pioneer firms in the industry and rated among the larger dried fruit and raisin packers. They also own and operate a number of canneries throughout the East. Their main office is in Chicago, Illinois. He is a native son of Fresno county, born at Parlier, August 29, 1882, (on a farm which he now owns) the son of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Sanders. Graduating from the Riverbend school, located in the district between Parlier and Reedley, one of the early establishments of Fresno county, he took up the study of mechanical, steam and electrical engineering, and at the age of seventeen started operating industrial engines, in which capacity he was employed by the J. B. Liderrieden company in 1902; continuing with his studies and proVing his ability, he was promoted from time to time and in 1921 became district manager, at Fresno, which position he now holds. In 1928 he developed a special process for raisins and dried fruit and received a U. S. patent in 1932.

Mr. Sanders has served as a member of the board of directors of the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce, is a member of the University-Sequoia club, and a charter member of Fresno Sciots. In Masonry he belongs to Los Palmas Lodge, No. 366, Fresno; is past master Fresno Consistory, Fresno Council Kadosh, Fresno Knights Rose Croix and at present is Venerable Master Fresno Lodge of Perfection, Scottish Rite Masons, and has received the Knight Commander court of honor degree, from the Supreme Council at Washington, D. C.

Mr. Sanders married Dixie Hartman, daughter of Mrs. R. M. Hartman, also a native of Fresno county. There is one child, Wilma Marjean. Mrs. Sanders’ grandmother, Mrs. M. A. Marlar, came to Fresno from Arkansas in a covered wagon in 1853.

Mrs. Sanders’ father was A. B. Hartman, a descendent of Colonel George Claghorn, master builder of the Frigate “Constitution” (Old Ironsides) of American history, which was launched in 1797.

Mr. Sanders’ mother was born near Madison, Wisconsin, and received her education there. She was a school teacher for eight years before coining to California in 1875. She was the daughter of S. A. Gilbert, descendent of Jonathon Gilbert who was born in England in 1617, came to America in 1638. Referred to in New England history in General Register Sons of Revolution Library, Volume 4, page 344, the earliest known ancestor was Gilbert of Compton Parish of Marldon in the thirteenth century.

His father was born near Madison, Wisconsin, in 1837, qualified for school teacher and began teaching in 1856. He came to California in a covered wagon in 1860. During the Sixties and early Seventies he was principal of Shasta, Chico and Milville schools. He came to Fresno in 1874 and located on a farm about 20 miles southeast of Fresno. He was married to Charlotte Gilbert in 1875, and continued to teach for a few years. That he was an authority on botany, is evidenced by the nine pages of botanical history of Fresno county he contributed to the early Fresno county history which was published in 1882.

DR. T. H. SORENSEN

Thomas H. Sorensen is a native Son of the county, having been born in -Washington colony November 20, 1905.

He is the son of Hans and Signa (Jorgensen) Sorensen, both of whom were born in Denmark. Coming to this county in the early days, his father has lived in the same house for the past 49 years.

Young Sorensen attended school in the colony and graduated from the Washington -Union High school. Later he attended the college of Physicians and Surgeons in San Francisco, graduating from the dental department in June, 1931. In the following August he set up in practice in the Griffith-Mc­Kenzie building in Fresno.

He has entered civic affairs by becoming a member of the Twenty-Thirty club, the Knights of the Round Table, and the University-Sequoia club. Professionally, he is a member of the American Dental association and of the state and local societies.

H.  B. LEONARD

Hubert Benjamin Leonard is engaged in the grape industry as a grower, shipper and packer of fancy table grapes. To most people he is probably bet­ter known as “Dutch” Leonard, a man who for many years played baseball and was a pitcher of some renown, having played with the Boston Red Sox of the American League for six years—part of 1.912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916, 1917, and 1918, During these years his team NMI the American League pennant and world series championship, winning in 1912 from the New York Giants; 1.915 from the Philadelphia Nationals; 191.6 from the Brooklyn Nationals, and 1918 from the Chicago Nationals. During the series of 1915 and 1916 he was instrumental in helping his team win, having won a game in each series, In 1919 he was sold to New York Yankees and through being unable to come to terms was resold to the Detroit Tigers of the American League, where lie played during the seasons of 1919, 1920, 1921 and 1922. In 1923, through a misunderstanding, he did not go east but played with Fresno in the Outlaw League, who won the pennant, and did not rejoin the Detroit club until 1924, where he played until the end of 1925, at which time he retired.

Mr. Leonard was born in Lorraine county, Ohio, April 26, 1892, the son of David C. Leonard and Ella (Hershey) Leonard. He is the descendent of English people on his father’s side and Pennsylvania Dutch on his mother’s. Solomon Leonard came to Massachusetts in 1637 from England and settled in Duxbury and Bridgewater, Massachusetts. The D. C. Leonard family moved to Fresno from Toledo, Ohio, in 1901, and lived at 1604 White avenue up to the time of their death’s. His father became interested in farming near Clovis, later owning a section of land near Sanger and deeded to the county what is known as Leonard road. H. B. “Dutch” Leonard attended Fresno schools, including three years at high school and two years at St. Mary’s college. He started in athletics early, playing football in grammar school against high school teams. He did not play baseball until he was in his second year of high school where lie pitched for his high school team for two seasons. While playing in his second year at high school, he obtained his first professional experience in the spring of 1910 when he received $2.50 for pitching for Parlier.

During the summers of 1910 and 1911 he played and pitched in the San Joaquin Valley league with -Visalia and Porterville. In the spring of 1912 he was signed and reported to the Boston Red Sox. He was sent to Denver for seasoning and experience where he played for three and a half months, being instrumental in Denver winning the pennant and afterwards the Minor League championship from Minneapolis, being recalled by Boston near the end of the season.

In 1924 Mr. Leonard became a golf enthusiast and won the Fresno city championship for five years, including 1931, and also won many club and minor tournaments. He also won the only two amateur valley championships which have been held.

Mr. Leonard owns and controls 800 acres of table grapes and, with his three brothers, 1200 acres in all. He is at present living in his attractive country home located on the Leonard road. He is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M., and of the Fresno Lodge of Elks, and also of the Sunnyside Country club.

DR. GEORGE E. PORTER

Dr. Porter was born at Atwater, Ohio, June 21, 1885, his father being a miller by occupation. The family early moved to Alliance, Ohio, where he received his early schooling.

Dr. George E. Porter does not believe it to be the business of parents to dictate arbitrarily the nature of their children’s life work—he thinks it bet­ter that the child should have the major part in such a decision. Because of his very early liking for ministering to the sick and “doctoring them,” he was when still quite young familiarly called “Doc,” and his parents fondly hoped to making him eventually a “doctor”—meaning, of course, a doctor of medicine. But as he grew to manhood the idea of a medical career did not appeal to him.

One evening there was called to his attention the cure of a child in his neighborhood who had been pronounced incurable. When he asked how the cure was brought about, he was told that it had been done by a new kind of treatment by a man calling himself a “chiropractor.”

The cure of this child in Alliance caused Dr. Porter to investigate chiropractic, and he became so interested in it that he decided to take up the study at the Universal Chiropractic College in Davenport, Iowa. He received his degree of Doctor of Chiropratic from this institution in June, 1912, and came to Fresno in July of that year.

In the course of the last twenty years Dr. Porter has built up a very large practice in this new science that has now come to be a leader in the drugless field, and is legally recognized in most of the states. Dr. Porter is licensed to practice as a drugless practitioner under the medical board, in addition to his chiropractic license under the recently created Chiropractic board of examiners.

As a citizen, Dr. Porter has taken an active part in public life, though never seeking public office. He is a member of the Methodist church, the Knights of Pythias, and the various Masonic bodies, including the Scottish Rite and Shrine.

He was married in Warren, Ohio, in 1908, to Willa Marshall, a native of Pennsylvania.

MELVIN KIRK GIBBS

Melvin Kirk Gibbs, recently elected police court judge of Fresno, was born at Stockton, California, January 21, 1897, the son of S. J. and Harriet S. (Hart) Gibbs. The family came to Fresno in 1903, and S. I. Gibbs engaged in the dry goods business in this city for a number of years with Harry Davison, and he was the founder and owner of the White House, a department store.

Judge Gibbs graduated from the Fresno High school in 1915, and from the law school of the University of Southern California in 1921. He practiced law as a member of the firm of Gibbs, Backlund & George from 1921 until 1931. In the latter year Mr. Backlund withdrew from the firm and it became Gibbs & George, continuing until April 24, 1933, when Judge Gibbs assumed the office of police judge.

Judge Gibbs served in the Signal Corps during the World war for about eight months.

He has always taken an active part in Republican politics and is a mem­ber of the Republican County Central committee. He also belongs to the American Legion, the High Twelve club, the Masonic order, including the Sciots; of the latter organization he holds the office of Armeses, and he is master of Center Lodge, No. 465, F. and A. M. He is also a member of the Shaver Lake Fishing club, the Sons of St. George, the Moose; and his religious affiliations are with the First Christian church.

He was married on September 30, 1919, to Norma Brandon, and they have one son: Melvin Kirk Gibbs Jr.

R. F. WALLACE, M. D., D. 0.

Dr. R. F. Wallace has been a practicing physician in Fresno for the past ten years. He gives his attention to both medicine and surgery, and also to osteopathy.

Roscoe Franklin Wallace was born at Oakland, Oregon, January 24, 1897, the son of John Franklin and Cynthia. (Doughton) Wallace. His father was a clergyman in Oregon. The family removed in 1901 to Santa Rosa, California. While there his father was elected a member of the city council. Later he engaged in the contracting and to business. At the time of the earth­quake, 1906, he was in charge of the rescue work. Dr. Wallace’s grandfather was an Oregon pioneer, halving moved to that state from Maryland about the time of the California gold rush.

After attending the local schools at Santa. Rosa, Roscoe Wallace entered the University of Physicians and Surgeons at Kansas City, where he received his M. D. degree in 1920. Before graduation, however, he served, during the Great war, as steward of hospital on board the U. S. S. Iris, on duty on the Pacific. After receiving his degree at Kansas City, Dr. Wallace graduated from the College of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons at Los Angeles, June, 1921.. He is also a graduate of the Southwestern Optical College in Kansas City and post graduated in public health. He has post graduated in surgery in Chicago and in ombulant practology under Dr. Charles E. Blanehard of Youngstown, Ohio, He has also taken special work in electro and physio therapeutics.

Starting in to practice in Los Angeles, Dr. Wallace was associated with the Los Angeles Receiving hospital. He also practiced in Hollywood, and then in San Francisco for a short time. He came to Fresno county March 15, 1922, and located in Reedley. A year and a half later he opened an office in Fresno, and for four years conducted both offices.

In Fresno, Dr. Wallace conducts a general practice in medicine, surgery and osteopathy. For the past four years Dr. Lanier N. Pearson has been associated with him.

Dr. Wallace is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. 0. E., and of the Knights of the Round Table, of which club he has been a director.

ARTHUR, F. HOWARD

A native of Fresno, Arthur F. Howard had become before he passed away, April 21, 1933, one of the most successful druggists in central California.

Arthur Fletcher Howard was born on Ventura avenue, near the City of Fresno, October 7, 1886, the son of Charles M. and Annie (Ralphs) Howard. His father as a small boy came across the plains in a covered wagon, in 1854, and settled at Placerville in the Sacramento valley. His mother was a native of England. The family lived for a time in San Jose and then moved to Fresno county. Here Charles M. Howard became a vineyardist and stockraiser, and was a widely known resident of Temperance colony.

The subject of this sketch attended schools in Fresno, graduated from the high school and then acquired his professional training in San Francisco. Returning to Fresno to enter business, he was first employed by the San Joaquin Drug company on Mariposa street, and later became a partner in that concern. He subsequently sold out his interests there and then entered the employ of Oswald Schultz in the Patterson pharmacy. When Mr. Schultz died, Mr. Howard became manager of the store for his widow.

Mr. Howard entered business on his own account in the purchase of the Santa Fe pharmacy some fourteen years ago. About seven years ago he expanded with the purchase of the Blackstone pharmacy. He continued to operate both stores up to the end. of his life. In addition, he had established and operated for a number of years the Universal Drug store, on the corner of D and Fresno streets. The latter business he sold about two years ago. Mr. Howard was also a large stockholder in the two K. P. drug stores in Fresno, and he was treasurer of the company.

Mr. Howard was active in Fresno civic affairs and was very proud of his home city. He was a charter member of the Kiwanis club, and in Masonry, he was a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, and he was also a Knight Templar. He belonged to the Sunnyside Country club.

Mrs. Arthur F. Howard was Nelle Mildred Showers. There are two children Marjorie Mildred and Arthur F. Howard Jr.

Mr. Howard was very philanthropic and did much charitable work in a quiet way that few people knew about. Although not a man in the public eye, he was one of Fresno’s substantial citizens and a successful business man. It is particularly noteworthy that in the many years he operated his drug stores, he never exercised his liquor licenses except for strictly ethical purposes.

RALPH P. MERRITT

Ralph P. Merritt has been a resident of Fresno for the last ten years. He came to this city as the managing director of the Sun Maid Raisin association; after a few months he was elected president of the board of directors and man­aging director of this organization. Later he created and was the president of its affiliated organizations, the Sun Maid of Delaware and the Sunlands Sales corporation. Mr. Merritt has been a regent of the University of California, of which he was comptroller and secretary of the board of regents for eight years.

Mr. Merritt’s activity as manager and director of corporations, both before and since coming to live in Fresno, has been largely concerned with the promotion of cooperative farm organizations for which he has been a crusader for many years.

Ralph P. Merritt was born at Rio Vista, Solano county, California, February 26, 1883, the son of Charles Z and Ella S. (Palmer) Merritt. His first experience in the San Joaquin Valley was in the employ of Miller & Lux before attending the University of California, at Berkeley, where he received his B. S. degree in 1907.

After being engaged in business for several years, Mr. Merritt became virtually business manager of the University of California in the appointment of comptroller and secretary of the board of regents in 1912. He continued in this position until 1920, when he resigned to return to a private business career.

In 1921, Mr. Merritt became president and general manager of the Rice Growers association of California, with headquarters at Sacramento, in which position he continued for three years. At this time the rice market was depressed, but as a result of new markets being created, the industry was again placed on its feet.

In February, 1923, Mr, Merritt was invited by the directors of the California Associated Raisin company to become the general manager, which position be held. Following the resignation of William M. Gillen, Mr. Merritt became president and managing director, which position he held until 1929.

In 1917, on the breaking out of the World war, Mr. Merritt became Federal food administrator for California, and was active in coordinating the products of this state with the efforts of the national administration to control the supply of food in the U. S. Army overseas and the Allied forces.

Mr. Merritt makes his home on Huntington Boulevard, in Fresno, and has offices in Fresno and in San Francisco. He is engaged in ranching and in looking after other private interests.

Mr. Merritt was appointed to the board of regents of the University of California by Governor Friend W. Richardson in 1924, and served for four years.

in 1910, Mr. Merritt was married to Varina Morrow, of Oakland, California. They have three children: Varina, Katherine and. Ralph P. Merritt Jr.

Mr. Merritt is a member of the Congregational church. He is a Republican in politics. In college, he was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, and he belongs to the Bohemian club, San Francisco. Among Mr. Merritt’s distinctions is that he was given the degree of LL. D. by the University of California in 1919.

FRED E. BUTLER

Fred Eugene Butler, city attorney of Coalinga, since 192G, has been active for a number of years in Democratic state and local politics, being now a member of both state and county committees. He was in 1930, the Democratic nominee for member of the state board of equalization.

Mr. Butler was born in Fairfax, Vermont, September 15, 1892, the son of Arthur and Nellie Grey (Bellows) Butler. His father was a cabinet maker and jeweler; his mother was a great granddaughter of Hiram Bellows, who was a noted citizen of Vermont, the founder of many institutes in that state that are known as Bellows Free Academies. Hiram Bellows was one of the wealthiest men in Vermont and a noted philanthropist.

Young Butler graduated from Bellows Free Academy at Fairfax, and then attended Valparaiso University, Indiana, receiving his LL. B. in 1917. He started practice at Magdalena, New Mexico, continuing there but a few months, when he entered the U. S. service in the Great war. He enlisted in the Twelfth U. S. Infantry, G company of the regular army. Later he was transferred to the officers’ training camp school, Wasco, Texas, and was there when the Armistice was signed. After the war, he returned to practice in New Mexico.

Mr. Butler came to Coalinga to enter practice in 1925, and has continued there now for eight years. He is secretary of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce and is active in promoting the interests of the West Side and the oil industry. In private business, he is secretary of the South Dome Oil company and manager of the Pleasant Valley Farmers’ association. He has been member of the state and county Democratic committees since 1927.

Mrs. Butler was Emma Lucile Quinn, of Houston, Texas, and they have one daughter, Patricia.

H.  H. COURTRIGHT

H.  H. Courtright is one of the business men of Fresno who has shared in the responsibilities of its civic life for many years. He is the president and manager of the Valley Electrical Supply company, which is the merchandising division of the San Joaquin Light and Power corporation.

He was born in Watsonville, California, December 14, 1887. He attended school there and in Salinas where his parents, Charles and Ella Courtright, moved a few years later. Following the example of his grandparents, who were of that hardy pioneer stock that crossed the plains in 1849, his parents engaged in hauling wheat up and down the coast, and later, in farming.

When his school days were over, Mr. Courtright went to San Francisco to study the electrical business. After about five years business experience there, he came to Fresno where he organized the Modern Electric Light and Fixture company. In 1912 he became manager of the lighting fixture department of the newly organized Valley Electrical Supply company, as the retail store of the San Joaquin Light and Power corporation was known. In 1916 he was made vice president and manager of this company, and is now its president and manager.

Under Mr. Courtright’s leadership, the Valley Electrical Supply company, which was then located on Tulare street, near H street, became a leader in electrical construction circles in this territory. In its shops modern pumping plant electrical installations were designed and manufactured which have helped materially in advancing agricultural development. His firm bandied. many of the largest electrical wiring and installation jobs during the war time construction boom. Mr. Courtright has a national reputation in merchandising and is recognized as one of the outstanding figures in the state in the promotion of better illuminating and electrical installation standards.

In 1921 Mr. Courtright presented a new plan of merchandising appliances to the electrical industry. It was a cooperative merchandising plan which has become known as “The Thru the Dealer Plan” of electrical merchandising. This plan, which is a plan of dealer cooperation for the benefit of both seller and consumer, has received nation-wide recognition. For its development Mr. Courtright received the James H. McGraw award in 1928. This award is given for the greatest forward step in cooperation within the electrical industry. It has only been given four times in the last 13 years and Mr. Courtright is the only person west of Chicago who has received it. The treatise on which this award was made has become a part of the utility merchandising course at Harvard’s school of business.

For the past fourteen years Mr. Courtright has been a member of the board of directors of the California Electrical dealers and has served as a di­rector of the Pacific Coast Electrical bureau for the past ten years. This bureau represents all branches of the electrical industry in the State of California. For the past seven years he has been one of the directors for the Society of Electrical Development with headquarters in New York.

Not only has Mr. Courtright been a leader in his own business, but he has given liberally of his time and abilities to civic work.

On November 2, 1912, Mr. Courtright was married in Fresno to Florence Bach, a member of one of Fresno’s pioneer families. She passed away in 1928. On March 2, 1930, lie was married to June Sullivan of San Francisco. Mr. Courtright has one daughter, Eloise, the child of his first marriage.

In fraternal matters Mr. Courtright is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E.; also of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M.; of the Knights Templar, of the Scottish Rite and the Shrine. He belongs to the Sunnyside Country club, the University-Sequoia club and the Commercial club and is a Rotarian.

H.  W. MCNULTY

Hugh McNulty is a leading building contractor of Fresno, of the firm of Fisher & McNulty. A native of Missouri, he has lived in Fresno since infancy. He is now chairman of the Fresno County Republican Central committee.

Hugh William McNulty was born at St. Louis, March 14, 1892, the son of William J. and May (Sprengle) McNulty. The family came to Fresno in 1897, and here W. J. McNulty, his father, built the first ice manufacturing plant in the San Joaquin Valley. It was located on the Santa Fe reservation and where cold storage facilities for meat and dairy products were also handled. Mr. William J. McNulty was also the one who first stocked this country with fine dairy cattle. Establishing the Poppy Butter creamery, he imported cattle from England and elsewhere, giving them to farmers who paid for them in cream deliveries. He was a civil engineer of much distinction, a graduate of Union. College, Schenectady, New York. After graduation he was construction and civil engineer with the Missouri Pacific railroad, and from 1890 to 1894 was assistant engineer of public improvements of St. Louis, Missouri. He died in 1901, and his wife, who was an artist and prominent in club and civic work, a member of the Fresno staff at the Panama Pacific Exposition, and leader in Red Cross service during the World war, died in 1921.

Hugh McNulty attended the Fresno schools, and Stanford University, majoring in geology and engineering, where he graduated in mining en­gineering. For three years he was assistant engineer for the Ray Consolidated Copper company at Ray, Arizona. In 1920, he returned to make his home in Ftesno, and formed his present partnership with R. P. Fisher. These two gentlemen have filled many important contracts, including in Fresno, the Pantages theatre, Harry Coffee building, United Grocers’ warehouse, Twining laboratories, the Ventura Curve market ; the L. L. Richards residence, at Visalia, (the largest residence in the San Joaquin Valley) ; the Ford and the Chevrolet garages, Visalia; the Orval Overall residence, Visalia ; also the Ford garage at Porterville. They have also constructed many of the finest residences in Fresno and in practically every town in the San Joaquin Valley.

Mr. McNulty is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 366, F. and A. M., of the Scottish and York Rites and of the Shrine. He is also a member of the University-Sequoia club, and is active in the Fresno County Chamber of Commerce. In college he was a member of the S. A. E. fraternity.

Mrs. Hugh McNulty was Nita C. Gill of Porterville.

WILLIAM R. HOLMES

William Roswell Holmes is a native son of California, having been born in Fresno on November 20, 1887, son of Alonzo R. Holmes and Rosabella (Braudeau) Holmes. His father came to Tulare county as a boy and moved to Fresno in 1886, where he established the Holmes Express and Storage company. He retired from business a few years ago.

The subject of this sketch received his early education at the Kroeger, or Burton Einstein school and at the Kruger school at Fresno. He subsequently attended Fresno High school. He commenced his business career with the firm of Hollenbeck and Bush, who operate a planing mill in Fresno. Later he was with the Shaver Lake Lumber company and was next employed by the Fresno Cooperage company for a time.

Mr. Holmes subsequently entered his father’s business, and up to the time of its recent merger with the Bekins Van and Storage company he served as president of the Holmes company. He is now manager of the Fresno branch of the Bekins organization, which is the largest van and storage business of its kind in the world.

Mr. Holmes is a charter member of the Kiwanis club, has been a director of the Merchants association; he belongs to the Sun Garden Masonic lodge, and is Toparch of the Sciots.

He is married and has two children: Doris and Robert Holmes.

EDWARD S. BYFIELD

Edward S. Byfield was born at Pueblo, Colorado, March 14, 1885, son of William and Harriett (Moody) Byfield. He attended schools in Nebraska, graduating from Franklin Academy at Franklin. He followed newspaper business in. Nebraska until 1910 when he came to Fresno county, settling at Parlier, where he established the Parlier Progress, a weekly newspaper now consolidated with the Selma Irrigator.

Mr. Byfield came to Selma in 1914 and was employed by the publisher of the Selma Irrigator until 1918, He followed the mercantile business from 1918 until 1927 in Selma, Fresno and San Francisco. Returning to Selma in June, 1927, he purchased the Selma Irrigator which was consolidated with the Selma Enterprise in February, 1929. The consolidated paper is now owned jointly by him and Lowell C. Pratt.

Mr. Byfield is a member of the Lions club at Fowler and the Community club of Selma.

He was married to Ethel M. Middleton of McCook, Nebraska, and they have one son: Richard Edward Byfield.

EVERETT MORRIS, M. D.

Dr. Everett Morris has been for the last four years on the firing line of Fresno county’s struggle against the white plague. He is the superintendent and medical director of Wish-i-ah sanatorium, Auberry valley, maintained by the government of Fresno county as a defense against the spread of tuberculosis.

Everett Morris was born at Sulphur, Henry county, Kentucky, September 23, 1878, the son of William Joseph and Mary Mildred (Haggard) Morris. His ancestors were Virginians. His great great grandfather and mother on the maternal sides while traveling from Virginia to Kentucky, were attacked by Indians. During the fight a baby boy was stolen by the Red Skins. Many years afterward, the parents located the boy, but he had grown into young man­hood, had a squaw and refused to leave his tribe.

Everett Morris attended Georgetown college, Georgetown, Kentucky, from which he received his B. S. degree in 1902. From the School of Medicine, University of Louisville, he received the M. D. degree in 1906. He practiced medicine with his father in his native village until 1910, when he became interested in tuberculosis. After spending a year at Ashville, North Carolina, he returned to Kentucky and in 1912 was appointed by the governor as a member of the newly created Kentucky board of tuberculosis commissioners. Under the act, after an educational campaign in Henderson county, Kentucky, the first county tuberculosis hospital in the state was established.

Dr. Morris served three years as senior physician at the Cook county (Illinois) Tuberculosis hospital, and one year as head physician. He was then granted a leave of absence so that he could accept a commission in the U. S. Army Medical corps. His military experience was confined to diseases of the lungs. He was commissioned captain September 10, 1918, and discharged December 2, 1919. His industrial work in Chicago for the next four years was connected with lung clinics. In 1926, Dr. Morris entered the U. S. Veteran’s hospital service as a tuberculosis specialist, and reported at Camp Kearney, California.

In 1929, the board of supervisors of Fresno county brought to fulfillment plans long contemplated for the establishment of a sanatorium in which tuber­culosis victims might be brought to convalescence under beneficial surround.. lugs and treatment. Dr. Morris was engaged from his Camp Kearney work to be superintendent and medical director of the newly etablished Wish-i-ah sanatorium, located near Anberry.

Dr. Morris was president of the Henry County Kentucky Medical society. He was president of the Robert Koch society in Chicago, and also di­rector of the Chicago Tuberculosis institute. He is a member of the American Medical association and its affiliates; also of the National Tuberculosis association and of its affiliates; and of the American Sanatorium association and its affiliates. He is the author of a number of articles on tuberculosis published in nationwide periodicals.

Dr. Morris was married, December 21, 1918, to Helen B. Freer, at U. S. Army hospital No. 16, New Haven, Connecticut. They have one son; Joe Freer Morris.

Dr. Morris is a member of the Baptist church. He is enrolled with the City club of Chicago, the Cook County (Illinois) Social Service club, and the Physicians’ club of Oak Park, Illinois. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and, in college, belonged to the Pi Mu fraternity.

GEORGE RICHARD ANDREWS

The late George Richard Andrews was born in Andrews county, Missouri, June 27, 1872, the son of Thomas O. and Elizabeth M. Andrews. When he was about three years old, the family moved to Ashland, Oregon, where his father was superintendent of a woolen mill. As a boy George was employed in this mill.

In his spare time, young Andrews took up the study of telegraphy and electricity and subsequently became messenger boy for the Postal Telegraph company. Later he worked as a lineman at Delta and other localities in southern Oregon. There he continued until 1893, when he became manager of the Postal Telegraph company in Fresno, a position he held for many years.

Mr. Andrews served as public administrator of Fresno county for a period of sixteen years. He was also engaged in the real estate and insurance business.

As a young man, Mr. Andrews was much interested in military affairs. In Fresno he enlisted in the National Guard of California, and rose to be captain of Company F, Third Battalion, in the Sixth Regiment of Infantry. Mr. Andrews’ fraternal affiliations were with the Odd Fellows and Woodmen of the World.

He was married to Irene C. Paterson, daughter of the late W. S. Paterson, a pioneer citizen of Fresno. She survives him, with their two children, Elaine Andrews (now Mrs. Hollis B. Pierson), and Chester R. Andrews, an assistant district attorney of Fresno county. Mr. Andrews’ elder son, Eugene, died in February, 1918.

Mr. Andrews was very energetic and methodical. He took an active part in many civic movements, and he dispensed his charities in a quiet, unostentatious manner, and perhaps his outstanding characteristic was his high sense of honor. He was one of Fresno’s foremost citizens and will long be remembered by his many friends.

Mr. Andrews died October 24, 1925, at the age of fifty-three.

BEN R. WALKER

Ben Randal Walker was born in Brooklyn, Iowa, August 3, 1878, the son of James M. and Emma (Randall) Walker. With his family he came to California in 1887, settling first in San Jose. In 1891, the family removed to Fresno. Ben R. Walker attended the Fresno High school from which he graduated in 1899, and he received the B. L. degree from the University of California in 1905. He was a member of the editorial staff of the Fresno Republican staff from 1899 to 1901, and from 1905 to 1932, being telegraph editor from 1908 to 1920, and was associate editor and managing editor from 1920 to 1932. Mr. Walker is a member of the faculty of the Fresno State College, in the social science department, as lecturer in political science and history. He took post graduate work at the University of California during 1932-33, receiving the M. A. degree.

Mr. Walker was married May 3, 1916, to Eva Belle Clark. They have three children: Albert Clark, Louise Carol and Richard Randal Walker.

Mr. Walker is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. and A. M., of which he was master in 1913. He is also a member of the Knights Templar and of the Scottish Rite bodies, Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. E., and of the Fresno Lions club, of which he was president in 1921. In college he was a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity, the Phi Beta Kappa honor society, and of the Golden Bear.

History of Fresno County And The San Joaquin Valley ~ By Lilbourne Alsip Winchell ~ A H Cawston, Publisher

403 Pacific-Southwest Building Fresno, California Exponent Print Reedley, Calif. ~ 1933

Transcribed by: Martha A Crosley Graham ~ Pages 245-318

Site Created: 15 May 2010

Martha A Crosley Graham